(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "Holy Family Parish, Chicago: priests and people. Edited and arranged by Joseph J. Thompson."



^fdtemBOTi 

















1 




wmt0* 






Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

CARLI: Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois 



http://archive.org/details/holyfamilyparishOOmulk 




THE HOLY FAMILY (After Murillo) 
Above Main Altar, Holy Family Church, Chicago 



**3 



HOLY FAMILY 
PARISH 

CHICAGO 

PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 

BY 
BROTHER THOMAS M. MULKERINS, SJ. 



EDITED AND ARRANGED 

BY 

JOSEPH J. THOMPSON, LL.D. 

CHICAGO 



HOLY FAMILY 
PARISH HISTORY COMMISSION 

CHICAGO, 1923 



UNIVERSAL PRESS 
CHICAGO 




2fttjU ©bfitat: 

GUjomaa J. Uttnttgatanp, §\ 3. 
(trnaur SJpputatus 

^Imprimatur: 

3F. 3C. MriUimamg, g». 3. 

Jlrnlmutal 

Jmprtmatar: 

(Srorgp HUltam, 

Arriibtehop of GJliiraga 



DEDICATION 

To the priests, and religious of Holy Family 
Parish, past, present and future; to the grand 
army of the clergy and religious of both sexes 
who claim Holy Family Parish as their home as 
well as to the sturdy and steadfast laymen and 
women and their descendants scattered through- 
out the country but who cherish a fond regard 
for the old parish, this volume is affectionately 
dedica ted. 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH HISTORY 
COMMISSION 

Honorary President, Very Reverend William H. 
Agnew, S. J. ; President, John T. McEnery ; Secre- 
tary, Prank A. Sloan; Treasurer, Dennis A. 
Laughlin; Historian, Brother Thomas M. Mul- 
kerins, S. J. ; Editor, Joseph J. Thompson,, LL. D. 

Executive Committee 

John A. Daly, Joseph McDonald, Daniel J. 
McMahon, William F. Ryan, James McNichols, 
William E. Lorden, M. Malachy Foley, Michael 
J. Carmody, William A. Turner, Edward P. Bren- 
nan, Ambrose M. Brennan, Harry J. Higgins, 
Edwin J. Stubbs, James J. Ryan, John J. Han- 
rahan, Reverend Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J., Frank 
J. Wisner, Frank A. Sloan, John T. McEnery, 
Dennis A. Laughlin, Joseph J. Thompson, Brother 
Thomas M. Mulkerins, S. J. 



Chia 
FOREWORD 

This story of Holy Family Parish is prepared solely for the 
purpose of preserving and transmitting to posterity a record 
of the deeds, virtues, sacrifices and achievements of the priests 
and people connected with the parish from its foundation to 
the present time. 

The thought may occur to some that faults and errors are 
little dwelt upon, possibly implying their absence, and it is 
freely admitted that there has been no attempt to chronicle 
wrongs of any character inflicted or suffered. It may be a suffi- 
cient explanation of the omission of criticisms to say that all 
wrongdoing on the part of persons in any way related to the 
parish have no doubt received all the publicity they deserved. 
At any rate, wrongdoing was a contravention of the purpose and 
aim of the parish and its leaders and could not and did not influ- 
ence the course or character of parish activities. 

Many blood strains have quickened Holy Family Parish and 
in times past there was a happy commingling of nationalities. 
From dear old Ireland came many of the men and women who 
made the parish notable, but many other races contributed. 
The parish was especially fortunate, however, in the influx of 
Irish and correspondingly unfortunate in the loss of large num- 
bers of that nationality. 

It is impossible to contemplate the decline of the parish with- 
out profound regret. The diminution of the congregation from 
twenty-five thousand souls to less than five thousand almost spells 
despair. But as has for centuries been the case with Ireland 
whose sons and daughters have left her in multitudes carrying 
the Faith where'er they went, so, too, the members of Holy Fam- 
ily Parish have become the pioneers or props of new and estab- 
lished parishes elsewhere and carried with them unimpaired the 
Faith and piety instilled by the saintly Father Damen and his 
successors. With these as leaders or substantial members the 
pastors have built up sodalities and other pious confraternities 
patterned after those of Old Holy Family. 

These facts afford the consoling conviction that there must be 



viii FOREWORD 

a Divine Providence watching over and directing the course of 
events in the interest of the faithful and the advancement of 
God's kingdom on earth. Let us trust that the Divine plan 
makes complete provision for the future of Holy Family Parish. 

The approach of old age, indeed the near approach, I may 
say, if nothing else, will perhaps justify a personal word to the 
readers of this book. For forty-three years I have been a helper 
in a humble capacity of my own choosing in the parish. My 
duties have brought me into contact with the priests and people 
of the parish in a rather unusual manner. It is precisely be- 
cause of what I have seen and experienced during these many 
years that I have been anxious to put this record in permanent 
form. 

I could not have succeeded in the publication of this volume 
but for the inestimable aid of others. I am indebted to Very 
Reverend Francis Xavier McMenamy, S. J., Provincial of the 
Missouri Province, for his approbation and encouragement and 
likewise for the same reasons to Rev. John B. Furay, S. J., 
former rector, and in a special manner to the present Reverend 
Rector, "William H. Agnew, S. J., who has been most sympathetic 
and obliging since the very commencement of the work. Next I 
am indebted to the members of the Holy Family Parish History 
Commission, volunteers all, and all most helpful. A large part 
of the burden naturally fell upon Mr. John T. McEnery, the 
president, and Mr. Frank A. Sloan, secretary. A number of 
well-disposed people made donations and guarantees in advance 
and thus made it possible to deal on a cash basis. Advance sub- 
scribers furnished the assurance needed of the sufficient popu- 
larity of the project to justify its prosecution. All these merit 
the deepest appreciation. 

I am indebted also to many of the clergy and religious both 
for substantial aid and gratifying encouragement. Rev. Thomas 
J. Livingstone, S. J., is especially deserving of thanks for the 
painstaking manner in which he read the manuscript. We are 
also indebted to Very Reverend Gilbert J. Garraghan, S. J., for 
valuable advice and information and indeed for the original in- 
spiration to this work. A laborious and most important part of 
the preparation of this work was performed by the Misses Mary 
Birmingham, Marie Sloan, Helen Sloan, Catherine Murphy and 
Agnes Bvrne, and Messrs. John Coan, John A. Dalv, James 



FOREWOED ix 

Foley, Ernest Zelder, William Taylor and Timothy Murphy, 
who assisted in the transcription. I am deeply grateful to them 
for their valuable aid. I make no claim for style, composition 
and arrangement of the matter and illustrations or for the form 
of publication, designing and binding, as all these undertakings 
were entrusted to Mr. Joseph J. Thompson, who attended to and 
accomplished the work in a highly satisfactory manner. 

Finally, I thank God, and I thank all those who helped and 
who shall help me to carry out my long contemplated design of 
putting the notable record of Holy Family Parish in permanent 
form, and I bespeak the good will of a wide circle of readers 
for the book. 

Brother Thomas M. Mulkerins, S. J 
Chicago, July 2, Feast of the Visitation, 1923. 



. 



PROLOGUE 



A prologue is in popular conception more suitable 
for a romance than for a history, but the reader will 
find this work not devoid of romance. If, for the 
moment, we can concentrate our thoughts upon the 
first white man and the first Christian missionary 
that gazed upon the site of what is now Chicago, we 
may have unfolded to our remembrance one of the 
most romantic pages of American history. 

Let us disassociate, if we can, the course of the 
south branch of the Chicago river from its environ- 
ment of huge factories, long stretches of lumber 
yards, shrieking railroad engines, and all the other 
commercial manifestations of a great metropolis. 
Let us see it in its primeval aspect of wooded banks, 
wending its way through a vista of endless prairie 
land. Flocks of geese and ducks soar above it, and 
herds of buffalo and deer swim across its narrow 
channel. At night the cry of the hoot owl is heard, 
its melancholy cadence suggesting the loneliness of 
the human spirit in the midst of the vast panorama 
of nature. Occasional groups of Indians, armed with 
bows and arrows, may be seen hunting the wild life 
that abounds in the region and returning with their 
spoils to the small Indian village on the Desplaines 
river, where in their primitive abodes they dreamt of 
the Great Spirit and the happy hunting grounds. 

It was upon this scene that Reverend James Mar- 
quette, S. J., and his companion, fellow voyager and 
discoverer, Louis Joliet, looked, first of all white men, 
xl 



PROLOGUE 




REV. JAMES MAKQUETTE, S. J. 

The Apostle of Illinois 



PROLOGUE xiii 

ill the autumn of 1673. They, in company with five 
Frenchmen and a greater or less number of Indians, 
from time to time had journeyed from the Jesuit 
mission in Michillimackinac, across Green bay, up 
the Fox river to its source, clown the Wisconsin to 
its mouth, where they discovered the great Missis- 
sippi, the father of waters and the objective of all 




FATHER MARQUETTE, JOLIET AND PARTY ON THE CHICAGO 
RIVER IN AUGUST, 1673 (Cameron) 

efforts at discovery for at least a score of years. On 
the broad bosom of the Mississippi they had passed 
down stream as far as the mouth of the Arkansas, 
returned to the mouth of the Illinois, and with two 
stops pushed their canoe up the Illinois and some one 
of its branches to the vicinity of the head waters of 



xiv PROLOGUE 

the Chicago river. Carrying their canoes and bag- 
gage, they again embarked in the Chicago river and 
over the waters of the south branch and the main 
river, reached Lake Michigan. 

Two hundred and fifty years have intervened since 
the eyes of the first white man saw the site of Chi- 
cago, as he drifted past the future site of Holy 
Family Parish. 

But Father Marquette was to have a yet more 
intimate relationship to Chicago, and even to Holy 
Family Parish. In fulfillment of a pledge made to 
the Illinois tribes he returned to the Illinois country 
to establish the Church. This time the intrepid mis- 
sionary, accompanied by only two companions, 
Pierre Porteret and Jacques LeCastor from the 
mission house, came down Lake Michigan and landed 
from his canoe at the mouth of the Chicago river, 
which was then located at what is now the junction 
of Madison street and Grant Park. This notable 
event occurred on the 4th of December, 1674. After 
remaining on the lake front in a cabin which they 
built or appropriated to their use, for seven clays, his 
canoe was placed upon runners and drawn over the 
ice of the Chicago river, following the south branch 
to a point two leagues or about six miles from the 
lake, which investigators have fixed at what is now 
the junction of Robey street and the Drainage Canal. 
Arriving at this point on the 12th of December, 1674, 
a cabin was constructed in which the missionary and 
his two companions lived from that time until the 
29th of March, 1675. 

Here Father Marquette celebrated Mass daily, and 
made a special point of the celebration of the Mass 
of the Conception on the 15th of December because it 



PROLOGUE xv 

had been too cold on the 8th of December, when he 
was temporarily situated at the mouth of the Chicago 
river. Here his two companions received the sacra- 
ments twice a week. Here the little party began a 
novena, which was concluded on the 9th of February, 
1675. Here members of the Indian tribes came for 




: * 



CABIN IN WHICH MARQUETTE DWELT FROM DEC. 12, 1674 TO 

MARCH 29, 1675 

At the present site of Robey Street and the Drainage Canal, Chicago 

their devotions, and tw T o stray Frenchmen came 
eighteen leagues to make their Easter duty and re- 
ceive the sacraments. 

We may now indicate the connection between 
these historic visits of Father Marquette and Holy 
Family Parish. It is this : The very spot upon which 



xvi PKOLOGUE 

Father Marquette dwelt during the winter of 1674 
and 1675, one hundred and eighty-two years later 
became a part of the extensive Catholic Parish, then 
marked out and known as Holy Family Parish. 

The little hut, the great missionary with his frail 
body but indomitable spirit and his two companions 
are it is seen the precursors of the present Arch- 
bishop and of bishops, clergy and religious, churches 
and people that make up the great Archdiocese of 
Chicago, and especially the first beginnings of Holy 
Family Parish. The cabin that gave Father Mar- 
quette a wretched shelter had but a brief material 
existence, but its memory expands with the passing 
of the years, possessing a vitality greater even than 
the durable stones that make up the structure of the 
Cathedral of his own Laon. 

We may now turn from the scene disclosed to the 
view of Father Marquette, and again take stock of 
the same locality one hundred and eighty-two years 
later. A change had come over the virgin prairies. 
The same stars that looked down upon Father Mar- 
quette on his lonely vigils now shone upon a growing 
community of white men. The great lake over whose 
bosom in the past swept countless fleets of dark- 
skinned warriors is becoming an important highway 
of peaceful commerce. Along the river which he 
navigated the solitude of the wilderness is no more. 
The fringe of woodland that had adorned both banks 
of the river by 1857, was cleared away. As far as 
Robey street men might have been seen loading and 
unloading vessels. Somewhat more than two miles 
to the northeast of the site of Father Marquette's 
cabin and near the intersection of two main arteries 



PROLOGUE 



xvn 



of travel, West Twelfth street and Hoosier avenue, 
at the corner of May and Eleventh streets, a small 
church had been recently erected. On Sunday, July 
12, 1857, the first solemn High Mass was celebrated 
in the little church by a brother religious of Father 
Marquette, the Reverend Arnold Damen, S. J., tl^e 




Courtesy Kalal, Cltj ^.w^w,, , ^ w& ~ 

CROSS RAISED TO COMMEMORATE THE VISIT OF FATHER 
MARQUETTE AND LOUIS JOLIET 

father and founder of Holy Family Parish, which at 
that time and for some years after embraced within 
its limits the site of the Marquette cabin. 

It is fitting, especially in a history of Holy Family 
Parish, to point out that Father Damen and his asso- 
ciates, and all of those who followed him in the 



xviii PROLOGUE 

building up and development of the parish, as well 
as the founders and teachers of St. Ignatius College, 
are the direct spiritual heirs of the great missionary 
who first dwelt in territory that became a part of 
Holy Family Parish, and first preached the Gospel 
and administered Christian rites. 

Having breathed the fragrance exuding from the 
sanctified Marquette in the recollection of his all 
too brief sojourn, the reader will crave a sufficient 
extension of the romantic story of missionary en- 
deavor to connect the fathers of Marquette's day with 
the good pastors and clergy of Holy Family and other 
modern parishes. 

It is accordingly proper that it be stated here that 
after the establishment of the Church in the Illinois 
country Father Marquette, realizing that his days 
were numbered, bade his savage congregation fare- 
well and started for the central mission of his Order, 
to die there or elsewhere as was the will of God. In 
the prosecution of this homeward journey he used 
the rivers and lake route, passing this time around 
the southern and eastern shores of the lake. Having 
passed thirty-three days on this homeward journey 
he found that his hour was approaching, and directed 
his faithful companions to carry him ashore on the 
banks of a little stream since known as the Marquette 
river, where on Friday, the 18th of May, with the 
earth for his bed and the sky for his canopy he 
yielded his spirit. 

As decently as was possible his companions buried 
him on the spot, but his sacred remains were not to 
be there held for long. In the summer of 1677 a band 



PROLOGUE xix 

of Kiskacon Indians returning from their hunt dis- 
covered the grave and remembering well Marquette, 
the Black Gown, who had labored with them, they 
reverently took up his remains and bore them before 
a procession of thirty canoes to St. Ignace, where, 
on the 8th day of June, 1677, they were ceremonious- 
ly buried by the Fathers of tlie Mission. 

In the course of time the mission chapel was de- 
stroyed and the grave of Marquette lost to memory 
and to sight for two centuries. Finally, however, on 
September 3, 1877, the grave was rediscovered, the 
remains disinterred, and parts thereof placed in 
proper receptacles, one at least of which found its 
way to the Marquette College of Milwaukee, and is 
there reverently deposited and cared for. The larger 
part of the remains, however, were reinterred and a 
monument erected to mark the spot, which is a 
familiar object to all visitors of Mackinac and the 
surrounding territory. 

Incidentally, it is of much interest to note that 
this present year of 1923 is the two hundred and 
fiftieth anniversary of Father Marquette's first 
journey to Illinois, during which he passed down 
the Chicago River and all along the eastern and 
southern boundary of what became Holy Family 
Parish. 

The immediate successor of Father Marquette in 
the Illinois country was Rev. Claude Jean Allouez, 
S. J., a man of almost equal piety with Father Mar- 
quette and of vastly greater physical capacity. 
Father Allouez labored in the Illinois field from 1675 
to 1689. The next of the missionaries in succession 



xx PROLOGUE • 

to Father Marquette was Rev. Sebastian Rale, S. J., 
who tended the field from 1692 to 1694; then came 
Rev. Jacques Gravier, S. J., from 1693 to 1706; 
Pierre Francois Pinet, S. J., from 1696 to 1704; Rev. 
Julien Bineteau, S. J., 1697 to 1699; Rev. Pierre 




RIGHT REVEREND JAMES OL 

IVER VANDEVELDE, D. D. 

Second Bishop of Chicago, of the 

Jesuits 



REV. FELIX VERHAGEN, S. J. 
Earliest of the modern Jesuits in 
Illinois — first visited Alton, later 
preached mission in Chicago 



Gabriel Marest, S. J., 1699 to 1715; Rev. Jean Mer- 
met, S. J., 1702 to 1716; Rev. Louis Marie de Ville, 
S. J., 1707 to 1720 ; Rev. Jean Charles Guymonneau, 
S. J., 1719 to 1736 ; Rev. Joseph Francois de Kereben, 
S. J., 1719-1728; Rev. Jean Antoine le Boullenger, 
S. J., 1719-1740; Rev. Nicholas Ignace de Beaubois, 
S. J., 1719-1735; Rev. Jean Dumas, S. J., 1729-1739; 



PROLOGUE xxi 

Rev. Rene Tartarin, S. J., 1729-1745; Rev. Philibert 
Watrin, S. J., 1733-1763; Rev. Etienne Doutreleau, 
S. J., 1735-1741; Rev. Alexis Xavier Guyenne, 8. J., 
1736-1762; Rev. Louis Vivier, S. J., 1750^1754; Rev. 
Julien Joseph Fourrc, S. J., 1749-1750; Rev.* Jean 
Baptiste Aubert, S. J., 1758-1764; Rev. Sebastien 
Louis Meurin, S. J., 1746-1777. These were the regu- 
lar pastors or missionaries. There were others dur- 
ing this period who visited the region, making 
temporary sojourns. Amongst these were Rev. Joseph 
de Limoges, S. J., Rev. Pierre Francois Xavier de 
Charlevoix, S. J., Rev. Francois Buisson, S. J., Rev. 
Michel Guignas, S. J., Rev. Paul du Poisson, S. J., 
Rev. Mathurin le Petit, S. J., Rev. Jean Souel, S. J., 
Rev. Michel Baudouin, S. J., Rev. Jean Pierre Aul- 
neau, S. J., Rev. Pierre du Jaunay, S. J., Rev. An- 
toine Senat, S. J., Rev. Jean Baptiste de la Morinie, 
S. J., Rev. Claude Joseph Vitor, S. J., Rev. Julien 
Devernai, S. J., and Rev. Nicholas le Febvre, S. J. 

In 1763, ninety years from the first visit of Father 
Marquette to the Illinois country, an infamous, infi- 
del, royal council, under an illegal decree, banished 
the Jesuits from Mid- America and save for Father 
Sebastien Louis Meurin, excepted under strong pres- 
sure of the inhabitants of the Illinois country, savage 
and civilized, who continued to minister in the terri- 
tory until his death in 1777, no Jesuit was seen in the 
Illinois country for nearly half a century, and none 
visited Chicago or its vicinity until Right Reverend 
James Oliver Vandevelcle came here as the second 
bishop of Chicago in the year 1850. The next Jesuits 
to visit Chicago were the missionaries from St. Louis, 



xxii PROLOGUE 

including Rev. Arnold Damen, of whom we are to 
read in succeeding chapters. 

A full account of Father Marquette's two journeys to Illinois is found in 
Thwaites' Jesuit Belations. Vol. LIX. 




CONTENTS 



I Establishing the Parish 1 

II In the Temporary Church 13 

III The Permanent Church 28 

IV Steady Development 45 

V Drives of Early Days 54 

VI Shadows and Sunshine 81 

VII The Founder and Father of the Parish 109 

VIII The Parish in New Hands 139 

IX The World's Fair and Other Interesting Events. . 162 

X Evidence of System and Efficiency 188 

XI Beginning a New Century 205 

XII The Golden Jubilee 222 

XIII Recent Years in the Parish 239 

XIV The War Period and Late Interesting Events 257 

XV The Church Beautiful 282 

XVI The Clergy 316 

XVII The Schools of the Parish 410 

XVIII The Religious 469 

XIX St. Ignatius College and Loyola University 494 

XX Sodalities of Holy Family Parish 543 

XXI Various Societies of Holy Family Church 617 

XXII Catholic Organizations in the Parish 687 

XXIII The Community 718 

XXIV The Laity 768 

XXV Anecdotes and Reminiscences 863 

XXVI Donors, Advance Subscribers, Guarantors and 

Benefactors 955 



CHAPTER I 

Establishing the Pakish 

In the summer of 1856 Reverend Arnold Damen, 

S. J., pastor of the Church of St. Francis Xavier in 

St. Louis, assisted by three associates of his 

1856 Order, Fathers Isidore Boudreaux, Bene- 

1857 diet Masselis and Michael Corbett, at the 
invitation of the Bishop of Chicago, Right 

Reverend Anthony O 'Regan, conducted a series of 
missions or spiritual revivals in Chicago, which were 
attended by gratifying results, as indicated by a 
communication to the St, Louis Leader, in which the 
missions and missionaries were described as follows : 

"The zeal, the piety and labors of Father Damen and his asso- 
ciates, and his practical and persuasive eloquence, have won for 
these eminent servants of God the love and veneration of all our 
citizens, Protestant and Catholic. From four in the morning 
until after midnight, these zealous priests and the parochial 
clergymen have been occupied with the duties of religion, yet 
all this was insufficient, such was the holy importunity of the 
people whom God moved to profit by their ministry. 

It is understood that twelve thousand, at least, have received 
communion. None of the churches could accommodate the mul- 
titude that crowded from all parts of the city. The cathedral, 
with its galleries, newly put up, being found altogether too small, 
the mission was transferred to the large enclosure on the north 
side, known as the Church of the Holy Name, and here, as if 
nothing had been previously done, a new harvest is found already 
mature." 1 

i This communication appeared in the issue of August 26, 1856, of the 
St. Louis Leader and was apparently written by Eev. Matthew Dillon, 



2 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Not only were the missions appreciated by the 
clergy and laity, but Bishop O 'Regan himself ex- 
pressed gratification and took advantage of the pres- 
ence of the Fathers in Chicago to renew invitations 
formerly extended to establish the Order in Chicago. 

Father Damen having knowledge of the attitude 
of the Superior of the Order expressed himself to 






EIGHT EEVEREND ANTHONY 
O 'REGAN, D. D. 



REV. JOHN P. DRUYTS, S. J. 
Vice Provincial, Missouri Province 



the Bishop as disposed to accept the invitation, and 
began at once on his own account an investigation of 
the situation, especially with a view to determining 
a suitable location for a new parish. 

The bishop offered the still unfinished Church of 
the Holy Name on the North side, in the most prom- 
ising part of the city of Chicago, and which was 



the pastor of Holy Name church (now the Cathedral) Chicago. Father 
Dillon was also President of the University of St. Mary of the Lake in 
1856. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 3 

made the Cathedral Church, but Father Damen was 
more disposed to start an entirely new parish, and 
preferably on the West side, where large numbers 
of Irish Catholic immigrants were finding homes. 

A few weeks after Father Damen 's return to St. 
Louis he received the following communication from 
Bishop O 'Regan: 

"Chicago, Illinois, 
September 15, 1856. 
To Reverend Father Damen, S. J., 

St. Louis. 
Dear Father Damen : 

I have just now written to Father Provincial and I want you 
to assist me with him that he may grant the request of establish- 
ing a House in Chicago. You know its necessity and the pros- 
pects before it, and hence I have referred to you as one who can 
give to the Provincial and others all the requisite information on 
this subject. May I beg of you to do so? You could not co- 
operate in a holier work. You would be a most efficient instru- 
ment to build up religion in this city and diocese. Land can be 
had quite near to the locality you wished for, but in a still better 
place, at a fair price and in large quantities. In one place as 
much as six acres can be had. By buying all this year, you 
would, in one year, have two entirely free. The increased value 
caused by your establishment would effect this. 

I am sorry that I did not merit your thanks better whilst you 
were in Chicago. I can never sufficiently express my esteem for 
you and your worthy fathers. 

1 would have written sooner to you and Father Provincial, but 
I wished to know more about the land. 

With kindest regards for Father DeSmet and the earnest wish 
of seeing you soon permanently at work in Chicago where you 
are most ardently expected, I am, 

Reverend dear Father Damen, very truly yours, 

Anthony, Bishop of Chicago and 

Administrator of Quincy. ' ' 2 

2 This and several other letters relating to the parish may be seen in 
the archives of the Archdiocese of St. Louis, and have formerly been 



4 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Naturally Father Damen was solicitous about the 
financial situation, and presented that feature to the 
Bishop. In answer to the inquiries of that nature, 
Bishop O 'Regan wrote : 

"I know I cannot do better work for religion, for the diocese 
or for my own soul, than by establishing here a honse of your 
Society, and this is the reason I have been so very anxious to 
effect this. It was on this account as also from my personal 
regard and affection for your institute as for many of your 
fathers individually, that I so urgently and perseveringly tried 
to see this work accomplished. 

But, as to resources which it would appear you suppose me to 
have, I have no such, as I think you must know. You are aware 
how much we are in debt, and how much must be expended 
before any revenue can be derived from our churches. We have 
also to erect a hospital, two asylums, a house of refuge, and a 
house of mercy ; we must build schoolhouses, priests ' houses, buy 
lots for churches and build churches. I must also at once pro- 
vide a cemetery, which will cost at least $32,000, without any 
prospect of much revenue in my lifetime. All these wants are 
known to you, and my inability to supply them, or even a small 
portion of them. How then, very dear Father, can you talk of 
my leaving property to my successor? If your Society comes 
here, I will leave them wealth, a spiritual wealth, practiced by 
you, and I hope by myself. 

What I say to you is this. Let you yourself come here and, 
keeping your mind to yourself, buy six acres of land, and this is 
now to be had in a most convenient place. In about twelve 
months, two or at most three of these acres will pay for all — 
and thus you will have a fine property free. 

I beg of you not to think lightly of this. By adopting it you 
will be able to effect much for religion and for your Order. My 
thousand dollars will go to make a part of the first payment." 3 

published by Eev. Gilbert J. Garraghan, S. J., in his The Catholic Church 
in Chicago, 1673-1871, or his Beginnings of Holy Family Parish in the 
Illinois Catholic Historical Review, Vol. I, p. 436 et seq. 
3 Ibid. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 5 

lu spite of the Bishop's refusal, on account of in- 
ability to aid financially, but believing that he could 
rely on assistance from the people for whom he ex- 
pected to labor, Father Damen resolved, with the 
approval of his superior, to take up the work. Ln 
this frame of mind he wrote Reverend John P. 
Druyts, S. J., the Superior: 

"The answer from Philadelphia has come about the Bull's 
head property. They will sell at $600 a lot, which would make a 
total of $24,600 for the 44 lots. The acre which is in litigation 
cannot be settled yet. With this acre included, there would be 
52 lots, and this would make a total of $31,400. Of this, $2,500 
would be paid by Protestant gentlemen towards the improve- 
ment. I went out this afternoon and made inquiries about the 
number of Catholic families in the neighborhood and I could not 
find a dozen around the place. I therefore concluded that place 
should be rejected as one that would not pay us for the sacrifices 
we have to make. Should your Reverence think differently, tele- 
graph. Bishop still continues recommending this place and 
says that we will not regret it; but I can not believe that, in- 
formed as I am at present about the few Catholics in that 
vicinity. Moreover, here we would have to put up $10,000 im- 
provements the first year; that is a part of the bargain. 

Now I have accepted the southwest side, three acres at $5,500 
an acre, that is, thirty-two lots. Here we will have a large 
Catholic population at once, sufficient to fill a large church. 

We can put up a frame church, which will answer the purpose 
until all the land is paid off. Then it will answer for a school, 
and the rest of the land, which we can sell, will help to build the 
college and the new church. In my opinion, it is decidedly the 
only place we can take here. 

I will leave here on Thursday the 12th inst. Should you not 
approve of this, telegraph to Mr. B. J. Caulfield. However, 
should you not be willing to take this, I am willing to take it on 
the responsibility of the Sodality investing Jane Graham's dona- 
tion in this. ' ' 4 

* Ibid. 



6 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Having settled upon a location for the new church 
Father Damen returned to St. Louis, and soon there- 
after advised Bishop O 'Regan that his work in Chi- 
cago had received the endorsement of the Superior. 
Accordingly, Bishop O 'Regan further communis 








REV. FRANCIS DI MARIA, S. J. 

Noted Missionary of Missouri 
Province. Preached mission in Chi- 
cago as early as 1850 



REV. MICHAEL CORBETT, S. J. 
Preached mission in Chicago, 
1856. Assistant Pastor 1859-63, 
1871-73 



cated with Father Damen with respect to plans for 
the establishment of a parish. 

"Chicago, Illinois, 

March 21, 1857. 
To Reverend A. Damen : 
Reverend Dear Friend : 

I have received your note with the agreeable news that Father 
Druyts has confirmed your acts in Chicago. I have given thanks 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 1 

to God for this great blessing and I pray that he may always aifl 
with His abundant graces the holy work. I would strongly im 
press on you to come as soon as possible after Easter to collect 
and commence the work. 

Moreover, some one else might be walking over your ground 
unless you come in good time. I would at once define your 
Parish, announce it, and you would attend the sick calls from 
my house and have the emoluments and a better claim in col- 
lecting. 

Yours most affectionately, 

Anthony, Bishop of Chicago." 5 

The property which Father Damen had finally 
selected as a location for his church, lay a block west 
of the intersection of Twelfth street with Hoosier, 
or, as it was subsequently called, Blue Island ave- 
nue. It consisted of thirty-two lots, making up the 
entire block between Twelfth, May, Eleventh and 
Austin (Aberdeen) streets. ST. P. Iglehart and Co., 
a local real estate firm, were the agents for the prop- 
erty, which was owned by Mrs. Mary Ann Shays, a 
widow residing in Hamilton County, Ohio. A pre- 
liminary agreement to buy the ground, subject to 
Bernard J. Caulfield's opinion of the title and to 
Father Druyts' approval, was signed by Father 
Damen on March 11, 1857. Twenty-five of the lots 
were to be paid for at the rate of $600 each. A war- 
ranty deed for the property was executed April 20, 
1857, by Mary Ann Shays, through N. P. Iglehart, 
her attorney, in favor of John P. Druyts of St, 
Louis, for a consideration of $17,900. The money 
was to be paid in installments for which Father 
Druyts gave a series of notes payable in one, two and 
three years' time. The notes were secured by a 
mortgage on the property. As a matter of fact, all 

s Ibid. 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



the notes were taken up and paid by Father Druyts 
by September 24, 1857. The circumstances which 




EEV. PIERRE JEAN DE SMET, S. J. 

The noted Indian Missionary who took a deep interest 

in the establishment of the Parish 



led to this premature payment of the debt throw an 
interesting light on the great panic of 1857. 6 

6 One N. P. Iglehart held the notes totaling $9,700.00 and became so 
hard pressed owing to the panic that he offered to discount them to the 
extent of $3,000.00 in consideration of cash payment. The offer was ac- 
cepted and the balance, $6,122.00, was paid September 24, 1857. See 
correspondence reproduced by Father Garraghan in Beginnings of Holy 
Family Parish, op. cit. footnote, t>. 446. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 9 

The year 1857 was one of widespread business dis- 
aster. One of those periodical business convulsions 
had swept over the land. Following the unexpected 
failure of the Ohio Life and Trust Company, a panic 
occurred in the great Eastern money centers, so gen- 
eral as to completely destroy for the time all busi- 
ness confidence. The sudden and forced liquidation 
of all debts which followed so lessened values that 
insolvency became the rule rather than the excep- 
tion among business men. Trade at the close of the 
year was completely paralyzed and the new year 
showed more wrecks than any five years before. 
Chicago could not and did not come out of the storm 
unscathed. The sudden withdrawal of all orders for 
the purchase of her grain and other products of 
export on which the stability of her trade was built 
and the great depreciation of all state securities on 
which rested the solvency of Illinois banks, brought 
many of her citizens to sudden ruin and forced sev- 
eral of her banks into liquidation. 7 

It was in the midst of this general financial stress 
that Father Damen took up his work in Chicago. 
The lack of money, business and commercial depres- 
sion, the growing number of the unemployed and a 
general air of restlessness and discontent on all 
hands, were so many, circumstances to render the 
task of collecting funds for a new church an appall- 
ing one for even the stoutest. Yet Father Damen 
attempted the task and succeeded. By the end of 
May, 1857, the subscriptions amounted to $30,000. 
"I get along pretty well," he wrote in September to 
Father Druyts, "and people are astonished that I 

7 See account of panic in Munsell History of Chicago, Vol. I, pp. 128-9. 



10 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



11 




"DO 




MB 



sods ^ 



W.CUL I 

•' W2IV 









Location where the Fi 
1 in Chicago, was within the or 

boundaries oF Holy Family Pai 
"Pere Marquette "here spent the 

winter From December I2f "~ 

spring oF 1675. 
- Holy Family Church and St. Ignatius College. 



,t wh.temen l.vcd 



the 






ihSthoo 



S School, n 



le Sacred Heart 



St. Aloysius School. 

St. Veronica's School, now St Pius'School. 

Guardian Angel's School. 

St. Joseph's School. 

St. Agnes' School. 

Holy Trinity Church .-German. 
L - Sacred Heart Church . 
M- St. Francis Church .-German. 
N -St Francis School .- German. 
O - St Wencelslas Church .- Bohemian 
P - St. Vitas Church . -Bohemian. 
Q - St-. Procopus Church .- Bohemian. 
R - St. Stephen's Church .-Slovenian 
S - St. Joseph Church . - Slovak. 
T - Providence oF God . -Lithuanian 
- St. Adalbert Church. - Pol i sh . 



Jwltj family JPatisK 



1857 - 1923 



V - St. Aloysius Convent. 
W - St. Joseph's Home . 
///,. Present Parish Boundari 



12 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

can get money at all." In October he wrote again 
to the Vice Provincial : 

"Swift, you are aware, has suspended business, most people 
say that he is broke. Almost all the Catholics deposited with him 
and lost considerable by him. This works against us. Two days 
before he closed I drew out $1,000 and left with him $207. How- 
ever, I will get it all. The man who delivers stone to our build- 
ing has to pay him $2,800, and he has taken my check on Swift, 
to which Swift has agreed, so that I lose only the interest. We 
find it next to impossible to collect money at present. The people 
are all afraid in consequence of the many failures all over the 
country. Still, up to this time, Chicago has kept up better than 
St. Louis, Philadelphia, Boston and New York. There has been 
less failure here than elsewhere.'' 

Territorially the parish was immense in compari- 
son with present day parishes in the city of Chicago. 
The original boundaries were Polk street on the 
north, the south branch of the Chicago river on the 
east and south, and practically unlimited space on 
the west. The nearest church on the west was at 
Summit, Illinois. Walnut street (now Robey 
street) was the farthest west shown on the map of 
that year, but even that street had not then been laid 
out. The city limits to the west in 1857 was West- 
ern avenue, half a mile from Walnut street (now 
Robey). There were of course no improvements 
of any kind west of Halsted street, with the excep- 
tion of a few clusters of houses and a scattered house 
here and there south of Polk street. 

The March of 1857 had seen Father Damen 
choose a site for the church. On May 4th following, 
he arrived in Chicago accompanied by Father 
Charles Truyens, S. J., to begin work. 

By July 12th the temporary church was completed. 



CHAPTER II 

In the Temporary Church 

Reverend Arnold Damen, S. J., arrived in Chi- 
cago to become a permanent resident of the city on 
May 4, 1857. He was accompanied by Rev- 

1857 erend Charles Truyens, S. J., who was his 

1860 first assistant. 

With all possible despatch, Father 
Damen entered into contracts for the erection, upon 
the site selected, of a temporary frame church, a two- 
story structure, 20 x 48 feet, to be completed on or 
before July 15, 1857. This first church was located 
on the south side of Eleventh street about 75 feet 
east of May street. 

The building was completed and ready for occu- 
pancy July 12, 1857, and the initial services were 
held in the new church on that day. These services 
began with the blessing of the church by Right Rev. 
James Duggan. A Solemn High Mass, with excep- 
tional music, followed. Bishop Duggan delivered 
an eloquent discourse on the occasion. 

Bishop O 'Regan, who had taken the initiative in 
inviting the Jesuits to Chicago, went to Rome in 1857 
and accordingly was not present to participate in 
the ceremonies. 

The church at once proved inadequate for the 
accommodation of the number of worshippers who 
flocked thither from the surrounding prairies, and 
arrangements were at once entered into for its en- 

13 



14 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



largement. An addition was constructed and com- 
pleted before the end of the following month. 







RIGHT REVEREND JAMES DUGGAN, D. D. 
Fourth Bishop of Chicago 

The temporary building was but the rallying place 
for the promotion of the permanent church, the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 15 

building of which was pushed with such vigor that, 
on August 26th, the Feast of the Most Pure Heart 
of Mary, the corner stone of the new brick church, 
at the corner of Twelfth and May streets, was laid. 
On that occasion Right Reverend James Duggan, 
assisted by a large number of the clergy, and in the 
presence of a great concourse of the laity, conducted 
the ceremonies. 1 

Simultaneously with the building and equipment 
of the temporary church and the entering upon the 
erection of a permanent church, Father Damen was 
giving his attention to the matter of education for 
the children of the new parish. As a temporary ex- 
pedient he caused to be erected a wing or transept 
on each side of the frame church, to be used as class 
rooms. These wings were provided with large fold- 
ing doors opening into the church, which were 
thrown open on Sunday, making them available for 
the large congregation. 

On August 11, 1857, classes for girls were estab- 
lished in one of the wings, and on September 7th 
classes for boys were provided for in the other. 

The girls' school was taught by the Ghent sisters, 
namely Misses Mary, Margaret and Sarah Ghent. 
They were employed under a rather unique contract, 
and were paid the sum of $800.00 per year for teach- 
ing the girls, playing the organ in the church, and 
conducting the choir. These same ladies conducted 
a select school in their own home, which was one of 
the row of nine famous houses on May street be- 
tween Eleventh and Taylor streets. These houses 
were considered in their day as perhaps the finest 

1 Although Bishop O 'Began was responsible for bringing the Jesuits to 
Chicago it fell to the lot of Bishop Duggan to labor with them in the 
early stages of their establishment. 



16 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

in the parish; St. Aloysius Convent now covers the 
site formerly occupied b}^ several of those houses. 

The first teacher in the boys' school was a Mr. 
Seaman, a converted Protestant minister. 

Thus it is seen that, in four months, Father 
Damen had set in motion his church and school and 
was proceeding rapidly with the permanent church, 
a record seldom equalled and perhaps never sur- 
passed. 2 

Thus far we have been considering only the mate- 
rial side of Father Damen 's work. Let us now turn 
to the spiritual fruits, and going back to the 11th of 
July, the first day upon which the temporary church 
was open for use, we find that on that day in addi- 
tion to his many other duties and obligations Father 
Damen baptized one convert and two infants. The 
first baptism in the church was that of Julia Taylor, 
a convert from the Baptist sect, aged 17. The sec- 
ond was that of Patrick Kelly, two days old; the 
third was that of Michael Kilbridge, two days old; 
the fourth was Michael Robert McAvoy, ten days 
old. The first marriage performed in the new 
church was that of James S. Wallace and Mary Ann 
Torpey. Father Truyens, Father Damen 's assist- 
ant, performed this first marriage ceremony. 3 

A brief reference to services and incidents con- 
nected with the new establishment will prove of 
interest. The Archconfraternity of the Immaculate 
Heart of Mary was established on Sunday, August 
16th after vespers which were conducted at three 

2 See account in Beginnings of Holy Family Parish, Garraghan, Illinois 
Catholic Historical Review, Vol. I, p. 436 et. seq. 

8 The parish records are complete without a single break from the be- 
ginning to the present, and have been drawn upon freely for data for this 
volume. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 17 

p. in. ; on Sunday, September 7th, the Altar Society, 
which has had a long and enviable record in sup- 
plying furnishings for the altar, vestments for the 
priests, and cassocks for the acolytes, was organized. 
In recognition of the splendid services of the Altar 
Society, a number of Masses for the living and de- 
ceased members are offered every year. 

The first Mass for a deceased member of the parish 
was offered up on August 8th. This was a Solemn 
High Mass for William McCormick, and was the 
first of the long seiies of High Masses that have been 
daily offered in Holy Family Church from that 
August morning in 1857 to the piesent time. It is 
the marvel of all strangers who visit Holy Family 
Church that there are so many Masses for the dead 
announced. 

On November 8th, a course of instruction was be- 
gun for the children preparing for First Holy Com- 
munion. This was but the first of a long series of 
First Communion instructions, which have always 
been so thorough and productive of so much good, 
and especially so under the zealous direction of Eev- 
erend Andrew T O'Neill, S. J., who personally attended 
to this part of the ministry for nearly thirty-five 
years. 4 

On November 9th, a meeting of the ladies of the 
parish was called to make arrangements for a fair 
for the completion of the parish church. This was 
the first of the fairs or bazaars, as they were called 
in later years, which have made Holy Family Parish 
famous, and it is to be noted that at this very early 
day Father Damen selected the ladies to manage the 

* The announcement books in which are inscribed all important announce- 
ments from the pulpit are also complete and show such facts as the above. 



18 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

fair, realizing their capacity for such an under- 
taking. 

On November 29th, a novena, in preparation for 
the Feast of the Immaculate Conception, was begun. 
This novena has been perpetuated in the parish to 
the present day, and in later years has been attended 
with unusual splendor and solemnity, including the 
carrying of the statue of the Blessed Virgin in the 
procession. All the clergy attend, together with the 
acolytes and officers of the various sodalities. 5 

The first Christmas in the new parish was cele- 
brated in the little church with all the solemnity that 
the limited means of the fathers permitted. The 
first High Mass was celebrated at five a. m., and 
there was a succession of Masses until 10:30 a. m., 
when the second High Mass was celebrated. 

The first Christmas collection in the new parish, 
taken on that day, was for the Bishop's Seminary, 
the University of St. Mary of the Lake. 

Beginning with the second year of the existence of 
the parish, namely, 1858, arrangements were made 
to have four Masses on Sundays at the hours of 
seven, eight, nine and ten- thirty o'clock. The chil- 
dren's Mass was fixed at nine o'clock. 

On January 17th, the first effort was made to or- 
ganize a committee to look after the poor of the 
parish. This was the virtual nucleus of the St. Vin- 
cent DePaul Society in Holy Family Parish. Ar- 
rangements were made for two or three gentlemen 
to call on the parishioners for contributions, either 
money or provisions for the poor. The provisions 
were kept at the priest's house until distributed. 
Four ladies constituted a committee to visit the poor 

6 Noted in the announcement book. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



19 




20 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

to prevent imposition, and give the deserving tickets 
for supplies. The men who first solicited aid for 
this worthy work were a Mr. O'Neill and a Mr. 
Creed. The lady visitors were Mrs. Martin, Mrs. 
Hickey, Mrs. Matthews and Mrs. Higgins. 6 

On January 31st a meeting was called to establish 
the Catholic Institute in the parish. This was a very 
popular society in the Catholic parishes of the early 
days. Very little record is found of its work in Holy 
Family Parish, however. 7 

On February 7th, at nine o'clock a. m., the children 
of the parish made their first Holy Communion. 
This was the first occurrence of this popular and edi- 
fying ceremony, which has been observed with such 
fidelity throughout the history of Holy Family 
parish. 

It is interesting to learn of the services and exer- 
cises in this notable parish during the first Lenten 
season after the parish was established. The parish 
records show that during Lent there was a Mass 
every day at eight o'clock, followed by a meditation 
read to the people, the rosary, instructions and bene- 
diction on Wednesday, and Stations of the Cross on 
Friday evening, with the regular Sunday night serv- 
ices, although slight mention is made of these. 8 

After Lent, and on the first of May, 1858, the 
fathers began the beautiful May devotions in honor 
of Our Lady. These were held every evening at eight 
o'clock, and took such hold upon the people as to 
mark an increased attendance every year. The de- 
votions of Our Blessed Lady have never diminished 

o Ibid. 
7 Ibid. 
s Ibid. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 21 

in interest in Holy Family Parish. It was upon that 
simple foundation, with the poor, plain altar of the 
frame church that the magnificent shrine in honor 
of Our Holy Mother was builded, and from that be- 
ginning developed the beautiful May ceremonies ob- 
served in the church from that time to the present. 

On Sunday, May 30, 1858, confirmation was first 
administered in the church. 

During that first month of May for Holy Family 
parish, a May festival or fair was being held in St. 
Louis, by Father Damen's friends and associates, to 
raise funds to assist in building a new church, and 
Father Damen asked his little congregation to pray 
for its success. 

The pew rents early became the principal source 
of income for the up-keep of the little church. The 
pews and kneeling benches must . have been very 
primitive, considering the haste in which the church 
was constructed. It appears that the first committee 
to have any sort of charge of the pews consisted of 
John Comiskey, Matthew Brennan and James Bid- 
well. These three are mentioned on the parish reg- 
ister as pew rent collectors. 

On Sunday, June 20th, there was held a grand cele- 
bration, in honor of the Queen of May. On this occa- 
sion all the children gathered about her statue, conse- 
crated themselves to the Blessed Virgin, and then 
crowned her as queen. 

On Sunday, July 11th, the ladies of the congrega- 
tion were requested to meet and clean up the church 
the following week. It is evident that there was no 
janitor or other help. 

Sometime during the latter part of the year 1857 
Father Damen received a new aid in the person of 



22 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Eeverend James Bouchard, S. J. Father Bouchard 
must have come as early as September, as his name 
appears on the baptismal register under date of Sep- 
tember 8, 1857. 

On August 22nd, after vespers, the Society of the 



,, v",\ :?"'«.•"" : ,/' : ;-.' 




REV. JAMES MARY CHRYSOS- 

TOM BOUCHARD, S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1857-1861 



REV. CHARLES TRUYENS, S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1857-1860, came 

with Father Damen 



Holy Family for Men was established. This organi- 
zation was the foundation of the married men's so- 
dality that has been such a successful factor in 
Holy Family Parish. 9 

Beginning October 24, 1858, a mission, or jubilee 
week, was carried out, and soon after this mission a 



9 Ibid. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 23 

collection for coal and stoves was taken up and also 
for funds to pay for plastering the school rooms. 

Beginning November 8th, the second fair was held 
for the benefit of the church fund. Again the ladies 
were pressed into service, and urged to their best 
endeavors. 

For the first time in this parish, the devotions to 
the souls in Purgatory, during the month of Novem- 
ber, were practiced. The Mass and devotions were 
conducted every morning at eight o'clock. 

The second Christmas in the frame church was be- 
gun with a Mass at four o'clock a. m., with a succes- 
sion of Masses until 10:30 a. m., when the Solemn 
High Mass was celebrated. 

The year 1859 and most of the year 1860 found the 
congregation still worshipping in the little old frame 
church. The regular devotions were carried on in 
much the same manner as in 1857 and 1858, but on 
May 15, 1859, the first Sunday Mass was advanced 
to six o'clock. 

Another May festival was held for the benefit of 
the new church on Sunday, May 29th, and again the 
children of the parish were consecrated to the Blessed 
Virgin. 

On June 27th and 28th a festival was held in the 
new church, which, of course, had not yet been con- 
secrated, and was only partially finished. Father 
Damen exhorted all the members of the congregation 
to provide themselves with tickets for the festival, 
and hoped the festival would be a great social gath- 
ering of the parish. The ladies were again requested 
to provide the refreshments for the occasion. The 
festival over, and being a gratifying success, a High 



24 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Mass was offered up on Sunday, July 3rd, for all the 
workers and contributors. 10 

The second milestone of the parish was reached 
July 12, 1859. The community now consisted of 
Fathers Damen, Truyens and Bouchard, and 
Brothers Heilers and Moning. The latter was the 
cook and house manager. 

During the year just preceding, a new addition had 
been added to the frame church ; a Sunday school for 
the children was established, and a married men's so- 
dality was organized. There were 692 baptisms; 
20,000 confessions; 21,520 communions, and 56 
marriages. 11 

On July 10, 1859, a meeting of all the men of the 
parish was called to form a society of collectors, who 
were to go from house to house in the parish, to 
solicit funds for the stained glass windows in the 
new church. Three Masses were to be offered up in 
perpetuity for all those who would contribute toward 
the new church. The names of the men who volun- 
teered for this canvass are fortunately preserved to 
us. 12 

On Tuesday, July 19th, the Feast of St. Vincent 
BePaul, all the children of the Sunday school met at 
the church at six o'clock to join all the Catholic chil- 
dren of the city in a general picnic, apparently under 
the auspices of the St. Vincent DePaul Society. 

On July 24th all the children again made their first 
Holy Communion, and renewed their baptismal 
vows after vespers. This beautiful custom is ob- 
served to the present day. In later years the cere- 

io Ibid. 

ii Parish "Records. 

12 Announcement book. See record of collection and names of collectors 
and contributors in Chapter V. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 25 

mony took place in the afternoon. It has been made 
an annual event of the first importance in the parish 
school system. 

On September 5th, a picnic was given to the chil- 
dren of the parish who attended the Sunday school. 

On November 13th, the ladies of the parish were 
again called upon to prepare for a parish fair. On 
the same evening a lecture was given in the church 
for the benefit of the St. Vincent DePaul Society, the 
first direct appeal by this active organization. 

On Christmas day, 1859, at three o'clock p. m., a 
magic lantern show was given the children of the 
parish, and an admission fee of ten cents was 
charged. This was the forerunner of the present 
day "movie," and was perhaps enjoyed as intensely 
by the youngsters of that day as are the motion pic- 
tures at the present time. 

Beginning with the year 1860, the activities pro- 
ceeded in much the same manner as during the pre- 
ceding year. The principal events to be noted re- 
lated to the St. Vincent DePaul Society. March 
15th, arrangements were completed by that organi- 
zation for the celebration of St. Patrick's Day. On 
June 11th, the Society was aggregated to the Society 
in France, and on July 19th the Sunday school chil- 
dren were given a picnic b}^ the Society, all of the 
councils in the city taking part. Donations were re- 
quested from the members of the parish to help de- 
fray the expenses. 13 

On July 26, 1860, the permanent church was dedi- 
cated, and the theater of activities, so far as church 
services were concerned, was thereto transferred. 

Such, in brief, is an outline of the activities of the 

is Announcement book. 



26 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

parish for the first three years of its existence. 
Father Damen began his work in the wild, barren 
prairie, with only a few scattered houses in sight, 
and no streets that could be recognized by that desig- 
nation. There was no means of travel, save a dray 
or an express wagon. The difficulties were innumer- 
able, but, notwithstanding, he kept continually on the 
move, erecting one building after another; first his 
frame church, then his little residence, and next the 
schools, keeping all the time the main object in view, 
namely, the permanent church. Whatever other 
work was going on, attention was focused upon the 
permanent church, which was under roof by the end 
of the year 1858. During the next year it was floored 
and plastered. Finally, in the third year, it was 
completed. 

Although Father Damen and his associates were 
taxed to the limit of their endurance in pushing 
ahead all this external work, they never lost sight of 
the spiritual end, which was the motive power of all 
their actions. This end is seen in the regular minis- 
trations and in the various devotions introduced, the 
novenas, the confraternities and the sodalities, the 
courses of lectures and instructions, the Lenten, May 
and November devotions, the solicitude for the poor, 
the orphans and the outcast — all these gave testi- 
mony of the zeal for God's greater glory and the sal- 
vation of their fellow men that flamed within these 
indefatigable workers. 

The spiritual fruits of the first three years may 
be summed up as follows : Confessions, 60,000 ; com- 
munions, 65,984; marriages, 151; baptisms, 1,462. 
These figures include only the regular ministrations, 
and do not take into account sick calls, sermons and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 27 

instructions. The administrative forces of these 
years included Fathers Damen, Corbett, Maes and 
Bouchard, who were assisted by Brothers Heilers, 
Hutton and Moning. Brother Heilers and Brother 
Hutton were carpenters and builders, and Brother 
Moning was cook and manager of the pastoral resi- 
dence. 14 

The spiritual foundation laid by these first Fa- 
thers has been guarded as a sacred heritage by their 
worthy successors to the present day. 

14 See sketches in Chapter XVI. 



CHAPTER III 
The Pekmanent Chuech 

Three years of effective work, besides having en- 
compassed a remarkably broad field of spiritual 
endeavor, had produced a splendid parish, 

1860 and provided, for the fast growing congre- 

1865 gation, one of the best places of worship yet 
raised in the city of Chicago. 

More or less use of various kinds had been made of 
the new structure during the summer of 1860, but the 
great day, that of the dedication of the church, was 
August 26th. The dedication of a church is always 
an event of the highest importance, a new earthly 
dwelling place for the Supreme Good. In large 
Catholic communities, little difficulty is experienced 
in surrounding a dedicatory ceremony with the dig- 
nity and numbers appropriate to such an important 
event; but, situated as was Holy Family in the midst 
of the prairie with few neighboring churches, at a 
time, too, when conditions of travel were both bur- 
densome and difficult, it could hardly be expected 
that large numbers of the hierarchy or multitudes of 
the laity would be in attendance. 

In spite of these circumstances, however, the dedi- 
catory ceremonies were notable, even by comparison 
with similar exercises of the present day. We find 
no difficulty in following the ceremonies, since there 
was a set program, which has been preserved in the 

28 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



29 




THE CHURCH PRIOR TO THE COMPLETION OF THE TOWER 



30 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

records of the church. This program is so interest- 
ing as to deserve reproduction here: 

SOLEMN CONSECRATION OF THE CHURCH OF THE 

HOLY FAMILY 

West Twelfth Street, 

On Sunday, August 26, 1860. 

Consecrator — Rt. Rev. James Duggan, Bishop of Chicago. 

Solemn Pontifical High Mass. 
Celebrant — Rt. Rev. Dr. Fitzpatrick, Bishop of Boston. 
Assistant Priest — Very Rev. D. Dunn, V. G., of Chicago. 
Deacons of Honor — Rev. Father DeSmet, S 1 . J., Rev. Father 

Muller, C. S. S. R. 
Deacon of Office — Rev. Mr. Powers. 
Subdeacon — Rev. Mr Dillon. 
Masters of Ceremonies — Very Rev. P. Hennaert, Rev. Dr. 

Butler. 
Cantores — Rev. Messrs. Sullivan, Lyons, Muller, Powers, Mager, 

Jacobs. 
Crossbearer — Rev. Mr. Terry. 

Chaplains of Arch-Bishops and Bishops 
Rev. Fathers Coosemans, Corbett, Maes, Trevis, Calvelage, Don- 
Ion, Larkin, Clarkson, Donahoe, Van der Drieschen, Stephens 
and Lapointe. 

Ceremonies Commence at 9 o'clock A. M. 
Most Rev'd Archbishop of St. Louis preaches the Consecration 
Sermon. 

Sermons During the Ceremony 
In English — Rt. Rev. Dr. Carroll, Bishop of Covington. 
In German — Rt. Rev. Dr. Henni, Bishop of Milwaukee, Wis. 
In French — Rt. Rev. Dr. de St. Palais, Bishop of Vincennes, 
Ind. 

In the Sanctuary and Procession : 
Rt. Rev. Dr. Smyth, Bishop of Dubuque; Rt. Rev. Dr. Jun- 
cker, Bishop of Alton ; Rt. Rev. Dr. Grace, Bishop of St. Paul ; 
Rt. Rev. Dr. Whelan, Bishop of Nashville; Rt. Rev. Dr. Le- 
fevre, Bishop of Detroit; Rt. Rev. Dr. Luers, Bishop of Ft. 
Wayne ; Rt. Rev. Dr. Timon, Bishop of Buffalo. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 31 

Mozart's Twelfth Mass was sung', accompanied by full 
orchestra, the united Choirs of the Holy Name, St. Mary's, St. 
Patrick's, St. Francis and Holy Family. 

Ticket of Admittance One Dollar." 1 

We have an account of this great ceremony by one 
of Holy Family's most gifted sons. 

"The ceremony took place on Sunday, August 26, 
the Feast of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, a feast 
in the Church's calendar dear to the heart of Father 
Damen ; for throughout his life he had a very special 
devotion to the Immaculate Heart of Mary ; his last 
spoken words on his death bed were: ' Immaculate 
Heart of Mary, I offer my life and sufferings. ' The 
dedication was carried out with a degree of splendor 
hitherto quite unprecedented in the ecclesiastical 
history of the Middle West. Thirteen members of 
the hierarchy were in attendance, Bishop Duggan 
being the officiating prelate ; Bishop Fitzpatrick, of 
Boston, celebrant of the Pontifical Mass ; and Arch- 
bishop Kenrick, of St. Louis, the preacher of the 
dedication sermon ; while in the progress of the cere- 
mony sermons were delivered by Bishop Carroll, of 
Covington, Bishop Henni, of Milwaukee, and Bishop 
de St. Palais, of Vincennes. Besides the prelates 
named, there were present in the sanctuary Bishops 
Smyth, of Dubuque, Juncker of Alton, Grace of St. 
Paul, Whelan of Nashville, Lefevre of Detroit, 
Luers of Fort Wayne, and Timon of Buffalo. Mo- 
zart's Twelfth Mass, which was rendered under the 
personal direction of Father Oakley, one of the 
priests serving the parish, was the musical feature 
of the occasion. To Father Damen perhaps no day 
in his career was quite like this in the splendid tokens 

1 Names and titles reproduced as in the printed program preserved. 



32 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of success with which it crowned his labors of the 
preceding three years. 'The Reverend Arnold Da- 
men, ' wrote James W. Sheahan of the Chicago 
Tribune, in 1866, 'is the Hercules who has, in a few 
years, wrought all this work. To his energy, his abil- 
ity, his sanctity, his perseverance, and his great prac- 
tical intelligence, is due, not only the erection of this 
magnificent edifice, but the great spiritual success 
which has crowned the labors of the Society." 2 

With an opportunity to look about and examine 
this masterpiece of Father Damen's endeavor, we 
can learn more of his activities. The new church was 
built upon ground on the north side of Twelfth 
street, a short distance east of May street. It meas- 
ured originally .146x85 feet, with a nave 61 feet 
high. Later two transepts were added, increasing 
the width to 125 feet, while, in 1866, an extension of 
40 feet was made to the length, making the total 
length 186 feet. The architects were Dillenburg and 
Zucher, while the interior was designed by John Van 
Osdel. The style is heavy Gothic and the material 
brick with trimmings of Illinois cut stone. The 
main altar, designed and constructed by Anthony 
Buscher, was not dedicated until 1865, October 26th. 
Though constructed of wood the massive proportions, 
richness of detail and general impressiveness of this 
great work appealed to all lovers of ecclesiastical art. 
The splendid organ, designed and manufactured by 
Louis Mitchell, of Montreal, was introduced to the 
congregation in an elaborate musical recital, October 
21, 1870. 3 

2 Garraghan, The Catholic Church in Chicago, 1673-1871, pp. 177-8. 

3 Ibid. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



33 



It may be of benefit, not only to the present gen- 
eration, but to posterity, to allude to the fact that 
this magnificent church, as well as the other great 
structures connected with the parish, did not just 
sprout from the soil and develop into maturity 
without trouble or effort. The prayers and pains 
and sufferings of the indomitable builder brought 




REV. JOHN SCHULTZ, S. ,1. 
Pastor 1870-71 



REV. DOMINIC NIEDERKORN, 

S. J., Pastor 1871-72 



them forth. In all time to come, it will be not only 
of interest, but of benefit, to know what Holy Family 
Parish cost in toil and moil and worry. This can 
best be judged by letters still preserved in the 
archives of the church or of the Province, some of 
which are here reproduced. 



34 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Writing to Father Druyts, his Superior, Father 
Damen says : 

"If you think that Brother Dohan or Brother Heilers could 
see that the things would be properly executed, you would do 
well to send either one or the other by the first of July. The 
house is getting ready for plastering and no money yet. It is 
too bad. 

There is no money in Chicago. I regret I signed the con- 
tracts; but it is too late now. We have to go on, and I think 
it providential that we signed the contract so thoughtlessly, for 
never could we build the church so low as we get it for ; we must 
only exert ourselves and rely on Providence. It will be neces- 
sary to sell the lot of Mrs. Hunt and borrow some money, or sell 
Jane Graham's property; I will have money enough till the end 
of July, but then I must necessarily get some. I have borrowed 
a thousand dollars here, at ten per cent per annum, payable in 
five years from date, on the property which has been given to me 
here. Last Monday week we had confirmation in our church. 
Two hundred and fifty persons were confirmed. We had about 
one thousand communions in the morning, or perhaps more. 
Our congregation is really doing wonders; it fills us with con- 
solation." 4 

Under date of June 16, 1858, Father Damen writes 
again : 

" Please send me the remainder of the money of the festival 
as soon as possible, for I have to make a great many payments. 
If you cannot get more than $1,200 for Mrs. Hunt's lot, it is 
better to sell it for that, because I will be awfully pushed for 
money; but we just trust in Divine Providence. We have 
prayed so much and, as it is for God 's greater Glory, I feel con- 
fident that God will help us. We have just opened our free 
schools, We have already 300 children and they are pouring in 
fast. The boys' free school costs us nothing except the board of 
Mr. Seaman (the converted Episcopalian minister). He does 
remarkably well, keeps excellent order, is sacristan, etc., etc. 
He is willing and humble. What he gets from the school is to 
go towards the payment of his debts slowly. Now, my dear 

4 Arclidiocesan Archives of St. Louis. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 35 

Father, what is a debt of seven thousand dollars on such a 
church, chiefly, when there is twice the amount of property 
to pay that debt; it seems to me that you ought to see that. I 
feel confident that the Archbishop would let you have that 
amount if you were to ask him. ' ' 5 

Again he writes ; on July 19, 1858 : 

"Now, dear Father, try to act cleverly for Chicago. Give 
me $6,000 for Jane Graham's property and I will never ask 
you again for a cent, for Chicago. Had I $6,000 I could make all 
payments and put the roof on the church; and after all what 
would be a debt of $6,000, on a church like this, chiefly when 
there is real estate enough to pay twice the amount; therefore, 
effect this loan without fear. Had times not turned out as they 
have done, I would have plenty of money to meet all the obliga- 
tions; but no one could have foreseen these difficulties." 6 

And again under date of April 15, 1859 : 

"Times in Chicago are very bad; no money among the people. 
I have paid off all of our debts, which were due at this time and 
I have $400 over for the July payment. I hope to get ready 
for that payment of $1,700, but the Lord only knows how I 
shall get ready for the other payments, for there is no prospect 
of times getting better till we have a better crop." 7 

On May 24, 1859, Father Damen writes again : 

' l I am working day and night in order to pay off the $5,000 
which is to be paid here this summer, and you know well enough 
that this is no trifle in these hard times. We think it better to 
make a sacrifice and have the church finished and do more good 
and secure a larger revenue than to leave the church unfinished. 
I have already bought 22,000 feet of lumber and paid for it be- 
cause lumber is rising in price. The architect is preparing 
things, and, in a few days, I will give out the contract for 
plastering ; for we have no time to lose if we wish to have it done 
before the cold weather sets in. 

Our congregation is doing wonders. We have the exercises of 
the month of May at eight o 'clock in the morning and the church 

5 Ibid. 
« Ibid. 
7 Ibid. 



36 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

is full ; we have them again at 7 :30 o 'clock at night for those 
who cannot come in the morning, and the church and school- 
rooms are overflowing. On Sundays, hundreds of people are 
obliged to go away, not being able to get into the church or 
schools. Fainting takes place often in the church, although 
all the windows are open. Our collection last Sunday was 
$35.00, the largest we have had on an ordinary Sunday since we 
are here. 

We concluded the month of May last night. Perhaps a thou- 
sand people had to go away, could not get into the Church. It 
seems as if the whole city was pouring to us, crowds from all 
sides procession-like. ' ' 8 

These letters add a tragic touch to the triumphal 
course of the great preacher and administrator, and 
throw a flood of light on the almost superhuman dif- 
ficulties he encountered; they present facts almost 
beyond belief were they not thus incontrovertibly at- 
tested. They bring out in bold relief, Damen the 
man and the servant of God, his abiding faith, his 
tireless labors, his confidence in the people, and, in 
turn, the almost magic response to his appeals. 

Considering the times — a virtual panic stretching 
over a number of years — it is not at all difficult to 
believe that a kind Providence directed and inspired 
Father Damen especially in selecting the location in 
preference to two others, both of which at the time 
seemed more alluring ; for, as previously mentioned, 
the Bishop offered Father Damen the Cathedral and 
Parish, and upon his declining this offer, the Bishop 
urged upon him what was called the "Bullshead" 
property at the corner of Madison street and Ogden 
avenue. 

Indeed, his achievements were marvelous, espe- 
cially when we consider that, during one of the most 

s Ibid. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 87 

difficult periods of American history, lie established 
this great parish, and constructed the third largest 
church in North America, while business of every 
character was crumbling to ruins, and continued the 
development of his projects when the country was 
torn by the calamitous civil war. 9 

But, to take up the thread of our narrative. No 
sooner had the joyful echoes of the dedication died 
away, than Father Damen launched forth with his 
unabated energy to furnish the interior of the church. 
The stained glass windows had been put in prior to 
the dedication ; next came the heating plant, then the 
organ, pulpit and the new bell. A communion rail- 
ing was added and, finally, the new main altar, one of 
the most artistic ever seen in America. 

Next came the new pastoral residence, a new 
school for boys, while greater encouragement was 
given to the Ladies of the Sacred Heart in their 
work of educating the girls of the parish. 

More energy was directed toward the formation 
of a truly Catholic people, by the introduction of 
sodalities for the children and adults, and especially 
by the devotion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. 

Father Damen had, by this time, a large force of 
workers, including Fathers Bouchard, Coveney, 
Tschieder, Oakley, Smarius, Watson, Converse, Van 
Goch, Niederkorn, Masselis, Kuhlman, Lawlor, An- 
drew O'Neill and DeBlieck, and Brothers Heilers 
and Hutton, carpenters; O'Neill and Corcoran, 
teachers in the boys' school; Grennan, sacristan; 
Dipple, cook; and Smith, inflrmarian and house 
manager. 10 

9 See Chapter II, and notes on panic. 
to Biographical sketches in later chapter. 



38 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

It is of interest to know something of the general 
routine and the special undertakings during the very 
earliest years of the new church. Much informa- 
tion of this character has been culled from the 
church records and other available sources, and is 
here given in chronological order. 

In the year I860, the year in which the church was 
dedicated, the Ladies of the Sacred Heart opened 
their school on West Taylor street near Lytle street, 
with 200 girls in attendance. 

On October 29th of the same year, Rev. John Cov- 
eney opened a select school for boys, which he taught 
himself. 

During the autumn, soon after the dedication, a 
steam heating plant was installed in the church. 

Late in the year 1860 the large bell was hung in the 
temporary wooden tower in the churchyard, and 
blessed. 

The first course of advent lectures in the church 
was begun on Sunday, December 2, 1860. 

The Acolythical Society was organized in the year 
1860, with thirty members, and began its service by 
providing twelve members to attend High Masses on 
Sundays, and on Feast Days all members were in 
attendance. 

The first notable, extraordinary work of the year 
1861 was a collection, taken up on March 17th, for 
a statue of St. Patrick. 

On April 7th, a Solemn Novena was begun, in 
honor of the patronage of St. Joseph, which was the 
Patronal Feast of the church. St. Joseph was offi- 
cially the patron of the church, until Pope Leo XIII 
designated a Feast Day for the Holy Family, which 
was first observed in 1898, and which is now fixed for 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 39 

the Sunday within the octave of the epiphany. The 
novena consisted of devotions, after the 8 o'clock 
Mass every morning, and a sermon in the evening. 

Early in the year 1861, a new pulpit was installed 
in the church. 

Beginning June 23rd the first Mass on Sundays 
was celebrated at five o'clock a. m. 

The Association of the Sacred Heart was estab- 
lished on the first Friday in July. The little offices 
of the Sacred Heart were distributed after the six 
and 10:30 o'clock Masses on the first Sunday of the 
month. This custom was continued for some years. 

Daring the year 1861, the new brick residence on 
Twelfth and May streets was built. 

During the same year the Young Ladies' Sodality 
and the Holy Angels' Sodality were founded. 

On August 11th, the first great mission ever held 
in Holy Family Parish was begun, and continued for 
two weeks. During this mission the exercises were 
as follows: 5 a. m., Mass and instruction; 8 a. m., 
Mass and sermon; 3:30 p. m., the Way of the Cross 
and instruction; 7:30 p. m., Rosary, Sermon and 
Benediction. 11 

On September 8th, the Holy Rosary Society, of 
which more will be learned, was established. On 
October 20th the leaflets of the Mysteries of the Holy 
Rosary were distributed for the first time, and were 
thereafter distributed monthly at the meetings of 
the Society. 

On week days, the Masses were celebrated in the 
basement chapel, during the cold weather, beginning 
about the 15th of December. This custom continued 
until about 1888, when Father Higgins, rector of St. 

11 Announcement book. 



40 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Ignatius College, discontinued it. He argued that 
the parishioners would be willing to bear the extra 
expense of having the church heated, provided the 
Masses were said in the church. His ruling has been 
observed to the present day. 

Passing to the year 1862, the record shows that a 
picnic was given on June 24th for all the school chil- 
dren, and the families of the parish were requested 
to provide refreshments. 

About this time, June 21st Miss Boulger opened 
a school on Barber and Jefferson streets, for the ac- 
commodation of that district. 

During this year also, St. Ann's Sodality, or So- 
ciety of Married Ladies, was founded, and there was 
also organized the Married Men's Band. 

In the year 1863, an interesting item is noted with 
reference to the purchase in Europe of a set of gold 
vestments by Father Cornelius Smarius S. J., which 
are still in possession of the church, and in perfect 
condition, having almost the same appearance as 
when new. It was the first gold set possessed by 
Holy Family Church. They were remodeled or made 
over by the Sanctuary Society several years ago, and 
are still in use. 

From other references it is plain that there were 
many Irish in the new parish, and it appears that 
on March 17, 1863, a solemn celebration of St. Pat- 
rick's Day took place. 

It was during the year 1863, that the Boys' Band, 
organized in the parish, paraded for the first time, 
on St. Patrick's day, and a collection was taken up 
on the occasion for the new bell. 

On June 21st the Acolythical or altar boys, Society 
was consecrated to St. Aloysius. On July 5th 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



41 




42 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Fathers Damen and Corbett began a tour of the 
parish, collecting from house to house, to pay for the 
main altar. All of those who contributed $2.00 or 
more were to have their names written on parchment 
and placed under the altar. 12 

On July 19th confirmation was administered in the 
new church. A procession was formed of the mar- 
ried men, married ladies and young ladies, to meet 
the Right Reverend Bishop and escort him to the 
church. This was the first of those grand proces- 
sions and outpourings of the people to honor their 
bishop, which have been a marked feature in Holy 
Family Parish. 

On August 6, 1863, the first altar boys' picnic took 
place. These altar boys' picnics in the early days 
were intended not only to secure funds for the up- 
keep of the Society, but also as a recreation day for 
themselves and their friends. In later years when 
they were fairly well supplied with the necessary 
wardrobe, for service on the altar, the picnics were 
exclusively for the altar boys and were intended as a 
sort of acknowledgment on the part of the church 
and people of their services ; the church bearing the 
expense. More will be heard of the Acolythical 
Society. 

On October 5, 1863, an evening school was opened 
by Mr. Patrick Eustace, at his residence, opposite 
the church, for both men and boys who could not 
attend day school. 

On November 9th of that year, a fair was held at 
St. Patrick's Hall for the Destitute Children's In- 
dustrial School. Mrs. Fitzpatrick and Mrs. Grant 
were in charge of the refreshment table. 



12 See list of contributors, p. 59 et. seq. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 43 

The Ladies of the Sacred Heart erected a new 
school building to accommodate the numerous chil- 
dren who flocked to their school. To assist in financ- 
ing the project a fair was held during the last week 
of December of 1863, in Metropolitan Hall. 

Proceeding to the year 1864, it appears that from 
April 11th to 15th, a grand union fair was held in 
Bryan Hall, under the auspices of the St. Vincent 
DePaul Society for the benefit of the orphans. The 
ladies in the parish were again called into service to 
solicit for this worthy object, and w r ere commissioned 
for that purpose by Mr. Joseph Lawler. 

On April 24th, the children of the parish made 
their first Holy Communion. They paraded in pro- 
cession to the church, accompanied by both the Ju- 
venile and the Married Men's Bands. 

On May 10th occurred the first disaster. Fire de- 
stroyed the old frame church, which was being used 
as a school. This necessitated the fitting up of the 
basement of the new church for a school. School was 
resumed therein within a w 7 eek or two. 

On Thursday, June 9, 1864, a picnic was held, 
under the auspices of the Men's Sodality, at Down- 
ers Grove, for the purpose of raising funds for a new 
school. This is the first event on record of the activi- 
ties of the Men's Sodality in behalf of the parish in a 
financial way. They have certainly made an excel- 
lent record in the more than fifty years succeeding. 

On Thursday, August 4th, the altar boys held their 
second annual picnic. It is not clear where this 
event took place. The notice, still preserved, states 
that trains would leave the Milwaukee depot at 9 
o'clock, and that cars offered gratuitously by Mr. 
Jones, the superintendent, would take the people to 
the depot. 



44 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

On July 17th, the cornerstone of the new brick 
school, on Morgan street, was laid in the presence of 
the bishop. 

November 6, 1864, is notable for the first mention 
of the Purgatorial Society. On that date it was an- 
nounced that High Mass would be offered for the 
repose of the Souls of the members. At the present 
writing, there are six High Masses every week 
throughout the year for the repose of the Souls of 
the deceased members of the Purgatorial Society. 

The fifth year of activity, in connection with the 
new church, namely, the year 1865, was not notably 
strenuous. In January of that year the Holy 
Family School for Boys on Morgan street was 
opened for classes. 

On March 19th, a collection was taken up to place 
a crown over the altar of St. Joseph. Presumably 
this is the "gas crown," underneath which appears 
the words "He Ad Joseph/' 

A fair was held at the new school hall, from May 
8th to 12th, and a concert and lecture was given in 
the hall, of the new school on Morgan street, under 
the auspices of the Men's Sodality, for the purpose 
of establishing a parish library. 



CHAPTER IV 

Steady Development 

Considering the decade from 1860 to 1870, it will 

at once occur to the reader that Holy Family Parish, 

in all its business transactions, and even on 

1865 the point of public or political sentiment, 

1869 was, as were all other institutions and in- 
dividuals, seriously affected by the Civil 
War, which raged during four years of that period. 
When, however, one becomes well acquainted with 
the early history of Holy Family Parish, he will feel 
that the great leader of the parish transcended all 
material difficulties and triumphed over them, for 
the work of the parish proceeded satisfactorily, and 
the necessary improvements and development con- 
tinued virtually unchecked. 

The most important event of the year 1865, relat- 
ing to Holy Family Parish, was the completion and 
consecration of the great high altar that had been 
the object of so much earnest endeavor and pious 
solicitude during several years. 1 The day of the con- 
secration, October 15, 1865, finally arrived, and all 
was in readiness for the great ceremony. The 
Solemn Pontifical High Mass was celebrated by Rev- 
erend Michael O'Connor, S. J., former Bishop of 
Pittsburg, in the presence of seven bishops. Father 
O'Connor also preached the principal sermon in 
English. 

1 See full description of altar in Chapter XV. 
45 



46 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Bishop O 'Connor was one of many men to put his 
obligation of humility to the test. Ordained a 
Jesuit, he was called to the episcopate, which he re- 
luctantly accepted, but administered with ability and 
success. It is said of him, however, that he always 
longed for the privacy and humility of the priest- 
hood, and it is a fact that, in 1860, he resigned the 
honors of the bishopric and became a humble Jesuit, 




REV. PETER REV. JAMES CON- REV. JAMES C. VAN 

TSCHIEDER, S. J. VERSE, S. J. GOCH, S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1860- Assistant Pastor, 1863-4 Missioner, 1862-70 

63 — 1880-85 Devout Convert Missouri Province 

and so remained to the time of his death, October 18, 
1872. 2 

No doubt his affection for the Order which he 
had entered at ordination, and again embraced after 
laying down the burdens of episcopacy, influenced 
his coming to Chicago for the consecration of Father 
Damen's magnificent altar. 

Four of the seven bishops present also preached, 
each in a different language. The Mayor and other 
prominent and distinguished guests were present. 

2 Catholic Encyclopedia. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 47 

The music, of course, was exceptional ; the choir was 
reinforced by many volunteers, and full orchestral 
accompaniment was provided. All the majesty and 
dignity of the ritual were called to the aid of the cere- 
monies that they might be the more fitting, and the 
better to express the importance and solemnity of 
the occasion. 

In order that the preparations and the ceremonies 
might properly proceed in the main church, the 
regular Sunday Masses were offered up in Holy 
Family school, and when the doors were finally 
opened, admission to the ceremonies was by ticket 
only. For the purpose of defraying the expenses, 
and in case anything were left over of adding to the 
church revenues, a general admission charge of 
$1.00 was made, and seats were reserved for $2.00. 3 

Thus another great undertaking was brought to 
a successful conclusion. But there could be no 
pause. As each new work was completed other ne- 
cessities arose and pressed upon the workers. Hav- 
ing such a magnificent altar, it was now necessary 
that the altar railing should be pushed to comple- 
tion, and by special effort the railing also was com- 
pleted before the close of the year 1865. 

Of these two works of art — the high altar and the 
altar rail — both of which are quite exceptional, more 
will be said. 

Taking up the chronicle of the parish activities 
where it was discontinued in the last chapter, the 
first thing that attracts attention, after the consecra- 
tion of the altar, is the change made with respect to 
the Christmas collection. Prior to 1865 that collec- 
tion was for the benefit of the Bishop's Seminary, 

3 Announcement book. 



48 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

but as that institution, after a most heroic struggle 
and a most honorable record of twenty years had, 
owing to the unsettled conditions resulting from the 
war and other causes, closed its doors, it was per- 
mitted that the Christmas collection be applied to the 
support of the pastor. It was understood that in 
lieu of the discontinued university collection, a spe- 
cial tax be imposed upon the parishes for educational 
purposes. 

Beginning with the first Sunday in January, 1866, 
the first Sunday Mass was celebrated at five a. m., 
and there was introduced for the first time lectures 
every Sunday evening at 7 :30. 

Beginning with March 4, of that year, the prac 
tice of taking up pew money at the door was intro- 
duced. 

On April 29th, and thereafter, Mass was cele- 
brated on Sundays at nine o'clock in the new Holy 
Family School. This Mass was for the children and 
they were directed to attend there instead of coming 
to the church, undoubtedly because the church, even 
at that early day, was becoming overcrowded. 

In the first week in June, a fair was held to start 
a fund for the enlargement of the church. 

On June 18th, a branch school (St. Stanislaus), 
the upper story of which was used as a chapel, was 
opened south of the railroad tracks. This was the 
beginning of the future Sacred Heart school. 

On June 24, 1866, the corner stone of the new St. 
Francis Church was laid. 

The records indicate that on July 18th, the Gentle- 
men's Sodality gave a picnic, tickets for which were 
sold at Kelly's Store, opposite the church. 

In this year vacation schools were begun. Miss 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



49 



Ellis continued her classes in the Holy Family 
School during vacation, and classes were also con- 
tinued in the branch school south of the railroad 
tracks. 

On August 15th. at three p. m., there was a proces- 
sion in honor of the Blessed Virgin. All of the so- 
dalities were requested to be present in uniform. 




REV. MICHAEL LAW- REV. FLORENTINE REV. JOHN S. VER- 

LOR, S. J. BOUDREAUX, S. J. DIN, S. J. 

Procurator and Assistant Missioner 1866-69, and First Vice President 
Pastor, 1863-79 Assistant Pastor St. Ignatius College, 

1884-87 1870, 1878 

Presumably this was the annual procession to the 
Sacred Heart Convent. 

Before the end of the year an addition to the 
church of fifty feet was completed and ten new con- 
fessionals were installed. These confessionals are 
constructed of butternut wood, are beautifully 
carved, and have two statuettes in niches in the 
front. 4 

Among the notable events of 1867, was the erection 
of a statue of St. Joseph on one of the turrets. Dur- 
ing the novena, preparatory to the Feast of St. 

4 See full description of confessionals in Chapter XV. 



50 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Joseph, a collection was taken up for the purpose. 
Early residents may remember, and at least the 
early pictures of the church show, that there were 
three turrets on the front wall of the church, on each 
of which was placed a statue. The statue of our 
Lord in the center, of the Blessed Virgin Mary on 
the right, and of St. Joseph on the left. It was this 
statue of St. Joseph that was placed in 1867. The 
fate of these statues and turrets is of interest. The 
statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary was struck by 
lightning in the year 1882, and it was never replaced. 
The other two statues were taken down in about the 
year 1910, owing to their decay, and even the tur- 
rets themselves having grown shaky, were removed 
for safety. 

On June 9, 1867, notice came from the Chancery 
office of a change in parish boundaries. For ten 
years the boundaries had remained unaltered. 5 It 
was now decided that that part of the parish lying 
east of Jefferson street and north of Twelfth street 
should be taken from Holy Family Parish and an- 
nexed to an adjoining parish. Several events led 
to this change in parish boundaries. In 1852, the 
German speaking Catholic residents of the locality 
east of Holy Family Church, had erected a frame 
church building at Clinton and Mather streets, which 
was named St. Francis of Assisi. In 1866 the Ger- 
man Catholics erected a new church at West Twelfth 
and Newberry avenue. The old church at Clinton 
and Mather streets was sold to an English speaking 
parish, newly formed at that time by the Bishop, for 
the convenience of Catholics of that neighborhood, 
and was renamed St. Paul's Church. St. Paul's 

5 For original boundaries of the parish see map, pages 10-11. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 51 

Parish continued in existence until 1871, when the 
great fire destroyed the church edifice. The pastor 
of St. Paul's, Father Kilkenny, was absent at the 
time of the fire. Two Jesuit brothers, Brothers 
O'Neil and Smyth, who were in the vicinity at the 
time, assisted in the work of removing the vest- 
ments and sacred vessels just before the fire claimed 
the church. Subsequent conditions did not warrant 
the continuance of the parish. The church was not 
rebuilt and the territory ceded to St. Paul's parish 
in 1867, was, after the great fire restored to Father 
Damen. 

The year 1867 was a prosperous year for the 
schools. On July 16th, of that year St. Aloysius 
school was opened under the charge and direction of 
the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, 
who also had charge of St. Stanislaus' school. The 
schools of the parish opened that year with a reg- 
istration of 4,000 pupils. 6 

The year 1868 saw the commencement of St. Igna- 
tius College. In that year the corner stone was laid 
by the bishop and the structure was begun. 7 

By this time, the congregation began to feel the 
need of a library, and, on May 3rd, a general meeting 
was held, in the Morgan street school hall, for the 
purpose of launching a movement for a parochial 
library. 

During the first week in June, 1868, a fair was 
held, to procure funds for the great organ. 

From the time that the new church first came into 
use there was more or less complaint on account of 
inability to see and hear the preacher during the ser- 

6 School publications. 

» For St. Ignatius College see Chapter XIX. 



52 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

mon. All those seated near the western wall had 
their view obstructed by pillars, and the distance was 
considerable. Distance was a distinct disadvantage 
with some preachers, but not so much with Fathers 
Damen and Smarius, as they had powerful voices 
and could be heard distinctly all over the church. On 
account of these disadvantages, pews in the difficult 
locations were not nearly so attractive, but during 
this year a movable pulpit was installed, and, on 
September 13th, the record shows, the people were 
encouraged to rent pews in what was formerly the 
less desirable part of the church, as the new pulpit 
could be brought out into the open part of the church, 
and all could see and hear the speaker without 
difficulty. 8 

A very interesting event occurred in the year 1868, 
namely, the celebration of Father Damen 's Silver 
Jubilee. Needless to say, the congregation and all 
his friends took a deep interest in this ceremony. 

It was in the year 1868, also, that the Sodality of 
the Annunciation was established. 

In 1869, two new parish societies were established, 
namely, the Young Men's Sodality, and the Bona 
Mors. 

St. Aloysius school and convent were completed in 
the year 1869. 

The year 1869 was notable for a mission, thought, 
by some, to be perhaps the greatest mission ever 
given in Holy Family Church. Fathers Damen, 
Smarius, Masselis, Coghlan and Verdin all took part 
and at least two of these, Fathers Damen and Sma- 
rius, were undoubtedly the greatest missionaries in 
the United States during their day. At the close 

8 As will be seen the new pulpit did not prove an entire success. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 53 

of the general mission, a four days' mission was 
given for the school children under the direction of 
Fathers Damen and Verdin in the church, and 
Fathers Masselis and Niederkorn in the hall of the 
boys' school. 9 

Thus the routine of parish work was rounded out 
from year to year, and the weeks and months crowded 
with worth while work. 

9 Thus was inaugurated the great missions for which the Jesuits were 
and remained so noted. 



CHAPTER V 

Drives of Early Days 

Way back in the '50s and '60s of the last century, 

4 'drive" meant sledging stakes or posts, and also, of 

course, the "gee" and "haw" and cracking 

1859 of the whip to urge on horses or oxen, for 

1865 there were still some oxen in use at that 
day. In recent years "drive" has come to 
mean "get the money." 

From what has already been said, it is plain that 
Father Damen 's drives were pretty successful. As 
above recorded, it appears that in an incredibly short 
time after he determined to establish a parish, he 
had subscriptions totalling $30,000. It appears that 
Father Damen himself participated in most of these 
earliest drives, and was no doubt the most successful 
collector. But, as time passed, it became necessary 
to draft the parishioners for more or less of this par- 
ticular service, and, in all the history of the parish, 
there is perhaps nothing more interesting than items 
that have been preserved relating to "Father Da- 
men 's Volunteers. ' ' 

In the summer of 1859, Father Damen gathered 
around him a band of devoted men, who volunteered 
to assist him in collecting funds for the various neces- 
sities of the parish. Of course, the offer was most 
acceptable, and after organization, registration, etc., 
plans were made for the purpose of making the 
volunteers' work more effective. The parish was 

54 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



55 




56 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

divided into seventeen districts at first, and later into 
twenty-four, and two volunteers were selected to can- 
vass each district. In addition several others were 
appointed as " rovers," who were free to go into the 
outlying districts, business houses downtown, and, in 
fact, wherever the}^ thought advisable. From their 
weekly reports the rovers usually more than doubled 
the receipts of the other collectors. 

These volunteers were kept busy ; in 1859, they col- 
lected for the new stained glass windows in the 
Church; in 1860, they collected funds for the new 
bell; in 1861, for the new parish residence; and in 
1864, for the new Holy Family School on Morgan 
street. u By their fruits ye shall know them." 
Judged by this standard, these volunteers were 
noble-hearted and self-sacrificing men. Their splen- 
did work deserves the preservation of their names 
in this history. 
Collectors for the Stained Glass Windows, 1859 (Regulars) 

1st District: Mr. Kelly and Mr. Joyce. 

2nd District : . 

3rd District : Mr. Matthew Brennan ; Mr. Patrick Eustace. 

4th District : Mr. John Byrne ; Mr. Michael Riordan. 

5th District: Mr. Patrick Hade. 

6th District: Mr. Daniel Tierney; James Clowry. 

7th District: Mr. Maurice Prindiville; William Prindiville. 

8th District: Mark Dooner. 

9th District: James Conlisk ; Thomas Greene. 

10th District: David Murray. 

11th District: George Keeling. 

12th District: . 



13th District: Timothy Ward. 

14th District: Thomas Dolan. 

15th District: John Comiskey; Patrick Rafferty. 

16th District: John Comiskey; Patrick Rafferty. 

17th District: P. J. Gannon. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 57 

The Rovers (1859) 

James McGrath Mr. McDermod 

James Conway M. J. Brennan 

William I. Granger Thomas McMahon 

Henry O'Connor Mr. Casey 

Thomas Dwan Mr. Bridgman 

Matthew Donaher Richard Clarke 

The collection of ten weeks for stained glass windows amounted 
to $1,004.00. 

Collectors for the Bell (1860) 

1st District : Messrs. William Kelly and McDonnell. 

2nd District : Messrs. M. Donaher and Costello. 

3rd District : Messrs. John Byrne and M. Riordan. 

4th District : Messrs. Patrick Hade and Barclay. 

5th District : Messrs. Hinch and James Barry. 

6th District : Messrs. Brady and Patrick Leigh. 

7th District : Messrs. Brennan and Eustace. 

8th District : Messrs. William Raleigh and Martin Brennan. 

9th District : Messrs. John Martin and Simon Ryan. 

10th District: Mr. Mark Dooner. 

11th District: Messrs. Stephen McAvoy and B. Quinn. 

12th District : Messrs. Nolan and Shanley. 

13th District : Messrs. W T ard and Rafferty. 

14th District : Messrs. Gannon and McCarthy. 

15th District : Messrs. Murphy and Hickey. 

16th District : Messrs. McGrath and Farley. 

17th District : Messrs. Creed and Conway. 

Rovers (1860) 

Mr. Dowling Mr. Nolan 

James Sullivan Mr. Feeney 

James Lawler Mr. O'Connell 

William Gordon Mr. Pontsain 

Mr. Spain Mr. Menard 

Mr. Quigley Mr. Geis 



58 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Collectors for the Dwelling House (1861) 



Messrs. Granger 


Messrs. Lynch 


Leigh 


Lordan 


Eustace 


Byrne 


Brennan 


Boulger 


Creadon 


Carbine 


Riordan 


'Dwyer 


Yore 


Ryan 


Conerty 


Qnimi 


Herbert 


McAvoy 


Griffin 


Ward 



Collectors for the School (1864) 

Murray and Donner, Riley, Walsh, Michael Healy, Riordan, 
Patrick Leigh, John Costello, Mr. Coughlin, Wall, McCann, 
Lynch, Hartrey, Greene, Walsh, Fleming, Byrne, Carbine, Hen- 
nesey, McCarthy, Clancy, Cummins, Flynn, Walsh, Spain, 
Bradley, Tobin, Hull, McCarthy, Kelly, Byrne, Sheahan, Dur- 
kin, McGlinn, Ford, Duffy, Creed, Gorman, Reilly, Carmody, 
Feeney, Turner, Healy, Curtin, Farley, Coyne, Dunne, Duffy 
and Horan. 

The list of names is given exactly as found in the record, 
with Christian names omitted in many instances. 

Another notable collecting campaign was con- 
ducted in the very early days of the parish, extend- 
ing over a period of nearly three years — 1863, 1864 
and 1865. This long continued campaign was carried 
on for the purpose of securing the funds to erect the 
magnificent main altar. Besides the spiritual bene- 
fits promised contributors, each donor was to have 
his or her name engrossed on parchment and placed 
under the altar. 

It was a beautiful thought that influenced Father 
Damen to distribute the privilege of helping to erect 
the altar as widely as possible. It very often hap- 
pens that a rich family or a rich man or woman 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 59 

takes advantage of the opportunity to donate the 
altar, which is, of course, a commendable display of 
generosity, but such a course deprives the worship- 
pers of the opportunity of lending some effort 
towards furnishing the principal material instru- 
mentality of the Divine Service. 

In the case of Holy Family Parish an opportunity, 
indeed, a pressing invitation, was extended to all, and 
the list of contributors still preserved faithfully, and 
kept under the altar as promised, proves that oppor- 
tunity was widely taken advantage of. In all there 
were some eight hundred contributors, and their con- 
tributions ranged from a low mark of $1.00 up to a 
high mark of $100.00. It will be seen that there was 
but one $100.00 contribution; one $75.00 contribu- 
tion; three $50.00 contributions; seven $25.00 con- 
tributions; and three $20.00 contributions, a consid- 
erable number of tens, a larger number of fives, many 
threes, and a very long list of twos, with a larger 
number of ones. 

There is perhaps nothing more interesting, in con- 
nection with the early history of Holy Family 
Parish, than this contributors list, and accordingly 
its reproduction in the original order seems fully 
justified: 

List of Contributors to 
the Building of the Main Altar 

1863-1865 

Mr. M. Kehoe, $100.00. Mr. M. J. Brennan, $25.00. 

Mr. T. Minnard, $75.00. Mr. T. Bracken, $25.00. 

Mr. J. Sullivan, $50.00. Mr. J. O'Neill, $25.00. 

Mr. M. W. O'Brien, $50.00. Cash, $25.00. 

Mr. P. Brennan, $25.00. Mr. T. Branick, $25.00. 



60 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Mr. J. Clowry, $20.00. 
Mr. F. Mclnery, $20.00. 
Mr. J. McGrath, $20.00. 
Mr. J. Fitzpatrick, $12.00. 
Mr. W. McCarthy, $10.00. 
Mr. F. Quigley, $10.00. 
Mr. F. Burns, $10.00. 
Mr. F. McAvoy, $10.00. 
Mr. C. Ranker, $10.00. 
Mr. T. Walsh, $10.00. 
Mr. T. Waldron, $10.00. 
Mr. M. Prindiville, $10.00. 
Mr. Robert Carse, $10.00. 
Mr. Maurice Loofy, $10.00. 
Mr. Patrick Ward, $10.00. 
Mrs. J. Taylor, $25.00. 
Mr. T. Carragher, $10.00. 
Mr. W. Ryan, $10.00. 
Mr. James Foy, $10.00. 
Mr. W. J. Onahan, $50.00. 
Mr. H. Kelley, $10.00. 
Mr. Yore, $10.00. 
Mr. P. Farley, $10.00. 
Mr. R. Clarke, $10.00. 
Margaret Kennedy, $10.00. 
Mrs. Cunningham, $10.00. 
Mr. T. Brady, $10.00. 
Mr. C. Ryan, $10.00. 
Mr. T. Tully, $10.00. 
Mr. J. Matthews, $10.00. 
Mr. D. Murphy, $10.00. 
Mr. James Collaton, $10.00. 
Mr. J. Cassidy, $10.00. 
Mr. Robert Carse, $10.00. 
Mr. H. O'Connor, $10.00. 
Mr. D. Walsh, $10.00. 
Mr. J. Commiskey, $10.00. 
Mr. J. Gorche, $10.00. 
Mr. James O'Shea, $10.00. 



Mr. F. Tibeau, $10.00. 

Mr. J. Tully, $10.00. 

Mr. J. Clowry, $10.00. 

Captain Grant, $10.00. 

Mr. A. Kelly, $10.00. 

Mr. R. Carse, $10.00. 

Mr. W. Raleigh, $10.00. 

Donation, $10.00. 

Mr. B. Quinn, $10.00. 

Mr. D. Lordan, $10.00. 

Mr. T. Rourke, $10.00. 

Mr. James Fitzgerald, $10.00. 

Mr. J. Flannigan, $10.00. 

Mr. J. Wall, $10.00. 

Mr. J. Walsh, $10.00. 

Mr. A. Cannon, $10.00. 

Mr. T. Tracey, $10.00. 

Mr. M. O'Brien, $10.00. 

Mr. D. Spellan, $10.00. 

Mr. Riely, $10.00. 

Mr. E. Lee, $5.00. 

Mr. R. Thomas, $5.00. 

Mr. W. Lardner, $5.00. 

Mr. C. Geis, $5.00. 

Mr. T. Kennedy, $5.00. 

Mr. T. Devette, $5.00. 

Mr. D. Clancey, $5.00. 

Mr. J. Cudahy, $5.00. 

Mrs. Field, $5.00. 

Mrs. M. Field, $5.00. 

Mr. J. Hickey, $5.00. 

Mr. D. Bolger, $5.00. 

Mrs. E. Bolger, $5.00. 

Mr. Kyle, $5.00. 

Mr. W. Keenan, $5.00. 

Mr. J. Reardan, $5.00. 

Mr. Honohan, $5.00. 

Mr. P. Clancey, $5.00. 

Mr. M. Sharkey, $5.00. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



61 



Mr. P. Kennedy, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Ward, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Thomas, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Daly, $5.00. 
Mr. McDonald, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Simmons, $5.00. 
Mr. R. Tobin, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Fox, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Dnffey, $5.00. 
Mr. G. Anderson, $5.00. 
Mr. E. Mclnery, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Kilbridge, $5.00. 
Mr. James Hiekey, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Hanlon, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Sullivan, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Herbert, $5.00. 
Mr. D. Meehan, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Healy, $5.00. 
Mr. James Ryan, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Forbes, $5.00. 
Mr. James Dillon, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Donaher, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Considine, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Grady, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Barker, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Gorman, $5.00. 
Mr. James Kelly, $5.00. 
Mr. R. Cagney, $5.00. 
Mr. Jordan, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Kennedy, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Foley, $5.00. 
Mr. J. McMahon, $5.00. 
Mr. W. McGrath, $5.00. 
Mr. J. T. Murphy, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Brennan, $5.00. 
Mr. McGary, $5.00. 
Mr. Reardon, $5.00. 
Mr. D. G. O'Connel, $5.00. 
Mr. Tynan, $5.00. 



Mrs. A. O'Connor, $5.00. 
Mr. D. Guiltnane, $5.00. 
Mr. John Adams, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Grady, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Megan, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Scanlan, $5.00. 
Mr. G. Lynch, $5.00. 
Mr. D. Murray, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Cagney, $5.00. 
Mr. James Clair, $5.00. 
Mr. Hogan, $5.00. 
Mr. P. C. O'Hara, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Shinnors, $5.00. 
Mrs. Kehoe, $5.00. 
Mr. E. McJohn, $5.00. 
Mrs. Madden, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Gleeson, $5.00. 
Mr. John Lahy, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Ronan, $5.00. 
Mrs. E. Bell, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Murphy, $5.00. 
Mrs. Hoyne, $5.00. 
Mr. P. H. Bushe, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Powers, $5.00. 
Mr. Condon, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Casey, $5.00. 
Mr. Peter Ley, $5.00. 
Mr. G. Powell, $5.00. 
Mr. B. Cardon, $5.00. 
Mr. M. McElroy, $5.00. 
Mr. T. O'Brien, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Crowly, $5.00. 
Mr. D. Sullivan, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Farley, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Carney, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Walsh, $5.00. 
Mrs. E. Kennedy, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Healy, $5.00. 
Mr. James Coyle, $5.00. 



62 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Mr. T. Mogan, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Sullivan, $5.00. 
Mr. John Conroy, $5.00. 
Mr. John Pierce, $5.00. 
Mr. B. Cassidy, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Murphy, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Butler, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Quinlan, $5.00. 
Mr. John Reardan, $5.00. 
Mr. R. Barry, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Curtin, $5.00. 
Mr. C. McDonnell, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Callaghan, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Monahan, $5.00. 
Mr. James Martin, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Monahan, $5.00. 
Mr. T. McDonnell, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Cormick, $5.00. 
Mr. F. Negle, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Larkin, $5.00. 
Mr. G. Walsh, $5.00. 
Mr. John Kean, $5.00. 
Mr. John Costello, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Cooney, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Stanton, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Curtin, $5.00. 
Mr. E. Branick, $5.00. 
Mr. M. O'Meara, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Manley, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Walsh, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Roche, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Hayden, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Bannon, $5.00. 
Mr. D. Terney, $5.00. 
Mr. Considine, $5.00. 
Mrs. Mclnery, $5.00. 
Mr. A. Farrell, $5.00. 
Mr. D. O'Connell, $5.00. 
Mr. James McGee, $5.00. 



Mr. F. Dolan, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Mahoney, $5.00. 
Mrs. Sullivan, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Dalton, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Durkin, $5.00. 
Mr. J. English, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Shannessy, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Reid, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Burke, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Malone, $5.00. 
Mr. John Harterny, $5.00. 
Mr. F. Mogan, $5.00. 
Mr. T. McGrath, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Reegan, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Carroll, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Dunn, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Burns, $5.00 . 
Mr. Sandebach or 

Sandelbach, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Hutchinson, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Simons, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Cosgrove, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Burns, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Philbin, $5.00. 
Mr. B. Donavin, $5.00. 
Mr. D. Farrell, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Farrell, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Garvey, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Burns, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Canavan, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Mulcahy, $5.00. 
Mr. John Mclnery, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Shanley, $5.00. 
Mr. E. Kinsley, $5.00. 
Mr. I. Salmon, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Mulroy, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Bannon, $5.00. 
Mr. Sullivan, $5.00. 
Mr. I. Scanlon, $5.00. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



63 



Mr. M. Curry, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Murphy, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Hiekey, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Casey, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Scully, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Tobin, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Clarke, $5.00. 
Mr. John Hannon, $5.00. 
Mr. N. Morgan, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Dooner, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Fury, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Buckley, $5.00. 
Mr. Tim Buckley, $5.00. 
Mr. John Hill, $5.00. 
Mr. James Reilly, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Upton, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Flannagan, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Joyce, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Barry, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Clancey, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Garvey, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Carmody, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Hennessy, $4.00. 
Mr. J. Hart, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Dwyer, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Russell, $5.00. 
Mr. Hannon, $6.00. 
Mr. C. Hogan, $5.00. 
Mr. John Hillick, $5.00. 
Mr. Edward McKee, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Boyle, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Waldron, $5.00. 
Mr. D. O'Connell, $5.00. 
Mr. M. F. Gibbon, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Dwan, $5.00. 
Mr. F. Shanley, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Joyce, $5.00. 
Mr. J. F. Tracey, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Naughton, $5.00. 



Mr. J. Campbell, $5.00. 
Miss Gorman, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Cavanaugh, $5.00. 
Mr. D. O'Connell, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Hogan, $5.00. 
Mr. T. Ford, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Higgins, $5.00. 
Mr. Joseph Lawler, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Fitzsimons, $5.00. 
Mrs. J. Oehmen, $5.00. 
Mr. P. O'Connor, $5.00. 
Mr. James O'Neill, $5.00. 
Mr. James Hannon, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Carter, $5.00. 
Mr. W. Gifney, $5.00. 
Mr. C. Turner, $5.00. 
Mr. P. D. Toomey, $5.00. 
Mrs. M. Hennelly, $5.00. 
Mr. P. J. McGrew, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Havergrove, $5.00. 
Mr. P. Considine, $5.00. 
Mrs. Karrigan, $3.00. 
Frank Gibbons, $3.00. 
James Stolos, $3.00. 
Daniel Bolan, $3.00. 
Catherine Murphy, $3.00. 
Catherine Lordan, $3.00. 
Michael Reardon, $3.00. 
Patrick Daly, $3.00. 
Richard Sheehan, $3.00. 
John Dwyer, $3.00. 
Edmund Walsh, $3.00. 
Thomas Weehan, $3.00. 
Catherine Hogan, $3.00. 
John Cosgrove, $3.00. 
Patrick Cooney, $3.00. 
James Delaney, $3.00. 
John McEnerny, $3.00. 
P. Landers, $5.00. 



64 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Mr. T. Riely, $5.00. 
Mr. W. McQuade, $5.00. 
Mr. M. Ryan, $5.00. 
Anne J. Hasselman, $5.00. 
Mr. J. Finney, $5.00. 
Miss Summers, $5.00. 
Richard Williams, $3.00. 
Patrick Carey, $3.00. 
Patrick Herbert, $3.00. 
Bernard Quigiy, $3.00. 
Michael Nolan, $3.00. 
Patrick Reynolds, $3.00. 
J. Shannesey, $3.00. 
Martin Walsh, $3.00. 
Thomas Riely, $3.00. 
Michael Corigan, $3.00. 
John Condon, $3.00. 
Patrick Conway, $3.00. 
George Taylor, $3.00. 
Patrick Burns, $3.00. 
John Parker, $3.00. 
James Cranney, $3.00. 
Michael McCarthy, $3.00. 
Tim Nolan, $3.00. 
Patrick Donavan, $3.00. 
Henry Ewel, $3.00. 
Michael Lordan, $3.00. 
Thomas Doran, $3.00. 
John Carmody, $3.00. 
H. Sullivan, $3.00. 
Patrick McGann, $3.00. 
Tim McDermot, $3.00. 
Cornelius Malone, $3.00. 
Patrick Walsh, $3.00. 
Patrick Reddy, $3.00. 
John Devlin, $3.00. 
W. Kennedy, $3.00. 
P. Cudahy, $3.00. 
Anthony Hopkins, $3.00. 



Christopher Gannon, $3.00. 
Simon Rochford, $3.00. 
Patrick Quigley, $3.00. 
Patrick Hurley, $3.00. 
Patrick Holohan, $3.00. 
Francis McKey, $3.00. 
James Fitzgerald, $3.00. 
Walter Butler, $3.00. 
Patrick Meag:her, $3.00. 
Daniel Harrington, $3.00. 
Patrick Burke, $3.00. 
Mr. Prendergrast, $3.00. 
Mrs. Stenson, $3.00. 
Dennis Ryan, $3.00. 
James Carloy, $3.00. 
Patrick Flynn, $3.00. 
James Conlish, $3.00. 
Edward McGarry, $3.00. 
Edmund Shealy, $3.00. 
W. Maragan, $3.00. 
Patrick Daly, $3.00. 
Dennis O'Meara, $3.00. 
John Ronan, $3.00. 
Michael Kennedy, $3.00. 
Patrick Roche, $3.00. 
Robert Barton, $2.00. 
Thomas McEnery, $2.00. 
John Mack, $2.00. 
Pat Kilder, $2.00. 
James Brennan, $2.00. 
Patrick Maddigan, $2.00. 
Patrick Rafferty, $2.00. 
Robert Haggart, $2.00. 
Thomas Lynch, $2.00. 
Patrick Carmody, $2.00. 
John McAuly, $2.00. 
John Mclnery, $2.00. 
John Pasley, $2.00. 
Joseph Bender, $2.00. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



65 



Laurence Hickey, $2.00. 
Bernard McMahon, $2.00. 
Christopher Rafferty, $2.00. 
Mr. Prendergrast, $3.00. 
Patrick King, $3.00. 
Widow Meyers, $3.00. 
Patrick Daily, $3.00. 
L. Cooney, $3.00. 
Patrick Finnel, $3.00. 
Hanah McBride, $3.00. 
Michael Burns, $3.00. 
John Reinhard, $3.00. 
Michael Dennin, $3.00. 
Edward Burns, $3.00. 
Thomas Hammil, $2.00. 
Francis Kennedy, $2.00. 
Patrick Sherry, $2.00. 
James McGinn, $2.00. 
Thomas McMahon, $2.00. 
Denis Keane, $2.00. 
William Corrigan, $2.00. 
David Healy, $2.00. 
John McMahon, $2.00. 
Patrick Real, $2.00. 
Nicholas Rochford, $2.00. 
Martin Ryan, $2.00. 
Daniel Carroll, $2.00. 
Michael Downey, $2.00. 
James Tracey, $2.00. 
Barney Rafferty, $2.00. 
N. Davney, $2.00. 
Michael McEnery, $2.00. 
William Keegan, $2.00. 
John Maddigan, $2.00. 
James Leavry, $2.00. 
James Hennessy, $2.00. 
Patrick Brennan, $2.00. 
Moses McCarthy, $2.00. 
Patrick Ryan, $2.00. 



John Dovons, $2.00. 
Thomas Deegan, $2.00. 
John Conoley, $2.00. 
John Norman, $2.00. 
Edward Mahony, $2.00. 
James Kerns, $2.00. 
Michael Burns, $2.00. 
Michael Day, $2.00. 
Patrick Fallen, $2.00. 
Daniel O'Connell, $2.00. 
John Keegan, $2.00. 
Thomas Daily, $2.00. 
David Ray, $2.00. 
Michael Fagan, $2.00. 
Widow Tierney, $2.00. 
John Daly, $2.00. 
John Moran, $2.00. 
John Scanlan, $2.00. 
John Cox, $2.00. 
Thomas Connelly, $2.00. 
John Corrigan, $2.00. 
Michael O'Dea, $2.00. 
Richard Connelly, $2.00. 
John Sullivan, $2.00. 
Frank O'Dea, $2.00. 
Patrick McKee, $2.00. 
Patrick Murphy, $2.00. 
Peter Hassett, $2.00. 
James McCarthy, $2.00. 
Anthony Dinan, $2.00. 
Patrick Burns, $2.00. 
John Cahill, $2.00. 
Michael Scanlan, $2.00. 
John Carroll, $2.00. 
Daniel Magner, $2.00. 
Robert Lahey, $2.00. 
Thomas Campbell, $2.00. 
A. D. Goodison, $2.00. 
Johanna Kelly, $2.00. 



66 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Bridget Roche, $2.00. 
Ellen Roche, $2.00. 
Julia Collins, $2.00. 
Wil. McElligott, $2.00. 
Daniel Cavanagh, $2.00. 
Joseph Murphy, $2.00. 
John Halpin, $2.00. 
John Toohy, $2.00. 
Michael Duett, $2.00. 
Mrs. Kennedy, $2.00. 
Laurence Roch, $2.00. 
C. McDermot, $2.00. 
John Mortai, $2.00. 
Pierce Kilfoy, $2.00. 
Jane Keenan, $2.00. 
Thomas Connors, $2.00. 
John Burke, $2.00. 
Michael Donnell, $2.00. 
Alice Scott, $2.00. 
Maurice Roche, $2.00. 
W. White, $2.00. 
Edward Moloy, $2.00. 
James Guillan, $2.00. 
Andrew O'Brien, $2.00. 
John Murray, $2.00. 
Bridget Fielding, $1.00. 
James Fielding, $1.00. 
Catherine Early, $1.00. 
W. H. Gorman, $5.00. 
Margaret Finnegan, $2.00. 
Daniel Oxford, $10.00. 
Widow Clourech, $2.00. 
John Collins, $2.00. 
Bridget Brennan, $2.00. 
Hardy Taylor, $2.00. 
James Taylor, $2.00. 
Mr. G. Taylor, $2.00. 
Mrs. G. Taylor, $2.00. 
John Conway, $5.00. 



Anne Tracey, $2.00. 
Patrick Markey, $3.00. 
Mary Markey, $2.00. 
Martin Barry, $5.00. 
William Madden, $2.00. 
Grace and Michael Delaney, 

$2.00. 
Margaret Blaney, $2.00. 
Ellen Blaney, $2.00. 
William Blaney, $2.00. 
Catherine Brennan, $2.00. 
Margaret Higgins, $2.00. 
Bernard Masterson, $5.00. 
Bridget Ford, $2.00. 
Ellen Cooper, $2.00. 
Catherine O 'Donnell, $2.00. 
Patrick Rumberry, $2.00. 
Anne Guern, $1.00. 
Michael O'Gready, $10.00. 
Catherine Sullivan, $2.00. 
Mary Dooley, $2.00. 
Patrick O'Connell, $2.00. 
Margaret Mahoney, $1.00. 
Margaret Redmond, $1.00. 
Bridget Cassidy, $5.00. 
Patrick O 'Connell, $1.00. 
Eliza O'Connell, $1.00. 
James O'Connell, $1.00. 
Mary O'Connell, $1.00. 
Mary O'Brien, $5.00. 
Maria Robinson, $2.00. 
Mary Carroll, $1.00. 
Margaret Kennedy, $5.00. 
Margaret Brosnan, $2.00. 
Edward Murnan, $2.00. 
Catherine Tiernan, $1.00. 
Mary Wierel, $1.00. 
Adam Hannman, $1.00. 
Barbara Hannman, $1.00. 



PEIESTS AND PEOPLE 



67 



Maria Eliot, $1.00. 

Patrick Howard, $3.00. 

Rose Donoghue, $2.00. 

Winifred Greevy, $1.00. 

Mrs. John Flannaghan, $3.00. 

Mrs. John Wall, $3.00. 

Margaret Houlihan, $2.00. 

Alice Houlihan, $1.00. 

Honora Rielly, $2.00. 

Bridget Griffin, $2.00. 

Margaret Meehan, $2.00. 

Honora Reilly, $1.00. 

Mary Sullivan, $1.00. 

Catherine Sullivan, $1.00. 

John Colbert, $1.00. 

Louis Casey, $1.00. 

Thomas Gahan, $3.00. 

John Ghent, $3.00. 

Catherine Coyne, $2.00. 

Bridget O'Neill, $1.00. 

Anne Fogarty, $1.00. 

Bridget Donavan, $1.00. 

Honora Higgins, $1.00. 

John Higgins, $1.00. 

Margaret and Margret Gor- 
man, $1.00. 

Patrick and Hana Brady, 
$1.50. 

Patrick Burke, $1.00. 

Mary Flynn, $2.00. 

Margaret Flynn, $2.00. 

Agnes Kelly, $10.00. 

John Heartnett, $2.00. 

Michael Reilly, $3.50. 

John McGraw, $5.00. 

John Taylor, $25.00. 

Mrs. Duffy, $10.00. 

Catherine O'Donnell, $2.00. 

James Walsh, $3.00. 



Tim Carroll, $3.00. 
John Reedy, $3.00. 
P. Gilligan, $3.00. 
Anne Hickey, $3.00. 
M. McMahon, $3.00. 
John Donnellan, $3.00. 
Edward Meehan, $3.00. 
John Flynn, $3.00. 
W. McDonald, $3.00. 
Patrick Collins, $3.00. 
Michael Franey, $3.00. 
Patrick Coy, $3.00. 
Peter Brilly, $3.00. 
Lawee Reddington, $3.00. 
Thomas Ellicotte, $3.00. 
James Lahy, $3.00. 
Thomas McNamara, $3.00. 
Thomas Higgerton, $2.00. 
James Cronnin, $3.00. 
Mary Furey, $2.00. 
Patrick Crowe, $1.00. 
Ellen Yates, $5.00. . 
James Yates, $5.00. 
Joseph Brennan, $3.00. 
P. J. Nolan, $3.00. 
David Quade, $3.00. 
Andrew McBride, $3.00. 
Michael O'Donnell, $3.00. 
Patrick O'Dea, $3.00. 
Thomas Butler, $3.00. 
Dennis O'Connor, $3.00. 
Bernard Cosgrove, $3.00. 
James Burns, $3.00. 
F. McLaughlin, $3.00. 
W. Sharkey, $3.00. 
Michael Ryan, $3.00. 
Patrick Hanlon, $3.00. 
James Conway, $3.00. 
Patrick Leigh, $3.00. 



68 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Patrick Quinn, $3.00. 
Michael Dobbins, $3.00. 
C. Campbell, $3.00. 
John Flannigan, $3.00. 
W. Dalton, $3.00. 
Tim Hayes, $3.00. 
Patrick Collins, $3.00. 
Owen Grennan, $3.00. 
John Quinn, $3.00. 
John Hennesy, $3.00. 
Patrick Collins, $3.00. 
Mrs. Kiely, $3.00. 
Patrick Masterson, $3.00. 
Martin Lamb, $3.00. 
Patrick McKee, $3.00. 
Michael O'Donoghue, $3.00. 
Michael Kelly, $3.00. 
John Froly, $3.00. 
John Long, $3.00. 
Thomas Sullivan, $3.00. 
Patrick Conlon, $3.00. 
John Gafney, $2.00. 
James Coeney, $2.00. 
Patrick Barry, $2.00. 
Ryan, $2.00. 
W. O'Shea, $2.00. 
John Grubeled, $2.00. 
James Darley, $2.00. 
Patrick Hoonigan, $2.00. 
George Foley, $2.00. 
Jefferey Donohue, $2.00. 
John Riedy, $2.00. 
W. Cleanan, $2.00. 
J. A. Beck, $2.00. 
James Caraher, $3.00. 
Owen McCarthy, $3.00. 
Michael Downs, $3.00. 
Tim Hanlon, $3.00. 
Patrick Leddy, $3.00. 



Anne O 'Grady, $3.00. 
James Sutton, $3.00. 
John Foley, $3.00. 
Patrick Cassidy, $3.00. 
Michael Hanlon, $3.00. 
Bernard Kennedy, $3.00. 
Michael Carroll, $2.00. 
Eugene McCarthy, $2.00. 
Patrick Ryan, $2.00. 
John Costello, $2.00. 
James Lemon, $2.00. 
Edward Kennedy, $2.00. 
George Brown, $2.00. 
Patrick Ready, $2.00. 
Julia Compton, $2.00. 
W. Sheridan, $2.00. 
M. Flemming, $2.00. 
Michael Rearden, $2.00. 
John Murphy, $2.00. 
John Barry, $2.00. 
John Corbett, $2.00. 
Michael Cronin, $2.00. 
W. Coatch, $2.00. 
John Powers, $2.00. 
Larry O 'Gready, $2.00. 
Maurice Flynn, $2.00. 
John Kennedy, $2.00. 
John Bailey, $2.00. 
Catherine Gorman, $2.00. 
Michael Connors, $2.00. 
Thomas Boyle, $2.00. 
Michael Boyle, $2.00. 
J. Corby, $2.00. 
Carl O'Meara, $2.00. 
John Long, $2.00. 
James Hennebery, $2.00. 
Patrick Dean, $2.00. 
Mrs. Ahern, $2.00. 
Frank Murphy, $2.00. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



69 



James Casey, $2.00. 
Martin Dargan, $2.00. 
Charles McArd, $2.00. 
M. Lonergan, $2.00. 
Patrick Minahan, $2.00. 
James O'Brien, $2.00. 
James Fitzgerald, $2.00. 
Bernard Reynolds, $2.00. 
N. McNamara, $2.00. 
John Tracey, $2.00. 
Larry Barry, $2.00. 
W. Prindiville, $2.00. 
John Moran, $2.00. 
Peter Brew, $2.00. 
James Hig*gins, $2.00. 
Martin Higgins, $2.00. 
Thomas Carey, $2.00. 
Mrs. Kennedy, $2.00. 
John Sherlock, $2.00. 
Nicholas Roch, $2.00. 
James Banks, $2.00. 
Peter Gallagher, $2.00. 
Edward Delaney, $2.00. 
Patrick Burke, $2.00. 
Patrick Rafferty, $2.00. 
James Conway, $2.00. 
W. Creed, $2.00. 
James Kent, $2.00. 
W. Horan, $2.00. 
Francis Carter, $2.00. 
Mrs. Quinn, $2.00. 
John Harris, $2.00. 
M. Cushing, $2.00. 
W. Ryan, $2.00. 
Patrick Mailer, $2.00. 
Patrick Kennedy, $2.00. 
John Carroll, $2.00. 
Thomas Dooly, $2.00. 
Daniel O'Connell, $2.00. 



Patrick Cooney, $2.00. 
Hugh Kelly, $2.00. 
James Grant, $2.00. 
John Connell, $2.00. 
John Rielly, $2.00. 
Cecelia Williams, $2.00. 
Fred Diectch, $2.00. 
Owen Conway, $2.00. 
Richard Blake, $2.00. 
J. Sheakaw, $2.00. 
Maurice Douney, $2.00. 
Martin Mullaney, $2.00. 
P. Ross, $2.00. 
W. Connell, $2.00. 
Patrick Dowling, $2.00. 
Michael Gilooly, $2.00. 
John McKean, $2.00. 
John Ryan, $2.00. 
Patrick Brown, $2.00. 
Michael Ward, $2.00. 
Patrick Carbery, $2.00. 
M. Hogan, $2.00. 
John Madden, $2.00. 
Francis Dahman, $2.00. 
W. Bryaston, $2.00. 
John Larkin, $2.00. 
Thomas O'Reagen, $2.00. 
B. Scanlon, $2.00. 
Thomas Murphy, $2.00. 
Michael Clarke, $2.00. 
Mrs. Lawler, $2.00. 
W. Quilty, $2.00. 
John Quinn, $2.00. 
Thomas Flanigan, $2.00. 
Patrick Holahan, $2.00. 
Alexander Glendie, $2.00. 
Thomas Flynn, $2.00. 
Daniel Sheahan, $2.00. 
Mrs. Connell, $2.00. 



70 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Charles Moran, $2.00. 
Nicholas McAdam, $2.00. 
P. Doherty, $2.00. 
Mary Walsh, $2.00. 
P. Sheridan, $2.00. 
W. Connors, $2.00. 
Michael Maroney, $2.00. 
John Collins, $2.00. 
J. McCullogh, $2.00. 
John Buggy, $2.00. 
Edmund Hogan, $2.00. 
Patrick Cummins, $2.00. 
Tim Donavan, $2.00. 
Thomas Cavanagh, $2.00. 
Patrick Trahey, $2.00. 
Peter Connor, $2.00. 
Patrick Carr, $2.00. 
John Doyle, $2.00. 
Christopher McCue, $2.00. 
T. Byrne, $2.00. 
Patrick Burke, $2.00. 
Peter Moran, $2.00. 
John McAuliffe, $2.00. 
James Grennan, $2.00. 
Michael Crane, $2.00. 
Owen Burns, $2.00. 
Patrick Tracey, $2.00. 
Bernard Corcoran, $2.00. 
Dennis Punch, $2.00. 
Mrs. Russell, $2.00. 
W. Tobin, $2.00. 
James Sullivan, $2.00. 
John Forker, $2.00. 
Henry Browne, $2.00. 
James Dargan, $2.00. 
Patrick Laughlin, $2.00. 
Patrick Gorman, $2.00. 
Richard Whelan, $2.00. 
Bart. Cahill, $2.00. 



Edward Murphy, $2.00. 
Peter Riely, $2.00. 
Patrick Brennan, $2.00. 
Robert Lahey, $2.00. 
Michael Harty, $2.00. 
James Carly, $2.00. 
Luke Meehan, $2.00. 
Dennis Lordan, $2.00. 
John Shea, $2.00. 
Joseph O'Hearn, $2.00. 
Con. Shea, $2.00. 
Patrick Marcon, $2.00. 
Michael Cronin, $2.00. 
Thomas Dalton, $2.00. 
Daniel Greene, $2.00. 
Patrick Kennedy, $2.00. 
Daniel Sullivan, $2.00. 
Patrick Russell, $2.00. 
James Russell, $2.00. 
Thomas Smith, $2.00. 
Patrick Kearney, $2.00. 
Thomas Redmond, $2.00. 
Daniel Millan, $2.00. 
Michael Riedy, $2.00. 
Thomas Thompson, $2.00. 
John Connors, $2.00. 
Patrick Keating, $2.00. 
Edward Flynn, $2.00. 
Michael O'Hara, $2.00. 
John Suter, $2.00. 
James Lynch, $2.00. 
Mrs. McGahn, $2.00. 
Michael Cary, $2.00. 
Anne FitzPatrick, $2.00. 
Thomas Farrow, $2.00. 
Michael Donard, $2.00. 
John Daly, $2.00. 
Simon Maddigan, $2.00. 
Thomas McHale, $2.00. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



71 



Barth Cahill, $2.00. 
Patrick Kernin, $2.00. 
John Feely, $2.00. 
James Hannan, $2.00. 
Patrick 'Hare, $2.00. 
Tim Hardly, $2.00. 
Tim McGraw, $2.00. 
Daniel Hardly, $2.00. 
John Lynch, $2.00. 
James Young, $2.00. 
Martin Scully, $2.00. 
John Rielly, $2.00. 
Patrick Carley, $2.00. 
Lawrence Keeffe, $2.00. 
James Galvan, $2.00. 
Thomas Hacket, $2.00. 
Thomas O 'Connor, $2.00. 
Arthur Coyle, $2.00. 
Peter Graham, $2.00. 
John Kerns, $2.00. 
Widow Cagney, $2.00. 
W. Holton, $2.00. 
John Foyle, $2.00. 
W. Barrett, $2.00. 
Thomas Nealon, $2.00. 
John Robinson, $2.00. 
Thomas Roberts, $2.00. 
Samuel Barry, $2.00. 
Tim Larkin, $2.00. 
Martin Mullen, $2.00. 
John Sheedy, $2.00. 
John Lynch, $2.00. 
Michael Ryan, $2.00. 
Patrick Leavring, $2.00. 
Michael Scully, $2.00. 
John O 'Brien, $2.00. 
Dennis Doherty, $2.00. 
Andrew Whealan, $2.00. 
Christopher Decer, $2.00. 



W. Rule, $2.00. 
Brian Carey, $2.00. 
Richard Carbery, $2.00. 
Simon Hadee, $2.00. 
Patrick Dillon, $2.00. 
Thomas McDonald, $2.00. 
Michael Ryan, $2.00. 
John Mclnery, $2.00. 
Bernard Foy, $2.00. 
Jacob Grace, $2.00. 
Charles Claussen, $2.00. 
Patrick Brennan, $2.00. 
John Rafferty, $2.00. 
Mrs. O. Leonard, $2.00. 
Michael Morgan, $2.00. 
James Doyle, $2.00. 
Tim Mahoney, $2.00. 
John Gilshannon, $2.00. 
John Sheahan, $2.00. 
Patrick Gallagher, $2.00. 
Patrick Collins, $2.00. 
Patrick Mahoney, $2.00. 
James Shanley, $2.00. 
James Mangan, $2.00. 
Patrick Feeney, $2.00. 
Philip Cluard, $2.00. 
John Ready, $2.00. 
Patrick Lehay, $2.00. 
Mrs. Redmond, $2.00. 
James Heam, $2.00. 
Dennis Regan, $2.00. 
Michael Clarke, $2.00. 
John Hurley, $2.00. 
John Prindiville, $2.00. 
Thomas Healy, $2.00. 
Thomas Carse, $2.00. 
Patrick Fagan, $2.00. 
Michael Cavanagh, $2.00. 
Edward Hand, $2.00. 



72 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Francis Murphy, $2.00. Michael Downey, $2.00. 

Tim McCarthy, $2.00. James McGlinn, $2.00. 

Honora Reily, $2.00. John Sheridan, $2.00. 

Bridget Grady, $2.00. John McGeon, $2.00. 

James McCaffery, $2.00. Charles Dempsoll, $2.00. 

Martin Gorman, $2.00. Michael Handley, $2.00. 

Pews 

While pew renting differs materially from special 
collections, yet the pews are rented and the rentals 
collected as revenues of the church, and it is entirely 
appropriate that they should be considered in the 
same connection as other collections; and there can 
be little doubt that a list of the pew holders in the 
very earliest days of the parish will prove very in- 
teresting. 

After the new church was open rules were an- 
nounced respecting pew holdings. These were given 
out under the heading: 

"Regulations to be Observed by the Pew Holders in the 
Church of the Holy Family, Chicago 

All pew rents must invariably be paid quarterly in advance. 
The experience of the past has proven that unless this regulation 
be strictly adhered to, the pew rent in many instances is either 
directy lost or collected with great difficulty. 

On the 1st of March the pew rent becomes due. Any pew 
which is not paid a quarter in advance before the Sunday after 
the first of March will be locked with the Sexton 's key, or rented 
to the first applicant. When a pew is locked with the Sexton's 
key it cannot be opened with ordinary keys. 

We are obliged to adopt these measures in order to enable 
us to pay the interest on the money borrowed for the completion 
of the church. 

Persons who wish to give up their pews will please return the 
key before the first of March." 



PRTESTS AND PEOPLE 



73 




HOLY FAMILY CHURCH 
Prior to street improvements 



74 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



The subjoined list of pew holders covers the years 
1861-1863, and is thought to be of special interest as 
showing the large number of pew holders at that 
time, and also that the names of those pioneers who 
co-operated so helpfully with the founder of the 
parish may be transmitted to posterity. Many oth- 
ers undoubtedly who came after them were just as 
helpful, but it would not be practical to list all pew 
holders in this volume. 



List of Pew Holders 
1861-1862-1863 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

John Quigly 1 

Toussaint Menard 2 

William Donohue 3 

William Kinsella 4 

Patrick 'Connor 5 

Michael Keogh 6 

William Fielde 7 

McEvoy 8 

Reed 10 

Henry Williams 11 

Thomas Clowry 12 

Blackburn 13 

Edward Quade 14 

Tailor 15 

M. Condon and John Mur- 
phy 16 

Mrs. Seollay 17 

Carrigan & Comiskey 18 

Patrick Tenney 19 

Patrick Brennan 20 

Monohen 21 

Brennan and Rekiral 22 

James FitzGerald 23 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Thomas Kiely 24 

Daniel Lordan 25 

David Walsh 26 

Donnelly 27 

Charles Turner 28 

Peter Martin 29 

John Gorche 30 

Scully & Thomas O'Neill.. 31 

James Dalton 32 

Patrick Martin 33 

Connor & Cosgrove 34 

Francis Periolat 35 

Robert Brennan 36 

Patrick Connerty 37 

Mrs. Steers 38 

Peter Bracken 39 

Matthew Kehrig 40 

John Corcoran 41 

McCarthy & O'Donnell... 42 

Patrick Conerty 43 

Francis Daily 44 

John Pauley 45 

Patrick Hogan 46 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



75 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

M. McGuire 47 

Oliver Fanier 59 

M. Reuter 63 

Pat & Richard Cagney 67 

Thomas Tracey 68 

Peter Martin 69 

Daniel Riardon 70 

Hickey & Waldron 71 

Thomas Harold 72 

James Colloton 73 

Daniel 'Connell 74 

Bernard Qninn 75 

John Lordan 76 

George Buggy 77 

Edward Madden 78 

McCann 79 

James McGrath 80 

Granger 81 

Thomas McEnery 82 

James Sullivan 83 

Mrs. Madden 84 

Dennis Lordan 85 

John O'Neill 86 

Thomas Green 87 

John Taylor 88 

Mat Donoher 89 

Henry Keller 90 

Matthew McElroy 91 

Jeremiah Coyne 92 

Lawrence McKin 93 

James Matthews 94 

Mark Dooner 95 

James Ryan 96 

John Tracey 97 

Michael Considine 98 

William Creed 99 

Francis Shanley 100 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Martin Higgins 101 

Louis Wisner 102 

John Branick 103 

Edward Kerwin 104 

Rosaline Chapman 105 

John Griffin 106 

Patrick Kilbridge 107 

Eliza McGrath 108 

Dennis Feery 109 

William Hughes 110 

Patrick Kennedy Ill 

Tim Riordan 112 

Alice McCarthy 113 

Jno. Redden & J. Hackett.114 

Patrick Karney 115 

Daniel McCarthy 116 

Christopher McCue 117 

Jas. Coyne & J. Kincade. .118 

Martin Higgins 127 

Louis Haesarer 128 

Mr. Bracken 129 

William Ryan 130 

Mrs. Jameson 131 

Peter Rourke 132 

James FitzGerald 133 

Patrick McCormick 134 

Michael Donnelly 135 

Patrick Brady 136 

John FitzPatrick 137 

Matthew Sullivan 138 

Mary Doherty 140 

William Clarke 142 

John Butler 143 

William Keegan 146 

John Norton 148 

Richard Clarke 150 

Michael Rierdan 156 



76 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

James Looby 161 

John Butler 162 

James Looby 132 

Bernard Tulley 171 

David Murray 175 

John Kennedy 176 

John Burns 177 

James Upton 178 

Thomas McCarthy 179 

Edward Norris 180 

Timothy McCarthy 181 

John Touhy 182 

Conrad Geis 183 

Peter Yore 184 

Tim Ward 185 

Pat Kilbridge 186 

Mr. Matthews 185 

Moses Walsh 186 

Mrs. Cassidy 187 

James Hickey 188 

Edmond Lee 189 

Michael Burns 190 

John Halpin 191 

Pat Branick 192 

Ellen Gibson 193 

Mary FitzPatrick 194 

John McAuliff 195 

Michael Rooney 196 

Edward McNamee 197 

William Riordan 198 

James Kelly 199 

Thomas Murphy 200 

Martin O'Meara 201 

John Burke 202 

Thomas Holton 203 

Jno. Cosgrove-McDonnell . .204 
Michael Shinners 205 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Patrick Dargan 206 

Catherine Monihan 209 

Daniel Carney 210 

Patrick McGarry 212 

Mr. Walsh 213 

James Meagher 214 

James Halpin 216 

John Branigan 220 

Michael Shinners 221 

John Riely 225 

Dennis Keefe 226 

James Looby 227 

Martin Murphy 228 

Peter Barthulie 229 

Martin Mullaney 230 

Dennis Sullivan 231 

John Cain 232 

Mrs. Kearney 233 

John Durkin 234 

O'Mara 235 

Hanah McNamara 236 

Mr. Walsh 5 

Mrs. Field 7 

Mr. Reed 10 

Widow McGuin 11 

Thomas Clowry 12 

Richard Blackburn 13 

A. D. Taylor 15 

Captain Yates 16 

Pat Caraher 18 

Patrick Feenj 19 

Mr. Monehan 21 

Thomas Walsh 23 

Mrs. Higgins 25 

Lyman and Mrs. Gavin ... 27 

Hoy 29 

John Gorche 30 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



77 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Mr. Brady 32 

Pat Gallagher 35 

John Branick 36 

James Kincade 38 

Mr. Korig 40 

James Snowhook 41 

William 'Kelly 42 

Condon 43 

Francis Daly 44 

James Tracey 47 

H. R. Cagney 67 

Thomas Tracey 68 

John Flanagan 69 

John Riordan 70 

Pat Hickey 71 

Harrold 72 

Cudmore-O'Shea 73 

Daniel 'Connell 14 

Quinn and Dolan 75 

John Lordan 76 

George Boggs 77 

Edward Hayden 78 

Matthew Donoher 79 

James McGrath 80 

Granger 81 

Thomas McEnery 82 

James Sullivan 83 

John O'Neill 86 

Thomas Greene 87 

John Taylor 88 

Hart & Mclnery 89 

Dennis Curran 90 

Matthew Mulroy 91 

Jeremiah Coyne 92 

Lawrence McKenna 93 

Mr. Matthews 94 

Mr. Dederick 95 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Michael Considine 98 

William Creed 99 

Mr. Hoyne 104 

John Griffin 106 

Bernard Danvers 107 

Mrs. Hughes 108 

Mr. Dederick 110 

Mrs. Mongold Ill 

Edward Hogan 112 

Michael McCarthy 113 

John Redden 114 

Mrs. Fitzpatrick 115 

David Farrell 116 

John Fallon 120 

James Kelly 119 

Laurence Walsh 120 

Mrs. Hanly 121 

John Long 122 

John Suter 123 

John Fallon 124 

Timothy Nolan 126 

David Hayes 127 

W. Ryan 128 

C. F. Keely 129 

John Gorshe 130 

Mrs. Jameson 131 

Peter Rourke 132 

Thomas Brown 133 

Patrick McCormick 134 

Michael Donnelly 135 

Patrick Brady 136 

John Fitzpatrick 137 

Matthew Sullivan 138 

John Durkin 141 

Cornelius Flynn 142 

John Boxwell 143 

Michael Breen 144 



78 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

John O'Grady 145 

William Keegan 146 

John T. Murphy 147 

John Norton 148 

Richard Clarke 150 

Thomas Carey 154 

M. Cagney & M. Bailey. . . .158 

James Hickey 159 

Mrs. Field 161 

John Butler 162 

James Looby 163 

John McGough 166 

Mrs. Mongold 167 

John Long 168 

Mr. Tierney 174 

David Murray 175 

John Kennedy 176 

John Burns 177 

Andrew Boulger . 178 

Thomas McCarthy 179 

Edward Norris 180 

Edward Lee 189 

John Murray 190 

Andrew Farrell 191 

Mrs. Gorman 193 

William Clarke 194 

John McAuliff 195 

John Howard 197 

James Payne 198 

Anne Lorden and M. Hart- 

ing 199 

Thomas Murphy 200 

Martin O'Meara 201 

John Durkin 202 

Mrs. Hickey 203 

Patrick Kennedy 204 

Edmund Walsh 205 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Timothy Reardan 207 

John Lahy 209 

Daniel Kearney 210 

James Shanley 211 

Widow McGarry 212 

Christopher McCue 213 

Mrs. Carey 214 

Michael Fagan 215 

Thomas Larkin 216 

Peter O'Hara 217 

John Kennedy 225 

Mrs. Bulger 226 

Catherine Hogan 227 

Peter Barthulie 229 

Louis Merit 230 

Daniel Murphy 231 

Mrs. Duffy 232 

Mrs. Steadman 1 

James Keenan 1 

Mrs. O 'Connor 1 

William L. Conohan 5 

Mr. Sherwin 10 

Fitzsimmons 11 

John Paddock 19 

Rerkin 22 

P. Haughey 29 

Mrs. Gubbins 29 

Donecan 33 

Luiekem 33 

Pat Carracher 31-35 

William O 'Kelly 42 

Thomas Lawler 45 

James Maloney 46 

George Powell 47 

John Waller 48 

James O 'Dea 49 

John Frawly 51 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



79 




RIGHT REVEREND EDMUND M. DUNNE, D. D. 

Bishop of Peoria. For many years closely associated with Holy Family 
Parish and St. Ignatius College 



80 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Mr. Carroll 72 

Mr. Cudmore 73 

Mrs. John Taylor 88 

O 'Donnell 89 

Joseph Flrich 97 

Gotthard Schaaf 100 

Mr. Hayden 105 

James Henneberry 109 

Patrick Rafferty 112 

Owen Farley (154)118 

John McBride 115 

Michael Breen 128 

Peter Casey 137 

Mr. Samed ..139 

Mrs. Colier 144 

John Flynn 147 

Mrs. Powers 178 

Robert Brennan 179 

Edward McJohn 182 

Timothy Ward 185 



NO. OF 
PEW HOLDER PEW 

Charles Turner 188 

John Howard 197 

Mrs. Sherlock 199 

Michael Fagan 215 

James Conlisk 217 

Arthur Manly 231 

John McGarry 241 

Thomas Clancy 242 

Walter Philbnrn . 244 

John Kyle 248 

Mary Carwell 252 

Mr. Armstrong' 258 

Patrick Ronan 257 

Patrick Barclay 259 

Michael Morrissey 264 

Patrick Fitzgibbons 265 

R, Purcell 268 

Patrick Kenny 271 

Morgan O 'Brien 275 



The data for this chapter including the names are from the various 
sources mentioned, supplemented by the announcement books and other 
parish records. 



CHAPTER VI 

Shadows and Sunshine 

On March 1st, in the year 1870, the brilliant 

and gifted Father Cornelius Smarms died, after a 

protracted illness, spreading gloom, not 

1870 only over Holy Family Parish, but 

1877 throughout the confines of the state, and 
even the nation. 

Perhaps no better place could be selected to review 
the life and works of Father Smarms than just here, 
in conjunction with the chronicles of the parish. 

Rev. Cornelius Smarius, S. J., the renowned mis- 
sionary, was born at Thilburg, North Brabant, Hol- 
land, March 3, 1823. From his earliest years he was 
noted as a model of piety and edification, especially 
to his fellow students, whom he incited not only by 
precept, but also by example, to the love and practice 
of virtue. 

Even during his early years he gave indications 
of the remarkable powers of oratory which in after 
life so distinguished him. 

In 1841, in company with four other young men, 
he embarked for America with the purpose of enter- 
ing the Jesuit Novitiate at Florissant, Missouri, and 
on the 13th of November, 1843, at the age of twenty, 
he took the usual vows of poverty, chastity and 
obedience. 

Prior to his ordination in 1849, he gave a course 

81 



82 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



of Sunday evening lectures in St. Louis, which drew 
large audiences. 

For many years he was Professor of Rhetoric in 
St. Xavier College, Cincinnati, and afterwards held 




KEY. COENELIUS SMAEIUS, S. J. 
Missioner and Orator, 1861-70 



the same professorship in St. Louis University. In 
1852, he was sent to St. John's College, Fordham, 
New York, where he spent two years in close applica- 
tion to those studies which were deemed necessary 
to complete his training. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 83 

In 1855 he returned to St. Louis, where he attained 
great fame as a pulpit orator. In 1858 he was ap- 
pointed pastor of St. Francis Xavier Church in that 
city, and, during a pastorate of about two years he 
delivered a course of lectures on religious subjects, 
remarkable for brilliant oratory and profound eru- 
dition. Several of these lectures were published in a 
volume entitled, " Points of Controversy," of which 
a number of editions were issued. 

The last ten years of his life were employed in mis- 
sionary work. During nine months of each year he 
was accustomed to preach often three and four times 
a day, for weeks, together, to immense audiences ; the 
three remaining months of the year were occupied in 
giving retreats to the clergy of different dioceses and 
to the inmates of religious houses throughout the 
country. It was, no doubt, owing to these severe ex- 
ertions in the performance of such arduous duties, 
that his death occurred at the early age of forty- 
seven. 

In person, Father Smarius was a very large man, 
weighing over three hundred pounds. He was gifted 
with a commanding presence and a voice of unusual 
depth and volume. Besides being an orator of the 
first rank, he was an accomplished musician, and re- 
markably talented in many ways. 1 

One of the greatest of the many addresses of 
Father Smarius has been preserved to us, and both, 
by reason of the composition itself and the occasion 
of its delivery, is of deep interest. The address was 
delivered at the funeral ceremonies of the Honorable 

i The best sketch of Father Smarius available is found in the special 
history edition of the New World of April 14, 1900, p. 64. 



84 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

William H. Bissell, former governor of the state of 
Illinois, and was as follows : 

ORATION ON THE OCCASION OF THE FUNERAL OF 
GOVERNOR WILLIAM H. BISSELL OF ILLINOIS 

By Rev. Cornelius Smarius 

"Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord." — Apocalypse, 
xiv, v. 13. 

"Fellow Citizens: Were I to echo the plaintive murmurs 
of the immense multitude by which I am surrounded on this 
solemn and impressive occasion ; were I to answer, sigh for sigh, 
and sob for sob, as they come from the feeling hearts of the 
sympathizing friends and relatives of the illustrious departed, 
whose earthly remains lie enshrined within the tabernacle of 
death before me, I should have to choose another text than that 
which I have selected for this well-deserved, but alas, imperfect 
tribute of gratitude and love to the memory of William H. 
Bissell, the late governor of your flourishing state. For, con- 
sidering that the urn of grief has been opened, and that it is 
fast being filled with the tears of respect and admiration, mixed 
with friendship and with love ; considering that a whole state, 
nay, the nation, stands weeping over a loss which cannot im- 
mediately, perhaps never, be repaired, I should, consulting your 
natural feelings alone, find myself obliged to exclaim, in the 
language of seeming despondency, as did the King of Ama'ec 
in the days of yore, 'Doth bitter death separate in this man- 
ner!' or, in the equally melancholy expression of inconsolable 
grief, ' 0, death how bitter is thy memory ! ' But when I reflect 
on the peculiar circumstances in which I find myself placed 
before this wreck of earthly greatness, and in the midst of this 
scene of man's extreme littleness — the sepulchres of all the de- 
parted — I am forced to change the keynote of unavailing sorrow 
into the sounds of buoyant joy, and to cry out, with the angel 
of the Apocalyptic vision, 'Blessed are the dead who die in 
the Lord.' 

"Yes, fellow citizens, blessed the illustrious dead whose de- 
mise you deplore. Blessed the faithful soldier, the dauntless 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 85 

warrior, who, in days gone by, when the honor of his country 
was at stake ; when the national insult was to be avenged, and 
foreign justice forced to an equipoise of her balance, drew his 
ready sword in defense of all her rights, and in defiance of all 
her boasting enemies ; who girded himself with heroic courage 
and martyr fortitude for the battle, and modestly enjoyed the 
victories in which he had so large a share. Blessed, I repeat, is 
the faithful warrior, the dauntless hero, who, when his hour 
was come, yielded himself, a calm, a nobly resigned, captive 
into the hands of that ingenious Conqueror of our race, whose 
resistless power strikes with the same unsparing force against 
the marble palaces of the great as it does against the thatched 
shanty of the lowlier and less favored subject. Blessed the dead 
who, like Governor Bissell, after having legislated for others, 
are willing to fold up the scroll of laws, which, as the represen- 
tatives of their nation, they had the happiness to make or to 
approve for the prosperity of their constituents, and to submit 
themselves, without repining, to a higher law and a higher Law- 
giver, whose stern decree -was issued into this world under the 
shade of the beautiful and lovely trees of Paradise — ' Dust thou 
art, and unto dust thou shalt return.' Blessed the dead, who, 
like his excellency, now leveled down to our commonalty, al- 
though once filling the high places of power, and seated, as it 
w T ere, on the throne of relative sovereignty, are nevertheless 
willing, yea, happy, to come down from those often dazzling 
heights and deceitful thrones to obey the summons of a Governor 
who ruleth not one state alone, but the heavens with all their 
magnificence, harmony and beauty, and the earth with all her 
varied scenes and sceneries; yea, 'Blessed are the dead who, 
like this great, this beloved man, died in the Lord. ' 

"Blessed the dead who die a death, whose every circumstance 
but enhances the intellectual, moral and political worth of the 
departed. Blessed the dead whose memory, like that of his 
excellency, the late governor, shall remain in benediction among 
his children, and their children's children throughout succeed- 
ing generations, because of the examples set them, at the im- 
pressive hour, of every domestic, parental and Christian virtue. 

' ' Physicians, ye have lost a brother who graduated with honor 
in your schools. Teachers of youth, ye deplore a co-laborer in 



86 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



the great work of educating future generations to usefulness, 
to honor and renown. Members of the bar, ye have come 
to weep over a man of your distinguished profession, whose 
sterling integrity was above all suspicion, while his talents for 
debate were almost above competition. Soldiers, your brave 
hearts sympathize with a captain and a colonel whose bravery 




HON. STEPHEN A. DOUGLAS HON. WILLIAM H. BISSELL 

Baptized on his deathbed by one of Highest type of Catholic laymen, 

the Jesuit Fathers from Holy buried with all the rights of 

Family Parish the Church 



is as immortal as the memory of Buena Vista. Legislators, you 
gaze upon the countenance of a departed brother, whose serv- 
ices in the council and the chamber of your state, you regarded 
as worthy of your admiration. In fine, magistrates and rulers 
of the land, your tears flow over the grave of an officer of state, 
who teaches you in death what is the common lot of all, of the 
great and little, of the ruler and the ruled. Loving children 
of a loving father, the source of your filial happiness lies here, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



87 



suddenly dried up before his time, and the staff of your advanc- 
ing years, bereaved widow, lies broken by your side. 

"Yet, with all these ruins so sadly strewn around me; with 
all these hopes, so prematurely blasted, I repeat once more — 
Blessed is the illustrious dead, whose mortality Ave deplore — 
blessed, because he died in the Lord. 

"Christianity, too, weeps over the loss of a worthy disciple 
of her school, and the Church dons her robes of mourning over 




TWELFTH STREET (ROOSEVELT ROAD) 
Looking west from Blue Island Avenue 



a loving and distinguished son, but her tears are not the tears 
of hopeless sorrow — her sobs are not the echoes of despair. The 
Church feels her loss, but she is also conscious of his gain. She 
knows that, in parting with the children of her bosom, such as 
William H. Bissell, she parts with them in the well grounded 
hope of a happier meeting and a longer enjoyment of mutual 
bliss in the land of the living. She feels that the mortality, 



88 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

which she deplores, is to be exchanged with immortality, and 
that the dreaded corruption is one day to give way to incorrup- 
tion and undying glory. 

"You are aware, fellow citizens, that the object of our com- 
mon regret and our common tears died, a firm believer in the 
doctrines of a Church, whose cradle was at Bethlehem, whose 
growth waxed strong with the growth of ages, and whose im- 
mortality was fitly dignified by the rock upon whose foundation 
she was built by her Divine Founder, and against which the 
gates of hell shall never prevail. Much, as many of you may 
wonder, Governor William H. Bissell died a true, a sincere be- 
liever in the doctrines and practices of the Church of Rome. 
His was the faith of the Constantines of Rome, the Charlemagnes 
and Louises of France, the Alfreds and Edwards of England, 
the Sweanys of Denmark, and the Stephens of Hungary. His 
was the religion of the Commines and the Richelieus — the re- 
ligion of the Sobieskies, Kosciuskos and Pulaskis, of the Carrolls 
of Carrollton, the Gastons and the Taneys. Strange as it may 
appear to those who are either ignorant of the real nature of 
that Church's doctrines, or prejudiced against her practices, 
the late Governor Bissell believed it possible to be a good Cath- 
olic child of Rome and at the same time a true and loyal citizen 
of a republic which secures to all men, not only the possession 
of their inalienable civil and social rights and privileges, but 
moreover, perfect and untrammeled freedom of conscience to 
Avorship God according to the dictates of their conscience. 

"Nor do I doubt but your surprise would cease were you, 
like him, convinced of the motives which held and bound him 
to the Faith of nineteen centuries. Had you, like him, studied 
the claims and titles which she has to the respect and veneration 
of all who desire to secure the welfare of their soul through 
endless ages as earnestly as they long to secure the interests 
of fleeting time, you would cease to wonder and you would ad- 
mire the wisdom which guided his choice. 

"I shall not dwell upon each and every motive which made 
him cast his religious anchor beneath the rock of St. Peter and 
trust his immortal destinies to the bark of the fishermen of 
Galilee. Suffice it to say, that he did not do so without suffi- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 89 

cient reason. A man of his intellect and intelligence could not, 
without due reflection and a thorough conviction, exchange one 
form of religion for another, especially at an age when the 
ardor of youth has cooled down into the calm composure of 
age — when the enthusiasm of the heart has given way to the 
contemplation of the mind, and the imagination yielded re- 
spectfully to the empire of reason. Governor Bissell became 
a convert to the faith of Rome at a period of life when neither 
the impulsiveness of a dashing nature nor the forwardness of 
a passionate soul is any longer the only inducement for a change 
in so vital a judgment as that of religious faith and religious 
practice. His late excellency became a member of the Roman 
Catholic Church in 1854, in the city of Washington, D. C. The 
Rev. James Donelan, then pastor of one of the Catholic churches 
of that city, baptized him, and the Rev. Father Early, president 
of Loyola College, Baltimore, admitted him to his first com- 
munion. However, his convictions of the truth of Catholicity 
dated back as early as the year 1840, when he was at the resi- 
dence of General James, in Monroe county. From these cir- 
cumstances, you may judge, fellow citizens, that his was not 
a hasty step, nor a rash enterprise. He joined the Church of 
Rome from sheer conviction ; no earthly motives could have in- 
fluenced a man of his standing and his relations to society. On 
the contrary, consulting his human interests only, he ought to 
have shrunk with fear and dread from the resolution. He knew 
full well that the Church which he was about to join was not, 
what we are accustomed to call, a popular Church. He knew 
that strong prejudices, degenerating at times into hatred and 
vindictiveness, militated against its doctrines and its practices. 
He knew that its members were not generally either the fa- 
vorites of fortune, or the successful candidates for political and 
national honors. He knew all this, and yet he courageously 
resolved to be true to the convictions which had grown upon 
him with his years, and to the grace of God, which never ceased 
to prompt him to realize it in its immediate execution. 

"Dare I dwell on some of the leading motives which deter- 
mined William H. Bissell to beg admission into the Church of 
the Vatican? Was it not, in the first place, the very nature of 
her Constitution — so symmetrical in all its proportions — so har- 



90 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

monious in all its dependencies? Was it not that unity and 
variety, the greatest beauty of the supernatural, as it is of the 
natural order of things? There was Christ, the Founder of 
the institution — the 'Author and Finisher of its 'faith,' ever 
provisable head of his own divine establishment, ratifying it 
by His own mysterious presence, and presiding as well as watch- 
ing over its immortal interests. Christ sending his plenipoten- 
tiary Ambassadors, who were, at the same time, His divinely 
commissioned teachers and Apostles, into the whole world to 
teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, 
and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost, teaching them to observe 
all things whatsoever He had commanded them, 'and promising 
them, in the very same breath, that He would be with them, 
teaching, baptizing and commanding even to the consummation 
of the world.' Then, there was the Divine Spirit, the Paraclete, 
whom, after His own physical departure from among them, He 
would send down upon them, to abide with them forever ; to 
teach them all truth and to bring back to their minds whatever 
he had taught them. As is true of an intelligent and logical mind, 
Governor Bissell wanted a religion which would not be the crea- 
ture of mere caprice, the child of whim, but the offspring of a 
Mind which changeth not; upon whose nature is impressed the 
Divine character of immutability. He wanted a faith which 
should not depend upon the shifting notions and ever varying 
ideas of fallible and erring men, but upon the Rock of Eternal 
Truth, against which neither high-handed violence nor indi- 
vidual wilfulness should ever prevail. 

"He craved a religion w T hich, while it would leave him all his 
individual rights as a subject of a nature's and of reason's 
empire, would make him own his dependence on the higher law 
of grace, whose voice although imperious, can become tyrannical 
or despotic. Governor Bissell was too keen a logician, too prac- 
tical a statesman, not to see that religion, when left to the 
option of every individual, in such a manner, as not even to 
recognize the sovereign authority of God who reveals it, and in 
the manner in which He reveals it, would resemble your state 
or your republic, on the hypothesis that there should be no state 
sovereignty, but a mere arbitrary self-government of every in- 
dividual for himself. Religion without Supreme authority in 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 91 

matters of faith, he looked upon as state government without a 
legislature or executive. 

"Then he looked back through the brilliant past of that glorious 
Church. He unrolled her parchments and deciphered her tell- 
tale hieroglyphics. He read of her as she was ushered into ex- 
istence, 1,900 years ago, in the cenacle or supper-room at Jeru- 
salem. He followed her gradual expansion under the scourges 
of the Sanhedrim ; the stones of the Jewish mob ; in the prisons 
of kings ; in the arena of emperors, and on the rack and torture, 
presided over by wicked governmental minions. He beheld her 
gory with the blood of thousands of confessors and millions of 
martyrs. 

"He followed her down the meandering avenues of the cata- 
combs, and came forth with her from those subterranean caverns, 
to seat himself by the side of her on the throne of the Constan- 
tines. He went with her on her difficult mission of civilization. 
He stood by her when she drove the Attilas back from the gates 
of the Eternal City, and when she bade Genseric respect her 
rights and those of her subjects. With her he was wondering at 
the more than human success with which he built on the ruins 
of ancient Rome another city of immortal memory. Then again 
he gazed upon her with mixed sentiments of fear and surprise, 
when she met the barbarian Frank, and Goth, and Vandal, and 
kept them at bay for centuries, or, when no longer able to resist 
them, she took to the happy policy of making spiritual children 
of her temporal masters. 

"Descending the stream of time he beheld along its banks the 
ruins of the mightiest dynasties, empires and kingdoms that 
ever swa} T ed the destinies of nations; whose very names were 
wont to smite the heart of the bravest warrior with terror; he 
gazed upon those ruins and exclaimed in astonishment, 'How 
are the mighty fallen ! ' And then he turned himself to the proud 
monuments which the Church of Rome had built by the side of 
those ruins — monuments against which the powers of earth had 
leveled all their skill, spent all their fury — monuments at which 
tyranny had aimed all its missiles of destruction, slander all its 
empoisoned shafts of envy, and has asked himself the question : 
How has Rome, Pagan Rome, perished, and how has Catholic 
Rome survived the cruelty of ten Pagan emperors, the savage 



92 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

vindictiveness of Goth and Visigoth, of Heruli, and Vandal of 
Sueri and Almi? How stands she still, that despised, that ex- 
ecrated mistress of the Churches ? 

"Then he turned his attention to Mahommed and his san- 
guinary Caliphs. He saw them overrun the fairest portions of 
Asia, the most populous part of Africa, he heard the tramp of his 
Arabian steeds in the valleys of Spain, and heard their clattering 
hoofs along the Pyrennean mountains. He saw, he heard, he 
wondered ! He saw their aim was conquest of the world. 
He heard 'whoever believeth not the Khoran let him die 
by the scimitar.' He wondered that Catholic Rome, the only 
earthly power to oppose the fanaticism of the Prophet of Mecca, 
should have succeeded in driving back from Tours, in France, 
his formidable legions, and defeated his unconquerable naval 
power in the battle of Lepanto. He read, he wondered, he said, 
as every judicious reader of history must say, 'The finger of 
God is there ! The God of armies is with the Church of Rome ! ' 

' ' Floating down the same stream of ages, he beheld the power 
of intellect, of science, of literature, of art, arrayed against the 
Church of the Vatican. He read the lucubrations of a seeming 
philosophy, whose sages, like those of Pagan Rome in its decline, 
sharpened their wit, and stirred up their bitterest sarcasm against 
the so-called absurd mummery and pompery of the religion of 
the Popes, He had analyzed all the intricate fallacies of Hobbes 
and Tyndal, tasted all the venom of Voltaire and De Holbach ; 
he had mastered all the sophistry of the encyclopaedists, and the 
mystic nonsense of the German schools, Kant, Siegel, Fauchte 
and Schelling; nothing could shake his deep-rooted convictions; 
nothing could break his strong, masculine faith in the Church of 
Rome. 

"Amid dissensions, he beheld her one and the same. Amid 
self-contradicting sects, he found her still the one Holy Catholic 
Apostolic Church. When Napoleon vented his wrath of disap- 
pointed ambition against a defenseless old man, seated on the 
throne of the Caesars, he watched the issue and he saw a mighty 
tyrant lose the mightiest empire of the w r orld, while Rome re- 
tained her own, her immortal empire of faith and love. 

"He next turned himself to the contemplation of her rela- 
tions to the liberties of nations and individuals, and he found 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 93 

her in every age and clime, the nurse of rational freedom, the 
mother of rational liberty. He found her bravest generals and 
soldiers in the Roman army, defending with their best life-blood 
the declining hopes of an empire on the verge of ruin. He saw 
her fight the fierce Northman and his cruel hordes and when 
worsted in battle, he saw her ply her every care to soften the 
hardness of their untutored nature, and to smooth down the 
angularity of their uncouth, unpolished manners. He saw her 
stand up the advocate of the down-trodden of every grade and 
rank of life ; he heard her anathemas against the tyrants of Eng- 
land and Germany, against the oppressors of the feudal peasant. 
He remembered the Magna Charta of England, and the brave 
Catholic hearts who wrested that document from an unyielding- 
despot. Then he directed his inquisitive eye to the mountains and 
plains of Switzerland, and he heard the solemn oath of those who 
swore at Mythenstein and Ruthi, the destruction of their despotic 
master. William Tell, the Werners and the Melchtals stood be- 
fore him crowned with the halo of freedom. The Republics of 
Genoa and Venice, of Pisa and others, in the north of Italy, 
rose in all their prowess and glory upon his wondering vision. 
San Marino, embossed for ages in the Alps, and Anoara, resting 
on the Pyrenees, elicited from his heart the well-merited tribute 
of his admiration. Republican to the very core, he looked for 
models among his own countrymen. Was not Carroll of Car- 
rollton one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, 
and was not that nobleman of nature a staunch believer in the 
Church of Rome? Who was. Lord Baltimore, the first to establish 
religious freedom in this happy land? Was not he, too, a sub- 
ject of Rome? Then the martyred heroes of the Revolution ; was 
there no Barry in the service, no Pulaski, no Kosciusko, no 
Permoy, and many others among the heroes of those days? 
Was the Catholic soldier ever faithless to his trust in those 
trying days? Was there an Arnold among the Catholic leaders 
of those times ? Ah, no, Washington himself owned it. Catholic 
France sent her Catholic armies, and Catholic native and im- 
migrant fought and bled by the side of those who respected, 
though they do not profess her religion. 

"He studied the history of that reproduction, after many ages, 
of the Alexanders and Caesars of yore. He studied the career 



94 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of that ambitious conqueror, who struck his iron heel against 
the walls of the Vatican, and presented himself before the old 
man who sat on the throne of the old emperors. He thought he 
could control the destinies of the empire of the old man of the 
Vatican, as he did those of the world. For that purpose he 
offered him his purple, and the half of his empire, so the old man 
would condescend to yield his portion of expected concessions. 
But the old man of the Vatican yielded not. Then the conqueror 
of nations threatened the old man, and hoped to intimidate by 
fear one whom he could not conquer by promise and flattery. 
Then the mighty conqueror waxed wrathy against the old man 
of Rome, and he drove him into exile; and he rejoiced, hoping 
that his power was come to an end. But the old man of Rome 
dies not. Napoleon dies, on a barren island, deploring his folly, 
and acknowledging that the happiest days of his life were when 
he made his first communion and when he received the last rites 
of the Church. And the old man of Rome survives, and is 
welcomed home, amid the huzzas and plaudits of a thankful 
people. And in connection with Napoleon I., he watched and 
studied the course of his nephew, Napoleon III. He, too, follow- 
ing in the footsteps of his uncle, is insidiously assailing the old 
man of Rome; but Governor Bissell conjectured what you will 
realize, that Napoleon the Third will fail, as did Napoleon the 
First, and that the old man of Rome will live, even when his 
eldest, but rebellious son, shall have ceased to be. 

"Then again, he beheld the trials of the Church in the revo- 
lutionary movement of 1848. He saw that all the counsels of the 
revolutionists were aimed against the Church, and yet the 
Church, and the Pope of that Church, triumphed over the 
banded conspirators. 

"Departed hero, I call heaven and earth to witness, I swear 
by your honored remains, never, never was the Roman Catholic 
soldier disloyal to thy cause when, standing side by side, he 
fought the battles of your country on the heights or in the 
plains of Mexico. Never did he shrink from his share in the 
labor and toil which won the contest of Buena Vista. 

"Immortal spirit, whose flight to better worlds is now accom- 
plished, forgive us if before consigning thy mortal remains to 
the silent tomb, we shed one more tear of respect, of love, or 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 95 

sorrow and regret, for in thee we lose a worthy, a distinguished 
citizen, an able advocate of our rights, a brave soldier, an honest 
and accomplished magistrate, and a true and sincere Chris- 
tian." 2 

On the occasion of Father Smarius' own funeral, 
which occurred on the 3d of March, 1870, the funeral 
oration was preached by Rev. F. P. Garesche, then 
of Milwaukee, and the interment was in Calvary 
Cemetery, Chicago. 

Amongst numerous tributes published at the time 
was the following sympathetic poem : 

In Memoriam 
on the late father c. f. smarius, s. j. 

Toll, toll, ye bells; the tidings 

Of our great loss impart ! 
Death's angel, darkly gliding, 

Has stilled a hero 's heart, 

He is no more, the great one, 

On whom religion leant ! 
He is no more, the late one, 

To whom the sinner bent ! 

Hushed now the voice of thunder, 

That waked repenting groan, 
That wrapt the soul in wonder 

Up to the cloud-girt throne. 

The breast to which confided 

The wretch his bitter tale, 
The youth, whom ill betided 

His danger and his ail ; 

2 The foregoing address is published in the New World as above cited. 



96 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Which kindly soothed the grieving, 

Had balm for every woe — 
Has stilled its vital heaving, 

Is deaf to all below. 

Earth, thee his form in keeping, 

AVe trust, — softly press! 
While, sad the mound upheaping, 

The hand that struck, we bless. 

The flowerets kindly nourish, 
Which love plants on his breast; 

Their balm is, as they flourish, 
Like thought of him at rest. 

And, thou, sweet soul ethereal, 

Beyond all doubts and fears, 
Oh, from thy throne empyreal, 

Be mindful of our tears." 

Father Smarius was the first Jesuit to die in Chi- 
cago, and, within a few months after his death, on 
June 19th, arrangements were completed for the 
erection of a monument to his memory. This mem- 
orial consisted of a modest headstone, which can be 
seen at his grave in Calvary Cemetery. 

With some more or less notable events the parish 
activities continued through the year 1870. 

On the ninth Sunday, after Pentecost, a meeting 
was held to organize a temperance society, of which 
more will be heard. On August 15th, on the Feast 
of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary, a 
statue of our Lady of Help was blessed. It is said 
that Father Damen announced that he had placed 
that statue in the niche in the east transept wall to 
protect that wing, which had developed a defect, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 97 

from falling down. On August 22nd, a fair was held 
in the new college hall. The college itself was opened 
that year, with thirty-seven students. 

On October 27th, the great organ was at last com- 
pleted, and opened with a sacred concert in the 
church. This was perhaps one of the happiest events 
since the church was built, and so notable were the 
proceedings on the occasion as to demand full atten- 
tion here. The inauguration of the organ was pro- 
nounced a success. It was recognized as the largest 
church organ in the United States at that time. The 
great instrument was formally opened by Louis 
Mitchell, of Montreal, the son of the builder of the 
organ. The other organists invited to be present and 
participate were Mr. A. J. Creswold and Dudley 
Buck, the festival organist, who was then considered 
America's greatest organist and composer. Dudley 
Buck wrote very many beautiful compositions, both 
for the Catholic and Protestant service, which have 
become famous. Other artists that took part in the 
program were Miss Antonia Knaack, Soprano, Mr. 
A. Bischoff, Tenor, Mrs. Frank E. Craig (Alice 
Cummings), Miss Libbie Farrell and Frank G. 
Rohner. 

The instrument had created a great sensation on 
account of its size and tonal qualities, and was the 
center of attraction for musicians, musical celebri- 
ties, singers, organists and prominent members of 
the clergy, who came from everywhere to see and 
hear the new organ. There was also a great out- 
pouring of the laity and of music lovers. The 
program which was one of the most enjoyable ever 
rendered in the church was as follows : 



98 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

INAUGURATION CONCERT 

OF THE 

LARGEST CHURCH ORGAN IN THE UNITED STATES 

AT THE 

CHURCH OF THE HOLY FAMILY, 

12th Street and Blue Island Ave., 

Thursday, October 20th, 1870. 

Programme — Part One. 

1. Opening of the Organ, by SAMUEL MITCHEL, Son of the 

Organ Builder, Louis Mitchel, of Montreal. 

2. Overture to "Semiramide" Rossini 

A. J. Creswold. 

3. * ' Inflammatus, " from "Stabat Mater" Rossini 

Miss Antonia Knaack. 

4. Rondo Grazioso Spohr 

Dudley Buck. 

5. "Cujus animam," from "Stabat Mater" Rossini 

A. Bischoff. 

6. Sonata, No. 2 (C Minor) Mendelsohn 

A. J. Creswold. 

Interlude (BY REQUEST). 

Vesper Hymn. By the Young Girls' Vesper Choir of the Holy 
Family Church. 

PART TWO. 

1. Grand Offertoire (in F Minor) Batiste 

Dudley Buck. 

2. "The Heavens are Telling," from the "Creation.". . .Haydn 

Frank G. Rohner, with a full chorus. 

3. Improvisations, Creswold 

A. J. Creswold. 

4. "Quis Est homo," from "Stabat Mater." Rossini 

Mrs. Frank E. Craig (Alice Cummings) 
and Miss Libbie Farrell. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



99 




THE GEEAT ORGAN OF HOLY FAMILY CHURCH 

The Organists: Thomas Moore, F. G. Rohner, E. Di Campi, Leo Mutter, 

Robert J. McGuirk 



100 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



5. Fugue on "Hail Columbia," Buck 

Dudley Buck. 

6. Hallelujah Chorus Handel 

Frank G. Rohner with a full chorus." 3 

It is pleasant to recall that the first use of the great 
organ, after its inauguration, was in connection with 
a vocal concert given on October 30th, three days 
after the grand opening, for the benefit of the 
orphans. ; 




EEV. FLORIAN SAUTOIS, 

S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1873-4 



REV. PATRICK J. MULCONRY, 

S. J. 
Assistant Pastor, 1894-5 



Besides these two great events, namely, the death 
and burial of Father Smarius, and the inauguration 
of the great organ, some very important improve- 
ments were brought about in the year 1870. The 
basement of the big church was not at first intended 
to be used for any public service and was not planned 

s From the printed program preserved. See full account of the organ in 
Chapter XV. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 101 

for any such purpose. It was only by degrees that 
it came into general use, first one small portion, then 
another portion, and then another, until finally, in 
1892, it was fitted up as it stands at the present time. 
In the year 1870, however, the basement chapel was 
considerably enlarged and much use was made of it. 
The year 1871 is most memorable in the history of 
Chicago. It was in that year that the great fire took 
place. Much has been written concerning the great 
Chicago fire, but an item is found in the " Messen- 
ger/' one of the Holy Family Parish publications, 
that contains much of interest, especially for all those 
interested in the Parish : 

THE FIRE 

' ' As this is the first number of the Messenger since the terrible 
fire of October the 8th and 9th, some notices of the sad event 
may be looked for in its pages. We cannot say anything about 
that fire which you may not have heard already. It will serve 
at least as the record of an event, the like of which was never 
before witnessed. That terrible fire passed over an area of about 
five square miles in the course of a few hours, destroyed about 
twenty thousand houses, and left about one hundred thousand 
persons houseless. We do not attempt to give a description of 
the conflagration, its course and consequences; that has already 
been given in the daily papers. 

Amongst the many left destitute by the fire were the orphans 
of St. Joseph's Asylum, corner of State and Superior streets. 
They were merely saved with the clothing which they had on 
them. Great praise is due to the good Sisters who had the care 
of them, that not one of them was lost, They had to carry many 
of them in their arms for about a mile, and protect the others 
that were able to walk as they hurried along in the crowd 
that was fleeing in wild confusion before the pursuing fire, 
which sent its fire-brands in showers, sometimes a square ahead 
of it, to hasten the work of destruction. 



102 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Exhausted and terrified, for they were not out of danger, they 
took refuge in the old cemetery near Lincoln Park. It was 
night, but oh ! it was a dreadful night, lit up with lurid glare, 
then darkened by the clouds of smoke from the raging sea of 
fire. With a few pails of water carried from the lake by the 
orphan girls, the orphans and Sisters were partially refreshed, 
and in the morning the Sisters of the Good Shepherd invited 
them to their Convent at the corner of Market and Hill streets. 
But they were there only a few hours, when the fire was per- 
ceived to draw nearer and nearer to the convent, and again 
they had to make their escape, which was far more difficult than 
the first, as the panic was greater and the streets more crowded 
with people and all kinds of vehicles taking household furniture 
and merchandise to places of safety. The Sisters and orphans, 
about two hundred in number, pushed through the distracted 
crowd as well as they could, and directed their course to north- 
west, toward the church of St. Columbkille, and remained there 
during the afternoon, receiving all the care and attention pos- 
sible. They were then invited to the Holy Family Parish, and 
the best means that could be obtained were sent to carry them 
to St. Aloysius School, where the people had hastily prepared 
refreshments and bedding for them. Sleep soon gave rest and 
forgetfulness to the weary orphans, but that night was a sleep- 
less one to thousands on the open prairie, and full of fearful 
anxiety to those who trembled at the danger which threatened 
the remainder of Chicago, should the wind change its course; 
and the fear was greatly increased by the flying reports of fre- 
quent arrests for attempted incendiarism. ' ' 4 

Holy Family church and the surrounding neigh- 
borhood escaped the fire and the following, written 
many years afterwards is most interesting : 

' 'For fifty years seven lights have burned day and night in 
front of a statue of the Blessed Virgin in the Holy Family 
church, Roosevelt Road and May Street. These lights com- 
memorate the escape of the edifice from destruction in the fire 
of 1871. 

Jefferson and DeKoven streets, the starting point of the fire, 

4 Sunday School Messenger, Vol. IV, p. 26. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 103 

were just across the boundary lines of the parish. With a strong 
wind blowing from the east, it looked for a time as if nothing 
could stop the flames from sweeping the entire west side of the 
city. 

It is a matter of history that the wind veered and drove the 
fire eastward across the river, thence to the lake, and north for 
a distance of more than three miles. 

Father Arnold Damen, who, in 1857, founded the Holy Family 
parish on the bleak prairies, was holding a mission in Brooklyn 
at the time. His assistant telegraphed him there was grave 
danger of his beloved church being destroyed. The message was 
handed to Father Damen in the confessional at St. Patrick's 
Church. 

Prays for His Church. 

Father Damen went to the altar and remained there alone 
the greater part of the night; praying for the safety of his 
church and the homes of his parishioners. For many years he 
had struggled to pay off the debt on the church, often making 
long journeys to procure funds for that purpose. 

With tears streaming down his cheeks, he made a vow that if 
his petition were answered he would, for all time, keep seven 
lights burning in front of the statue of the 'Lady of Perpetual 
Help.' 

A curious fact is that not one of the parishioners of the 
Holy Family church lost his home through the fire, although 
the prairie was dotted with thousands of frame cottages. Iron, 
brick and stone structures melted like snow before the flames, 
but the wooden dwellings were unscathed by the providential 
shift in the wind. 

Hurries Home to Flock. 

Taking the first train for Chicago, Father Damen arrived to 
find the main part of the city in ashes. Gathering his flock 
about him, he held a Mass of thanksgiving, and in a voice often 
choked with sobs, told his hearers of the vow he made. 

'My vow must be kept,' he impressively said, 'so long as this 



104 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

church stands. Let those seven lights be lighted today in front 
of the Blessed Virgin 's statue, and I charge you, my children, to 
keep them burning until time has erased this house of God. 
To my successors, I bequeath this vow as a legacy, and to you, my 
beloved flock, see to it that my wishes are respected.' 

The statue stands in an obscure corner of the old edifice and 
before it is a triangular shaped candelabrum. For several 
years candles were burned, but it was such a task to keep them 
lighted during the night that gas jets in the form of candle 
sticks were substituted." 5 

In the chronicles of parish events, for 1871, it ap- 
pears that on March 17th, St. Patrick's Day necessi- 
tated some changes in the regular procedure. St. 
Patrick's Day falling on Friday, the lenten devo- 
tions were held on Thursday, due to the fact that the 
Sunday school association wished to celebrate St. 
Patrick's Day. 

Classes were first held in St. Ignatius College on 
September 5, 1870, and in 1871 Father Damen was 
made Vice-Rector. 

The school of St. Veronica on Van Horn street 
near Ashland avenue was opened in the Fall of 1871. 
Though originally belonging in Holy Family Parish 
this school was later incorporated into St. Pius' 
Parish. 

The Christmas day services, and especially the 
Solemn Pontifical Mass at 10:30, was exceptionally 
well attended. It is noted that the church had never 
before been so crowded. 

In 1872 the records show the new boiler house was 

• r - John Kelly in New World, October, 1921. The fact that Father Damen 
stated he had promised to keep seven lights burning in recognition of the 
deliverance of the church and parish from the fire is verified by many men 
and women still living who heard him so state as appears in various chap- 
ters of this book, and it is a fact that the lights have been kept burning and 
are now lighted. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



105 




EIGHT EEVEKEND THOMAS FOLEY, D. D. 
Fifth Bishop of Chicago 



106 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

erected and boilers installed. The upper story of 
this building was used as a hall for meetings of the 
acolytes, rehearsals and wardrobe storage. 

During the year 1872 Right Reverend Bishop 
Thomas Foley made his home at the college, as the 
Cathedral and residence had been destroyed in the 
great fire. During the course of his stay at the col- 
lege he performed all the ceremonies of Holy Week 
and other solemn functions in Holy Family Church. 

On March 17, 1872, the St. Patrick's Day proces- 
sion countermarched past St. Ignatius College, and 
was reviewed by Bishop Foley and the clergy from 
the college balcony. 

During the year 1872, the parish of the Sacred 
Heart was established, and a large part of the south- 
ern extremity of Holy Family Parish was assigned 
to that parish. 

This year six novices went to Florissant to join the 
Jesuit Order. 

In this year, the Museum of Natural History was 
established and housed on the top floor of the col- 
lege. This museum, containing many specimens, 
gathered from all over the United States, and from 
other parts of the American continent, was first 
placed in charge of Father Francis Shulak, S. J., 
who collected most of the specimens. It is probably 
one of the finest private collections of its kind in 
America. 

The records give us an idea of the spiritual fruits 
of the year 1872, showing 1,460 baptisms ; 209 mar- 
riages; 90,000 confessions; 98,400 communions, and 
730 first communions. 

The outstanding events of the year 1873, were the 
establishment of the new Parish of St. Pius, which 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 107 

took from Holy Family much of its southwestern 
territory, the laying of the corner stone of Sacred 
Heart Church, a fair held on October 28th for the 
benefit of Sacred Heart Church, the erection and 
blessing of new Stations of the Cross for Holy Fam- 
ily Church, and of new side altars. 

In that year there were 6,000 children in the pa- 
rochial schools. 

In 1874, the great church tower was built. There 
was also an addition built to St. Ignatius College — 
the west wing. St. Pius Church was organized and 
turned over to the Right Reverend Bishop, side 
altars were placed in the basement and blessed, the 
Guardian Angel School was built and became a 
branch school for children under twelve years of age. 

In 1875, fifteen new imported statues were placed 
in position in the Sanctuary and other parts of Holy 
Family Church. 6 

In 1876 a temporary school was opened in the 
western part of the parish. This was the commence- 
ment of St. Joseph's School, which was finished two 
years later. 

In the same year, a house was opened for work- 
ing girls on May and Eleventh streets, and placed in 
charge of the Ladies of the Immaculate Heart of 
Mary. 

The forty-hours' devotion was introduced in Holy 
Family Parish in 1876. 

In 1877 a new clock was placed in the tower. In 
the same year Reverend Ferdinand Cooseman died. 

Toward the end of 1877, Father Damen was made 
superior of the missions, and from this date his ac- 
tive connection with Holy Family Church ceased. 

•See description of statues in Chapter XV. 



108 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Thus having passed in review, in this and the sev- 
eral chapters preceding, the outstanding events of 
Holy Family Parish during the pastorate of Father 
Damen, and the intimate relation of the parish to its 
founder, we may now, with propriety, examine, in 
some detail, Father Damen 's career. 



CHAPTER VII 

The Founder and Father of the Parish 

An entire volume could be devoted to an interest- 
ing recital of the life and labors of Reverend Arnold 
Damen, S. J. Throughout his career, as 

1875 priest, administrator and missionary, there 

1890 were no dull days. His activities were con- 
tinuous, so much so, as to astonish those 
cognizant of them. 

Were we preparing a formal biography, the usual, 
standard forms should be followed, but it seems 
more in keeping with the work in which we are 
engaged, to approach, as closely as possible, to the 
conditions and circumstances surrounding Father 
Damen in his lifetime ; and, accordingly, advantage 
is taken of materials fortunately available and emi- 
nently worthy of introduction here. 

It will be conceded on all hands that William J. 
Onahan was a leading figure in church, parish and 
community during his long and exemplary life. 1 He 
was also a close observer, a gifted writer and an elo- 
quent speaker. Amongst his productions he has left 
us a quantity of materials respecting Father Damen 
that will, we think, be most appreciated if employed 
as prepared by him. 

Accordingly, a "Sketch of the Reverend Arnold 
Damen, S. J., by Hon. William J. Onahan, on the 

1 See complete biography of Count Onahan in Chapter XXIV. 
109 



110 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




HOLY FAMILY CHURCH— ST. IGNATIUS COLLEGE 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 111 

occasion of Father Damen 's Golden Jubilee, Novem- 
ber 21, 1887," is here reproduced: 

"Rev. Arnold Damen, S. J., was born in the province of 
North Brabant, Holland, March 20, 1815. In 1837 Rev. Father 
Pierre-Jean De Smet, the illustrious missionary among the 
Indians of the Rocky Mountains, 2 returned from Belgium to 
the United States, having made arrangements to accompany Rev. 
David Duparc a secular priest, who was returning to the diocese 
of Bardstown, Kentucky. They were joined by Messrs. Arnold 
Damen, Francis D'Hope and Adrian Hendricks, all of whom 
made the journey through France to Paris and thence to Havre 
by stage coach. At the latter place Rev. John S. Gleizal was 
added to the party. They were detained at the hospital at 
Havre de Grace for five days, owing to the sickness of Father 
De Smet; but, though his physician forbade his attempting the 
voyage, he and Rev. David Duparc engaged a boat and joined 
the others after the vessel, in which they were to sail, weighed 
anchor. Damen and his young companions reached Florissant, 
Missouri, and were admitted as novices November 1, 1837. 

After his novitiate, Damen was transferred to the St. Louis 
University, where he served as a teacher and, at the same time, 
pursued his studies of philosophy and theology, until 1884, when 
he was ordained priest. He was then assigned to parochial 
duties, and subsequently became the pastor of the College Church 
in St. Louis, where he remained until 1857, and, while occupy- 
ing that position, established sodalities for the young men and 
young women of the parish and also built a hall for special use. 

In 1857 Bishop O'Regan invited Rev. J. R. Druyts, provincial 
of the Jesuits in Missouri, to establish a parish church and school 
in Chicago. To the sagacious provincial the offer was one fur- 
nishing an opportunity full of future promise, and he judged 
that a priest better qualified for the work than Rev. Arnold 
Damen could not be found. Father Damen was, therefore, 
chosen for the mission and, accompanied by Rev. Charles Tru- 
yens, reached Chicago early in May, 1857. The location selected 
for the new church was on Twelfth street between May street 

2 Father De Smet was one of the most illustrious of the modern American 
Jesuit Missionaries. His life and works have been written of extensively. 



112 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

and Blue Island avenue. The cornerstone of Holy Family 
church was blessed by Bishop Duggan, August 25, 1857, and the 
church was dedicated August 15, 1860. A dwelling for the 
fathers was located on the corner of Twelfth and May streets 
in 1861, and St. Ignatius College was begun in 1867, and classes 
were organized in it in September, 1870. Five parochial schools 
were erected, in which 5,000 children each year receive elemen- 
tary education. 

When Father Damen first organized the parish, in 1857, almost 
all that portion of the city was still unsettled prairie, while there 
was, in 1900, attached to the Holy Family Church, a congrega- 
tion of upwards of 25,000 souls. All that locality speedily was, 
in fact, settled by a population drawn thither largely by the 
great Church and Father Damen. His style of preaching and 
eloquence were peculiarly adapted to the tastes and understand- 
ing of the masses who thronged to hear him, and whether as a 
missionary in the large cities of the East or in his own capacious 
Holy Family Church, he was equally powerful and convincing. 

The Golden Jubilee of Father Damen's religious life was 
celebrated in the Holy Family Church on the 21st of November, 
1887. 

The services were very impressive. Nearly three thousand 
people crowded on the floors and galleries of the church. The 
great altars were lighted up by hundreds of candles and high 
above the main altar, flamed in letters of fire, the names of the 
Holy Family, Jesus, Maria, Joseph. 

Soon the organ swelled into a march and a gorgeous proces- 
sion swept up the aisle. Preceded by long lines of surpliced 
acolytes, came the priests clad in heavy gold vestments, Father 
Damen in their midst. After them came the Most Rev. Arch- 
bishop Feehan in full pontificals. They proceeded to the sanc- 
tuary and the grand Solemn High Mass began. Father Damen, 
a kindly faced old gentleman of seventy-three years of age, was 
celebrant. Father Tschieder, Deacon, Father Lalumiere, sub- 
deacon, Father Edward Kelly, now Monsigneur Kelly, assistant 
priest, Fathers Shulak and Van Hulst, Deacons of Honor, Father 
Nussbaum, Master of Ceremonies, 

Father Damen intoned the Mass with full resonant voice and 
the service was made doubly grand by the music, the choral 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 113 

and orchestral effects being admirably handled. Surpliced aco- 
lytes swung silver censers before the altar, sending forth clouds 




REV. ARNOLD DAMEN, S. J. 
Taken soon after Ordination 



of aromatic incense high above the altar, which floated like a 
halo with lights. 

The sermon was preached by the Rev. Thomas Fitzgerald of 
Marquette College, Milwaukee, who is .regarded as one of the 
foremost orators of the Church. He took his text from the 



114 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

thirty-ninth and fortieth Chapters of Ecclesiasticus. It referred 
eulogistically to the priest who built up and strengthened the 
Church of God. 

The young Ladies' Sodality presented a beautiful bouquet of 
flowers for the altar and the Married Ladies' Sodality had im- 
mense floral designs wrought in immorteles and roses which were 
ranged along the communion railing and on which were wrought 
appropriate mottoes. The rest of the day was given over to 
receptions and addresses. 

In the evening, another celebration took place. At the recep- 
tion, Hon. William J. Count Onahan delivered the following 
address : 
* Reverend and venerable Father Damen : 

On this interesting and happy occasion, the fiftieth anniver- 
sary of your admission to the Society of Jesus, the preparation 
for and forerunner of the solemn consecration of your life to the 
sacred and elevated duties and responsibilities of the holy priest- 
hood, on this, your golden jubilee, the members of the parish 
and congregation of the Holy Family have assembled, in this 
sacred edifice, to testify their love, gratitude and veneration for 
you, their old-time pastor, friend and benefactor. 

They have come to congratulate you in their own name, in 
behalf of all your parishioners present or absent, and in the 
name of the entire city, which has been blessed and benefited by 
your labors. 

They rejoice to see again your well-known figure within this 
holy sanctuary, and to listen, once more, to the welcome and 
familiar voice, which so often resounded through these aisles. 

They have come together to do you honor, to express their 
gratitude for your past labors in their midst, to bear public 
testimony of their appreciation of your memorable services to 
religion, to the cause of charity, to society ; and finally, to thank 
God that you have been preserved in health and strength and 
vigor to do His work — a favor and a blessing which, they pray, 
may long be continued to you, so that you may yet, for many 
years, carry on your precious labors in His service — for His 
greater honor, for the glory of religion, and for the general good 
of society. 

Thinking of fifty years ago, reminds us of the great debt of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 115 

religious obligation the Catholics of America owe to your native 
province, Brabant, and to the other Catholic provinces of the 
Netherlands for the bands of zealous missionaries, many of them 
your companions and co-laborers, who devoted themselves, espe- 
cially during the first half of this century, to the missions in the 
United States. The annals of the Missouri province of your so- 
ciety, and the history of the Catholic Church in the United 
States, bear witness to the ardent zeal, the generous and heroic 
labors and sacrifices of these devoted missionaries. The homes 
and the families, from whence these ardent young apostles came 
forth, must surely have been the scene and center of an earnest, 
simple, practical faith and piety, such as happily is still to be 
found in Catholic countries, among peoples and communities not 
wholly given over to the pursuit and the phantoms and passions 
of the material age in which we live. 

Fifty years ago, in obedience to the call of Divine Grace, you 
gave up home, family, friends, associations, ambitions, to devote 
your life, your labors, and your talents to the service of God, 
in the Society of Jesus. The motto of the Society, "Ad majorem 
Dei Gloriam" became your watchword from that moment. How 
faithful you have been to it the records of your subsequent 
career will abundantly demonstrate. 

Fifty years is not a great space in history, but it seems a long 
span in the activities of modern life. Few of the world 's famous 
warriors were allotted half that period for their campaigns and 
conquests. But you have been enabled, under the favor of Divine 
Providence, to carry on your campaigns and conquests well nigh 
fifty years — campaigns in the interest of religion and charity, 
conquests for God and Virtue. 

This is no time or occasion for merely personal panegyric. 
This holy place, the solemn religious environments, your sacred 
office, a priest of God's Church, forbids that we should employ, 
in this address, any language of extravagant eulogy. This ad- 
dress is to a priest. We seek to pay a just tribute to your priestly 
character and office, to your pastoral and missionary labors, to 
your charitable works and monuments, in the presence of a 
people to whom all the facts of your life are known as are the 
pages of an open book, among whom you have lived and labored 
so long, and who would be quick to discern, as they would be sure 



116 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




HON. WILLIAM J. ONAHAN 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 117 

to condemn, every inaccuracy of statement and any exaggera- 
tion of compliment. The bare and unvarnished facts of your life 
and labors will be your fitting and ample eulogy. 

Thirty years ago (1857) you came to Chicago, with companions 
of your society, to establish a parish and to undertake the 
religious work which was destined to be so beneficent to the 
people and to the city, and result in monuments so glorious 
and enduring. Other more inviting localities in the city were 
offered or suggested ; the entire field lay open to your choice and 
selection. This southwestern part of the city was then, for the 
most part, a prairie, dotted here and there with unpretentious 
cottages and humble shanties, the homes of the working classes. 

Putting aside the advantages and attractions of more favored 
and inviting neighborhoods, you decided to cast your lot and 
begin your work here among the poor and lowly. You came 
to Chicago, not to seek riches or pleasant surroundings, not to 
find ease and comfort, not for the sake of the smiles and rewards 
of the wealthy, or the favor and applause of the public. No, 
your mission was to do good, to save souls, and wisely, in this 
regard, did you choose your foundation. You were then (permit 
us to recall the fact) in the prime and vigor of manhood, untir- 
ing in zeal, indomitable in resolution, irresistible in energy. Al- 
ready your reputation as pastor, organizer and administrator 
had been established in St. Louis; your success and renown as 
a missionary and pulpit orator were widely recognized through- 
out the country. 

These qualifications, with an abiding faith in Providence, and 
in Chicago, were your resources and capital for the mission to 
which you were assigned and the work which you were about 
to undertake. 

It is unnecessary to trace, in detail, the growth of this parish 
under your administration, its churches, its schools, its institu- 
tions of learning and charity. What a crusade of religious zeal, 
what increasing activities, what unexampled energies and re- 
sources were brought to bear to carry forward the parish in- 
stitutions, church, schools, college ! 

Energetic and untiring as the people of Chicago were in those 
days, a characteristic which they seem in no way likely to sur- 
render, you, sir, gave them an example of push and perseverance, 



118 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of general " go-ahead ' ' which were at that time the marvel and 
admiration of the city, rarely before witnessed in the West. 
Those of our citizens who recall the conditions of the population 
in this part of the city prior to your advent here and the condi- 
tions to which in a short time you elevated the people by your 
missionary labors, will acknowledge that even in a material 
sense the city is under enduring obligations to you. 

Facts are sometimes unwelcome truths, but this is a fact which 
requires to be told, and the moral, as well as the material im- 
provement in the habits, conditions and prospects of the early 
settlers in this part of the city, the consequence of your labors 
and teachings, is a fact too well known to ignore or pass in 
silence — as the influences that tend to make men good Christians 
as surely will make them good citizens. 

The limits of a parish and the routine of parochial labors 
were not sufficient to satisfy your ardent zeal and untiring 
energies. The work of the missions, in which you had already 
been engaged with so much success, could not be neglected. In 
the great center of human life and activities, men needed to be 
moved and stirred to a realizing sense of fear and duty. Piety 
was to be re-enkindled in torpid and sluggish hearts, religious 
fervor stirred into life, the depths of the Catholic Faith sounded. 
From every part of this wide country, from New York to New 
Orleans, as well as from the cities of Canada, came appeals for 
missions and missionaries. With a chosen band of fathers of the 
society, you went forth on these religious crusades. Your voice 
was heard in every city, preaching to assembled multitudes, 
lecturing, exhorting, instructing, championing the principles and 
doctrines of our holy religion, and engaging with your societies in 
all the arduous duties and labors for the missions. Others may 
have been more eloquent and learned, but your power as a pulpit 
orator and your force as an effective controversialist was every- 
where recognized and universally acknowledged. When we re- 
call the gigantic labors, necessitated by the countless missions 
which you carried on all these years, the physical strain to which 
you were subjected, traveling in all seasons, under all sorts of 
conditions, in all kinds of weather ; and when we consider, more- 
over, the never-ceasing routine and the exhausting work of the 
mission itself, well-known to Catholics, the marvel is that human 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 119 

endurance should have been equal to so constant and so tre- 
mendous a strain. Who can estimate the results of these mis- 
sions all these years? Who can enumerate the souls that were 
rescued from spiritual death, the numbers of the erring won 
back to religious duty, the vices reformed, the houses and 
families restored to happiness, the converts gained to the Faith ! 

When we remember, also, the works of charity in behalf of 
which your voice has been raised, and is still heard, the poor you 
aided and lifted up ; when we think of the churches you assisted 
to build, the hospitals and the asylums for which you so often 
pleaded, and, not least of all, the great number of young and 
zealous ecclesiastics trained and educated for the service of the 
Church through your endeavors; when we think of all these 
labors, these multiplied generous works fostered and encouraged 
by and through your zeal and teachings, we are justified in ex- 
claiming that the entire Church, that the society itself, is your 
debtor ; nor should we forget your constant and earnest appeals 
in behalf of sound Catholic journals. 

And what, the world may ask, has been the motive, the spur, 
the inspiration for this generous long-enduring, self-sacrificing 
apostolate ? Not worldly honors, surely ? You sought no office, 
acquired no power, exercised no command. Not wealth or com- 
forts. A Jesuit can possess no property for himself. You are 
still, as always, a poor man, without money, without lands, with- 
out possessions, and sharing, as we know, few of the comforts 
and none of the luxuries of modern life. Not human favor or 
popular applause ! Few men better know, or more thoroughly 
realize, the hollowness and inconstancy of this phantom reward. 

No. The motive is to be sought in none of these paltry and 
fleeting considerations. It is to be found in the suggestion of the 
motto of your society, already indicated — the greater honor and 
glory of God, the salvation and elevation of your fellow men. 

This, we can justly claim, has been the life-long motive and 
inspiration for a life of self-denial, of hard and exacting labor, 
of great and persistent sacrifices; and this is, or should be, 
equally the motive and prompting of every priest who gives his 
life to his work. And it is essentially and distinctly true of the 
Jesuit, who must be, as an eloquent authority, Bishop Spalding 
testifies, equipped for every mode of spiritual warfare. "It was 



120 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




EEV. ARNOLD DAMEN, S. J. 
The Giant of the Pulpit in middle life 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 121 

not enough for him to be a theologian ; he was required also to 
be versed in literature and sciences. To the austerity of the 
monk, he was to add the grace and self-possession of the gentle- 
man. It was little that, in the company of his brethren, and in 
the seclusion of the cloister, he was able to lead a life of prayer 
and self-denial ; this he must also do in the courts of kings, amid 
the gay throngs of the worldly, in the hut of the savage, and 
in the corrupt atmosphere of the effete semi-civilization of 
Eastern Asia. He was to be the guide of those pure and heaven : 
seeking souls, who seem to be born into the world only to scorn 
it and return unsullied to God. He was to preach penitence to 
the fallen and (yet more difficult task) to seek to bring, into 
the narrow way, the lower natures who tread the primrose path 
of dalliance. Nothing by which mankind may be enlightened, 
purified, strengthened, guided to the end of their creation — 
God 's greater glory — was foreign to his purpose, and hence, there 
is nothing worthy or exalted which is without a representative 
among the followers of Ignatius, 

Such is the Jesuit and such his mission. We, who are here, 
living witnesses, have seen and known in this church and college 
distinguished examples of the learning, the wisdom, the elo- 
quence, the zeal and the piety which have been conspicuous char- 
acteristics of the society in every period of its history, in every 
city where its missionaries have labored, in every institution by 
its professors. 

And surely, we who have known the society through the op- 
portunities of more than a quarter of a century, who have been 
privileged to see the routine of the daily life of its members, have 
been edified by their example and teaching and been benefited 
by their labors, surely we may justly claim to know them better 
and judge them more truly than those who know the 'Jesuit' 
only by the slanderous tongue of rumor ! 

Your life, your labors, your character, ought to be a sufficient 
refutation of the calumnies which ignorance and malice some- 
times seek to fasten to the name 'Jesuit.' Your life is a model 
for every priest — an example for all men. 

It would be a welcome and grateful duty to bear testimony to 
the labors of these fathers, your honored and worthy successors, 
who, trained under your eye, and influenced by your example 



122 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

carry on the great mission and works which your zeal created 
and made possible. 

But the present is not the fitting time to do so. Gratitude, 
however, calls for mention of the dear and venerated missionary 
fathers who have passed to their reward, who labored with you 
and among us in years past — Truyens, Smarius, Coosemans, 
Lawler, De Blieck, Filling, Van Goch, Schultze and Oakley — a 
precious necrology of hallowed and consecrated memories, always 
to be cherished in affectionate and grateful remembrance in 
this church and parish. 

In this busy and rushing age men are soon forgotten when they 
are gone, no matter how exalted their station, howsoever shining 
their talents and qualities. Their memory will hardly be long 
kept in recollection outside of the faithful fond hearts nearest 
and dearest in life. And in our own time and country, it seems 
to be the rule that the people pass out of sight and memory even 
before they have passed from earth, if at all removed from the 
public eye. Nor will tablet or obelisk, the ' storied urn or 
animated bust,' serve to keep alive the memory and fame of the 
dead beyond the circle of the curious few, who, now and again, 
seek food for meditation on graveyard philosophy. No; man's 
work alone survives the tomb, for good or evil. You, sir, have 
'builded beyond the grave.' Your memory cannot perish; your 
monument shall endure in the hearts and affections of a grate- 
ful people. This church, the monument and testimony of your 
zeal, will perpetuate it. The schools of the parish, which you 
first created, will recall it from time to time, and hand it down 
to coming generations. The charities which you established and 
nourished will preserve your memory and character in the hearts 
of the poor and afflicted. And this great college, the hope and 
the pride of the Catholic youth of our city, will remain a per- 
petual memorial of your zeal for learning, as for religion. 

Not to Chicago, nor to this congregation alone, will the joy, 
and grateful emotions, aroused by this golden jubilee, be con- 
fined. From countless homes and hearts, all over this land and 
across the sea, before many altars, in the asylums for the orphan 
and the foundling, in the homes for the aged, and the refuges 
of Magdalen, in the hospitals of the Sisters of Mercy, and the 
institutions for the afflicted deaf and dumb, in convents and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 123 

monasteries of every order and every community, prayers of 
thanksgiving will ascend to heaven today for all the multiplied 
blessings and benefits you have conferred on mankind by your 
precious labors during the past fifty years. Nor is the account 
finally closed. Fifty years of labor, and upwards of seventy 
years of time, have made their marks and laid their heavy im- 
press on your vigorous frame. Your step is not so alert, your 
voice is no more ringing and powerful as of old; the penalties 
of time and toil are visible in your stooped form and venerable 
gray hairs. But, notwithstanding the growing infirmities of age, 
you are still persevering in the strenuous crusade of religion and 
charity. 

Long may you be spared to this congenial and beneficient 
mission. Long may you continue to spread the light and bless- 
ings of Christian faith, the sweet fruits and favors of charity 
and brotherly love throughout the land, for which you will be 
more and more entitled to the gratitude of mankind and the 
assured favors and blessings of God." 3 

In response Father Damen said : 

"I am embarrassed to appear before you because 
I have received today so many compliments and con- 
gratulations which I think I do not deserve. But my 
heart is full of joy for all the good that has been done 
here for the last thirty years." 

He then recounted his experiences and the circum- 
stances of the foundation of the Church in a place 
covered with water lilies and on a street that was 
rather a canal. His narration of some of his early 
experiences was very humorous and excited hearty 
laughter. He closed as follows: 

" Today I lift my heart in gratitude to God for the 
blessings he has bestowed upon our labors during the 
last thirty years. I never expected so much grati- 
tude as I have received from you today. And I thank 
you very much for it." He then pronounced the 

8 From the original manuscript of the address. 



124 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Papal Benediction, permission having been espe- 
cially granted for the occasion. 

On Monday morning, the parish of the Sacred 
Heart took up the celebration with a solemn High 
Mass, a large congregation in attendance. 

In the afternoon, Father Damen visited the vari- 
ous schools of the two parishes, received the ad- 
dresses of the children and gave them his blessing. 

In the evening, the Sodalities of the Sacred Heart 
parish assembled in the church and read addresses 
to him, to which he responded with touching words, 
ending by imparting the Apostolic Benediction. 

As suggested in Count Onahan's address, the ac- 
count was by no means closed at the time the jubilee 
was celebrated and the address was made. Indeed, 
Father Damen was yet to spend many active and 
remarkably useful years of faithful endeavor. 

As a matter of fact, much of the work which gave 
Father Damen the greatest fame was performed sub- 
sequent to this time, namely, his missionary work. 
It is true that even during the very busiest years of 
his building and development of the parish, he found 
time to give numerous missions, but having brought 
to fruition his plans for the parish, the schools and 
college, and having been succeeded in the pastorship, 
he was at greater liberty to devote his chief energies 
to the mission field. 

Of his work on the missions we have a description 
by one well qualified to speak : 

"His merits as a preacher of rugged eloquence 
and remarkable driving power, the Catholic Beecher, 
he was called by one of the great metropolitan dailies, 
soon met with recognition in Catholic circles 
throughout the land and his services for the conduct 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 125 

of parochial missionary revivals, became, accord- 
ingly, much in demand. 

Associated with Father Damen in this ministry 
was Father Cornelius Smarius, also a Hollander by 
birth, and a distinguished pulpit orator, who, after 
a few years of residence in the United States, wrote 
and spoke English with an idiomatic ease and pro- 
priety and a wealth of diction extraordinary in one 
to whom the language was not an inherited gift but 
a laborious acquisition. His funeral oration over 
Governor Bissell of Illinois, and his address to the 
Union soldiers at their St. Louis camp, during the 
dark days of the Civil War, are examples of an ora- 
tory singularly dignified and impressive, if some- 
what too overwrought for the simpler taste of more 
recent days. 4 Every visible token of undoubted suc- 
cess marked the parochial missions preached by 
Fathers Damen and Smarius. During the twelve 
months, September, 1861, to September, 1862, each 
of the two had conducted eighteen missions, resulting 
in 600 conversions to the Faith and in 120 reclama- 
tions of f alien-away Catholics to the Church. More- 
over, they distributed during the same period 50,000 
Holy Communions, at least one-fifth of these being 
to persons who had long neglected their religious du- 
ties, some for as many as ten, twenty, thirty and 
even fifty years. The two missionaries were des- 
tined to pursue their ministry of the spoken word 
with undiminished zeal up to the very period of their 
decease. Father Smarius died in Chicago, March 1, 
1870, being only forty-six years of age, while Father 

4 Most readers will agree, we think, that the funeral oration is at least 
a near classic. Of course the style of forensic address has changed some- 
what but this oration reads as well as it could have sounded and that is 
a very searching test of the merit of an address. 



126 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Damen, conducting a mission in Wyoming, at the 
advanced age of seventy-five years, was stricken 
with paralysis and died in Omaha six months later, 
January 1, 1890." 5 

To this estimate of his own Father Garraghan 
adds the following: 

"A transient visitor at Chicago, in 1875, remarked that 'a 
letter which arrived while I was there, announced to Father 
Rector, the happy conclusion of a mission at Scranton, with 
12,000 Communions, 19 converts, 200 adult First Communions, 
etc., but I found it was scarcely noticed such items being com- 
monplace there. In 1879, after twenty-two years of excursions 
from Chicago, it was reckoned that Father Damen had conducted 
in person 208 missions, averaging two weeks time for each; he 
had traveled on an average of 6,000 miles each year ; he and his 
different bands of companions together had given 2,800,000 Holy 
Communions and had made 12,000 conversions to the Faith. At 
one church, in New York, a party of his missionaries, in the 
course of four weeks, distributed no less than 42,000 Holy Com- 
munions. ' 6 It may be interesting to note that General Longstreet 
was converted during a mission given by Father Damen in New 
Orleans, in February, 1877, and that twenty-seven of the 
Father's converts had been Protestant ministers. ' ' 7 

Father Damen 's name was connected with every 
parish movement for twenty years. He was the head 
and front of all parish activity, and also the chief 
proponent and founder of St. Ignatius college. This 
institution, founded at a time when the University of 
St. Mary of the Lake had but lately closed its doors, 
became the timely successor of that venerable insti- 
tution in dispensing to the youth of Chicago the ad- 

6 Garraghan, Beginnings of Holy Family Parish, Illinois Catholic Histori- 
cal Review, Vol. I, pp. 456-7. 

6 Thomas Hughes, S. J., Manuscript notice of Father Damen, cited by 
Father Garraghan in Beginnings of Holy Family Parish, op. cit. 

7 Garraghan, lb., p. 457 foot note. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 127 

vantages of higher education. Father Damen be- 
came the first rector and started this institution of 
learning on its eminently successful career, but St. 
Ignatius college gives us the subject of another 
chapter. 

In the fall of 1877 Father Damen was appointed 
Superior of the Missions, with headquarters at St. 
Ignatius College, Chicago, and the pastorship of 
Holy Family Parish was transferred to Reverend 
Peter C. Koopmans, S. J., former assistant. Thus, at 
the age of 62, and twenty years after taking up the 
buMen of establishing the parish, he laid that bur- 
den down to assume others. 

In 1879, two years later, Father Damen was ap- 
pointed Superior and Pastor of Sacred Heart 
Church at Nineteenth and Johnson streets, a church 
in the building of which he had been instrumental. 

After Father Damen concluded his golden jubilee 
celebration, he led his band of missionaries for still 
another year until finally, in the summer of 1888, he 
was sent to Creighton College, Omaha, to enjoy its 
healthful climate. He still continued at times to 
give missions, and whilst thus engaged in the special 
work of his heroic life, he received the stroke that 
finally carried him to the grave. While in the act 
of giving Communion at the end of a mission in 
Evanston, Wyoming, he received the fatal stroke of 
paralysis, on June 4th, 1889. He was brought to 
Omaha where he lingered until January 1, 1890. 

Fortified by the last rites of the Church and sur- 
rounded by his religious brethren he gave up his 
heroic soul to Him for whose honor and glory he had 
labored for fifty-two years. 

Father Damen 's remains were conveyed to Floris- 



128 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sant, Missouri, by the rector of Creighton University, 
Rev. Thos. Fitzgerald, S. J., where they repose near 




REV. ARNOLD DAMEN, S. J. 
The Grand Old Man 



those of the Jesuit pioneers of the Middle West, 
Fathers Van Ashe, De Smet, Isidore Boudreaux, 
Bishop Van de Velde and the other saintly priests, 
scholastics and Brothers, founders of the Province. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 129 

Father Fitzgerald was rector of Creighton Col- 
lege at the time of Father Damen's fatal illness. 
He gave him every attention. Brother Patrick De- 
laney, S. J., was Infirmarian, and had the care of 
the distinguished missionary. He used to wheel 
him out to the chapel for Mass daily. Brother De- 
laney says that Father Damen was very patient and 
prayerful, and that he (the Brother) was with him 
when he died. 

The foregoing account chronicles, but briefly, the 
main incidents of the exceedingly busy life we have 
been considering, yet throws a flood of light upon the 
character of the man. Without further information 
the reader will, at once, judge that Father Damen 
was a man of the people in the best acceptation of 
that term. His sympathy with and understanding 
of, the struggling masses is established beyond con- 
troversy. From the foregoing, one can reconstruct a 
more or less faithful picture of this distinguished 
priest. Coming from Holland in his young man- 
hood, and entering the Jesuit College at Florissant 
on the borders of the thriving city of St. Louis, he 
learns to speak the language of the Americans from 
Americans, and is versed in American customs and 
procedure before he enters upon the ministry. Al- 
though well educated, Father Damen, in his lan- 
guage and conduct, put himself on a level with the 
average men and women of his day, and to a cer- 
tainty never soared above the heads of his auditors. 
His was a rugged sort of eloquence, powerful in the 
extreme, and perhaps more mingled with terrorism 
than is now thought advisable, but in his day and 
circumstances most fruitful. 



130 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The quality of approachableness, which he pos- 
sessed in a very great measure, endeared him to those 
who knew him. Every man or woman now living, 
who had the happiness to know Father Damen in his 
lifetime, will repeat, with pleasure, some anecdote 
or incident concerning him, and pleasant incidents 
or experiences, in connection with the good priest, 
are handed down from generation to generation. A 
number of narratives, traditions and anecdotes have 
long been current concerning Father Damen, some 
of which will bear repetition here. 

Of course Father Damen in the early days and, 
as a matter of fact, throughout his pastoral career, 
took a personal part in the collection of the funds 
that made the parish possible. It is related that on 
one occasion Father Damen called at the home of 
a very great friend of his, Thomas O'Neill, who 
lived on Halsted street, near the river. 'Neill was 
the owner of a large tract of wooded land, extending 
from Halsted street west for several blocks, and 
from the river north to Twenty-second street. 
O'Neill street, which was the terminus of the Hal- 
sted street cars north of the river for many years, 
was named in his honor. The time of Father Da- 
men's call coincided with dinner time at the O'Neill 
house, and Mrs. O'Neill, in her hospitable manner, 
invited Father Damen to have dinner with the fam- 
ily. He modestly declined, but remarked that he 
would appreciate a helping from the sugar bowl, 
pointing to an old-fashioned China bowl above the 
fire place. The good Mrs. O'Neill, without hesita- 
tion, handed him the sugar bowl, and invited him to 
help himself, whereupon Father Damen took out a 
quantity of the " sugar," sufficient to discharge sev- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 131 

eral pressing bills, after which he expressed himself 
as feeling much refreshed. 

When Father Damen was in hard straits for mon- 
ey to pay church bills, which was most of the time, 
for in those days scarcely a day passed that there 
were not pressing bills — but when the pressure was 
especially heavy, and all other sources were ex- 
hausted he would announce an auction and put up 
the "pony," the only quadruped owned by the com- 
munity, and the single buggy, for sale. The horse 
and buggy usually brought a good price, for two 
reasons: first, because of a desire to help Father 
Damen to procure funds, and secondly, because it 
was quite a distinction to have Father Damen 's horse 
and buggy. With the funds realized he would pay 
the pressing obligation, whatever it might be, and 
then trudge on foot over his vast parish. It would 
not be long, however, until some of his good friends 
would get together and purchase a new horse and 
buggy, for they thought it too hard to require him 
to travel on foot for miles to make sick calls and 
other necessary errands, for there were no street 
cars, autos or busses in those days. 

Another well authenticated collection story is told. 
Once when in great perplexity for means of meeting 
a pressing obligation, Father Damen went out and 
stood on the corner of a nearby street. He thought 
and prayed, and the name of a good old lady came 
to his mind, and he at once determined to call on 
her, which he did, and frankly recited his troubles. 
Going to her bureau she pulled out an old stocking, 
and gave him the funds needed, which was quite a 
considerable sum. 

On another occasion when Father Damen was in 



132 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

great need of money he visited one of his most prom- 
inent parishioners to ask for some assistance but his 
friend happened just then to be in a very hilarious 
mood and after hearing Father Damen's plea he 
willingly gave him all he had, emptying his pockets 
and saying: "Take it all Father, it's for a grand 
cause." Father Damen had scruples as to taking 
the money under such circumstances, but after ma- 
ture reflection concluded that if he did not take it 
then, the saloon-keeper would soon be the undisputed 
possessor. On sobering up the next day and discov- 
ering where his money went the parishioner went to 
the pastor's residence, took the pledge and became a 
leading light in the Holy Family Temperance So- 
ciety. 

The good pastor was not partial in his calls, and 
did not confine himself to his own Church people. A 
story is told, illustrating conditions in those early 
days. Musical instruments, it must be remembered, 
were very scarce, as were performers. In the neigh- 
borhood of the church there were only two families 
who had pianos, and both of these were non-Catholic. 
The Kniseley family was very friendly to Father 
Damen, who used to call in occasionally. On the oc- 
casion of one of his calls, when he was again hard 
pressed for funds, the piano caught his eye, and he 
at once connected it with a project for raising funds. 
So without preliminaries he exclaimed: "Say, Mrs. 
Kniseley, can we have the use of your piano for a 
concert?" Mrs. Kniseley was perhaps taken aback, 
and, of course, a piano was a precious thing in those 
days, but she readily gave her consent, and the piano 
was duly brought to the hall, and performed a good 
office in helping to raise a considerable sum. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 133 

In connection with the state of musical talent in 
those early days, it is interesting to draw attention to 
some of the musicians, itinerant and otherwise. 
Among the violinists of that day were the Gearns, 
the Dorneys, Blind Conway and the hunchback wit, 
called Humpy Carey. Humpy was quite a violinist, 
but not so much of a financier. Amongst others he 
owed a certain Mr. Mack a sum of money, which had 
been standing for some time, and Mr. Mack had 
been pressing Humpy for payment. One day Mack 
met Humpy on Twelfth street and Blue Island ave- 
nue, and, as the latter made a dash to evade his 
creditor, Mack called out: "Say, Humpy, what 
about that bill?" "Sure, Mack, sure, I'll pay you as 
soon as I get straightened out." Thus Humpy gave 
himself plenty of leeway. 

Father Damen had his peculiarities, even as some 
of our millionaires, and others of less financial pre- 
tentions, and in the earlier days he was afforded an 
opportunity to indulge some of those peccadillos, so 
to speak, without disturbing his neighbors. As the 
houses were scattered over the wide prairies and 
considerable distances of time and space existed be- 
tween them there was ample room for chicken yards 
where ducks and geese and even pigs, if desired, 
might be kept. There was no lack of water for fowl, 
as the ponds on the prairies and ditches on either 
side of the street, afforded a very convenient nata- 
torium, where the water fowl were free to float about 
to their heart's content. Father Damen was very 
fond of fowl, so that turkeys and chickens were 
cared for in the spacious yard on the premises 
around the church. It was quite necessary in the 
early days to make such provision, as fresh meat was 



134 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

scarce and difficult of attainment. A story is re- 
lated by Miss Gorman, of Fifteenth and Racine 
streets, to the effect that Father Damen used to keep 
a lot of turkeys in a rear section of the basement of 
the church, which was cut off from the part used as 
a chapel, and the relator declares, that it would hap- 
pen at times that, during the services, when the peo- 
ple were wrapped up in prayer, the turkeys would 
inaugurate a service and chorus of their own, to the 
great annoyance of some of the worshippers and 
greater merriment of others. 

Father Damen kept two or more milk cows, which 
supplied his household with fresh milk and butter. 
The cows were kept as late as 1881 or 1882, as 
Brother Mulkerins remembers to have seen them in 
the barn and upon the grounds at Eleventh and 
Aberdeen streets. In the earlier days, they were 
probably driven out on the prairies by a drover, as 
were all of the cows in the neighborhood. 

A pleasant story is told, which illustrates Father 
Damen 's strength and skill. Father Damen and 
Father Truyens frequently were accompanied on 
their walks about the parish by Mr. Christopher 
Turner, who would introduce them to the parishion- 
ers and otherwise assist them. On one occasion when 
some of the young men were weight casting, Father 
Damen happened to pass their playground, and the 
near athletes challenged him for the game. In- 
stantly Father Damen accepted the challenge. Tak- 
ing off his plug hat and grappling the heavy rock, 
he indulged in a twirl or two, and then gave the 
stone a powerful heave, which sent it far beyond any 
mark made by the players. It is interesting to re- 
call the names of some of the young men, but later 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 135 

well known in the parish. They were Peter Yore, 
Patrick Byrne, Edward Curry and Philip Reilly. 
Needless to say, the bystanders were elated with 
Father Damen's victory, and the defeated athletes 
were correspondingly depressed. 

A volume could be written relating the good deeds 
of Father Damen. There are men and women yet 
living who are firmly convinced that there were 
many incidents and events in Father Damen's life 
which resembled the superhuman or miraculous, and 
one quite well authenticated tradition has to do with 
the two figures of acolytes, to be seen over the en- 
trances to the sanctuary, these having been placed, 
as the tradition has it, to commemorate what seems 
to be a supernatural occurrence. 

One stormy night, the door bell of the pastor's 
residence rang, and, as the porter opened the door, 
two young boys stepped in and inquired for the 
priest, requesting that he accompany them on an ur- 
gent sick call. The storm was so severe and Father 
Damen's work had been so trying during the day 
that the porter, thinking to spare the priest, asked 
the boys if it would not be possible to wait until 
morning. The boys assured him that the woman was 
so ill that she could not live through the night. 
Father Damen, overhearing the conversation, at once 
prepared to accompany the lads, and started out 
with them. The boys preceded the priest and led 
him to a tumble down house in a remote part of the 
parish, where they told him the patient would be 
found in the garret. Father Damen climbed the 
rickety stairs and found the dying woman lying on a 
poor bed in a corner of the room. When he entered, 
she looked up with astonishment, but Father Damen 



136 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

heard her confession, and gave her the last sacra- 
ments. As he was about to leave, the old lady said, 
" Father, may I ask who called you to me. I have 
been very ill and I have wanted a priest, but I had 
no one to send." Father Damen replied that two 
young boys had come for him, neighbors no doubt, 
he suggested. "No, Father," said the old lady, 
" there is none near, and no one knows of my 
sickness." Father Damen was accordingly puzzled. 
"Have you no boys of your own!" said he. "None 
living," answered the poor woman. "I had two boys 
who were acolytes of the Holy Family Church, but 
they are dead. ' ' Father Damen told her, so it is said, 
that he believed that those two boys had come for 
him that night. The woman died before morning, 
and the two statues, the story runs, were erected 
over the entrance to the sanctuary in memory of the 
incident. 

This is one of many versions of this particular 
sick call story, and tangible evidence, in the shape 
of the two statues, may be seen by any one visiting- 
Holy Family Church. 

This popular tradition emphasizes the fact that 
Father Damen was a firm believer in the power 
of prayer. Many items of interest, chronicled in this 
volume, impress the fact that he not only thought 
prayer was beneficial as a matter of discipline and 
as evidence of good dispositions, but that it was 
effective. He believed his prayers and those of the 
faithful were answered. For evidence of this belief 
reference may be had to his prayers for means to 
meet the necessities of the church, his novena for the 
banishment of the disturbing echoes in the church, 
his earnest prayer for the deliverance of the church 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE J 37 

and the parish from the disastrous Chicago tire, and, 
too, his erection of the Statue of the Blessed Virgin 
for the protection of the east wall of the church. 

Of course, his position on prayer, from the stand- 
point of logic, is unassailable. Why pray if prayer 
be unavailing? 

Mrs. John Griffin, still living, relates the follow- 
ing occurrence : 

"My little girl had a sore on her neck. She cried continuously 
for about three days and nights. She went into spasms. I took 
her to the doctor, who said that it would take at least three 
months to cure her, and even then there would be likely some 
after effects. The little thing seemed to get no relief — crying 
almost continually. Some said, 'Why not bring the child to 
Father Damen and have him bless her?' It was no sooner said 
than done, I carried my little darling to Father Damen. He 
was saying his office in the .yard or garden, but received me with 
that patriarchal kindness which always distinguished him — 
looked at the baby and said, 'Why not take her to the doctor — 
I have no medicine?' 'Well,' said I, 'Father, bless her any- 
way.' 'Well, just a minute — I will bless her.' He put on his 
stole and prayed over her and said 'get some St. Ignatius water 
and apply it,' which I did. The affected part grew as big as a 
pear in three days, when it broke. The child stopped crying 
immediately after the blessing, the pain left her and she slept 
for about twenty-four hours, not having slept before for three 
da} T s. I took her to the same doctor who said three months' 
treatment would scarcely cure her. He was surprised at what 
he saw." 

Years after it was the happy fortune of the little 
girl who recovered after Father Damen 's prayer to 
make her profession at the close of a retreat given by 
Father Damen at the old Mother House of the Sisters 
of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary at Dubuque, 
Iowa, under the name of Sr. M. Sylvester. 

Respecting the story of the two altar boys calling 
Father Damen to a sick call, Mrs. Griffin says: "I 



138 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

heard that story some time in the seventies. I either 
heard Father Damen himself mention it, or heard 
that he mentioned it in his sermons from the pulpit." 



CHAPTER VIII 

The Parish in New Hands 

The successor of Father Damen had a large place 
to fill. The many years of Father Damen 's pastor- 
ate, and his stupendous activities, had not 

1878 only endeared him to his people, but had 

1888 demonstrated his great capacity. His suc- 
cessor, therefore, had cut out for him a 
man-sized job. 

The new pastor was Reverend Peter C. Koop- 
mans, S. J., who had come to the parish, as assistant 
to Father Damen, in 1875. 

The first extraordinary function, performed by the 
new pastor, was the laying of the corner stone of the 
Sodality Hall, in June of 1878. This ceremony was 
attended by the Right Reverend Bishop Thomas 
Foley. In the fall of the same year, St. Joseph's 
School, on Thirteenth street, near Loomis, was com- 
pleted, and classes established. 

On the 19th of February, 1879, occurred the death 
of Right Reverend Thomas Foley, Bishop of the 
diocese. He had been a great favorite, with both 
priests and people of Holy Family Parish, especially 
since his residence at St. Ignatius College after the 
fire, as noted in former chapters. 

During the month of October, 1879, a bazaar was 
held, to secure funds for the completion of Sodality 
Hall. 

139 



140 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



On December 8, 1879, the Silver Jubilee, the 
twenty-fifth anniversary of the definition of the 
Immaculate Conception was celebrated, with un- 
usual solemnity in Holy Family Church. A chorus 
of two hundred voices, together with the great 
organ, made the occasion one long to be remembered. 



is 




REV. PETER C. KOOPMANS, S.J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1872-83; 

Pastor, 1877-79 



REV. HENRY BRONSGEEST, S.J. 

Organizer and Administrator 

Pastor, 1879-84 



In the afternoon there was a procession of the ladies' 
and Girls' Sodalities, and in the evening of the 
Men's and Bo} t s' Sodalities. In this connection, it 
is appropriate to direct attention to the fact that 
many of the Jesuit Fathers were noted for their spe- 
cial devotion to the Immaculate Conception. One 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 141 

hundred and eighty years prior to the declaration of 
the doctrine as a dogma of faith, Reverend James 
Marquette, S. J., named the Mississippi river, upon 
its discovery by him, the River of the Conception, 
and, moreover, consecrated the first mission in the 
Illinois country to the Immaculate Conception. 1 

In May, 1880, Right Reverend John Hennessy, 
Bishoj) of Dubuque, confirmed a class of 1,500 in 
Holy Family Church. The number was augmented 
by reason of confirmation having been omitted in the 
year 1879, owing to Bishop Foley's death. This 
beautiful ceremony was mingled with a degree of 
terror, as the main altar caught fire during the 
Solemn High Mass. Reverend Henry Bronsgeest 
quieted the congregation by ringing the gong. The 
Bishop also helped to reassure the people. There 
was little damage done, as the firemen arrived on the 
scene in a few minutes and removed all the draperies. 
The fire was caused, it was thought, by the dropping 
of a spark from a lighted taper. 

In the fall of 1880, Right Rev. Monsignor Nugent, 
of England, made a tour of the larger cities of the 
United States, in the interest of temperance, and on 
October 1st, a notable reception was tendered him at 
Holy Family Church by all the temperance societies 
of the city. There were present, at the reception: 
Most Rev. John Ireland, D. D., Archbishop of St. 
Paul; Rt. Rev. John Lancaster Spalding, D. D., 
Bishop of Peoria, and Rt. Rev. James Ryan, D. D., 
Bishop of Alton. Father Nugent was not only inter- 
ested in the promotion of total abstinence among the 
Irish people, but also in Catholic colonization, which 

1 See letters of Father Marquette in Thwaites, Jesuit Relations, Vol. LIX. 



142 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

was then being worked out with the help of Arch- 
bishop Ireland, Bishop Spalding and Hon. William 
J. Onahan. 

On October 8th, Bishops Ireland and Spalding 
spoke in St. Ignatius College Hall, to the men of the 
parish on the subject of colonization in the United 
States. 

On October 11, 1880, another fair was held for the 
purpose of raising money to pay for the building of 
Sodality Hall. This was the first function held in 
the new Sodality building. 

During the Christmas Holidays, the altar boys 
staged a melodrama entitled, "The Dumb Orphan," 
the proceeds of which were for furnishing their 
wardrobe. The play was so successful, that it was 
repeated in the following February, for the benefit 
of the poor of the parish. 

Near the close of the year 1880, Reverend Francis 
Nussbaum, S. J., inaugurated a sodality for working 
boys, of which more will be learned. In the course 
of several years, Father Nussbaum succeeded in 
gathering together nearly five hundred working- 
boys, newsboys, etc., through his sodality. He began 
by instructing the boys for First Holy Communion 
and Confirmation. He would then have them join 
the sodality, and assisted them in various ways. 

In the year 1880, the diocese had been raised to an 
archdiocese, and Most Reverend Patrick Augustine 
Feehan, D. D., was named as the first Archbishop. 
His first visit to Holy Family Parish was for con- 
firmation, when he confirmed a class of 877. In 
honor of the archbishop's visit, the societies of the 
parish marched to the boundaries of the parish to 
receive him. They were accompanied by bands, car- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 143 

ried banners, and wore the full regalia of their 
respective societies. 

The Archbishop honored the priests and people of 
Holy Family Parish, by setting apart two solemn 
occasions during the year for visiting the church. 
These were the Feast of the Patronage of St. Joseph 
(the patronal feast of the Church prior to the ap- 
pointment of a special feast in honor of the Holy 
Family), and the Feast of St. Ignatius. On these 
occasions he frequently celebrated the Mass. His 
Grace did not confine his visits to those two occa- 
sions, however, but honored the parish on other 
occasions during his episcopate. 

We have now arrived at a point in the parish 
chronicle, where, by reason of the solicitude of the 
pastor, we can take a quite complete view of the 
parish. 

In the summer of 1881, the pastor, with two objects 
in view, took a census of the parish. The first object 
was to determine the growth of the parish, and the 
second, to collect money to defray the expenses of 
decorating the church, in anticipation of the Silver 
Jubilee, to occur in the following year — 1882. 

To systematize the work, the parish was divided 
into four districts. The northeastern portion was 
assigned to Father Maurice Oakley, S. J., the south- 
eastern portion to Father Peter Tscheider, S. J., the 
southwestern portion to Father Peter C. Koopmans, 
S. J., and the northwestern portion to Father Henry 
Bronsgeest, S. J., who performed their duties with 
great care. 

The results of this visitation are found recorded 
in a folio in an old record book, rather carelessly 
jotted down, sometimes with pen and ink and often 



144 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




MOST EEV. PATEICK AUGUSTINE FEEHAN, D. D. 
First Archbishop of Chicago 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 145 

with pencil. The record is, by no means, as carefully 
made as was the visitation, and it may not have 
occurred to the recorders that future generations 
would be much interested in what was written. It 
is, however, the only record of a parish visitation 
that has heen preserved, though it is certain that 
many such were made. 

Father Bronsgeest is given credit for being the 
driving spirit in this work, and it is said that the 
work was thorough, like everything that he under- 
took. Every street in the parish is recorded, to- 
gether with the number of families on each street, 
and the number of persons in each family, as also 
the number of school children, with a notation as to 
the number of children attending the public schools. 

The present day reader will be interested to note 
how thickly settled the eastern part of the parish 
was at that time, and how sparse the western part. 
The parish was then twenty-four years old, and this 
census gives a correct idea of its development and 
population up to that time. 

To better understand the situation, as it then ex- 
isted, it must be remembered that there was, at that 
time, no church directly west of Holy Family, so that 
to the west the parish extended indefinitely. The 
first church due west of Holy Family, St. Charles, 
was founded by Reverend P. D. Gill in 1885, and it 
was not until this parish was created that Holy 
Family Parish had a western limit. At that time 
the western limit was fixed at Ashland Boulevard, 
and that boundary has remained unchanged to the 
present. It has already been noted that the parish 
of the Sacred Heart, which was originally a part of 
Holy Family, was taken out in 1872, and that of St. 



146 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Pius, in 1873, thus reducing both the adult and school 
population by several thousand. It may be noted, 
however, that many of the children were sent from 
these parishes and from outlying districts to the 
boys' school on Morgan street, and this helps to ac- 
count for the large number of children in the school 
beyond what the census would seem to warrant. 

So interesting is this census that it is here repro- 
duced in full: 

CENSUS OF HOLY FAMILY PARISH— 1881 

Public 

Name of Number Catholic School School 

Street of Families Population Children Children 

Aberdeen St 43 227 41 4 

Ashland Ave (Not visited) 

Arthington PI 2 16 3 

Barber St 59 267 3 

Beach St 2 10 

Belknap St 4 16 5 

Better St 28 119 15 

Blue Island Ave 74 364 64 6 

Brown St 163 808 17 

Bunker St 51 237 14 

Canal St . 51 252 10 

Center Ave 120 569 83 7 

Clinton St 19 84 

Damen St 19 95 18 1 

DeKoven St 98 475 23 

Desplaines St 30 132 5 

Dussold St 14 85 1 

Eleventh St 7 35 5 1 

Ewing St 156 739 .... 46 

Forquer St 149 678 .... 20 

Frank St 20 117 22 5 

Fifteenth St 159 810 108 13 

Fourteenth St 132 734 110 38 

Gilpin PI 1 7 4 

Halsted St 64 293 7 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 147 

Public 

Name of Number Catholic School School 

Street of Families Population Children Children 

Hastings St 75 397 71 19 

Henry 80 419 96 15 

Idaho St (Not visited) 

Jefferson St 112 550 8 

Johnson St 113 584 9 

Judd St 8 38 1 

Kansas St 66 335 60 8 

Kramer St 12 74 16 6 

Laflin St 12 56 7 1 

Liberty 64 310 1 

Loomis St 20 124 29 7 

Lytle St 54 252 42 20 

Margaret St 27 133 28 4 

Marshfield Ave 5 27 2 9 

Maxwell St 112 558 37 16 

May St 78 458 57 2 

Meagher St 35 166 3 

Miller St 45 225 46 8 

Morgan St 192 933 164 4 

Nebraska St 100 525 95 7 

Newberry Ave 52 276 3 

Nixon Ave 7 31 4 2 

Norton St (Not visited) 

O'Brien St 32 166 

Paulina St (Not visited) 

Polk St 122 549 53 13 

Rebecca St 64 313 55 4 

Sholto St 72 362 64 17 

Steward Ave 42 230 11 

Thirteenth PI 179 945 182 55 

Thirteenth St 184 944 191 44 

Taylor St 288 1,422 145 59 

Throop St 32 170 38 6 

Twelfth St 187 916 168 19 

Union St 45 199 3 

Waller St 70 314 45 

Wilson St 17 91 

Wmthrop PI 10 62 10 7 



148 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Public 

Name of Number Catholic School School 

Street of Families Population Children Children 

Wood St (Not visited) 

Wright 161 775 9 

Total 4,108 19,578 2,079 577 



West of Ashland Ave. 117 

4,225 

Where there is no entry under the heading, "Number at 
Schools," the number of children at schools was not inquired 
into, but only the number at Public Schools. 

It is to be noted that 2,262 families give 2,240 school children, 
practically one to each family. 

Hence we may conclude that there were about 4,000 school 
children at that time in the parish. The totals appear as 
follows : 

Number of families visited and entered 4,267 

School children 4,000 

At Public Schools 592 

Children in Catholic parish schools and living 

in the parish 3,408 

Total population of the parish in 1881 20,320 

Total number of families 4,267 

Total number of children going to Catholic schools 3,408 

Total number of children going to public schools. . 592 

In this period it is important to take note of some 
separate church organizations and some of the par- 
ish institutions. 

The corner stone of the Church of the Sacred 
Heart was laid with impressive ceremonies on Sun- 
day, Jnne 22, 1874, and the exercises attracted a vast 
concourse of spectators. The number present, on 
this occasion, was estimated at 15,000. Some twenty 
sodalities, benevolent and temperance societies and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



14!i 



military units assembled in the neighborhood of St. 
Patrick's Church, and marched in procession to the 








SACKED HEART CHURCH 
Nineteenth and Johnson Streets 



site of the new church, at the southeast corner of 
John and Luke streets. The Rt. Rev. Thomas Foley 



150 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

was in charge of the ceremonies, and he was assisted 
by Rev. Ferdinand Coosemans, S. J., President of 
St. Ignatius College, Rev, J. McMullen, D. D., Rev. 
P. J. Conway of St. Patrick's Church, Rev. Patrick 
Murphy, D. D., Rev. Arnold Damen, S. J., Rev. 
James M. Converse, S. J., Rev. Rosenbaur, Rev. 
Molitor, Rev. Fischer, Rev. Andrew O'Neill, S. J., 
Rev. B. Masselis, Rev. Van Loco, S. J., Rev. V. Put- 
ten, S. J., and others. 

When the ceremonies were concluded Rev. J. Mc- 
Mullen, D. D. began to preach the dedication sermon. 
Others were to have preached in German, French 
and Bohemian, but scarcely had the first speaker 
entered upon his address, when a heavy thunder and 
rain storm terminated the exercises, and forced all 
speedily to seek shelter. 

St. Francis of Assisi, the oldest German parish 
on the west side, was organized in 1853. The first 
church building was a frame structure, situated on 
the corner of Mather and Clinton streets. It served 
as a place of worship for the German population of 
the west side, until the new brick church was built 
on the corner of Twelfth street and Newberry ave- 
nue. After the occupation of the new St. Francis 
Church, the old one was sold to an English-speaking- 
congregation, and renamed St. Paul's, the Right 
Reverend Bishop placing a section of the parish in 
that neighborhood under the jurisdiction of that 
church. This church was one of the first that was 
burned in the great Chicago fire of 1871. As it was 
never rebuilt, that part of Holy Family Parish as- 
signed to it, reverted back and was restored. 

St. Wenceslaus Church, the oldest Bohemian 
Church in Chicago, was organized within the north- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 151 

eastern portion of the parish, and located at Des- 
plaines and DeKoven streets. It was built in the 
early part of 1866, but no Bohemian priest could be 
secured as permanent pastor, until October of the 
same year, when Rev. Joseph Molitor took charge of 
the parish. Previous to his coming, Mass was cele- 
brated by the priests of Holy Family Church on Sun- 
days for the congregation. Father F. X. Shulak, S. 
J., who was sent to America to preach missions 
among the Poles and Bohemians, attended the church 
for some time. 

St. Joseph's Home, at 1100 S. May street, was 
founded by Rev. Arnold Damen in July, 1876. De- 
sirous of helping young working girls and those com- 
ing to the city without friends or means, Father 
Damen purchased a small portion of the present site, 
upon which was a frame cottage, and here under the 
patronage of St. Joseph, to whom Father Damen 
was especially devoted, the little home was begun, 
and given in charge of the Ladies of the Immaculate 
Heart of Mary, whom Father Damen invited here 
from New York. Gradually the little cottage was 
replaced by a substantial brick building, and when 
that was outgrown, ground was bought and other 
buildings erected, so that at the present day it is 
quite commodious for the accommodation of hun- 
dreds of working girls and women. 

The Little Sisters of the Poor, under the direction 
of Rt. Reverend Thomas Foley, D. D., with the as- 
sistance of members of the St. Vincent DePaul So- 
ciety, founded their institution in 1876. Six sisters 
of this Order arrived in Chicago on the 15th of July, 
1876, with Sister Marie de St. Helene as their 
superior. On February 2, 1880, Mass was celebrated 



152 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

for the last time at the old house on Polk and Halsted 
streets, and on February 3rd, the following day, 
Mass was celebrated for the first time in the new 
house on West Harrison and Throop streets. The 
Little Sisters were housed, for the first two }^ears, in 
what is now Hull House, the Sisters paying $75.00 
a month to Mr. Hull for rent. 2 

The big event of the year 1882, was the celebration 
of the Silver Jubilee of the parish. The exercises 
consisted of a Solemn High Mass in Holy Family 
Church with an appropriate discourse. Also a ba- 
zaar was held in the Holy Family school, for the 
purpose of raising funds to pay the cost of an ad- 
dition to St. Aloysius School on Maxwell street. 

On Thanksgiving evening, an entertainment was 
given by the pupils of the Sacred Heart Convent, in 
Holy Family school hall, for the purpose of securing 
funds to pay for the reflooring of the school rooms. 
The records disclose that the pastor, when announc- 
ing the entertainment, remarked that the fact of the 
floors being worn out shows that they have been well 
used. 

An event closely connected with the parish, in its 
initial stages, was the organization of the Catholic 
Order of Foresters in the year 1883. Particulars of 
this event will be found in a later chapter.' 5 

Another important organization had its inception 
in this year, when Reverend James M. Hayes, S. J., 
organized the American League of the Cross which, 
in the first year, grew to a membership of 2,200. The 
society did not impose total abstinence absolutely, 
but adopted certain rules by which temperance and 

^ Very few now are aware that "Hull House" began its public career 
as a Catholic Orphanage. 

3 See full account of Catholic Order of Foresters in Chapter XXII. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



15;) 



sobriety could be attained and maintained, such as 
approaching the sacraments, no treating, no visiting 
of saloons, etc. Father Hayes achieved excellent 




^% 






■;. -..: 



■ II 





SACEED HEART PARISH RESIDENCE 
Nineteenth Street near Halsted 

results with this simple society, and maintained it 
successfully for about twenty-five years. 4 



4 Father Hayes was also the guiding spirit of the Catholic Order of 
Foresters. 



154 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

A sad event occurred in this year, in the death of 
Father John de Blieck. 5 

The month of October, at the behest of the Holy 
Father, Pope Leo XIII, was observed with special 
devotions, and the Litany of the Blessed Virgin was 
recited daily, after the eight o'clock Mass, and 
rosary, litany and benediction in the evening. 

During the month of October, a bazaar was held 
in the hall of Holy Family school, for the benefit of 
the parish schools. 

We are again able to refer to the spiritual fruits 
of the ministry, which for the year 1883, were as 
follows: Baptisms 883; Marriages 201; Commun- 
ions 159,316. 

The most interesting item recorded for the year 
1884, relates to the number of Masses for the de- 
ceased, offered up at the instance of the Purgatorial 
Society. From November, 1884, to November, 1885, 
there were 713 such Masses. In some weeks there 
were as many as seventeen High Masses. 

In October, 1885, a bazaar was held, the proceeds 
of which were used to enlarge the Sacred Heart Con- 
vent Girls' School. It is noted that, while the pastor 
was speaking of the bazaar to the congregation, 
Father William Ronan, S. J., founder of Mungret 
Apostolic College, was permitted to plead the cause 
of the Apostolate of the parish priesthood for the 
Foreign Missions. This college, to which Holy 
Family Church contributed its share, has sent many 
excellent priests to the various countries of the 
world, including the United States. 

The Golden Jubilee of Father Maurice Oakley, S. 
J., was celebrated, with great pomp and splendor on 

s See full account of Father De Blieck in succeeding chapters. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 155 

February 2, 1885, in the presence of the Most Rev- 
erend Archbishop. Rev. Isidore Boudreaux, S. J., 
who was one of the deacons of the Golden Jubilee 
Mass, contracted a cold during the day, from which 
pneumonia developed, and he died six days later — 
February 8th. His remains were taken to Florissant 
for burial, as a token of respect for a former Master 
of Novices. 

During the year 1886, an addition was built to the 
Sacred Heart Convent School, which included a 
chapel on the upper floor of the building. The cost 
aggregated $16,000, of which Holy Family Parish 
contributed $4,000. 

The members and residents of Holy Family Parish 
had a terrifying experience on August 29, 1886, 
which was described in the Chicago Tribune as fol- 
lows: 

' ' A wild flash of lightning, followed by what seemed to people 
in the city very like the crack of heavy artillery, at 9 :20 
yesterday morning, was succeeded by a trembling of the earth, 
that shook buildings all over town, smashed plate glass windows 
to smithereens, threw dishes from their shelves to the floor, and 
created such widespread havoc that it was generally attributed 
to an earthquake shock. Before long, however, it was learned 
that an electric bolt had exploded the dynamite and powder 
magazine of the Laflin and Rand Powder Company at the inter- 
section of Archer avenue and Forty-seventh street. 

The explosion at Brighton came near causing fatal results in 
this city. While Mass was being said, in the basement of the 
Holy Family Church, at Twelfth and May streets, the building 
was suddenly rocked, the windows rattled, and some of the con- 
gregation were almost thrown from their seats. At the same 
time a vivid flash of lightning and a loud rolling clap of thun- 
der occurred, all combining to startle and terrify the large and 
closely packed congregation. And to intensify the situation, a 
man rushed up the stairway, leading from the basement, and 



156 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



yelled, 'Fire, Fire.' The firemen across the wa} 7 , at 18 's house, 
whose building was also shaken, supposing that lightning had 
struck the church and set it on fire, rushed with a hose to the 
chapel. 







SISTERS' RESIDENCE, SACRED HEAET PARISH 
Eighteenth Street near Halsted 



Mass was being celebrated. For a moment their entrance 
added to the terror, but, seeing there was no fire, the firemen at 
once commenced efforts to calm and quiet the panic-stricken 
worshipers, For two or three minutes, the scene in the church 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 157 

was indescribably wild and alarming', and it is alike wonderful 
and providential that no one was killed or seriously injured. 
When the first sensation of fright and horror was over, 'save 
himself who can' became the impulse and cry of every human 
heart, and men and boys, and even women, mounted the seats 
to reach and climb to windows. Many made their escape that 
way, from what they believed impending death. Not a whole 
window was left in the basement, and they leaped and pushed 
their way through not only glass, but crashed through the 
frames and even tore away, in their mad efforts to escape, the 
strong wire screens outside several of the windows. 

Through the efforts of the priests and a few 7 cool heads in 
the congregation, quiet was at length restored, to those who had 
been unable to get out, in a fainting condition. No fatal injury, 
as far as could be learned, was sustained by any one, but many 
were seriously crushed and nerves unstrung and the paleness 
of death was in many a face for hours afterwards. 

The church was strewn with the shawls and bonnets and 
pieces of finery of the escaping crowd. The shock was so severe 
that most persons, at the time, thought it was an earthquake. 
It threw the night watchman of the church, in an adjoining 
building, out of the bed. The church had a very narrow- escape 
from the lightning bolt, as it struck a small tower on Sodality 
Hall at the rear of the church. 

Rev. Constantine Lagae, S. J., was celebrating the Mass in 
the Basement Chapel at the time. He said that Father Coghlan, 
the pastor, arrived on the scene and helped to calm the people. 
Gradually the empty church filled up again, and all had a 
good laugh at their own expense, seeing that the excitement was 
all for nothing. 

FATHER TIERXEY'S STORY OF THE EXPLOSION 

The parish was so large, that the Sunday Masses for the chil- 
dren were celebrated at the Sacred Heart Convent on Lytle 
street, and the Holy Family School Hall on Morgan street, and 
St. Aloysius School on Maxwell street. At the Holy Family 
School, Mass began at nine o'clock. The hall was literally packed 
with children — bovs and girls. The electric storm burst forth 



158 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



shortly after Father Andrew O'Neill began the celebration of 
Mass. He was just giving the instruction to the children, when 
there was a blinding flash, a deafening 'boom' of thunder, then a 
terrific report shook the entire building, even the pictures on 
the walls, bobbed up and down and turned nervously about. 
A panic seemed imminent. Father O'Neill, calm and self- 
possessed, stood for an instant without speaking. Then with his 




REV. JAMES R. O'NEILL, S. J. 
Pastor Sacred Heart Church, 1921 



hands and eyes raised heavenwards said, most reverently, ' Praise 
be to God!' After another slight pause, he proceeded with his 
sermon as if nothing had happened. The effect on the children 
was marvelous, and they remained quiet and peaceful to the 
end of the services. Father Tierney, S. J., was present at the 
time, and, although a very young child, he and many others 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 159 

were more deeply impressed by Father O'Neill's calmness and 
reverence, than they were by the horror of the explosion. ' ' 6 

An item, respecting instruction for First Holy 
Communion, takes a prominent place in the record 
of 1887. Beginning the first Monday in Lent, in the 
parish schools, children over twelye years of age, not 
attending the parish schools, were required to appear 
for instruction, the girls in the basement of the 
church, at eleven a. m., and the boys in the Sodality 
Hall, at the same hour ; for working boys, 7 :30 p. m., 
in the basement; and for working girls, at St. 
Joseph's Home, on May street, in the evening. 

Rev. Maurice Oakley was buried from the church 
on August 11, 1887. 

In this year, an arrangement was made, by which 
the small boys who lived in the neighborhood of St. 
Aloysius School, on Maxwell street, were to attend 
that school, while the small girls, living near the 
Holy Family school, were to go to St. Agnes' school, 
a temporary school opened on Waller and Fourteenth 
streets. Later a brick building was erected on Mor- 
gan and Fourteenth streets. 

It was in this year, 1887, that Father Damen 
celebrated his Golden Jubilee, referred to at length 
in other chapters. 

On Wednesday, August 7th, a new regulation went 
into effect, by order of Rev. Edw. A. Higgins, S. J., 
the rector of St. Ignatius College, providing that in 
the future, the church should remain open until nine 
p. m., for the accommodation of the Faithful, who de- 
sired either to pray or to go to Confession. Up to 
that time the custom had been to lock up the church 

6 Church Calendar. 



160 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



at six or 6 :30 p. m., except on Sundays, Holy Days, 
confession nights, and other days, on which there 
were night services. 

The spiritual fruits of the sacred ministry for 1887 
were as follows: Baptisms 1,205; Marriages, 286; 
Confessions, 210,000; First Communions, 859; Com- 
munions, 176,585; Confirmations, 828. 




■:y-f:-M 






EEV. FRANCIS RYAN, S. J. 

Very Brief Administration 

Pastor, 1884-85 



*4g| 



EEV. JOHN I. COGHLAN, S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1867-69, 1873-75, 

Pastor, 1885-87 



There were nine sodalities in the parish, and the 
total membership numbered four thousand seven 
hundred and one. The total number of boys in the 
parish school was one thousand nine hundred and 
eighteen and the girls numbered two thousand five 
hundred and twenty-three, making a grand total of 
4,441 children. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 161 

During the past ten years, while there was not 
much of construction work compared with the earlier 
years of the parish, there were nevertheless, some 
buildings put up such as the Sodality Hall, St. 
Joseph's School, an addition to St. Aloysius School, 
and a Chapel, and several class-rooms added to the 
Sacred Heart Convent School on Taylor and Lytic 
streets. There was, what might be called, a solidifi- 
cation of the various works of Father Dainen, thus 
bringing the whole parish and its activities into a 
more comprehensive and concrete form. During this 
period the church was frescoed, and several local im- 
provements wer.fi made. The Sodalities were im- 
proved; new societies were inaugurated, to take the 
place of the older ones, which were gradually disin- 
tegrating. The new societies were the Catholic 
Order of Foresters, the League of the Cross, the 
Benevolent Association of the Married Men's Sodal- 
ity. The Libraries, both the Married and the Young 
Men's, were unified and enlarged, and a room fitted 
up with all modern improvements for the reception 
of books. Another library was fitted up for the 
Young Ladies' Sodality, and its cases filled with the 
very finest class of books. 

Reading and smoking rooms were established for 
the Sodalities of Men, and a gymnasium fitted up for 
the Young Men's Sodality. 

In a word, the Sodality Hall was now, in reality 
the heart or center of social activities of the parish, 
with its chapels, its libraries, its recreation and as- 
sembly rooms. It was the rounding out of another 
part of the great work inaugurated by Father 
Damen. 



CHAPTER IX 

The World's Faie and Other Interesting Events 

An event of interest to Holy Family Parish, was 

the establishment, in 1888, of the Church Calendar. 

The first edition of this valuable medium of 

1888 publicity, and connecting link between 

1895 pastors and people, that has been welcomed 

by attendants at Holy Family Church for 

more than thirty years, was issued in May. It was a 

four-page folder and contained, amongst other 

things, the following: 

NINE O'CLOCK MASS IN THE BASEMENT 

There are too many who try to hear the Mass at nine o'clock 
in the basement. The place to hear Mass is in the place where 
the Mass is said — not on the street, or on the steps, or in the 
yard. There is plenty of room at half past eight o'clock Mass 
upstairs. A great many persons might get up a half hour 
earlier and go to Mass at half past eight o'clock in the church 
where they would hear Mass. 

As indicating the success of the new publication, 
it appears that the calendar was enlarged to eight 
pages in October, 1888, and continued to be published 
in that form. Gradually it was enlarged to its 
present size. 

The Holy Family Church calendar has been con- 
sidered one of the best publications of its kind in 
America. It has now passed its thirty-second year, 

162 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 163 

and has always been, and still remains, a medium for 
the dissemination of excellent matter. It has now 
grown to a periodical of 32 pages. It cannot now be 
stated with certainty who devised the calendar, but it 
is thought that the late Rev. William F. Poland, 
S. J., was the originator. It is certain however, that 
the originator, and all those who have participated 




REV. EDWIN D. KELLY, S. J. REV. MICHAEL P. DOWLING, S. J. 
Pastor, 1887-93 Pastor, 1894-97 

in the maintenance of the publication, deserve a full 
measure of credit and appreciation. 

From the calendar, which, from this time forward, 
furnishes a bountiful source of information, we learn 
that the new library room of the Married Ladies' 
Sodality in the Sodality Building was a place 



164 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

"worth seeing. The fresco work, both for taste in design and 
skill in execution, reflect honor on the talented artists, Messrs. 
Buscher & Kraeger. The room is admirably lighted, having 
four windows fronting on May and two on Eleventh street. 
The Sodality and the Reverend Director, Father Lagae, de- 
serve commendation for the progressive spirit they have mani- 
fested in their new enterprise." 

From the same source we learn that 

"the altar boys, under Father Van Agt's guidance, are still 
advancing. It is not everywhere that altar boys have two fine 
halls all to themselves — one adjoining the church, and another 
in the Sodality Hall." 

These notes from the calendar also are of interest : 

"The Sodality libraries contain about 7000 volumes." 
' ' The Young Men 's Literary Society at the last election shows 
Mr. E. J. Downing as President, and Mr. J. E. Ogden as Vice- 
president." 

"The boys' choir sang vespers on Sundays and Holy Days, 
under the direction of Prof. DiCampi, the church organist." 

An almost forgotten event is chronicled as happen- 
ing in the year 1888 : 

"This year, St. Ignatius College opened up an academy on 
the north side near Lincoln Park on Grant Place. ' ' 1 

We are able to reproduce some very interesting- 
statistics relative to the parish for the year 1888 : 

SPIRITUAL FRUIT OF THE SACRED MINISTRY 

Baptisms — Infants 1,256 

Adults 87 

Confessions . 286,837 

Communions 182,917 

Marriages 217 

1 No information available. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 165 

Last Sacraments 703 

Prepared for First Communion 901 

Confirmations 912 

Visits to the Sick 6/248 

Sodalities 9 

Children in School 4,273 

An early number of the church calendar, for 1889, 
contained the following: 

"To have a clear idea of the extent of the repairs necessary 
to be made in the church, it would be well to enter into detail. 
The space between the ceiling' of the church and the roof has 
been thoroughly overhauled, and the roof braced and strength- 
ened, the defective timbers replaced. 

The basement has been drained and floored; a new floor of 
hardwood has been put in the upper church ; the tower and 
front of the church has been repainted; the entire roof must 
be reslated, the old slates are worn out or broken ; the interior 
of the church is to be frescoed, and all the altars, statues and 
pictures to be repainted and decorated — in a word, it will be 
a new church. 

The contract for frescoing and decorating the church was 
awarded to the firm of J. B. Sullivan & Bro., of this city. 

The. expenses attending such extensive repairs must, neces- 
sarily, be very great. They cannot fall far short of $15,000. 
We urge upon all, who have not yet responded to the calls that 
have been so frequently made upon them to contribute promptly 
and generously to renew that grand old church, which, in the 
days of poverty, was so readily raised from the ground in the 
midst of the shanties on the prairies. Not a soul in the parish 
but should take a pride in helping to repair and beautify the 
House of God.' 1 

Needless to say, the year 1889 was a busy one in 
the accomplishment of these extensive repairs. 

In the year 1890. occurred the saddest event in the 
history of Holy Family Parish, namely, the death 
of the beloved founder, Father Damen. Anticipat- 



166 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

ing the chronology somewhat, that event has already 
been described. 2 

In the same year, there were some jubilant events, 
in which the parish was interested. The Silver Jubi- 
lee of the Most Reverend Archbishop Patrick A. 
Feehan, D. D., was celebrated with great pomp and 
ceremony at the Cathedral. Holy Family Parish, 
as well as all the parishes in the archdiocese, took 
a deep interest in the event, and the church services 
and civic exercises, together, constituted perhaps the 
most notable demonstration ever witnessed in Chi- 
cago up to that time. Besides the solemn church 
services and the meeting of the laity at the Audito- 
rium, there was a stupendous street parade through 
the downtown thoroughfares, participated in by 
thousands of torch bearers. 3 

In the same year Father Andrew O'Neill, the 
apostle of the schools, celebrated his Golden Jubilee 
in Holy Family school. 4 

In the year 1890, was organized the Patriotic 
Sons of Father Matthew. This was a temperance 
society, and its members were equipped with uni- 
forms and maintained a brass band. The society be- 
came prominent in all public demonstrations of the 
parish during a period of twenty years. More will 
be said of the Patriotic Sons of Father Matthew in a 
subsequent chapter. 5 

The good pastors, and indeed the parishioners, had 

2 See Chapter VII. 

3 The account of this jubilee celebration drawn up by the late Rev. James 
J. McGovern, D.D., under the direction of a committee of the archdiocesan 
clergy numbering fourteen members, and published under the title of The 
Catholic Church in Chicago, is one of the most valuable historical works 
relating to the Church in this vicinity that has been produced. 

4 See full account of Father O 'Neill in Chapter XVI. 
3 See Chapter XXII. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 1G7 

long ago learned that in parish affairs, as well as in 
all other life concerns, there is just one thing after 
another. The church had just been overhauled, as 
we have seen, and perhaps in a similar sense to the 
colored man's idea who, after having been presented 
with a suit of clothing, remarked to the donor, that 
his clothes were laughing at his shoes, the time-worn 
organ was out of harmony with the newly decorated 
church. At any rate, the calendar for May contained 
the following: 

"Our people will be pleased to learn that the contract for 
the rebuilding of our organ has been given to the firm of F. J. 
Roosevelt of New York, the same that lately built the organ in 
the Auditorium in this city. The work will be so extensive 
and thorough as to make our organ practically a new instru- 
ment. The entire action will be new, with the latest and best 
improvements. The wind chest will be reconstructed, and the 
bellows will be operated by an hydraulic motor. The playing 
table, with keyboards and stops, will be built out at the edge 
of the organ gallery, thus giving room for the singers between 
the organist and the organ. All these improvements will cost 
a great deal of money. Seven thousand dollars is a large sum, 
but it is not too much for our congregation, and it will give 
us an organ as good as new, one which, if purchased, would 
cost $25,000. Thanks to the ladies of the choir, an organ fund 
has been started, to which they hope to make a substantial 
addition by means of another musical and literary entertain- 
ment. In the course of a few months, when the work of recon- 
struction is well under way, we shall ask our people, all of 
them, for a contribution to defray these necessary expenses." 

But the end is not yet. The October calendar ad- 
vises of other improvements : 

"It is believed that the people of Holy Family Parish, one 
and all, are in full sympathy with the new improvements of 
their splendid church property. 

The two parlors, attached to the pastor's residence, were a 



168 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

long-felt want ; indeed, as so many remark, the wonder is now 
how we got along without them. Their want occasioned much 
inconvenience to the pastors and people alike. 

A year ago the vestry, which was in a wretched condition, 
was fitted up anew at a cost of $1,000, and later still the base- 
ment was further improved and beautified by the addition of 
a handsome ceiling of corrugated iron. ' ' 

An important event, in the year 1891, is chronicled 
in the calendar. This year saw the foundation of the 
Women's Catholic Order of Foresters. Soon after 
its institution, a second court was established in the 
parish, as the applicants for admission were so nu- 
merous as to require such action. The calendar con- 
tained this appeal : 

"Ladies who desire to enjoy the privileges of charter mem- 
bership should not be slow to make application for admission, 
and in doing so they should consult only their ability to meet 
the expense and the benefits that will accrue to those who de- 
pend on them. What a comfort it is to the wife or mother 
to know that when she is called out of this world, by Divine 
Providence, those whom she loves are placed beyond the reach 
of want or poverty.' 1 

The restoration of the great organ, outlined in the 
calendar as above, took place this year. A compre- 
'hensive history and description of this unusual in- 
strument is given in a subsequent chapter. 

An item of interest for the year 1892, chronicles 
the fact that Reverend Henry Baselmans, S. J., was 
appointed to attend to the spiritual wants of Dun- 
ning Asylum, and Reverend Paul M. Ponziglione was 
appointed for the same purpose for the Bridewell. 7 

The organ being restored, its opening furnished 
an opportunity for a splendid gathering in the 

e See Chapter XV. 

7 See full account of chaplaincy beginning page 177. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



169 




EEV. ANDEEW COOK, S. J. KEY. JOSEPH EEICHEL, S. J. 




KEV. FRANCIS BIMANSKI, S. J. EEV. MICHAEL F. McNULTY, S. J. 
CHAPLAINS AT COOK COUNTY HOSPITAL 



170 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

church, which occurred on October 9th, 1892, at eight 
o'clock p. m. The meeting was a grand musical festi- 
val. Mr. H. Clarence Eddy was the organist, and 
was assisted by Mr. Leo Mutter, Musical Director, 
and a chorus of 150 voices. All in attendance, in- 
cluding the critics, were loud in their praise of the 
restored organ and the brilliant program. 

Perhaps the most interesting event of the year 
1892, for Holy Family Parish, was the Columbian 
celebration, held on October 19th. The exercises, at 
St. Ignatius College, and the public and other demon- 
strations, were described by the newspapers. Items 
from the Chicago Daily News are here reproduced : 

THE COLUMBIAN EXPOSITION 

Before going to the reception at the Auditorium, Cardinal 
Gibbons, the papal envoy, Archbishop Satolli, Archbishop 
Feehan, and other dignitaries of the church, attended the first 
part of the Columbus exercises given last night by the students 
of St. Ignatius College. The visitors were welcomed by the 
seniors, with short addresses in Latin and English. The regu- 
lar program consisted of patriotic songs and declamations and 
of a lecture, given in two parts, by Vincent Walsh and James 
Shortall. The lecture was illustrated with about 70 large 
stereopticon projections. Before leaving the hall, the Car- 
dinal made an eloquent address to the pupils, complimenting 
them on the exercises of the evening. Besides the lecture on 
Columbus, the program included music, a recitation * Colum- 
bus ' by W. J. Donoghue and recitation 'Star Spangled Banner' 
by G. B. Kinsella. A large audience was present." 8 

THE COLUMBIAN EXPOSITION, 1892-1893 

Chicago's cosmopolitan character was everywhere evident on 
the Lake front. People came together under peace and amity, 
who, under no other circumstances, would have done so. The 
Irish orangeman and the Irish nationalists, the one in orange, 

s This was perhaps the most notable of the Columbian observances 
amongst Catholics in Chicago. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 171 

the other in green, rubbed shoulders and nothing was thought 
of it. Aid. Jno. Powers looked with serene face and set expres- 
sion on the yellow scarfs of the orangemen. One old Irishman, 
contemplating the scene, remarked, 'America's a great place 
entirely. Beyant the water it 'ud be an army of police they'd 
want if them fellows caught sight of aich other. ' 9 

These were but the preliminaries to the exercises 
and demonstrations relating to, or connected with, 
the great Columbian Exposition, which took place 
in the succeeding year, and in which, as will be seen, 
Holy Family Parish took a deep interest. 

From the Sunday announcement, book and church 
calendar, we learn of one of the greatest bazaars in 
the history of Holy Family Parish. These items 
read as follows : 

RESULTS OP THE BAZAAR 

The Bazaar is over, the labor is past; and now both pastors 
and people view, with supreme satisfaction, the splendid results 
that remain, as a monument to their untiring energy, unselfish 
devotedness and unstinted generosity. The hall presented a 
vision of beauty like some enchanted castle in fairy land. The 
stage was loaded with handsome pieces of furniture of every 
description. Along the walls ran eight tables, most gracefully 
draped in every shade of color; on each, every available spot 
was utilized to exhibit articles, handsome, rare and costly, so 
artistically arranged as to gratify the most fastidious taste. 
The hall was crowded every night, with friendly and gentle 
visitors; good humor, peace and harmony reigned throughout, 
which left a happy feeling, tinged with regret, that all was 
over, and closed a scene long to be remembered in Holy Family 
Parish. 

May God 's blessing attend all those willing laborers, and gen- 
erous contributors. Their efforts were crowned with a success 
that surpassed all expectations. 

9 These light remarks serve to indicate in a measure the universal accord 
prevailing for the proper observance of the Columbian anniversary. 



172 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Below is the official account by tables, which would be un- 
necessary, were it not that unauthorized accounts crept into 
public print : 

Tickets at the door $ 355.50 

Refreshment table 524.92 

Convent School table 1,002.60 

Teachers' table 1,100.97 

St. Aloysius School table 1,245.35 

Parish table 1,461.15 

Young Men's table 1,770.65 

Young Ladies' table 1,813.90 

Married Men 's table 3,768.90 

Married Ladies' table 4,700.00 

Total cash receipts $17,743.24 

General expenses 534.21 

Net proceeds $17,209.03 

In the Christmas season of 1892 was introduced, 
and inaugurated the extensive decoration of the 
church, with holly and evergreens, that has since been 
followed and has gained so much favorable comment. 
The decorations were placed at the suggestion and 
through the encouragement, both moral and finan- 
cial, of the rector, Eeverend T. S. Fitzgerald, S. J. 
A similar plan of decoration on an extensive scale 
was applied to the Repository, and was also followed 
for the altars in May and June. Father Fitzgerald 
held that nothing was too good for our Lord and His 
Blessed Mother; and, accordingly, encouraged elab- 
orate but artistic decorations on festive occasions. 

The year 1893, brought the great Columbian Ex- 
position or World's Fair to Chicago, and Holy Fam- 
ily Church had numerous visitors at the various 
Masses on Sundays, — sometimes an entire delegation 
would come to the last Mass. The most notable of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 173 

these visitors were the Duke of Veragua and suite, 
whose coming and stay in Chicago were chronicled 
by the press, from which we select the following quo- 
tations : 

"On the day after his arrival, the guest of this Nation dur- 
ing the World's Fair, with his relatives, attended Solemn High 
Mass, Sunday, April 30, in Holy Family Church. They were 
Don Christobal Colon de Toledo de la Cerda y Gante, Duke of 
Veragua, Marquis of Jamaica, and Admiral of the Indies; his 
wife, the Duchess of Veragua; his son, the Hon. Christobal 
Colon y Aguilera ; his daughter, the Hon. Marie del Pilar Colon 
y Aguilera ; his brother, Don Carlos Aguilera, Marquis de 
Barboles ; his nephew, the Hon. Pedro Colon y Bertodano ; the 
Marquis of Villalobar, of the Spanish Legation at Washington ; 
Mrs. Curtis, Mrs. Dickins, and Commander F. W. Dickens, U. 
S. N., who has been deputed by the government to take charge 
of the lineal descendants of the discoverer of America during 
their stay in this country. They were as devout as they were 
distinguished, and edified all by their unfeigned piety and 
severe simplicity. They did not consider themselves free from 
the obligation of hearing Mass on account of the severe rain 
storm; indeed, the Duke often goes to church on week days." 10 

THE DUKE OF VERAGUA AT MASS 

Guest of the Nation Attends the Jesuit Church. His 
Family with Him 

"The Duke of Veragua and his family attended Solemn High 
Mass at the church of the Holy Family, on West Twelfth street, 
yesterday morning and passed two hours at worship, according 
to the forms of the faith his forefathers practiced. The priests 
of the Order of the Society of Jesus thought to have a pontifical 
service, and had hopes, until Saturday night, that Papal Dele- 
gate Satolli might be in Chicago to officiate as celebrant. Though 
disappointed in this the ceremonies were full of interest. 

The great main altar was ablaze with a thousand lights. At 
its pinnacle were wrought, in many brilliant lights, the names 

10 Daily Neivs, May 1, 1893. 



174 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of Jesus, Mary and Joseph, above which blazed a bright crown. 
The altar of the Virgin to the left and that of St. Joseph to 
the right of the altar were laden with flowers and made bright 
with many lights. 

Ferns were placed about the spacious sanctuary and potted 
plants lined the broad communion railing, between which, and 
the foremost of the pews, was placed a line of oratory desks 
for the ducal party. In front of the center oratories were 
stands, heavy with great bouquets. 

Crowded with Worshippers 

The body of the church and the transepts and galleries were 
crowded with the regular worshippers of the Holy Family 
parish and visitors from other Catholic parishes, as well as 
members of other churches, long before 10 :30 o 'clock, the time 
announced for the services. The raw wind and the cold rain 
drove those who were waiting in the vicinity of the church, by 
mere curiosity, to shelter, and when the carriages, bringing the 
distinguished worshippers, arrived at the Twelfth street door 
of the church, there was no demonstration. Ushers, with white 
gloves and badges, received the party and led the way to the 
seats reserved. In the party were the Duke and Duchess of 
Veragua (his children and relatives), Mrs. W. E. Curtis, the 
Marquis of Villabar in charge of the Spanish Legation at Wash- 
ington, and Mrs. and Commander F. W. Dickens, U. S. N., in 
charge of the party. He wore the uniform of the service. 
Prof. Moore at the organ, reinforced by a score of musicians 
from the Thomas Orchestra, greeted the party. The sacristy 
doors on either side of the altar were thrown open for the 
advance of the acolytes and the participants in the celebration 
of the Mass. 

The Duchess and a lady of the party sat to the left of the 
main aisle, the duke and the gentlemen of his party occupying 
seats on the right side. 

The Service 

The march of the 100 youthful acolytes, in cassocks of red 
and surplices of lace, with leaders in purple and light blue, 
thurifer bearers and servers in rich white cassocks, preceded 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 175 

the entrance of the celebrant, the Rev. E. D. Kelly, S. J., 
accompanied by the deacon, the Rev. M. Comely, S. J., and 
sub-deacon Mr. L. Kenny, S. J. The Rev. George Hoeffer, S. J., 
was Master of Ceremonies. During the approach to the altar, 
the organ and orchestra played the prelude to Haydn's Six- 
teenth Mass. The commingled fragrance of flowers and burning 
incense, the movements of the acolytes, and the priests in golden 
vestments and the grand notes of Haydn's music, combined to 
render the scene gorgeous and impressive. At the 'Introibo,' 
the members of the ducal party bowed in devotion, as did the 
greater number of the congregation. 

Haydn's Sixteenth Mass was artistically rendered by a full 
chorus, and the following soloists, under the direction of Prof. 
Thos. Moore: Soprano, Miss Mary Braddock; Alto, Mrs. C. 
O'Leary; Tenor, T. Hefferman; Basso, J. J. Phelan. At the 
offertory Gounod's 'Ave Maria' was rendered, the solo by Miss 
Mary Braddock. J. J. Phelan led in Hummel's 'Veni Creator/ 

Fr. T. S. Fitzgerald read the gospel in English. It was the 
gospel of the day, the fourth Sunday after Easter, from St. 
John, in which Christ promises to send the Holy Spirit to the 
Apostles. 

Fr. Fitzgerald spoke of the inspiration for good that had 
come from the Divine Spirit, and in concluding spoke as follows : 

'No good thing can come except through the Divine Spirit. 
We are reminded today of one good thing that has come through 
it, for we are indebted to the Holy Spirit for the discovery of 
the grand continent on which Ave dwell in such splendid pros- 
perity and peace. For it was that three times Blessed Holy 
Spirit that sustained the illustrious and sainted Christopher 
Columbus in his matchless work and peerless enterprise of dis- 
covery. I think he was prompted to venture on unknown seas 
in search of unknown lands, by religion. He was fired by an 
intrepid zeal that only the Holy Spirit could give and which 
was exhibited by none exclusive of the apostles. Besides the 
flag of grand old Castile, he sailed under the humblest and the 
noblest standard of them all, the cross of Christ bringing hope 
and civilization and beautiful gospel tidings to souls that were 
dark in ignorance and demonized by paganism. We are hon- 
ored today by the worthy lineal descendant of that illustrious 



176 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

discoverer, his grace the Duke of Veragua, with his consort 
and his illustrious family. It is needless to assure them, in the 
name of Holy Family Parish, that they are offered a most cor- 
dial and affectionate welcome, and I voice the sentiment of the 
members of the Holy Family Parish and the Christian people 
of the fair Columbian city, when I offer a prayerful wish that 
the same wisdom and beneficence that guided his great ancestor 
may abide with our guest, his consort and their family.' 

At the conclusion of the Mass four acolytes in robes of purple 
and lace, came from behind the Sanctuary rail, lifted the great 
bouquets from the stands, presented one each to the Duke and 
Duchess, the son and the daughter, who received them with 
gracious evidence of delight. The congregation did not attempt 
to leave until the Duke and his train passed down the aisle, as 
the organ and orchestra joined in a Mendelssohn march. 

The angelus bells were chiming as they made reverent genu- 
flexion before the altar. The weather had cleared before the 
end of the Mass, which was at 10 o'clock, and a crowd had 
gathered in front of the church. The persons comprising it, 
cheered the duke, and made passage to the waiting carriage a 
difficult task. It is not often that a duke visits the Blue Island 
avenue vicinity and the people were out to make the most of 
the opportunity. It was as enthusiastic a greeting as the duke 
and his friends had received since they became the Nation's 
guests, and they were pleased, even if they had to undergo a 
bit of jostling and the variety of uproar that can be sent up 
only in that most thickly populated portion of this noisy 
town." 11 

"Another party connected with the World's Fair, distin- 
guished more for their proverbial fidelity to faith and country 
than for titles of nobility, attended Solemn High Mass here, 
Sunday, May 21. 

The whole Irish village from Blarney Castle on Midway 
Plaisance, headed by a real jaunting car, came to hear Mass 
as they were accustomed to do in the sainted isle, whose very 
atmosphere is laden with the profound piety that St. Patrick 
inculcated upon the children of that faithful island. They, too, 

ii Chicago Tribune, May 1, 1893. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 177 

claim to be descendants of the first discoverer of America, for 
St. Brendan's discoveries are well authenticated." 12 

Chaplains at Cook County Hospital 

Iu 1903, Rev. Michael F. McNulty, S. J., was ap- 
pointed chaplain by his superiors at the request of 
Archbishop Quigley. From that date to the present 
the Jesuit Fathers have attended the Hospital. A 
small allowance is given by the diocese to the pastor 
of the neighboring church where the night chaplain 
says Mass and takes his breakfast. Otherwise the 
services of the three chaplains is gratis. 

The other Jesuits who have worked at the Hospital 
are Fathers John Lyons, Eugene Kiefer, John Ko- 
kenge, Theodore Hegeman, John Grollig and Joseph 
G. Kennedy. At present Fathers Francis X. Biman- 
ski, Andrew Cook, and Joseph Reichel are the chap- 
lains. 

On Sunday four Masses are said : one in the Tuber- 
cular Hospital and three in the main building. One 
Mass is said at six o 'clock for the nurses and officials, 
and at 7 :30 and 8 o 'clock Masses are said for the pa- 
tients. The Chapel is supported by the Polish Lud- 
mila Society and other pious persons. 

Many and varied are the social activities in the 
Hospital. The Public Library has a branch which 
distributes books to the patients. A " Cheer Shop" 
offers various kinds of recreational work for the con- 
valescent. A school teacher makes the rounds every 
day and instructs the children. Another lady is ap- 
pointed to keep the children busy with toys, games, 
pictures and story books. 

There is also a special Social Service Office with 

12 Church Calendar, June, 1893. 



178 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

fif teen workers, where the patients may find help in 
their needs. Three Catholic ladies are employed in 
this Bureau. 

Every Monday evening an entertainment is fur- 
nished for the convalescent. The chaplain arranges 
these by inviting the various parishes to contribute 
their share in the good work. Holy Family parish 
has always responded generously to these invitations. 

Members of the St. Vincent de Paul Society dis- 
tribute literature on Sundays, and several wealthy 
ladies from the North Side occasionally visit the 
Hospital and help the chaplain substantially. 

Celebrating Beatification 

A ceremony of great interest in commemoration of 
the martyrs of Salsette, the most solemn of its na- 
ture in the history of the parish, occurred in April of 
1894. The program of exercises was as follows : 

SOLEMN CELEBRATION 

in Honor of 

The Beatification 

of 

The Martyrs of Salsette, 

Rudolph Aquavtva, Alphonsus Paceco, Peter Berno, 

Anthony Francisco, Priests, and Francis Aranha. 

Lay-Brother of the Society of Jesus, 

AND 

Father Anthony Baldinucci, 
Confessor of the Society of Jesus. 

Order of Exercises During the Solemn Triduum 

The solemn triduum in thanksgiving for the beatification of 
the Martyrs of Salsette and of Father Anthony Baldinucci, 
of the Society of Jesus, were held in Holy Family Church, Chi- 
cago, March 30 and 31, and April 1. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 179 

The order of exercises was as follows : 
Friday, at 9 A. M., Solemn High Mass. 

At 7 :30 P. M., Beads, Benediction and Sermon by Father H. 

M. Calmer, S. J. Subject : The Process of Beatification. 
Saturday, at 9 A. M., Solemn High Mass. 

Evening — Confessions. 
Sunday, at 10 :30, Solemn High Mass. Sermon by Father H. 

M. Calmer, S. J., Panegyric of Blessed Baldinucci. 

At 7:30 P. M., Benediction, and Sermon by Father H. M. 

Calmer, Panegyric of the Martyrs of Salsette. Hymn of 

Thanksgiving, in which the entire congregation joined. 

Hymn to the Beatified 
Now let hearts expand, 
Sing in chorus grand, 

Glory to the conquerors, 
Myriad angels 'round them sing, 
How they loved Christ, their King, 
Living for Him, 
Dying for Him, 
Christ their King. 

The outstanding event of the year 1894, in Holy 
Family Parish, was the elaborate ceremony of the 
unveiling of the statue of the Blessed Virgin. That 
impressive ceremony is thus described in the June 
Calendar: 

A PARISH EVENT 
Unveiling of the Blessed Virgin's Statue 

Last Sunday, May 13th, was a great day at the Holy Family 
Church on West Twelfth Street. It was the occasion of the 
unveiling of the beautiful marble statue of the Blessed Virgin, 
which has been placed in front of the hall. 

The crowd extended along between Eleventh and Twelfth 
streets, and now and then there was difficulty to make passage 
for the uniformed groups, who marched up with bands of music, 
fluttering flags and twinkling bayonets to take part in the cere- 
monies. The numerous uniforms gave much animation to the 
scene. Among them were the dark blue of the Patriotic Sons 



180 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of Father Mathew;-the neat braided gray tunics, with green 
and white plumes, of the Father Mathew Cadets ; the picturesque 
blue and crimson zouave costumes of the junior temperance 
corps, and others whom the Jesuit Fathers have organized in 
the cause of temperance. A large number of ladies were present. 

In front of the hall, which was profusely decorated with the 
stars and stripes and sodality flags, was erected a platform from 
which the various choirs sang and the speakers addressed the 
crowd. 

On the platform sat representatives of the various religious 
and temperance societies of the Holy Family Parish. 

ADDRESS OF PROFESSOR BROWN 

Mr. James J. Keena, Prefect of the Men's Sodality, having 
made some brief introductory remarks, music was contributed 
by the band of that sodality, and by the juvenile band, after 
which Professor Brown, of St. Ignatius College, delivered an 
address on the origin and aim of sodalities. He said in con- 
clusion : 

Why has this vast organization been formed? Look around 
and about you in this grand city, with its sky-kissing palaces 
of trade, in which are stored the material wealth of the world, 
and note how the world honors its heroes, its men and women 
of lofty sentiments and noble deeds. Why, then, should not 
we, the sons and daughters of Mary, do our share toward per- 
petuating the memory of Her, Whom the Savior of mankind 
was pleased, while on earth, to call by the holy name of Mother. 

Mary is the model of Christian perfection, and her memory 
is best perpetuated by an imitation of her virtues. 

HON. W. J. ONAHAN 

Hon. W. J. Onalian, who followed, said in the course of his 
remarks : 

"You know how the lamented and ever venerable Father 
Damen and his associates came from St. Louis in 1857, and 
having practically the whole city in which to make choice of a 
site, decided to establish here on this block where we are assem- 
bled, the mission and Church of the Holy Family. Many of 
those present can recall that humble, and apparently, inaus- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 181 

picious beginning". You remember the primitive frame church 
which was erected where now 7 stands the great Sodality Build- 
ing, and the unpretentious house for the Fathers which ad- 
joined to the east. We see around us on every side the 
multiplied testimonies to the religious zeal of Father Damen 
and his successors. The numerous parochial schools within the 
limits of the parish ; St. Ignatius College, with its splendid staff 
of professors, and superior appointments, with its nearly five 
hundred students. See across the way the admirable St. 
Joseph's Home, which shelters and protects hundreds of girls, 
and its 'Deaf and Dumb School' for afflicted children. And 
here, where w^e stand, this great building devoted to the uses 
and needs of the various religious organizations of the church 
sodalities for men and women, temperance societies, benevolent 
guilds, including the admirable society of St. Vincent de Paul, 
which never more effectively demonstrated the efficacy of its 
benevolent mission than during the past trying winter.' 

Rev. James J. Corbley then formally presented the statue, 
and Rev. T. S. Fitzgerald, S. J., President of St. Ignatius Col- 
lege, made a graceful speech of acknowledgment. He thanked 
the sodalities for the beautiful gift of the statue — accepting it 
especially for the sentiments of which it was the token — and 
trusting that the virtues of the Blessed Virgin, which the mem- 
bers of the sodality professed to imitate, would be the ornament 
and glory, the joy and happiness of their lives. 

The American colors, which had veiled the statue, were then 
removed, and the beautiful marble statue was exposed to view. 

After the address of Father Fitzgerald, drills were given, as 
a conclusion to the day's exercises, by the Cadets and Patriotic 
Sons of Father Mathew." 

During the next month, a great parish picnic was 
held, described in the August Calendar as follows : 

OUR PICNIC 

The Calendar prints the Picnic Circular this 
month, as a Souvenir of the good will and earnest 



182 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

work of the many, who did all they could to make our 
Parish Picnic a Success. 

GRAND 

PICNIC AND EXCURSION 

of the 

HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

To Columbia Park on the A. T. & S. F. R. R. 
Tuesday, July 24, 1894. Tickets 50 cts. 

Trains leave Dearborn Station, Cor. Polk and Dearborn every 
half hour from 9 a. m., to 12 m., also at 1 :30 p. m., stopping 
at Twelfth, Twenty-fourth, Halsted, Main and Deering Streets. 
Trains leave grounds on Return Trip every half hour from 5 
to 8 p. m. 

Executive Committee — Rev. Father Dowling, S. J., Rev. 
Father Lagae, S. J., Rev. Father Weinman, S. J., Rev. Father 
Corbley, S. J., Rev. Father Condon, S. J., Rev. Father O'Neill, 
S. J., J. J. Keenan, Mrs. E. Gubbins, H. Gubbins, Miss McGraw, 
Miss Thompson, Mrs. Garvey, Mrs. McEnery, Miss Keating. 

Committee on Lemonade and other Temperance Drinks — 
Father Weinman, Members of the League, Members of St. Mon- 
ica's Society, and other Parish Organizations. 

Committee on Police and Public Order — John Riordan, James 
J. Keenan, Con. Ryan. 

Committee on Music — J. J. Keenan, Chairman ; T. L. Keyes, 
J. Derrig, A. Cairns, A. Ford. 

Committee on Conductor's Train Returns — William A. Hoyne, 
Chairman; Patrick Comisky, Harry C. Boland. 

Committee on Printing and Advertising — J. J. Keenan, T. 
L. Keyes, T. G. Lynch, AY. Quinlan, J. K. Clowry, M. Kehoe, 
J. Walshly, J. Riordan, J. H. Sebastian. 

Committee on Grounds — James P. Gallagher, James Flynn. 

Committee on Public Comfort — P. Crimmins, John Derrig, 
James Tighe, John Grimes, Alois Stempfle, Thomas Dunne, B. 
'Sullivan, Patrick Garland. 

Conductors in Charge of Trains — No. 1 Train, 9 A. M. Jno. 
J. Collins. Aids, Jas. J. Collins, A. Stempfle, John Grimes, 
Patk. Comisky, H. C. Boland, John Hackett. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



183 



&Hgp> 




184 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

No. 2 Train, 9 :30 A. M. B. Mackey. Aids, W. F. Barnett, 
John Clashing, T. J. Moroney, E. J. Kennedy, Jas. Traynor, 
J. Morrisey. 

No. 3 Train, 10 A. M. Thus. Conley. Aids, Jas. Keyes, 
James 'Grady, John Gillespie, Patrick Keating, James D. 
Tighe. 

No. 4 Train, 10:30 A. M. Thomas Lynch. Aids, Thomas 
Shannon, Jas. Dalton, J. G. Graham, Bryan Farley, Thos. 
Dunne, Andrew Garvey. 

No. 5 Train, 11 A. M. Jos. B. Breeu. Aids, Jas. E. Silk, 
W. E. Fisher, M. J. Geraghty, Albert Hulib, Thos. J. Holland, 
Samuel Stretch. 

No. 6 Train, 11 :30 A. M. Thos. J. Ryan. Aids, Jas. Linehan, 
Wm. Ryan, Dan Foley, Jno. W. Clancy, Jas. Cleary, Jas. J. 
Prindeville. 

No. 7 Train, 12 M. Alexander Cairns. Aids, J. P. Kelly, 
Ernst Idler, Edward Kelly, Jno. Phalen, D. A. O'Brien. 

No. 8 Train, 1 :30 P. M. Timothy L. Keyes. Aids, Timothy 
Quail, P. H. Dougherty, Edward Walsh, Philip Devlin, John 
B. Collins, Patrick Cremmins. 

Committee on Refreshments, Married Ladies Sodality — Mrs. 
A. King, Mrs. N. O'Brien, Mrs. P. Hamill, Mrs. Caffrey, Mrs. 
M. Adamson, Mrs. H. Martin, Mrs. J. Breen, Mrs. Caraher, 
Mrs. B. Palmar, Mrs. S. Nolan, Mrs. Dady, Mrs. O'Connell, 
Mrs. M. Halton, Mrs. M. O'Brien, Mrs, McShane, Mrs. Legacy, 
Mrs. Minehan, Mrs. M. McCabe, Mrs. McMahon, Mrs. Ross, Mrs. 
M. McElhearn, Mrs. Branick, Mrs. Young, Mrs. Hosbein, Mrs. 
Maloney, Mrs. Marie Sullivan, Mrs. Sheeler, Mrs, Annie 'Brien, 
Mrs. M. Sullivan, Mrs. Mary Lynch, Mrs. Miniter, Mrs. Smith, 
Mrs. V. Ruysel, Mrs. Cooney, Mrs. Boothman, Mrs. Frank Law- 
ler, Mrs. Marsh, Mrs. Hackett, Mrs. Ragor, Mrs. E. A. Gub- 
bins, Mrs. O'Rourke, Mrs. Conroy, Mrs. Stubbs, Mrs, M. 
McEnery, Mrs. M. O'Brien, Mrs. Logan, Mrs. Adams, Mrs. J. 
Garvey, Mrs. M. Dwyer, Mrs. A. Walsh. 

Children's Games presided over by Father O'Neill. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 185 

Tennis Games and Booths of Young Ladies under the man- 
agement of Fr. Condon and Miss S. McGraw, Miss M. Pickham, 
Miss M. O'Donnell, Miss M. Dolamore, Miss A. Bremner, Miss 
S. 'Toole, Miss B. White, Miss Mary Casey. 

This was a year of celebrations, and, in the fall, 
Father Mathew's day was observed with a parade 
and demonstration, which the Calendar described as 
follows : 

FATHER MATHEWS DAY 

Nearly 4,000 children — boys and girls — were in the temper- 
ance parade that passed the Auditorium in the afternoon of 
October 10th. The Holy Family Parish sent more than 1,500 
big and little marchers. The children were, as we know, neatly 
uniformed, and wore tiny American flags pinned to their 
breasts. Nearly all had signed the pledge. The men in line 
are all active workers in the temperance cause. 

The Holy Family division was prepared by Sisters and secular 
teachers in the schools of the parish under the direction of 
Fathers Dowling, O'Neill and Van Agt. 

The mottoes of the children attracted much attention : 

Sacred Heart Convent School- — 'The Boys and Girls of Holy 
Family Parish Honor Temperance.' 

St. Joseph's Branch School — 'Intemperance Wrecks Homes 
and Blights the Lives of Children.' 

Holy Family School — 'One Thousand Children of Holy Fam- 
ily Parish Pledged to Temperance. Young Disciples of Temper- 
ance, Holy Family Parish.' 

St. Aloysius School — 'For God and Country and Home, Our 
Children Pledge Themselves to Temperance.' 

Father Mathew Temperance Cadets — 'As the Twig is Bent 
the Tree is Inclined. Teach Temperance to the Young.' 

St. Joseph's Home Deaf and Dumb Pupils — 'Even the Dumb 
Speak for Temperance.' 

Holy Family Total Abstinence Cadets — 'American League of 
the Cross, Junior Division, Holy Family Parish.' 



186 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

There are several items, of unusual interest, ap- 
pearing in the several numbers of the Calendar of 
1894, from which we select the following : 

ST. JOSEPH'S HOME 

All are not aware of the beautiful work of charity which is 
being done at St. Joseph's Home, the care and instruction of 
the deaf and the dumb. Everybody that sees closely the patience 
and kindness of the heroic women in charge here are enthu- 
siastic in their praises. Who can look into the happy faces of 
this school and refrain from thanking God for having sent this 
boon to these unfortunates? WTio then will not feel impelled 
to aid in the generous work? Here is an opportunity. An 
elegant hand carved cabinet, made by the deaf children them- 
selves, which was awarded a gold medal by the AVorld's ■ Colum- 
bian Fair, is to be raffled for the benefit of the school for the 
deaf, and the tickets are only twenty-five cents. Here is your 
chance to contribute your mite, without display, to this noble 
work. 

THE BANNER SCHOOLS OF AMERICA 

Are there some in the parish who do not know what we have 
to boast of in our parochial schools? Cardinal Gibbons did not 
hesitate to speak of them publicly as the 'Banner Schools of 
America.' Let us not forget this proud title, but continue ever 
to be as worthy of it. The Cardinal in so styling our schools, 
alluded particularly to their enormous enrollment of nearly 
four thousand children. You have all seen the number of 
medals and diplomas they received from the World's Fair, 
where the schools, that some are foolishly inclined to reckon as 
better educators, were simply — as the boys say — not in it. How 
many times have we been congratulated for the way in which 
our boys master their arithmetic, and for the strong sensible 
compositions of our girls. Our teachers read the school jour- 
nals and keep up with the times, but they have never been 
accused of inflicting fads on the little ones. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 187 

THE NIGHT SCHOOL 

Last night, October 23, eighty-five (85) young men of 'The 
Young Men 's Sodality ' met in their new class room, in the Holy 
Family School, to study bookkeeping and penmanship. Mr. C. 
N. Crandle, an expert accountant and artist penman, and pro- 
fessor of bookkeeping, at 'The Athenaeum' was present to teach 
these same branches. The professor was highly pleased with 
the young men, and they with him. 

The bookkeeping evenings are Tuesday and Thursday, from 
7 :30 to 9 :45, and Saturday from 6 :30 to 8 :00. 

On Monday and Wednesday evenings Wm. N. Brown, A. M., 
and John E. McNellis, A. B., teach Business Arithmetic, Com- 
mercial Law and Practical Grammar. 13 

is William N. Brown entered St. Ignatius College at the age of nine 
years and attended for seven years, graduating at the age of sixteen, the 
youngest graduate of the college. After graduation he taught in the col- 
lege for two years and then took up other work but soon returned to teach- 
ing, first in St. Mary's College, Kansas, and then for eight years in St. 
Ignatius College. He is now in charge of the ecclesiastical department 
of Spaulding and Company's establishment in Chicago. 



CHAPTER X 

Evidence of System and Efficiency 

Returning to the chronicle of parish events, we 

fincl that during the month of March, 1895, Rev. 

Thomas Ewing Sherman, S. J., conducted 

1895 one of the most successful missions ever 

1900 given to the Young Men's Sodality. At the 
several services, the gallery, the aisles, the 
altar steps, and even the sanctuary, were crowded 
with young men every night. All were deeply im- 
pressed by his earnestness and his forcible, direct, 
manly eloquence. He followed closely the exercises 
of St. Ignatius, strikingly adapting them to his au- 
dience. 

The bazaar, of 1895, surpassed in size, appearance, 
and the volume of prizes and net receipts, anything 
of the kind attempted to that time. The masterly 
management of the pastor, Rev. M. P. Dowling, was 
displayed in every detail. About $22,500 was realized 
from the bazaar. 

Brother O'Neill, the brother in blood and co- 
worker in the schools of Father Andrew O 'Neill died 
Sept. 13, 1895. 

We are again given an opportunity to contem- 
plate the works of the sacred ministry in the parish, 
as recorded for the period from July 1st, 1894, to 
July 1, 1895 1 1 

i Parish Eecords. 

188 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 189 

Infant Baptisms 954 

Adult Baptisms Ill 

Confessions heard 248,087 

Communions given in the Church 232,800 

Communions given in the Chapels 27,148 

Marriages 215 

Last Sacraments 1,810 

Prepared for First Communion 975 

Prepared for Confirmation 2,162 

Catechetical Instructions 1,907 

Sermons and Exhortations 1,214 

Missions, Retreats, Triduums and Novenas 93 

Visits to Prisons and Hospitals 608 

Visits to the Sick 6,362 

Sodalities 16 

Members in Sodalities 7,083 

Pews and Pewholders 

After a lapse of thirty-three years it is interesting 
again to study briefly the pew situation, and call to 
mind, not only the location and schedule of rentals, 
which we are enabled to do through a diagram pre- 
pared under the direction of the pastor, but also 
again to take note of the principal parishioners rep- 
resented in the pewholders. This diagram, made ac- 
cessible through publication in the Church Calendar 
and Sodality Bulletin, illustrates graphically the 
capacity of the church, the location of the aisles and 
pillars, and various vacant spaces. Rev. M. P. Dowl- 
ing, S. J., had the diagram prepared and directed its 
publication in March, 1896. It will be noted that the 
number of pews rented at this time, was very much 
smaller than that of those rented in Father Damen's 
time — 1861-1863, just after the church was com- 
pleted. As to the proportion of rented and vacant 



190 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



SCHEDULE OP PEW RENTS, 



Sfition 7. 


5«»ion5. 


3 Seats 
-iSeat- 
p.ttunRTed 


3&EATS 
-iSeat- 

|).0uAflIl« 


J 2.50 

no 


T.»t" ,v ;87 


$1.50 


*MS 

lat^W 


41.50 
2*3 taf" V 




**#* 




J 1.5. 

2*7 


*** 


$2.50 

2*9 


SSI 


25/ ^°il«-/^ 


8f*$ r T 




4 1.15 

257 


*0.50 

199 


|l.SS 

23? 


101 


SSI 


#1.50 


2*5 


f 1.51 

2« 


2^ 


* ''50 

«K«>" 207 


267 


5I.S0 


2*7 J 


ary 






2«^ 


J0.5C 

2» 


2?/ 


J 0. 7 5 
225 


?93 


*HJ, 


|5. 7 5 

195 


**s» 




.23/ 


29? 


J 0.16 
23J 



5Seat5 iSeat)>a\ 7 
305 i " ^ 



Section 3. 


Section..! 


4 Seats 
- iSeat - 


4 Seats l 
- iSeat — 

Per Quarter 


ft LIS 
97 ■r*K*« w 


ft 5.5.5 


JJ.7S 

99 t»w 


$3.15 
WW* J 


4J.7S 

W/ -T4K"^ 


ft J-l^ 


ftt-IS 

/03 iak«' v 


3,3.1s 

-U*««v 7 


fJ.W 
/05 -iat« lV 


#3.45 
TaKe>v 


/07 -raK« ,v 


$3.15 
faK«'» 11 




*3-» ,3 


) 


t Seats. lSeaTp,a.. 
J3.15 tf 




6 seat* , lS«ti».a. 

- 43.1s „ 


/OP 


#3.15 


ft*-is 


ftS.M 


$-1-75 
W3 ■/»ia*« B/ 


J.3.J6 


11$ U^ 


Ta« ,v 25 


,/7 1a Ke>^ 


j 3.1s 
WW"" 27 


//» TaK*^ 


ftJ.lS 
„*«* 29 


ftys. 

12/ 


*3A* 


ft U0 
/25 , /* 1aK "* / 


faM>* 33 


/25 ia^ 


talced 3(5 


(wo 

/27 


A 3-M 

37 


$1.50 

/2? 


takew 39 


$1. JO 
/3I 


*3^-° 

41 


£1.50 
/33 




52.15 
J3? 




ft2-15 
J37* 


>1.75 

47 


ftMS 
139 


ft 1.75 

49 


ft MS 
/»/ 


ft 2.75 
51 


/43* 


4,1.50 
53 


> J 1." 


^■1.50 

55 


/47 


* 1.5-0 




**"« 


/5/ 


♦*"« 


>*.*•" 


*'"« 


/5.J 


*'"« 


IS! 


67 


159 


f '-7^ 

69 



QUARTER 



ft 

H 



U9 





Section 2. 


Section*. 




4 Seata. 4 Scats. 
- iSeat - - i5ea1- 
Ver Quarter FerQuflRTER 


? 


T iah«\ 


l»Vc«n 9$ 


< 


* 5.1*8 

'/* fdhtn 


f 2 75 
Taken W 


< 


^.3.15 


a, 3.7s 




*. 3.1* 
. /l taK«"' 


^ 2-7S 
,aK elv /«* 




Take 11 


>/it» Ke /06 




2 fj/<ert 






7 _1 *' i ' 1 ' S 


( 




^'iV.lV"^ 


C 




a 'feTaKj^* 5 






&3.1S 
20 TaK" v 


>H5 

f a ^' v I/O 




*3.55 
22 -tifc'"' 


»M**" //f 




2^ taKe'->- 


$2. 7 S 
M*w llf 




}3.1,5 
26 l*"" 


>2.7S 




ft 3.2? 
28 +aKe>v 


|,i.[5 

ta» <ell/ 118 




30 V* 1atte 


*i-75 

T afc« lv /20 




*3-15 
32 -ra*< e ' v 


Vlta^ 1 m 




3* va^ ,,v 


ft!;" 




36 ™*« lv 






ft 3.c? 
38 taK«- v 


^2.50 




fts.es 

40 


ft2.50 




ft 3 as 

42. 


#2.50 

I5S 




J3» 

44 


if 1.50 
/30 




Si 5.7s 

46 


ftl.15 

13b 




52.75 
48 


ftxe 

138 




f 1-7S 
50 


fttAS 

/*0 




J2-7S 

52 


ft a.is 

/« 




ftl.JO 

54 


♦a,e» 

/« 




_ ft L50 

56 V 


fi.is 




5 J' 50 
58* 


4 2.°J? 

m 




ft 2.15 

60 


* '-I s 

;so 




62* 


/52 




ft 2.15 
64 


ft.. 7 5 

/5t 




«*'•-• 


ft ..50 

/56 




«*"• 


ft 1.25 

15S 




70*'" 


ft 1.15 



5«lion6. 5cctjon8. 


3 Seats s seats 
•— .Seat- iSeat 

P.auflKtER P.OlMRTER 


/«g u K 


*?.50 

no 


190 t* 1 " 


$,2.50 


52-75 


$2.50 




42.75 
9* v* 


iJ-50 
2*6 




9b 


SI. 50 




||/# 


»?.50 

ISO 


/" 


\ V-~ 2S2 




jw™z 


^ 


/J 3 Stars lieatpQ. 




Hi! 

100 


*l.*5 

23$ 




§I.5C 
202 


|hS5 

260 




5I.S0 


262 




fl.se 

2^6 


f,.»5 

26* 




fl.SO 

20^ 


ft 1.15 

266 




f 15* 

?/0 


f 1.25 
268 


/ 


U.J&e«t*.iS M t|^. 

S *'•" 110 


V 


y5Seit<,.,(,tat|,.a 

/ *0. 7 5 ^ 




$>I.SS 

2/2 


75 ? 




$1.15 

2/^ 


276 


2 


$1.15 

lib 


l*^J» 


r 

35 


2/9 


2W 




5,1.25 

no 


281 




flSS 

222 


2J(* 


/ 


J^SSears, lS<al p.*. 
\ * V °° 2»6 


\ 


i5Seati,iSeatp.a 
_/ 7«* 2» 




fte.so 
22* 


*0.75 

290 


> 


ftO.75 

226 


7 5<f- 
3^ 


V 


ftci 
22^ 


754 

2n 




*o.i 
230 


206 




S>0.74 

232 


7?<- 

w 




*0.] 
254 


75 f 

300 


/ 


I 5*«ft .,» S «T„ A 

\ 50f J»2 


\ 


)5SMt%,lS«tML 

^/ So*' 3^ 




50^ 
256 


50* 
306 




23S 


50 <- 
J0S 



PEWS IN THE TRANSEPTS AND 10 IN REAR OMITTED 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



191 



pews, it appears that only one-fifth of the pews or 
seating capacity was rented. Father Dowling esti- 
mated that there was only one pew rented to every 
two hundred of the members of the parish. This de- 
crease in the number of pews, or sittings, rented was 
compensated for, to some extent, by the increased 
rental, which was double that reserved in the early 




REV. MAURICE OAKLEY, S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1860-87 



REV. HUBERT PETERS, S. J. 
Assistant Pastor, 1898-1907 



60 's. At the time this diagram was made, the pew 
rents ranged from $52.00 a year, for the best pews in 
the middle aisle, down to $8.00 for the least desirable. 
In 1861-63, the section in the rear, back of the pillars, 
was not fitted up and was not used until 1866, when, 
by its addition and the completion of two galleries, 
the seating capacity was increased by about 700. 



192 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



On the diagram, the schedule of prices marked sets 
forth the charge made for one sitting for three 
months. 

At this time the pewholders and the pews occupied 
by them were as follows : 

PEW HOLDERS IN THE HOLY FAMILY CHURCH, 1896 



No. of 


No. of 


Pew 




Pew 




1 


P. L. Garrity 


25 


P. O'Neill 


2 


Peter Rourke 


25 


Katherine Maloney 


2 


Michael Coffey 


26 


Mrs. C. Adams 


3 


John Coughlin 


27 


Mrs. F. Lawler 


3 


Dr. J. J. Larkin 


28 


AVm. J. Onahan 


4 


D. J. Solon 


29 


Barth. Mackey 


5 


Thomas Coughlin 


30 


Patrick Martin 


5 


Mrs. A. Sullivan 


31 


Mrs. D. Pyne 


6 


Martin Malone 


32 


Andrew Ragor 


7 


Thomas Lynch 


33 


Wm. Ryan 


8 


Mrs. Mary Johnson 


34 


Mrs. Johanna Ryan 


9 


Mrs. Anne Fitzpatrick 


34 


Jas. E. Baggot 


10 


Dr. C. P. Harrigan 


35 


Mrs. P. Hamill 


11 


J. J. Higgins 


36 


Mrs. H. F. Dubia 


12 


M. J. Corboy 


36 


John Adams 


12 


Minnie Schmanski 


38 


T. S amnions 


12 


Agnes B. Jordan 


38 


Thomas Cusack 


18 


John Comiskey 


39 


Michael Considine 


19 


Capt. R. Stubbs 


97 


Jos. Murphy 


19 


P. B. Hartnett 


98 


Mrs. Wm. Carroll 


20 


Patrick Brennan 


98 


Mrs. M. Field 


21 


John P. Barron 


99 


Mrs. E. O'Reilly 


22 


Thos. G. Martin 


100 


John Riordan 


22 


Dr. M. W. Kelleher 


100 


Mrs. M. Breen 


23 


Daniel Wall 


101 


Mrs. J. Garvy 


24 


P. J. Nolan 


102 


Mrs. J. Devlin 


24 


J. J. Boothman 


103 


John Waller 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



193 



No. c 


f 


No. of 


Peu 




Pew 




104 


Mrs. C. Bryson 


125 


P. T. Norton 


105 


Mrs. S. Turner 


126 


Mrs. J. Ford 


105 


P. Donlan 


187 


Mrs. Marchesseault 


105 


Sarah Quinn 


188 


John Ryan 


106 


P. E. Lor den 


189 


Mrs. B. Woods 


107 


Michael McNellis 


190 


J. F. Coffey 


108 


Mrs. Marg. Cleland 


191 


John Anderson 


108 


Miss Sargisson 


193 


Sisters, St. Joseph's 


110 


Mark Hardin 




Home 


111 


D. Murphy 


194 


Henry Carraher 


111 


Mrs. P. O'Connor 


195 


Mrs. Ellen Connell 


112 


Mrs. Oink 


198 


Michael Miniter 


112 


Miss N. Maher 


206 


Leo DeFrauw 


113 


Matt McElroy 


207 


Patrick Conerty 


114 


Mrs. M. Collins 


209 


Peter McNally 


115 


P. J. Howard 


243 


Philip Sullivan 


116 


Mrs. C. Terry 


244 


Bernard Quigley 


116 


John Kelly 


248 


Thomas Enright 


117 


B. O 'Sullivan 


248 


Mary Brady 


117 


Bernard Denvir 


251 


Miss Birmingham 


118 


Martin Curtin 


273 


James W. Regan 


119 


Thomas Hickey 


274 


Michael Doyle 


120 


J. J. McCrohan 


278 


Miss T. Wilkie 


120 


James Linehan 


297 


James Campbell 


120 


Miss MeKeon 


349 


P. Cooney 


120 


Miss Mullen 


350 


Miss J. O'Leary 


122 


Thos. Connelly 


363 


Matthew Haupt 


123 


John J. Collins 


364 


Eliza McConville 


124 


Catherine Cahill 


364 


Miss B. Dacey 


124 


C. B. Fenlon 


366 


John Young 



A sad event was recorded for the year 1896, in the 
account of the death of Rev. Michael Van Agt, S. J., 
which occurred on September 1, 1896. 2 

2 See sketch, Chapter XVI. 



194 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

A reorganization of the parish schools was effected 
in the year 1896, as will be seen in the chapter de- 
voted to the schools. 3 

In this year arrangements were made to have a 
Mass, at 9:30 o'clock on Sunday, for all the children 
attending the parochial schools; — the public school 
children were assigned to the gallery. It had been 
the custom, for many years, to have a Mass for the 
children at the three principal schools on Sundays. 
This was regarded as very practical, on account of 
the great number of children and the difficulty of ac- 
commodating all in the church. By 1896, however, 
the eastern part of the parish was diminishing, many 
Catholic families moving out, and their places being- 
taken by others. There were, accordingly, fewer chil- 
dren which made it possible to accommodate all in 
the church. 

The advance of science found expression in Holy 
Family Parish in the year 1896, through an X-Ray 
exhibition, conducted by Rev. Herman Meiners, S. 
J., of St. Ignatius College. It was one of the first 
demonstrations of the X-Ray in Chicago. 

The death of Brother Michael Schmidt occurred 
at St. Ignatius College in this year. Brother Schmidt 
had been connected with the college for over twenty 
years. He had been an invalid for several years, and 
had reached an advanced age. It was his custom to 
pay a visit to the chapel an hour or two before the 
community awoke. On one of these occasions, he dis- 
covered the college chapel on fire, and, by giving the 
alarm, probably saved the college from being de- 
stroyed or seriously damaged. 

s Chapter XVII. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 195 

As indicating the general routine observed in the 
parish ministry the following from the Calendar of 
1896 is reproduced : 

Directory of Masses, Sodality and Society Meetings in the 
Church Sodality Hall and Parish Schools in the year 1896. 

ORDER OF SERVICES 

Masses 

Sundays — Low Masses in the Church at 5, 6, 7, 8:30 A. M., 
in the Basement 7, 8, 9 A. M. High Mass in the Church at 
10:30 A. M. Vespers, Lecture, Benediction, 7:30 P. M. 

Week days— Masses at 5, 6, 6 :30, 7, 8. 

Instructions 

Sundays — In the Church at the 8 :30 Mass. In the Basement 
at the 8 and 9 o 'clock Masses. In the Church, Sermon at 10 :30 
Mass. 

Devotions 

Sundays— Rosary at 3:30 P. M. 

First Fridays — In honor of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, in 
Church at 7 :30 P. M. Exposition of the Blessed Sacrament all 
day. 

Third Fridays— Bona Mors, in Church at 7:30 P. M. (8 
o'clock in Summer). 

Sundays — In honor of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, in 
Church at 7 :30 P. M. 

Baptisms 
Sundays at 4 P. M. sharp — Thursdays at 4 P. M. 

Confessions 

Thursdays, Saturdays and the eves of solemn festivals, from 
2 :30 P. M., until 10 P. M. At other times apply to the Sacristan. 



196 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

N. B. Confessions for children who have not made their first 
Communion are heard at the Ember Season, the boys on the 
Thursday within the Ember days, the girls on the following 
Thursday. 

Sick Calls 

Apply at the Pastoral Residence before 9 A. M., or in the 
afternoon before 2 P. M. In case of sudden or grave illness 
application may be made at any hour. 

Blessings 

For women after child-birth, every Sunday, after Masses at 
Main altar in Church and Basement. Pious articles are blessed 
on First Sunday of Month at 3 :45 P. M. 

Marriages 

All arrangements for marriages should be made with the 
Pastors at Pastoral residence. Call about three weeks before 
the time set for the marriage, so as to give due notice for the 
publication of the banns. 

Sodalities 

Married Men's Sociality — In the Sodality Hall, Sundays, at 
9 :30 A. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, second Sunday — 
Director, Rev. A. A. Lambert, S. J. 

Married Ladies' Sodality — In Sodality Hall, Sundays, at 3 
P. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, first Sunday. Director, 
Rev. F. Weinman, S. J. 

Young Men's Sodality — In the Sodality Hall, Sundays, at 
9 :30 A. M. Communion at 7 o 'clock Mass, fourth Sunday. Di- 
rector, Rev. P. J. Mulconry, S. J. 

Young Ladies' Sodality — In the Sodality Hall, Sunday, at 
3 P. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, third Sunday. Di- 
rector, Rev. M. M. Bronsgeest, S. J. 

Senior Sodality of St. Ignatius College — In Domestic Chapel, 
Fridays, at 2 :55 P. M. Communion first Sunday of the month, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 197 

in Domestic Chapel, at 7 o 'clock Mass. Director, Rev. H. Dum- 
bach, S. J. 

Junior Sodality of St. Ignatius College — In College Chapel, 
Fridays, at 2 :55 P. M. Communion first Sunday of the month, 
in Domestic Chapel, at 7 o'clock Mass. Director, Rev. Edw. P. 
Coppinger, S. J. 

Holy Angels Sodality — In the Holy Family School, Sundays 
at 2 P. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, Holy Family Church, 
fourth Sunday. Director, Rev. A. O'Neill, S. J. 

Sociality of the Sacred Heart Convent School — In the School 
Hall (on Lytle Street), Sundays at 2 P. M. Communion at 7 
o'clock Mass, in Holy Family Church, second Sunday. Director, 
Rev. P. J. Mulconry, S. J. 

St. Joseph's Sodality (Working Boys) — In Sodality Hall, 
Mondays at 8 P. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, fourth Sun- 
day of the month. Director, Rev. A. A. Lambert, S. J. 

St. Aloysius' Sodality (Girls) — In Maxwell street school, 
Sundays at 2 :15 P. M. Communion at 7 o 'clock Mass, Holy 
Family Church, Third Sunday. Director, Rev. F. G. Hill- 
man, S. J. 

St. Agnes' Sodality (Girls) — In the May street Convent, 
Sundays at 2 P. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, Holy Fam- 
ily Church, third Sunday. Director, Rev. J. J. O'Meara, S. J. 

Societies 

League of the Sacred Heart — In Holy Family Church, first 
Friday, at 7 :30 P. M. Promoters meeting the last Friday of 
each month in the basement of Sodality Hall, at 8 o'clock P. M. 
sharp. Director, Rev. M. P. Dowling, S. J. 

St. Vincent de Paul Society — In Sodality Hall, Sundays, at 
3 P. M. Communion at 7 o'clock Mass, Holy Family Church, 
fourth Sunday. Director, Rev. A. J. O'Neill, S. J. 

Bona Mors — In Holy Family Church, third Friday, at 7:30 
P. M. Director, M. M. Bronsgeest, S. J. 

Altar Society — In Holy Family Church, first Sunday, at 4 
P. M., in the lower church. Director, Rev. M. P. Dowling, S. J. 



198 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Sanctuary Society — In Sodality Hall, Mondays, at 2 P. M. ; 
and Wednesdays, at 7 :30 P. M. Director, M. P. Dowling, S. J. 

Altar Boys' Society — Communion on second Sunday, at 7 
o'clock Mass. Meetings at the call of the Director, Rev. A. K. 
Meyer, S. J. 

Archconfraternity of the Immaculate Heart — In Holy Fam- 
ily Church, Sundays, at 7 :30 P. M. Director, Rev. M. P. Dow- 
ling, S. J. \m®\ 

Holy Family Sunday School Association — In Holy Family 
School, at the call of the Director, Rev. A. 'Neill, S. J. 

American League of the Cross — In Sodality Hall, at the call 
of the Director, Rev. J. Hayes, S. J. 

Holy Family Total Abstinence and Benevolent Society (Men) 
— In Sodality Hall, first and third Sundays at 3 P. M. Com- 
munion on fifth Sunday. Director, Rev. A. K. Meyer, S. J. 

Temperance Cadets — Drill, Wednesdays at 8 P. M. 

St. Monica's Total Abstinence Society (Ladies) — In Sodality 
Hall, first Sunday at 4 P. M. Director, Rev. A. K. Meyer, S. J. 

Patriotic Sons of Father Matthew — Drill in Apollo Hall. 
Communion Sundays four times in the year — on third Sunday. 
Director, Rev. A. K. Meyer, S. J. 

Ancient Order of Hibernians, Twenty-eighth Division — In 
Sodality Hall, fourth Sunday at 3 P. M. 

The year 1897, is notable in the parish activities 
for the establishment of the School for Deaf Mutes, 
which was founded in St. Joseph's Home. In the 
same year, a sodality for deaf mute girls was estab- 
lished, and another for the deaf mute boys, with head- 
quarters at St. Joseph's Home. 

Amongst improvements of the year 1897, may 
be noted the building of the boiler room, in the rear 
of the church. New boilers were put in and a new 
Acolythical Hall built over the boiler room, furnished 
with wardrobe, etc. Next to the boiler room, was pro- 
vided a special room for the ushers. In the same 
year, a fire-proof vault was built to contain the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 199 

Blessed Sacrament at night and the sacred vessels, 
vestments and parish archives. 

In the year 1898, on the third Sunday in January, 
the Feast of the Holy Family as the Patronal Feast 
of the Church, was celebrated for the first time, in 
the presence of the Most Reverend Archbishop. 
Heretofore, as has been noted, the Patronage of St. 
Joseph was celebrated as the Patronal Feast ; but, as 
has been said, Pope Leo XIII, ordered a special feast 
of the Holy Family, and this was the first occasion of 
its celebration. 

On March 25, 1898, the Golden Jubilee of Rev. 
Paul M. Ponziglione was celebrated. 4 

On March 12, 1899, the installation of the electric 
illumination of the church was celebrated with a 
sacred concert. Many people of note were present, 
including Mayor Carter H. Harrison and suite. 

Some extensive improvements were made in this 
year, including the substitution of cement sidewalks 
around the church and college for the old plank 
walks. The front of the church was painted, two 
altars were erected in the basement and chapel, — one 
in honor of St. Ignatius, and the other in honor of St. 
Francis Xavier. 

On July 26th, the Golden Jubilee of Rev. James M. 
Hayes was celebrated with due solemnity. 5 

The Italians began to settle in the northeastern 
portion of Holy Family Parish in the early 90 's. As 
there was no Italian church on the west side, they at- 
tended Mass, as best they could, in the nearby 
churches. The zealous Indian missionary, Rev. Paul 
M. Ponziglione, was called from the missions of the 

* Sketch, Chapter XVI. 
5 Sketch, Chapter XVI. 



200 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




REPOSITORY 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 201 

west, and assigned to assist in Holy Family Church 
and in 1891, Father Paul, as he was usually called, 
gathered the Italians around him and held services 
for them every Sunday, in the basement chapel of 
Holy Family Church. In 1892, the use of the Guard- 
ian Angel School was permitted by the pastors of 
Holy Family Church, and used until finally, Rev. 
Edmund M. Dunne, D. D., now Bishop of Peoria, 
volunteered to take charge of them. Within a 
short time he built a church and called it Holy 
Guardian Angel Church, on account of the Jesuit 
Parish school nearby. The Italians became very 
numerous, and there are now three churches exclu- 
sively devoted to their accommodation, namely, the 
Holy Guardian Angel on Forquer street near Des- 
plaines street, Our Lady of Pompei on Lytle and Mc- 
Allister Place, and St. Calisto on DeKalb and Lea- 
vitt streets. 

Somewhat, by way of review of the closing years 
of the nineteenth century, it is to be noted that Rev. 
Edward A. Higgins, S. J., succeeded Rev. Joseph 
Zealand, S. J., in the summer of 1887, as rector. 
Father Higgins was an exceptionally gifted man. 
He had been rector of St. Xavier's College, Cincin- 
nati, and Provincial of the Missouri Province. In 
turn, Father Higgins was succeeded by the Rev. 
Thomas S. Fitzgerald, S. J., who had been rector of 
Creighton College, Omaha, since 1889. He w r as one 
of the first of a band of young men who offered them- 
selves to the Society of Jesus, including Michael G. 
Cushing and John Kennedy. It was Father Fitz- 
gerald who had the happiness of administering the 
last sacraments to the founder of Holy Family Par- 



202 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

ish, the lamented Father Damen, on the occasion of 
his death at Creighton College. 6 

Father Fitzgerald made several improvements 
in church and college, one of special note being the 
rebuilding of the great organ and the installation of 
hydraulic power for its operation. He was assigned 
to the Provincialship of the Missouri Province 
in the summer of 1894, 7 and was succeeded by 
Eev. James F. X. Hoeffer, S. J. on December 
8th, following. Father Hoeffer, his successor, 
came from the rectorship of Creighton College, 
Omaha. He was a man of great energy and ability, 
and was considered one of the greatest orators in the 
province. It was during his time that the new class 
room building and addition to St. Ignatius College 
w T as erected, also the new boiler room and Acolythical 
Hall. 8 

During the same period, 1887-1897, there were two 
first pastors, one of whom was Rev. Edwin D. Kelly, 
S. J. Father Kelly succeeded the kindly and polished 
Irish gentleman, Father Coghlan, in the summer of 
1887. He had a very fine voice and took a prominent 
part in all the choral services of Holy Week, and his 
singing of the High Masses in the church was in- 
spiring. As first pastor, he had the responsibility of 
providing the means for all the improvements, the 
upkeep of church and the extraordinary expenses 
of the parish school besides the management of 
bazaars and concerts. His bazaar of 1892 was the 
most successful up to that date, its net receipts being 
$17,209.03. In January, 1894, Rev. Michael P. Dowl- 

e See Chapter VII. 

7 Sketch, Chapter XVI. 

s Sketch, Chapter XVI. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 203 

ing, S. J., succeeded Father Kelly as first pastor, 
coming from Detroit college, where he had been rec- 
tor since 1889. Father Dowling would have made 
his mark in the business world as he did in religion. 
He was a man possessed of talents of the highest 
order, which he exhibited during his administration 
as first pastor and later as President of Creighton 
Universit} 7 -, Omaha, and Rockhurst College, Kansas 
City, Mo. His work, in Holy Family Parish, took 
the character of improving and perfecting the vari- 
ous systems and activities of the parish, such as the 
finances of the church, and the reorganization of the 
school system. He found, on his coming, that the 
ordinary receipts of the church would not cover the 
running expenses without having recourse to extraor- 
dinary means at certain intervals, such as bazaars, 
picnics, etc. He accordingly reorganized the system 
of collecting seat money on Sundays and charged at 
certain Masses, which formerly were free. He 
helped, in this way to equalize the receipts with the 
ordinary expenses. This system proved so satis- 
factory that it has ever since been followed. Other 
activities initiated by him were the reorganization 
of the parish schools, and the encouragement of total 
abstinence. His management of the great bazaar of 
1895 surpassed anything of its kind in the history of 
the Holy Family Parish. The net proceeds totaled 
$22,000. 

He also reorganized the altar society, which was 
very much on the decline. It was he that organized 
the sanctuary society which has been such a boon to 
the church ever since. He also organized the small 
choirs that sing on Sundays, at the low Masses, and 



204 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

was engaged in many minor activities during his 
term as pastor. 

In all these activities of the rectors and first pas- 
tors, they were all ably seconded by the assistant 
pastors and several of the professors, especially the 
following: Rev. Fathers Leeson, A. O'Neill, F. Wein- 
man, F. Nussbaum, W. W. Hill, W. Poland, J. Con- 
don, J. Pahls, J. L. Setters, M. Van Agt, C. Lagae, 
P. Murphy, T. Chambers, E. Magevney, F. Moeller, 
J. M. Hayes, J. P. Hogan, E. Hanhauser, H. Basel- 
mans, F. J. Berberick, G. Hoeffer, P. M. Ponziglione, 
E. Kelly, P. Ward, M. Comely, J. J. Corbley, P. 
Mulconry, H. Calmer, A. A. Lambert, P. Coppinger, 
H, Meiners, M. Bronsgeest, A. K. Meyer, and J. 
Curran. 

The Coadjutor Brothers, who assisted in parish 
work during this period were: Brothers O'Neill 
and Durkin assistants to Father O'Neill in the 
schools. Brother John Murphy as porter in college 
and pastoral residence, Brother Mulkerins as 
sacristan. 



CHAPTER XI 
Beginning a New Century 

In the fall of 1897, Rev. M. P. Dowling, S. J., was 

transferred to Milwaukee, Wisconsin, as first pastor 

of the Jesuit Church there. He was suc- 

1897 ceeded by Rev. Eugene H. Brady, S. J., who 

1907 had been first pastor of St. Francis Xavier 
Church, Cincinnati, Ohio, for a number of 
years. 

Father Brady's health was precarious, and his su- 
perior thought that possibly a change of climate 
might be a means of restoration, but he was evidently 
too far gone, and, in the early part of the year 1898, 
he had to be relieved, when Rev. Augustin K. Meyer, 
S. J., was appointed in his place. 

Father Meyer was a man of great energy and ag- 
gressiveness, much like the beloved Father M. P. 
Dowling. He carried out and completed Father 
DoAvling's undertakings. It Avas during Father Mey- 
er's administration, that a new steam plant was in- 
stalled in the church, and a new boiler room built. 
The church sacristy and the altar boys ' quarters were 
decorated to surpass any former improvements of 
that nature. A system of electric lights was installed 
in the church, and several minor improvements 
made. This, of course, necessitated large expendi- 
tures, but Father Meyer was able to pay for all his 
improvements in a short time. 

205 



206 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Like some of his predecessors Father Meyer con- 
ducted a mammoth fair in the college gymnasium, 
with overflow quarters, in the Sodality hall and in 
tents in the yard. Electric illuminations made the 
surroundings a veritable fairyland. The net receipts, 




REV. EUGENE H. BRADY, S. J. 
Pastor, 1897-98 



REV. AUGUSTINE K. MEYER, 

S. J. Pastor, 1898-1903 



from Father Meyer's bazaar, aggregated $23,000, 
thus surpassing Father Dowling's greatest effort by 
about $500.00. 

As will be seen, Father Meyer was transferred to 
Cincinnati in the fall of 1903, where he died Decem- 
ber 27, 1904. 1 

Rev. John Pahls, S. J., succeeded Father James 

i Sketch, Chapter XVI. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 207 

F. X. Hoeffer, S. J., as rector in 1899. Father Pahls 
had been rector of Creighton College and Procurator 
at St. Ignatius College for several years during the 
eighties. He was, in turn, succeeded by Rev. Henry 
J. Dumbach, S. J., who will be mentioned more fully 
later. 

In the year 1900, St. Aloysius School was closed. 
The B. V. M. Sisters lived in a rented house opposite 
the church, and attended Mass in the basement chap- 
el, while their new St. Aloysius Convent was in 
course of construction. 

The centennial of the Ladies of the Sacred Heart 
was celebrated at Sacred Heart Convent, on Taylor 
Street, with due solemnity, on March 28, 1900. 

The grand old missionary, Father Paul M. Pon- 
ziglione, died in this year, as recorded more fully in 
another chapter. 2 

At the beginning of the school year, a part of the 
old pastoral residence, on the corner of May and 
Twelfth streets, was used as a school, to accommo- 
date the largely increased attendance. 

In the year 1901, an addition was made to St. 
Joseph's school, costing $5,000. The funds were 
raised by special subscription, and the entire school 
was designated as a memorial to Rev. Andrew 
O'JSTeill, S. J. In the following year there were en- 
rolled in this school 950 boys and girls up to the sixth 
grade. 

At this period in the state's history what were 
considered deleterious political doctrines were being 
advocated and published and had begun even to 
penetrate the legislative assemblies. Taking note of 

2 Sketch, Chapter XVL 



208 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

the injury such doctrines might cause, a meeting of 
the parishioners was called and held on Sunday, 
March 31, 1901, representing the 25,000 English- 
speaking members of the parish, and it was decided 
unanimously to endorse the protest of the confedera- 
tion of German-Catholic societies against the pro- 
posed socialistic, and otherwise vicious educational 
measures then pending in the legislature. This pro- 
test was put in writing and signed by John P. Hard- 
ing, M. J. Quill, James Trainor, John Keefe, Thomas 
A. Fitzgerald, Thomas McGourty, James Maher, 
John Boothman, John Adams and John M. Rogers, 
members of the committee representing the parish. 

The outcome of this protest was thus chronicled 
at the time : 

"AVhen the legislature of Illinois adjourned, without passing 
the free-text-book bill and the free-wagon-ride bill, there was 
a general sigh of relief from the Catholics throughout the state. 
While there is, now, a respite for two years, before the legislature 
convenes again, it will be wise, for Catholics, to form a more 
efficient method of organization for the future. Objectionable 
bills are constantly being brought forward, and if the Catholics 
are not awake to their own interests, they will some day find 
themselves weighed down by intolerable burdens. 

Many members of the state legislature showed great energy 
in defeating the obnoxious bills this year, notably Mr. Edward 
J. Glackin, representative from our district, the seventeenth. He 
was a member of the committee on education, and, by his watch- 
fulness, did much to bring about the victory. Our parishioners 
should remember this at the next election. 

We submit the letter, sent by the Holy Family Parish Defense 
Committee, to members of the legislature. The Defense Com- 
mittee deserve credit for their prompt and successful action : 

Chicago, April 24, 1905. 

Dear Sir: — Information has reached us, that certain bills are 
pending in the Illinois Legislature, which we consider injurious 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 209 

to the general welfare, and unfair to a large number of tax- 
payers in the state. Of this kind are the so-called free-wagon- 
ride bills, Senate bills number 394 and 200, and House bills 248 
and 87; and also the free-text-book bill, Senate 244. 

In our opinion, bills of this stamp, are socialistic in tendency, 
as they make the private expenses, of individuals, a public charge 
to the state. If free books and free rides to school are provided 
at the public expense, there is no reason why free clothes and 
free food should not follow next. 

These bills have been brought up periodically in the Legisla- 
ture, but hitherto they have always failed of being enacted into 
law. Besides the general obnoxious character of such legislation, 
it is folly to say that such commodities are really made free, as 
the people must be taxed in some form to pay for them. 

Moreover, there is a very large number of people in this state 
whose children attend private or parochial schools. Now, it is 
manifestly unfair that these people should have to pay for their 
own children's schooling and their books and transportation to 
school, while their neighbors' children get everything free at 
the public crib. ' ' 

We ask you accordingly, to use all your efforts to prevent un- 
fair legislation. We seek no favors from the state for ourselves, 
and we object to paying taxes for the benefit of others who are 
fully able to pay for themselves. We have the honor to re- 
main, 3 

Very respectfully yours, 
John Spillard, M. M'Nellis, Michael Dwyer, John Ander- 
son, John M. Rogers, E. J. Stubbs, James Higgins, 
John M'Gourty, John Lynch, J. Boothman. 

Holy Family Parish Defense Committee, Chicago. 

In the year 1903, a new steam-heating system was 
installed in the church. This system was direct, as 
distinguished from the old system, which was con- 
structed so as to deliver all the heat in the basement 
through coils laid for that purpose, and permit it to 
ascend to the church proper, through registers or 

3 Published in the Church Calendar. 



210 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

gratings in the floor. The old system was very objec- 
tionable, by reason of the faulty ventilation incident 
thereto. As the basement was crowded with throngs 
attending the three Masses celebrated there on Sun- 
day, the used air passed from the basement to the 
church. With the new improvement, the gratings 
were closed and the ventilation of the main audi- 
torium became faultless. 

Besides the change in the steam plant the church 
was also wired for electric lights and decorated more 
beautifully than ever before. A new carpet was laid 
in the sanctuary in the upper church, which, it is in- 
teresting to note, is in use today, and, after a lapse 
of twenty years, is, to all appearances, as fresh and 
beautiful as when laid. 

On December 15, 1902, Rev. George Hoeffer, S. J., 
died. Father Hoeffer had been the devoted and effi- 
cient director of the altar boys, from 1891 to 1895. 
More will be seen of Father Hoeffer's work in a 
future chapter. 4 

The 10th of January, 1903, marked another sad 
event in Holy Family and Sacred Heart Parishes. 
On that day, Rev. John L. Setters, S. J., who for 
thirty-four years had ministered in the parishes, 
died. A sketch of this devout priest will be found 
in the chapter on The Clergy. 

Confirmation Hay, Pentecost Sunday, May 31, 
1903, was one of great interest to Holy Family 
Parish. On that day, Most Reverend James Edward 
Quigley, H. H., Archbishop of Chicago, gave con- 
firmation to 371 children of the parish school. The 
importance of the occasion is indicated in the elab- 
orate program executed, as appears from the outline 

* Sketch, Chapter XVI. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 211 




MOST REVEREND JAMES EDWARD QUIGLEY, D. D. 
Second Archbishop of Chicago 



212 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



and instructions preserved. It was the first visit of 
Archbishop Quigley to Holy Family Parish, and 
was signalized by an extensive and brilliant parade. 
Each annual confirmation day is marked by special 
ceremonies and exercises, and usually by a parade, 
but this one was given special attention, for the pur- 
pose of welcoming Archbishop Quigley. The outline 
and instructions are as follows : 

CONFIRMATION DAY 

Sunday, May 31, 

1903 

The people of the 

HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Greet their Most Reverend Archbishop 

James E. Quigley, D. D. 

on the occasion of his first visit 

ORDER OF FORMATION 
Grand Marshal, Thomas Conley 
Aids to Grand Marshal 
Con. Ryan Thos. H. O'Brien Thos. F. Scully 

Wm. Ryan J. J. Cashion John J. O'Brien 

Thos. Rooney Miles J. Devine John P. Harding 

Ed. O'Connor James L. Horan Ed. J. McGeevey 

John McNellis Thos. Skahen John F. Shea 

John Dougherty Mark Hardin John Curran 

Con. Sullivan Thos. Morrissey T. F. Byrne 

D. Considine AVilliam Kearns John Rogers 

Patrick Garry John McEnery R. W. Raftis 

Dr. D. O'Shea James Maher 

FIRST DIVISION 
Platoon of Police 
Father Mathew's Band 
Uniformed Rank of Father Mathew 
Division Marshal Michael Heaney 
When the procession reaches the Sacred Heart Convent, where 
the children are waiting, the following organizations will fall 
in line after the Uniformed Rank of Father Mathew. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 213 

BAND, FIFE AND DRUM 

First Communion Boys and Girls — Holy Family School Boys 
and Girls 

Sacred Heart Convent School Boys and Girls 
St. Agnes School Guardian Angel School 

MARRIED MEN'S SODALITY BAND 
Carriages with Sodality Directors 
Married Men's Sodality Young Men's Sodality 

CARRIAGE 

St. Joseph's Sodality 

SECOND DIVISION 

Division Marshal James Cleary 

Holy Family Cadets Holy Family T. A. and B. Society 

Ancient Order Hibernians 
Division 1. Division 7. Division 8. Division 34 

THIRD DIVISION 

Catholic Order of Foresters 
Division Marshal, Thomas J. Johnson 
Aids to Division Marshal 
Thos. H. Cannon Philip J. McKenna Nicholas F. Fisher 
James McGinley Daniel Herlihy Chris 'Brien 

John T. Kerwin Thos. Considine Thos. Sheehy 

Jos. J. Cashion John E. Stephan 

GEARIN'S AMERICUS BAND 
Holy Family Court, No. 1 Sherman Court, No. 228 

HACKETT'S FIELD BAND 

St. Joseph's Court, No. 8 St. Ignatius Court, No. 18 

UNITED STATES JUNIORS' BAND 

St. Aloysius Court, No. 27. 
The Societies of First Division will assemble at Sodality Hall, 
right resting on Twelfth street. 

The Societies of Second Division will form on Eleventh street, 
right resting on May street. 

The Societies of Third Division will form on May street, right 
resting on Taylor street. 

At 1 :30 p. m., sharp, the procession will move. 
Societies should be at the rendezvous at 1 p. m. 



214 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




EIGHT EEV. PAUL P. RHODE, D. D. 
Bishop of Green Bay; student of St. Ignatius College 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 215 

LINE OF MARCH 

May street south to Twelfth street, west on Twelfth street to 
Laflin street, north on Laflin street to York street, west on 
York street to Ashland boulevard, north on Ashland boulevard 
to Monroe street, where His Grace, the Most Reverend Arch- 
bishop will meet the procession. Counter-marching on Ashland 
boulevard, south to Congress street, east on Congress street to 
Loomis street, south on Loomis street to Taylor street, east on 
Taylor street to May street, south on May street to Twelfth 
street, east on Twelfth street to Blue Island avenue, and then 
disperse. 

At St. Ignatius College His Grace Most Reverend Archbishop 
will review the parade. The Societies are requested not to dis- 
band until they have passed Blue Island avenue. 

OBSERVATIONS 

The children of Branch Schools of the Parish will be con- 
ducted to the general rendezvous of the children at Holy Family 
School, Morgan street, thence to the Sacred Heart School, where 
they will join the rest of the parade. 

All the organizations will march in columns of four. 

An escort of Mounted Park Police will meet the procession 
at Ashland boulevard and York street. 

At about 2 :30 p. m., the procession will meet His Grace at 
Monroe street and Ashland boulevard. His Carriage will pre- 
cede the children. 

A brief stop will be made at the Sacred Heart Convent, to 
enable the religious to pay their respects to the Most Reverend 
Archbishop. 

At St. Joseph's Home, offerings of flowers will be made by 
the Deaf and Dumb children. 

At Sodality Hall St. Monica's (Ladies) Society, for the Sup- 
pression of Intemperance, will make similar offerings. 

The head of the procession will halt east of the church, long 
enough to allow the children to enter the church. 

Before the parade has come to Twelfth street, the spectators 
are requested to vacate the sidewalk in front of the College and 
Church, so as to allow room for the Archbishop and Clergy to 
proceed to the Church. 



216 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

No carriages will be allowed in the procession except those for 
the Archbishop, the Clergy, the Press and Society Banners. 

All organizations will keep in line till they have passed the 
College, where the Archbishop will review the parade. 

After passing the College, the children headed by the band, 
will keep in line nntil they reach the Holy Family School. 

The larger girls, who are not to be confirmed, will keep in 
line after passing the college, and follow the Uniformed Rank 
of Father Mathew on Blue Island avenue, 11th and May streets, 
back to the church, where they will occupy the pews in the side 
aisles. 

At the conclusion of the parade, the Married Men's Sodality 
Band, stationed at the balcony of the College, will play, while 
the Most Rev. Archbishop and Clergy proceed to the church. 

A detail, from the Uniformed Rank of Father Mathew, will 
carry the processional canopy and escort the Archbishop from 
the College to the Church. 

About 4 o'clock confirmation will be administered in the 
Church. 

During the services in the Church, there will be congrega- 
tional singing by the children. The numbers will be as follows : 

"Before Confirmation— ' Come Holy Ghost.' 

During Confirmation — No. 1. — 'Mary How Sweet Is Thy 
Name.' No. 2.— ' Dear Heart Of My Saviour.' No. 3.— '0 
When Shall We With Angels Bright?' No. 4.— 'I Need Thee, 
Heart of Jesus.' No. 5.— 'One Hour With Thee.' No. 6.— 'What 
Could My Jesus Do More?' No. 7.— '0 Mother Blest.' No. 8.— 
'Wilt Thou Look Upon Me, Mother.' No. 9.— 'Benediction 
Hymns.' " 

A pleasing event of the year 1903, was the installa- 
tion of a beautiful art window, in the west transept 
of the church, the gift of the Young Ladies' Sodal- 
ity. This window contains a reproduction, in art 
glass, of the Immaculate Conception in the center, 
St. Aloysius at the right, and St. Agnes on the left 
in the lower panel, while in the upper panel appears 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 217 

a representation of the apparition of Our Lord to 
Saint Margaret Mary. 

In this year, Father Masterson reorganized the 
Young Men's Dramatic Club. 

A new gymnasium was opened up in the Sodality 
Hall, and a section of the old pastoral residence on 
Twelfth street was fitted up for the accommodation 
of the deaf mutes ; one part of the second floor for 
a chapel, where Mass was said and benediction given 
on certain Sundays, and another part of the first 
floor for club-room purposes. By this time, there 
were about 500 mutes who made use of these quar- 
ters for social and spiritual purposes. One of the 
Jesuit Fathers from the college was appointed Chap- 
lain for the mutes. Rev. F. A. Moeller, S. J., was 
their director for many years. In this year, the Sta- 
tions of the Cross in the church were renovated and 
varnished, and new stucco frames supplied. 5 

We have an echo of the terrible Iroquois Theater 
fire, in improvements made in Holy Family Church. 
Under the terms of a City Ordinance, passed after 
this catastrophe, and as the result of it, fire escapes 
were installed outside the gallery of the church, and 
a new stairway built, leading from the gallery on the 
inside. All doors were rehung, so as to open out- 
ward. Fire escapes were also constructed for all 
school buildings, entailing of course a very large 
expense. 

The death of Rev. Eugene H. Brady, S. J., former 
pastor of Holy Family Church, is chronicled in this 
year. A sketch of Father Brady will be found in the 
chapter on The Clergy. 

The year 1904, was notable as a jubilee year of the 

5 See full description of Stations of the Cross, Chapter XV. 



218 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Immaculate Conception. A great celebration was 
held in Holy Family Church, on December 8th, in 
the course, of which, the statue of the Blessed Virgin 
was carried in procession within the church. The 
clergy acolytes and Sodalists, in large numbers, made 
up the procession. The Married Men's Sodality led 
a procession of about 1,000 men, headed by their 
band and carrying banners to the Holy Name Cathe- 
dral for a jubilee visit. 

This year, the Married Ladies' Sodality donated 
a new art window for the east transept, representing 
Pope Pius IX, proclaiming St. Joseph patron of the 
Universal Church. The window also contained a 
representation of St. Joachim, St. Anne and St. 
Monica. 6 

In this same year, the Guardian Angel School, on 
Forquer street, was closed and sold, as most of the 
old settlers had moved away from that locality, and 
their places were taken by others. 

One item of interest comes down to us from 1905, 
viz., the installation of the great eight-day clock in 
the church tower. For many years, this monster 
time-piece was the regulator and arbiter of time dis- 
putes for the surrounding community. To avoid 
difficulty in reaching the clock, an electrical device is 
supplied, by means of which it may be wound. 

Early in the year 1906, a momentous extension of 
the Jesuit Order in Chicago was begun, in the pur- 
chase of twenty acres of ground on Sheridan Road 
and Devon avenue, fronting Lake Michigan, at a 
cost of $161,255, for a new educational institution. 
Upon this tract, as will be shown in more detail, was 
established Loyola University, and, soon after its 
purchase, the temporary St. Ignatius church was 

6 See full description of windows in Chapter XV. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 219 

erected. Further reference will be made to this im- 
portant development. 

In the same year, a church for the use of the Bel- 
gian people on the northwest side, was established 
through the efforts of Rev. J. B. De Schryver, S. J., 
of St. Ignatius College. Upon completion, the church 
was turned over to the Most Reverend Archbishop 
of Chicago, and Rev. J. E. De Vos was appointed 
first pastor. 

The San Francisco catastrophe, earthquake and 
fire, aroused the sympathies of all, and during the 
month of April, almost immediately after the earth- 
quake, a three-day bazaar was held to aid the victims. 
This bazaar netted $4,000, which was immediately 
forwarded to the Relief Committee in San Francisco. 

In the fall of 1906, beginning on October 6th an- 
other grand bazaar was held in the gymnasium of 
the college and the basement of the Sodality Hall, 
with overflow accommodations in tents on the college 
campus. The bazaar lasted about two weeks, and 
netted $19,000. To this day, there are many pleasant 
memories of the bazaar of 1906, the most lasting of 
which attaches to the Irish Village, of which the fol- 
lowing announcement was made : 

THE IRISH VILLAGE 

This popular attraction will be opened in tents in the college 
yard, under the auspices of the Married Men's Sodality. It 
will afford stage and auditorium for Irish music and amuse- 
ments, to which will be added the special features of an Irish 
dairy, and the provinces of Ireland, mapped out in counties, 
on genuine Irish soil. The ladies of St. Ignatius choir and 
20 boys, especially trained in Irish dancing, will help in the 
Irish village. 

All the Irish and Gaelic societies are invited to attend and 
lend assistance to make this the biggest and the best Irish 



220 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

village ever seen in Chicago. We specially count on the A. 0. H. 
divisions, which meet in the parish, and on the temperance 
societies and the Knights of Father Mathew. 

The following program will be carried on each evening : 

First — Instrumental music by expert artists on Irish and 
Scotch bagpipes, flute and violin. 

Second — Beautiful songs, both in Irish and English, by special 
artists. 

Third — Dancing of Irish dances, by 20 boys especially trained 
for the occasion. 

Fourth — Recitations. 

Fifth — Dancing of jigs and reels, and hornpipes by experts. 

Sixth — Visit Ireland in Chicago and walk again on Irish soil. 
Kiss the Blarney stone, and see the Irish art gallery. 

Seventh — Visit the Irish dairy, and take a cup of Irish tea or 
a glass of sweet buttermilk. 

Eighth — Visit the . Irish Souvenir booth, and take home one 
for yourself, or send one to your friends. Everything sold in 
this booth is guaranteed to be imported from Ireland, and every 
article bears the stamp of Irish importation. 

Ninth — With regard to 'Ireland in Chicago' and the 'Blarney 
Stone ' we have a notary public 's affidavit and the bill of lading, 
which will prove its genuineness, which documents will be ex- 
hibited so that everyone may see for himself. Moreover, the 
following gentlemen having examined the documents, testify to 
their genuineness: 

Chicago, Sept. 12, 1906. 

We, the undersigned, hereby certify, that we have examined 
the bills of lading and express bills for the shipment of one 
case of clay from Ireland to Holy Family Church, Chicago, 
and that the same show that the said case of clay was shipped 
by Rev. J. Walsh, S. J^ via Dublin, Ireland, on the 27th day 
of July A. D., 1906, by the Globe Express Limited to Liverpool, 
thence by the steamship Majestic to New York, thence by the 
West Shore railroad and the Michigan Central railroad to 
Chicago. 

Joseph P. Rafferty, 430 W. Twelfth St. 
Andrew Maguire, 561 W. Twelfth St. 
John T. McEnery, 651 W. Twelfth St. 
Thomas J. Ryan, 375 W. Twelfth St. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 221 

Note : This consists of Ireland being sectioned off into prov- 
inces, and counties, and Irish soil spread over it. 

The windows of Holy Family Church, placed in 
I860, were by this time expressive of the ravages of 
time, and, accordingly, in 1907, fifteen new art glass 
windows were put in to replace the old ones. 7 

During the year 1907, the temporary wooden 
church and residence combined was erected on 
Sheridan Road, near Devon avenue, for the new 
north side parish (St. Ignatius), at a cost of $12,000. 
Rev. Francis Kellinger, S. J., was appointed the first 
pastor. 

It is interesting again to glance at the spiritual 
fruits which for the year 1907 were as follows : 

Baptisms — Infants 445 

Adults 123 

Confessions 181,237 

Communions 159,200 

Marriages 66 

Last Sacraments administered to the sick. . 1,977 

Prepared for First Communion 463 

Confirmations 446 

Visits to Hospital 1,395 

Visits to Sick 2,992 

Sodalities 14 

Number in Sodality 4,500 

In League of Sacred Heart 8,580 

Pupils in Parish School 2,641 

Students in College 613 

7 Complete account, Chapter XV. 



CHAPTER XII 
The Golden Jubilee 

Half a century has passed since Father Damen 

and Bishop O 'Regan spoke the words that called 

Holy Family Church into being. Like a 

1907 panorama, the chief events, relating to the 
parish, have passed before the reader's 
gaze. The founder and many of his assistants and 
successors and, O, how many of the parishioners, 
have been called to their reward. Numerous changes 
have taken place, and territorially Holy Family 
Parish is but a fi action of the great scope of country 
embraced in the first allotment. Sad to say, that, 
while the population of the great metropolis has 
advanced by leaps and bounds, the adherents of the 
Faith, typified by Holy Family Church, have dimin- 
ished. Representatives of classes of the city's ac- 
quired population have swarmed into the neighbor- 
hood ; and, according to popular belief at least, made 
it less desirable. In consequence, many of the pio- 
neer families have removed to other parts of the city. 

The grand old church still stands, however, flanked 
by the college, itself almost venerable now, and sur- 
rounded by the schools and other institutions builded 
up in its palmier days. 

The clergy, no less zealous than those of the first 
decades, still give their lives unreservedly to the 
Master's work. 

222 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 223 




HIS HOLINESS POPE LEO XIII 
1878-1903 



224 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The gentle Sisters, laboring like their predeces- 
sors, yet guide the developing youth of the commu- 
nity, and the faithful laity remaining are not less de- 
voted to the parish than their predecessors. 

Fifty years have passed. The cycle deserves com- 
memoration and celebration. In anticipation of the 
due observance of the fiftieth anniversary, the church 
has put on holida}^ attire. The exterior, together 
with the woodwork and iron fittings and trimmings, 
have been renovated, painted and decorated; the 
lower church refloored, the new windows of which 
something has been said, and of which more is to 
follow, have replaced those that did service for OYer 
forty years ; the interior has been put in condition, 
and when the date of the Golden Jubilee, November 
10, 1907, arrives all is in readiness. 

Of course, the ceremonies begin with a Pontifical 
High Mass. In this, the most solemn function par- 
ticipated in by men on earth, the celebrant was Most 
Reverend James Edward Quigley, D. D., Archbishop 
of Chicago. The assistant priest was Very Reverend 
Rudolph J. Meyer, S. J. ; the deacons of honor were 
Reverend, afterwards Right Reverend, Edmund M. 
Dunne, D. D., and Reverend, afterwards Right Rev- 
erend, Msgr. Daniel J. Riordan. The deacon of the 
Mass was Rev. D. M. Thiele ; sub-deacon Rev. C. J. 
Quill. The Master of Ceremonies was Mr. Patrick 
J. Phillips, S. J. There were present in the sanctu- 
ary, besides others, Rev. Michael Corbett, S. J., Rev. 
Michael P. Dowling, S. J., Rev. Henry Bronsgeest, 
S. J., Rev. George A. Hoeffer, S. J., Rev. Alexander 
J. Burrowes, S. J., Rev. Augustin Mueller, D. D., 
S. J., Rev. J. A. Hynes and Rev. John LaMar. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 225 

The musical program was of course of exceptional 
merit, and is recorded as follows : 

1 ' Processional — ' Marche Religieuse ' Guilmant 

Kyrie — ' Messe Solennelle ' Gounod 

Gloria — (St. Cecelia) 
Sermon — 

Rev. P. C. Conway, Pastor St. Pins Church 

Credo — 'Angelis suis' Bheinberger 

(Baritone Solo and Chorus) 
Sanctus 

Benedictus — 'Messe Solennelle' Gounod 

Agnus Dei, Post Missam — 'Halleluia' Handel 

(From the Messiah)" 

Besides the Pontifical Mass, there were two other 
Masses celebrated on the 10th. Of one of these, Rev. 
J. J. Neenan, S. J., was celebrant; Rev. E. J. Han- 
hauser, S. J., Deacon; Rev. J. J. O'Meara, S. J., Sub- 
deacon, and Mr. Patrick J. Phillips, S. J., Master of 
Ceremonies. The musical program for this Mass was 
notable, and consisted of a processional from Dun- 
can; Psalms sung by the male choir, Gregorian; 
Magnificat, solo and chorus, Marzo. At this Mass, 
the windows were blessed by Rev. J. J. Neenan, S. 
J., after which there was Solemn Benediction. 

The other High Mass was celebrated by Rev. 
Henry Bronsgeest, S. J. ; Deacon, Rev. E. J. Kelly, 
S. J. ; sub-deacon, Rev. J. J. Neenan, S. J., and Mas- 
ter of Ceremonies, Mr. Patrick J. Phillips, S. J. 
The musical program included Saint-Saens, "Ave 
Verum" Tantum Ergo, Morrison; Laudate Do- 
minium Bart -Schmidt; Postlude, " Triumphal 
March,' ' Faulhes. 

The celebration was continued over to Monday, 
November 11th and Solemn High Mass was cele- 



226 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

brated at 9 a. m., with Rev. J. J. Neenan, S. J., as 
celebrant ; Deacon, Rev. Arthur Versavel, S. J. ; Sub- 
deacon, Rev. E. J. Hanhauser, S. J. ; and Master of 
Ceremonies, Mr. Patrick J. Phillips, S. J. The 
music of this Mass included Wallis' Processional; 
Kyrie from "Missa Salva Regina," Stehle; Credo 
from "Missa Salva Regina" Stehle; Offertory, Pro- 
strati ad Altare, Radford; Sanctus from " Missa 
Salva Regina," Stehle; Benedictus and Agnes Dei 
from Mass in C, Silas; Postlude Solemn March. 
Faidkes. 

On Monday exercises were held in the Sodality 
Hall, according to the following program : 

"1. Piano Duet — 'Jubilee Overture' Von Weber 

Katherine Reiling and Leo Mutter 

2. Introductory Address — Rev. J. J. Neenan, S. J. 

3. Quartette — 'My Love Is Like the Red, Red Rose'. . .Garrett 

Katherine Reiling, Anna C. Byrne, Wm. C. Reid 
and Robert J. McGuirk 

4. Address— Rev. M. J. Corbett, S. J. 

5. Violin Solo— Mary H. Carroll. 

6. Address — Rev. Henry Bronsgeest, S. J. 

7. Duet— 'The Lily of Killarney' Benedict 

William C. Reid and Robert J. McGuirk 

8. Address— Rev. Edwin Kelly, S. J. 

9. Trio — Hymn — 'St. Cecelia' Gounod 

For Violin, Piano and Organ 

10. Address— Rev. M. P. Dowling, S. J. 

11. Quartette (A) 'The Lass of Richmond Hill'. . . .Hock Leslie 

(B) 'Oh, Hush Thee, My Baby' Sullivan" 

The ceremonies and exercises were continued on 
Tuesday, November 12th, as indicated by the follow- 
ing, which is a reproduction of the program of that 
day: 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 227 

" SOLEMN HIGH MASS— 9 :00 A. M. 

Celebrant — Rev. Edwin Kelly, S. J. 
Deacon — Rev. Arthur Versavel, S. J. 
Sub-deacon — Rev. E. J. Hanhauser, S. J. 

Introit — Kyrie — From Requiem Mass Pizzi 

Dies Irae Pizzi 

Offertory — 'Pie Jesu' Gounod 

From 'Mors et Vita' 

Sanctus — Benedictus — Agnes Dei Pizzi 

Libera Me Domine Schidknecht 

Tuesday, November 12th, 8 p. m. 
Solemn Benediction 

SOLEMN HIGH MASS— 10 :00 A. M. 

Celebrant — Rev. H. J. Dumbach, S. J. 
Deacon — Rev. Henry Bronsgeest, S. J. 
Sub-deacon — Rev. J. J. O'Meara, S. J. 
Master of Ceremonies— Mr. Patrick J. Phillips, S. J. 

The Fathers of Holy Family Church and Saint Ignatius Col- 
lege were present in the Sanctuary. 

Prelude Bach 

Praise Ye the Lord ! Randdegger 

(Soprano Solo and Chorus) 
Sermon — Rev. John Masterson, S. J. 

Ave Verum Duboris 

Tantum Ergo Widor 

(Baritone Solo and Chorus) 
Te Deum — Sung by Choir and Congregation 

Halleluia Chorus — 'Deo Gratias' Handel 

(From the Messiah)" 

The principal sermon of the Golden Jubilee is in- 
teresting, as containing a satisfactory review of the 
history of the parish. It was preached by Rev. P. C. 
Conway, Pastor of St. Pius Church, and is here re- 
produced : 

"THE JUBILEE SERMON 

Most Reverend Archbishop, Reverend Fathers, Dear Brethren 
in Christ : The celebration of today is more than a parish event. 



228 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 229 

It is municipal, it is diocesan in its importance, because we 
commemorate fifty years of influence for good in our city and 
diocese. Yes, fifty years of real, lasting, supernatural, eternal 
good for our fathers and their children. Standing on this occa- 
sion of the Golden Jubilee, in the magnificent temple of the 
living God, in the presence of sacerdotal and episcopal dignity, 
surrounded by the ever faithful laity, and inspired by the 
grandeur of the gorgeous ceremonial of the grand old Church 
of Rome, I would pray that He, who cleansed Isaias' hallowed 
lips with fire, might mine inspire to say the word your hearts 
3 T earn to hear. 

'Let us praise men of renown and our fathers in their genera- 
tion. ' Let us, for a moment, still the noise, and the rumble, and 
the rattle, and the straining, and the puffing, and the screeching, 
and the scraping, and the jarring and the fuming, and the 
oozing, and the trampling, and the shouting, of the goings and 
the doings of the millions in this portion of the city, and look 
back fifty years, to the voice of the great Damen, encouraging, 
counseling, pleading, threatening, pardoning and praying for 
all — praying and pleading for the spirit of love of our neighbor, 
of country and of God to abound more and more. Oh, that 
voice that called the congregation of Holy Family, the voice that 
preached to our fathers in season and out of season, from the 
pulpit, in the confessional, in the schoolroom, in the home at 
the merry-makings of the marriage feast, and at the bedside of 
the dying; that voice that preached Christ's mercy, justice, and 
love from East to West, and North to South, has been silent to 
the ears of the body for many years, but it will ever ring out 
in convincing and comforting tones to the soul of the pioneers 
of this parish. Memory and tradition will not let him die for- 
ever amongst us; reverent gratitude will style him great and 
holy. 

In response to the request of Bishop 'Regan two Jesuit 
Fathers, Father Damen and Father Truyens, came, in 1857, to 
Chicago. Not the Chicago of today, with her two hundred 
churches, and six hundred clergy, w r ith her colleges and acad- 
emies, and convents and parochial schools, and homes and 
asylums, and hospitals, and (notwithstanding the blatant def- 
amation of our civic character), and virtuous people. They 



230 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

came to the Chicago of that day, young and struggling, but 
impetuous and ambitious, with all the restless energy that can 
be put into the sentiment — ' ' I "WILL. ' ' The city was small and 
poor ; the churches were few and poor ; the Catholics, especially 
in this locality, were few, poor in worldly riches, but rich in 
faith and generosity ; the priests were few, but zealous and hos- 
pitable. Saint Mary's Cathedral at Madison and Wabash; on 
the south side, Holy Cross; Saint Michael's on the north side; 
Saint Patrick's and Saint Francis on the west side, were the 
principal churches in the city. The great west and southwest 
sides had no streets, poor roads, plenty of prairie, a great deal 
of swamp, many mosquitoes in the summer, good skating in the 
winter, few people, and no church. 

The Jesuit Fathers came to Chicago to teach as well as to 
preach. Their mission was to supply a school, a church and a 
college to the growing youth of this rapidly increasing con- 
glomerate population. The prophetic eye of the great Jesuit, 
that saw the best in everything, rested upon the spot on which 
we now stand, and destined it to be the center of a mighty 
Catholicity. The events and the development from then, until 
now, eloquently tell the wisdom of his selection and his judgment. 

I will not attempt to relate the labors and the sacrifices amongst 
us of those early Jesuits, in caring for the spiritual wants of 
the west side stretching from Halsted street to the Desplaines 
river, and beyond on the west, and away to Brighton Park on 
the southwest. Many and long were the journeys made by those 
noble, self-sacrificing men, bearing Christ, with His mercy and 
His pardon, to some sorrowing soul. With all this, time was 
found to organize and to collect, to build churches, schools, and 
the glory of the parish and the city, Saint Ignatius College — 
'the home of many a noble youth, the shrine of purity.' True, 
as the Fathers say, they did not do all this alone. They could 
not do this without a magnificent co-operation of the splendid 
Catholic laity. What the zeal and faith of those early Catholic 
parishioners were, we read in the works which they have reared. 
Whether we see them digging the foundation of the first frame 
church early in 1857, completing it in July, and adding to it in 
August of the same year, opening a parochial school in Septem- 
ber, or again enlarging the church in 1858, finishing for dedica- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 231 

tion, this present magnificent church in 1860, or opening the 
school for the madames of the Sacred Heart on Taylor street, 
the same year, building the Morgan street school for the boys 
in 1864, and establishing the Sisters of Charity to teach the 
girls in 1867, completing those castle-like towers in 1874, or 
erecting those numerous halls and homes for clubs and sodalities 
and societies, I say, when we see them in their works, and know 
that their co-operation and their generosity were prompted by 
supernatural motives and inspired by faith, can we not say, to 
those grand pioneers of Catholicity in this parish, God bless you 
living and crown you dead. You loved the beauty of the House 
of God and the place where His glory dwelt. 'You fought the 
good fight; you kept the Faith; you deserve and will ever 
have our benediction.' 

I will not call the roll of glory and of sanctity of those in- 
trepid soldiers of Saint Ignatius, who so valiantly stood sentinels 
on the watch towers, heroically flung themselves into the breach, 
gallantly charged and routed the enemy, or compassionately 
bound up the wounds of the injured, and nursed them back to 
life and vigor; I will not call the names of those heroic souls, 
who gave, and are giving, their strength, their thought, their 
love, their lives for our fathers and ourselves. 

I fancy I hear you ask: 'Why not, on this day of Golden 
Jubilee, give honorable mention to the name of Damen, the 
founder and father of this parish and the great west side ; why 
not honor to this greatest apostle of all; why not mention 
Smarius, the defender of the Faith against all antagonists or 
Truyens and Beshor, the companions of Damen, or Setters, the 
ministering angel among you for thirty-five or forty years, or 
the O'Neills, Father and Brother, the pillar and groundwork 
of education, or Corbett, whom God blessed with vision of these 
fifty years, and is present to rejoice today. The rectors and 
pastors of the olden and the later times, why not particularly 
mention the learned and the beloved present rector, Father 
Dumbach, and the able and the zealous pastor, Father Neenan, 
both of whom have wrought so wisely and so well. The answer 
is, 'they do not want nor value my compliment nor man's glory.' 
'Omnia ad major em Dei Gloriam.' all for the greater honor and 
glory of God, is not a meaningless motto. To the Jesuit, the 



232 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




I ft »s _• eft w •§ 



IWh,- 



03 „ 



m? ..g£^J w 

'«? te ' c3 • ft 2 r^ 

. « . • g |^ a- 

H Jft|p££ w 

« 5 « . g . 
o C 3 ; Jh C ^ * 

o i_r fcj ^2 (_: *-• 



•5 ■§,« . >Oi 

C VeH . .RhlOh 
g^Wfr „-^^ft 

K i_j . . •• <-^ . „ 
PQOfttfft^Kft 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 233 

great principle that gives the same merit to the widow's mite 
as to the wealth of Dives, the Great Master bestows the same 
honor on the willing service of the lay brother, as on the learned 
disputation of the doctor. No, they are all the same to us today, 
esteemed, revered, beloved — great, because they are Jesuits; 
because they have given up father and mother, and sister and 
brother, and houses and lands; because they have given up 
their individuality and their will, and sealed this renunciation 
by the triple vow of obedience, chastity and poverty; because 
they, in imitation of Jesus Christ, whose name inspires their 
society, have vowed to lay down their lives for the greater honor 
and glory of God. True to their ideal, and faithful to their 
motto, they have blazed the onward march < f civilization and 
Christianity, with the falcon of Knight and the sword of the 
spirit, from the Convent of Montserrat, in which hung the sword 
and worldly ambitions of Ignatius, to the ice-fields of Alaska, 
that drink in, at this moment, the warm life blood of him, who 
was reared in this parish, educated in its schools, graduated by 
its college, and ordained to the priesthood of the Society of 
Jesus. They come down to this day, tired with the same zea ! . 
to spread the Kingdom of Christ, that sent forth St. Francis 
Xavier to the East and Marquette to the West. There is no 
need to lift up columns or shafts to immortalize the Jesuits of 
Chicago. Lift up your eyes and see. Let their works praise 
them in the gates. Let the parishes of St. Pius, St. Charles, 
St. Paul, Blessed Sacrament, St. Malachy, Our Lady of Sorrows, 
Presentation, St. Agatha, St. Finbar, St. Agnes, and a score of 
others, profess their filial gratitude ; let the thousands, and 
tens of thousands, of the faithful all over the city, who received 
from you the life of grace and habit of piety, praise your good- 
ness ; let the professional men of commerce, who drank in wisdom 
and virtue from this fountain of truth, encircle you with glory ; 
let those tender virgins, whose vocation to follow the Lamb in 
spotless purity you discovered and fostered, sing your alleluias ; 
let those hundred and more priests of your diocese, who have 
learned from you to study and to pray, bear testimony to your 
knowledge and your sanctity; let the more than one hundred 
Chicago boys, who are zealous priests of your Order, come back 
today and call you ' Blessed ' ; let all these and the chastity, the 



234 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

temperance, the honesty, the justice — in a word — the virtue in- 
spired, fostered and perfected by your missionaries, who went 
out from here to every part of our vast country, be your monu- 
ment and your Golden Glory. 

Your work is not yet done; your mission is but begun; the 
greatest harvest is.'yet to be sown and reaped amongst us. There 
is a new epoch upon us. The times have changed to grander 
and greater proportions. The spirit of commerce, ambition to 
compass all commodities and hold them in its trust; the state 
institutions constantly nursed by public appropriations, give in 
return a purely material, scientific and technical education. 
The denominational and privately endowed institutions send 
out, every year, hundreds of men and women, positivists in their 
knowledge of creatures, but skeptics in their thought of the 
Creator. Man seeks but himself, his ease, his comfort, his luxury, 
his ambition, his license in all things — the teaching popular with 
the majority would eliminate all restraint that hampers or 
hinders man's carnal license or indulgence. The watchword 
seems to be how much can I possess, not how much may I possess ; 
how long can I live, and not how well I may live; how much 
science I can give, not how much knowledge I can impart ; how 
much I can know of the world, not how much I can know of God; 
in a word, how well I can serve the world, not how well I can 
serve God, 

We do not ask you to do anything you have not done, we do 
not ask you to desert a single stronghold that you possess, we 
do not ask you to desert Holy Family Parish or Saint Ignatius 
College. No, they have been the cradle of your greatness in 
Chicago, and they are sacred. They will remain forever, and 
will continue to do the grand work they are doing today. But 
we ask you to order up reinforcements, to call out your re- 
serves, and charge and rout the cohorts of commercialism, 
of materialism, and godless idealism. We ask you to hold 
your light of knowledge on high, to warn against the treach- 
erous rocks and shoals of error and guide to the safe haven 
of Truth, Eternal Truth. You have done much in the past to 
preserve and maintain truth and morality by your schools and 
colleges. You have done much to fit the Catholic young man for 
society and the professions, but now, we ask you to do more, to 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 235 

£0 farther, to delve deeper, to reach higher, to extend out broader 
and broader, to give the glow of your illumination to the pro- 
fessions, and make chastely resplendent every faculty in the 
higher education that makes up real culture and true refinement. 

Under the patronage of St. Ignatius, you have laid the founda- 
tion of that which we trust will be the realization of our hopes. 
Gratefully mindful of your great service to the people, priests 
and bishops of Chicago in the past, I will say 'Go, in God's 
name, in this grand work and fear not.' The faithful laity will 
encourage and support you ; the clergy will strengthen you ; our 
great Archbishop will sustain you ; Saint Ignatius will intercede 
for you ; and God will give to you, for us, a university, second 
to none in our country. You have been with us fifty years, but 
you bear no mark of age. Eternal youth seems written on your 
brow, and may it be so until the end of time. 

And now, in this sacred place, on this happy day, we the 
laity, priests and Archbishop of the city and diocese, will say, 
' Continue in your zeal for the greater honor and glory of God. 
Our hearts will be with you, our thoughts will be of you, and 
our prayers will be for you. ' ' ' 

There was one organization that took a conspicu- 
ous part in the Golden Jubilee, and which, for this 
reason, as well as for the painstaking and persever- 
ing efforts exerted through long periods of years, 
merits special mention ; that is, the acolytes. An ap- 
preciative parishioner gives this account and esti- 
mate of the acolytes taking part in the Golden 
Jubilee : 

"Very much splendor was added to the grand ceremonies of 
our Golden Jubilee by the orderly appearance and devout be- 
havior of our many Acolytes. The boys exerted themselves to 
make their part of the celebration a success, and all who wit- 
nessed the procession, the Pontifical Mass and the closing serv- 
ices, know their endeavors were not in vain. The beautiful new 
cassocks and surplices were worn for the first time at the Solemn 
Pontifical Mass, and they attracted the admiration of all. Many 



236 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 237 

a kind and loving parent's heart was filled with joy at beholding 
his or her boy as one of God's favorites, and occupying a place 
in His holy Sanctuary. The officers of the Society were prepared 
for the extraordinary services, and performed their respective 
functions well and gracefully. George Anderson, the vice-presi- 
dent of the Acolythical Society, acted as assistant master of 
ceremonies. The other officers were: J. Foley, book-bearer; 
W. Eagan, Bishop's candle-bearer; W. Fenlon, mitre-bearer; 
J. Duffin, crosier-bearer; J. Ryan, Episcopal Cross; W. Lee and 
P. Callan, train-bearers; J. Donahue, processional cross-bearer; 
F. Cloman. T. Lee, F. Anglin, I. Doyle, Acolytes; G. Kelly, 
R. Brown, J. Heeney, J. Gallagher, Censer-bearers ; R. Hoberg, 
T. Cleary, J. Sullivan, C. Di Giovanni, boat-bearers ; T. Harring- 
ton and G. Kiley . leaders. On Monday, which was the children 's 
day, all the new candidates of the Society were allowed to make 
their first joyous appearance at Solemn Service. This event, no 
doubt, will be one of their happiest memories in years to come. 
The office of assistant master of ceremonies was filled by John 
J. Foley. Brother Mulkerins who has been with the altar boys 
for twenty-five years, declared that, during that time, never had 
the Acolytes appeared to such effect as during the Jubilee 
celebrations. This sentiment was also voiced by many of our 
old parishioners. 'All praise to the faithful Acolytes.' " 

A dinner is not an unusual feature of a celebra- 
tion of this character, but a dinner of the kind that 
was participated in during these Jubilee exercises, is 
by no means commonplace. The Jubilee dinner was 
thus described in one of the Chicago papers : 

"Deaf men sang, dumb men applauded, lame men danced and 
a state senator and a Chicago alderman acted as waiters at a 
dinner given to 200 elderly men and women at the Home of the 
Little Sisters of the Poor, Harrison and Throop streets. The 
dinner was the last of the exercises commemorating the fiftieth 
anniversary of the Holy Family Church. Rev. H. J. Dumbach, 
Rector of Saint Ignatius College, suggested the idea to Rev. J. F. 
Neenan, Pastor of the Holy Family Church, the members of the 
congregation defraying the expense. Turkey, beef and vege- 



238 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

tables in profusion formed the menu, with cigars for the men 
and candy for the ladies. Clad in long white aprons, State 
Senator E. J. Glackin, Aldermen Thomas F. Scully, William 
J. Onahan, John Anderson, Mr. Leo Mutter, Rev. H. J. Dum- 
bach, Rev. John F. Neenan, Rev. Edwin Kelly and Rev. Henry 
Wolters served the men and women. The percentage of crock- 
ery breakage was small, owing to the system inaugurated by 
Father Dumbach and Mr. Onahan. During dinner, Miss Mary 
H. Carrol entertained the old folks with stirring violin selections. 
The dinner over, Miss Anne Dunne, age 81, danced a reel with 
George Sheehan, aged 78. Fancy steps of sixty years ago were 
shown. Miss Dunne danced her partner out of breath, and then 
urged the violinist, R. J. McGuirk, to 'hurry up.' Father 
Dumbach and Father Kelly laughed heartily. Then John Kibein, 
aged 68, and James Edgeworth, aged 63, danced a reel and clog 
combination, in hot rivalry. Charles Jones, aged 70, deaf and 
dumb, instructed the violinist by signs to play for him. Al- 
though he could hear no sound, he double-shuffled the pigeon 
wing in perfect time while Miss Dunne, unable to withstand 
the strains, joined hands and danced with him. A paper ex- 
pressing the thanks of the inmates was read. Father Dumbach 
responded, and introduced Mr. Onahan, who related incidents 
connected with the founding of the first church of the Holy 
Family fifty years ago. Mr. Onahan, after some urging, sang, 
'You're Looking as Fresh as the Morn,' which he declared he 
sang no better half a century ago. Mr. Jones applauded. " — 
(Record-Herald.) 

Thus was marked the conclusion of half a century 
of earnest, honest endeavor, in the interest of the 
highest good. 

The data for this chapter are found in the daily newspaper of even date, 
the chtirch calendar and the parish archives. 



CHAPTER XIII 
Recent Years in the Parish 

One who attempts to compile a chronicle of re- 
cent events, must watch his step, as the popular 
phrase goes. Everything that has hap- 

1907 pened, concerning Holy Family Parish, 

1917 since the celebration of the Golden Jubilee, 
is known to all those who may be expected 
to read this book, and, with events fresh in the mem- 
ory of the reader, he will be able to detect every in- 
accuracy. However, current events, as time passes, 
become history. A rather loquacious writer says that 
history is only "pickled news," the news of the day 
put away and preserved, and brought out in future 
as history. 

In the year succeeding the Golden Jubilee, and, 
to be exact, on February 11, 1908, Rev. Alexander 
J. Burrowes, S. J., was appointed rector in succes- 
sion to Rev. Henry Dumbach, S. J., whose long term 
of eight years' service, in Holy Family Parish, then 
came to a close. 1 

Although the church and some of the other build- 
ings were put in fine order for the Golden Jubilee 
celebration, as we have seen, there were yet some 
necessary improvements to be made in the parish, 
such as the re-roofing of the Sodality Hall, and the 
re-flooring of the basement of the church. These 
were completed in the year 1908. 

1 Sketches of both Rectors in Chapter XIX. 
239 



240 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

It was in this year that the law school, first called 
the Lincoln College of Law, was established, with 
quarters in the Ashland Block. More will be re- 
corded of this successful institution. 2 

In the same year, a school for deaf mute children 
was established, at Crawford and Belmont avenues, 
the work being accomplished through the efforts of 




KEV. JOHN J. NEENAN, S. J. EEV. JOSEPH G. KENNEDY, 
Pastor, 1903-15 S. J. Pastor, 1915-23 

Rev. Ferdinand Moeller, S. J., with the loyal co-op- 
eration of the ladies of St. Joseph's Home, on May 
street, and many of its friends and patrons. For 
the benefit of this school, collections were taken up 
in several churches in the city, and a bazaar was held 

2 See Chapter XIX. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 241 

in the Coliseum. The Most Reverend Archbishop 
gave his earnest support to the project. The Ladies 
of the Immaculate Heait of Mary 'were placed in full 
management of the institution/ 5 

It was in this year also that Loyola Academy was 
erected at a cost of $110,000. on the grounds at 
Devon Avenue and Sheridan Road, recently acquired 
as before noted. This was the first of the group of 
buildings that now constitute the situs of Loyola 
University. 

The principal event in Holy Family Parish, in 
the year 1909, was the great bazaar which took place 
from October 4th to 9th. As illustrating the manner 
in which these bazaars were conducted, the list of 
"tables" and the gross receipts therefrom is here 
given. 

Married Ladies 7 Table $3,198.93 

Young Men's Table 3,002.20 

Parish Table 2,434.31 

School Table 2,302.20 

Young Ladies' Table 2,477.99 

Married Men's Table 1,609.70 

The Irish Village, under the auspices of 

Gaelic Club 1,449.70 

The Women's Catholic Order of Foresters 

Table 1,516.50 

The net receipts of this bazaar totaled $16,653.91. 

Touching only the outstanding events, it is remem- 
bered with grief that, on April 26, 1910, occurred the 
death of the venerable Father James M. Hayes, S. J., 

3 See full account in Chapter XXIII. 



242 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 





[1 mamammmm 
















L^ r-J « F* 1 


3 
^ 




m 






H 

O 

iz; 

M 

D 

o 

o 
o 




*if *' S^PP^Sffi^B 




l Mill 


o 

q 




^w| $!flK 









PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



243 



a sketch of whose holy and zealous work will be 
found in another chapter. 4 

In this year, too, another great building was 
erected on the Loyola University grounds. This 
second building, known as Cudahy Science Hall, was 
the gift of Mr. Michael Cudahy, and cost $110,000. 
Tn the same year, a medical college became affiliated 
to Loyola University. 5 




BOY CHOKISTERS, 191.3 
Organized in 1910 



A pleasing event in this year's activities was the 
organization of the Boy Choristers. 

Members of Holy Family Parish were grieved, on 



« Chapter XVI. 
5 See Chapter XIX. 



244 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

receipt of news of the death of Rev. Thomas Fitz- 
gerald, S. J., former rector, which occurred on De- 
cember 11, 1910, at Florissant, Missouri. 

On the 3rd of January, 1911, Rev. Hubert Peters, 
S. J., died. 

Beginning with the new year, changes were made 
in the services, and the Masses on Sunday, in the 
upper church, were timed as follows : five, six, seven, 
eight, nine, ten and eleven o'clock; a Mass for the 
children in the basement at 8:30. Aside from the 
children's Mass there were no Masses in the base- 
ment of the chapel from that time forward as, in the 
judgment of the pastor, the number in attendance 
did not justify further continuance. 

From this year the boys' choir sang High Mass, 
together with the regular male choir; the Greg- 
orian music only was used. 

At the beginning of 1912, Rev. Alexander J. Bur- 
rowes, S. J., was transferred to St. Louis University, 
and Rev. John L. Mathery, S. J., was, on February 
3rd, installed in his place as President of Loyola 
University. 

Two items of improvements are noted for this 
year : In July the new art windows were set in the 
Young Ladies' Chapel in Sodality Hall, and new 
stone steps leading to the front entrance of the 
church were supplied. 

The Catholic Instruction League was founded in 
Chicago in 1912, by Rev. John M. Lyons, S. J. It 
has since been extended to a score of archdioceses and 
dioceses in the United States and, in a measure, to 
a number of dioceses in other countries. The C. I. 
L., has already been instrumental in giving religious 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 245 

instruction to some 100,000 Catholic public school 
children and young people, and the movement is 
steadily gaining. 

The main object of the League, is the instruction 
in Christian Doctrine of Catholic children, whom the 
parochial schools cannot reach, of working boys and 
girls, and even adults who are in need of instruction. 
The League, likewise, has as one of its purposes the 
starting of Study Clubs for the gaining of a more 
thorough and more practical knowledge of the tenets 
and practices of the Catholic Religion. Lastly, the 
building up of a system of Catholic Vacation Schools, 
a necessity which is each year becoming more urgent. 

The secondary object is to provide, as far as pos- 
sible, wholesome indoor and outdoor recreation for 
our young people, and thus safeguard their morals. 

The League's method of aiding in the instruction 
of Catholic public school children (about 2,000,000 
in number) is the establishing, in suitable locations, 
of many thousands of " Catechism or Instruction 
Centers." The children are gathered, once or twice 
a week, at these centers and given religious instruc- 
tion by zealous lay teachers — under the direction of 
the Reverend Pastors. 

The number of children instructed during the past 
year in the League's 33 present Chicago Centers 
aggregates over 5,000. The League, during the 
eleven years of its existence, has given religious 
instruction to some 25,000 Catholic public school chil- 
dren and young people in 75 different locations in 
and about Chicago. It has also established a number 
of Centers in other locations of the archdiocese. The 
League has likewise conducted, each year, a number 



246 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of Vacation Schools, Evening Classes, Christmas 
Celebrations, Summer Outings and Normal Classes 
for Catechists. 

From Chicago the C. I. L., has been extended, as 
has been said, year after year, to twenty other arch- 
dioceses and dioceses of the United States. It would 
take many pages even briefly to describe this exten- 
sion, but space allows onty two brief citations. One 
of them is from the land of pines; the other from 
a region of perennial flowers and palms. 

"Miami, Pla., April, 1922. 

The Catholic Instruction League was organized in Miami, 
Fla., in August, 1921. Its success may be gathered from the 
following sent by Mrs. Josephine Pratt, president of the Miami, 
Pla., C. I. L. 
' Reverend and dear Father : — 

I am glad our efforts in carrying on the Instruction League 
work are meeting with remarkable success. One day we had 
eight for baptism. ' ' 

Enclosed with the president's letter, was a detailed 
and impressive report of the nine " Catechism Cen- 
ters" in Miami and vicinity, prepared by Mrs. Cora 
Bains, general superintendent of the C. I. L. work. 

"Duluth, Minn., June 15, 1916. 
We have six centers, with seventeen lay teachers, whose zeal 
is very edifying. The writer assembles the teachers twice a 
month and explains the Catechism to them. 

With best wishes for the continued success of the League, 
I am, 

Sincerely yours, 

P. J. Lydon, 
Diocesan Director of C. I. L. " 

And a year later, a lady prominent in the work of 
the Duluth C. I. L. wrote : 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



247 



^m r t 



3 

CO 

w 
d 

Q 

►3 

M 

o 

f 

> 
d 

H 
Q 

O 

d 



- 

GO 
O 

o 
K 
K 
d 

H 
Q 
► 

-3 
3D 









<# I-? 












248 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

"Duluth, Minn., June 1, 1917. 
Rev. John Lyons, 

Dear Father: — We opened up four new centers this spring, 
and enrolled all the six-year-olds, so that they can make their 
First Communion at 7. 

Yours respectfully, 

Adelaide Kuchli. ' ' 6 

In the year 1913, the great tower was repainted 
and decorated. 

Another death, that of Rev. Edward Gleason, S. 
J., occurring October 22nd, is chronicled. 7 

This year, Loyola University purchased the Ben- 
nett Medical College, and incorporated it in the Uni- 
versity. 

The Acolythical Society, of which frequent men- 
tion has been made, celebrated its Golden Jubilee, 
on November 16, 1913. 8 

In the year 1914, a bazaar was held, but, since it 
netted but $6,000, the chronicles term it a' "minor 
bazaar." The proceedings took place in one of the 
large rooms of the Sodality Hall. 

On account of the increase in the staff of profes- 
sors in the university and its various departments, 
the college erected four new altars in the basement, 
occupying all of the west transept. These altars 
were dedicated to Saints Aloysius, Stanislaus, Berch- 
mans and Alphonsus, respectively. 

On September 27, 1914, the Rev. Constantine C. 
Lagae, S. J., celebrated his Golden Jubilee of reli- 
gious life in the Society. 9 

The year 1915, was marked by the death of the 

« From the archives of the society. 

7 See Chapter XVI. 

s See complete account of the Acolythical Society in Chapter XXI. 

a See Sketch, Chapter XVI. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 249 

Most Reverend Archbishop James Edward Quigley. 
During the funeral period, the church was draped 
interiorly and exteriorly. Solemn services were con- 
ducted in the church for the spiritual repose of the 
lamented Archbishop. 10 

With the beginning of the school year of 1915, 
Rev. John J. ISTeenan, S. J., pastor of the church 
since the Pall of 1903, was transferred to the pastor- 
ate of St. Francis Xavier Church, Cincinnati, Ohio. 
Father ISTeenan 's term was the longest of any of the 
first pastors, with the exception of the great founder, 
Father Damen. He was a very gentle and amiable 
man, loved and revered by every one for his zeal and 
his many priestly qualities. His kindness and pa- 
tience in the confessional, brought penitents to him 
from far and near, and many were the regrets at his 
departure. A farewell reception was tendered him 
in the Sodality Hall, by the various sodalities and 
ushers of the church. The parish, at large, was rep- 
resented in a very appropriate and touching address 
by Count William J. Onahan, and remarks by Judge 
Thomas F. Scully. The sodalities and ushers' or- 
ganization presented the departing pastor a very 
substantial gift, in testimony of their gratitude, love 
and affection. 

Rev. Joseph Gr. Kennedy, S. J., succeeded Father 
Neenan as pastor in 1915, and has continued to min- 
ister to the parish to the present writing, thus out- 
ranking all his predecessors, except Fathers ISTeenan 
and Damen for length of service. 11 

In 1916, the Novena of Grace to St. Francis Xavier 

10 See account of funeral in Archdiocese of Chicago, Antecedents and 
Development, p. 81 et seq. 
» See sketch, Chapter XVI. 



250 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

was notable. This novena has been neid m tne 
church for many years, and consists of prayers after 
the eight o'clock Mass every morning, and in the 
evening, whenever services are held in the church. 
In 1916, there was a new departure from the custom, 
and the novena was made a very solemn ceremony, 
having a special preacher and solemn services every 
night. The first of these preachers was the Rev. 
M. F. McNulty, S. J. This custom, inaugurated in 
1916, has been continued annually to the present. 
The attendance at these novenas is large, with many 
people from outside the parish present. 

In this year Twelfth street, renamed Roosevelt 
Road, was widened, and the work completed at a 
cost to the church and college in the shape of a spe- 
cial assessment, of $9,000. 

In the year 1916, a demented man attempted to 
burn the Sodality Hall by starting a fire in an ob- 
scure corner of the building. The damage was very 
slight as the fire was discovered in time to prevent 
its spread. 

In this year, provisions were made for a large 
number of Italian children to be admitted to the 
parish schools. The Most Reverend Archbishop paid 
the salaries of four Sisters, and the congregation of 
the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, 
donated the services of two Sisters, while the parish 
gave the use of the school and the fuel gratis. 

Early in the summer of 1916, the men of the parish, 
married and single, organized what they styled a 
" Booster Club," having for its primary object the 
encouragement of baseball clubs. The organization 
branched out gradually into a proponent of any and 
all projects undertaken, with the approval of the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 251 

pastors. The first officers of the club were: Presi- 
dent, John P. McGourty; Secretary, Edward L. 
Hardyman ; Treasurer, Thomas Croghau. This club 
flourished, until the organization of the Holy Name 
Society, in May, 1918, when it w 7 as practically ab- 
sorbed or merged into that organization. 12 

On October 23rd to 28th a Fall festival was held 
in Sodality Hall, the results of which are recorded as 
follows : 

Married Ladies' Table $1,564.13 

Gaelic Clubs' Table 1.500.57 

Married Men's Table 1,131.50 

Young Ladies' Table U26.70 

Young Men's Table 1,019.21 

Children's Table. 715.08 

L. C. B. A. Branch 751 109.94 

Sundry receipts 153.95 

Although this decade, 1907-1917, developed nothing 
extraordinary, it will be interesting to pass over, in 
review, these years which are still fresh in the mem- 
ory of the adults of this generation. 

With the dying echoes of the Jubilee, events in 
the parish subsided to normal and, as has been seen, 
perhaps the most important development during the 
period was the establishment of the Jesuits on the 
North side, with the building of Loyola Academy, St. 
Ignatius Church, the opening of the new school, the 
medical department and the foundation of Loyola 
University. This w r as the fulfillment of the dream 
of the great founder, Father Damen, who ardently 
desired a Jesuit University here in Chicago that 
would rank with any of those in America or Europe, 

12 Members of the parish cherish a kindly regard for the "Booster's 
Club. ' ' 



252 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

and especially parallel that of Georgetown, D. C. 
The establishment of the great Holy Family Parish 
was but a part of Father Damen's original plan, 
which was rounded out by the opening of Loyola 
University. 

The altar bo^vs' jubilee brought out in clear relief 
the magnitude of glorious service rendered by a long 
line of faithful acolytes during half a century. This 
jubilee service was one of the most notable of its 
kind that has occurred in any church in America. 

The widening of Twelfth street, from Michigan 
avenue to Ashland boulevard, marks an epoch in 
improvements on the West side, even if it did entail 
an expenditure of $9,000 on the church and college. 

During this period, the devoted clergy included 
the Rev. Alexander J. Burrowes, S. J., who became 
rector in succession to Father Dumbach. Father Bur- 
rowes, as a young scholastic, taught in St. Ignatius 
college in the eighties. He introduced, amongst the 
school children, the singing of the "Our Father" 
and many other prayers during their Mass on Sun- 
days. These prayers were set to music, and sung 
with great devotion, by the children for several years. 
He, in turn, was succeeded by the Rev. John L. Math- 
ery, in 1912. Father Mathery had been minister in St. 
Ignatius College for several years previous, so that 
he was familiar with the workings and various details 
of the pastorship. He was a man of wonderful zeal 
and charity. He baptized the infants on Sundays 
and Thursdays, and filled the place of any one of 
the pastors who might be absent by going to the con- 
fessional and even attending to sick calls in cases 
of emergency. The pastors who cooperated with the 
first pastor, from 1907 to 1915, were: Rev. Edward 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



25:* 




254 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Gleason, S. J., who gave Sunday evening lectures in 
the church for several years; Rev. E. D. Kelly, S. J., 
a sketch of each of whom will be found in another 
chapter; Rev. F. Moeller, S. J., who was deeply in- 
terested in the deaf mutes, and who was very helpful 
in the building of the deaf mutes school, at Crawford 
and Belmont avenues. He was also director of the 
Young Ladies' Sodality for several years. Rev. Ed- 
ward Hanhauser, S. J., had been assistant pastor for 
several years. He was transferred to St. Ignatius 
Church on the North side, where he still labors zeal- 
ously. Rev. Henry Wolters, S. J., was one of the 
assistants, but his principal work at this time was 
that of Chaplain of Dunning Asylum. Others, as has 
been seen, were: Rev. Henry Dumbach, S. J., Rev. 
James McCarthy, S. J., Rev. John Masterson, S. J., 
and Rev. John M. Lyons, S. J., of whom sketches 
will be found in another chapter. Father Lyons was 
confessor in the church also chaplain in the Cook 
County Hospital, and assistant pastor. Rev. M. F. 
McNulty, S. J., had charge of the Married Men's So- 
dality, and Rev. Thomas Nolan, S. J., had charge 
of the Young Men's Sodality. Rev. John Hogan, S. 
J., heard confessions in the church. There were also 
Rev. Hubert Peters, and Rev. James M. Hayes, of 
whom sketches will be found in another chapter. 
Rev. John Van Acken, S. J., was one of the assist- 
ants for several years. Rev. John Kokenge heard 
confessions in the church and served as chaplain in 
the Cook County Hospital. Rev. Thomas Treacy, 
S. J., Rev. Constantine Lagae, S. J., and Rev. James 
Dowling, S. J., were also assistants. Mr. P. J. Phil- 
lips, S. J., had charge of the altar boys for some time, 
and was succeeded, in this capacity, by Rev. John 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 255 

Weiand, who, in turn, was succeeded by Rev. Wil- 
liam Trentman, who continued in charge of the boys, 
from 1911 to 1921. Rev. Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J., 
and Rev. Eugene Kieffer, S. J., heard confessions in 
the church for some time, and, at the same time, acted 
as chaplains at the Cook County Hospital. 

In concluding this chapter, it would not be out of 
place to make passing reference to the priest who 
presided over the destinies of the Holy Family 
Parish for tw 7 elve long years, Rev. John J. Neenan, 
S. J. 

On Wednesday evening, August 18th, a farewell 
reception was tendered Father Neenan in the Sodal- 
ity Hall, Eleventh and May streets. The hall was 
crowded to its capacity, with sodalists and former 
parishioners, from the north, south and west sides, 
as well as from the parish itself. On the stage, which 
was beautifully set with palms and flowers, Rev. 
John L. Mathery, S. J., President of the Loyola Uni- 
versity, who presided, Judge Thomas F. Scully and 
several assistant pastors, together with the prefects 
of several sodalities occupied seats. A very enter- 
taining program of music, speeches and songs was 
rendered. The large audience evidenced the high 
esteem in which Father Neenan was held, by the 
people of Holy Family Parish, who came to wish 
him God speed, at his departure for another field 
of labor, in the Vineyard of the Lord, viz., St. 
Francis Xavier Church, Cincinnati, Ohio. Ad- 
dresses were made by the Rev. John L. Mathery, S. J., 
Rector of St. Ignatius College, and, representing the 
parish at large, by Judge Thomas F. Scully, Judge 
of the County Court. Each Sodality and the ushers 
had a very substantial gift to offer, in token of their 



256 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

gratitude, love and affection. All bespoke the praise 
of Father Neenan — his kindness of heart, his gentle- 
ness, his arduous labors in ministering to the spir- 
itual needs of his people, his attention to the sick and 
dying, his devotion to the poor, his zeal in the con- 
fessional, his interest in the schools and children of 
the parish, and the care of the sodalities and various 
societies. In his reply, Father Neenan thanked his 
people for their many marks of love and affection, 
and generous cooperation in the various undertak- 
ings for the benefit of the parish. It was consoling 
to him, at his departure, to know that his people were 
to be under the guidance and direction of the zealous 
and efficient Father Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J., of 
Kansas City, who was to succeed him as pastor of 
Holy Family Parish. 13 

13 See sketches, Chapter XVI. 



CHAPTER XIV 

The War Period and Late Interesting Events 

The year 1917 saw not only the priests and people 

of Holy Family Parish, but virtually the peoples of 

all the world, absorbed in the most tre- 

1917 mendous earthly conflict ever known. God- 

1923 lessness, greed and hate, in combination, had 
set one-half of the people of the world 
against the other. Needless to say, that the prayers 
of priests and people of Holy Family Parish were 
for peace. Following the hopes and aspirations of 
the Father of Christendom; and in accord with the 
American Hierarchy, the bishops and pastors of the 
Church, the earnest hope for peace was maintained 
as long as such a hope was tenable, but once our 
country spoke, through the medium of the President 
and the Congress, there was but one sentiment in the 
parish, and that was " after God our country.' ' A 
detailed story of the war would be inappropriate here, 
but, as we follow the annals of the parish, the rela- 
tion of the war to the priests and people of the parish 
will be developed. 

On the very day the war was declared, viz., Friday, 
April 6, 1917, a devotion of singular piety and solem- 
nity was introduced in Holy Family Church. It was 
the ceremony of the Tre Ore. As conducted on this 
occasion, the Tre Ore was one of the most impressive 
devotions ever seen in Holy Family Church. The 

257 



258 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

spacious church was filled from the top gallery to the 
communion railing, 400 additional seats having been 
added. The sermon on this occasion, which was a 
most eloquent one, was preached by Rev. John A. 
McC]ory, S. J. ; Rev. John B. Furay, S. J., at the time 
President of Loyola University, assisted in the cere- 
monies. This devotion has been practiced yearly, and 
so numerous are the persons wishing to attend, that 
admission is by ticket only. Several other churches 
have taken up the devotion since that time with grati- 
fying results. 1 

An event, city-wide, and indeed co-extensive with 
the Archdiocese, occurred in the year 1917, which 
constitutes the greatest step forward in charity ad- 
ministration yet taken. Reference is had to the 
organization of the Associated Catholic Charities, one 
of the earliest acts of His Grace, the Most Reverend 
George W. Mundelein, D. D., upon his arrival in the 
Archdiocese. Prior to the establishment of the Asso- 
ciated Catholic Charities, it was customary and, in- 
deed, necessary, in the absence of any other arrange- 
ment, for the St. Vincent de Paul and other chari- 
table societies, as well as the several charitable insti- 
tutions, to solicit funds for carrying on their work. 
Under such a system there were many duplications, — 
those who were well known being called upon by every 
separate organization. The plan for the new organi- 
zation was to make one annual collection, covering 
the funds into a single treasury, to be administered 
and distributed from a central office. Under this 
plan, assurance could be given, that repeated calls 
would not be made, but when a contribution had been 

1 These ceremonies are especially beautiful and impressive by reason of 
the remarkable music and the studied orations. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 259 




MOST REVEREND GEORGE WILLIAM MUNDELETN, D. D 
Present Archbishop of Chicago 



260 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

made, the contributor was under no further obligation 
with respect to Catholic charities. Some of the most 
prominent Catholic laymen in the archdiocese were 
selected as directors and officers of the central organi- 
zation, the first staff of officers being D. F. Kelly, 
President; Edward N. Hurley, Vice-President; 
Joseph P. Connery, Secretary; Louis B. Clark, 
Treasurer; Robert M. Sweitzer, Vice-President and 
Manager. 

The central organization being completed, the 
parishes next organized. The first committee ap- 
pointed by the pastor of Holy Family Church, to 
conduct the operations of the Associated Catholic 
Charities in the parish, were Thomas J. Condon, 
Chairman; N". J. Boswell, T. A. Brougham, Paul 
Brown, William J. Byrne, M. E. Clark, M. Dwyer, 
D. J. Finnegan, James E. Haley, J. J. Hanrahan, 
J. P. Hardyman, M. F. Keough, M. P. Lardner, P. 
O'Brien, P. J. O'Donnell, John Quigley, Ed. Ryan, 
Henry Sloan and Miles Walsh. This committee was 
charged with the collection in the parish of funds for 
the Associated Catholic Charities, and a similar com- 
mittee has been appointed annually. The collection, 
following the habit which has grown up with refer- 
ence to public collections, has been known as the Asso- 
ciated Catholic Charities Drive. 2 

It is remembered that events moved swiftly, in 
connection with the war, during the year 1917. The 
first activities, of course, had to do with the enroll- 
ment and enlistment of the young men, and while con- 
fusion only was observable, during the period of 
enlistment, the conclusion of the war made it possible 

2 At each succeeding collection the total of funds raised has been in- 
creased and the charity work has been eminently successful. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 261 

to learn something of the details of actual service in 
the war. From available records it appears that the 
following priests, several of whom were former altar 
boys of Holy Family Church, became War Chap- 
lains: viz., Rev. John Mortell, S. J., Rev. William 
Corboy, S. J., Rev. William A. Murphy, D. D., Rev. 
Joseph M. Heeney, Rev. Ignatius Hamill, S. J., and 
Rev. William Kane, S. J. 

The parish honors four Gold Stars, viz., William 
Brougham, John Burns, Lester Hickey and John 
Hogan. The service flag unfurled in the church, on 
October 13, 1918, with appropriate ceremonies, con- 
tains 158 names : 

Among those in the service were several officers, 
and it is gratifying that these young men served with 
distinction. 

During the entire period of the war the parish par- 
ticipated in all of the drives for liberty bonds for the 
Red Cross, for the Knights of Columbus and other 
welfare funds. As is well known, His Grace, the 
Archbishop urged prompt and effective action upon 
all the parishes, and Holy Family responded gratify- 
ingly to all calls. 3 

The Red Cross work, for the parish, was particu- 
larly notable. The unit, organized in the parish, was 
known as Loyola Auxiliary, No. 339, of the American 
Red Cross. This active unit was formed, with the 
consent and approval of the pastor, on October 2, 
1917, under the direction of Miss Delia Birmingham. 
The officers selected were : Chairman, Delia Birming- 
ham, Secretary, Ella Garvey, Treasurer, Mrs. Wil- 
liam Burke ; Chairmen of Sewing, Misses Mary Mc- 

s Holy Family Parish as well as all the parishes in the Archdiocese was 
thoroughly organized for war work. 



5Mp Jf amtlp Cfjurcf) g>erbice Jf lag 

Dedicated Oct. 13, 1918, at 10:30 a. m. 



GOLD STARS 

William Brougham 
John Burns 
Lester Hickey 
John Hogan 



Adduce, Frank 
Agin, Anton G. 
Bachley, Edw.J. 
Barden, Thos. 
Barry, Daniel J . 
Behan, James A. 
Behan, Jos. A. 
Berg, Louis J. 
Berg, William D. 
Bolton, Francis 
Bowler, Jerry A. 
Brennan, Gerald 
Brennan, John 
Brennan, Joseph 
Brougham, Dennis I . 
Burke, Thomas J . 
Burke, Patrick 
Burke, Wm. J. 
Burns, James A. 
Burns, Robert J . 
Butterly, Edw. 
Butterly, Matt. 
Callahan, Michael J. 
Carroll, Wm. 
Carberry, Wm. 
Cloman, Frank W. 
Coakley, J. H. 
Collier, John E. 
Cook, Wm. J. 
Craney, Louis 
Chambers, Cecil B. 
Coty, George L. 
Cribari, Frank 
Cummings, Charles 
Van Dinther, John F. 
Donohue, Humphrey 
Donohue, James 
Donohue, Michael 
Donohue, John 
Doody, James P. 
Down, Thomas 
Downs, Williams 
Doyle, Frank J. 
Duffy, Owen 
Duffy, Walter E. 
Duggan, Bart 



Roll of Honor 

Dunn, William 
Dunne, Wm. 
Dwyer, Raymond J. 
Ferris, William 
Fitzmaurice, John A. 
Fitzsimmons, Robt. C. 
Flynn, Robert 
Foote, Edw. 
Frill, Wm. 
Gallagher, John H. 
Gallicher, Carmon 
Gormanly, Matthew 
Haffner, Walter P. 
Hanlon, William W. 
Hardyman, Edward 
Hardyman, Joseph 
Haughey, Frank J . 
Hazdra, James 
Hazdra, Joseph 
Hinchey, John 
Hogan, John 
Kane, James 
Kehoe, James 
Kelly, Edward 
Kelly, P. J. 
Kelly, Langan R. 
Kelly, P. J. 
Keough, Thomas 
Kersky, Joseph 
King, John 
Klein, Fred J. 
Kloman, Matthew J. 
Kranz, F. J . 
Laurie, Rocco M. 
La Velle, John 
La Velle, Patrick 
Lawler, William 
Lee, Edward J . 
Leon, Tony 
Lisewski, A. 
Lomnaseau 
Lydon, James P. 
Maher, Ignatius 
Mahoney, Timothy 
Marsh, Thomas 
Martin Joseph 
Mayerhofer, George 
McCormick, John 
McGinn is, Thomas A. 
McGovern, John 
McLaughlin, Luke J. 
McManus, 
McNamara, Thomas 
McQueeny, John J. 
Meilinowski, Frank 



Milano, William J . 
Morrison, Frank 
Mulroe, Michael 
Murphy, Daniel 
Murphy, Edward 
Murphy, John E. 
Murphy, Timothy 
Murrin, Howard M. 
Murrin, J. F. 
Noonan, John T. 
O'Connell, Edward 
O'Donnell, James 
O'Donnell; Patrick 
O'Donnell, William 
O'Donnell, Thos. 
0' Grady, Michael 
O'Halloran, Frank C. 
O'Neil, Benjamin Jos. 
O'Rourke, John James 
Patzelo, Elmer 
Petrullo, Caesar 
Pfeifer, Paul S. 
Prohaska, Frank 
Quan, Thomas 
Quailey, Daniel J. 
Quirk, Frank J. 
Rome, Michael 
Reilly, Charles J. 
Ryan, James J. 
Savage', Thomas J . 
Scanlon, Raymond P. 
Scanlon, Joseph D. 
Sheahan, Walter 
Sheehy, Thomas J. 
Seaglione, Frank 
Sloan, Frank 
Snyder, P. 
Stahl, Martin P. 
Stream, Jerome 
Sullivan, John 
Sullivan, Michael 
Sullivan, Michael J. 
Sullivan, Steven 
Teakip, Ray B. 
Thometz, Edwd.J. 
Thorn, John 
Trucco, Frank A. 
Trucco, John J . 
Twohig, John P. 
Verber, Ludwig 
Weber, Geo. J. 
Weinberger, Peter 
Weir, James 
Walsh, J. J. 
Weir, D. M. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 263 

Enery and Onnie Birmingham; Chairmen of Knit- 
ting, Mrs. Annie Morahan, Mrs. Brougham, Miss 
Catherine Dowling and the Misses Williams. Chair- 
man of Surgical .Dressing, Dr. Elspeth Connor. As- 
sistants to {Secretary, the Misses Marie Coifey and 
Anna Bertoncini. 

The worth of the organization may be judged from 
its accomplishments, which may be indicated from 
the first thiee months' work, as follows: 

Knitted Goods — Sweaters, 149; socks, 100 pairs; 
helmets, 41; wristlets, 37 pairs; scarfs, 19. 

Sewed Goods — Pajamas, 25 pairs; hospital shirts, 
16; shoulder wraps, 75; under-drawers, 27; invalid 
robes, 8 ; bed shoes, 62 pairs. 

For Belgian Refugees — Quilts, 29 ; baby caps, 18 ; 
bootees, 98 pairs. 

Besides these, there were numerous small garments 
for children. The yarn, supplied the Auxiliary and 
distributed amongst members, aggregated 281^ 
pounds. The average attendance at meetings was 100. 
The membership dues collected for 1918 aggregated 
$226.00. 

The Auxiliary was pleased by the evidences of ap- 
preciation shown by the Superior officers. Each de- 
livery of finished goods, to headquarters, not only re- 
ceived acknowledgment, but drew from the officials 
an expression of praise for the quality of the work 
returned. 

The Auxiliary acknowledged the generosity of the 
pastors, who provided well-heated and well-lighted 
rooms for the w T eekly meetings, and endeavored to 
demonstrate its appreciation by helping the pastors 
relieve the necessities of the poor of the parish. 

One of the really notable events in Catholic circles 



264 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 265 

of the Archdiocese of Chicago, was the organization 
of the Archdiocesan Union of the Holy Name So- 
ciety. How important and extensive has become the 
work of this great organization, in the archdiocese, 
is well known. The society was re-organized in Holy 
Family Parish, by Right Reverend Alexander J. Mc- 
Gavick, D. D., at an open meeting in Sodality Hall. 
It was the earnest desire of the Most Reverend Arch- 
bishop that every man and boy, over 18 years of age, 
should belong to the Holy Name Society. It is grati- 
fying to be able to record that the men of Holy Fam- 
ily Parish responded enthusiastically by joining the 
ranks of the Society. The second Sunday of the 
month was assigned to Holy Name Society for Com- 
munion Sunday, and the seven o'clock Mass desig- 
nated. In passing, it may be remarked that there 
has been no religious society established in the 
Church that recommends itself so readily to the laity 
as that of the Holy Name. Its aims ; first, to rever- 
ence the Holy Name, and secondly, as impressed by 
Archbishop Mundelein, to strengthen men, especially 
in the practice of virtue, by approaching the sacra- 
ments at regular intervals, have met with a hearty 
response. Its simplicity appeals especially to the lay- 
men. 4 

Reverting momentarily to the war and its bearing 
upon the parish, it should be noted that, during the 
fall of 1918, there was established, at St. Ignatius 
College, an Officers' Training School — the college 
and Sodality Hall becoming practically a large mili- 
tary encampment, there being about 500 men under- 
going training there. This continued until the armis- 

4 In the Archdiocese of Chicago the Holy Name Society besides doing 
much other work makes a specialty of ' ' Big Brother ' ' work in the courts. 



266 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

tice was signed on November 11, 1918. Further ref- 
erence will be had to this part of the war service in 
connection with the record of St. Ignatius College. 5 

In the year 1919, the church was redecorated, at a 
cost of about $7,000. The work completed, a grand 
opening took place on Columbus Bay, October 12, 
with a sacred concert and a lecture by Right Rev- 
erend Monsignor Edward F. Hoban, then Chancellor 
of the archdiocese, and since raised to the episcopal 
dignity. 

The echoes of the Irish situation are still ringing in 
our ears, but the people of Holy Family Parish have 
always been, and undoubtedly still remain, faithful 
friends of the Irish people, hoping and praying for 
the ultimate peace and happiness of that distracted 
country. On November 18th, at a mass meeting held 
in Sodality Hall, a branch of the friends of Irish 
Freedom was established. The meeting was ad- 
dressed by Rev. Ambrose Griffin, O. S. M., Judge 
George F. Barrett, and Captain William J. Grace. 
The branch was called the Thomas F. Scully Branch, 
F. O. I. F. This organization not only contributed 
its share to the funds raised to promote the Irish 
cause, but also donated $2,000, raised by a May Party 
to the Associated Catholic Charities fund. 

An event worthy of note was the establishment 
of the Knights of Columbus Free Schools for ex- 
service men, in St. Ignatius College, which oc- 
curred on February 1, 1920. This was one of 
the branches of the Knights of Columbus Free 
Schools, and has been continued to the present. As 
is well known, instruction is given in a variety of 

s See Chapter XIX. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 267 

subjects in these schools, their equipment, including 
shops for actual training in mechanics, driving auto- 
mobiles, etc. 6 

In this year, 1920, Holy Family Parish was deeply 
interested in the celebration of the Diamond Jubilee 
of the Archdiocese of Chicago, and the Silver Jubilee 
of the ordination to the priesthood of the Most Rev- 
erend Archbishop. 

Holy Family Parish took a conspicuous part in the 
great Jubilee Pageant. In the very comprehensive 
program of the pageant prepared by Rev. Claude J. 
Pernin, S. J., the Holy Family school float was num- 
bered 42, and is described as follows : 

"In their viking ships, the Danes had swarmed 
to England, conquered the country and given it a 
king. Pressing on to subdue Ireland, the chieftains 
gather under Brian Boru and, in the great battle 
of Clontarf, hurl the invader from their shores. 

BRIAN BORU AT CLONTARF .... HOLY 
FAMILY SCHOOL. 

' They come against us with an insolent multitude 
and with pride to destroy us and to take our spoils. 
I Mac. iii:20.' " 

This float, provided by the Holy Family School, was 
a work of art and historically correct, representing 
the stirring times of the great Irish Monarch Brian 
Boru. In the forefront was constructed an Irish 
castle of the middle ages. This was surmounted by 
a banner giving the name and title of the float, and on 
the cross bar the Irish cross. The circle, seen on the 
cross, is said to symbolize the " Irish," who carry the 

For the Knights of Columbus war work see Knights of Columbus in 
Illinois, now on the press. 



268 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



r 




BRIAN BORU AT CLONTARF 

Holy Family School Float in the Diamond Jubilee of the Archdiocese of 

Chicago, June 10, 1920 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 269 

faith from East to West, and from pole to pole. In 
other words, around the world. Under the shadow of 
the castle appeared an Irish monk or Abbot, who sent 
his missionaries to far off lands. In the center stood 
Erina, with her "Wand of Gold," setting forth the 
beauty and virtue of the women of ancient Erin. In 
the rear, clad in solid armor and standing upon an 
improvised throne on the battle field of Clontarf, 
was Brian Boru. He is surrounded by his princes 
and harpists, prepared for battle. He holds, in his 
right hand, the pike or battle ax which, later in the 
memorable battle, was used to slay his antagonist, 
Brodor, the last of the Danes, who devastated, not 
Ireland alone, but nearly all the maritime countries 
of Europe, during a period of two hundred years. 
On the sides of the float were the shields or standards 
of the kingdoms of Ulster, Munster, Leinster and 
Connaught. The float was draped in the tricolor. 

Besides the float, the parish was well represented 
in the parade. The boys and girls from the schools 
were dressed in the ancient Irish costume, and were 
remarked all along the line for fine military bearing 
and movement. 

From the time the float and children started on 
the march, from the pier, until they reached Lincoln 
Park, they elicited one round of applause after an- 
other. One could hear shouts as if in triumph, — 
"Brian Boru"— "Holy Family." 

The boys marched in the lead, clad in short kilts 
and capes, with gold laces in their stockings, spears 
in their hands and golden collars about their necks. 
Next came the banner of the school 



270 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

HOLY FAMILY PARISH, SISTERS OF 
CHARITY B. V. M. 

Then followed the girls, clad in old-style Gaelic 
costume, with golden bands around their foreheads 
and gold laces in their stockings. 

To the Sisters is due the credit of preparing this 
splendid exhibition, and to the ex-army officers, who 
drilled the young marchers so successfully, appre- 
ciation is also due. Much of the equipment was pro- 
vided by the Gaelic clubs, including shields, spears, 
etc. 

Though it was not the thought of winning a prize 
in the pageant that inspired such careful prepara- 
tion, the unit was nevertheless given honorable men- 
tion by the judges of the pageant. 

A few days after this celebration, on June 14th, St. 
Ignatius College celebrated its Golden Jubilee. The 
church service consisted of a Solemn High Mass 
by the Most Reverend Apostolic Delegate John Bon- 
zano, D. D., Mo'st Reverend Archbishop Mundelein 
being present in the Sanctuary. Right Reverend Ed- 
mund M. Dunne, D. D., Bishop of Peoria, preached 
the sermon, and an unusually large number of the 
clergy assisted in the Sanctuary. More will be seen 
of this observance in the chapter pertaining to St. 
Ignatius college. 

The festive spirit survived the war, and was again 
in evidence at a Fall Festival, conducted in the So- 
dality Hall, from October 20th to 26th, 1920. This 
undertaking was reasonably successful, as indicated 
by the receipts of the respective tables : 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 271 

Married Ladies Table $3,000.56 

Thomas F. Scully Branch Friends of the 

Irish Freedom 2,300.27 

Young Ladies Sodality 1,467.22 

Holy Name Society 1,044.98 

Alumnae 800.00 

Parish School Children 765.25 

Doll Booth 388.55 

Total $9,766.83 

Having passed over the statistics for some time, it 
will be interesting to note the spiritual fruits of the 
sacred ministry for 1920, as follows : 

Baptisms — Infants 102 

Baptisms — Adults 10 

Confessions 92,315 

Communions 81, 175 

Marriages 47 

Sodalities 11 

Number in Sodality 1,725 

Number in League of Sacred Heart 1,380 

Pupils in Parish School 875 

Pupils in College 660 

In February, 1921, an appeal was made on behalf of 
the Jesuit Seminary of the Province of the Middle 
West. Holy Family Parish, as usual, provided a sub- 
stantial contribution. This appeal for the Seminary 
is an annual event, and the many friends of the 
Jesuits respond liberally with their contributions. 
The Seminarians and the Society make a return, by 
way of Masses and prayers for their benefactors. 

A Fall Festival was held in the Sodality Hall, from 
the 17th to the 23rd of October, 1921, which was con- 



272 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sidered a social gathering rather than an effort to 
raise a large fund. The net receipts of $3,900 were 
greater than the promoters had really expected. 

Concerning the routine of the church services, it 
appears that on May 7, 1922, a mission was begun by 
Fathers Meehan and Mertz of the Society, which 
lasted eight days, the attendance being quite satis- 
factory, especially as to the ladies. 

The closing exercises of the month of May took 
place on Sunday, May 28th. The clergy, altar boys, 
officers of the various sodalities, and the First Com- 
munion Class took part in the procession. A beauti- 
fully decorated statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary was 
carried in the procession. 

Some changes were made in the time of Masses 
during 1922. For the accommodation of the faith- 
ful, during the vacation period, a Low Mass was said 
at 11 :15 a. m. ; the other Masses were at 5 :30, 6, 7, 8 
and 9:30 o'clock. 

On Sunday afternoon, September 17th, a picnic 
was given for the benefit of the church at Glenwood 
Park, on the Aurora & Elgin Electric line. 

In this year, we come back to the great organ. In 
the month of April a contract was made for the re- 
building of that grand instrument, at a cost of $16,- 
000. Its re-opening was set for Easter Sunday, 1923. 7 

One of the first acts of Father Kennedy, when he 
became pastor, was to remodel the large chapel or 
hall in the Sodality Building. The decline in the 
number of parishioners, and consequently in the 
number of members of the sodalities, due to the 

7 See account of opening with complete description of organ in Chapter 
XV. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 273 

exodus of Catholics from the parish, rendered 
economy in the upkeep of the Sodality rooms neces- 
sary, and Father Kennedy decided upon keeping the 




RIGHT REVEREND EDWARD F. HOBAN, D. D. 

Auxiliary Bishop of Chicago, former student of St. Ignatius College 

young ladies and young men's chapel intact, but to 
change the married men's and married ladies' chapel 
into an auditorium, where the parishioners could have 



274 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

meetings, socials and entertainments. This change 
was effected the first year of his pastorate. Several 
other changes were rendered necessary, when the S. 
A. T. C, came to the college for training during -the 
war and all available space had to be occupied for 
their accommodation. In 1921, more changes were 
made, when St. Ignatius College took up several 
rooms for classes. The Knights of Columbus School 
occupies more space, its automobile school being in- 
stalled in the basement. Further changes were made 
in 1922, when a stage was erected in the main hall, 
equipped with every modern convenience for the 
presentation of theatricals and other entertainments. 
It is the intention, in the future, to have the class ex- 
ercises of the parish schools in this large hall, thus 
ending the use of the grand old Brothers' School, 
officially known as Holy Family School, for this pur- 
pose, after an eventful period of 57 years. 8 

In September, 1922, the Collegiate Department 
was removed to Loyola University on the North 
side, where the rector and main faculty of the univer- 
sity will reside in future. This practically makes St. 
Ignatius College a high school, the community of 
the college being reduced by one-third. 

Mention, even if brief, should be made of the now 
flourishing north side parish of St. Ignatius with its 
magnificent church, schools and parochial residence. 
For several years Rev. David M. Johnson, S. J., has 
been the pastor and has developed and extended the 
work in a very satisfactory manner. The parish lies 
near and about Loyola University and may boast of 
some of the finest buildings in the Archdiocese. 

s See Schools, Chapter XVII. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



275 




276 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




REV. DAVID M. JOHNSON, S. J. 
Pastor St. Ignatius Church 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 277 

We have now passed in retrospect sixty-five years 
of devoted labors on the part of the pastors and 
priests, and of earnest co-operation of the laity in 
Holy Family Parish. It would be useless to under- 
take to conceal the diminishing glory of the splendid 
institution noticeable during the last score or more 
of years. An elderly resident of Chicago was heard 
to remark, that he had seen the birth of one of the 
historic districts of the West side; had seen its de- 
velopment to the zenith of its prosperity, and its 
decline over a period of years. There are men and 
women living who saw all that with reference to Holy 
Family Parish, and while some talk of this great 
district somewhat in the past tense, there is an abid- 
ing faith that better days are coming. Who would 
dare say that, in the Providence of God, this district, 
hallowed by the footsteps of Father Damen and his 
many worthy successors, may not be rejuvenated and 
recover the glory once won by good works and prayer. 

Of the most recent years of Holy Family Parish, 
there is a temptation to take a philosophical view. 
The parting words of good Father Neenan, when the 
parishioners met to say farewell, included an assur- 
ance that he felt consoled by the fact that his succes- 
sor, Rev. Joseph Gr. Kennedy, would fully measure 
up to the requirements of the pastorate; and that 
prophecy has been completely fulfilled. The few 
years just passed have been perhaps the most trying 
in the annals of the parish, — the war period, not 
alone caused serious economic disturbances, but in 
its wake left anxiety and even grief, to the parents 
and relatives of the boys called to the colors. While 
some benefited economically from the war, the great 
majority of the parishioners suffered from the high 



278 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

prices which prevailed. The church and schools had 
to be maintained, despite all disturbances, and the 
task of the new pastor was accordingly a difficult one. 
Although the outlook was gloomy, Father Kennedy 
was not discouraged, but, as has been seen, begun 
his administration by remodeling the Sodality Hall. 
He then invited several new courts of the Catholic 
Order of Foresters to hold their meetings in the build- 
ing ; — at the same time the improved hall was used as 
a dormitory and the basement of the church, which 
had not been in use for some time, was made use of 
for class rooms for the Army Officers Training Corps. 
A certain amount of revenue was derived from these 
sources, which helped to defray some of the expenses. 
After the Army Officers Training Corps departed, St. 
Ignatius college took up its quarters in the basement 
of the church for a study hall, the Knights of Co- 
lumbus, as has been seen, occupying more room in 
Sodality Hall and other places, and the small revenue 
derived from these sources was applied to help keep 
up the expensive machinery and appointments of one 
of the largest churches in the country and two parish 
schools, with an attendance of about nine hundred. 
To Father Kennedy's earnest, honest, personal con- 
tact with the people of the parish, has been due his 
success; indeed, it is perhaps true that no one of his 
predecessors, unless it be the immortal Father Damen 
himself, has claimed greater loyalty on the part of 
the parishioners. Through this trying period, al- 
though the expenses were staggering, so well man- 
aged have been the affairs of the parish that in Jan- 
uary, 1922, there was a balance in the church treasury 
of $8,000: this, after the remodeling of the Sodality 
Hall, and the frescoing of the church at a cost of 



PKIESTS AND PEOPLE 279 

$7,000, as mentioned above, and the payment of the 
special assessments for widening Roosevelt Road, 
amounting to $9,000, which had to be met during 
Father Kennedy's pastorate. 

Father Kennedy still holds the post of first pastor 
and occupies the third rank in length of service ; only 
two others, Father Damen and Father Neenan hav- 
ing served longer. 




CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS FOR CHURCH AND SANCTUARY 

By reason of the decrease in the Catholic popula- 
tion the number of pastors has been reduced to three, 
and these attend to the pastoral work exclusively. 
They are assisted by several of the fathers from the 
college, in the way of saying High Masses, hearing 
confessions and preaching. Amongst these during 



280 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Father Kennedy's pastorate should be mentioned 
Rev. John B. Furay, S. J., President of St. Ignatius 
College from 1915 to 1921, who preached on Sundays 
at the six o'clock Mass, and for several years at the 
9:30 Mass. Other preachers were Rev. James E. 
Conahan, S. J., who preached for several years at the 
children's Mass at eight o 'clock ; Fathers Senn, Mertz, 
Meehan, Flynn and McNulty preached from time to 
time. The following priests assisted Father Kennedy 
in his work, either as assistant pastor or confessor 
in the church: Rev. John J. Lyons, S. J., confessor 
and chaplain at Dunning Asylum and director of the 
Catholic Instruction League ; Rev. C. Lagae, confes- 
sions ; Rev. John P. Hogan, S. J. ; Rev. John Asman, 
S. J., Chaplain of Cook County Hospital, confessor; 
Rev. F. X. Bimanski, S. J., confessor, chaplain at 
Cook County Hospital; Rev. James A. McCarthy, 
S. J., assistant pastor ; Rev. Herman J. Pickert, S. J., 
assistant pastor and director of the Young Ladies 
Sodality; Rev. "William H. Trentman in charge of 
the acolytes from 1911 to 1921; Rev. Thomas F. 
Treacy, confessor in the church; Rev. Edward A. 
Jones, S. J., as assistant pastor and director of the 
alumnae and Young Ladies Sodality; Rev. William 
T. Nash, S. J., assistant pastor and director of the 
Young Ladies Sodality; Rev. P. J. Mahan, director 
of the Deaf Mutes; Rev. William H. Agnew, S. J., 
Rector of St. Ignatius College and president of 
Loyola University, preacher at 9:30 o'clock Mass on 
Sunday: Rev. Thomas J. Livingstone, S. J. assistant 
pastor and Director of the League of the Sacred 
Heart and Bona Mors Societies. 9 

9 See sketches, Chapters XVI and XIX. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 281 

Brother Mulkerins, S. J., Sacristan and director 
of altar boys society. 

Rev. William H. Agnew S. J., spent some years at 
St. Ignatius College, when a scholastic, as a professor 
of science. He spent most of his leisure hours in 
teaching Christian Doctrine to the Italian children 
of the Guardian Angel Church, on Forquer street. 

It would require an ability such as we attribute to 
the Recording Angel, to register all the works of 
Holy Family Parish during the sixty-five years and 
more that have passed since the parish was estab- 
lished. All that has here been stated, it is believed, 
is but a fraction of the good works accomplished, 
and while many meritorious events have passed from 
the memory of men, there are at least a few im- 
portant services that may be tabulated and recorded. 
From time to time the spiritual fruits of the ministry 
have been stated, and now, in concluding this feature 
of our narration, it will be interesting to give some 
of the totals for the sixty-five years ending July 12, 
1922. During that period there were 8,595 mar- 
riages ; 46,422 baptisms and 11,541 funerals. 10 

Having followed the record of events from year 
to year, without a serious break in our narrative, 
it seems permissible now to turn to a study of par- 
ticular institutions and activities connected with or 
relating to the parish. These will be examined in 
succeeding chapters. 

to Parish Records. 



CHAPTER XV 

The Church Beautiful 

Through the foregoing pages, we have followed the 
record of activities, with as much particularity as 
seemed advisable, and, in their proper places, have 
mentioned the temporary and permanent churches, 
the Sodality Hall, schools and other buildings ; and, 
in some cases, ha^'e given some particulars especially 
of the permanent church. It seems proper, however, 
to dwell expressly upon the material structure that 
has played such an important part in the long years 
of earnest endeavor in the parish. 

It will be remembered that the temporary church 
was but a simple frame structure, constructed as 
plainly as possible, and intended only to provide a 
temporary meeting place for the congregation. The 
picture, preserved and reproduced herein, will afford 
sufficient explanation of that building. 

The permanent church, as fine churches go nowa- 
days, exteriorly, was not very attractive or prepos- 
sessing. As finally extended, it was, at the time, the 
largest church in the United States, and is amongst 
the very large church buildings now standing. Its 
architecture, including the tower, turrets, gables, etc., 
and even the decorations and trimmings, was not of 
the first order, but presented a pleasing appearance, 
time considered, and compared favorably with the 
best buildings of the city. The various cuts of the 

282 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



283 




ALTAR OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN 
Decorated for the month of May 



284 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

church, published herewith, will well illustrate the 
exterior appearance. 1 

Interiorly conditions are different. As one enters 
the church he will be pleased by the graceful lines 
and arches of the Gothic architecture, and again, con- 
sidering the time and the state of building operations 
prevalent in Chicago, one will be struck with wonder ; 
indeed, it has been frequently asserted, by visitors 
of considerable experience, that, interiorly, Holy 
Family Church is, architecturally, one of the most 
beautiful churches in the United States, even mak- 
ing favorable comparison with St. Patrick's Ca- 
thedral in New York. The beauty of the church is 
intensified upon the occasion of a grand illumina- 
tion of the altars and auditorium for great festivals. 

Of course, the altars are the center of attraction. 
The main altar is in Gothic style and in every way 
corresponds to the architecture of the church. The 
foundation is of masonry up to the table ; the altar 
stone is set and rests upon two brick columns, built 
all the way from the solid ground, and is nine feet two 
inches long by twenty-nine inches wide and two 
inches thick. The height of the altar, from the floor 
of the sanctuary, is fifty- two feet ; its top turret, fit- 
ting snugly into one of the Gothic arches, and reach- 
ing within a few inches of the ceiling. The altar 
covers the whole width of the sanctuary, from wall 
to wall, extending 30 feet and 3 inches; the sides 
are slightly curved and are built from the sanctuary 

1 It is a fact that even the exterior appearance of the fine old church 
grows upon you. The more one studies the construction and observes the 
generosity of proportions the more one will admire the church. There is 
no evidence of meanness or ' ' skimping, ' ' though there was abundant rea- 
son for financing every available dollar. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 285 

floor up, gradually narrowing until they reach a pin- 
nacle of one inch in diameter. 

The main altar table is surmounted by a taber- 
nacle with Gothic turrets, having the figure of an 
angel, on either side, between two gilded pilasters, 
and represented as holding golden censers in their 
hands. On the capitals of the pillars, on each side 
of the tabernacle, are the figures of two angels, one 
holding a scroll as if in the act of singing, and the 
other, with joined hands, as if in prayer. The in- 
terior of the tabernacle is large enough to hold a 
dozen ciboria. Over the lower tabernacle or, rather, 
over the roof of the lower tabernacle, is the benedic- 
tion throne, and this section revolves and contains 
three compartments, — one for the cross, one for the 
benediction, which latter has a throne and an angel 
on either side ; the third is for the lenten and advent 
decorations, in sombre colors of purple and gold. 

The tabernacle is capped by several small spires, 
each topped with an electric light. In the recesses 
of the three turrets are : first, a figure of our Lord, in 
the act of breaking bread, and, in the upper niche, 
is a figure of the Good Shepherd, while on either- 
side of the lower structure of the altar there are two 
wings, each having three life-size statues of the 
Holy Doctors of the Church. On the east side, St. 
Thomas Aquinas, St. Gregory the Great Pope, and 
St. John Chrysostom. On the west St. Basil the 
Great, St. Ambrose and St. Jerome. On top of these 
same turrets are statues of the parents of St. John 
the Baptist, St. Zachary on the Gospel side and St. 
Elizabeth on the left. At the sides of the main altar 
picture are the statues of St. Joachim on the Gospel 
side, and St. Anne on that of the Epistle. 



286 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




THE MAIN ALTAE DUEING HIGH MASS 
Carved by Anthony Buscher 



jflF 



THE LAST SUPPEE— AFTEE DA VINCI 
Carved in wood by Sebastian Buscher 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 287 

The main altar picture of the Holy Family is a fine 
copy of Murillo's masterpiece and is said to have 
been painted by a Jesuit Brother in Belgium. It con- 
tains the figures of the Holy Family, Jesus, Mary and 
Joseph, with the Eternal Father above looking down 
with benignity on the Holy Ghost, as a dove, midway 
between Father and Son. Innocent cherubs float 
about, indicating their love and devotion to the three 
persons of the Adorable Trinity. This painting is 
much admired, and has been copied by the Gesu of 
Milwaukee for its main altar center-piece. It is also 
represented in an art glass window at the new St. 
Ignatius Church, on the north side, Glenwood and 
Loyola avenues, Chicago. This masterpiece is repro- 
duced as a frontispiece for this volume. 

Over the picture of the Holy Family, on what may 
be termed the third tier, are three statues — Faith in 
the center, holding aloft a cross studded with electric 
lights; Hope on the right with the traditional anchor, 
and Charity on the left, holding a Chalice as the sym- 
bol of love. 

On the altar, as a whole, there are five Gothic tur- 
rets, each capped with six major and six minor spires ; 
each, in turn, capped by an electric light. When the 
altar is illuminated it is magnificent — one of the most 
impressive sights to be seen in any church. The il- 
lumination is expressly arranged to display the 
beauty and architectural lines of the altar. The al- 
tar stands out about six feet from the rear wall and, 
within this space, ladders are constructed to extend 
all the way to the top of the altar. This enables the 
decorators to reach any part of the altar and explains 
the mystery of successful decoration that has puzzled 
many visitors. 



288 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The carvings on this magnificent altar, as well as 
in the sanctuary and upon the altar rail, are excep- 
tional. The most notable of these works is a repro- 
duction of Da Vinci's Last Supper, a beautiful work 
carved by hand, and extending the full length of the 
altar. The carvings on the altar are the work of An- 
thony Buscher, who also carved several of the statues, 
notably those of the two altar boys, Faith, Hope and 
Charity, Saints Joachim, Anne, Zacliary, Elizabeth 
and the six Doctors of the Church at the two wings, 
Saints Jerome, Ambrose, Basil, Chrysostom, Gregory 
and Thomas Aquinas. The Last Supper was carved 
by Mr. Sebastian Buscher, a nephew of Anthony. 

At an early date, the names of Jesus, Mary and 
Joseph, arranged with a crown at the top, were repro- 
duced with gas openings, which were lighted up on 
festive occasions. This device, made use of prior to 
the introduction of electricity, was for the time very 
effective, and, indeed, was retained until quite re- 
cently, long after electricity was introduced. It was 
discontinued not so much because of greater conven- 
ience, but because of the deterioration in the quality 
of gas supplied, which resulted in clogging the open- 
ings and interfering with the lighting results. 

The side altars, as they appear today, were not 
erected until 1873. They are, of course, constructed 
on the same lines as the main altar, and reach from 
the floor of the sanctuary to the ceiling. Each has 
three Gothic turrets, two small ones on the sides, with 
the principal one at the top. There are two statues 
at the base of each, with one on top. The top statue 
of the Blessed Virgin's altar is a masterpiece, repre- 
senting Our Lady of Lourdes. It was carved by Mr. 
Sebastian Buscher. The two lower statues, on the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 289 

same altar, those of Saints Aloysius and John Berch- 
mans, are imported and are of papier-mache. The 
picture, representing the definition of the Immacu- 
late Conception over this altar, was painted in the 
United States. Underneath the table of the altar of 
the Blessed Virgin, there is a beautifully carved rep- 
resentation of the Annunciation and the Visitation. 
The tabernacle is of fine polished brass, gold plated, 
and was supplied by Rev. Thomas Sherman, S. J., 
during his directorship of the League of the Sacred 
Heart, about 1900. From about 1890 to 1905, it was 
the practice to expose the Blessed Sacrament, on the 
first Friday of the month, at the Blessed Virgin's 
altar, during the forenoon, so as to leave the main 
altar free for the High Masses. Holy Communion 
was also distributed from this altar, instead of from 
the main altar. 

St. Joseph's altar is constructed on the same 
style as the altar of the Blessed Virgin. On the lower 
half is a picture representing St. Charles Borrmeo, 
administering Holy Communion to St. Aloysius; 
overhead a picture of St. Joseph with a lily in his 
right hand and holding in his arms the Child Jesus 
surrounded with a cloud of glory. At the base, on 
either side, are statues of St. Aloysius holding a cruci- 
fix in his hand, and St. Stanislaus holding the infant 
Jesus in his arms. Above, in a niche, is the statue of 
St. Joseph with the child Jesus in his arms. There 
is a beautifully carved tabernacle below, and under 
the table of the altar are carved representations of 
the flight into Egypt and the Holy Family in the 
carpenter shop at Nazareth, with a monogram in the 
center. 

Our attention is next directed to the Communion 



290 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

railing, which is noteworthy. This railing is con- 
sidered by the artists as a masterpiece, perhaps un- 
equalled in the country at the present time. Of the 
seventeen panels or sections into which the railing- 
is divided only two are repeated, although the ground- 
work is practically the same in each. The carving 
is in the minutest detail, and is as sharp as if cast 
in brass or bronze. It is a remarkable fact that, al- 
though it is now fifty-eight years since this railing- 
was put in place, it is as perfect today as on the day 
of its installation — with a few bits here and there 
only broken off. This artistic piece of work was 
carved by Louis E. Wisner, in his own house. 

So notable is this specimen of the carver's art, 
that a detailed description will interest the reader. 
The Communion Railing is divided into panels, each 
panel supported by a square column with a stone 
base running the width of the church, and the top 
partially raised and fluted lengthwise. The panels 
are inlaid with carved vine rods about 1% inches in 
diameter, one above and another below, running hori- 
zontally, with a similar rod running vertically at each 
end. These rods are firmly glued together and are 
reinforced by a large vine leaf taking root in the base 
of the railing, and making a circuit of the entire 
panel. It is upon this ground-work that the entire 
artistic figures are imposed. 

Commencing at the east end of the railing, and, 
for convenience, numbering the easternmost panel 
No. 1, we find the carving here to represent a harp, 
book and cross ; in No. 2, a cross and ladder ; in No. 
3, rays in center background, cross and the letters 
I. H. S. Next comes the east gate in front of St. 
Joseph's altar, on which is carved the cross with a 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



291 




THE PULPIT 
Anthony Buscher 



CONFESSIONAL 
Sebastian Buscher 



ALTAE RAILING 
Louis E. Wisner 



292 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

serpent wound about it. Panel No. 5 contains a large 
sheaf of wheat, about five inches in diameter, with 
a band around it, and a reaping hook thrust under 
the band. Resting on the sheaf are two large clusters 
of grapes, twenty-four grapes in each cluster; each 
grape about the size of a California white grape. 
Panel No. 6, cross, scourge and crown of thorns ; No. 
7, radiated center with chalice surrounded with a 
column of clouds of glory; No. 8, the papal triple 
cross, tiara, mitre, ribbons, Episcopal mitre and Pon- 
tificate. Panel No. 9 constitutes the east half of the 
middle gate and contains rays in background — lamb 
resting on an altar, with cross passing between the 
right leg and right shoulder ; the w T est half of the mid- 
dle gate with the rays in background and on the latter 
a short cross, the boy Christ lying on His side on the 
cross, as if it were His bed — palm in left hand, with 
right hand resting on his breast. No. 10, identical 
with No. 5 ; No. 11, rays in center, large sized Peli- 
can with open wings and bare breast, three young 
pelicans drinking their mother's life blood; No. 12, 
the veil of Veronica — Christ's head in relief, instru- 
ments of the passion — spear, lance, cross, crown, 
scourge, pincers, and hammer. This is one of the 
most wonderful pieces of carving in the entire rail- 
ing. No. 13, cross, crown of thorns and scourges. 
The west gate before the altar of the Blessed Virgin 
— cross, crown of thorns, a dove with an olive leaf in 
its bill; No. 15, rays in the center, with the letter M, 
and the Immaculate Heart of Mary in relief; No. 
16, rays in center, closed book with representation of 
the seven sacraments, as if proceeding from the book. 
On top of the book a lamb. No. 17, rays in center, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 293 

cross and anchor, Immaculate Heart of Mary raised 
in center. 

On the columns, at each end of the main sanctuary, 
are cherubs exquisitely carved, and similar figures 
on the two columns supporting the middle gate. 

The Communion railing extends the full width of 
the main and two side altars, and is long enough to 
accommodate fifty communicants at once. 2 

There are various other objects of interest in and 
about the church, and the reader will be interested 
in learning something of the statues and other objects 
which adorn this fine old temple. 

One of the first statues erected in the church was 
that of St. Patrick. 3 It was, of course, difficult to 
secure artists in those days, and to import statues 
was equally difficult, and, besides, very expensive. 
It was accordingly a pleasing circumstance that 
Father Damen should, by accident, as it seemed, fall 
in with several men skilled in the art of wood carving. 
Chief amongst these was Anthony Buscher, whom 
Father Damen discovered carving figures of Indians 
to grace the front entrances of cigar stores. From 
this humble and rather unpretentious employment, 
Father Damen diverted his energies and set him to 
executing some of the most artistic wood carvings 
to be found in the country. Later on Sebastian 
Buscher, a nephew of Anthony, came direct from 
Germany and was employed for several years in 
carving statues and altars for the church. An- 

2 It would be of interest to have a reproduction of each panel of this 
quite remarkable altar railing but it has been found practical to reproduce 
but one, five, ten as described in the text. 

s This early action is some indication of the prevailing nationality and 
as appears in other chapters the St. Patrick statue was valiantly guarded 
by the Kelts as time passed. 



294 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

other find was Louis E. Wisner and, by the way, a 
Lutheran and Free Mason. It was Wisner that 
carved the Communion Railing above described, and 
undoubtedly one of the finest pieces of wood carving 
to be found in the United States. 

We feel justified in dwelling upon Wisner 's career. 
He was a native of Stutgart, Germany, and it was 
there that he learned the trade of wood carving. 
Coming to America, he made a short stay in New 
York, where he met and married an Irish colleen, 
Miss Ellen Kennedy, a native of the County Tipper- 
ary. Departing with his bride for the West, he 
landed in Chicago, in 1850, making his home at Four- 
teenth and Halsted streets. It is not known now 
how Father Damen became acquainted with Mr. Wis- 
ner, but like many other incidents in the good priest's 
life, the acquaintanceship seemed almost providen- 
tial, and was no doubt brought about in answer to the 
fervent prayer. 

The front room of the little home became the 
artist's studio, as modern artists term their work- 
rooms. By the time of Wisner 's connection with 
Holy Family Church, he had accumulated quite a 
family — three boys and three girls — who, no doubt, 
frequently romped through the " studio" and saw 
the several sections of the communion railing de- 
veloping from the plain materials provided for the 
purpose. The work was in course of progress in the 
Wisner parlor for about one year. 

It was a combination of the mind of one man and 
the hand of another that produced these masterpieces. 
Father Damen, it is recognized now, if not so fully 
in that day, was possessed of an extraordinarily 
artistic taste, and as he had traveled extensively in 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 295 

Europe, lie had, no doubt, seen and examined with 
care the best specimens of carving in Holland and 
Belgium. While the work was in progress, Father 
Damen visited Mr. Wisner daily, and offered sug- 
gestions. He had a most eager interest in the work 
and enjoyed exceedingly the creation of such beauty. 

Compared with work of the same character, other- 
wise produced, the cost of this wonderful work was 
almost nominal, the wage scale at that time being but 
one dollar a day and the materials taken from a solid 
block of Walnut were at the time inexpensive. Al- 
together this fine piece of work cost perhaps less than 
$500.00. 

Persons of artistic taste have come from all parts 
of the country to admire and study this work. No 
part of it has ever been copied, because the design 
was original with Father Damen and Mr. Wisner, 
and expert wood carvers of the talent of Mr. Wisner 
were then, and are even now, extremely rare. 

The railing was finished about the time the church 
was completed and was placed in position by Mr. 
Wisner himself, in 1866. 

The house where the communion railing was carved 
and where most of the Wisner children were born was 
removed from Fourteenth and Halsted streets to the 
northwest corner of Maxwell and Sangamon streets, 
and still stands there. Mr. Wisner, the carver, died 
in 1895. 

Although, as before stated, Louis E. Wisner was a 
Lutheran and a Free Mason, his wife was a Catholic 
and all the children were baptized and reared Catho- 
lics. Barbara Wisner, one of the daughters, sang in 
Holy Family choir in the 70 's, and one of the sons, 
Frank J. Wisner, became a man of prominence and 



296 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of great assistance to the parish. He was, from 1880 
to 1890, a representative in the General Assembly of 
Illinois from the Fifth Senatorial District. He has 
been, for the last thirty years, in the real estate busi- 
ness, and has been one of the most active proponents 
of the movement to preserve the history of Holy 
Family Parish. 

To continue with an account of the statues and art 
objects in the church, it may be stated that, after 
the placing of the statue of St. Patrick, above alluded 
to, there were, in 1875, imported from Munich about 
a dozen statues from the studio of the renowned Al- 
bert Franz Springer. Some of these were placed 
within and others without the sanctuary. 

At a somewhat later date, a Belgian named Kennis 
carved the two angels now found in the sanctuary, 
and also the statue of Our Lady of Help. These were 
not equal to the Buscher carvings. 

Besides the Buscher work already described, Mr. 
Sebastian Buscher carved the Guardian Angel on 
the west door and the St. Michael and Satan on the 
east entrance ; also the shrine of St. Anthony. Mr. 
Anthony Buscher carved the stationary pulpit. 
While he was working on the pulpit he was drafted 
into the army, during the civil war, and Father 
Damen secured a substitute, as was permissible at 
that time, in order that Buscher might continue with 
the church work. 

The reader will be interested in more intimate in- 
formation concerning the Buschers, who created 
many of these beautiful works of art. In the days 
when Napoleon was at the height of his glory, there 
lived in the Northern part of France a young man 
by the name of Mathias Bousche. For some cause 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 297 

or other the young Frenchman fled into Germany, 
entering the free city of Gamburg, Baden. Before 
long he got work as a sculptor from a citizen of that 
town, who was carrying on that trade. He soon mar- 
ried the daughter of his employer and was pros- 
pering gratifyingly, as he thought, when a division 
of Napoleon's army passed through the town on 
their way to Russia. Young Bousche was delighted 
to meet once more his fellow countrymen. How- 
ever, his happiness was soon changed to grief when 
the French officers ordered his arrest as a deserter 
and without more ado carried him off a prisoner 
to Mayence. The father-in-law was not willing to 
see his daughter forsaken or perhaps widowed so 
soon, so he got together a large sum of money, for 
he thought to himself, if these officers have no regard 
for justice or humanity then we will try what effect 
money will have upon them. On arriving at May- 
ence, the father-in-law found Mr. Bousche and ar- 
ranged with the French officers to have him released 
upon payment of one hundred and fifty gold crowns. 
It was then that Mathias Bousche decided to change 
his French name to that of the German, Buscher, 
and swore he would never again speak a word of 
French. 

This Mathias Buscher had two sons — one whose 
name was Anthony, was also a sculptor. One of his 
last works before coming to America was to carve 
a monument to his departed father. This Anthony 
was the builder of the main altar in the Holy Family 
Church. 

Another son of Mathias Buscher was the father 
of Sebastian Buscher, the associate with Anthony 
in the many masterpieces in the Holy Family Church. 



298 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Anthony Buscher, the builder of the main altar and 
carver of many of the statues and decorations, as 
above indicated, was born in Baden, Germany, in 
1827. Coming to this country, he was employed as an 
ornamental carver in New York for a time, and then 
moved west and bought a farm in Kansas. His farm 
life lasted but six weeks. His love of the beautiful 
and artistic so wrought upon him, that he found farm 
life insipid and lonesome, and turned his face to the 
east, intending to return to New York. Stopping off 
in Chicago, he happened to visit Holy Family Church, 
and was so attracted to the church that he gave up the 
idea of returning to New York, and instead bought 
the property at 1123 S. May street, and engaged in 
the business of carving Indian statues for cigar signs. 

One day Father Damen saw the wooden Indians 
being loaded into wagons for delivery, and, struck 
by the workmanship, invited Buscher to undertake 
the building of the high altar for Holy Family 
Church. 

As has been seen, Buscher not only completed the 
altar, but carved all the statues for it and the statues 
of St. Michael and the Guardian Angel in the vesti- 
bule, as well as the decorations for several confes- 
sionals, the statue of St. Patrick and the stationary 
pulpit. His work stands as a monument to his mem- 
ory, and proves the lofty ideals that inspired his 
mind and guided his hand. 

Sebastian Buscher, a nephew of Anthony, was also 
born in Baden, Germany, in 1849, and came to Amer- 
ica in 1868. Upon his arrival he assisted his uncle, 
Anthony Buscher, in various capacities in connec- 
tion with the church. As has been seen, he himself 
carved the "Last Supper" under the main altar, the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 299 

figures under the side altars, and the statue of the 
Immaculate Conception, as it is called "Our Lady of 
Lourdes" above the B. V. M. altar. 

This little statue is noted for its devotional beauty 
and is perhaps unsurpassed anywhere. It is about 
five feet high, and is one of the chief attractions dur- 
ing the May devotions, when it is taken down from 
its niche on the top of the altar and placed in the 
beautiful shrine prepared for it. 

As has been stated, he also carved the statuettes 
on the various confessionals around the church, the 
sanctuary chairs, relic cases, St. Anthony's shrine 
and several beautiful vestment and storage cases 
in the sacristy. His workmanship can also be seen 
in the Sodality Hall in the beautiful library cases and 
floors of the Young Ladies' and Married Ladies' 
and Men's Sodality, library, and also in the Young 
Ladies' Sodality altars and statues. 

Sebastian Buscher shared the carpenter shop (the 
old school on Eleventh and May streets, or, rather, 
what was left of it after the fire of 1864), with 
Brother John, S. J., from the early seventies until 
1887. By this time he had built himself a residence 
and shop on the corner of Eleventh and Julius streets, 
and here he kept up altar and sculpture work until 
1897, when he sold his business to Schaeffer Bros., 
and engaged as a model maker for the Deprato Com- 
pany. He is hale and hearty at this present writing 
at the age of seventy-two. 

The Confessionals are of considerable note. The 
first four installed were of plain construction, and 
may be seen today, one in each of the transepts and 
one on each side of the entrance. All the others, seven 



300 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

in all, were of Butternut wood, and artistically 
carved by Anthony Buscher. 

Sebastian Buscher carved the priests' chairs in 
the sanctuary ; also the Reliquary Case on the altar. 

Other works of the carvers are six black candle- 
sticks, which were carved by Mr. Kennis, and, it is 
stated, with a pen knife. These are used only for 
funerals, and must be observed very closely to be 
appreciated. 

On the main altar are four cases of sacred relics — 
some are very precious, as they contain fragments 
of the bones or other sacred objects belonging to 
apostles and martyrs — one especially, that of the 
Holy Cross contains some relics of the instruments 
of the passion, and is put on exhibition on Good Fri- 
day. There are also statues of the Sacred Heart and 
St. Anne and the large statue of St. Joseph, with 
lights burning daily before them. 

The pews in the church were installed in 1860 and 
are still in use. They are large and commodious. 
Formerly they were supplied with doors and locks, 
but during the pastorate of Father Neenan the doors 
were removed as the number of pews rented greatly 
diminished. 

A movable pulpit replaced the stationary one, 
as has been seen, as but few of the priests could be 
heard from the old pulpit, and also as the large 
columns obscured the view. The original location of 
the stationary pulpit was in front of the main west 
column inside the communion railing. About 1895, 
it was located in front of the second large pillar. 
Still there were objections to the location, as those 
occupying the first fifteen pews could not see the 
preacher, and the pulpit is now very seldom used. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 301 

A somewhat extended reference to the art glass 
windows is justifiable. As has been seen, the original 
windows, which were not of special merit, but which 
did service for forty years, 4 were replaced and the 
new windows installed in the year 1907. The present 
windows may be described as follows: 

Four are the gifts of the Altar Society, and treat 
of Our Lord's life. 

One represents the Annunciation; 

Another the Adoration of the Magi ; 

The third and fourth, on the Twelfth street side, 
picture the greatest sorrow of Christ — the Agony in 
the Garden — and His greatest glory, the Resurrec- 
tion. 

The eight principal windows, along the nave of the 
church, present scenes from the lives of the Jesuit 
Saints. The workmanship of all these is entirely 
original. 

The first, on the west side, represents the beginning 
of the Society of Jesus, when Saint Ignatius and his 
companions, during a Mass said by Father Faber, 
bound themselves, by vow, to undertake the great 
work planned by Saint Ignatius. It is called the 
" Window of the First Vows." 

The second depicts the death of Saint Francis 
Xavier on a desert Island, with no one near him but 
his faithful Japanese servant. This is a masterpiece 
of the glass-maker's art, and elicits special admira- 
tion. 

The third is a double panel, one of which shows 
Saint Alphonsus in prayer, and the other the effect 
of that prayer, the baptism of an African slave by 

4 It will be remembered that Father Damen's Volunteers collected $1,- 
004.00 in 1859 for these stained glass windows. See Chapter V. 



302 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

St. Peter Claver, whose heroic work among the neg- 
lected African slaves had been foretold by Saint 
Alphonsus. He encouraged the young priest to de- 
vote himself to this life of sacrifice, and the amazing 
harvest of souls reaped by Father Claver is the best 
witness of his sanctity. 

The fourth window presents the Jesuit missionary, 
typified by Father Faber, in one of his missionary 
tours. Alone, on foot, with modesty and holiness 
of countenance, he is accompanied by angels, "Be- 
hold I will send my angel, who will go before thee, 
and keep thee in thy journey." 5 The design is very 
suggestive and, to many, has recalled the memory 
of our own missioners who are now at rest after their 
toil. 

The first window, on the east side of the nave, 
images Saint Aloysius, the patron of the young, 
gathering youths around the shrine of Our Lady. 
The scene is laid in the garden of a Jesuit Scholasti- 
cate, or House of Studies. In the background is the 
building wherein he spent his days as a Jesuit stu- 
dent. It is separated by a wall from the court where 
the Saint, kneeling at the side of the altar, is direct- 
ing three boys, who are placing flowers on the altar 
of the Virgin. 

In the second window of this series, is set forth an 
incident in the life of the boy saint, Stanislaus. 
While boarding with his brother, in the house of a 
Lutheran family, he was suddenly taken sick. His 
brother who was imbued with Lutheran ideas, locked 
Stanislaus in a room, thereby to deprive him of the 
consolation of his religion. God knowing his ardent 

s These historical windows are of deep interest and are of excellent de- 
signs, materials and workmanship. 




Ill'' ; 



THE WINDOW OF THE FIRST VOWS 
Father Faber Blessing St. Ignatius and His Colaborers 



304 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

lunging to receive Holy Communion, sent St. Bar- 
bara to gratify his desire by a miraculous reception 
of the Sacrament. The artist, according to his priv- 
ilege, represents Saint Stanislaus receiving the 
Bread of Angels from the hand of an angel. 

Saint John Berchmans and Francis Borgia are the 
subjects of the third window. The former is kneel- 
ing with his book of Rules, his rosary, and his cruci- 
fix in his hands. He was always faithful to duty, 
and his fidelity raised him to the altar. He attempted 
nothing extraordinary, but was content to do holily 
what his state of life exacted of him. Saint Francis, 
while Duke of Gandia, resolved to forsake worldly 
ambition and pleasure after he had gazed at the dead 
face of Isabella the Beautiful. It made him realize 
sharply the emptiness of creatures and offer himself 
entirely to the service of the incorruptible God of all 
creatures. He is pictured as kneeling in prayer be- 
fore the Blessed Sacrament, from which rays of light 
stream upon his face. 

Saints Francis Regis and Francis de Hieronymo, 
were celebrated missionaries of the seventeenth cen- 
tury. The fourth window reveals them in the atti- 
tude characteristic of those who, by their own saint- 
liness, have brought grace and salvation into the 
lives of those for whom they labored. 

The remaining three windows are near the con- 
fessionals, and appropriately signalize the mercy of 
God to the sinner. 

The east window is symbolical of the seal of con- 
fession. Saint John Nepomucene the Queen's Con- 
fessor, stands before the King who, with sword in 
hand, commands him to make known what the Queen 
has manifested in confession. He refuses to reveal 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 305 

the secret of the confessional and his life is the 
forfeit. His murdered body was hurled into a river, 
but, through God's intervention, the presence of the 
sacred corpse is made known to the people, who give 
it honorable burial. 

The other two windows on the west tell their stories 
consolingly — the Return of the Prodigal, and the 
Forgiveness of Magdalen. 

In 1873, the new Stations of the Cross were erected. 
The paintings, exclusive of the framework, are eight 
feet by six, that is, eight feet high and six feet wide. 
The figure of Christ, as He stands erect, is five feet 
four inches in height, and all the other figures in pro- 
portion are almost life size. We have not been able 
to find any record as to who painted these Stations, 
but only that they were imported from Europe. The 
grouping of the figures as we pass from one station 
to another is very fine — each figure stands out as if 
the life blood was coursing through the body. The 
majesty of the person of Christ is very impressive. 
In the figures of the Blessed Virgin and other Holy 
personages, there is that dignity, combined with re- 
serve and modesty, which the best traditional paint- 
ings have possessed. Whomsoever the artist, he cer- 
tainly had a fine conception of Christ and His 
Blessed Mother, such as we have understood them 
from the teachings of the Fathers. We could go 
from station to station and spend hours in contem- 
plating the scene before us — each group opening up, 
as it were, a new panorama, full of pathos to the 
devout beholder. It is just fifty years since the 
stations were erected. They look just as fresh as if 
put in position at a recent date — all the coloring and 
shading being done in oil. 



306 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Originally these stations were mounted in massive 
Gothic frames, which practically reached the but- 
tresses of the roof. During the decoration of the 
Church, in 1889 or 1890, the Rector, Bev. E. A. Hig- 
gins, S. J., ordered the frames to be taken off, and 
had the paintings glued to the wall and had a narrow 
square wooden frame put around them. In 1902, 
when the Church was redecorated once more, the pas- 
tor, Father Meyer, had this plain framework taken 
off and an artistic stucco frame put in its place. The 
stations may be seen today, just as Father Meyer 
left them. 6 

Another sacred object, which attracts special at- 
tention, is the Mission Cross, erected in 1845. This 
cross is eighteen feet high — the cross beam being 
eight feet from end to end. The figure of Christ is 
life size — being six feet. The Cross originally stood 
against the wall pillar to the left of St. Joseph's 
altar. The repository was annually erected at this 
altar, and the right arm of the Cross interfered with 
its decoration. The cross was, therefore, transferred 
to the main wall pillar, at the intersection of the 
East transept and nave. Here the devout kneel and 
pray, and renew their fealty to God, as in the days 
of the great Father Damen. 7 

The great organ is, of course, a very important 
part of the interior equipment, and a rather detailed 
reference thereto will be of interest. 

6 The generosity of proportions or breadth of conception is again shown 
in the almost mammoth Stations, which, had they been of lesser propor- 
tions would have disturbed the harmony of the general scheme. 

7 This is indeed a startling figure earnestly considered. Unnumbered 
sufferers and sinners have gazed upon this pious object while appealing 
to the Comforter of the Afflicted. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 307 

Description and History of the Great Organ, 
Holy Family Church, Chicago 

It is customary when an organ of unusual dimen- 
sions is erected, to favor the public with a descrip- 
tion of it. A careful perusal of the following specifi- 
cations and scheme will reveal the fact that for per- 
fection of tone and completeness of mechanism the 
"King of Instruments" which is erected in the Holy 
Family Church, is not surpassed by any similar 
instrument in this country. It rivals the greatest 
Church and Concert Organs of the world, and stands 
in foremost p]ace as an example of the most ad- 
vanced methods of organ building. It will accord- 
ingly be of interest to organists and the general pub- 
lic to become familiar with an organ which, though of 
vast dimensions and of many modern complex con- 
trivances, remains on the whole a perfectly symmetri- 
cal and artistic structure. 

The organ was originally built in the year 1869, by 
Mitchell & Son, Montreal, Canada, at a cost of 
$30,000. It is entirely built of foreign material, all the 
metal pipes and reeds having been made in Paris. 
The case is built of walnut and of a very elaborate de- 
sign, in Gothic style. The pipes of the double Open 
Diapason are heavily gilded and arranged and placed 
in three towers. Over each tower is placed a group of 
angels — elegant wood carvings — each angel bearing 
a musical instrument, also heavily gilded. On the 
center, and largest tower, over a group of angels, is 
a statue representing David with gold crown and 
harp, which, upon the whole, makes an imposing ap- 
pearance. It has always been considered to be the 
largest and finest church organ in the country. 



308 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Since that time, many improvements have been 
made in the line of organ building, principally in the 
mechanism. Aside from these improvements, this in- 
strument always ranked among the best, even its 
magnificent workmanship and tone. During the 
many years of its use, it has become considerably 
impaired, as it is natural for foreign wood to be in- 
jured by our climatic changes. It was, therefore, 
deemed necessary to rebuild the entire organ and at 
the same time to apply all the latest contrivances so 
as to bring it up to modern requirements. Mr. Frank 
Roosevelt, of New York, was intrusted with this great 
undertaking, and it now stands as a " monument," 
and in every sense of the word a " masterpiece." 

Mechanically, this organ differs essentially from 
the works of other organ builders. Among the many 
advantages that are profited by, is the pneumatic 
action (Roosevelt Patent). The organist is no longer 
required, as in the old method, by muscular effort 
applied to the key at a long distance from the pipe, 
to open widely, a large valve against wind pressure, 
in order to admit air to the wind pipe, and thus cause 
it to speak. All this has been entirely overcome by 
this modern improvement. JSTow the performer can, 
with the greatest ease and light touch applied to the 
key, cause the pipe to speak instantaneously. 

The draw stop action, which is also very light, and 
has been greatly improved, by the use of the above 
mechanical appliance, with an ample number of com- 
bination pedals, will be especially appreciated, par- 
ticularly on account of the slight effort it requires 
to manipulate them. The combination pedals are 
all double acting, and are so constructed as to give 
the player wonderful assistance in controlling his 
instrument without any muscular effort whatever. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 309 

A new and most important feature of this organ 
are the swell boxes. Almost the entire organ is in- 
closed in a swell box, with the exception of the pedal 
and part of the great organ. This is not like in other 
organs where only the swell organ is inclosed in a box 
with shutters, but the great and choir organ has 
each its respective swell box and its separate swell 
pedal, arranged so that they can be used separately 
or in combination. It is possible to produce a pecul- 
iar effect by opening one swell box while closing 
another and when using them together, a most star- 
tling crescendo can be produced. Another remarkable 
feature that deserves particular mention is the 
" crescendo pedal." By means of this pedal, one can 
bring into effect every stop, from the softest to the 
loudest, also vice versa. The result of this crescendo 
and diminuendo is marvelous. This same pedal can 
also be used in a different manner, viz. : to act as a 
"full organ" pedal, where every stop in the organ 
can be brought into effect instantaneously. Its con- 
struction is wonderful, simple, always reliable in its 
action and gives great assistance to the performer. 

The key desk is placed fourteen feet distant from 
the organ, the organist facing the choir and instru- 
ment. This novel idea has proved a success, as it 
gives the organist every advantage in controlling the 
choir and organ. The key desk itself is an ornament 
of elegant workmanship and finish. It is, above all, 
the key desk, which excites the admiration of organ- 
ists, and which has to the uninitiated something of a 
resemblance of magic. 

The facilities for controlling this "king of instru- 
ments" are more perfect and complete than any 
other. The keys, like the draw stops, combination 
pedals and other mechanical movements, do not re- 



310 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




OUR LADY OF HELP MEMORIAL TO THE ACOLYTES 

THE WAY OF THE CROSS 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 311 

quire the organist to furnish muscular power to 
effect his work, but simply act as agent for the pneu- 
matic power furnished by the bellows. The draw 
stops, combination pedals and mechanical movements., 
are all within comfortable reach of the performer. 
To aid the organist in gaining familiarity with the 
numerous stops and levers, they are arranged with 
careful system and regularity, the stops of the differ- 
ent departments being distinguished by the color of 
their knobs, placed in a single group, and in the order 
required by their scale or character. 

The organ, as originally constructed, contained 
sixty-four speaking stops (registers) and three thou- 
sand nine hundred and forty-four pipes. There were 
practically four organs, each independent of the 
other, and when required, an instantaneous combi- 
nation of the whole could be had. 

The great organ contained 1,456 pipes; the swell 
organ contained 1,288 pipes; the choir organ con- 
tained 840 pipes; the pedal organ contained 360 
pipes. 

The pipes on this instrument varied from the size 
of a pencil to thirty-four feet in length by thirty to 
thirty- four inches in diameter. 

It required six men, on ordinary occasions, and 
eight men on special occasions to supply wind for this 
huge instrument. Many improvements have been 
made in the art of organ building since its installa- 
tion in 1870. At its reconstruction in 1892, nearly 
everything known at that time in organ improve- 
ments was introduced by the Roosevelt Organ Com- 
pany of New York. To do away with the old-fash- 
ioned hand blowing, three powerful hydraulic pumps 
were installed to supply the wind. These pumps 



312 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

worked very satisfactorily for a number of years, 
until the city water pressure became too low to op- 
erate the motors. In fact, the entire mechanism 
became so badly worn after ten or twelve years con- 
stant use, that the instrument was rendered useless. 
The trouble was foreseen and a two-manual organ of 
eleven registers was built on the lower gallery in 1905. 
Finally it was decided to rebuild the great organ, and 
provide all necessary improvements requisite for a 
new church organ, and, instead of the hand and water 
power of the past, the organ to be electrified 
throughout with two five-horse-power motors. The 
contract for this work was given out on the 24th day 
. of April, 1922, to be completed by April, 1923. 

The organ, as originally constructed, contained 
four organs, but after its reconstruction it will con- 
tain five. Lovers of fine music will be surprised at 
the wonderful improvements, tonally and mechani- 
cally. It will rival the greatest Church and concert 
organ of the world. 

The following explanation will give some idea : 

The great organ, consisting of fifteen stops (regis- 
ters) 1403 pipes 

The swell organ, consisting of nineteen stops (regis- 
ters) 1679 pipes 

The choir organ, consisting of sixteen stops (regis- 
ters) 1095 pipes 

The solo organ, consisting of eight stops (registers) . . 511 pipes 

The pedal organ, consisting of thirteen stops (regis- 
ters) 384 pipes 

The chimes organ 28 pipes 

The harp 42 pipes 

5142 pipes 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



313 




NOTABLE ALTAR PIECES STATUE OF ST. PATRICK 

GOLD VESTMENTS BROUGHT BY FATHER SMARIUS FROM PARIS 



314 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Besides the above there are to be eight combination pistons to 
great and pedal organs; eight combination pistons to swell and 
pedal organs; eight combination pistons to choir and pedal 
organs; six combination pistons to the solo and pedal organs; 
twenty-four couplers; ten pedal combinations (toe pistons); 
one full organ pedal; three expression pedals; and one grand 
crescendo pedal. 

The Great Organ was used after its first opening 
in the Fall of 1870, on all Sundays and Festivals, 
at the High Mass and Vespers. It was also used at 
grand weddings and funerals and whenever any 
solemn occasion required it. The organ fairly kept 
up to its reputation for being the sweetest and most 
melodious that lovers of music ever heard up to the 
later eighties. About this time, however, the mecha- 
nism began to show the effects of the wear and 
tear of twenty years. In 1892, the organ was rebuilt. 
It was supposed that it was now prepared to stand 
much more wear than the previous record showed. 
This was especially expected since the hydraulic 
power was installed. There were also many other 
devices and improvements added. After its comple- 
tion it was used about as of old, perhaps more fre- 
quently, as the operator had only to turn on the lever 
to have all the power desired, where formerly he 
would have to enlist the services of one or two or 
several men to blow it. The rebuilt organ, however, 
with all of its new machinery lasted only about ten 
years, when it completely collapsed. Rev. John 
Neenan was desirous to have the organ repaired or 
rebuilt but somehow, or for some one reason or other, 
and there were many reasons, the rebuilding was 
postponed from year to year until 1922, when Rev. 
Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J., signed the contract for the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 315 

rebuilding at a cost of $16,000. It was intended it 
should be ready for operation for Easter of 1923, 
but the clergy and congregation were disappointed in 
this respect. In the meantime, a small pipe-organ 
located on the lower gallery, has been used through- 
out the present year (1923). 

The great organ, though not complete in every de- 
tail, was " opened" on Thursday evening, May 10, 
1923. An account of the concert appeared in The 
Diapason, the official paper of the National Associa- 
tion of Organists and of Organ Builders' Association 
of America, of June 1, 1923, as follows : 

Great Audience at Holy Family 

One of the largest audiences that ever heard an organ open- 
ing in Chicago, gathered at the Holy Family Church on Roose- 
velt road on the evening of May 10, to hear the program of 
Charles M. Courboin and the fine work of the choir led by 
Frank B. Webster, director, with Leo Mutter at the organ. 
Bishop E. F. Hoban and noted clergymen from all parts of 
the archdiocese were present. The famous edifice presented a 
scene of grandeur which accorded with the power of the great 
organ, with its immense reeds. The instrument, entirely re- 
built by the Tellers-Kent Organ Company, as set forth in pre- 
vious issues of The Diapason, was not completed in time for 
the recital, but the parts that were ready for use proved that 
the old majesty of the huge instrument so long silent had been 
successfully restored. Mr. Courboin, to whom no mechanical 
obstacles are insurmountable, played magnificently. His pro- 
gram included the following: Concert Overture, Maitland; 
Serenade, Grasse; Allegretto, de Boeck; Passacaglia, Bach; "In- 
vocation," Mailly; Chorale No. 3, Franck; Sketch No. 4, Schu- 
mann; "The Bells of St. Anne de Beaupre," Russell; "Chinoi- 
serie," Swinnen; "Marche Heroique, " Saint-Saens. 8 

s The extended descriptions of and references to the great organ are 
compiled from programs and accounts published at the times of the sev- 
eral openings. 



CHAPTEE XVI 

The Clergy 

On the theory that, save in the case of the found- 
ers, the parish preceded the clergy, we have set 
out the chronicle of the parish and have described 
the church. It now seems in order to treat of the 
clergy, and this division of the work, will, no doubt, 
be read with interest by a greater number of people 
than any chapter. 

How shall we do justice to this small army of Sol- 
diers of the Cross? Who would dare classify them 
with respect to comparative ability, piety and effec- 
tiveness? To speak of them in chronological order 
is difficult, since many served during the same time, 
and many also ministered to the parish at one time, 
were absent for a time, and returned. An alpha- 
betical order of treatment seems to be the most prac- 
tical, and, accordingly, that plan has been adopted. 
There is here no pretense of exhaustive treatment, 
but simply sufficient reference to identify the clergy- 
man and recognize his labors, at the same time per- 
petuating his memory: 

Clergy Directly Connected with Holy Family 
Church 

' Eev. Henry Baselmans, S. J. (Deceased), came 
to Holy Family Parish in 1889, as assistant pastor 

316 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



317 



and chaplain to the Cook County Hospital, at Dun- 
ning. He ministered in this capacity for fifteen 
years. He usually said Mass in the church at five 
a. m., daily, and immediately after his thanksgiving 
went to his confessional, where he remained until 
breakfast time, and neither the cold of winter nor 
the intense heat of summer was permitted to inter- 
fere with these daily duties. After a short illness, 
Father Baselmans died, at St. Ignatius College, Chi- 
cago, on June 20, 1907. 




REV. JOHN M. CUNNING- 
HAM, S. J. 
Missionary 



REV. CHRISTOPHER J. 

KOHNE, S. J. 

Missionary 



Rev. James Mary Chrysostom Bouchard, S. J. 
(Deceased), was born of an Indian father and a 
French mother, in September, 1823. He was edu- 
cated and ordained a Presbyterian minister, but was 
converted to the Catholic Faith when a young man, 
and later joined the Society of Jesus. He came to 
Holy Family Parish in 1858 and remained here until 
1861 , when he left for a new field of labor in the far 



318 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

West, where he spent the remainder of his life, giv- 
ing missions and seeking the salvation of souls. He 
died at St. Ignatius College, San Francisco, Cali- 
fornia, on December 27, 1889. Father Bouchard was 
a fervent but tender soul as is indicated by a charm- 
ing poem written during his Indian mission work, 
and signed Watomika, S. J., his Indian name. The 
poem reads : 

Shed not a tear over your friend 's bier 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 
Smile when the slow tolling bell yon hear 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 
Weep not for me when you stand round my grave 
Think Who has died His beloved to save 
Think of the crowns all the ransomed shall wear 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 

Plant ye a tree which may wave over me 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 
Sing ye a song when my grave you shall see 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 
Come at the close of a bright summer's day, 
Come when the sun sheds his last lingering ray. 
Come and rejoice when I've thus passed away 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 

Plant ye a rose that may bloom o'er my bed 

Wlien I am gone, when I am gone. 
Breathe not a sigh for the bless 'd early dead 

WTien I am gone, when I am gone. 
Praise ye the Lord that I'm freed from all care, 
Serve ye the Lord that my bliss you may share, 
Look up on high and believe I am there 

When I am gone, when I am gone. 

Rev. Charles Bill, S. J. (Deceased), was born in 
Cincinnati, Ohio, March 26, 1854. After completing 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 319 

his ecclesiastical studies and being ordained to the 
priesthood he was stationed in various Houses of 
the Society. A number of years were spent at the 
Sacred Heart Church, on Nineteenth Street, in Chi- 
cago. He was also assistant pastor of Holy Family 
Church and chaplain of Cook County Hospital and 
Dunning Asylum. He was a very approachable man 
— kind and sympathetic, and a great lover of the 
confessional. He had his box near the door of the 
church, in order that early and late comers alike 
could have easy access to the sacred tribunal. The 
last few years of his life he spent as spiritual director 
of the Jesuit Community, at Loyola Academy, Rog- 
ers Park, Chicago. His death occurred on November 
8, 1915. 

Rev. Florentine Boudreaux, S. J. (Deceased), 
the well-known author of "God our Father" and 
"The Happiness of Heaven," and brother in blood 
of the saintly Father Isidore Boudreaux, the cele- 
brated Jesuit Novice master, and also the brother of 
Madame Boudreaux of the Sacred Heart, was born 
in Louisiana, on May 22, 1821. After his prepara- 
tory studies he joined the Jesuits at the age of twen- 
ty-two. 

Father Boudreaux 's life, as a Jesuit, was a busy 
one in the class room, the pulpit and the confessional. 
He was noted for his kindness, charity and sincerity. 
For a number of years he was on the missions, and 
assisted Father Smarius in collecting funds to pay 
for the grand organ in Holy Family Church. For 
some time he had charge of the St. Vincent de Paul 
Society of Holy Family Parish, and was a most sym- 
pathetic leader and adviser. 



320 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Although Father Boudreaux was kind and affable 
to all, he was especially the favorite of the children. 
His visits to the class rooms were hailed with de- 
light, especially by the little ones of the lower grades. 
It was his practice to tell them funny stories and, 
as his entertainments were described, he would start 
the "kittens fighting." He had the faculties of a 
ventriloquist, by means of which he produced noises 
representing the growling of cats. In a moment he 




REV. JOHN A. 

GONSER, S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 

1898-1907 



rev. james 
McCarthy 

Assistant Pastor, 
1908, 1914-18 



REV. CHARLES BILL, 

S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 

1908-12 



would have all the little ones trying to imitate him. 
Often he would be seen on the sidewalk surrounded 
by a group of children, and on such occasions the first 
request would be "Father, please make the kittens 
fight." Father Boudreaux was an effective pulpit 
speaker. He had a clear voice that could be heard 
and understood all over the church. It was his habit 
to illustrate his sermon by stories, and he justified 
this practice by pointing out that even our Divine 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 321 

Lord used to speak in parables. ' ' They may forget 
every word of my sermon/' lie would say, "but they 
will remember my story." In Father Boudreaux 
the porter and sacristan found their ideal man, for 
as soon as called to the church or parlor, or to go 
upon a sick call, he left all other work without 
question. 

The later years of his life were spent as assistant 
pastor at Sacred Heart Church, Chicago. He died 
January 30, 1894, and his remains repose in Cal- 
vary Cemetery, near those of his companion on the 
missions, the great Father Smarius. 

Rev. Eugene H. Brady, S. J., Pastor (Deceased), 
was pastor of Holy Family Church, succeeding Eev. 
Michael P. Dowling, S. J. Prior to coming to Holy 
Family he had been pastor of St. Francis Xavier 
Church, in Cincinnati, for a number of years. His 
health had been precarious, and, after several 
months, he had to be relieved of the responsibilities 
connected with the pastorate. He was a man of great 
zeal and self sacrifice, and paused at no obstacle in 
the path of his duties. It may be truthfully said of 
him what the royal psalmist said of himself, "The 
zeal of thy house hath eaten me up." Father Brady 
died June 21, 1903. 

Rev. Aloysius Breen, S. J., was born September 
1, 1867, and entered the Society of Jesus on August 
11, 1890. Father Breen was, for several years, rector 
of St. Mary's, St. Mary's, Kansas. At present he is 
director of the excellent periodical published in St. 
Louis The Queen's Work. Father Aloysius is the 
oldest of three blood brothers who have entered the 
Holy Priesthood and become members of the Society 
of Jesus. In this connection, there occurred in Jan- 



322 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

uary, 1923, an interesting coincidence. At one time 
the three brothers were celebrating Mass, at the three 
altars, in Holy Family Church, although there was no 
prearrangement, nor were either of the brothers 
aware that the others were to celebrate Mass at the 
same time. 

Eev. Francis X. Breen, S. J., brother of Aloysius 
and Paul M., was born December 23, 1869, and en- 
tered the Society of Jesus, July 27, 1891. Father 
Francis Xavier has been engaged in teaching in vari- 
ous colleges for several years, and has in recent years 
been connected with St. Ignatius College, in Chicago. 
He has also succeeded admirably in connection with 
Sunday School work, as well as in his special work 
amongst the Italians of Angel Guardian Parish. 

He has been especially successful in connection 
with the chaplaincy of St. Francis Xavier Council 
of the Knights of Columbus, organized chiefly 
through his influence, and developed to one of the 
very large and effective councils of that Order. 
Among his various activities must be counted the 
publication of a very meritorious paper which is 
distributed to all the members of the council, and 
which, together with his other work, has produced 
excellent results amongst the American-Italian 
residents. 

Rev. Paul M. Breen, S. J., the third brother, was 
born December 3, 1873, and entered the Society of 
Jesus, July 27, 1891. Father Paul has been Vice- 
President of St. Ignatius College, Chicago, and also 
the Superior of Loyola Academy for several years. 
At present he is the Treasurer of St. Ignatius Col- 
lege, Chicago. 

Rev. Henry Bronsgeest, S. J., Pastor (Deceased), 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 323 

was born April 17, 1842. He became pastor of Holy 
Family Church in the fall of 1879, and remained 
in that post until 1884. 

Father Bronsgeest was born in Holland and made 
his studies and was ordained in his native country. 
Coming to America, like so many of his country- 
men, he joined the Jesuit Order in Missouri, and was 
soon sent out with one of the missionary bands, giv- 
ing missions and assisting the missionaries in the 
confessional. 

He seemed especially selected by Providence as 
Shepherd of Christ's flock, and undoubtedly pos- 
sessed all the traits and talent, zeal and devotion to 
duty required to make a good pastor. He was always 
prompt to respond to the call of duty, and though 
not an orator, was a good preacher. He possessed 
a fine voice for singing the Mass and other ceremo- 
nies, and was a prime favorite in the confessional. 

He was a good organizer and successful manager 
of sodalities, possessing the tact and talent to hold 
the organization together. 

After five years at Holy Family Church, he was 
transferred to the Sacred Heart Church on Nine- 
teenth Street, Chicago, and finally he was trans- 
ferred to the newly organized parish of St. Francis 
Xavier, St. Louis, Missouri. There the foundations 
of the church had just been laid, and it became the 
task of Father Bronsgeest to carry the work to com- 
pletion. It is conceded that, up to a few years ago, 
there was no more beautiful church, exteriorly or 
interiorly, than that which Father Bronsgeest built. 

He remained at this post for twenty-five years. 

The last few years of his life Father Bronsgeest 
spent in quiet and retirement at Florissant, where, 



324 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

after a life well spent and a long record of achieve- 
ments, he died, April 8, 1918. 

His remains were brought from Florissant to the 
church he built, and the solemn funeral obsequies 
were performed in the presence of the Most Rev- 
erend Archbishop John J. Glennon. 

Rev. Martin Bronsgeest, S. J., a brother of 
Father Henry Bronsgeest, was born, May 14, 1859, 
and entered the Society of Jesus, December 21, 1883. 
Father Martin spent nearly all of his priestly life 
in the various duties of a pastor. During his career 
he was connected with several Jesuit churches in the 
Middle West ; spent several years as assistant pastor 
of Holy Family Church, Chicago, and was also Su- 
perior and Pastor of the Sacred Heart Church, Nine- 
teenth and Peoria streets, Chicago. He is at present 
stationed at St. Francis Xavier Church, Cincinnati, 
Ohio. 

Rev. John I. Coghlan, S. J., Pastor (Deceased), 
succeeded Rev. Francis Ryan, S. J., as pastor of 
Holy Family Church. Prior to becoming pastor, he 
had succeeded Father Damen as Superior of the Mis- 
sions, being associated with Fathers Damen and 
Smarius and together with these he gave missions all 
over the country from New York to the states of the 
far West. In all he spent fifteen years in Chicago, 
part of this time on the missions, and part of it in 
assisting Father Damen in the parochial duties of 
Holy Family Church. Father Coghlan was, what the 
Irish would call, an ideal "Soggarth Aroon." This 
title imports to the bearer all priestly virtues and 
qualifications. After his pastorate of two years, 1885- 
1887, he spent more years on the missions and in 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 325 

pastoral work in other places, and died in St. Louis 
August 7, 1897. 

Eev. James Conahan, S. J., was born August 
9, 1861, and joined the Society of Jesus, August 14, 
1883. Father Conahan has been connected with Holy 
Family Church for many years as preacher at the 
Children's Mass, and also as director of the altar 
boys' society. He is at present connected with St. 
Ignatius College. 

Rev. John Condon, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Ireland, November 14, 1846. He was a member of 
the missionary band for some years before coming 
to Holy Family Church, Chicago. In 1885 he was 
sent to Chicago and placed in charge of the Young 
Ladies' Sodality, the Bona Mors, and other associ- 
ations. Father Condon made some of his studies at 
Rome, and became a Jesuit after his ordination, 
which occurred in 1872. 

He was a man of profound learning and a very 
interesting and pleasing speaker, though not gifted 
with great oratorical powers. After he was trans- 
ferred from Chicago, he spent the remainder of his 
life in St. Francis Xavier Church, Cincinnati, Ohio, 
and after much suffering died peacefully, on March 
26, 1908. 

Rev. James M. Converse, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born near Randolph, Vermont, July 30, 1814, and 
was of Puritan stock. He studied law, and later found 
his w^ay into the church, and finally into the Society 
of Jesus. In the early sixties, Father Converse was 
sent to Holy Family Church, Chicago, where he 
]abored zealously for a time, after which he filled 
many important posts until his holy death, which 
took place in St. Louis University, April 26, 1881. 



326 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. Michael Corbett, S. J., Pastor (Deceased), 
was born in County Clare, Ireland, on December 29, 
1827. His was a most active life, and a volume could 
be written concerning his great labors. Our first 
intimate acquaintance with Father Corbett, dates 
from his association with Father Damen, in the 
building up of Holy Family Parish, in 1860 to 1863, 
and he again becomes familiar as pastor of Holy 
Family Church in 1872, while Father Damen was 
rector of the newly established St. Ignatius college. 
In 1875, Father Corbett became Superior of the new 
Sacred Heart Church on Nineteenth street. From 
1886 to 1888, he was engaged in organizing the new 
parish of St. Francis Xavier, in St. Louis, Mo. He 
came soon again to Sacred Heart Church in Chicago, 
exchanging places with Father Bronsgeest. Here 
he was found always laboring. The last few years 
of his life were spent in Florissant, where he died 
June 19, 1912, after fifty-eight years of continuous 
service in the Society of Jesus. 

Father Corbett was a man of refined appearance 
and of deep piety, and was especially devoted to the 
promotion of the sodalities of the Blessed Virgin 
Mary. As a pulpit orator he was deliberate and 
rather prolix in speech. His appearance alone, how T - 
ever, inspired reverence, and he, too, may be said to 
have been a typical "Soggarth Aroon." 

Rev. James J. Corbley, S. J., was born August 10, 
1857, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 9, 
1876. Father Corbley had been a noted preacher 
during his priesthood, and has spent many years on 
the missions, visiting many localities, even pene- 
trating the wilds of Alaska. He spent many years 
as director of the Young Men's Sodality of Holy 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



327 



Family Church. At present he is located at Detroit 
University, Detroit, Michigan. 

Rev. Joseph Curran, S. J. (Deceased), was born, 
raised and educated within the limits of Holy Fam- 
ily Parish. After the usual course of training, in 
the various Jesuit institutions, he was assigned as . 
director over his Alma Mater and the other schools 
attached to the parish. He succeeded the founder 
of the schools, the renowned Father Andrew 'Neill. 
Father Curran was very popular with the children 




/ 




REV. WILLIAM D. TIEENEY, 

S. J. Missionary 



EEV. VINCENT A. SIEFKE, 
S. J. Missionary 



as he could be a child with a child and a man with 
a man. He possessed a remarkable memory, and 
could call any boy or girl by his or her first name 
once he had heard it. He would go about the parish 
with a stick, and woe to the boy or group of boys 
whom he found playing truant or missing Mass on 
Sunday. 

After laboring faithfully in this fruitful field for 
several years. Father Curran was transferred to 



328 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Omaha, Nebraska, where it was hoped that a change 
of climate would restore his failing health. Death 
came, however, on March 6, 1908. 

Rev. Peter De Meester, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Belgium in October, 1817, and after ordina- 
tion began his work among the people of Holy Fam- 
ily Parish in 1876, and continued until 1878, when 
he was assigned other work. He was in the parish 
again, however, in 1880. He had charge of the mar- 
ried Men's Sodality here, but he filled various of- 
fices in several houses of the Order. He was trans- 
ferred to Holy Family Church in 1880 and died on 
the Feast of St. Ignatius, July 31, 1892. 

Rev. John B. De Schryver, S. J. (Deceased), was 
a native of Belgium, and one of those young men 
who, at the request of the great Indian Missionary, 
Father De Smet, volunteered to come to America. 
Father De Schryver came to St. Ignatius college in 
1899, where he taught as a professor until 1914. Dur- 
ing all that period he had a confessional in the church, 
to which he was very devoted, and had quite a large 
following of penitents. 

One of Father De Schryver 's chief works was the 
building of St. John Berchmans Church, on Hum- 
boldt boulevard, for the use of the Belgians. This 
church was built at the request of Most Reverend 
Archbishop James Edward Quigley. It was com- 
pleted in 1906, and placed in charge of a worthy Bel- 
gian priest of the archdiocese of Chicago, Rev. J. E. 
De Vos. 

Father De Schryver spent the last years of his 
life at Creighton University, Omaha, Nebraska, 
where he died February 21, 1922. 

Rev. James A. Dowling, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Cincinnati, Ohio, in the year 1849. He was 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 329 

a brother of Rev. Michael P. Dowling, S. J. Father 
James had been connected with Holy Family Church 
in the early eighties, and then had charge of the 
Young Men's Sodality. 

After an active life spent in the service of God and 
his neighbors, in the various cities of the Middle 
West, he was assigned to Holy Family Church as 
assistant pastor, and was placed in charge of the 
Young Men's Sodality. He, like his younger brother, 
Father Michael P., was a man of great energy and 
usually brought to a successful conclusion all his un- 
dertakings. He had great faith and devotion to the 
use of what has become known as St. Ignatius water, 
and collected and published records of cures obtained 
through the application of the healing water and the 
intercession of the Saint. He died in Chicago, 
February 6, 1915. 

Rev. Michael Patrick Dowling, S. J., Pastor 
(Deceased), was born in Cincinnati, in 1851. After 
becoming a priest he succeeded Rev. E. D. Kelly, S. 
J., as pastor of Holy Family Church, in 1894. 

In four years, Father Dowling left the impress of 
his progressive spirit and energies within his im- 
portant sphere. It was during his term as pastor that 
the Sanctuary Society was organized and the Holy 
Family School given to the direction of the Sisters 
of Charity of the B. V. M. He reorganized the 
Ushers Society, and placed the finances of the church 
on a sound basis. He encouraged the cause of tem- 
perance, and organized the greatest non-sectarian 
temperance demonstration that has ever occurred in 
Chicago. The demonstration took place on Father 
Mathew's Day, October 10, 1894. He also organized 
and directed the greatest bazaar held in the parish 
up to that time, using the new class rooms, gymna- 



330 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sium and sodality hall for its accommodation. The 
gross receipts of this great bazaar were $26,000. 

Father Dowling organized the " Small Choirs" as 
they were called, which consisted of a number of 
young ladies banded together with a musical director 
of their own choosing. On Sunday one of these 
choirs sings in the church at each of the Low Masses. 
He promoted annual picnics or outings, which gave 
the people an opportunity of meeting each other so- 
cially; and in every way, during his four years as 
pastor, directed wonderful energy and resourceful- 
ness for the good of the parish. 

A friend of Father Dowling 's once remarked, 
" Father, you are not all Irish." "Why do you say 
that?" asked Father Dowling. " Because an Irish- 
man doesn't go into such details as you do." "Well," 
answered Father Dowling, "my grandmother was 
French." 

He was endowed with talents of the highest order ; 
was of a commanding presence, but was invariably 
kind and considerate and of a liberal and refined 
nature. 

In the fall of 1897, he was transferred to Milwau- 
kee; afterwards to Omaha and Kansas City. In all 
of these places, he kept on building, enlarging or 
improving. Finally his health failed, and after an 
illness of several weeks, which he bore with patience 
and resignation, he died peacefully, on February 13, 
1915, at St. Aloysius Church, Kansas City, Mo. 

Rev. Albert F. Esterman, S. J., was born Decem- 
ber 1, 1869, and entered the Society of Jesus Sep- 
tember 13, 1888. Father Esterman deserves men- 
tion here, on account of his many years spent as 
Treasurer of St. Ignatius College and Holy Family 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



331 



Church. No one could be more devoted to his duties 
than he. When the University faculty moved North 
to Loyola, Father Esterman followed and is there 
located at the present time. 

Rev. Charles Filling, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Germany, May 8, 1837. His life, in the priesthood 
of the Jesuit Order, was spent in this country, and 
he was assistant pastor of Holy Family Church in 
1878 and 1879. 




REV. GILBERT J. GAR- 

RAGHAN, S. J. 

Historian 



REV. THOMAS J. LIVING 

STONE, S. J. 

Educator 



Father Filling was a man of great kindness, and 
was much sought for as a confessor. He was sent 
to Kansas in 1879, and there took up missionary 
work. While on the missions, he met with an acci- 
dent, which proved fatal, his death occurring on the 
Vigil of Our Lady's Assumption, August 14, 1879. 

Eev. Edward J. Gleason, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Chicago on December 7, 1851. Father Glea- 



332 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

son was a favorite in the pulpit of Holy Family 
Church for a number of years, and people came from 
all parts of the city to hear his lectures. Although 
not possessing a strong voice, his diction was so clear 
and his articulation so perfect that he could easily 
be understood in all parts of the great church. He 
was director of the Young Men's Sodality for a time, 
and a confessor in the church, where his advice was 
much sought by those who had difficult problems to 
solve. After a prolonged illness, he died a holy 
death, on October 22, 1913. 

Eev. John G-onser, S. J., was born in Pennsyl- 
vania in 1847, and came to Chicago to do pastoral 
work, in the Holy Family Parish, in the fall of 1908. 
He was given charge of the Young Ladies' Sodality 
and the Bona Mors Society. That he did his work 
well and zealously, many of his friends in the parish 
can testify. In 1907, he was transferred to other 
fields of labor. Later he returned to Chicago, and 
this time was assigned to Sacred Heart Church, 
where he closed his earthly career by a holy death 
March 10, 1918. 

Rev. James M. Hayes, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Ireland, April 24, 1827. Father Hayes' name is, 
and for years past has been, literally a household 
word in Holy Family Parish. Of his wonderful zeal 
and fruitful activities, the late Honorable William 
J. Onahan, spoke as follows: 

"The labors and character of the Reverend James 
M. Hayes should not be permitted to pass without 
recognition. Apart from Father Hayes' duties as a 
professor in St. Ignatius College, Chicago, and his 
work in Holy Family Church, regarding which I do 
not need to testify, his activities were shown notably 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 333 

ill the cause of temperance as well as zeal in the 
propagation of the Faith through the medium of 
Catholic Journals and other literary agencies. He 
early saw the need of an energetic movement among 
Catholics to stem the evils of intemperance. Up- 
wards of two thousand men handed in their names 
and pledges as a result of this effort. But unfortu- 
nately Father Hayes was not in a position to give 
this agitation his full support, his time, or his efforts. 
I am sure there are many thousands in this city who 
owe their emancipation from the ' drink habit' to 
Father Hayes. Countless homes have been made 
happy by his zeal, and multitudes of men and women 
bless his memory. He was truly an apostle in the 
cause of temperance and would well merit a public 
statue as such. 

He was equally active in other spheres, and suc- 
ceeded wonderfully well. He was a strong believer 
in the power of the press. He took over the local 
Catholic paper, "The Catholic Home' and conducted 
it with notable success until it was merged in the 
'New World.' After that time he continued to pub- 
lish his penny booklets and other leaflets which were 
a powerful arsenal of Catholic truth. How unob- 
trusively he worked all these years! 'His office' in 
one of the parlors was always open to all who sought 
his counsel. His hand was always open to those who 
came 'broke' and wanted a night's lodging, though 
he knew that the coins would lodge behind the coun 
ter of some saloon ere five minutes had passed. 

The Catholic Order of Foresters looked to him for 
spiritual counsel in the foundation of their grand 
order, and some of their first meetings were held in 
the parlors of St. Ignatius College, under the spir- 



334 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

itual guidance of Father Hayes. For many years 
a beautiful portrait of Father Hayes was kept in 
the Sodality Hall by the Foresters, in honor of their 
first Chaplain. Many will miss and long lament the 
dear and venerable figure which through these thirty 
years or more has labored here in our midst doing 
the Master's work in a generous and unselfish man- 
ner, caring only for that return and reward which 
is given to those who are faithful to the motto of 
the Society of Jesus, 'Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam/ " 

Rev. Walter H. Hill, S. J., was born January 
22, 1822, and spent the years, from 1884 to 1896, in 
Chicago, all of which time, with the exception of one 
year, when he was at Holy Family Church, was spent 
at the Sacred Heart Church on Johnson and 19th 
streets. 

During his term of service at Holy Family Church, 
he gave the Sunday evening lectures, and also had 
a Confessional. 

The St. Louis " Watchman" of May 29th, summed 
up Father Hill's ability as follows: "One of the 
greatest priests this country ever produced, one of 
the ripest scholars in the Jesuit Order, and his great- 
ness was the greatness of the Church he served." 

Father Hill died in the eighty-sixth year of his 
age at the St. Louis University, St. Louis, Mo. 

Rev. George A. Hoeffer, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Cincinnati, on July 13, 1857, and although 
he was not directly connected with Holy Family 
Parish, nevertheless, as President of the Acolythical 
Society for several years, he was very much inter- 
ested in it. He was a man of high ideals with ref- 
erence to the qualifications of an altar boy. The 
Acolythical Society was developed by him to the very 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 335 

highest pitch of efficiency, and the splendid exhibi- 
tions of the Acolytes were inspiring to those who 
witnessed their movements on great feast days. He 
was intensely devoted to the altar boys, as many of 
those now living and who were (under his guidance 
can testify. 

Besides the duties connected with the altar boys, 
Father George Hoeffer was Vice-President of St. 
Ignatius College. He had not the gift of oratory of 
his brilliant brother, Rev. James F. X. Hoeffer, who 
later became President of St. Ignatius College, but 
he had a heart that would consume itself for others. 
Father George Hoeffer died at St. Ignatius College, 
Chicago, December 15, 1902. 

Rev. John P. Hogan, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Ireland, December 25, 1844, and after ordination 
spent most of his priestly life in St. Ignatius College 
and Holy Family Church, Chicago. He was a ver- 
itable encyclopedia of knowledge and information, 
and could answer promptly almost any question on 
moral theology. As a confessor in the church, his 
confessional on Saturdays and feast days was 
thronged with long rows of penitents, chiefly men. 
It was a notable circumstance that these men would 
wait two or three hours for an opportunity to go to 
confession to Father Hogan, when, if they chose, 
they could go at once to one of several other con- 
fessors in the church. 

Father Hogan was of a retiring disposition. He 
was seen only at his post of duty at Mass, in the con- 
fessional, or when and where duty called him. 

He died peacefully at St. Ignatius College, where 
he had spent about thirty-seven years of his life, on 
October 10, 1920. 



336 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. Edwakd J. Jones, S. J., was born June 9, 
1881, and entered the Society of Jesus, September 
5, 1899. For several years Father Jones taught at 
St. Mary's, Kansas, but was, in 1917, transferred to 
Holy Family Church, Chicago, where he is at present 
located as assistant pastor. 

Eev. Edwin D. Kelly, S. J., Pastor (Deceased), 
former pastor of Holy Family Church, died at St. 
Ignatius College, Chicago, on February 12, 1915. He 
was born in Cincinnati in 1846 and joined the Jesuits 
in 1868. In 1887 he became pastor of Holy Family 
Church, Chicago, and held that position until 1894. 
Holy Family Parish, at that time, was perhaps the 
largest parish in the United States. It was prac- 
tically at the zenith of its glory, having a Catholic 
population estimated at 25,000. 

In 1896, Father Kelly was transferred to Milwau- 
kee, but, in 1904, returned to Chicago and had charge 
of the Young Men's Sodality in Holy Family Parish. 

For a quarter of a century Father Kelly minis- 
tered to the people of Holy Family Parish. He wit- 
nessed its glory and its decline, due to the influx of a 
non-Catholic population. 

Father Kelly, it is easy to believe, went to join 
his predecessors in the realms of bliss in the sixty- 
ninth year of his life, and the forty-seventh of his 
membership in the Society of Jesus. 

Eev. Petek C. Koopmans, S. J., Pastor (De- 
ceased), was born in Holland, September 23, 1830. 
He, like so many of his countrymen, answered the 
call of the Master to labor in His Vineyard. The 
vineyard, in those early days, meant sacrifice in a 
heroic degree, as every one of those young men who 
left parents, friends and country were to learn. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 337 

Many of them left palatial homes and great riches 
to put on the poverty of Christ and follow Him who 
once said, "The Son of Man has not whereon to lay 
his head." 

Father Koopmans came to Holy Family Parish in 
the vigor of his manhood, in 1872. He was again 
assigned to this parish from 1876 to 1883. During 
these years he was engaged as assistant pastor, and 
for part of the time he was first pastor. He was 
director of Sodalities and associations connected 
with the Church. He was very courteous and ap- 
proachable, and would, for the sake of a good laugh 
at the expense of some of his friends, approach the 
rear or kitchen door when the family was at dinner 
or supper, a time of course when they were not pre- 
pared to receive distinguished visitors, and would 
enjoy immensely the confusion of the ladies of the 
house. 

Father Koopmans had a powerful voice and some 
assert that he could be heard as far away as Four- 
teenth Street, a quarter of a mile from the church. 

After 1883, he was transferred to other houses 
of the Society of Jesus, where he did his share of 
whatever he was appointed to do. He died at St. 
Louis University, August 21, 1902, at the age of 
seventy-two years, and is buried amongst the hosts 
of holy missionaries in the cemetery at Florissant, 
Mo. 

Rev. John Kuhlman, S. J. (Deceased), was in 
the Holy Family Parish in 1862-63. He had charge 
of the schools and other parish work. Father Kuhl- 
man was a man of great energy and zeal, as well as 
of executive ability. He spent most of his life as 



338 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Superior in various houses of the Society of Jesus, 
and died January 13, 1887. 

Rev. F. X. Kuppens, S. J., was born in Belgium 
in 1838. He joined the Jesuits of the Missouri 
Province and became a missionary among the In- 
dians of the Northwest. Afterwards, Father Kup- 
pens came to Chicago, where he labored in 1884 and 
1885, during which time he was engaged in pastoral 
work. He had charge of the poor and was director 
of the St. Vincent de Paul Society, and was also a 
director of the Young Ladies' Sodality. During his 
time the Young Ladies' Library was beautified with 
a fine gallery and a statue of Pope Gregory XV, the 
Pope who gave his approbation to the Sodalities. 
He also had an artistic floor laid in the library. 

Father Kuppens was a man of great energy and 
capable of enduring great hardship as was proven 
by his arduous labors amongst the Indians. 

In 1886, Father Kuppens was transferred to other 
fields of labor. He made another trip to the wild 
west, this time to the Shoshone Tribe of Indians, 
on the Wind River in Wyoming. 

Finally, broken down with labors and age, his iron 
constitution gave way. He spent the last years of his 
life amongst the novices at Florissant, edifying them 
by his patience and entertaining them with the 
stories of his life among the dear Indians of the 
Northwest. He died on April 8, 1916, at the age of 
seventy-eight. 

An interesting item concerning Father Kuppens 
comes through the medium of Father Thomas Kelly, 
S. J., who told Brother Mulkerins, S. J., that it was 
Father Kuppens, who suggested to the officials of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



339 



the United States government, that Yellowstone 
should be secured and preserved as a National Park. 
Rev. Aloysius A. Lambert, S. J., spent several 
years as professor at St. Ignatius College, and as 
assistant pastor of Holy Family Church. While, as 
professor of science in the college, he made a name 
for himself in the field of electricity, especially in the 
art of illumination. He established a class in the fire 
department to promote and develop that service to 





REV. JOSEPH P. CONROY, S. J. REV. JOSEPH I. MCLAUGHLIN, 
Missionary S. J. Missionary 



the greatest efficiency. One of his most distinguished 
pupils was the late Professor Barrett. Firemen of 
the last generation had the fullest confidence in 
Father Lambert, and relied upon him for counsel in 
regard to electrical efficiency in the fire department. 
Father Lambert was not only a great scientist in 
his day, but also a great preacher and a brilliant con- 
versationalist. He was a man of unbounded charity, 
especially in helping men and women to secure em- 



340 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

ployment, as none could refuse Ms reasonable re- 
quests, since it was well known that he never refused 
the reasonable requests of others. 

In the fall of 1895, Father Lambert came to the 
Holy Family Parish as assistant pastor, and one of 
his first undertakings was the organization of the 
working boys of the parish into a military cadet 
society, which he named the " United States Jun- 
iors." He procured regular United States army uni- 
forms and equipment for both officers and privates, 
including real guns. He organized two bands — one 
as a brass band, and the other as a fife and drum 
corps. He had his cadets drilled and officered by ex- 
army officers or soldiers. When the young United 
States Juniors marched in parade with their bands 
of thirty or forty pieces, they were unexcelled in the 
great parades on Decoration Day and other notable 
occasions. It is said that, at one time, the right to 
possess the United States regulation uniform and to 
carry guns was questioned by busy zealots who 
feared the downfall of the great American Republic, 
owing to such a terrible foe as these young Catholic 
soldiers. It transpired, however, that Father Lam- 
bert had anticipated such objections by procuring 
from the authorities at Washington, D. C, the nec- 
essary documents authorizing the United States 
Juniors, and granting all the privileges claimed. 

In the fall of 1898, Father Lambert was trans- 
ferred to Cincinnati, where, after a few years, he 
decided to leave the Jesuit Order and become an 
Apostolic missionary. After a few years in that 
work his brilliant career was ended by death. 

Rev. Michael Lawlok, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Dublin, on May 25, 1825. Coming to America, he 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 341 

joined the Jesuits in Missouri in 1851, and, later on, 
was appointed one of the pastors of Holy Family 
Parish, where he rendered valuable service in the 
development of the various institutions that sprang 
up during his life in Chicago. 

Father Lawlor was treasurer, and in the manage- 
ment of the financial affairs of the parish was re- 
markably successful. As a pastor of Holy Family 
Church he was zealous and untiring. As a preacher 
he was clear, logical and persuasive, and his char- 
acter was adorned with the highest virtues. He died, 
lamented by the people of Holy Family Parish, on 
June 18, 1879. 

Rev. Casper Leib, S. J. (Deceased), was born in 
Cincinnati, February 16, 1847. He spent twelve 
years on the missions of British Honduras, whose 
torrid sun and fever swamps would be sufficient to 
try the patience and self sacrifice of a martyr. He 
was given a change for the benefit of his health, and 
Holy Family Parish and Cook County Hospital, 
Chicago, became his field of labor. Father Leib's 
constitution was badly undermined by the hardships 
of the Honduras mission, and he died April 20, 1906. 
He is remembered as a man of unusual kindness and 
charity, who seemed never to have lost his first 
fervor. 

Rev. John M. Lyons, S. J., was born September 
7, 1869, and entered the Society of Jesus September 
1, 1891. Father Lyons has been a professor for a 
number of years and after his ordination was as- 
signed as chaplain of the Cook County Hospital and 
Dunning Asylum. He also successfully organized 
the Catholic Instruction League, which is instru- 
mental in much spiritual good among the public 



342 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

school children, not only of Chicago, but of a score of 
places in several states of the Union. Father Lyons 
devotes all of his time to the promotion of this work. 
His headquarters are at St. Ignatius College, Chi- 
cago. 

Rev. Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J., was born May 26, 
1859, and entered the Society of Jesus, September 7, 
1889. Father Kennedy taught, for several years, in 
the Jesuit colleges of the Middle West. He was 
chaplain of the Cook County Hospital for a time, 
where he did excellent work. He became assistant 
pastor of St. Aloysius Church, Kansas City, Mis- 
souri, where he remained for two years, and from 
thence he was transferred to Holy Family Church, 
Chicago, in the fall of 1915, where he succeeded 
Father Neenan as pastor. His activities and suc- 
cesses have been alluded to in a former chapter. 

Rev. Const antine C. Lagae, S. J., was born Janu- 
ary 12, 1841, in the city of Roulers, West Flanders, 
Belgium. Having made his preliminary ecclesiasti- 
cal studies in his native city, he applied for admis- 
sion to the Society of Jesus for service in the Mis- 
souri Province, and was admitted on September 27, 
1864. 

In July, 1865, Father Lagae left Belgium in the 
company of the renowned Indian missionary, Father 
DeSmet, together with several young men destined 
to leave their impress in the annals of the new world 
in the field of religion. 

After completing his studies, he taught, for several 
years, in St. Louis University and St. Xavier's col- 
lege, Cincinnati, and was then selected to join Father 
Damen's celebrated missionary band. After five 
years of the missions, he was, in the year 1885, ap- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 343 

pointed assistant pastor of Holy Family Church. 
Here he had charge of the Married Ladies Sodality, 
from 1885 to 1895, and it was during his term that 
this sodality reached the height of its greatness. 

In August, 1895, he was transferred to Omaha, 
Nebraska, and, in 1897, was sent to St. Louis, Mo., 
as pastor and Superior, where he remained for four- 
teen years. On June 28, 1911, he again came to Holy 
Family Church, Chicago, and here celebrated his 
Golden Jubilee. 

Father Lagae has remained at Holy Family to the 
present, and is still doing the work in the confes- 
sional and other exercises of piety. He may be seen 
daily taking his outdoor walk, as erect as a youth, 
and greeting, with a kindly and sincere smile, all 
whom he meets. At this writing he is eighty-two 
years of age, and fifty of those years have been spent 
in the Society of Jesus. 

Rev. Thomas J. Livingstone, S. J., was born Au- 
gust 14, 1861, and entered the Society of Jesus, July 
23, 1883. Father Livingstone passed through the 
regular course of studies and teaching in this coun- 
try, and was sent to Europe for special training. 
Since his return to America, he has been employed 
in several colleges of the Middle West as confessor, 
treasurer and pastor. In the fall of 1921, he was 
transferred to Holy Family Church, Chicago, where 
he is at present assistant pastor, and librarian of St. 
Ignatius College. The Holy Family Parish Histori- 
cal Commission is indebted to Father Livingstone 
for valuable assistance rendered in the publication 
of the history of the parish. 

Rev. Ignatius Maes, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Belgium in 1817, and entered the Society of Jesus 



344 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

in the Missouri Province. He was entrusted with 
some very important duties. At one time he was 
missionary among the Pottawatomie and Cahokia 
Indians. In I860, he was appointed assistant pastor 
of Holy Family Church, Chicago, where he remained 
only one year. Later we find him in St. Louis and 
Milwaukee ; and, in the latter place, he passed to his 
linal reward on April 13, 1871. Father Maes was 
noted for his love of the poor, and was a favorite 
amongst non-Catholics. 

Rev. Benedict Masselis, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Belgium in 1820, and after completing the 
usual course of studies preparatory to the priest- 
hood in Belgium, he joined the Jesuits in his native 
country. Later he volunteered for the American 
missions, and was with Father Damen when the lat- 
ter gave his first historic mission in old St. Mary's, 
in Chicago, in 1851. Again, in 1863, Father Masselis 
was sent to Chicago to begin the work of his life — 
fifteen years on the missions with the two greatest 
missionaries that America had produced in those 
early days, namely, Fathers Damen and Smarius. 
After his strenuous missionary labors, Father Mas- 
selis' health broke down, but the remainder of his 
life was very usefully spent in pastoral duties in St. 
Louis, Cincinnati and Milwaukee. He closed his 
long and meritorious career of ninetj^-three years, at 
Milwaukee, in 1910. 

Eev. John Mastekson, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
on March 30, 1851, on Holy Family Parish. Father 
Masterson claimed to be the first Holy Family boy 
to become a Jesuit, which event took place on the 
16th of July 1873. 

Father Masterson spent some years as professor 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 345 

at St. Ignatius college, both before and after his 
ordination to the priesthood. 

After spending several years in other Jesuit insti- 
tutions, he returned to Holy Family Parish in the 
fall of 1902, and became one of the assistant pastors 
and director of the Young Men's Sodality. It was 
while in charge of the Young Men's Sodality that he 
reorganized the Young Men's Dramatic Club, and 
brought out some of the best dramatic talent ever 
displayed on the stage of Holy Family School. 

In the fall of 1904, he succeeded Father Joseph 
Curran in charge of the Parish schools. This post 
he held until 1915. 

After spending some years as assistant pastor in 
the Jesuit Church in Kansas City, Mo., he was trans- 
ferred to Detroit University, where he ended his 
long and laborious career on September 24, 1922. 

Father Masterson was amongst the first children 
who attended school in the little frame building at 
Eleventh and May streets. He was one of the first 
altar boys of Holy Family Church, and, on the morn- 
ing of the 10th of October, 1871, served Mass at Holy 
Family Church at four o'clock in the morning, after 
remaining up all night. The day the corner stone 
was laid for the present Holy Family Church, his 
mother prayed that she would have the privilege of 
seeing her son at the altar in that church. Father 
Damen was rector when young Masterson made ap- 
plication to enter the Order. 

Father Masterson seems to have been a great artist. 
He designed all the latest scenery for Holy Family 
School Hall, as well as the Christmas cribs in the 
church. He was conceded one of the best calig- 
raphers in the city. 



346 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. James A. McCarthy, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born March 4, 1865, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
September 7, 1889. He spent two years in Holy 
Family Parish — his first in 1908, when he had charge 
of the Working Boys' Sodality. The following year 
he was transferred to Loyola Academy, and was next 
appointed as head pastor of the Gesu, Milwaukee, 
and later on was transferred to St. Francis Xavier 
Church, Cincinnati, Ohio. 

In 1914, he returned to Holy Family Parish as 
assistant pastor and director of the Young Men's 
Sodality. His health, which had been precarious for 
some time, declined rapidly toward the end of 1914, 
and every effort of medical science proved unavail- 
ing, as he succumbed to a malignant cancer on May 
23, 1918. Father McCarthy exhibited wonderful 
patience and resignation during his long and painful 
sickness, and yielded to the will of God. His dispo- 
sition was observable in his countenance to the great 
edification of all those who visited him in his last 
sickness. 

Rev. Michael F. McNulty, S. J., was born March 
20, 1858, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 
7, 1884. Father McNulty has been engaged in teach- 
ing and pastoral work in several places. He spent 
several years as assistant pastor of Holy Family 
Church, Chicago. 

He was the first Jesuit permanently assigned to 
the Cook County Hospital, Chicago. 

He has been assigned to the work of giving re- 
treats and missions for several years, and is at pres- 
ent zealously laboring in such service. 

Rev. Augustine K. Meyek, S. J., Pastor (De- 
ceased), was born in Alsace, France, on September 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 347 

18, 1851. He made his early studies in his native 
country, and when the Franco-Prussian war broke 
out, although he was then but a boy of sixteen, he 
joined the army and fought under the great Marshal 
McMahon. 

After the war he was invited, by one of the Ameri- 
can Jesuits, to come out to the great west and with 
a band of young men, he exchanged the tri-color of 
France and the leadership of McMahon, for the 
standard of the Cross and the leadership of Ignatius 
of Loyola. 

In the fall of 1897, Father Meyer was transferred 
to Holy Family Church, Chicago, and was placed in 
charge of the Married Men's Sociality and the 
Acolythical Society. In 1899, he became pastor of 
the church, succeeding Father Brady, and held this 
position until the fall of 1903, when he was trans- 
ferred to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he died, on Decem- 
ber 27, 1904, of heart failure. 

Father Meyer's greatest ambition was to do all 
the good that was possible, and according as oppor- 
tunities presented themselves to him. He built up 
the Married Men's Sodality, which had been declin- 
ing, and also urged the members of the Married 
Ladies' Sodality to greater efforts. He managed 
the Acolythical Society with like success. 

As already seen, he had a new steam plant installed 
in the church, and had the church itself decorated 
most artistically. He installed electricity in the 
church, through which such admirable lighting- 
effects were attained. He considered nothing too 
good for the house of God, but he was no theorist — 
he realized that great improvements were costly, and 
must be paid for, and displayed the highest business 



348 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

qualifications in the conduct of the finances of the 
church, and especially in the organization of his 
great bazaar on such a stupendous scale that in the 
illumination arranged for it, it became a wonderful 
dream, and in the vast crowds that attended gave the 
impression of a miniature world's fair. Up to 
Father Michael Bowling's time that earnest pastor 
held the record for great bazaars, but Father Meyer 
surpassed even Father Dowling's great achievements. 
As has been seen, the gross receipts of this great 
bazaar were $26,000. 

We have already read of the first grand illumina- 
tion of the church after the installation of electricity 
by Father Meyer, and of the attendance of Mayor 
Harrison and other city officials and record crowds. 

Father Meyer will also be remembered on account 
of the great pageants he promoted, to welcome the 
Most Reverend Archbishop on Confirmation Days. 
On such occasions he, with his aids, led the proces- 
sion. He was mounted on a highblooded charger 
which pranced and danced as if from gladness and 
pride in his rider. 

He was a man of great charity, love of the poor 
and sick, and of a most generous nature. One in- 
stance of his disinterested charity may be mentioned. 
As he was leaving town, on one occasion, he turned 
over, to one of the fathers, the list of the sick to 
whom he brought Holy Communion at stated times. 
On the list was a note of an old lady to whom he had 
been bringing Holy Communion for years, but he 
never knew her name. All he could say was that she 
lived at such a number and that he went up by the 
back stairs. 

His last act was one of charity. He had been on 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 349 

a sick call and, as he was mounting the steps of the 
residence at St. Xavier Church, Cincinnati, Ohio, 
after his return, he dropped dead. He had been suf- 
fering from heart trouble for some years previous. 

Rev. Ferdinand A. Moeller, S. J., was born De- 
cember 16, 1852, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
August 10, 1871. Father Moeller has taught in 
various colleges for a number of years, and has been 
assistant pastor of Holy Family Church for about 
ten years. He was director of the Young Ladies' 
Sodality and of the deaf mutes. It was he who 
organized the Catholic deaf mutes of Chicago into 
one compact unit. He had a section of the old pas- 
toral residence turned over to their use. He was 
instrumental in the building of the deaf mutes school 
at Crawford and Belmont avenues. He is at present 
superior of St Joseph's Church, St. Louis, Mo. 

Rev. Patrick Mulconry, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Ireland in 1852. He came to this country 
in his boyhood and made his classical studies at St, 
Mary's College, Kansas. He entered the novitiate of 
the Society, July 13, 1874, and made his higher 
studies in philosophy and theology at Woodstock, 
Maryland. After his philosophical studies he taught, 
for five years, at St. Mary's, Kansas and Omaha, 
where he acquired an enviable reputation as an edu- 
cator. 

Father Mulconry was assistant pastor in Holy 
Family Church, Chicago, from 1891 to 1896, where 
his evening lectures drew large audiences. He is 
especially remembered as director of the Young 
Men's Sodality, editor of the Church Calendar and 
founder of the evening school for working boys. 



350 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

During the eight years succeeding his departure 
from Holy Family Parish he was engaged in mis- 
sionary work with headquarters at Sacred Heart 
Church, Chicago. 

As a preacher he was gifted with extraordinary 
unction and marvelous power over the hearts of his 
hearers. People thronged to the confessional of a 
man so kind and devoted; he was also a favorite 
amongst his fellow clergymen, as a retreat master 
and spiritual director. Ill-health forced him to give 
up preaching and to retire to St. Joseph's Hospital, 
Chicago, where he died, September 22, 1905, at age 
fifty-three. Thirty-one years of his life were spent 
in religion. 

Eev. Patrick Murphy, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
on May 12, 1845. His parents settled in Holy Family 
Parish. 

Having completed his preparatory studies, he was 
one of the first of the young men from Holy Family 
Parish to join the Jesuits. 

In 1868, Father Murphy came to Chicago as one 
of the pastors of Holy Family Parish. He worked 
hard in charge of the Young Men's Sodality and 
managed the Calendar and the monthly lectures 
given in the winter season in the Sodality Hall. 
These lectures were delivered by various men of 
Chicago. After several years in this meritorious 
work, he was transferred to other fields of labor, but 
came back to Chicago for a year or two, about 1900, 
and had charge of the working boys. He was then 
transferred to Milwaukee, and, after several years, 
was again in Chicago, but this time was stationed at 
the new Jesuit Church (St. Ignatius) on the north 



PEIESTS AND PEOPLE 351 

side. After a few years his health broke down, and 
he died, July 26, 1917. 

Father Murphy had a fund of native wit. While 
editor of the Holy Family Church Calendar, he pub- 
lished a brief history of the parish. His witty re- 
marks, published in that medium, furnished much 
amusement to the readers. 

Rev. John J. Neenan, S. J., Pastor, was born 
April 4, 1862, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
Aug. 7, 1874. He taught for several years and was 
minister of St. Ignatius College Chicago. From 
1903 to 1915 he was pastor of Holy Family Church, 
Chicago. In the year 1915 he was transferred to St. 
Xavier's Church, Cincinnati, Ohio. From thence he 
was promoted to the superiorship of the Jesuit Mis- 
sion of British Honduras. 

Rev. William T. Nash, S. J., was born January 
18, 1876, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 
13, 1895. Father Nash taught, for several years, in 
the Jesuit colleges of the Middle West and was, for 
a number of years, assistant pastor in Holy Family 
Church. At present he is one of the pastors of Sa- 
cred Heart Church, Nineteenth and Peoria streets, 
Chicago. 

Rev. Dominick Neiderkorn, S. J., Pastor (De- 
ceased), was born in the Grand Duchy of Luxem- 
bourg, on May 15, 1815. He made his studies and 
was ordained to the priesthood in Europe. He sailed 
for America, and became a Jesuit novice at Floris- 
sant, May 15, 1859. 

In 1863, he came to Holy Family Church, Chi- 
cago, where he acted as superior, until 1868, during 
Father Damen's missionary excursions. During his 
pastorate, he always had charge of one or more 



352 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sodalities, and these organizations owe much to 
Father Neiderkorn 's zeal and prudence. 

After the erection of St. Stanislaus School and 
temporary church, Father Neiderkorn was put in 
charge, and here he spent some years organizing 
what is now the Sacred Heart School and Church. 
He remained in this work until 1875, when he joined 
one of the missionary bands. In 1880, he went to 
Detroit, where the closing years of his life were 
spent. He died on June 10, 1892. 

Father Neiderkorn's sister, Madame Neiderkorn, 
of the Sacred Heart, was well known in Holy Family 
Parish as a teacher, superior and Vicar. She, too, 
was full of zeal for God's glory, and had great devo- 
tion to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The good done by 
this holy priest and venerable religious is beyond all 
praise. God alone can and will reward them. 

Eev. Peter Nogues, S. J. (Deceased), was born in 
Southern France, on March 12, 1822. He became a 
Jesuit, and was connected with St. Ignatius college, 
in the capacity of minister, for the years 1881-82. 
He had charge of the League of the Sacred Heart for 
a season or two. His untiring zeal as a confessor 
in the church was remarkable. He spent his life 
doing the work of a faithful Jesuit, and died on June 
28, 1898, after forty-eight years in the Society. 

Rev. Thomas A. Nolan, S. J., was born December 
19, 1863, and entered the Society of Jesus, October 
29, 1886. After completing his studies Father Nolan 
taught for a number of years. In his later years, he 
has been employed as pastor and assistant pastor in 
several of the Jesuit churches in the Middle West. 
He spent several years as assistant pastor of Holy 
Family Church, and director of the Young Men's 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 353 

Sodality. At present he is connected with Gesu 
Church in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

Rev. Francis Nussbaum, S. J. (Deceased), the 
friend of the waifs, has left a sweet memory in Holy 
Family Parish. Amongst all the priests who have 
officiated in the parish, from its establishment to the 
present day, Father Nussbaum stands out above all 
in one particular; that is, a zeal for the waif, the 
neglected and the working boy. It was his prac- 
tice to teach catechism to these boys several nights 
in the week, and when they were prepared he 
had them make their First Communion. The next 
step was to have them join the working boys, or St. 
Joseph's Sodality, as it was called. He had as many 
as 500 of these lads in his sodality at one time. To 
an observer, who watched his management of the 
boys and his control over them, it seems indeed 
marvelous, and his patience with the little street 
gamins and their rough and crude manners, was 
wonderful. He loved them dearly, and as none knew 
this better than the boys, they took his corrections 
in good part, and strived to observe his admonitions, 
at least for the moment, if they were soon forgotten. 
His ordinary name for the boys was my monkeys. 

Father Nussbaum was a man of order and method 
— in everything he did he used method in his manage- 
ment of the boys, or monkeys, as he called them. He 
would go out each afternoon and call at the homes of 
delinquents, or if any of the boys were sick he would 
visit them, and if need, he prescribed suitable treat- 
ment, as he had an indifferent knowledge of medi- 
cine, his brother being a noted physician in his native 
Bavaria, and upon whom the Emperor of Germany 
had conferred the title of von. 



354 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

It was amusing to watch the crowd of boys around 
Father Nussbaum's confessional on the eve of their 
Communion. They would have their scuffles for 
position just as if they were on the street, and the 
good Father w r ould have one eye on the crowd before 
his box, while he listened to what the one inside was 
saying. On these " boys' nights" he would hear no 
one else, but, should it happen that some good, pious 
lady would make the mistake of mixing up, or, per- 
haps, pushing herself in ahead of the boys, as soon 
as Father Nussbaum's eye detected her she was 
given such a reminder that she would never repeat 
the error. 

One instance of good results out of the many which 
occurred through Father Nussbaum's solicitude 
for Catholic working boys, will be interesting. The 
following is from the lips of the boy in question, and 
in his own language : 

"I was born and raised down on South Halsted 
street. I had a stepmother, and I ran away from 
home. I used to sweep out saloons and slept where 
I could. I got into Father Nussbaum's Catechism 
class, and made my First Communion. I blacked 
boots, etc., and finally made my way to the stock- 
yards, where I worked for $9.00 a week. After a 
while I was promoted to a higher position, and was 
offered a bribe by another packer (possibly to try 
me). I refused, saying that all the money of so and 
so would not buy me." 

From that day to this the lad received the name 
of " Honest John." The man who offered him the 
bribe, induced him to leave his present employer and 
to go to work for him, giving him about double the 
wages he had been receiving. Finally, this packer 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 355 

used Honest J ohn to establish new branches for him, 
in various cities, at a salary of $12,000 a year. All 
this success he attributes to Father Nussbaum and 
the glories of being one of his monkeys. 

Father Nussbaum gave the Sunday evening lec- 
tures in the church for a number of years. These 
were mostly controversial. He was usually ap- 
pointed Master of Ceremonies on all festive occa- 
sions, such as when the Bishop pontificated. A fine 
white set of vestments, worth at least one thousand 
dollars, and a beautiful chalice, all given by Dr. von 
Nussbaum to his brother, about 1878, were donated 
by Father Nussbaum to the Holy Family Church, 
and can be seen at the present day as a marvel of 
workmanship of the best Munich artists. In 1888, 
Father Nussbaum was transferred to Cincinnati, 
where he busied himself in the care of the working 
boys, until the time of his holy death, which occurred 
December 30, 1898. 

Eev. Maurice Oakley, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Belgium, December 21, 1814, and at the invitation 
of the distinguished missionary, Father DeSmet, 
came to this country, joined the Jesuit Order in the 
Missouri Province, and was ordained priest on De- 
cember 21, 1842. 

After filling various posts, such as professor and 
rector, he was assigned to the Holy Family Church 
in 1860, where he remained until his death, on Au- 
gust 9, 1887. 

Father Oakley was, in a sense, what is sometimes 
called a born musician. He loved music with all the 
ardor of his nature. To the very last years of his 
life he interested himself in the music of the church 
and college. He frequently trained the choir, and 



356 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

gave the first impetus to many a young man or 
woman who later achieved success as a singer or 
musician. When celebrant of High Mass, or during 
the vesper service, his keen sense of music was ap- 
parent. He could detect the least error of organist 
or singer, and, with much difficulty, restrained him- 
self from an outburst of disapproval, confining him- 
self to a shake of the head or a shrug of the shoul- 
ders. The great reputation of Holy Family choir, 
during the first twenty years of its existence, may 
be attributed largely to the efforts of Father Oakley. 

Rev. James J. O'Meara, S. J., was born September 
29, 1845, and entered the Society of Jesus September 
8, 1863. 

Father O 'Meara spent most of his religious life as 
a professor in the Jesuit colleges. In later years he 
was assistant pastor of Holy Family Church, where 
he officiated as director of the Married Men's Sodal- 
ity. It was during his directorship that the new 
clock was installed in the church tower. 

For several years past, Father O 'Meara has been 
connected with St. Stanislaus Seminary, Florissant, 
Mo. He celebrated his Golden Jubilee in 1913, and 
is still hale and hearty in his 78th year. 

Eev. Andrew O'Neill, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in County Wicklow, Ireland, Jan. 16, 1828. He was 
about two and a half years younger than his brother, 
Thos. O'Neill, S. J. His studies in his home school 
were of the ordinary type for those early days, con- 
sequently they were rather limited. 

On arriving in St. Louis, in 1848, he worked for 
a time and took private lessons in Latin and other 
essentials, preparatory to his going to join his 
brother at Florissant, who had entered in 1849. On 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 357 

July 29, 1854, Andrew O'Neill joined his brother at 
the Jesuit novitiate. It was here that he really be- 
gan his studies which, up to that time, had been very 
limited. After the completion of his ecclesiastical 
studies, he was ordained priest in 1863. One of his 
first missions was that of St. Xavier's Parish, Cin- 
cinnati, where he was assigned the directorship of 
its free school. In the fall of 1864, he was trans- 
ferred to the Holy Family Parish, Chicago, where 
he was at once put in charge of its schools and where 
he was to develop one of the greatest and grandest 
parochial school systems known up to that time. 
When Fr. O'Neill came to the Holy Family Parish 
there were only two parish schools, the Convent 
School on Lytle and W. Taylor streets, and the Boys 
School, which was held in the basement of the 
Church, owing to the fact that the old frame church 
burnt down in the early part of 1864. 

In the Summer of 1864, the foundation of the 
brick structure, which was to be his future head- 
quarters, was laid. In Jan., 1865, classes were first 
held in the new school on Morgan street. In the same 
year, 1865, he began to look about for a site for the 
numerous children south of the Railroad tracks or 
Sixteenth street and down to the river. He organ- 
ized what was known as St. Stanislaus School, now 
the Sacred Heart School, Eighteenth and Johnson 
streets. His next school to open was that of St. 
Aloysius, in 1867, on Maxwell street near Jefferson 
street. These two schools were placed under the 
charge of the Sisters of Charity of the B. V. Mary 
from Dubuque, Iowa. 

In 1868, he founded the Sunday School Associa- 
tion, an organization for teaching catechism to the 



358 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

children as also to procure funds for the publication 
of Catholic literature. By means of this association, 
as many as 12,000 copies of Sunday School literature 
were distributed gratis every month as well as pic- 
tures and prizes to encourage attendance at these 
instructions. 

In 1872, he built and organized St. Veronica's 
School, now St. Pius' at Nineteenth and Van Horn 
streets. 

In 1874, he built and organized the Guardian 
Angel School on Forquer near Desplaines, taught by 
the B. V. M. Sisters. 

In 1877-78, he built St. Joseph's School, on West 
Thirteenth street near Loomis. This school was put 
in charge of the Ladies of the Holy Heart of Mary, 
but, after some years, these good ladies resigned and 
the B. V. M. Sisters took charge. 

In 1887, he built and organized St. Agnes School, 
on Morgan near Fourteenth streets. Here we have 
eight schools within the original parish boundary 
like so many "watch towers" for the defense of the 
Faith. One of these, the Sacred Heart Convent 
School was built before Father O'Neill came, and 
the Holy Family was in the process of erection, but 
all of the other six enumerated were built after his 
coming, and three after Father Damen had been 
disassociated from the parish. It must be understood 
that the building of these schools was not the work of 
Father O'Neill alone. Not at all. It is merely in- 
tended to convey the idea that he was the guiding 
spirit, both in the selection of the site and directing 
the teaching in the same. In all these great under- 
takings he was ably assisted by Father Damen and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 359 

his associates in the first eight or ten years — 1866- 
1874 — and from that time by their successors. 

Besides the managing of the schools Father 
O'Neill edited, every month, three Sunday School 
papers — The Messenger, The Mirror and the Com- 
panion. It is recounted that, in three months' time, 
there were distributed free 213,600 pages of reading 
matter for the Sunday School. Nearly all this mat- 
ter had to pass through his hands and receive his 
approbation. He was aided by his faithful assistant, 
Brother O'Neill, and after 1882, by Father VanAgt. 
He usually visited each of the schools daily, gave 
catechism instructions on regular days, prepared 
himself all the first communicants three months be- 
fore that memorable day. He also prepared them 
for Confirmation. 

He said Mass every Sunday morning at 9:00 
o'clock in the Holy Family School Hall for the chil- 
dren, and in the afternoon gave instructions. He at- 
tended to the thousand or more children who came 
for Sunday School. On Thursday and Saturday 
afternoons, as also on every morning before he said 
Mass, you would find him in the confessional. Every 
morning, long before school opened, you would find 
him inside the door in Winter and on the doorstep 
outside, in fine weather, to encourage the prompt 
boy and teacher or to chide the tardy and the de- 
linquent. 

Father O 'Neill sang High Mass at 6 :30 for many 
years, after which he made his thanksgiving, took 
breakfast and then off to school to make his rounds 
for the day. In the fall of the year, he would take 
one of the gentlemen of the Sunday School Associa- 
tion or a large boy with him, and go from house to 



360 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

house to collect the dollar fee from the membership 
of the Sunday School Association. He suggested 
most of the plays and entertainments and attended 
most of the rehearsals. He paid a visit to almost 
every Catholic family in the parish, at least once a 
year, so that he was known, loved and esteemed by 
all. How he could find time for all this labor is 
almost incomprehensible, yet it is a fact. 

Father O'Neill's allotment of time was as follows : 
He rose at 4:30 a. m., no matter how late he went to 
bed. He then began his morning prayers till 6:15, 
when he went to his confessional in the church ; 6 :30 
sang High Mass, after Mass and thanksgiving took 
breakfast. About 8:15 he was on his way to the 
school, where his work commenced for the day. After 
his work at the school he would look after his pub- 
lications and prepare the matter or correct the 
printed proofs, which meant to read every word of 
the matter all over and correct mistakes. Notwith- 
standing his many occupations, he was always on 
time for the community exercises, unless on those 
evenings when obliged to be at the school or traveling 
his district for the Sunday School Association. 

Father O 'Neill was a man of solid and deep piety 
with all the qualities that make up a true Jesuit 
priest. He was kind and cheerful. He had always 
a kind word and a smile for everyone. He was at 
home with a child as well as with the adult. He 
could talk and entertain a child for hours, proposing 
puzzles and funny games, of which he carried an 
abundant store. The stories and anecdotes told about 
him would fill a good sized volume, a few of which 
will be inserted in this volume, revealing the human 
side of this great man. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 361 

In 1890 Father O'Neill celebrated his Silver 
Jubilee as Director of the Holy Family Schools and 
at the same time the Silver Jubilee of the Holy 
Family School. There were numerous felicitations 
from former pupils and teachers. The principal 
celebration was held in the Holy Family School, 
where speeches were made by several former pupils. 
The principal one was made by Hon. James A. 
Taylor, a son of the grand old man, A. D. Taylor, one 
of Father Damen's first converts and the builder of 
the first Catholic Church in Chicago. Father O'Neill 
had the satisfaction of seeing on this, his Silver 
Jubilee, 4237 children registered in the parish 
schools. 

After the reorganization of the schools of the 
parish, in 1896, Father O'Neill was relieved of the 
burden of their directorship, owing to his advanced 
age sixty-eight years. However, he kept the manage- 
ment of the Sunday School Association until his 
death. With the aid of this association, the free 
offerings of the parents of the children and the re- 
ceipts of the various entertainments throughout the 
year, he told the writer that he paid all the ordinary 
expenses of the school, such as the teachers' salary, 
fuel and general up-keep as also all the publications 
of the Sunday Schools. 

Father O'Neill received permission from his 
superiors, to take a trip for eight or ten days, every 
vacation, to Muscatine, Iowa. This was an old Irish 
settlement from County Wicklow, and there were 
many close relations of the O'Neill family. These 
people had only an occasional Mass during the year, 
so that his visit was of the nature of a mission. He 
said Mass in their little chapel every day and the 



362 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

good people responded with a full house. The next 
move would be a visit to one of the parishioners to 
which almost half of the township would be invited. 
Then a grand feast for all, games and amusements 
for young and old. Usually he brought Mr. Michael 
Carmody with him as companion. A finer enter- 
tainer and a nicer Christian gentleman you could not 
find in a day's search. 

Every day after Mass, during his stay, the scene 
of the first day was repeated in a different house 
from the first, so that the charity, unity and friend- 
ship cemented and fostered among these good people 
by his visit, can be estimated only by Him who reigns 
above. It was during his last visit to Muscatine, that 
Father O 'Neill felt the first symptoms of the malady 
that carried him away. About the middle of August, 
his health was so good that the doctor granted him 
a lease of life of fifteen years more. However, about 
the first of September, 1901, his ailment began to 
take a serious turn, so that after several days of 
patient suffering, the last rites were administered to 
him, surrounded by his religious brethren, and, on 
September 13, he went to receive the reward of his 
long and laborious life for Christ and His Church in 
the seventy-third year of his age and the forty-sev- 
enth of his religious life and thirty-seventh year in 
the Holy Family Parish. His remains were laid in 
state in the college parlors for the first day, and on 
the second they were carried to the church, where 
they laid in state until the third day, on which the 
funeral took place. During all this time there was a 
guard of honor of his faithful Sunday School Asso- 
ciation surrounding his bier. These men had all they 
could do to keep the throng moving that came to view 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 363 

the remains. It was undoubtedly the largest funeral 
ever witnessed at the Holy Family Church. It was 
estimated that fully 25,000 people passed the bier 
during the two days that he lay in state. After the 
Mass, Right Reverend Bishop Muldoon, who was a 
great admirer of Father O 'Neill, gave the absolution. 
A multitude followed the remains to Calvary where 
it rests, side by side, with many of his co-workers, 
Fathers Smarias, Boudieaux, DeBlieck, Setters, 
VanAgt and his own beloved Brother, Thomas 
O'Neill, S.J. 

Father O'Neill's Monument 

''For thirty-six years Father O'Neill labored in 
the Holy Family Parish. Some 30,000 men and 
women whom he trained in the Holy Family schools, 
are now to be found in all the walks of life carrying- 
out the principles learned from him in their youth. 

His death has been mourned in many hearts and 
homes. A number of his old friends and pupils, 
wishing to give outward and permanent expression 
to their admiration for the great work he has accom- 
plished for Christian education in the west, have 
proposed building him a monument. 

A desire, prompted by so noble a motive, reflects 
credit on those who conceived it. But there are 
various kinds of monuments. And at present there 
is sore need in the Holy Family Parish of a monu- 
ment which was very near to Father O'Neill's heart 
whilst he was still alive. 

His mission on earth was to build up the school 
system of the Holy Family Parish. Today that sys- 
tem is all but perfect. We have the Holy Family 
School, the Sacred Heart School, the St. Agnes 



864 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

School, the St. Joseph's School and the Guardian 
Angel School. But even with these numerous build- 
ings we are not yet able to give all our children per- 
fect accommodation. We need more room. It has 
been proposed to double the size of the St. Joseph's 
School. If this is done, our school system will be 
perfect and complete, leaving nothing to be desired. 

Can we do this? After purchasing a site on May, 
erecting the new residence of the Sisters and buying 
additional ground on Thirteenth Street we still have 
enough money on hand, from the sale of the old Max- 
well street school, to put the proposed school building 
under roof ; but to complete the building, to put in a 
heating plant and all the furnishings of an up-to- 
date modern school, a fund of $5,000 to $6,000 is 
needed. 

Here is a chance now for the friends of Father 
Andrew O 'Neill to build a monument worthy of him. 
Raise the fund needed for the O'Neill school. As 
long as it lasts, the monument of the Father who 
spent his life for your welfare will be kept green in 
the minds of your children and your children's chil- 
dren.' ' (Church Calendar.) R. LP." 

Rev. John F. O'Neill, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Ireland, September 26, 1820. His classical studies 
were made in his native country, and, coming to 
America, he joined the Jesuits in Missouri in 1849. 

After ordination, he was appointed pastor of St. 
Francis Xavier Church, St. Louis, and was also on 
the missions. He was one of the pastors of Holy 
Family Church, Chicago, in 1867-68, after which the 
duties and scenes of his labors were various. 

Father O'Neill was renowned for his zeal for the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 365 

salvation of souls and his love of the poor. He died, 
January 11, 1873, at the St. Louis University, and his 
obsequies were attended by several Bishops and large 
numbers of the clergy. 

Rev. Hubert J. Peters, 8. J. (Deceased), was in 
some sense a unique character. He was known to the 
children as ' 'Quaker Oats. ' ' This nick-name was n< >t 
employed in any sense of disrespect, but because of 
his exuberant appearance and picturesque gray 
locks. 

Father Peters was born in Belgium, where he com- 
pleted his early education. Coining to America, as 
a young Jesuit, he was occupied in various duties of 
the ministry for some years, and came to Holy 
Family Parish several years before his death, and 
was here engaged in pastoral work. 

His specialties were the care of the poor, the con- 
fessional and the St. Vincent de Paul Society. His 
work in this regard may be judged from an article 
in the Catholic Telegraph, appearing at the time of 
his death : 

"His charity was of that ardent, intense, unselfish kind that 
lie was made the almoner of Catholic, Protestant, Jew and un- 
believer alike. Brusque to those who needed the stimulus of a 
'talking to', he nevertheless held their respect, even won their 
love by the evident sincerity of his purpose. To the poor and 
the discouraged he was always a tender father, giving kindly 
and substantial assistance to alleviate suffering and distress for 
Christ's sake." 

Father Peters was a great lover of the confes- 
sional. He was found there every morning, and at 
all times when there was a call for a confessor. He 
had charge of the baptisms for several years before 



366 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

his death. Sometimes he would cause no little merri- 
ment among the sponsors by his manner of spelling 
and pronouncing Keltic names. He had a smile for 
every one, and every one revered and loved the 
" grand old man." Father Peters' death occurred 
at St. Ignatius College January 11, 1911. 

Rev. Herman J, Pickert, S. J., was born July 6, 
1867, and entered the Society of Jesus, April 24, 
1888. Most of the early part of Father Pickert 's 
life has been spent in teaching. He has been assist- 
ant pastor of Holy Family and Sacred Heart Par- 
ishes, Chicago, and at present is one of the pastors 
of the Sacred Heart Church. 

Father Pickert is the author of the famous Pickert 
Touch Typewriting System. 

Rev. Paul Mary Ponziglione, S. J. (Deceased), 
was a descendant of the nobility of Piedmont, but his 
priestly achievements surpassed any family heritage. 
He, like a great many others, was forced to fly from 
his native country during the revolution of 1848. 
For the first few years, after his arrival in America, 
he was employed in various duties. In 1851, he was 
appointed a missionary among the Indians, and 
spent forty years in that field. Father Paul, as he 
was familiarly known, came to Chicago in 1891 as 
assistant pastor of Holy Family Church. Here he 
began a new course of activities, although then in his 
seventieth year. He established a mission for the 
Italians, who were then beginning to settle in the 
northeast corner of the parish. For a time he held 
services in the basement of Holy Family Church, 
until a permanent place of worship could be pro- 
vided for them. Out of his efforts have developed 
three Italian churches in the district covered bv him. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 367 

namely, Giuardian Angel, Our Lady of Pompeii and 
St. Calesto. He was a chaplain of the Visitation 
and Aid Society, attended the Bridewell, looked 
after the deaf mutes, and performed many other 
duties. His gentle, kind manner caused all people to 
love and revere him ; indeed he was looked upon as a 
living saint. Father Ponziglione died at St. Ignatius 
College, Chicago, March 28, 1900. His remains lie 
buried in Calvary, amongst those of many of his 
religious brethren who had preceded him and whom 
he knew in his youth. 

Rev. Florian Sautois, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Belgium, where he was ordained priest in 1834. 
He joined the Jesuits in Missouri in 1839. In 1873 
he was appointed assistant pastor of Holy Family 
Church, Chicago, and remained in that post until 
1874, when he was transferred to the Sacred Heart 
Church, Chicago. There he labored until his death, 
in his seventy-seventh year, November 11, 1886. 

Father Sautois was noted as a wise and prudent 
confessor and a zealous promoter of the Sodality of 
the Blessed Virgin Mary, in the direction of which 
he spent the greater part of his life. 

Rev. John Schultz, S. J., Pastor (Deceased), 
was born in Alsace, February 2, 1816'. On October 9, 
1837, he became a Jesuit novice. Being obliged to 
fly before the revolutionists of 1848, he, with several 
other Jesuits, came to America. 

After filling many important posts in the Middle 
West, he came to Chicago in 1870, and assisted 
Father Damen on the missions and in the pastoral 
work of Holy Family Church. 

In 1883, he was appointed spiritual advisor at 



368 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

St. Louis University, where he died on August 25, 
1887. 

Father Schultz was a deeply religious man, and 
as a confessor had few equals. 

Rev. John L. Settees, S. J. (Deceased), was Born 
in Belgium, on December 7, 1830, and joined the So- 
ciety of Jesus, November 17, 1853. He came to the 
Holy Family Church, Chicago, in 1869 and remained 
here until his holy death on January 10, 1903. 

The name of Father Setters is a household word 
among the people of the Holy Family parish and the 
West Side. He never knew what it was to say "No." 
If he had a little money given him at the beginning 
of the month, for the poor, the first tramp that came 
to the door would get his share, regardless of his 
deserts, so that in a few days his pockets would be 
empty. 

Father Setters usually said an early Mass or sang 
High Mass at 5 a. m., as the circumstances occa- 
sioned. Then, about six o'clock, he would go to the 
Confessional. He would do this even if he was to 
have a funeral or late Mass. His Confessional was 
out near the door, where the cold breezes of winter 
would blow in on him. He was never known to take 
a coat with him even in the coldest season. He was 
ready at all times; just ring his bell and Father Set- 
ters was at his post. He left a standing order with 
the porter to call him for any sick call, whenever he 
could not easily find the priest who was appointed 
for the duty at the time. When yon saw Father 
Setters on the street, stick in hand, with an old slouch 
hat, and walking near the curb (such was his habit), 
you might take it for granted that Our Lord was 
with him in the Blessed Sacrament. Father Setters 
took no risks if he saw that the sickness was serious, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



369 



but administered all the Sacraments for the dying 
at once. One must imagine what it was "to go on some 
of these sick calls, for from the Church to the south- 
east corner or the southwest corner of the parish, 
would be two or three miles. So, in order to give the 
dear man some relief on these long walks (for I do 
not believe that he ever rode to or from a sick call), 
some friend furnished him with a small pony. All 




REV. JOHN L. SETTERS, S. .J. 
Humble Servant of the Lord, de- 
voted to the Confessional and 
Baptisms and alert for the sick 
call summons 



REV. CONST ANTINE C. LAGAE, 

S. J. 

Assistant Pastor, 1885-95, a living 

link with time of Father Damen. 

At Holy Family since 1911. 



the old parishioners remember to this day Father 
Setters and his pony. It is related that, on one occa- 
sion, Father Setters was speeding away on one of 
his sick calls and that he chose to travel on the side- 
walk rather than on the street. While travelling 
happily on this smooth surface or good travelling 
road, as he thought, he was hailed by a policeman and 
arrested and locked up in a cell at the station. Cap- 



370 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

tain Simon O'Donnell, on hearing what had hap- 
pened, called the officer to account, saying in strong 
Gaelic: "You Omadawn, don't you know that that 
priest is the saintly Jesuit, Father Setters?" Father 
Setters and his pony were discharged with honors. 

Old Timers will never fail to tell of Father Setters 
and his pony. The pony was of a very low size, so 
that Father Setters' feet would almost touch the 
ground, and as Father Setters never took riding les- 
sons his manner of riding was comical to say the 
least. But he was oblivious to what people thought 
of his riding. All he thought of was how to reach the 
sick patient in the quickest manner and shortest time 
and then hurry back and start out for another. 

Father Setters had charge of baptisms in the 
Church for about twenty-five years. In that time 
he baptized both children and adults. He would have 
as many as twenty-five at a time stretched along the 
Communion railing from end to end. 

This amusing story is told of Father Setters: A 
Protestant lady came to the door one day and Father 
Setters was called. The lady told him she was a 
Protestant. Father Setters said, with an earnest 
smile: "If you don't become a Catholic you'll go to 
hell." The lady felt somewhat shocked at first, but 
when she calmed down some time later she began to 
think of the words of Father Setters and determined 
to become a Catholic rather than go to hell. 

Father Setters seldom became excited, and the 
only time the writer ever saw him in that condition 
was when the janitor would forget to ring or toll 
the bells for the funerals that he had charge of. 

So great was the veneration that people had for 
the holiness of Father Setters that thev wanted anv 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 371 

little relic of him after liis death, for they said if ever 
there was a saint, surely Father Setters was one. 

Father Setters was never seriously sick, although 
he had some minor troubles. But no one ever heard 
him complain. He took, for breakfast, one cup of 
coffee and one piece of bread. His dinner was some 
soup, and a little bread and meat. He ate fairly of 
fruits and sweet things if such were on the table, but 
he would never ask for anything special. 

Father Setters contracted pneumonia in the be- 
ginning of January, 1903, and, after a few days, he 
passed peacefully away to meet Him whom he had 
served for forty-nine years in the Society of Jesus. 
He died in the seventy-third year of his life. 

The following are the names of the first and last 
baptized by Father Setters : 

First Baptisms on September 3, 1868, were: 

Aloysius Tynan 

Samuel Carrol 

Rosalia O'Brien 

His last Baptisms were on the -1th of January, 
1903, and are as follows: 

1. Mary Elizabeth Diamond 

2. Margaret Van Driesche 

3. Alice Irene Cavanaugh 

4. Elenora L. Neary 

5. James Patrick Fitzmaurice 

6. Joseph Raymond MeLinn 

Total Number baptized by Father Setters from 
September 3, 1868, to January 4, 1903, was 23,426, 
leaving a margin of 428 over all the baptisms taking 
place in the Church during the history of sixty-five 
years. 

Tt is no wonder that, when the good Father An- 



372 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

drew O'Neill would question the children at the 
annual Sunday School Celebration, "Who baptized 
you?" the answer would come from a score of little 
throats, "Father Setters." 

Good Father Setters must have received a grand 
reception at his entrance into heaven from many of 
those holy innocents who died in their baptismal in- 
nocence. Many under God owe their salvation to the 
promptitude with which he attended sick calls, for 
Father Setters was never known to refuse a sick call 
or to baptize an infant when called upon to do so, 
on such occasions, neither time, nor place, nor 
weather entered into his consideration. 

Father Setters foretold the exact hour of his 
death. Father Dumbach who was rector at the time 
went in to see Father Setters early in the morning. 
"How do you feel, Father?" asked Father Dumbach. 
"I'll be dead when the angelus rings at noon," said 
Father Setters. Just as the angelus was ringing 
Father Setters died. 

The following from a Christian Brother is 
interesting : 

"As a result of measles my eyes were affected, and after sev- 
eral visits the doctor declared that I would lose the sight of one 
eye, but he hoped to save the other. My father was a sailor and 
was away on a trip. My mother, almost crazed by the doctor's 
decision, carried me to the church (The Holy Family). After 
praying a short time, she saw Father Setters walking through 
the church. She approached him and told him her troubles. 
Father Setters put his hand on my head and kept gently pat- 
ting it, while he consoled her. He told her to make a novena and 
that I would be all right. "While he was speaking, I opened my 
eyes and said, ' Pretty lights. ' Next day when she took me to 
the doctor, he was amazed at the change and at once declared 
that I would recover. By the time Mother finished the Novena 
I was well. A Christian Brother." 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 373 

Rev. Francis X. Shulak, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in 1825, and became a Jesuit in 1845. Eight 
years after his ordination he came to this country, 
and has since spent his zeal, eloquence and talents in 
working for the salvation of the Poles and Bo- 
hemians. Large numbers of the clergy gratefully 
testify to the success of his labors. 

Due to Father Shulak 's untiring energy, St. Igna- 
tius college owns a museum that ranks second to 
none in the state of Illinois, and it was entirely fit- 
ting that the professors and students of St. Ignatius 
college should give him a royal reception on the occa- 
sion of his Golden Jubilee. In connection with that 
solemn service, addresses were made in Latin, Ger- 
man and English. There was also a speech in Polish 
by Stanislaus P. Cholew 7 inski. 

On Sunday, September 15, 1895, on the occasion of 
the Golden Jubilee, Father Shulak, assisted by 
Fathers Lange and Procopius Nentzel, as deacon and 
sub-deacon, celebrated High Mass. Father Stanislaus 
Fitte was Master of Ceremonies, Right Reverend 
Abbot Jeagar of St. Procopius Academy presided, 
and Rev. Father Lambert, S. J., preached the pane- 
gynic. Many clergymen were in the sanctuary, and 
a large concourse of people attended. 

In his old age Father Shulak returned to his na- 
tive land, where, after a brief illness, he departed 
this life, let us hope, to enjoy the heavenly reward of 
his long years of arduous labor for the salvation of 
souls. 

Rev. Charles Truyens, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born at St. Nicholas, East Flanders, Belgium, Feb- 
ruary 11, 1813, and entered the Society of Jesus at 
Florissant, Missouri, February 24, 1837. He died in 
St. Louis on December 14, 1867. 



374 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Father Truyens was the first companion of the 
founder of the Holy Family parish. That such a 
zealous worker should be selected was most fortunate 
and may only be regarded a part of the design Divine 
Providence had for the well-being of Holy Family 
Parish. 

Father Truyens spent some years among the 
Miami Indians in Kansas. It is a noteworthy fact 
that this tribe of Indians occupied the present site 
of Chicago towards the close of the seventeenth cen- 
tury and that the Jesuit, Father Francois Pinet, 
was the first resident priest in Chicago (1696-1699). 
After the removal of the tribe to the south-west, in 
1848, Father Truyens took spiritual charge of them. 

We have but very meager accounts of Father 
Truyens' labors in Holy Family parish. We can 
imagine what hardships he must have endured dur- 
ing the three years — 1857, 1858 and 1859 — for we 
must call these years the heroic age of the parish, 
the age of sacrifice, labor and hardships. We have 
come across but one intimate incident in Father 
Truyens' life in Chicago. This is told by a venerable 
old lady, a party thereto. She says: "When a small 
child I used to have spasms. I was carried from the 
southeastern part of the parish to the Jesuit Fathers 
that they might pray over me. I was then about 
three or four years old. Father Truyens took me in 
his arms and brought me to the Blessed Virgin 
Mary's altar and, I presume, he prayed over me and 
for me. I have a vivid recollection of this event. ' It 
occurred in the little frame church. Thanks be to 
God, Our Lady and Father Truyens I have had no 
spasms from that day." (Mrs. M. J.) 

In 1860 Father Truyens was transferred and spent 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 375 

some years in Bardstown, Kentucky. He was chap- 
lain of the Twelfth Kentucky Regiment during the 
Civil War. He took sick from exposure at the Camp 
in Columbia, Adair County, Kentucky, and never 
recovered. 

In Father Truyens we have a true imitator of the 
Good Shepherd, who gave His life for His sheep. 
He is one of the foundation stones of the Holy 
Family parish. Father Truyens' remains lie buried 
at Florissant, close to those of his companion, Father 
Damen and other saintly missionaries. 

Rev. Peter Tschieder, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
in Switzerland, October 26, 1818. He became a 
priest in his native land in 1840, and was another of 
the clergymen forced to fly before the revolution of 
1848. Coming to America, he was employed in vari- 
ous duties as pastor, superior and missionary, and 
spent several years as assistant pastor at Holv 
Family Church, Chicago. 

Father Tschieder was very devoted to the welfare 
of the sodalities under his guidance, as members yet 
living can testify. He was also earnestly devoted t< > 
the confessional, which, in those early days, meant 
a great deal, as people came to Holy Family Church 
from the North, South and West sides to unburden 
themselves to the good Jesuit fathers. 

In 1886, Father Tschieder was transferred to Cin- 
cinnati, but was again in Chicago in 1887, this time 
at the Sacred Heart Church, however, where he was 
assistant pastor from 1877 to 1897. In the latter 
year, his age and infirmities influenced his superiors 
to give him a well earned rest, and he was sent to 
Florissant. Missouri, where be edified the novices by 
his piety and devotion. 



376 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

He died May 7, 1907, in the eighty-ninth year of 
his age, and in his sixty-seventh year as a Jesuit. 

Rev. John E. Van Acken, S. J., was born October 
25, 1869, and entered the Society of Jesus April 7, 
1891. He was assistant chaplain of the Cook County 
Hospital for some time and also assistant pastor of 
the Holy Family Church for a few years. He is at 
present assistant pastor of St. Mary's Church, St. 
Mary 's, Kansas. 

Rev. Michael VanAgt, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born in Holland on May 21, 1811. Pie joined the 
Jesuits in Missouri on April 9, 1865. 

Father VanAgt was connected with the Holy 
Family schools and parish almost his whole active 
life. He taught in the parish school before his or- 
dination and he was the first and only scholastic of 
the Society of Jesus to do so. This was from 1870 
to 1873, in St. Stanislaus school, now the Sacred 
Heart School, in 1874 in the Holy Family School 
and in 1875 he was in the College. In 1875 he was 
assigned to the management of the Altar Boys' So- 
ciety, although he had managed the Society on more 
than one occasion before this date. He was stationed 
in Milwaukee, from 1876 to 1880, and in 1882 he was 
again in Chicago, where he remained till his death 
in 1896. 

Father VanAgt must ever be associated with 
Father O'Neill and Brother O'Neill in the building- 
up of the schools of the Holy Family parish. Here 
we have a triumvirate, who planned and schemed and 
worked, to make the Holy Family schools what they 
were and what visitors from Europe described as the 
greatest Catholic parochial school system in the 
world at that time. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 377 

From 1882 to 1885, Father VanAgt selected the 
matter for the various Sunday School publications, 
and as his health was never robust, and as he was at 
times confined to his room, you could find him in 
his room clipping, translating or writing matter for 
these publications. 

Besides his duties at the school, Father VanAgt 
had charge, for a number of years, of the Altar Boys' 
Society. He trained and clothed these boys so as to 
make them the admiration of the ecclesiastics of this 
and other cities. He spared neither time nor labor 
in preparing these young Levites for the service of 
God's Altar. Many a boy can and will thank Father 
VanAgt for helping him to the holy priesthood. 
He would see the Rector of the College and get a boy 
in free if he could, or for half the fee, or, as it some- 
times happened, he would procure the money from 
his relatives in Holland or from friends in America 
to pay for such boys and also to pay for their books. 

Father VanAgt was always on the watch for his' 
boys. Sometimes he would go out at night and take 
a walk around the parish to see for himself how 
things were going. Those found engaged in mischief 
making, would get a swat of his cane, for he always 
carried one. Those who were too swift for him 
would be called before the "bar" of his justice next 
day at school. If sometimes he felt that he had dealt 
too severe with a delinquent, he was sure to make 
amends for it by handing him an apple out of his 
big pocket, or a coin, or at least by restoring him to 
his former position in rank or place. This is the 
kind of a priest Father VanAgt was. A rough dia- 
mond in the exterior, but with a heart of gold. 



378 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

About the beginning of 1896, Father VanAgt's 
health became more precarious so that he gradually 
declined, until death came to relieve him of very 
great suffering, on September 1, 1896, just about one 
year after the death of his friend and colleague, 
Brother Thomas O'Neill, S. J. 

Eev. William Vander Heyden, S. J. (Deceased), 
was born in Holland in 1842, and after being or- 
dained came to Holy Family Church as assistant 
pastor in 1870, laboring amongst the people of the 
parish for two years. Father Vander Heyden died 
November 9, 1882. 

Rev. Father John Venneman spent several years 
as assistant pastor and confessor in the Holy Family 
Church. He was one of the professors in the col- 
lege in the early seventies. Later on, in 1879, he 
belonged to the Missionary Band. In 1884 he had 
charge of the Young Men's Sodality. Later on 
Father Venneman retired from the Society of Jesus 
and joined the Ranks of the Secular Clergy in Ohio. 
At his death he willed his valuable library to the 
St. Louis University. 

Rev. Arthur F. Versavel, S. J., was born April 
24, 1871, and entered the Society of Jesus January 
21, 1903. For something more than a year Father 
Versavel was assistant pastor in Holy Family 
Church, during which time he had charge of the 
Working Boys' Sodality, and labored very effec- 
tively with them. For more than ten years Father 
Versavel has been on the missions in British Hon- 
duras, where he does much good among the natives 
of that desolate region. 

Rev. Henry J. Walters, S. J. (Deceased), was 
assistant pastor of Holy Family Parish in 1904. He 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 379 

frequently assisted Father Baselmans in attending 
the Dunning County Infirmary, and after Father 
Baselmans' health broke down, in 1905, Father Wal- 
ters succeeded him, and continued in that capacity 
until 1911, when he was transferred to St. Charles, 
Mo., where he labored for several years, and where 
he ended his days with all the consolation of the 
church. During his long and painful last illness he 
edified all who visited him by his patience and 
resignation. 

Rev. Patrick Ward, S. J., was born in Ireland 
July 31, 1830. He came to America as a young man. 
where he was engaged, for some time, as an engineer 
in the emplo}nnent of the government. This position 
he gave up to become a teacher in the Academy of 
St. Louis University, and after some time sought 
admission to the Society of Jesus. On October 21, 
1859, he went to Florissant, where he entered the 
novitiate. Being ordained in 1869, he became the 
first rector of St. Mary's, Kansas, where he built 
many of the buildings to be occupied by the new 
college. 

Later he became pastor successively in St. Louis, 
Cincinnati, and Holy Family, Chicago. He became 
widely renowned also as a missionary. 

Through the kindness of superiors he was per- 
mitted to pass his last days at the novitiate in Floris- 
sant, where he died December 17, 1891. 

Rev. John A. Weiand, S. J., was born May 31, 
1871, and entered the Society of Jesus August 5, 
1890. Father Weiand had charge of the Altar Boys 
and the Boys' Choir for a year or so, namely 1909-10. 
He was made Rector of St. John's College. Toledo. 



38.0 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Ohio, and is, at present, president of Rockhurst Col- 
lege, Kansas City, Mo. 

Key. Ferdinand Weinman, 8. J. (Deceased), was 
born May 9, 1847, and after his ordination to the 
priesthood spent several years as assistant pastor of 
Holy Family Church. While pastor he had charge 
of the League of the Sacred Heart, which he de- 
veloped to the highest pitch of efficiency that or- 
ganization ever reached. His devotion to the Sacred 
Heart called forth all his energies, and he was an 
especially successful promoter of the Holy Com- 
munion of that organization on the first Fridays. 

For a time, Father Weinman had charge of the 
Married Ladies' Sodality, and also of the St. Vincent 
de Paul Society. 

He was amiable and kind to all, and his declining 
years were spent between St. Mary's, Kansas, and 
Detroit, Michigan. He died, at the latter place, on 
August 15, 1906. 

BROTHERS 

All through the history of Holy Family Parish 
there have been at all times, one or more silent, hard 
working men, called Brothers, members of the So- 
ciety of Jesus, but not ordained priests. These men, 
like hundreds, yes thousands, of others, upon earnest 
consideration and mature deliberation dedicated 
themselves to this form of God's service, and are 
much like the devoted Nuns and cloistered religious 
that lead an obscure but holy existence. 

During the entire history of the Jesuit Order the 
devoted men, who have attached themselves to the 
priests and missionaries and have given up the world 
and followed their appointed superiors into every 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 381 

occupation and braved every danger, have been the 
wonder of the worldly. The administration of the 
sacraments, the triumph of the pulpit, the applause 
of auditors, and the social intercourse of the public, 
are not for them. Their lives are hidden behind the 
veil of privacy, and their deeds are known in full 
only to God. 

The Brothers, who have labored in Holy Family 
Parish, have made their renunciation as completely, 
and followed their avocations as faithfully as the 
most renowned of their predecessors. But despite 
their retirement circumstances have brought most 
of them into contact with a wide circle of the laity, 
and especially of the children of the parish, and 
every one of these saintly men is remembered, if not 
always with deep affection, at least with a keen sense 
of appreciation. 

It seems appropriate, in treating of the Brothers 
of Holy Family, to speak of them in the order in 
which they came to the parish. 

The first mention of Brothers, is found in the year 
after the parish was established — 1858 — and it ap- 
pears that with the beginning of 1860 there were 
three Brothers with Father Damen. They were 
Brothers Heilers, Hutton and Moiling. Brother 
Moning was the cook and manager of the pastoral 
residence. It is more than probable, therefore, that 
he came with Father Damen, or at least came as soon 
as Father Damen begun to dwell in his own house. 

There is reason for believing that Brother Heilers 
came next, as he was undoubtedly here before 
Brother Hutton, as proven by Father Damen 's let- 
ters to the Superior in St. Louis, wherein Brother 
Heilers is quoted as very anxious to have Brother 



382 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

liutton come. No biography of Brother Moiling has 
been found, but some record has been made of 
Brothers Heilers and Hutton. 

Brother Heilers (Francis A. Heilers, S. J.), 
was born near Munster, Westphalia, May 24, 1826. 
He came to America and joined the Society of Jesus 
as Coadjutor Brother on April 24, 1853. 

We read in Father Damen 's letters to the Provin- 
cial his pleadings to have Brother Heilers sent to 
Chicago, and when he finally arrived, it was an occa- 
sion of great joy to Father Damen. Brother Heilers 
was a skilled mechanic and a competent architect 
and builder. It was to Brother Heilers that Father 
Damen committed the building of many of the frame 
structures that were erected in those early days for 
the use of the parish. He also superintended the 
building of Holy Family Church, the Holy Family 
School and, later on, the Sacred Heart Church on 
Nineteenth street. It was a source of great comfort 
to Father Damen to have the assistance of a man of 
Brother Heilers' ability, and to be able to entrust 
the building work to him, and his presence also gave 
Father Damen an opportunity to absent himself, 
when necessary, on missionary and collecting tours. 
On such occasions, he could confidently rely upon 
Brother Heilers' fidelity and ripe judgment. More- 
over, the Brother's services were gratis, which was 
a point of extreme importance to Father Damen. 

In later life, Brother Heilers' talents were utilized 
by other houses of the Missouri Province, and espe- 
cially at St. Joseph's Church, St. Louis; St. Gall's, 
Milwaukee; St. Xavier's, Cincinnati, and St. Mary's. 
Kansas. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 383 

Brother Heilers died in St. Louis, December 1(3, 
1891, and was buried at Florissant. 

Brother Hutton (John J. Hutton, S. J.), was 
born in Holland, November 7, 1826, and came to 
Chicago at the request of Father Damen, to assist in 
the construction of various parish buildings. 

Brother Hutton was also a carpenter by trade, and 
was, of course, of great assistance to Father Damen, 
both because he had a great deal of carpenter work 
to do and Brother Hutton 's services were gratis. 

Brothers Heilers and Hutton had the management 
of all the construction work in the early days of the 
parish, but Brother Hutton remained only three 
years at Holy Family, when he was transferred to 
Cincinnati to engage in the same kind of work. He 
died August 7, 1886. 

Within a few years, live more Brothers arrived at 
Holy Family. These were Brothers O'Neill and 
Corcoran, teachers; Grennan, Sacristan; Dipple, 
Cook and Smith, Inhrmarian and house manager. 
It appears, therefore, that Brother Moning was dis- 
placed by Brother Dipple. No particular record of 
Brother Smith seems available, but as to the other 
three — Grennan, Corcoran and O'Neill — we have 
quite satisfactory information. 

Brother Grennan (James Grennan, S. J.) was 
born in Ireland, April 5, 1829, and joined the Society 
of Jesus on January 1, 1853. 

Brother Grennan was a most versatile man. He 
came to Holy Family Parish, Chicago, in the fall of 
1860, and was appointed to the post of Sacristan. 
Being a man of action he not only performed prodi- 
gious labors himself, but exercised a strong influence 
upon others in urging them to work for the church. 



384 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Brother Grennan was especially successful with the 
Altar Boys whom he kept at a high pitch of interest 
and efficiency continuously. For their recreation he 
organized picnics, outings, and, incidentally, made 
commission contract with bus drivers, and even the 
railroads, devoting whatever profit accrued to the 
purchase of equipment for the Altar Boys and the 
sanctuary. The funds thus procured were invested 
in necessary materials, and, being a tailor himself, 
Brother Grennan cut the garments and found many 
willing hands to assist in making them. One of those 
who helped in this work was Mrs. Martin Dargan, 
mother of P. J., and Miss B. Dargan. 

It is noted of Brother Grennan that he could get 
permission from Father Damen to procure anything 
necessary for the Sacristy, altars and altar boys 
(provided he secured the money by donation or 
otherwise to pay for them), and he availed himself 
of this privilege frequently. Amongst other items 
procured by Brother Grennan, are two silver censers 
and an incense boat, which were secured from 
France, and which are amongst the very finest orna- 
ments belonging to Holy Family Church, and are 
still used on great feasts and ceremonies. 

The manner in which Brother Grennan organized 
his Altar Boys is told by one of them, Mr. Timothy 
Sullivan, who now lives in Austin : 

"We had six sets of fifteen boys each. On Christ- 
mas nights these sets would serve the midnight Mass 
at the Sacred Heart Convent, where we would have 
breakfast. We showed the Nuns how boys could eat, 
but they were prepared, having extra supplies on 
hand. At the 10:30 Solemn High Mass the six sets 
would serve. The Master of Ceremonies carried in 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 385 

his hand an ornamented staff with a silver top. The 
reputation made by the altar boys at Holy Family 
Church spread far and wide, so that people came 
from the North, South and West sides to see them." 

Brother Grennan was transferred to other fields 
of usefulness, about 1883, and died at Florissant, 
Mo., December 10, 1915. 

The other two brothers, viz., Corcoran and O'Neill, 
were school teachers, and are well remembered by 
many men now living who came under their super- 
vision as pupils. 

Brother Corcorax (Martin Corcorax, S. J.) was 
born in Ireland, November 11, 1832, and, having be- 
come a Coadjutor Brother, we find him teaching 
school in a little frame schoolhouse, on the corner of 
May and Eleventh streets, in 1861 and 1862. He 
preceded Brother O'Neill in the Holy Family School, 
as Brother O 'Neill is mentioned in the catalogue for 
the first time in 1862. Both these Brothers, however, 
taught in the boys' school at the same time, and it is 
believed that it may be from this fact that the school 
took the name of "The Brothers School," which title 
it has ever since retained, even since the Sisters took 
over the teaching, the boys who attended the school 
in the early days still call it by no other name but 
the old familiar one, "The Brothers School." 

Brother Corcoran was transferred to teach the 
Pottawatomi Indians at St. Mary's, Kansas, in 1862, 
where he spent the remainder of his active life either 
as teacher or infirmarian. He was of a gentle, kind 
and charitable disposition. A few years before his 
death, his health gave way and he was taken to St. 
Stanislaus Novitiate, near St. Louis, where he died, 
September 22, 1905. 



386 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Brother O'Neill (Thomas O'Neill, S. J.) was 
born in the County Wicklow, Ireland, September 
21, 1825. His father, Thomas O'Neill, belonged to 
the farming class, and was able to give his children 
a fair education, the time and circumstances con- 
sidered. The prospects in Ireland were not encour- 
aging, however, and the family embarked for Amer- 
ica, landing at New Orleans, on November 7, 1847. 
Coming northward they made their home in St. 
Louis. 

In 1849, during the dread cholera epidemic, two 
of Thomas' brothers died of the plague, and on No- 
vember 27th of that year, Thomas bade farewell to 
all his friends, wended his way to Florissant, and 
offered himself to the Society of Jesus in the ca- 
pacity of a Coadjutor Brother. 

After his novitiate he was sent to Bardstown, Ken- 
tucky, where he remained in 1853 and 1854. In 
1856 and 1857 he taught in St. Aloysius Parish 
School, Louisville, Kentucky, and from 1858 to 1861 . 
taught in the Parish school of St. Charles, Mo. 

In the fall of 1861, Brother O'Neill arrived in 
Chicago, and began his laborious career, which cov- 
ered the rest of his life, in Holy Family Parish 
school. Arriving here he found Brother Martin Cor- 
coran teaching the boys of the parish in the old 
frame schoolhouse. Brother O'Neill joined him in 
1862. In 1863 Brother Corcoran was transferred to 
the Indian missions of St. Mary's, Kansas, and 
Brother O 'Neill was left in full charge in Holy Fam- 
ily parish. This is evident from the publication book 
of 1863, where, in the Sunday announcement, it is 
expressly stated (when speaking of the opening of 
the schools), "that the parents of the boys should 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 387 

see and make arrangements with the Brother in 
charge." 

After the burning of the old frame church and 
school, on May and Eleventh streets, in the early 
part of 1864, the basement of the church was tem- 
porarily used as a school until the new school on 
Morgan street was opened in January, 1865. After 
the transfer of the pupils, in 1865, to the new school, 
it is very probable that Brother O'Neill did not 
teach, but merely superintended the schools and at- 
tended to the office work. 

In the fall of 1864, his blood brother, Rev. Andrew 
O'Neill, S. J., came to be the director of the schools 
of the parish. From this time forth the two brothers 
worked hand in hand in the schools with Father 
Damen as the guiding star, until the Holy Family 
school system became what was believed to be the 
most proficient parochial school system in the world. 

These schools received no government support, but 
were sustained by the voluntary contributions of 
parents, and yet no child was turned away by reason 
of inability to pay the tuition or other fees collected 
for the upkeep of the school or the payment to 
teachers. 

Brother O'Neill usually attended to the work of 
the school. He saw that both teachers and pupils 
were on time. He was prefect of discipline, the 
judge of appeal, both for pupil and teacher, and also 
the administrator of justice to the culprit and willful 
delinquent. He could be very stern as well as kind. 
To govern a school of from 1.500 to 2,000 boys in 
those early days, possessing all the life and energy 
for which children of emigrants are noted, was not 
an easy task. It was a responsibility and a burden 



388 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

that very few men nowadays could bear. Yet 
Brother O'Neill attended to all the details, and in 
addition initiated activities amongst the boys for 
amusement, recreation and for training for the va- 
rious activities of their future lives. 

In 1863, he organized the Juvenile band, and soon 
after the brass band. In 1873, he organized the ca- 
dets. He personally attended the rehearsals of both 
bands and of the cadets to maintain order and dis- 
cipline and require proper attention to the instruc- 
tions. He also attended, as far as his time permitted, 
the rehearsals of the plays and entertainments in the 
school, many of which were held in the evening from 
eight to nine or ten o'clock. This was especially true 
of the brass band rehearsals, which took place at 
least once a week — as this band was made up of young 
men and former pupils their rehearsals must neces- 
sarily be at night. 

He was treasurer of the Sunday School Associa- 
tion from its organization in 1868 to 1893, and was 
present every Sunday afternoon at the school to see 
that order was preserved amongst the thousand or 
fifteen hundred Sunday school children. In the fall 
of the year, in company with one of his larger boys 
or of one of the men of the Sunday School Associa- 
tion, he would go from house to house throughout 
the parish to collect the dollar fee of the Sunday 
School Association. 

Once a month he, with his band, led the Boys' 
Sodality from the school to the church for their 
monthly Communion. He provided the band with 
instruments and uniforms. He saw that the cadets 
were well equipped with everything that a military 
organization needed; in a word, he was intensely 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 389 

devoted to the school, to the boys, and to the parish 
at large. 

Brother O'Neill was of rather nervous tempera- 
ment, and this tendency must have been accentuated 
by his multiplicity of employments, sufficient indeed 
to shatter any man's nerve. A strong constitution 
was certainly required to withstand the strain of so 
many years. 

The anecdotes concerning Brother O'Neill are so 
numerous as to require a good sized volume for their 
relation. In other connections many of these will 
be told, but there will be readers who will recall many 
others. 

Despite the multiplicity of his occupations, Brother 
O'Neill never neglected the spiritual life. It was 
for this reason that he left the world and became a 
religious, and he was indeed a deeply religious man, 
given to prayer and communion with God. 

Regardless of the late hour at which he might come 
home from the school or from rehearsals, he might 
be seen in the chapel every morning at 4 :30 o 'clock. 
He had great devotion to the Blessed Virgin Mary 
and distributed thousands of Immaculate Conception 
chaplets amongst the boys. These were supplied 
through the instrumentality of a number of the boys 
whom he had taught to make them. 

To enumerate all his works and activities would 
require another volume, but it may be said of him, 
first of all, that he was always a loyal and true Jesuit 
— true to the spirit of St. Ignatius, whom he tried 
to imitate to the best of his ability. He kept the 
motto of his patron before his eyes as a guiding 
compass, A. M. D. G. — Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam, 
as the old writings have it: "Let thy works praise 



390 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

thee." If ever this saying was true, it was certainly 
so in the case of this humble Coadjutor Brother of 
the Society of Jesus. 

Brother O'Neill began to decline about 1893, but 
kept up his work until the beginning of 1895, after 
which he was obliged to remain in his room. He 
didn't suffer greatly, but grew weaker and weaker, 
until, on September 10, just before the Angelus bell 
rang at noon, he passed to his reward in the seven- 
tieth year of his age and the forty-sixth of his 
religious life. 

The remains of the good Brother lay in state in 
the parlors of the college for two nights, where a 
guard of honor was in attendance. There was a con- 
stant stream of visitors to view the remains, and per- 
haps more people passed by the bier than had ever 
been seen there on any similar occasion. 

Brother O'Neill's funeral obsequies were attended 
by perhaps the largest gathering of people ever seen 
at a funeral in Holy Family Church. His old pupils 
were present in throngs. His remains were buried 
in the Jesuit plot in Calvary Cemetery, where so 
many of his co-workers await the final call. 

During the wake and funeral the schools were 
draped in mourning. After the funeral innumerable 
Masses were said for the repose of the soul of the 
good friend, counselor and guide of the celebrants 
and other large numbers at the request of lay friends 
and admirers. 

Bkother Schulz (Charles Schitlz, S. J.) was 
born in Germany in 1826, and came to Holy Family 
Church, Chicago, in 1867, where he held the post of 
Sacristan until 1880. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



391 



Brother Charles Schulz succeeded Brother Gren- 
nan as sacristan in the Fall of 1866. He was an 
untiring worker and an excellent sacristan — a pious 
and saintly man. He told this writer, that six hours 
sleep was all he desired, and I doubt if he even got 
that at times. Although gifted with many excellent 
qualities, it seems that the Lord did not endow him 
with the gift of managing boys, so that from time 
to time they used to play a variety of pranks on him. 




BEO. ALFRED ZELLER, S. J. 



BRO. JAMES GRENNAN, S. .). 



Brother Schulz was a familiar figure to the people 
of Holy Family Parish for fourteen years. He was 
the kind of man needed in those early days — one 
who could work and work hard, early and late. He 
was very pleasing to Father Damen, who needed men 
of loyalty and unflagging industry. In his humble 
duties of sweeping, dusting, cleaning, filling and 
lighting the lamps, and caring for the stoves in the 
lower church, he seemed never to tire, but was each 



392 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

day and every day at his post. Notwithstanding his 
great love for hard labor, he was much devoted to 
religion, and his spare moments were spent in prayer 
and pious reading and meditation. Should it happen 
that he was at any time at leisure he employed the 
fleeting moments in making rosaries to promote devo- 
tion to his heavenly Mother Mary. Many of the 
older parishioners still treasure rosaries made by 
Brother Schulz. They were virtually unbreakable 
and would wear indefinitely. 

As Brother Schulz was of a rather serious nature, 
ever intent on his employments, some of the older 
boys were wont to play pranks on him from time to 
time. He had a little corner in the Sacristy, en- 
closed, where he kept his little sleeping cot. Some 
of the mischievous little "spalpeens" would tie a 
can of water over the door in order that when the 
Brother would open it the water would spill over 
his head. At other times they would tie a cord on 
the stairway so the Brother would trip on his way 
down. On such occasions Brother Schulz would give 
chase with a broomstick or candle lighter, and this, 
of course, was the goal at which the youngsters aimed. 

After 1880, Brother Schulz was transferred to 
other useful labors. He spent the last years of his 
life as porter at Marquette College, Milwaukee, still 
making rosaries in his spare time. He died a beauti- 
ful and edifying death, on August 6, 1907, at the age 
of eighty-seven. 

Brother Haugherty (Michael Haugherty, S. 
J.) came to Chicago in 1869, just as the college was 
opened and when the old residence, at the corner 
of Twelfth and May streets, was closed. Many of the 
old settlers remember Brother Haugherty as the kind 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 393 

and genial porter at the college door for about twenty 
years. He was courteous and obliging to all, and did 
everything in his power to accommodate all those 
who sought anything at the college. He died a very 
saintly death on March 23, 1892, at St. Ignatius Col- 
lege, and was buried in Calvary Cemetery. 

Brothek Luysterborg (John Luysterbobg, S. J.), 
was a Belgian Jesuit, a carpenter and builder by 
trade. After managing the erection of the Jesuit 
colleges at Ghent, Turnhaut and Aloit he requested 
that he be sent to America, where he thought his serv- 
ices would be most needed. The request was granted, 
and in 1867 he came to America in the company of 
Father Coosemans who, at that time was superior of 
the Province. 

Brother John, as he was called, came to Chicago 
in 1870, and was appointed overseer of the con- 
tractors building the steeple of Holy Family Church, 
and also of the Sacred Heart Church and residence 
on 19th street. Brother John saw that the specifica- 
tions were carried out to the letter and that there 
were no flaws in God's house, at least insofar as he 
was charged. 

He used one-half of the second floor of the old 
wooden school building or, at least, the remnant of 
it, after the fire in 1864, as a carpenter shop. Here 
he spent twenty years laboring at his trade for the 
benefit of the church and college. 

On Sundays he took up the collection at all the 
Masses, so that he became well known to all who at- 
tended the church. 

Brother John died in his 85th year, on September 
30, 1892, having spent fifty-two years in the Society 
of Jesus. 



394 HOLY FAMILY PAK1SH 

Brother Woodward (Peter (J. Woodward, S. J.), 
was bona April 24, 1845, and entered the Society of 
Jesus August 22, 1866. Brother Woodward spent 
the years 1878 and 1879 as assistant to Father and 
Brother O'Neill in the schools. Many of those who 
attended the boys' school in those early days still re- 
member him. He has been at St. Mary's college, St. 
Mary's, Kansas, since, and is still able to be about at 
the age of 78. 

Brother Kilcullen (John Kilcullen, S. J.), 
was born in Ireland on September 14, 1823. He 
joined the Jesuits in the capacity of a Brother on 
February 26, 1853. From 1863 to 1876 he was em- 
ployed on the St. Mary's missions, Kansas, teaching 
the Indians. In 1879 and 1880 he assisted Brother 
'Neill at the Holy Family school. Here he became 
very popular with the boys. During recess time and 
on recreation days Brother Kilcullen would teach 
the boys how to make beads. In this and other ways 
he promoted devotion for our Blessed Lady. After 
his service at Holy Family school he was sent to other 
fields of labor, and died at the St. Louis University 
on October 17, 1891. 

Brother Zeller (Alfred Zeller, S. J.), was born 
May 26, 1859, and entered the Society of Jesus July 
9, 1878. Brother Zeller came to Holy Family Church 
in 1880, as Sacristan, in which post he remained for 
three years, until his health gave way. 

While Brother Zeller was here he made a telephone 
connection between the Sacristy and the pastoral 
residence. This was quite an exploit at that early 
date. 

In 1883 he was transferred to St. Joseph's Church, 
St. Louis, as Sacristan, which post he held for twenty- 



PK1ESTJS AND PEOPLE 395 

live years. At present he is assistant professor of 
Sciences at the St. Louis University, St. Louis, Mo. 

Brother Mulkerins (Thomas M. Mulkerins, S. 
J.), was born March 22, 1858, and entered the Society 
of Jesus September 14, 1878. After six months spent 
at St. Mary's College, Kansas, Brother Mulkerins 
was transferred to St. Ignatius College, Chicago, in 
1880, and in 1883 he was transferred to the Holy 
Family Church as Sacristan, which position he holds 
at the present time — 1923. 

Brother McDermott (Michael McDermott., S. 
J.), was born July 10, 1873, and became a Coadjutor 
Brother. He spent his boyhood days at the Holy 
Family School and amongst the Holy Family Church 
altar boys. He joined the Resort mission of the 
Rocky Mountains on the 25th of February 1895, 
where he faithfully assists the priests in the saving 
of the souls of both the Red and the White men. 

Brother Murphy (Thomas Murphy, S. J.), was 
born August 3, 1852, and entered the Society of Jesus 
January 28, 1873. Brother Murphy's religious life 
has been spent at St. Mary's College, Kansas, St. 
Xavier's College, Cincinnati, Ohio, and Marquette 
University, Milwaukee, Wis. Brother Murphy cele- 
brated his Golden Jubilee Jan. 28, 1923. Rev. Joseph 
A. Murphy, S. J., is a younger brother of Brother 
Murphy. 

CHRISTIAN BROTHERS FROM HOLY 
FAMILY PARISH 

The following members of Christian Brothers 
Community came from Holy Family Parish: 

Brother Jovitus Edward (Henry O'Rourke), Nov. 
8, 1881. 



396 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Brother Ambrose Michael (Cullerton, Pat'k), 
Aug., 1883. 

Brother Leonidian, ^Jas. Prindiville), Feb. 13, 
1888. 

Brother Harold Andrew (Henry Pickert), Feb. 26, 
1888. 

Brother Jarlath Peter, (Dan'l Fitzgerald), Jan. 
4, 1891. 

Brother Joel Thurian (Arthur Rigney), Jan. 3, 
1892. 

Brother Josephus Gregory (James Kent), Jan. 4, 
1893. 

Brother James Walter (Francis M. Murnane), 
Aug. 4, 1895. 

Brother Leonorian Gregory (Michael Spring), 
Sept. 16, 1898. 

Brother Joannes Gabriel (Chas. Quinlan), July 
14, 1899. 

Brother Leopold Julian (James J. Dodd), Nov. 19, 
1898. 

Brother Cornelius Paul (Charles Wilson), Sept., 
1883. 

Brother Francis (John McEvoy), 1915. 

CLERGYMEN IN SOME MANNER RELATED 
TO HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. Simon Blackmoke, S. J., was born February 
24, 1847, and entered the Society of Jesus on Decem- 
ber 28, 1871. Father Blackmore gave a course of 
lectures in Holy Family Church. He celebrated his 
Golden Jubilee in 1921. He is at present located at 
St. Ignatius College, Cleveland, Ohio. 

Me. Richard J. Brown, S. J., was born July 13, 
1890, and entered the Society of Jesus July 26', 1909. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 397 

He served at Holy Rosary Mission, among the Dakota 
Indians, and taught at Marquette and St. Louis Uni- 
versities. His ordination to the priesthood is ex- 
pected in June, 1923. 

Rev. Andrew Oarr, S. J. (Deceased), was one of 
the altar boys of Holy Family Church, of which, sev- 
eral years later, when a Jesuit Scholastic, he was ap- 
pointed a director. Father Carr some years later re- 
signed from the Jesuit Order and joined the ranks 
of the secular clergy. He was pastor at Rochelle, 
Illinois, when he died, although in the bloom of man- 
hood. His untimely death was much regretted by 
his devoted congregation. 

Rev. William J. Corboy, S. J., was born August 
12, 1878, and entered the Society of Jesus August 10, 
1897. Father Corboy, after his ordination offered 
his services to the United States as a chaplain, and 
in the discharge of his duties he saw service in 
France. He is at present engaged as one of the pro- 
fessors of Creighton University, Omaha, Nebraska. 

Mr. Michael Cushing, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
December 15, 1851, and entered the Society of Jesus 
July 19, 1869. He was one of the first from Holy 
Family Parish to become a Jesuit. He was sent to 
complete his studies at Woodstock, Maryland, but 
during the summer vacation was, on August 27, 1873, 
accidentally drowned while bathing. 

Rev. James J. Daly, S. J., was born February 1, 
1872, and entered the Society of Jesus July 23, 1890. 
Father Daly is considered amongst the best Catholic 
writers in the United States. He spent some years 
on the editorial staff of " America," the Jesuit Catho- 
lic weekly. At present he is associate editor of The 
Queen's Work, St. Louis, Mo. 



398 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. James G. Delihant, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born April 1, 1858, and entered the Society of Jesus 
August 9, 1876. During his studies Father Delihant 
felt his health declining, and after his ordination his 
health failed and he died, October 5, 1885, at the 
early age of twenty-seven. 

Rev. Vincent P. Devlin, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born March 13, 1853, and entered the Society of 
Jesus July 23, 1873. Father Devlin taught, for 
some years, but after his ordination his health broke 
down, and he died on January 21, 1886. 

Rev. John J. Donoher, S. J. was born September 
9, 1860, and entered the Society of Jesus August 7, 
1877. Father Donoher is a noted orator and has 
spent several years on the missions. Recently he has 
been very much interested in arranging and direct- 
ing retreats for laymen. He is at present located in 
Detroit, Michigan, and devotes much time and energy 
to lay retreats. 

Rev. Joseph Donnellan, was, for several years, 
one of the Holy Family altar boys. He studied for 
the priesthood at Kenrick Seminary, near St. Louis, 
Mo., and was ordained in 1922. After ordination he 
started West, to the scene of his future labors, in the 
diocese of Salt Lake, Utah. 

Mr. Joseph I. Donohue, S. J., was born July 11, 

1890, and entered the Society of Jesus July 7, 1909. 
Mr. Donohue has taught for several years. At pres- 
ent he is finishing his studies in Theology and expects 
to be ordained in 1923. 

Rev. William F. Dooley, S. J., was born March 
30, 1872, and entered the Society of Jesus July 27, 

1891. Father Dooley, after completing his studies 
and his ordination, taught for several years, when 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 399 

lie was promoted to the rectorship of Detroit College, 
in which college he died, on July 7, 1915. 

Rev. Teerence Dowling (Passionist) served as an 
altar boy in Holy Family Church. Later he joined 
the Passionist Order, and is known there as Father 
Aloysius. 

Rev. Timothy Driscoll, S. J., was born July 23, 
1883, and joined the Society of Jesus for the Rocky 
Mountain missions, on August 13, 1900. He is at 
present the Superior of the Jesuit Church and School, 
at Tacoma, Washington. 

Rev. Philip C. Dunne, S. J., was born July 21, 
1869, and entered the Society of Jesus July 6, 1889. 
Father Dunne spent several years in British Hon- 
duras. At present he is Treasurer of Detroit Uni- 
versity, Detroit, Michigan. 

Mr. Joseph M. Egan, S. J., was born January 15, 
1898, and entered the Society of Jesus August 8, 
1916. At present Mr. Egan is finishing his philos- 
ophy in France. 

Rev. Thomas A. Egan, S. J., was born November 
13, 1884, and entered the Society of Jesus Septem- 
ber 5, 1903. Father Egan has taught for several 
years. At present he is one of the professors at 
Creighton University, Omaha, Nebraska. 

Rev. Gilbert J. GtARRaghan, S. J., was born 
August 14, 1871, and entered the Society of Jesus 
September 1, 1890. Father Garraghan has served as 
secretary to the Provincial of the Missouri Province 
of the Society of Jesus for a number of years, and, 
in addition to his priestly duties, has become an 
authority on the history of the Catholic Church in 
the Middle West. He is the author of several his- 



400 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

torical works, including a History of the Catholic 
Church in Chicago. 

Father Garraghan is a native of Chicago, and a 
member of one of the earliest Catholic families of 
Chicago. 

Rev. Arnold J. Garvy, S. J., was born November 
9, 1868, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 14, 
1885. Father Garvy has spent his life, since ordi- 
nation, to the priesthood in teaching and writing. 
He is the author of an extended work on English 
Catholic Literature. At present he is Professor of 
English Literature at St. Stanislaus Seminary, Mo. 

Rev. Joseph Georgen, S. J., was born February 
23, 1882, and in his youth was secretary of the Altar 
Boys' Society of Holy Family Church for a term. 
He entered the Society of Jesus, July 27, 1903, and, 
after ordination, joined the Jesuit Province of Cali- 
fornia. At present he is one of the superiors of 
Santa Clara University, California. 

Rev. Michael H. Gorman, S. J., was born Febru- 
ary 20, 1871, and entered the Society of Jesus August 
11, 1892. Father Gorman has taught the classics in 
several colleges in the Middle West. At present he 
is located at Regis College, Denver, Colorado. 

Besides his teaching work Father Gorman has been 
noted for his success in staging several sacred dramas. 

Mr. John I. Grace, S. J., was born January 30, 
1897, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 8, 
1916. He is at present finishing his philosophy at 
St. Louis University. 

Mr. William P. Hagerty, S. J., was born Feb- 
ruary 16, 1895, and entered the Society of Jesus 
August 8, 1916. At the present time he is completing 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 401 

his preliminary Jesuit studies at St. Louis Uni- 
versity. 

Rev. Ignatius A. Hamill, S. J., was born August 
2, 1880, and entered the Society of Jesus August 11, 
1897. Since the termination of his studies Father 
Hamill has been engaged in college work, with the 
exception of the period during which he served as 
chaplain in the great World War. At present he is 
director of Creighton Academy, Omaha, Nebraska. 
Father Hamill is a brother of Madame Hamill, Reli- 
gious of the Sacred Heart, and is a nephew of Rev. 
Joseph A. Murphy, S. J., and of Brother Thomas 
Murphy, S. J. 

Rev. James Hynes spent his boyhood days as an 
acolyte in Holy Family Church. He made his pre- 
liminary studies at St. Ignatius College, and later 
on entered the ecclesiastical seminary for the secular 
clergy. He served faithfully as an assistant for sev- 
eral years, until he was appointed pastor of Our Lady 
of the Angels Church, Chicago, which post he now 
worthily fills. 

Rev. Terence T. Kane, S. J., was born February 
20, 1887, and entered the Society of Jesus, July 25, 
1905. Father Kane is at present studying Canon 
law in Rome, in preparation for his future career in 
the Society of Jesus. Father Kane is a brother of 
Rev. William T. Kane, S. J. 

Rev. James V. Kelly, S. J., was born April 14, 
1876, and entered the Society of Jesus July 9, 1896. 
Father Kelly is professor of English Literature in 
the Theological Seminary at St. Mary's of the Lake, 
Area, 111. 

Rev. Thomas Kelly, S. J., was born December 
7, 1884, and entered the Society of Jesus, September 



402 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

2, 1902. After teaching for several years he volun- 
teered for the Foreign Missions, and was sent to the 
Patna Mission, East India, where he is at present 
doing heroic work for the salvation of souls. 

Eev. James Kiely, S. J., was born October 22, 
1880, and entered the Society of Jesus, Jnly 10, 1899. 
Father Kiely was a volunteer for the Rocky Moun- 
tain missions, and at present is a professor of eccle- 
siastical studies in the Jesuit Seminary of the Prov- 
ince of California. 

Rev. William M. Magee, S. J., was born July 9, 
1885, and entered the Society of Jesus, September 
9, 1906. Father Magee spent several years teaching 
at St. John's University, Toledo, Ohio. He is at 
present finishing his Jesuit studies at St. Stanislaus, 
Brooklyn, Ohio. Father Magee in his younger days 
was treasurer of the Altar Boys' Society of Holy 
Family Parish, Chicago. 

Mr. Edward F. Maher, S. J., was born November 
13, 1892, and entered the Society of Jesus, July 25, 
1912. After completing his preliminary course Mr. 
Maher was assigned to the teaching staff of the Jesuit 
Colleges of the Middle West. At present he is at- 
tached to St. Xavier's College, Cincinnati, Ohio. 

Rev. John F. McCormick, S. J., was born March 

3, 1874, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 10, 
1891. Father McCormick has been teaching most 
of his religious life, with the exception of the time 
spent in preparation for the priesthood. At present 
he is, and has been for several years, President of 
Creighton University of Omaha, Nebraska. 

Mr. Edward C. McGuire, S. J., was born April 1, 
1899, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 8, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 40: J > 

1918. This present year— 1923— finds Mr. McGuire 
studying philosophy at the St. Louis University. 

Rev. Joseph A. McLaughlin, S. J., was born 
April 30, 1881, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
September 3, 1898. Father McLaughlin taught for 
several years in the Jesuit Colleges of the Middle 
West. His talent for preaching was the occasion 
for his selection as one of the Jesuit Missionary 
Bands in 1922. He is at present engaged in this 
arduous work with much fruit in the salvation of 
souls. 

Rev. James A. Meskell, S. J., was born May 8, 
1886, and entered the Society of Jesus, September 
8, 1906. Father Meskell has taught, for several years, 
at St. Mary's College, Kansas, and Marquette Uni- 
versity. This present year he is finishing his Jesuit 
studies at St. Stanislaus, Brooklyn, Ohio. Father 
Meskell in his younger days was president of the 
Acolythical Society of the Holy Family Church. 

Rev. William Millay, of the Order of Premon- 
stratensians, spent his youth as an altar boy in Holy 
Family Church, eventually becoming the society's 
Vice-President. After studying for several years, 
at Notre Dame University, he joined the Order of 
Premontre and is at present rector of St. Norbert's 
College, West Depere, Wis. 

Rev. John Morris, made his early studies at the 
Brothers' School, Holy Family Parish. Later he 
entered the Seminary for the Archdiocese of Chi- 
cago. After his ordination he served as assistant 
to St. Catherine's Parish in Austin. Later he be- 
came pastor of the negro congregation on the south 
side, and finally was appointed to organize the new 



404 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

parish at St. Felicitas, over which he worthily pre- 
sides. 

Rev. Edmund S. Murphy served as an altar boy 
for several years. He made his ecclesiastical studies 
with the Jesuits. Later he joined the secular clergy. 
He is a brother to the Rev. Joseph B. Murphy, S. J., 
and the Rev. John Murphy, and of the late Madame 
Murphy. 

Rev. John Murphy, served as an altar boy in the 
Holy Family Church for several years. He made his 
preparatory studies at St. Ignatius college and De 
Paul University. Father Murphy has done much 
good among the young men and boys of parishes in 
which he served as assistant. He is at present at the 
Church of St. Sylvester, Chicago. 

Rev. Joseph A. Murphy, S. J., was born December 
24, 1857, and entered the Society of Jesus July 16, 
1875. Father Murphy spent all of his religious life 
in the professor's chair, with the exception of the 
few years he spent on the missions of British Hon- 
duras. At present he is one of the professors of 
St. Louis University. 

Rev. William A. Murphy, D. D., served as an 
altar boy and secretary, for several years, in the 
Holy Family Church. He studied at St. Ignatius 
College, and finally went to Rome, where he made his 
ecclesiastical studies and received his Doctor's De- 
gree. Father Murphy volunteered his services as a 
chaplain during the World War. After the war he 
organized an Italian parish at Ogden Avenue and 
West Taylor street. In this good w r ork he has under- 
taken, he has been eminently successful. 

Rev. John J. Nash, S. J., was born January 12, 
1879, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 11, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 405 

1897. Since completing his Jesuit studies, Father 
Nash's life has been spent in the professor's chair. 
At present he is on the professional staff of Detroit 
University. Father Nash is a brother of the Rev. 
William T. Nash, S. J., and of Sister Mary St. Gen- 
evive of the Congregation of the B. V. M. 

Rev. Thomas Neate, S. J., was born March 25, 
1861, and entered the Society of Jesus January 13, 
1880. Father Neate served as a faithful altar boy in 
Holy Family Parish and finished his studies with 
the Jesuits of the Missouri Province. Later he 
joined the Jesuit Mission of the Rocky Mountains, 
where he has spent the greater part of his religious 
life among the Indians of the Rockies. 

Rev. John J. 'Bryan, S. J., was born February 
29, 1868, and entered the Society of Jesus August 10, 
1893. Father O'Brien has been in the professor's 
chair for a number of years, but at present is pastor 
of St. Francis Xavier's Church, St. Louis, Mo. He 
is a brother of Rev. Francis O 'Bryan. 

Rev. Francis O 'Bryan served for several years as 
an altar boy in Holy Family Church. After studying 
at St. Ignatius College he was sent to Rome, where 
he was ordained for the Archdiocese of Chicago, and 
upon his return to Chicago, he served as an assistant 
at St. Pius Church. He also served as pastor of 
one of the parishes outside Chicago for several years. 

Rev. Michael J. O'Connor, S. J., was born July 
31, 1861, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 2, 
1877. After teaching in various colleges for some 
years, Father O'Connor was appointed rector of St. 
Francis Xavier's College, Cincinnati, Ohio, after 
which he spent several years on the missions, and 
then became pastor of St. Francis Xavier Church, 



406 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

St. Louis, Mo. He assisted the Visitor sent from 
Rome to the Missouri Province. At present he is 
located at St. Louis University, St. Louis, Mo. 

Rev. Edmond J. O 'Sullivan, S. J., was born Feb- 
ruary 2, 1859, and entered the Society of Jesus 
August 9, 1876. After his teaching and ordination 
Father 'Sullivan was assigned to Creighton Col- 
lege, Omaha. Here his health broke down and this 
promising young priest died on March 19, 1891, at 
the early age of 32. 

Rev. Daniel Pickham, who died soon after his 
ordination was a promising young secular priest, and 
a product of Holy Family Parish. 

Rev. A. G. Quill served as an altar boy at Holy 
Family Church for several years. He made part of 
his studies at St. Ignatius college and later at Kan- 
kakee, 111. At present he is located as assistant at 
St. Agatha's Church, Chicago. 

Rev. John S. Ragoe, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
December 22, 1873, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
August 10, 1891. Father Ragor taught in several 
colleges of the Middle West, notably St. Mary's Col- 
lege, Kansas, and St. John's college, Toledo, Ohio. 
He died at Florissant, Mo., October 18, 1916. 

Mr. John A. Ryan, S. J., was born November 11, 
1893, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 9, 
1916. He is completing his preliminary Jesuit 
studies this year (1923), at St. Louis University. 

Rev. Michael J. Ryan, S. J., was born May 19, 
1864, and entered the Society of Jesus, September 5, 
1882. Father Ryan taught for many years in the 
Jesuit colleges of the Middle West. At present he 
is assistant pastor of St. Xavier's Church, Cincin- 
nati, Ohio. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 407 

Mr. Thomas J. Smith, S. J. (Deceased), was bom 
January 17, 1858, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
July 16, 1875. After a short time his health com- 
pletely broke down, and he died, August 20, 1876. 

Rev. Arthur D. Spillard, S. J., was born July 7, 
1880, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 10, 
1901. Father Spillard has been a successful teacher 
for several years, and at present is Vice-President 
of Detroit University, Detroit, Mich. 

Rev. Charles P. Sullivan, S. J., was born Octo- 
ber 22, 1883, and entered the Society of Jesus, Feb- 
ruary 3, 1905. At present Father Sullivan is doing- 
very proficient work as a professor in Rockhurst 
College, Kansas City, Mo. 

Rev. Cornelius B. Sullivan, S. J. (Deceased), 
was born February 23, 1856, and entered the Society 
of Jesus, July 16, 1873. After his teaching and or- 
dination he was assigned as a professor in Detroit 
College, Detroit, Michigan, where he died, February 
1 6, 1892, at the early age of thirty-six. 

Rev. Edward P. Sullivan was born August 27, 
1864, and entered the Society of Jesus, in 1883. 
Father Sullivan spent his whole life, since he fin- 
ished his ecclesiastical studies, in teaching. He has 
been, for several years, connected with Detroit Uni- 
versity, where he resides at present. 

Rev. James J. Sullivan, S. J. (Deceased), was 
born December 13, 1858, and entered the Society of 
Jesus, March 4, 1877. After his studies and ordina- 
tion, Father Sullivan was appointed to the chair of 
Theology at the St. Louis University. This office he 
held for a number of years, till his health failed. He 
was transferred to Kansas City, Mo., in the hope of 
recuperating, but his health broke down, and he died, 



408 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

July 9, 1916. Father Sullivan was considered one 
of the brightest intellects in the Missouri Province. 

Rev. Francis J. Sittor, S. J. (Deceased), was born 
August 5, 1863, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
July 4, 1883. This promising young Jesuit's health 
gave way after a few years, and he died, October 9, 
1895. 

Rev. William D. Tierney, S. J., was born Novem- 
ber 23, 1878, and entered the Society of Jesus, Sep- 
tember 3, 1900. At present Father Tierney is 
superior of the Missionary Band and a successor to 
the great Father Damen, S. J. He is a native of 
Holy Family Parish. 

Mr. Joseph Wallace, S. J., was born September 
2, 1861, and entered the Society of Jesus, August 2, 
1877. Mr. Wallace's health was never robust, and all 
efforts made to strengthen him proved futile. Final- 
ly death took this promising Jesuit, at the age of 
twenty-five, on February 5, 1886. 

Rev. Thomas F. Wallace, S. J., was born April 1, 
1869, and entered the Society of Jesus, July 25, 1887. 
Father Wallace may be said to have been engaged in 
teaching and study all his life. He has been Vice- 
President of St. Louis University for a number of 
years, wherein he at present holds one of the prin- 
cipal professorial chairs. He is a brother of the late 
Joseph Wallace, S. J. 

Rev. William J. Wallace, S. J., was born May 
22, 1860, and entered the Society of Jesus, April 26, 
1877. Father Wallace spent several years in British 
Honduras as superior. After his return to the 
United States, he was made rector of St. Mary's Col- 
lege, Kansas. At present he is treasurer of Missouri 
Province, S. J. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 409 

Rev. John S. Whelan, made his preparatory 
studies at St. Ignatius college, Chicago. He was 
very efficient and faithful as an altar boy. He joined 
the Society of Jesus, but later resigned and joined 
the Diocese of Rockford, where he is at present do- 
ing efficient work for the salvation of souls. Father 
Whelan volunteered his services as chaplain during 
the World War. He is a brother of Rev. William 
Whelan, S. J. 

Rev. William P. Whelan, S. J., was born March 
5, 1867, and entered the Society of Jesus July 25, 
1887. Father Whelan has been in the Professorial 
Chair for many years. He has been connected with 
Creighton University for several years, where at 
present he is Dean of the medical school. 

Rev. Samuel K. Wilson, S. J., was born August 
20, 1882, and entered the Society of Jesus, Septem- 
ber 2, 1902. Father Wilson taught for several years, 
and is prosecuting his higher studies in England at 
this present writing (1923). 

The foregoing sketches are compiled from the records of the various 
Jesuit houses, including Woodstock, CMcago, St. Louis and others and are 
as accurate as possible. 



CHAPTER XVII 

The Schools of the Parish 

The priests and people of Holy Family Parish are 
justifiably proud of the educational record of the 
parish. 

As has been seen, Father Damen had no sooner 
completed the temporary church, than he set to work 
with his accustomed energy to provide for the educa- 
tion of the children. To help us realize the neces- 
sity for a school in Holy Family Parish, we need but 
recall the fact that, in the entire West side of Chi- 
cago, there was at that time, but one Catholic school 
— St. Patrick's. Moreover, there was but one public 
school within the confines of the parish — the old 
Foster School on O'Brien street near Halsted. For 
the well-being of the future citizens, Father Damen 
realized that Catholic schools must be provided 
where faith and morals would be taught, as well as 
the secular branches. 

Adjoining the small frame church fronting on 
Eleventh street as has been seen, Father Damen had 
constructed two wings having the appearance of 
transepts, and in these wings or transepts the boys 
and girls of the parish were taught. The girls' school 
opened in one of them, on August 7th, and the boys' 
school in the other, on September 7th. Later, in the 
same year, as we have seen, a select school was 
opened. In these wings, used for schools during the 
week and thrown open into the church by means of 

410 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



411 



folding doors on Sundays, school was conducted dur- 
ing the latter part of 1857, all of 1858 and 1859, and 
until the permanent church was opened in 1860. 
After the permanent church was opened, the entire 
temporary church was converted into class rooms, so 
that, on September 2, 1860, the announcement was 
made that there were four teachers for the boys' 
school. On October 29th, of the same year, Father 




THE PAEISH SCHOOLS 
ST. AGNES' SACRED HEART 

GUARDIAN ANGEL HOLY EAMTLY 



ST. JOSEPH'S 
ST. ALOYSTFS 



.John Coveny, S. J., opened a select school for boys, 
and, on October 5, 1863, Mr. Patrick Eustace opened 
an evening school for young men and boys unable to 
attend day school. 

The old church continued in use as a school until 
it was burned on May 10, 1864, when there was 
a short interruption of work until the basement of 



412 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

the church could be fitted up for school rooms. On 
May 15, 1864, it was announced that all the classes 
taught in the old school would be resumed in the 
basement until better accommodations could be pro- 
vided. 

The Brothers' School 

A new school was imperative, and Father Damen 
and his helpers set out to provide one. On July 17, 
1864, the corner stone of the new brick school was 
laid, and the building was ready for occupancy, in 
January, 1865. This, Holy Family School, occupied 
the center of the block on Morgan street, between 
Twelfth and Thirteenth streets. It had a full front- 
age on both east and west sides, with spacious play 
grounds for the children. It was 125 feet in length, 
65 feet in width, and its height was 80 feet, contain- 
ing three full stories and basement. The cost of the 
building was $75,000. 

This school was to become famous in the history 
of Catholic education in Chicago, as it was a center 
of instruction for the youth of the vicinity for thirty- 
five years. As we have seen, it was generally known 
as the " Brothers' School," because of the fact that 
two lay brothers, Martin Corcoran, S. J., 1 and 
Thomas O'Neill, S. J., 2 were the first teachers there. 
We have seen also that Brother O'Neill and his 
brother, Father Andrew O'Neill, S. J., were iden- 
tified with the school from early in the sixties. 
It was, no doubt, due to their untiring energy, pru- 
dence and good judgment, and their talent for or- 
ganization that Holy Family School became such a 
pronounced success. 

Brother O'Neill, besides laboring in the class 

i See sketch Chapter XVI. 
2 Se^ sketch Chapter XVI. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



413 




REV. ANDREW O 'NEILL r S. J. REV. MICHAEL VANAGT, S. J. 




REV. JAMES J. CTJRRAN, S. J. REV. JOHN MASTERSON, S. J. 



414 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

rooms, provided well for the recreation hours of the 
pupils. In 1863 he organized a Juvenile Band, and 
a little later a brass band. Later on he had a com- 
pany of cadets and zouaves. Indeed, it was these at- 
tractions and activities that made Holy Family 
School the center of life and energy amongst the 
Catholics of the West side for full twenty-five years. 
For full thirty years the spacious hall in the school 
was a virtual community center. 

Rev. Andrew O'Neill, S. J., 3 came to the school in 
1864, and fully supplemented the brother's activities. 
Every Sunday morning, Father O'Neill said Mass 
for the children at 9 o'clock, and in the afternoon 
gathered the 1,500 or more boys for Sunday school. 
He, too, was a tireless worker, a genius for organiza- 
tion, system and efficiency, and became the admir- 
ation of the Catholic Hierarchy throughout the 
United States — so much so, that the venerable Car- 
dinal Gibbons proclaimed the schools under his care 
the " banner schools of America." 

Associated with Father O'Neill and Brother 
O'Neill was Father Michael Van Agt, S. J., 4 who 
came in 1870, and a band of zealous and devoted lay 
teachers, both men and women. There w T ere in all 
of the departments some five male and sixteen female 
teachers. 

One of the chief aids of Father 'Neill and Brother 
O'Neill was Mr. Michael Carmody, a layman of ex- 
ceptional talent. Mr. Carmody was closely connected 
with all the school work of the parish for twenty- 
five years and endeared himself especially to all the 
boys, even though he was a strict disciplinarian, for 
he was always just. 

s Sketch Chapter XVI. 
4 See sketch Chapter XVI. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



415 



For twenty-five years Mr. Carmody lived in the 
school building- and there raised his family of four 
sons and three daughters, and despite the many an- 
noyances incident to his position was of such a dispo- 
sition as apparently to soar above them. 

Many men yet living bear witness to his ability as 
a teacher and his intimates and acquaintances pro- 




BROTHER THOMAS O'NEILL, 

S. J. 



MICHAEL CARMODY 

School Master 



nounced him the most agreeable of companions. He 
could converse with bishop, priest and statesman on 
topics familiar to their station and turn to a child or 
school boy and entertain him with conversation 
within his comprehension. He was the welcome guest 
everywhere he went and the chosen companion of 
Father O'Neill and Brother O'Neill on their vaca- 
tions and excursions. 



416 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Mr. Carmody severed his connection with Holy 
Family School in the early nineties and engaged in 
the insurance business in which he was very success- 
ful. He died a holy death in 1904. His funeral was 
attended by many of his former pupils and friends 
all of whom loved and respected him. 

At the present time there are to be found many 
men, some old, some middle-aged, and some even 
youthful, who look back with pride and satisfaction 
to their school-boy days in the old " Brothers' 
School." These may be met in every state in the 
Union, and in almost every country under the sun, 
from the diamond fields of Africa to the golden sands 
of Alaska. They will be found in every walk of 
civil life, frequently holding very responsible posi- 
tions — president of a railroad or telegraph system, 
doctors, lawyers, and judges; indeed in all vocations 
and avocations, the ecclesiastical and religious states 
being also well represented. 5 

Although the Holy Family school, from its relation 
to the church of the same name, was called a paro- 
chial school, it was conducted entirely upon the vol- 
untary system, the tuition fees being regulated ac- 
cording to the means and inclinations of the parents, 
and those who were too poor to pay, were admitted 
free to all the benefits of the school on exact equality 
with the pupils who paid, and without the slightest 
distinction. None but the reverend director knew 
which pupils were and which were not paying. 

This was more than a primary school as, in addi- 
tion to the ordinary branches of instruction, there 

5 It would be interesting to see a roster of this early school and trace 
the after life of the youngsters who attended but is of course an impossible 
task. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 417 

was a class in vocal music, a well-trained instru- 
mental band was formed amongst the boys, and elo- 
cution and dramatic art were given attention. There 
were exercises, consisting of recitations, original and 
selected, songs, choruses and light dramatic perform- 
ances, the program being relieved at intervals by 
selections played by the band. In the very early 
days, one of these programs included a scene from 
the life of Edward the Confessor. The boys who 
took part in these exercises, displa} r ed considerable 
talent and an appreciation of the humorous, speak- 
ing their parts intelligently and affording much en- 
tertainment and amusement to the audience. Recita- 
tions were, on the whole, exceedingly well delivered, 
the subjects selected including such masterpieces as 
Scott's lines on love of country, beginning " Breathes 
there a man with soul so dead" and others. These 
performances afforded great satisfaction, not only 
to the large audience, who warmly applauded at fre- 
quent intervals, but also to the boys themselves, each 
of whom seemed to feel a genuine pleasure in the 
task allotted him. 

Before taking up the more intimate narrative of 
the progress of Holy Family school, it is proposed to 
introduce the other schools of the parish, since many 
of the educational activities were common to all the 
schools, and may be described collectively. 

The Saceed Heart Convent School 

The next school to be organized, after the Holy 
Family or " Brothers' School," was that of the 
Sacred Heart Convent. As was the case with refer- 
ence to the establishment of the parish itself, we are 
fortunate in having documents relating to the estab- 



418 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

lishment of the Sacred Heart Convent School, the 
first in order being a letter from Right Reverend 
Bishop Anthony O 'Regan, D. D., addressed to 
Father Damen, as follows : 

"Rev. Dear Father: — 

.... I now have another trouble to give you, and it is 
this: I want to bring the Ladies of the Sacred Heart, or some 
of them, to Chicago, and I want this to be done this summer. 
I will give all the patronage in my power, and this is the only 
aid I can give, but at present this patronage is money or its 
worth. It stands thus: The Sisters of Mercy are to give 
up their boarding school this summer and to convert that house 
into a hospital. They now have forty-six boarders or more, 
and all these, at once, would pass into the school of the Ladies 
of the Sacred Heart with many others, I am sure. In order to 
receive them, it would be necessary to have a house built and 
completed at the furthest, the middle of next September. This 
can be done easily by a community able to raise money, as I 
am sure the Sacred Heart can. I consider this as a happy 
coincidence and as the voice of God calling to us at one time; 
the Jesuits and the Ladies of the Sacred Heart. Do, dear 
Father, and Friend, complete the good work you have begun. 
Use all .your influence to have this effected, as now is the 
fitting time. Property can be conveniently had not far from 
your church and in three months a house can be finished. 
When opened it will be filled — it will be a transfer here from 
one house into another. I write this day to Madame Gallwey, 
and through God and His Virgin Mother, I implore success for 
this good and holy project. I depend very much on you. 
Write soon and work for the Sacred Heart's sake. 

Yours very affectionately, 
Rt. Rev. Anthony 'Regan.* 

Bishop of Chicago." 

As the result of this and other communications 
and arrangements, Madame Gallwey, with ten other 

*'> Arclidiocesan Archives, St. Louis. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 419 

Ladies of the Sacred Heart, arrived in Chicago in 
1858. 7 The community resided first on Wabash 
Avenue, and later on the corner of Rush and Illinois 
streets, where they conducted a school for girls. 
Madame Gallwey having acquired 12 acres of land on 
Taylor street, within the limits of Holy Family 
Parish, built a convent which was first occupied by 
the Nuns, on August 20, 1860. 

In the fall of the same year, the frame building 
on the north side, formerly occupied by the Nuns, 
was removed to the northwest corner of Taylor and 
Lytle streets, fitted up and opened as a free school 
for girls of the Holy Family Parish. In 1864 
Madame Gallwey enlarged the convent building and 
established in it an academy and boarding school for 
girls. In 1886, a brick building, with a capacity for 
1,000 children, was erected for the parochial school 
at Taylor and Lytle streets. 

The first companions of Mother Gallwey, as far as 
can be ascertained, were Mesdames Boudreaux, 
Jacquet, Garrity, Alton, Kennedy, Keating, Schnei- 
der and Neiderkorn. 

Again we are privileged to draw upon the William 
J. Onahan store-house of notes and information. 
Mr. Onahan was a devoted friend of the several 
branches of teaching sisters, and gives the following 
account of the establishment of the Sacred Heart 
School: 

"When Madame Gallwey, at the suggestion of Father Damen, 
came to this city to establish an Academy of the Sacred Heart, 
a house was rented on Wabash avenue near Peck Court, where 
a beginning was made. Later on, the large mansion and 
grounds of W. S. Johnston, at Rush and Illinois streets, on 

7 Account of Mother Gallwey, Ohnptev XVTT1. 



420 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

the north side, was engaged and occupied, pending the erection 
of the Academy building on West Taylor street, which was the 
location determined on as the permanent home of the com- 
munity, the proximity and spiritual direction of the friendly 
Jesuit Fathers doubtless being the controlling motive governing 
this choice. 

When the Academy buildings were completed and ready for 
occupancy, in 1860, the transfer of the Community and their 
appointments from the north side became necessary, but this 
was an easy task. There was a more formidable undertaking 
in the removal of a large frame building which had been put 
up on the Johnston block, as a needed addition for school pur- 
poses. To transfer this from the north to the west side was the 
conundrum to be faced. In moving the members of the com- 
munity's furnishings to the west side, Father Damen called 
for volunteers to do the work. The call was promptly answered. 
In the procession, hauling the various household fixtures, could 
be seen drays and wagons of all kinds. The people in the 
vicinity at once sent in supplies of refreshments in the first 
days after their arrival. Mrs. Scollay is specially mentioned 
as their best and kindest benefactor at the beginning. 

The contractor thought of a plan to move the house in a 
way that was very easy. The plan was this: Without drawing 
a nail or disturbing a board, he moved the building down to 
the side of the river at Rush street, there he loaded it on a 
large mud scow or flat boat and floated it safely up the river 
to Taylor street, and then moved it to its destination along 
West Taylor street. 

This house was for many years an annex to the Academy, 
until other and more permanent additions were needed, when 
it was moved away. The old building could be seen for many 
years after, occupying the northwest corner of Blue Island 
avenue and Morgan street, being used as a saloon ! 

Under the energetic direction of Madame Gallwey the new 
academy soon attained the first rank as an educational institu- 
tion. Many of our first families received their training there, 
and owe to the accomplished and devoted Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart their acquirements in learning and in the accomplish- 
ments for which the institution is still proverbial, but more and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 421 

better for the solid and permanent religious spirit, which is 
always the first consideration in all convent training-, nor were 
the advantages of the institution without discrimination. AVhile 
no interference with the religious principles of the non-Catholic 
pupils was or is attempted, the religious at the same time insist 
on the observance of the rules which require conformity to the 
regular exercises of the house, and the justice and necessity for 
this rule is rarehy r if ever called in question. 

The influence of the Sacred Heart, as an important factor 
in our school system, has been universally acknowledged, and it 
lias stood for all that is best and highest in educational methods 
and systems. Discarding fads and follies, so much in vogue in 
non-Catholic institutions, it has steadily aimed at imparting 
solid and useful knowledge and along with this, the grace 
of manner and dignity of bearing which always distinguished 
the well-bred and highly educated woman. In these partic- 
ulars, the Sacred Heart is not surpassed by any other com- 
munity. 

Madame Gallwey was a lady of commanding presence and 
possessed remarkable administrative talents. She seemed, in- 
deed, born to lead ; to command ; to direct. Her abilities w r ere 
of a practical character, and she could detect a flaw in the 
building of a wall and equally single out a defect in composi- 
tion or an error in grammar. She was a mother to her com- 
munity; she was the unfailing refuge and comfort of the 
pupils when in distress of mind or body. 

Quickly recognizing the need for a parochial school for girls 
in the parish, she proceeded to meet the need. Under her 
energetic initiative, a spacious building was quickly erected and 
opened for the girls of the parish. As many as 900 girls were 
annually educated in this school, under the direction of the 
community. 

During a period of nearly twenty years, this parochial school 
was under the charge of Madame Sheridan as directress. Her 
name is a household word throughout the Jesuit Parish." s 

The convent parish school (Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart) was closed in June, 1907, after its magnificent 

RNew World, April 14, 1900. 



422 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

work of forty-seven years. The Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart, very reluctantly, gave up the home they loved 
so well and the people in whose midst they had la- 
bored for nigh half a century. It was with anguish 
of soul that the thousands of friends they had made 
during so many years, saw these nuns depart from 
their midst, never to return. The great influx of a 
new population caused the older residents to seek 
homes in other parts of the city, so they had no alter- 
native but to depart, although with sorrow. The 
Ladies of the Sacred Heart had bought a beautiful 
place in one of the suburbs of Chicago, called Lake 
Forest. Here they erected a building and opened an 
Academy for boarders, in 1904, keeping the day 
academy until June, 1907. 

u The Seminary of the Sacred Heart," was the 
title of the Convent on West Taylor street, which was 
opened in 1860. This was for both boarders and day 
pupils. The first day pupil was Lizzie Sheridan, who 
in later years entered the convent and became re- 
spected and loved by all. Madame Sheridan, Mary 
and Sally Scollay, Ellen Waldron and Mary O'Neill 
with about twenty boarders, were present at the 
opening of the school. The number of pupils in- 
creased rapidly, both boarders and day school schol- 
ars. The number of pupils who afterward became 
religious was quite large, and the congregations 
chosen were various. Twenty-four joined the So- 
ciety of the Sacred Heart. 

St. Aloysius School 

The next educational movement in Holy Family 
Parish was made through the Sisters of Charity of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 423 

the Blessed Virgin Mary. While engaged in giving 
missions throughout Iowa and, at the specific time, 
in the city of Muscatine, Father Damen became ac- 
quainted with the work of the Sisters of Charity of 
the Blessed Virgin Mary, commonly known through- 
out the land as the B. V. M.'s, and immediately 
entered upon a correspondence with Rev. T. J. 
Donaghoe, which correspondence constitutes the 
documentary foundation of the history of the 
B. V. M.'s in Holy Family Parish, and indeed in 
Chicago. 

Several letters passed between Father Damen and 
Father Donaghoe, but it will suffice to give a few of 
them which refer to the establishment of St. Aloysius 
School. 

"The school is nearly ready for your Sisters. We desire very 
much that three or four Sisters would be here by the 12th of 
the month to open the school in order to keep the children from 
going to the public schools. AVe have now 1,000 boys in our 
school, and we should have as many girls, whereas we have only 
700, but by getting your Sisters we hope this evil will be 
remedied. We would like to get nine Sisters, but try to send 
three or four at once if possible and let them be good teachers, 
so as to make a good impression, for the first impression is gen- 
erally the lasting one. I need not say that I have the approba- 
tion of our good Bishop. 

Your devoted friend, 
A. Damen, S. J." 

Father Donaghoe wrote to Father Laurent of 
Muscatine, asking if Sister Mary Agatha Hurley 
could be taken for the Chicago mission without detri- 
ment to the Muscatine school. Father Laurent an- 



424 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

swered under date of August 5, 1867, from Musca- 
tine, like the true apostolic man he was : 

"Your letter delivered to me, by Sister Mary Agatha, sur- 
prised me, but it gave me great joy on account of the good news 
that it announces. They will not depend any more on one 
diocese and they will have the Jesuits to guide them, which is 
saying a great deal. Thus you will be able to say, I planted, 
the Jesuits watered, God has given the increase. I think you 
could not make a better choice than Sister Mary Agatha for 
the new place, and in a few years Chicago will speak for itself. 

Yours, etc., 
P. Laurent." 

On August 9, 1867, Father Donaghoe wrote to 
Sister Mary Agatha, at Dubuque, Iowa, as follows: 

' ' Expect six Sisters. They leave Dubuque on Tuesday morn* 
ing for Chicago. We must pray even when walking. Take 
care of your health. I know Father Damen will do all he can. 
Inconveniences in commencements are unavoidable." 

On September 12, 1867, Father Damen wrote to 
Father Donaghoe as follows: 

"I am thankful to God that thus far the work of your good 
Sisters has been blessed by Divine Providence, although Sister 
Mary Agatha has been sick all the time. The Sisters have now 
about 700 children. We must hope that we shall be able to 
build a convent school for them. We have now 2,500 children — 
boys and girls. Is it not a glorious work to form so many 
youthful hearts in piety, virtue and religion ? The Sisters are 
good, humble and obedient and work with great zeal. Thanks 
be to God." 9 

Accordingly, on August 6, 1867, Sister Mary 
Agatha Hurley, Sister Mary Veronica Dunphy, Sis- 

9 These letters are found in a volume published by the Sisters of Charity 
of the B. V. M. under the title of "In the Early Days." 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 425 

ter Mary Angela Quigley, Sister Mary Cleophas 
Collins, Sister Mary Clotilda Walsh, Sister Mary 
Scholastica McLaughlin, Sister Mary Annunciation 
Hannan, Sister Mary Thomas Burke, and Sister 
Mary Zita Dunne, were sent to begin the Chicago 
missions. A few months later they were joined by 
Sister Mary Agnes Burke, Sister Mary of the Cross 
Fitzgerald and Sister Mary Loretta Moore. 

On August 19, 1867, St. Aloysius School was 
opened with five hundred pupils, in a large two-story 
building on Maxwell street, between Jefferson and 
Clinton streets. This frame structure, originally 
erected for a chair factory, had been purchased by 
Father Damen and fitted up for school purposes. On 
that same day Sister M. Veronica and Sister M. 
Thomas took charge of St. Stanislaus school, a one- 
story frame building, divided into two rooms, and 
fronting on what is now known as West Eighteenth 
street. The enrollment here, on the first day, was 
one hundred and fifty. The Sisters went each morn- 
ing to both these schools, from their residence at 512 
South Halsted street. The district in which St. 
Stanislaus school was located, was later included in 
the parish of the Sacred Heart, and on December 8, 
1873, the Sisters teaching in that school took up 
their residence in the parish, at Nineteenth and 
Johnson streets. 

Father Damen found means to realize his desire 
to build a convent school, and, in 1869, he began the 
erection of a large building at 210 Maxwell street. 
This building was completed towards the close of 
that year, and the Sisters and the pupils took posses- 
sion in January, 1870. Here the sixth, seventh and 
eighth grades and the academic or high school girls 



426 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

were taught. Later three primary schools were 
opened in the parish — Guardian Angels, Forquer 
street, in 1874; St. Joseph's, Thirteenth and Loomis 
streets, 1878; St. Agnes, Fourteenth and Morgan 
streets, 1886. The great school for boys opened in 
1865, on Morgan street, and was taught by young- 
ladies under the supervision of Rev. Andrew O 'Neill, 
S. J., and his brother, Brother O'Neill, S. J., was 
given in charge to the Sisters of Charity of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary in 1896. This was the Holy 
Family school, and boys, as far as the eighth grade, 
were taught here. The teachers in all those schools 
lived in the convent at 210 Maxwell street. 

In an article "The Jesuits in Chicago," Mr. Wil- 
liam J. Onahan said : 

"The introduction of the Sisters of Charity of the B. V. M. 
was one of the happiest events for Catholic education in this 
parish and city. This wonderful community seemed to possess, 
from the beginning, a special fitness and aptitude for the task 
of parochial school work, into which they entered with the great- 
est enthusiasm and for which the Sisters have demonstrated the 
highest capability. 

Perhaps the best and most touching evidence of this is to be 
seen every Sunday morning in the 4,000 children of both sexes 
assembled at Mass, in the great church, under the guidance of 
the devoted Sisters. To see that throng of children, thus crowd- 
ing the sacred edifice, is an inspiration; and to hear the chorus 
of sacred anthems, swelling from this youthful throng during 
Mass, is calculated to excite emotions of awe and admiration 
in hearts otherwise insensible to religious influence. * * * 

Indeed, the Jesuit parochial schools have long been an example 
and an incentive for other parochial schools of the city. They 
would not suffer, it is safe to say, by comparison in any par- 
ticular with schools of the highest rank anywhere, whether public 
or parochial, nor have the Sisters hesitated to invite such com- 
parison at any time, whether in system, method or results. And 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 427 

this high standard has been reached only by the faithful and 
painstaking efforts and labors, as well as the superior capability 
of the devoted Sisters. ' ' 10 

At the height of their prosperity, there were from 
1,000 to 5,000 children in the schools of the Holy 
Family parish; 1,200 girls attended St. Aloysius 
school on Maxwell street. Like many other parts of 
Chicago, this section of the city in time grew to be an 
undesirable residence locality. The people moved 
west or north, with the result that the school attend- 
ance gradually diminished. One after another, three 
of the schools were closed. St. Mary's, a central high 
school for girls, was opened by the Sisters of Charity, 
of the Blessed Virgin Mary, on Cypress street, in 
1899. The high school pupils from St. Aloysius were 
transferred to St. Mary's. The children in the grades 
found accommodation in the other schools of the 
parish, and St. Aloysius became a thing of the past, 
The building was sold and, for a time, became the 
Oliver Goldsmith public school. 

A convent was erected for the Sisters at 1019 South 
May street, and they moved into it on December 17, 
1902, having lived from August, 1900, to that date 
in a building on Twelfth street, opposite the Jesuit 
Church. The Sisters were withdrawn from the 
Guardian Angel school in 1903, when that section of 
the city was organized into an Italian parish under 
the direction of the Missionary Fathers of St. 
Charles Borromeo. When the attendance at St. 
Agnes, on Fourteenth street, did not warrant the 
expense of keeping the school, it was closed. 

During the first few years, the Sisters lived at 512 

io New World, April 14, 1900. 



428 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

S. Halsted street, but, on January 1, 1870, they 
moved into a new brick building, which was utilized 
both for a convent and school. Their humble sur- 
roundings, during the inception of the movement, are 
indicated by Father Coppens' experience when he 
gave the Sisters their first retreat, in 1868. They 
were then in the little home at 512 S. Halsted street, 
and, on account of lack of space, their chapel was a 
very small room adjoining their community room 
or dormitory — so small that he could administer 
Holy Communion only by going to the door of the 
chapel, the Sisters coming in single file to kneel at 
the door, one by one. Father Coppens was neverthe- 
less much edified by their spirit of charity and self 
denial. 

The Several Schools 

As we have seen in former chapters, some account 
of these several branch schools, it is interesting here 
to group them. First in order came St. Stanislaus, 
across the railroad tracks on Evans, now Eighteenth 
street; next was St. Veronica's school, then the 
Guardian Angel school (1875) ; fourth, St. Joseph's 
school (1877) ; fifth, St. Agnes school (1888). 

St. Stanislaus School 

St. Stanislaus school, now the Sacred Heart 
Parish school, at Eighteenth and Johnson streets 
(Johnson street was formerly called Evans street), 
was erected in March, 1865, on a lot 40x60 feet, do- 
nated by Mr. John Welsh. On Sundays and Holy 
days of obligation, Mass was celebrated in this school 
by Rev. Dominick Mederkorn, S. J. In 1867, an 
addition was made to the school, the upper story of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 429 

which was used as a church, and was placed under 
the patronage of St. Stanislaus. On the 19th of 
August, 1867, the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed 
Virgin Mary took charge of the school. 

During the month of November, 1868, an addition, 
50x40 feet, was constructed to the original building. 
In 1872, Father Mederkorn and Father Michael Van 
Agt resided near the school and church. In 1872 
Father Schultz became director of the school. 

It will be remembered that, during the year 1872, 
Sacred Heart Parish was created from territory 
carved out of the original Holy Family Parish. The 
corner stone of the present brick church of the 
Sacred Heart was laid June 22, 1873, the first pastor 
being Rev. Michael Corbett, S. J., with Fathers Van 
Agt and Oakley as assistants. 

In the early days of the Sacred Heart school, the 
Sisters who taught the school lived in St. Aloysius 
Convent, and went to the school in the morning, re- 
turning in the evening. Their trip was made by way 
of Maxwell and Halsted streets. In fine weather 
they took the prairie path, cutting across lots, but as 
they were obliged to make the trip in all kinds of 
weather, they naturally sought the best route. Old 
residents remember to have seen the Sisters making 
their way the best they could through the snow, some- 
times one to two feet deep, and over drifts six feet 
high. It must be borne in mind that there were no 
street cars on Halsted street — hence no snow plows, 
no streets cleared, no streets paved, no sidewalks, 
except in spots, and should one wish to reach such 
sidewalks as there were it was an additional labor, 
adding also to the distance of the journey. In fair 
weather pedestrians preferred the street, but in wet 



430 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

weather they were obliged to take to the sidewalk, 
for what was called a street was but a mud hole. At 
Sixteenth street, or what was then called Rebecca 
street, pedestrians would be halted at times for five, 
ten or fifteen minutes to permit long lines of freight 
trains to pass, or to enable the train men to com- 
plete their switching. After crossing the tracks they 
would be confronted, in wet weather, with mud and 
water, so that in order to enable the Sisters to cross 
the ditches and mud holes some of the devoted boys 
would carry planks and improvise walks and bridges. 
Sisters Mary Veronica, Clotilda and Thomas were 
the first Sisters to teach in St. Stanislaus. Sister 
Mary Veronica had charge of the school and taught 
the larger girls. Sister Mary Clotilda taught the 
smaller girls, and Sister Mary Thomas the boys. The 
first feast of St. Stanislaus was celebrated Novem- 
ber 13, 1867, on the prairie, on the property where 
the lead works now stand. 

St. Veronica's School 

St. Veronica's School, on Ashland avenue and Van 
Horn street, was erected in 1872. It was turned over 
to the Secular Clergy the following year and became 
the future St. Pius School. 

Guardian Angel School 

Guardian Angel School, on Forquer street, was 
opened in 1875. It was intended for small boys and 
girls up to third and fourth grades. It had about 
five hundred pupils at one time, owing to the influx 
of Italians in that section. It was closed in June, 
1903. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 431 

St. Joseph's School 

St. Joseph's School on West Thirteenth street, 
near Loomis, was blessed by Fr. Koopmans on 
August 26, 1877. The school is four stories high with 
a basement of stone. The superstructure is of brick 
with stone trimmings. It was intended for the boys 
and girls of the neighborhood up to the fourth and 
fifth grades. It had four class-rooms with an assem- 
bly hall. In 1901-02 this school was enlarged and 
was intended to be called " Father O'Neill's Memo- 
rial School" in memory of Father Andrew O'Neill, 
the great promoter of Catholic Schools in the Parish. 
The school still retains its original name, that is, 
St. Joseph's. Owing to the Eastern part of the 
Parish being abandoned by the parishioners (the 
great majority of those who remained, were located 
in the neighborhood at St. Joseph's School). All the 
higher grades were transferred to St. Joseph's 
School, but the lower grades were still retained in the 
Holy Family School for the accommodation of the 
small boys and girls living East of Racine avenue. 

The first teachers of St. Joseph's School were the 
ladies of St. Joseph's Home, on May street. These 
ladies, owing to other pressing duties, resigned after 
a few years in favor of the Sisters of Charity of the 
"Blessed Virgin Mary. 

St. Agnes' School 

St. Agnes' School on Morgan street near Four- 
teenth street, was erected in 1877. It was intended 
for the smaller children of the neighborhood. There 
were six class-rooms in which were taught about 
i\ve to six hundred children at one time. This school 



432 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

suffered the same fate as the others owing to the 
people moving away so that it had to be closed in 
1910. The school was in charge of the Sisters of 
Charity of the B. V. M. 

In 1922 the old stage in Holy Family School, which 
was the scene of so many exhibitions and plays, was 
dismantled and a new stage was erected in the large 
Auditorium in the Sodality Hall which will be the 
center of all future graduation plays and festivities. 

Such a great educational enterprise, training from 
four to five thousand children annually, could not, 
of course, escape notice ; indeed, the stupendous fact 
forced itself upon public notice, and as early as 1876 
we find one section of the public press at least taking 
a special interest in education in general, and giving 
due attention to the Catholic or parochial schools. 
The following, from the Post and Mail, is interesting : 

The Catholic Schools of Chicago in General and Holy 
Family Parish Schools in Particular 

"The common schools of the city found a counterpart in the 
parochial schools of the Catholic system, and though differing 
in many details, yet these very differences form, not merely an 
interesting field of study, but one pregnant with suggestions of 
improvement in the public school system, now so boasted of by 
educational men. A glance through some of these parochial 
schools, and a chat with some of their teachers and managers, 
enabled one of the Post and Mail reporters to glean the facts 
here presented. These schools are not strictly free, and yet no 
one, by reason of poverty, is debarred from the educational priv- 
ileges there afforded. The children of parents, whose pocket- 
books are of ordinary length are kindly relieved of from fifty 
cents to a dollar a month, according to the studies taught them. 
Children whose parents are not able to shoulder this tax, are 
allowed to pursue their studies side by side with the others and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 433 

are charged no tuition. Nor is this lack of means allowed to 
humiliate the poorer children, as no distinction is in any way 
made between the two classes, and the brother having charge 
of the office finances is supposed to be the only one who knows 
whether a pupil pays tuition or not. From accurate calcula- 
tion and long experience, it is estimated, by the managers of 
these schools, that the extra tuition collected from those who 
pay over fifty cents a month is equal to the amount which would 
be due from non-paying pupils, if they were charged at the 
rate of fifty cents, and as these schools are self-supporting, the 
estimate based on years of careful observation and practical 
experiments show that under the parochial system the Catholics 
all educate their children at the rate of $5.50 a year. Each 
school generally gives one exhibition annually, the proceeds of 
which are used for the purposes of repairs, or the procuring of 
new apparatus, or, in some cases, of supplying deficits in the 
cases of newly organized schools where the receipts may not 
quite balance the expenditures. In these schools, the superin- 
tendent, and perhaps one director, belong to the priesthood, and 
their expenses are not counted into the expenses of the school, 
as the church itself furnishes them a livelihood. In the very 
largest of these schools, however, there are but two of this class, 
the balance being lay-teachers, so that if these men were paid 
from the school fund instead of the church fund, it would add 
but one or two dollars per capita to the expense of ten of these 
children. 

These schools are generally in session eleven months in the 
year, July being the only month in which school is not going, 
although the vacations differ in all of the parishes. 

The course of study pursued is generally such as will give 
the student a thorough mastery of all the branches as taught 
in the graded schools, with the addition of a complete course 
in book-keeping, and commercial forms and law for the boys, 
and instruction in needle work for the girls. Considerable at- 
tention is also paid to music, both vocal and instrumental. 
Of course, as is well understood, much attention is given to 
religious instruction, bible history being quite a prominent fea- 



434 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

ture of this part of the course, and the knowledge of sacred 
history possessed by some of the younger pupils would put to 
shame that often displaj^ed by the preachers in the pulpits of 
other denominations. 

The largest school of this system is that of the Holy Family, 
located on Morgan street, near the corner of Twelfth, and its 
workings may be favorably compared with the city public school 
system. 

The school has been in operation now for about twelve years, 
and has within its walls about two thousand boys, its average 
daily attendance being about one thousand six hundred. The 
building itself is a large structure, having a length of 125 feet, 
a width of 65 feet, and being 80 feet in height. Together with 
the commodious grounds on which it is located, it cost the church 
about $75,000, the property now, however, being considerably 
increased in value. On each side of the yard are erected long 
lines of sheds, which serve as play houses, and shelters from 
rain and heat. Three hydrants in the yard are so arranged 
that fifty boys can drink at one time, and the thirst of the 
whole of the little army can be quenched in a few minutes, on 
the supposition that they should have a hankering for the liquid 
refreshments at the same time. For these water privileges the 
school has been taxed $66.00 a year, by the water collector, but 
a few years ago a water meter was put in by the managers of 
the school, and by actual measurements and a payment by the 
foot for the water used the tax only reaches $10.00 a year. 

Within the building is a large hall, or chapel, for religious 
services and exhibitions, and numerous class rooms in which 
the children are graded, there being seventy-five children on the 
average in one room, the infant room containing more, and the 
upper classes being smaller. The course of study is such as is 
intended to fit the scholars thoroughly for a business life, par- 
ticular attention being paid to mathematics and to book-keeping. 
The common branches of reading, grammar, geography, and 
history are carried to the highest grade. 

Among the features of interest in the school is the musical 
department, to which any pupil can belong who desires. Besides 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 43f> 

the vocal instruction an extended course is given to such as 
desire in instrumental music. 

There are two bands already fully organized and uniformed, 
one being a drum corps of fifty-five members, and the other a 
cornet band of sixteen pieces. These take their drill exercises 
after school adjourns in the afternoon, so that the regular studies 
will not be interfered with. A cadet company is also organized 
among the boys and now has sixty-six members. The instru- 
ments are owned by the school itself, those who desire to gain 
the benefits of either the musical or military drill being taxed 
about ten cents per week to meet the necessary expenses. The 
ages of the boys in attendance at the school vary from six to 
sixteen years. 

The management rests wholly in the hands of Father 'Neill, 
as superintendent, and Brother O'Neill as director; — they em- 
ploy to assist them twenty-two teachers, five of whom are males. 
The school is self-supporting, and its annual expenses, exclusive 
of insurance, and special assessments, being about $10,000. 
These two items, together with the living of Father and Brother 
'Neill, are paid by the church. This renders the cost per capita 
of the two thousand pupils enrolled during the year $5.00, and 
of the actual number in attendance during the entire eleven 
months' schooling $6.00 per capita, besides the necessary ex- 
penses of the superintendent and directors, would if counted 
in, slightly raise this estimate. The children are spared any 
cost by a change of text-books, concerning the frequency of 
which so much complaint has been raised in the public schools. 
The plan adopted is for the publishers to give book for book 
until the old books are taken up, and the publishers who are 
unwilling to do this will not have a chance to introduce their 
new text-books. No trouble has been found in getting these 
terms from the publishers when a change has been desired. 

The girls' schools of the Holy Family Church are under the 
workings of the same system, and number about two thousand 
one hundred pupils, and have twenty-one teachers employed. 
There are some changes in the studies, there being more atten- 
tion paid to rhetoric and algebra. The girls are also called upon 



436 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

to spend a half day each week in needle work, in which they 
show great proficiency. Instruction is also given on piano and 
organ, as well as in vocal music. The annual expense per capita 
of educating these girls is estimated at between six and seven 
dollars, the schools being like most of the others, — self-support- 
ing. There are now forty such schools organized and in opera- 
tion in Chicago, the number of pupils gaining instruction from 
them being, according to these latest statistics, fifteen thousand 
seven hundred and forty-nine. In addition to these there are 
several higher institutions corresponding to female seminaries 
and to the colleges and universities conducted by other denomi- 
nations, the course of study and the expense differing but little 
from other similar institutions throughout the country. The 
most prominent one in the city is St. Ignatius College, situated 
at 413 West Twelfth (now Roosevelt Road), with an attendance 
of over two hundred students, who are furnished with a com- 
plete college course. 

The following is a complete list of pupils taken from Sadler 's 
Catholic Almanac of 1876: 

The Parochial Schools in Chicago 

St. Patrick 's School, for boys, 400 pupils. 

St. Patrick 's School, for girls, 400 pupils. 

Holy Family School, for boys, on Morgan street, 2,000 pupils. 

Same for girls, on Maxwell street, 1,000 pupils. 

Convent School, for girls (Holy Family Church), West Taylor 
street, 895 pupils. 

Sacred Heart School, for girls, Evans street, 600 pupils. 

Same for boys, 500 pupils. 

St. Bridget 's School, for girls, 400 pupils. 

Same for boys, 450 pupils. 

St. Peter's School, for boys, Church street and North avenue, 
630 pupils. 

Same for girls, 600 pupils. 

St. Boniface's School, 600 pupils. 

St. Joseph's School, for boys, 250 pupils. 

Same for girls, 270 pupils. 

St. John's School, for boys, 250 pupils. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 437 

Same for girls, 400 pupils. 

Church of Nativity, 300 pupils. 

St. Francis School, for boys, 500 pupils. 

Same for girls, 700 pupils. 

St. Columbkill, 500 pupils. 

St. James' School, 300 pupils. 

St. Stephen's School, 600 pupils. 

School of the Church of the Annunciation, 390 pupils. 

St. Anne's School, 175 pupils. 

St. Anthony's School, 500 pupils. 

St. Pius School, 330 pupils. 

St. Stanislaus Kostka's School, 340 pupils. 

St. Wencelaus' School, 200 pupils. 

St. Bonaventure 's School, 200 pupils. " i 1 

From the above report by an impartial investi- 
gator we glean the fact, that the schools of the Holy 
Family Parish in the year 1876, taught within their 
walls 27 per cent of the parochial school children of 
Chicago. Suppose we add to this number the one 
thousand four hundred and thirty school children of 
the Sacred Heart and that of the St. Pius' parish 
schools, which were up to a few years previous part 
of the school system of the Holy Family Parish, the 
figures would be raised to 36y 2 per cent. 

It is no wonder that the Holy Family School Sys- 
tem was the admiration of Catholic educators the 
world over, and that the late Cardinal Gibbons called 
them the " Banner Schools of America." 

Another testimonial of the merit of the Catholic 
schools, including those of Holy Family Parish, may 
be referred to, viz., the Educational Exhibit at the 
World's Fair in 1893. This exhibit included work 
from the schools of France, England, Spain, Ireland, 

n Post and Mail, April 20, 1876. 



438 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 439 

Africa and from every state in the Union. More 
than 1,000 schools were represented. Archbishop 
Spalding, of Peoria, was selected by the Catholic 
Hierarchy as President of the Catholic School Ex- 
hibit, and Brother Maurelian of the Christian 
Brothers as Secretary. More than 8,000 people ac- 
cepted the invitation of the Archbishop of Chicago 
to attend the celebration of Catholic Education Day, 
September 2, 1893, when addresses were made by 
Most Rev. John J. Hennessy, D. D., of Dirbuque, and 
Most Rev. Patrick John Ryan, D. D., of Philadelphia, 
and others. Prof. Peabody, the chief of the Liberal 
Arts Department of the World's Pair, declared that 
"The Catholic Educational Exhibit of Chicago was 
the gem of his department." It is well known that 
the Catholic school exhibit took very high rank, and 
the exhibit of Holy Family Parish schools was emi- 
nently worthy. 

An incident in connection with the educational ex- 
hibit and Catholic Education Day is remembered 
with much pleasure. It was the occasion of the visit 
of 1,050 children of Holy Family Parish to the Fair. 
A special train was chartered over the Baltimore & 
Ohio Railroad, to convey the children to the grounds. 
The pupils came in ranks from the six schools to the 
depot at Sixteenth and Blue Island avenue. They 
had rehearsed the Xational airs and popular songs 
for the occasion, and rendered them delightfully on 
the way to and from the grounds. No accident 
marred the enjoyment. It was the largest excursion 
for children ever made from Holy Family Parish. 
Each pupil wore a red, white and blue badge, bearing 
the inscription "Holy Family Parish." It was a 
day that will live long in the memory of children. 



440 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The Holy Family schools reached their zenith in 
about 1893. In view of that fact, an account of the 
closing exercises of that year will give an idea of 
the great days of the schools. The outline here given 
refers to Holy Family school, but the exercises in 
each of the other schools were of a similar character, 
and what is said here of Holy Family school applies 
to the Sacred Heart Convent Parish school, St. 
Aloysius and to the three branches in a lesser degree. 
This was an annual affair. 

"The Closing Exercises of 1893 

The week for the closing" exercises of the six parochial schools 
of the Holy Family Parish, was indeed a busy one and full of 
agreeable excitement. Two hundred and fifty to three hundred 
pupils took part in some of the exhibitions. The exercises con- 
sisted of dramas, dialogues, farces, declamation, concert and 
recitations, mimic, and cadet drill, vocal and instrumental music, 
tableaux and calisthenic performances. All acted their parts 
remarkably well and received well merited applause. We are 
sorry that space will not permit us to give a notice of the clos- 
ing of each class exercise and the names of all those who took 
part in them and deserved special and honorable mention for 
their success and application. 

Holy Family School 

Testimonials of commercial scholarship were awarded to 
Masters John Casey, James Dwyer, William Kane and William 
Sheahan. The medal for good conduct was awarded to James 
Dwyer. The medal for Christian Doctrine merited by sixty- 
eight pupils fell by lot to Joseph Johnson. The medal for 
Church History merited by twenty-two fell by lot to John Staf- 
ford. The medal for IT. S. History merited by thirty-nine fell 
by lot to John Keefe. The medal for Geography merited by 
fifty-three pupils fell by lot to Garret Fitzgerald. The medal 
for Orthography merited by thirty-five pupils fell by lot to 
James J. Murphy. The medal for Arithmetic merited by forty- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 441 

one pupils fell by lot to John Pierce. The medal for Penman- 
ship merited by thirty-nine pupils fell by lot to James Webber. 
The medal for Grammar fell by lot to David Leahy. The medal 
for Reading merited by thirty-four pupils fell by lot to David 
Slavin. The medals for constant application to study were 
awarded to Cornelius Lynch, Garret Fitzgerald, Timothy 'Don- 
nell, Edward Mulvihill. Premiums for proficiency in drawing 
were awarded to John Keefe, William Sanders, Charles Malloy, 
Edward Kent, and Curran McGrath. Medals for perfect at- 
tendance were awarded to thirty-nine boys ; they were not absent 
half a day during the year, and were honorably mentioned in 
the programme of the closing exercises. The donors of medals 
at this commencement were: St. Ignatius College, D. Clohesy, 
Sheldon & Company, H. R. Eagle, J. H. Campbell, Mrs. J. Murto 
and J. P. Daleiden." 12 

At about this time an epoch in the Holy Family 
schools was closed. The decision was arrived at to 
effect a complete reorganization and place all the 
schools under the direct charge of the Sisters of 
Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (B. V. M.'s). 
The old regime, therefore, came to an end, but before 
entering upon a discussion of the new, it will be in- 
teresting to allude to a few details respecting the old. 
First of all the names of the teachers in the old 
schools are interesting : 

Teachers of the Holy Family School 1857-1896 

Braddock, Miss Mary Carmody, Miss Kitty 

Breen, Miss Mary A. Collins, Mr. J. 

Buggie, Miss Elizabeth Cummings, Miss Alice 

Burns, Miss Anna Connors, Miss 

Byrne, Miss Condon, Miss Johanna 

Burns, Miss Maggie Carmody, Mr. Michael 

Campbell, Mr. James Dargan, Miss Bridget 

Carmody, Mr. John Devlin, Miss 

12 Church Calendar, June, 1893. 



442 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Dohoney, Mr. 
Dunne, Mr. John 
Downey, Mr. 
Driscoll, Miss 
Dwyer, Miss 

Egan, Miss Elizabeth 
Ellis, Miss 
Eustace, Mr. P. J. 
English, Miss 



Madden, Mr. William 
Meagher, Miss Lizzie 
Murphy, Miss Jennie 
Murphy, Miss Nellie 
McCullagh, Mr. 
McAuliffe, Miss Catherim 
McAuliffe, Miss Nellie 
McCormick, Mr. Joseph 
McGuire, Miss Elizabeth 
McElroy, Miss Sarah 



Foley, Miss Elizabeth 
Foley, Miss Margaret 

Ghent, Miss Margaret 
Ghent, Miss Sarah 
Ghent, Miss Mary 
Grady, Miss Margaret 



O'Connell, Mrs. 
O'Connor, Mr. Dan 
O'Connor, Mrs. 
O'Connor, Miss Mary 
O'Meara, Miss Angela 
O'Meara, Miss Helen 
Owell, Miss Lizzie 



Hannon, Mr. J. 
Hanrahan, Miss Mary 
Hartrey, Miss 
Howard, Miss 
Howard, Mr. 
Hay, Miss 

Henretty, Miss Mary 
Hartrey, Miss Margaret 
Hughes, Mr. William 

Johns, Mr. 
Jones, Mr. 

King, Mr. 
Kilbridge, Miss Katie 



Peters, Miss Mary 

Reilly, Miss Mary 
Rodgers, Miss Anna 
Rodgers, Miss Mary 
Reynolds, Miss Mary 
Ryan, Miss Elizabeth 

Sheahan, Miss 
Sheridan, Miss Lizzie 
Seaman, Mr. 
Sullivan, Miss Minnie 

Van Agt, Mr. S. J. 



Lambert, Mr. 
Langan, Mr. D. 



White, Miss Mary 
Williams, Miss Agatha 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 443 

The following Brothers were doing office work or helping in 
the management of the boys: 

Bro. Thomas Kelly, S. J., 1874-76. 
Bro. Peter C. Woodward, 1876-77-78. 
Bro. John Kilcullen, 1879-80. " 

The following from the Calendar of September, 
1896, will acquaint the reader with the new arrange- 
ments for the schools : 

"REORGANIZATION OF THE PARISH SCHOOLS, 1896" 

In 1895, Brother O'Neill died. It was he who laid the foun- 
dation of the Holy Family school and its future greatness. In 
the following year, 1896, Father Van Agt died. He labored in 
season and out of season for about sixteen years as an assistant 
to Father O'Neill in the government of the schools. Father 
O'Neill was approaching his seventieth year. It was necessary, 
therefore, to make some changes in the administration of the 
parish school system. To provide other men to replace such a 
triumvirate might be difficult if at all possible. It was therefore 
deemed the safest way to give the good Sisters of St. Aloysius 
School full charge, and in this they were not disappointed, al- 
though some of the traditions of the good old ' Brother 's School ' 
died with the old regime, such as the Bands and Cadets, etc. 
It was a grand and noble heritage transmitted by those great 
men. Their work has been sacredly carried on by the successors 
of that noble band who arrived in Chicago, on that memorable 
6th of August, 1867, the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin 
Mary. 

With the opening of the school year 1896, a complete reorgan- 
ization of all the schools of the parish took place. The Ladies 
of the Sacred Heart Convent conducted their schools as before. 
but all the children not under their care, both boys and girls, 
were to be taught by the Sisters of Charity of the B. V. M. 

Thanks were expressed to the secular teachers who for so 
many years past have devoted themselves earnestly to the edu- 
cation of the children in the various schools, but in deference 
to the wishes of the parishioners; and the special needs the 



444 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Sisters would be substituted for secular teachers in all the schools 
and classes where they taught. 

The Holy Family School, formerly used exclusively for boys, 
will henceforth be occupied by the advanced grades of both 
boys and girls, all taught by the Sisters. The building will 
be so divided that the girls will have class rooms and recreation 
grounds separate from those of the boys. 

The remaining schools will be devoted to the lower classes 
composed of little children, both boys and girls who, not being 
able to attend the Holy Family School on account of the dis- 
tance, will find all the necessary facilities at the branch schools 
in the immediate vicinity of their homes. 

All the children belonging to the fourth grade and upwards 
should apply at the Holy Family School. All the smaller 
children should apply to the school nearest their homes: St. 
Aloysius, St. Joseph's, St. Agnes, or Guardian Angel, each of 
which will be taught by Sisters exclusively, and will be open 
for small children only. The Sacred Heart Convent School 
will go on as before. ' ' 

The reorganization of the parish school system in 
1896 was intrusted to the Rev. William J. Wallace, 
S. J., a former pupil of the school, and at one time 
Captain of the Cadets. He was, therefore, a man 
well acquainted with all the traditions of the parish 
schools. He handled the delicate business with both 
tact and sympathy, so that in a few months every- 
thing was in fine running order, after which Rev. 
Father James J. Curran, S. J., was appointed di- 
rector of all the schools. The Sister Superior had 
full control of the teaching system. The following 
were directors of the school from 1896 to 1921 : 

1896-1904: Rev. James J. Curran, S. J. 

1904-1915: Rev. John Masterson, S. J. 

1915-1921: Rev. Joseph Gr. Kennedy, who looks 
after the financial affairs of the school. 

The superiors of the St. Aloysius Convent who 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 445 

were given charge over all the schools of the parish, 
except the Sacred Heart Convent School, were as 
follows: 1896-1921: 

Sister Mary Hilary Sister Mary Annunciation 

Sister Mary Esther Sister Mary Valentina 

Sister Mary Matilda Sister Mary Ildephonse 

The names of the Eighth Grade girls' teachers 
from 1896 to 1921 are as follows : 

1. Sister Mary Geraldine 3. Sister Mary Leonida 

2. Sister Mary Hortensia 4. Sister Mary St. William 

The names of the Eighth Grade boys' teachers 
from 1896 to 1921 are as follows : 

1. Sister Mary Olivia 5. Sr. M. Gesuline 

2. Sister Mary St. James 6. Sister Mary Berilla 

3. Sister Mary Octavia 7. Sister Mary Edith 

4. Sister Mary Clotilda 8. Sister Mary Maxima 

Notes of the Schools 

Having followed the routine of the several schools, 
it will be interesting to turn to some of the adjuncts 
or developments of the schools. 

The Bands 

Perhaps nothing in connection with the schools 
was regarded with greater pleasure and satisfaction 
than the bands, which were a popular feature almost 
from the very beginning. Early in 1863, the Boys' 
Field Band was organized under the leadership of 
Mr. A. D. Langan. So rapid was its progress, that 
they were able to appear in public for the first time 
on March 17th. It is true, their repertoire was not 



446 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

lengthy. It consisted of three classics: "Patrick's 
Day," "Garry Owen" and "Wait for the Wagon." 
The convent was serenaded first of all, and the band 
then marched around the prairie to the delight and 
astonishment of all. This was continued until both 
the players and the tunes were exhausted. 

The band progressed in music and increased in 
numbers rapidly, and had the distinction of being 
assigned a place of honor in the funeral cortege of 
the martyred President of the United States, Abra- 
ham Lincoln. 

In 1865, the members of the band were Charles 
Byrnes, M. Cushing, John Connerty, M. Conway, 
James Corby, P. J. Dargan, John Durkin, John Fox, 
James Fox, T. S. Fitzgerald, Leo Gise, T. Honohan, 
John Kilbridge, T. Mullaney, W. J. O'Shea, John 
O'Hearn, Edward O'Brien, James Reynolds, John 
Reilly, Ed Ryan, John Redden, Harvey Taylor and 
Will Turner. 

The field band (Fife and Drum Corps), was com- 
posed of from twenty-five to thirty boys, ranging in 
age from ten to fifteen years. There were about six 
cornet players ; fifteen fif ers ; two snare drummers ; a 
base drummer ; cymbals and triangles. The uniform 
consisted of a cap with a cockade, short tight fitting 
green coat with purple sash and gold trimmings, and 
the pants of bloomer style made of red flannel, such 
as were worn by the zouaves. The band presented 
a very neat appearance indeed. 

The brass band, or cornet band, was composed of 
young men, former Holy Family School students, 
and consisted of about thirty pieces. The members 
wore elaborate uniforms, very much like those worn 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 447 

by players in modern bands. Both of these musical 
aggregations were led by Mr. A. D. Langan. 

On parade days, the brass band led the different 
societies and companies of cadets, followed by the 
fife and drum coips, which was usually in charge of 
Father Van Agt and Mr. Carmody. Then would 
come the school children and different societies, which 
Mr. Fay, Mr. Campbell and other teachers would 
help to keep in line. The parade would start with 
Hags and banners flying, march around to meet the 
children of St. Joseph's, St. Agnes', St. Aloysius and 
the convent schools, and continue until they met the 
Sodality band, which would fall in line with the 
Sodality, the Foresters and other societies, when all 
would march on to meet Father Matthew's band and 
the temperance and other societies, which would also 
line up in the parade. This throng, which by this 
time had attained large proportions, would proceed 
to meet the Archbishop, if that was the occasion. 
Each band would play while passing in review. The 
fife and drum corps would always play "Hail to the 
Chief." After meeting the Archbishop, if such was 
the occasion, the parade was then headed for the 
church, and when the vanguard arrived the lines 
would separate, forming a "court of honor," while 
the Archbishop would drive through and again re- 
view the procession while proceeding to the church. 
Needless to say, the streets were filled with onlookers. 
The church itself was artistically decorated by the 
Sacristan, who had been busy for days in advance, 
and was filled to overflowing, sufficient room remain- 
ing only for the paraders. 

Of course, there had to be a regular organization 
for these bands, and in the heyday of their popular- 



448 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 449 

ity, as above noted, they were directed by Mr. A. D. 
Langan. Brother O'Neill was manager, Thomas 
Fitzgerald played the bass drum, Timothy Tierney, 
James Marsh, and John Driscoll played snare drums. 
The bass drummer, Thomas Fitzgerald, became a 
distinguished Jesuit and Provincial of the Order in 
the Middle West. Timothy Tierney 's son is a prom- 
inent Jesuit also. James Marsh and John Driscoll 
went into a friendly contest for a silver mounted 
drum at one of the bazaars in the early days at Holy 
Family Parish. The contest waxed so warm, it is 
said, that the East and West divisions of the parish 
became interested and divided on those lines, for- 
getting all about the candidates. Eventually the 
West won, and so the drum was given to James 
Marsh, but in order to promote good feeling and 
friendship amongst the contestants and their friends, 
a prize drum was given to Driscoll also. 

The excursions and picnics, in which the band and 
other organizations participated in the early days, 
are remembered with much pleasure by the old 
timers. 

One of the earliest of these excursions was made 
to Milwaukee, and involved several concerts and 
parades and, amongst other things, a parcelling out 
or billeting of the players amongst the residents of 
Milwaukee. Not being well buttressed financially, 
Father O'Neill, who had charge of the excursion, 
made a public announcement that he would be pleased 
to have the residents, who could accommodate any 
of the boys for the night, step forward and state how 
many. Immediately there was a rush, and every- 
body was taken care of, thus avoiding hotel bills. 

An annual outing for the band and acolytes and 



450 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

others was called the Woodlawn Picnic, held on the 
site which has become Jackson Park. On such oc- 
casions a number of the secular teachers would at- 
tend to the refreshments. Miss B. Dargan was 
usually the Chairlady. Father Van Agt would send 
a wagon laden with all sorts of provisions several 
hours ahead, and one item always included was an 
empty barrel for lemonade. It was an all day round 
of pleasure. Games of all sorts were played, and 
there was a special prize for the one who found the 
pig, which pig, by the way, consisted of a lemon with 
four matches for legs, and two cloves for eyes, usually 
hidden under a bush a block or more outside the 
grounds. Needless to say, the pig was hard to find. 
There is no inference intended that this was a blind 
pig. A large part of the enjoyment of the day con- 
sisted in the homeward ride, and the parade to the 
time of the band after reaching the home station. 

This homeward trip is worth some notice. In those 
days the cars were drawn by horses, and a journey 
of some distance on the horse cars required time and 
gave opportunity for entertainment. One of those 
trips is thus described : 

"Homeward Bound on the Old Time Horse Cars 
Once on the cars, Mr. Carmody would lead as he always led 
on such occasions. They all sang some popular songs which the 
boys knew. These songs usually had a refrain which would be 
adapted to several songs. We will quote a few lines for the sake 
of old time memories : 

'WHISH DI ADADEE 

Good evening to you one and all, 
You 're looking well I see ; 
I took a trip in a great big ship 
To cross the raging sea. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 451 

I've been out of work for a month or more, 

You know 'twas mighty hard, 

But now I've got a job to do 

Beyant in the bullyvard. 
Chorus : 

Whish di adadee whisch di adadee, 

Times are mighty hard, 

But now I've got a job to do 

Beyant in the bullyvard. 

So now farewell I must away, 

I can no longer stay, 

For if I sing any more for you 

I '11 lose a half a day. 

I'm going down to the City Hall, 

To try and get a card, 

To put my father's uncle to work 

Beyant in the bullyvard.' 

(Repeat chorus.) 
Another song was 'One More River to Cross.' Mr. Carmody 
would intone the first stanza, and then all would join in the 
chorus. He would then improvise stanza after stanza as the 
poor old nags trotted along, the boys joining in the chorus. 

Another famous song: 

'Are you there Jerry Houlihan. 
I'm located at West Twelfth street, 
A special officer ; 
My name it is Jerry Houlihan 
Here at your service sir; 
I know the thieves and the blackguards 
Wherever they may stand, 
And if ever you want a fly copper, 
Call on Jerry Houlihan. 

Chorus : 
I'm a dandy copper of the Twelfth street squad 
And a half starved carrigavon, 
And the boys all cry, 
Jerry are you dry, 
Are you there Jerry Houlihan.' 



452 HOLY FAMILY PAKISH 

The old timers tell us that whenever the Band Boys saw 
Jerry Houlihan, no matter what tune they were playing at the 
time, they would immediately stop and play Jerry Houlihan. 

Jerry Houlihan was a noted police officer at the Twelfth 
street station in the early days. He was a terror to thieves and 
was very severe on the corner boys, and any groups gathered in 
the alleys, and in this way he got the enmity of the boys. They 
took advantage of their playing in the band to be beyond his 
jurisdiction and in getting even with him, at least for a time. 
Jerry would pick up his own son with a crowd of boys and run 
them into the station. He was one of Captain O'Donnell's 
picked men when courage and action were required. 

As the picnickers approached Twelfth street and Blue Island 
avenue, the climax of the day would be reached. The band 
played 'Wearing of the Green ' or 'Garry Owen' and the boys 
all shouted as if to drown the music of the band. People 
crowded the streets to welcome the little ones, and hundreds of 
boys and girls said in their hearts : 

'Oh, how I'd like to be an altar boy or play in that band.' " 13 

The Cadets 

The different organizations of cadets aroused great 
interest in the parish. 

The Emerald Cadets was one of the juvenile bands 
of Holy Family School that was very popular 
amongst the school boys, and a source of great pride 
to Brother O'Neill. They were dressed in tight-fit- 
ting green jackets, black trousers, brown leather 
belts, and caps of military type, such as the soldiers 
of '61 wore. They were equipped with real muskets. 
This company usually led the school children on state 
occasions. They also gave exhibition drills on the 
stage. The following from the " Messenger" of 1873, 
is interesting: 

is Quoted from Memory. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



453 




454 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

"The cadets of the Holy Family school in their neat uniforms 
of green were out for the first time and escorted the candidates 
for confirmation to the church. They went through their mili- 
tary drill in front of St. Ignatius College in a soldierly way 
under the command of their young captain William Wallace. 
Great credit is due Prof. A. D. Langan for their excellent train- 
ing. During their drill they were frequently applauded by the 
Right Reverend Thomas Foley, the reverend clergy and the great 
crowd of spectators that looked on with admiration." 

In passing, it is interesting to state that Captain 
Wallace later joined the Jesuits and spent several 
years in British Honduras as Superior of that mis- 
sion, and is at present Procurator of the Missouri 
Province of the Society of Jesus. 

Another little company, that created a stir amongst 
the students of the lower grades, was the Crusaders. 
They wore white blouses, linen pants and red sashes. 
They too were drilled and made a neat appearance 
with their little tin swords. 

The School Sodalities 

The juvenile sodalities date back to the origin of 
the school. The first of these sodalities was estab- 
lished in 1860, under the title of "The Congregation 
of the Consolers of Mary." It was organized in the 
Sacred Heart School, on the corner of Taylor and 
Lytle streets, under the direction of the Ladies of 
the Sacred Heart. In 1874, the sodality was affiliated 
with the Roman Prima Primaria, and the title 
changed to "Sodality of the Nativity of the Blessed 
Virgin Mary" with St. Aloysius as secondary patron. 

The second sodality organized was that of the 
"Holy Angels" for Boys. This sodality was organ- 
ized in 1861, and held meetings in the old frame 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



45f> 




456 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

church on the corner of Eleventh and May streets. 
On March 25, 1882, it was affiliated with the Roman 
sodality, under the title of " Immaculate Concep- 
tion, ' ' with the Holy Angels as secondary patrons. 

The third sodality, in order of time, was the 
" Guardian Angels" Sodality, which was established 
in St. Aloysius school, under the management of the 
Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. This 
sodality was organized on May 8, 1868, about eight 
months after the arrival of Sister Mary Agatha and 
her pioneer band of devoted Sisters. This was united 
with the Roman Sodality, on December 25, 1868, un- 
der the title of " Sodality of the Annunciation of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary" with Guardian Angels as 
secondary patrons. 

In 1880, it was deemed advisable to organize a 
sodality for working boys, and, on October 8th, of 
that year, this organization was associated with the 
Roman Sodality under the title of ' ' Sodality of the 
Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary" with St. 
Joseph as secondary patron. 

In 1891, St. Agnes' Sodality was established by 
Miss Coghlan as St. Joseph's Home. This sodality 
was intended for the working girls. 

In January, 1897, there were two sodalities canon- 
ically erected with the full approbation of His Grace 
Most Reverend Patrick A. Peehan, Archbishop. 
One was for young men under the title of " Blessed 
Mary Immaculate" and was under the patronage of 
St. Stanislaus Kostka. The second was for young 
women under the title of " Annunciation of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary" and under the patronage of 
Blessed Margaret Mary, with Rev. Paul Ponziglione 
as spiritual director. Each of these sodalities had 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 457 

its fixed Sunday every month to approach Holy Com- 
munion in a body, and each had a place assigned in 
the church. The B. V. M. Sisters came with their 
school sodalities. The Madams of the Sacred Heart, 
being cloistered, could not accompany their children, 
but they sent competent men and women, or grown 
up girls, to take care of them. Father O'Neill, 
Father Van Agt and Brother O'Neill looked after 
the boys' sodality of Holy Family School. On all 
these Communion Sundays, the gentlemen of the 
Sunday School Association usually accompanied the 
children to church and assisted both the Priests and 
the Sisters on all such occasions. They carried ban- 
ners, kept the children in ranks, prevented vehicles 
from breaking into the procession, and cared for any 
child who might be taken sick. 

A spiritual director was assigned to each sodality. 
The priest recited the office, together with the chil- 
dren, at their weekly meetings, and gave short in- 
structions. These sodalities were productive of un- 
told good. They afforded opportunities for impart- 
ing to the members more thorough knowledge of 
their faith. They were, so to speak, initiated into 
the depths of Holy religion. They were prepared in 
these sodalities, so that in maturer years they could 
be incorporated into the major sodalities of young- 
men or young ladies, or married men or married 
ladies. Many of these young sodalists, on moving to 
other parishes, were instrumental in the formation 
of similar associations in these new locations. 

It is permissible here to mention three other sodal- 
ities, which, although not of the Holy Family school, 
were within the boundaries of the parish, and had 
many young people of Holy Family Parish in their 



458 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

membership. One of these was the "Sodality of the 
Children of Mary" of the Sacred Heart Academy, 
on Taylor and Lytle streets. A priest was assigned 
for the spiritual direction of this sodality, which 
flourished under the management of the Ladies of 
the Sacred Heart. The other two were the Junior 
and Senior Sodalities of St. Ignatius college. Usu- 
ally the best and most talented students belonged to 
these sodalities, many of whom, in later life, distin- 
guished themselves in the various professions, and 
not a few in the ecclesiastical state. 14 

The Sunday School Association 

There was a substantial organization in the parish, 
known as the Sunday School Association. With his 
keen foresight Father Andrew O'Neill organized a 
body of men to assist him in carrying out his plan 
of parochial education, which was called the Sunday 
School Association. For convenience and efficiency 
the parish was divided into districts, and two men 
were assigned to each district, to go from house to 
house, and collect $1.00, the annual contribution to 
the Sunday School Association, for the upkeep of 
the schools and the distribution of Catholic litera- 
ture. All contributors received the "Messenger," a 
sprightly monthly publication. Four Masses were 
said each month for the spiritual and temporal wel- 
fare of the members. Amongst other duties, the 
members of the Sunday School Association looked 
after the conduct of the children during the sessions 
of the Sunday School in the three grade schools, 
Sacred Heart Convent, St. Aloysius and Holy Family 

i4 The history of the Parish Sodalities will be found in Chapter XX. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 459 

schools. They also attended the children's Masses at 
these same schools on Sundays at nine o'clock, kept 
order, and distributed literature. It was also their 
duty to attend all the public functions of the various 
schools, such as entertainments, Communion Sundays 
and processions on First Communion or Confirma- 
tion Days. They were really a most devoted body- 
guard for the children on occasions of necessity. 

The Sunday Messenger, for the year 1868 gives the 
names of the officers and members of the Sunday 
School Association, as herein reproduced, together 
with some of the earlier subsequent members : 

With the assistance of these active members and 
the help of the annual and perpetual members, to- 
gether with voluntary dues of the children, Father 
O'Neill was enabled to carry on the great work of 
the Holy Family school system, without having to 
call upon the church revenues for the ordinary run- 
ning expenses of the schools. It was only when some- 
thing out of the ordinary arose, such as building an 
addition, or an extensive improvement, that he was 
obliged to call for financial assistance. 

Officers and Members of the Sunday School Association 

Rev. A. 'Neill President 

M. Carmody Secretary 

Brother 'Neill Treasurer 

J. Hannon Editor 

MEMBERS 

Ed. McJohn John Harty 

Matthew Wallace Thomas McCarthy 

John Riordan Matthew Fleming 

Redmond Sheridan John Devlin 



460 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



G. Fitzgerald 
John Ford 
J. Clancy 
John Durkin 
Thomas Healy 
David Murray 

A. D. Taylor 
Martin Brennan 
John Byrne 

B. 'Sullivan 
John Casey * 
J. H. Dunne 
W. Jones 
Peter Sullivan 
John Adams 
John Walsh 
Joseph Kelly 
Tim Ward 



Tim Hayes 
Owen Farley 
William Gorman 
L. Kilbridge 
Tim Byrne 
John Coholan 
Edward Walsh 
Owen McAloon 
John Leahey 
Edward Mc Garry 
Peter Kennedy 
Patrick Leigh 
John Brannigan 
F. Flannigan 
James 'Neill 
Thomas Flynn 
M. Madden 
James Donohue 



The following members were added in the subse- 
quent years according as others dropped out : 



J. Ford 
D. Pyne 
H. Kellar 
W. Ralleigh 
J. McDonald 
M. Bulger 
J. Costello 
M. Lorden 
J. Forest 
D. O'Connell 
J. Halligan 
W. Ryan 
P. Welsh 
J. Carbomio 
J. Kenney 



W. Colbert 
W. O'Donnell 
J. Coghlan 
J. Esmaker 
J. Hart 
D. McMullen 
J. Bowler 
M. Quille 
H. Sloan 
M. Henneberry 
James Feeney 
P. O'Brien 
J. McDermott 
T. McEnery 
C. Dwyer 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



461 



J. Reilly 
G. Noonan 
J. Hurley 
E. Kennedy 
J. Carr 
W. Green 
J. White 
T. Kennedy 
Joseph Lawler 
J. Sloan 
W. Casey 
J. Whelan 
D. O'Brien 
J. F. Campbell 
J. Golden 
S. Blackmore 

D. Clancy 
M. Doheny 

E. Squires 
J. Dwyer 
M. Jones 
J. Maher 
J. Meehan 
P. Powers 
P. Garland 
P. Ponsonley 

D. Ryan 
M. Donoher 

E. Rush 

C. Sheahan 
Charles Bryson 
J. Gorman 
Thomas Dunne 
Joseph Dunne 
Thomas Shannon 
John P. McGourtv 
J. Costello 



J. Casey 

C. Turner 
M. Kane 
L. Halley 
M. Reordan 
P. Toomey 
J. Waller 

D. Willmott 
W. Green 
F. Wilson 
P. Mangan 
R. O'Donnell 
T. O'Donnell 
M. T. Murphy 
A. Garvy 
John Keefe 

A. Coyne 
D. Lynch 
L. Kane 
Wilson Hoover 
J. Hackett 

B. J. Callaghan 
William Shea 
M. McDonald 
Andrew Curry 
M. Kearney 

N. Bo swell 

Miles Walsh 

William Byrne 

James P. Gallagher 

T. Lynch 

J. Halligan 

A. O'Brien 

M. Hayes 

W. Horrigan 

P. Fay 

P. Horan 



462 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



P. Nolan 


P. Reilly 


J. Goodison 


M. McNellis 


J. Rogers 


M. Dwyer 


P. Curtain 


P. Cooney 


S. Shortle 


W. Quaid 


J. Harty 


P. Bolger 


J. Barry 


J. McGrath 


P. Murphy 


P. Cleary 


J. Shanty 


J. Lynch 


W. Madden 


J. Cunningham 


J. Breen 


P. Johnson 


J. Regan 


J. Quigley 


W. Denvir 


H. Emerson 


David Ryan 


C. Shea 


J. J. Carmody 


Miles Walsh 



As the parish declined, year by year, so did the 
Sunday School Association, and the income from its 
membership, so that at the present time there is but 
a handful of members and but a few faithful who 
really come from outside the parish to pay their 
annual subscription of $1.00. 

After Father O'Neill's death, in 1901, Father 
Curran took charge of the Sunday School Associa- 
tion. Father Masterson succeeded Father Curran, 
and he, in turn, was succeeded by Father Neenan. 
There has been no director appointed since Father 
Neenan was transferred in 1915. Brother Thomas 
F. Kelly, S. J., has been the secretary of the Sunday 
School Association for about sixteen years. The 
management and the compilation of the Sunday 
School Association publications have been chiefly his 
work during all these vears. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 463 

In grateful memory the names of perpetual bene- 
factors of the Association are here reproduced: 



PERPETUAL BENEFACTORS 

Holy Family Sunday School Association 

MR. DENNIS RIORDAN, Flagstaff, Arizona. 
MR. CHARLES COMISKEY, 4332 S. Michigan 

Ave., Chicago, HI. 
MRS. ELIZABETH LARDNER, and relatives, 1207 

Gilpin PL, Chicago, Illinois. 
MISS E. VANAGT, Endhoven, Holland. 
MR. E. VANAGT, Endhoven, Holland. 
MRS. M. KEELEY, 445 S. Morgan Street, Chicago. 
MRS. B. DALEY, 533 W. 13th Street, Chicago. 
MRS. M. A. MARTS, Endhoven, Holland. 
MRS. MARY EGAN, 113 Washburne Avenue. 
MISS M. CUMMINGS. 
MR. PATRICK CONLON. 



The Sunday School Messenger, a pamphlet of 
about twenty-four pages, was issued once a month 
and distributed on the first Sunday. The Mirror, 
a four-page folio, was distributed on the second Sun- 
day of the month. The Companion, an eight-page 
folio, was distributed on the third Sunday, and the 
Mirror, but a different text, was distributed on the 
fourth Sunday. Pictures were given out on the fifth 
Sunday, and at other times. The report for the 
months of January, February, March, April and 
May, of the year 1873, will give a fair idea of the 
immense scope of this work. During these months, 
11,000 Sunday school papers, and 2,000 pictures were 
distributed each month. 



464 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The statistics of attendance at the Sunday school 
for the same months are interesting : 

January, average each Sunday 3,045 

February, average each Sunday 3,460 

March, average each Sunday 3,660 

April, average each Sunday 3,597 

May, average each Sunday 3,929 

Average attendance for the year 155,916 

Average attendance of Sunday school teachers . . 80 

Meetings and Entertainments 

The Sunday School Association gave two enter- 
tainments every year, usually on March 17th and 
18th. In these entertainments, all the schools took 
part, giving one or more numbers. Sometimes a 
short play would be introduced by one of the schools. 
Usually this was allotted to the boys of Holy Family 
School. On these occasions Father O'Neill would 
usually stand on the stage and question the children 
in the catechism. Sometimes he would get very cor- 
rect answers, but at other times such answers as 
would create an uproar. On one occasion the good 
Father was examining the children in Bible History, 
and had the happiness to hear them answer correctly. 
He then challenged Eev. Michael P. Dowling to try 
to catch any of them. Father Dowling immediately 
accepted the challenge, and selecting a girl, asked her 
who swallowed the whale. "Jonas," answered the 
girl. The house roared, drowning Father O'Neill's 
protests. The next question was, "How many Gods 
are there?" "There is three Gods." "How many 
persons in God?" "There is three persons in God." 
"Which is the true church?" "The Holy Family 
Church." "Who baptized you?" "Father Setters." 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 465 

"Where will the good people go when they die?" 
k ' To Heaven. ' ' Where will those in the gallery go ? ' ' 
"To hell." This answer, of course, was the correct 
answer to another question. 15 

The boys in the gallery used to annoy Father 
O'Neill by their boisterousness, on such occasions, 
so that at times he would have to break in on the per- 
formance and from the door, leading to the stage, his 
face flushed with anger, but with half a smile he 
would speak in unmistakable tones to the gentlemen 
in the gallery or at the door, directing them to "put 
out those unmannerly boys. ' ' Whenever he spoke in 
this manner he usually finished with some witty re- 
mark in an undertone, which caused no little merri- 
ment in the audience. 

Orphans' Day 

Some few activities of the early schools deserve 
more emphatic mention than has heretofore been 
given. One of these is the practical training in 
charity given to the children. One of the most touch- 
ing exercises in Holy Family school was the annual 
remembrance of the orphans. On December 28th, the 
Feast of the Holy Innocents, annually the little or- 
phans of the city were invited to the school. On 
such occasions, the children of the parish presented 
the orphans with their little bank savings of the year. 
One who was amongst the little girls of an early day, 
told Brother Mulkerins that she presented three hun- 
dred pennies (quite a substantial sum for a young- 
ster in those days), while others presented various 

is This or similar incidents will be found referred to in other parts of 
this volume. Several virtual repetitions occur but at the cost of repeti- 
tion or prolixity they add authenticity. 



466 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sums. One of these gala days, December 28, 1875, 
is thus described: 

"The day was beautiful and clear, and about 180 of the 
orphans of St. Joseph's Asylum, in care of the Sisters, set out 
for Holy Family school. On their arrival they were greeted 
with music by the Juvenile Band, and at once escorted to the 
hall of the school. Father O'Neill then came on the stage and 
in the name of the children and the people of the parish 
welcomed the orphans and their self-sacrificing guardians. The 
orphans sang a few songs, which were enjoyed by the audience. 
A little drama was performed by the pupils of Holy Family 
school for the entertainment of the orphans. Mother Mary 
Joseph and one of her assistants took their places by a table, 
and the children present passed them in succession and placed 
in the baskets with their own hands their donations, and de- 
posited their little bundles of clothing on the table. There were 
several grown persons present also, encouraging the little ones 
by word and example. When this part of the program was com- 
pleted, which, of course, was an important part, the orphans 
were conducted to the smaller hall of the school, where they 
found an abundance of victuals and two pretty Christmas trees. 
As soon as they were seated, the young lady teachers of the 
school supplied them with all they desired, until there was 
no place left for a piece of cake or candy. ' ' 16 

It is deserving of note that, during the first years, 
the hack drivers and expressmen of the parish 
brought the orphans to Holy Family school, and after 
their holiday, took them home again to the asylum, 
all gratis. In later years the Ragor Bros., Peter and 
Andrew, gave the use of their busses free to the or- 
phans in conveying them back and forth. 

The Procession of the Blessed Sacrament 

Another striking activity of the early days, was 
the procession of the Blessed Sacrament on the Feast 

is Church Calendar. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 467 

of Corpus (Jhristi. In those early days the people 
would assemble on May street, near the church, and 
form ranks. There would be about five hundred chil- 
dren, fifty altar boys and ten or fifteen priests. Four 
altar boys carried the canopy, and usually Father 
Damen carried the Blessed Sacrament. The proces- 
sion would start about three o'clock, and proceed 
across the prairie to the Sacred Heart Convent, 
where a beautiful altar had been erected on the front 
porch, surrounded with flowers and lights. Then fol- 
lowed vespers and benediction, with a multitude of 
all ages and conditions on their knees in adoration. 
The services over, the procession was again formed 
and the way to the church taken up. 

A small, similar procession took place on August 
15th, the Feast of the Assumption of the Blessed 
Virgin. On those occasions, a statue of the Blessed 
Virgin was carried in the procession to the Sacred 
Heart Convent, while sacred hymns and canticles 
were sung. 

Fiest Holy Communion Day 

The First Holy Communion ceremony also was 
notable. This great ceremony took place on the 
Feast of the Ascension, after three months of care- 
ful preparation. The ceremony of May 18, 1871, is 
thus described: 

"The day was very pleasant, and early in the morning a 
great number of children were seen wending their way to the 
different churches, and thence to Holy Family school, where a 
procession was formed in the following order : First processional 
cross, Starry Banner, followed by the First Communion Boys, 
Holy Angels Sodality, First Communion Girls, Holy Angels 
Sodality of St. Stanislaus and St. Aloysius Convent. The pro- 



468 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

cession proceeded to the corner of May and Taylor streets, 
where it was joined by the Sacred Heart Convent school. Fall- 
ing into the lead of the procession when the church was entered 
the First Communicants led the way. 

Let us follow them as they enter, singing the litany of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary. The first object to meet the eyes was the 
great altar, the beauty of which was amazing, while its mag- 
nificent grandeurs dazzled you. The pews were filled with chil- 
dren, whose appearance bespoke the joy that filled their hearts 
in the expectation of the moment when they would receive their 
Lord and Savior. From the gallery the scene was one of great 
loveliness, owing to the number of First Communicants clothed 
in snowy white and crowned with flowers. During Mass various 
hymns were sung by the children, accompanied by the great 
organ. After Mass the children slowly and silently left the 
church, bearing in their bosoms Him who said ' Suffer the little 
children to come unto Me.' 

About 1 :30 p. m., I was standing on the corner of Newberry 
avenue and Mitchell street, when the boys and girls of Holy 
Family school passed by. The sight was so attractive that crowds 
stood on the sidewalks for hours to see the procession. At three 
o'clock, the head of the procession entered the church, and with 
great difficulty, the children were seated, although on that day 
the seats were reserved for them alone. 

Vespers over, a formula of the baptismal and acts of conse- 
cration to the Sacred Heart was read by Jennie Sullivan of the 
Sacred Heart School; one to the Blessed Virgin by Marcella 
Reilly of St. Aloysius school, and one to St. Joseph by Elizabeth 
Kellegher of St. Stanislaus school. 

The First Communicants received the scapulars and First 
Communion premiums. They left the church in the order in 
which they entered, and proceeded to the Sacred Heart Con- 
vent, accompanied by the clergy and members of the Acolythical 
Society. 

With bowed heads all the people received the benediction of 
the Blessed Sacrament, and thus ended one of the memorable 
days in the history of Holy Family Parish." 17 

17 Church Calendar. 



CHAPTER XVIII 

The Religious 

How important a part the teaching sisters played 
in the development and achievements of Holy Fam- 
ily Parish can best be understood as we reflect upon 
the startling number of children that have been com- 
mitted to their care. Their influence will be realized 
more as we learn through a perusal of this chapter 
of the great number of young women of the parish 
who, struck by their example, imitated them in dedi- 
cating their lives to like labors. 

We have seen that the first religious to come to the 
parish were the Madames of the Sacred Heart of 
whom Mother Gallwey was the Superior. 

Madame Gallwey was born in Cork, Ireland, on 
February 22, 1805. Coming to Kentucky in 1825, 
she entered the convent of St. Michaels, New Orleans, 
Louisiana, in 1837, as a novice. 

In 1848 she was sent to St. Louis, Mo., and ten 
years afterwards was transferred to Chicago, where 
she proved herself to be the sincere and faithful 
friend of the young and the old, of the rich and poor, 
and where she built the convent and parochial school. 
Mother Gallwey was raised to the highest office in 
her province in 1865, having under her authority the 
religious communities of her order in the States of 
Illinois, Missouri and Kansas. 

469 



470 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




MOTHER GALLWEY, SACKED HEART 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 471 

Constant labor and great anxiety undermined her 
vigorous constitution. Her health was visibly on the 
decline for the past two years. 

Mother Gallwey was called to her reward on the 
21st of December, 1873. She has left her footprints 
on the sands of time. The convents and schools she 
erected are a lasting monument to her zeal and en- 
ergy in the cause of religious and Christian educa- 
tion. She was a woman of exquisite refinement, 
polished manners and finished education. Her cheer- 
fulness and good nature threw around her a halo of 
happiness. Long and deservedly will she be remem- 
bered. The just shall live in everlasting remem- 
brance. 

Mother Gallwey was succeeded by Madame Sheri- 
dan. 

Mothek Sheridan 

As good Mother Sheridan is still hale and hearty 
and residing at the Sacred Heart Convent, at Ma- 
rine Heights, Vancouver, B. C, it may not be entirely 
proper to sing praises, but the people of the Holy 
Family parish, place her next to the venerable 
Mother Gallwey in their profound esteem and affec- 
tion. Madame Sheridan was the daughter of Mr. 
and Mrs. Redmond Sheridan, whose home was lo- 
cated at 375 W. Taylor street. Mr. Sheridan was 
identified with every good work in the parish. He 
was elected the first president of the St. Vincent 
de Paul Society in 1860, and his wife was elected the 
first prefect of the Married Ladies' Sodality. These 
facts are sufficient to indicate the character of the 
parents of Mother Sheridan. 



472 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




MOTHER SHERIDAN, OF THE SACRED HEART 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 473 

Madame Sheridan was one of the first five girls to 
enter the Sacred Heart Academy, and she was the 
first female teacher in the boys' school, in the old 
frame building on Eleventh and May streets. After 
teaching in Holy Family School for several years, 
she joined the Ladies of the Sacred Heart. In 1877 
she was appointed principal in charge of the Sacred 
Heart convent school, which position she held for 
over twenty years. Her success in the management 
of this school was remarkable. She was to the Con- 
vent school what Father O'Neill was to the Holy 
Family School. That she earned the esteem and con- 
fidence of both parents and pupils, no one will gain- 
say. To manage a school with from nine hundred to 
one thousand pupils, without calling for any outside 
help, would be a problem for the bravest to face, and 
yet she, with the generous co-operation of her su- 
periors and loyal support of her associates, did this 
very thing, and made her school a model for any 
parochial school in Chicago. She co-operated with 
Father O'Neill in any and every requirement for the 
advancement of the school children, and had her 
school represented in the various entertainments for 
the reception of the Bishop or any other distin- 
guished visitor. Her school children could be recog- 
nized by their special attire, and their demeanor was 
always edifying. After twenty years spent in this 
Apostolic work, her superiors appointed her superior 
of the Sacred Heart Convent, in London, Ontario 
and then of that at Omaha, Nebraska. She is now 
spending her happy old age, over-looking the great 
Pacific, in the beautiful convent on Marine Heights, 
at Vancouver, B. C. 

In the earlv davs, the Ladies of the Sacred Heart 



474 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

buried their dead in a plot on their grounds on 
Taylor street, near Sibley street. Later they selected 
the Northeast corner of the grounds as more appro- 
priate. They exhumed the remains of those buried 
at Taylor and Sibley streets, and re-interred them in 
the new location. Here several of the nuns were 
buried. Before departing, how T ever, they decided to 
exhume their beloved dead and bury them in their 
plot in Calvary cemetery. On opening the graves, 
they found the coffins submerged in several feet of 
water, which, through its chemical action, had had 
the effect of petrifying both the bodies and garments. 
The remains of Venerable Mother Gallwey was one 
of those found in that condition. Rev. Father Fer- 
dinand Moeller, S. J., was present at the exhumation, 
performed the funeral rites, and then the remains 
were conveyed to Calvary cemetery. 

The superiors of the Sacred Heart Convent from 
its inception, in 1858, were Mother Gallwey, Mother 
Gouthreau, Mother Gauci, Mother Mederkorn, 
Mother Feret, Mother Van Dyke, Mother O'Meara, 
Mother 'Spanieling, Mother Murphy, Mother Lewis. 
Mother Gallwey and Mother Lewis were also Su- 
perior Vicars of the Vicariate. 

RELIGIOUS OF THE SACRED HEART 

FORMER MEMBERS OF HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Madame Lizzie Sheridan Madame Margaret Connelly 

Madame Nellie Miniter Madame Tillie Byrne 

Madame Margaret Miniter Madame Bryson 

Madame Theresa Nehrings Madame O'Connor 

Madame Herbert Madame Margaret Campbell 

Madame Curran Madame Kittle McCaffery 

Madame Bessie Clinch Madame Nellie Murphy 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 475 

Madame Mary Campbell Madame Sherwin 

Madame Kittie O'Connor Madame Scollay 

Madame Flanagan Madame Jacklin 

Madame Kittie Hamill Madame Kilbridge 

Madame Margaret McEnery Madame Nellie Boulger 

Madame Sheehan Madame Susie Boulger 

Madame Mabel Dorsey Madame Rodgers 

Madame Viola Dorsey Madame Bridget Nevill 

Madame Annie Hanson Madame Annie Onahan 

Madame Annie Brennan Madame Mary Onahan 

The Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin 
Mary 

The connection of the Sisters of Charity of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary with Holy Family Parish was 
a continuous benediction which rested upon all the 
people and came to many young women as a special 
call. 

The first two postulants — Mary Kane, now Mother 
Mary Isabella, and Alice English, Sister Mary Ber- 
tille, left Chicago, May 23, 1870, for St. Joseph's 
Novitiate, Dubuque. 

Among the first pupils to greet the Sisters of Char- 
ity, upon their arrival in Chicago was a little maiden, 
Mary Kane, who had been attending the Sacred 
Heart School on Taylor St. When Father Damen 
announced that the Sisters would meet the children 
of the parish in the Holy Family School hall Mary 
was one of hundreds who gathered on that auspicious 
occasion. To her childish heart they were Angels 
from heaven who brought her a special message to 
which she responded most generously. She tells of the 
great happiness she felt when the Brother Sacristan 
entrusted to her care the Altar Stone for the Sisters' 
Chapel and with what reverence she delivered 



476 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

this sacred deposit into the hands of Sister Mary 
Agatha. 

On the opening day of St. Stanislaus School, Mrs. 
Kane was one of the first to register the name of her 
little daughter, Mary. Like St. Ann, she presented 
her child to the service of the Lord, for in a short 
time this youthful heart was consecrated to God in 
the Congregation of the Sisters of Charity of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary. 

Mary Kane and Alice English were leaders in a 
long line of vocations that continue to swell the ranks 
of the Sisterhood. Mary Kane as Sister Mary Isa- 
bella served the Divine Master faithfully and well, 
receiving the approbation of her Superiors to the 
extent of being appointed one of the first Provincials 
of the Congregation. She discharged the duties 
of that office with such satisfaction that she was 
elected Mother General of the entire Congregation, 
which office was made vacant by the death of Mother 
Mary Cecilia, of happy memory. Alice English, as 
Sister Mary Bertille, has served the Congregation as 
Superior and teacher in the Academies and High 
Schools in a most efficient manner. 

Mother Mary Agatha Hurley 

It is hoped that the subject of this brief sketch 
will be the theme of some gifted pen in the very near 
future, as the scope of this book permits merely a 
passing notice. 

Fifteen years after St. Robert founded the Cister- 
cian order at Citeau, A. D. 1089, a gentleman sought 
admission into the order seeking only to bury him- 
self in the oblivion of the cloister and thereby secure 



PEIESTS AND PEOPLE 477 

his own salvation and by his prayers and austerities 
to procure the salvation of his neighbors. 

Few, if any, thought on that day that the model 
young man who was just received would one day set 
Europe ablaze with his fire and eloquence, set armies 
and nations to crusade against the infidel, fill mon- 
asteries with men and women and reclaim millions 
of careless and indifferent Christians back to piety 
and fervor. 

Before a century elapsed the Cistercian order 
could count several hundred abbeys scattered over 
the various countries of Europe. There seems to be 
quite an analogy between the subject of this theme 
and that of the great St. Bernard. Thirteen years 
after Venerable Mother Clarke and her companions 
banded themselves together in the city of Dublin, in 
1831, and really laid the foundation of the institute, 
a modest young lady at the age of 18, sought admis- 
sion into the institute of the Sisters of Charity of 
the Blessed Virgin Mary. This young lady's name 
was Eleanor Hurley. Miss Hurley never dreamed 
that she would be any more than an obscure Sister, 
serving God in the seclusion of some little convent 
school and thus save her soul and contribute her bit 
to the salvation of her neighbor, by imparting the 
knowledge of Christ to the children of the poor and 
perchance those of the forest. 

Twenty-three years later this same humble virgin 
was called to found a house of her institute in Chi- 
cago. This event might be considered like a second 
foundation. This is why the analogy appears so 
close between the great abbot of Clairveaux and that 
of Sister Mary Agatha. 

She planted her little colony in Chicago in 1867, 



478 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




MOTHER MAEY AGATHA HURLEY, B. V. M. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 479 

and from that small and apparently insignificant 
band of eleven religious women of only one small 
community, one small school, has grown today in the 
city of Chicago into twenty-four Grammar schools 
and two High schools. This small house on Halsted 
and Cramer streets, in 1867, was, under the prov- 
idence of Grod, the principal means of propagating 
this institute so that today we see its houses and 
schools spread, not only over the thinly populated 
cities of Iowa, but over the populous cities of the 
Middle West. Not only that, but they have pene- 
trated the slopes of the Rocky Mountains and the 
shores of the Pacific. From one small community in 
Dubuque, with just a few outlying missions in 1867, 
it has grown at this date 1921 into four provinces 
with a membership of over 2,100 Religious. 

Another remarkable fact about the foundation in 
Chicago, is that these four provinces have divided 
Chicago between them, that is to say that each prov- 
ince has a number of schools in Chicago and from 
those schools there is a continuous stream of voca- 
tions to fill the ranks of the institute of the Sisters 
of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. It would 
not be at all surprising when the centennial of the 
foundation of the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed 
Virgin Mary in the Holy Family parish, Chicago, 
will be celebrated if they exceed in number the fol- 
lowers of St. Bernard at the close of the first century 
of his order. Their success is a triumph of which 
the humble and gentle Sister Mary Agatha never 
dreamed. 

Sister Mary Agatha co-operated with Father Da- 
men and Father Andrew O'Neill, in their great 
scheme of Catholic Education. It was she with her 



480 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

able assistants, successors, and Mother Gallwey and 
her faithful followers, the Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart, that made the Holy Family Schools the Ban- 
ner Catholic Schools of the United States or perhaps 
of the world. 

Sister Mary Agatha celebrated her Golden Jubilee 
at St. Aloysius Convent, December 8, 1894. She was 
surrounded by her Sisters and companions in Re- 
ligion, as well as by hundreds of her former pupils. 
Appropriate gifts to her were numerous. The 
Jubilee was honored by the presence of Archbishop 
Feehan who said early Mass, followed later by a 
solemn High Mass, many of the clergy being present. 

After the closing of St. Aloysius Convent on Max- 
well street, in 1900, the community moved to a rented 
house on Twelfth street, opposite the Church, until 
their new convent on May street was built in 1901. 
Here in this new convent, 1019 South May street, 
Sister Mary Agatha went to her reward. Her fu- 
neral took place from Holy Family Church, May 7, 
1902. Many of the parishioners, children of the 
parish schools, and also a great number of the Rev- 
erend Clergy were present at the solemn High Mass. 
The remains were interred in the plot of the Sisters 
of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Calvary 
cemetery, Chicago. 

Religious from Holy Family Parish 

The following members of the Sisters of Charity 
of the Blessed Virgin Mary entered the Order from 
Holy Family Parish: 

Sister Mary Florence Clowry 
Sister Mary Raymunda Byrnes 






PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



481 



Sister 
Sister 
Sister 
Sister 
Sister 
Sister 
Sister 
Sister 



Mary 
Mary 
Mary 
Mary 
Mary 
Mary 
Mary 
Mary 



Adoline Walsh 
Eugenia Brennan 
Altonis Moore 
Therese Moore 
Gerontius Kehoe 
Aluigi Driscoll 
Celstine Harding 
Rosalie Byrnes 




MOTHER. MARY ISABELLA, B. V. M. 
(Formerly Mary Kane of Holy Family) 

Sister Mary Verina Shanley 
Sister Mary Ignata Shanley 
Sister Mary Vianney Winn 
Sister Mary Edith McGrath 
Sister Mary Leah Pendergast 
Sister Mary Zoe Brady 
Sister Mary Laurinda Lee 



482 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Sister Mary Edmund Goodison 

Sister Mary Assissium Murphy 

Sister Mary Tiburtius Bryce 

Sister Mary Raymondine Quigley 

Sister Mary St. Genevieve Nash 

Sister Mary of the Sacred Heart Shannon 

Sister Mary Joan of Arc Shannon 

Sister Mary Emilia Kelly 

Sister Mary Thedosia Olwell 

Sister Mary Philipa Sheridan 

Sister Mary Alexia Dooley 

Sister Mary Maurine Byrnes 

Sister Mary Ephrem Fenlon 

Sister Mary Casina Fenlon 

Sister Mary Inella Walsh 

Sister Mary Laurence Walsh 

Sister Mary Evangelist Walsh 

Sister Mary Gilbertine Breen 

Sister Mary Bathilda Quan 

Sister Mary Cyrilla Curran 

Sister Mary Madeline Shanley 

Sister Mary Julius Shanley 

Sister Mary Natalie Hammerschmidt 

Sister Mary Carola Dooner 

Sister Mary Bertrand Foley 

Sister Mary Odelia Brady 

Sister Mary Jacobi Berg 

Sister Mary Rosamond Donnelly 

Sister Mary Domitilla Guilfoyle 

Sister Mary St. Raymond Guiry 

Sister Mary Florentius Quigley 

Sister Mary Humbeline Solon 

Sister Mary St. Claud Shannon 

Sister Mary Lucilia Shannon 

Sister Mary Gesuline Roach 

Sister Mary Prudent Costello 

Sister Mary Sulpice De Salle 

Sister Mary of the Angels O'Connor 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 483 



Sister Mary Aloysius Curtin 


Sister Mary 


Anselma McAuliffe 


Sister Mary 


Inella Whelan 


Sister Mary Catherine McCarthy 


Sister Mary 


Adrianna McDonald 


Sister Mary St. Agatha Flannigan 


Sister Mary 


Gilbert Murphy 


Sister Mary Bethel 'Grady 


Sister Mary 


St. Mildred Fitzmaurice 


Sister Mary Thaddeus Quan 


Sister Mary 


Paschalis Cooney 


Sister Mary Aloysius Curtin 


Sister Mary 


Ignatius Loyola Walsh 


Sister Mary 


Vincentine Kelly 


Sister Mary 


Valentine Belgarbo 


Sister Mary Leonard Hanley 


Sister Mary 


Gerena Guider 


Sister Mary 


Xavierina Miniter 


Sister Mary 


Augustus Hanley 


Sister Mary 


Ludivicka Kennedy 


Sister Mary 


Theodora McCarthy 


Sister Mary 


Marciana McCarthy 


Sister Mary 


Evangeline Whelen 


Sister Mary Gilbertine McCarthy 


Sister Mary Patricius Crowley 


Sister Mary 


Felice Powers 


Sister Mary 


Rosamond Donlan 


Sister Mary 


Lelia Mulhern 


Sister Mary 


Ed war da Maher 


Sister Mary 


Christine Bowen 


Sister Mary St. Edna Whelan 


Sister Mary 


Addolorata Maloney 


Sister Mary 


Julian Traynor 


Sister Mary John Berchman Kelly 


Sister Mary Emmanuella Manning 


Sister Mary 


Concordia Delaney 


Sister Mary 


St. Catherine Tierney 


Sister Mary Presentina Dooley 



484 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Sister Mary Borremeo Condon 


Sister Mary Delphine Conway 


Sister Mary Innocentia McCarthy 


Sister Mary Winifred 'Gorman 


Sister Mary Simplicia Kennedy 


Sister Mary Bertina Noonan 


Sister Mary Anacleta Grady 


Sister Mary Ignatia Pine 


Sister Mary Wendelin Fitzgerald 


Sister Mary Thomasina Fitzgerald 


Sister Mary Florentina Bracken 


Sister Mary Rita Sullivan 


Sister Mary Turtella Reynolds 


Sister Mary Clotilda Williams 


Sister Mary Bonaventure Sullivan 


Sister Mary Leocadia Conway 


Sister Mary Sophia O'Connor 


Sister Mary Louis Kennedy 


Sister Mary Ludivica Kennedy 


Sister Mary Redempta Murphy 


Sister Mary Zoella Grady 


Sister Mary Clemintina Pine 


Sister Frances de Sales O'Brien 


Sister Mary Lamberta Fitzgerald 


Sister Mary Angela Fitzgerald 


Sister Mary Lumina Farrell 


Sister Mary Claudius Emerson 


Sister Mary Roberta Reynolds 


Sister Mary Constantine Crimmins 


Sister Mary Remi Wallace 


Sister Mary Florentine Anderson 17 


The following Sisters of Charity of the Blessed 


Virgin Mary entered the order from St. Stanis- 


laus School. 


Mother Mary Isabella Kane 


Sister Mary Bertill English 


!7 Church Calendar. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 485 



Sister Mary Prudentia Reilly 

Sister Mary Denis Murphy 

Sister Mary Antoinette Murphy 

Sister Mary Maura Hennessy 

Sister Mary Johannes Hennessy 

Sister Mary Albena Craney 

Sister Mary Catherine Anderson 

Sister Mary Brennan 

Sister Mary Valentina Lawley 

Sister Mary Victoria McDonnell 

Sister Mary Emily Whalen 

Sister Mary Canissia Whalen 

Sister Mary Lydia Kane 

Sister Mary Catherine Byrnes 

Sister Mary Philomena Dalton 

Sister Mary Annunciata Durkin 
Total 189 

The following sisters of Charity of the B. V. M. entered 
the order from the Sacred Heart Parish School, Eighteenth 
and Johnson streets. 

Sister Mary Pulcheria McGuire 
Sister Mary Irene Tracey 
Sister Mary Florine Madigan 
Sister Mary Chrysantha Driscoll 
Sister Mary Theodata McKenna 
Sister Mary Bennerta Norton 
Sister Mary Iliuminata Houlihan 
Sister Mary Remberta McHahan 
Sister Mary Theodosia Styles 
Sister Mary Edgar Kane 
Sister Mary Sylvester Griffin 
Sister Mary Adelbert McGuire 
Sister Mary Vetalien Manning 
Sister Mary Rosilita Whalen 
Sister Mary Evangeline Whalen 
Sister Mary Valenza Callaghan 
Sister Mary Oswind Walsh 
Sister Mary Selerina King 



486 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Sister Mary Bonita Driscoll 


Sister Mary Pelagia Liesk 


Sister Mary Martina Curran 


Sister Mary Herbertine Summer 


Sister Mary Veranise O'Neil 


Sister Mary Sylvine O'Neil 


Sister Mary Matrona Reilly 


Sister Mary Maricia Lyons 


Sister Mary St. Edward Morrissey 


Sister Mary Herman Leitner 


Sister Mary Augustine Carmody 


Sister Mary Xavierita Cavanaugh 


Sister Mary Zita Cahill 


Sister Mary Ludmilla Shimkus 


Sister Mary Leonardine Printy 


Sister Mary Pancracia Coyle 


Sister Mary Ludivine O'Neil 


Sister Mary Achilla Collins 


Sister Mary Angelique Horrigan 


Sister Mary Assumption Lyons 


Sister Mary Benilda O'Dea 


Sister Mary Gilberta Gross 


Sister Mary Monica Carmody 


Sister Mary Victorian McAuliffe 


Sister Mary Loyola King 


Sister Mary Stanton 


Sister Mary Jeannette Nihill 


Sister Mary Albena Craney 


Sister Mary Brennan 


Sister Mary Victoria McDonnell 


Sister Mary Emily Whalen 


Sister Mary Canissia AVhalen 


Sister Mary Lydia Kane 


Sister Mary Catherine Byrnes 


Sister Mary Philomena Dalton 


Sister Mary Annunciata Durkin 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 487 

SISTERS OF PROVIDENCE 

Saint Mary-of-the-Woods, Indiana 

Former Members of the HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Chicago, Illinois 

Religions Name Family Name 

Sister Gertrude Jane Sherlock 

Sister Ignatia Margaret Hiekey 

Sister Mary Philomene Katherine Clifford 

Sister Mary Bernadine Mary McKenna 

Sister Mary Remigia Barbara 'Brien 

Sister Mary Florentine Henrietta Kehoe 

Sister Aloysius Elizabeth Kehoe 

Sister Mary Catherine Catherine McGrath 

Sister St. Vincent Nellie Hurley 

Sister Theodula Margaret Ward 

Sister Mary Angelina Mary Barr 

Sister Mary Sylvester Ellen Nicolai 

Sister Mary Henrietta Mary Campbell 

Sister Ignatia Mary Ann 'Connor 

Sister Aloysius Clare Ellen Prindiville 

Sister Mary Cosmas Matilda Otto 

Sister Mary Clarence Katherine Darrigan 

Sister St. Ignatius Anna Bisch 

Sister Aloysius Emma Doyle 

Sister Francisca Ann Keating 

Sister Mary Irene Catherine Cushing 

Sister St. Ursula Julia 'Brien 

Sister St. Bernadine Frances Bisch 

Sister Mary Luigi Elizabeth Ferguson 

Sister Ann Xaveria Anastasia Darrigan 

Sister Mary Anthony Mary Bisch 

Sister Delphine Elizabeth Reardon 

Sister St. Denise Anna Doyle 

Sister Mary Olivia Catherine Ryan 



488 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Religious Name Family Name 

Sister Mary Henry Honora Mahoney 

Sister Leocadia ' Bridget Coughlin 

Sister Mary Arnold . . . Henrietta Fitzgerald 

Sister Francis Xavier Margaret McCormick 

Sister Annina Mary Maher 

Sister St. James Maria Duffy 

Sister Mary Winifred Nellie O'Malley 

Sister Agnes Clare Ella Cassidy 

Sister Margaret Marie Anna McCormick 

Sister Mary Florence Mary Lucina Lawler 

Sister Michael Marie Sarah Corboy 

Sister St. Gertrude Mary M. McCarthy 

Sister M. Mechtilde Winifred McDonnell 

Sister Francis Xavieria Anastasia Campbell 

Sister Marcella Marie Susan T. Sullivan 

Sister Ignatius Clara Cramer 

Sister Mary Teresita Loretta Frawley 

Sister Marguerite Mary Margaret C. Leahey 

Sister Constance Marie Nellie Fahey 

Sister Ignatius Marie Nellie Armstrong 

Sister Mary Ignatia Josephine Hanson 

Sister Marie Bernard Eva Arens 

Sister Mary Ignatius Mary Frances Ryan 

Sister Theodora Josephine Leahey 

Sister Marie Francis Cecilia Foley 

Sister Mary Stephen Elizabeth Bennett 

Sister Ignatius Therese Winifred Burns 

Sister Rose Miriam Rose Schaef er 

Sister Francis de Lourdes M. Margaret E. Reilly 

Sister Mary Agnese Ethel Prendergast 

Sister Veronica Clare Mary Kyle 

Sister M. Beata Louise Fryer 

Sister M. Ambrosia Catherine Hughes 

Sister Melanie Catherine Magrady 

Sister M. Dorothea Lillian MaGrady 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 489 

DOMINICAN SISTERS 

FORMER MEMBERS OF HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Miss Hannah McNellis — Sister Ignatius 
Sister Romana Spillard Sister Aquinas Quille 

Sister Genefefa Quille Sister Placede Quille 

Catherine Dwyer — Sister Dennis. 
Miss Cecelia M. Solon Miss Bridget Gavin 

Miss Rose L. Solon Miss Jennie Benson 

Miss Justine B. Solon Miss Libbie Hayes 

Miss O'Brien — Sister Mary Aloysius 

LORETTO NUNS OF KENTUCKY 

Sister Olivette Madge Norton 

Dora Norton 

SISTERS OF NOTRE DAME DE NAMUR 

Josie Hayes — Sister Julia of the Nativity. 
Margaret Walsh — Sister Patricia Marie. 
Louise Gavin 

VISITATION NUNS 

Agnes Hurley — Sister St. Vincent 
Cecelia Georgen — Sister Ursula 
Nellie Scanlan — Sister Francis Xavier 
Johannah McDonnell — Sister M. Francis 
Nellie Levan — Sister Vincentia 
Mary McLaughlin — Sister M. Agnes 
Mary E. Griffin — Sister Francis Xavier 
Miss Lauer — Sister Dolores 
Miss Lauer 
Miss Healey 

Agnes Thompson — Sister M. Catherine 
Miss Scollay 



490 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

RELIGIOUS OF THE IMMACULATE HEART OF MARY 

Miss Mary Tiekan 
Miss Mary Cunningham 

SISTERS OF ST. BENEDICT 

Miss Leonora Hayes 

SISTERS OF ST. JOSEPH 

Miss Elizabeth Reilly — Sister Barbara of Blessed Sacrament 

Miss Bessie Nolan 

Miss Kittie Dailey 

Miss Mary McKeating — Sister M. Victoriana 

Miss Griffin 

SISTERS OF CHARITY OF ST. VINCENT DE PAUL 

(White Caps) 

Mary Josephine Madden 

Miss Rigney 

Sister Mary Agnes O'Brien 

CARMELITE ORDER 

Miss McNellis 



Clarice Rousseau 
Mary Brogni 
Lizzie Brogni 



FRANCISCANS 



GOOD SHEPHERD ORDER 



Elizabeth Cassidy 

Catherine Higgins — Sister Bernardine 

Kittie Lloyd 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 491 



HOLY CROSS SISTERS 



Miss Byrne — Sister Ambrosia 
Miss Bryson Mamie Byrnes 

Kate Richey Miss Lundy 

Miss Dyer Miss Clare 

Sister Mary Ethel Dodd 

SISTERS OF HOLY CHILDHOOD 

Jennie Cunimings — Sister Mary John 
Margaret Condon 

SISTERS OF HUMILITY OF MARY 

Mary O'Brien 

SISTERS OF MERCY 

Carrie Emerson — Sister Rita 
Catherine Dolan 
Mary Cummings 

POOR CLARE NUNS 

Margaret Flanagan 

Anastasia Anderson — Sister Juliana 

LITTLE SISTERS OF THE POOR 

Josephine Regan — Died in Africa. 

The scheme of the religious life precludes exten- 
sive publicity for the devoted nuns and accordingly 
scarcely more may be done than to mention names. 
Even in that attempt the author is greatly handi- 
capped by the reticence of the members of the various 
orders. It was the earnest desire of the author to 
name every member of each of the religious orders 
that came from any part of Holy Family Parish and 
if any are omitted it is only because an extended and 
diligent inquiry has failed to disclose such names. 

One of the banner blocks of the Holy Family 



492 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Parish was that facing Washburrie avenue between 
Racine and Throop streets. 

This block gave to the church the following priests 
and religious : 

Rev. Joseph Wallace, S. J. ; Rev. Thomas Wallace, 
S. J. ; Rev. William Dooley, S. J. ; Bridget Neville, 




SISTER M. BERILLA, B. V. M. 



SISTER M. MATILDA, B. V. M. 



of the Sacred Heart ; Nellie Bryson, of the Sacred 
Heart ; Kittie Higgins, of the Good Shepherd ; Lesia 
Pryle, of the Good Shepherd ; Lizzie Cassidy, of the 
Good Shepherd ; Bridget Lundy, Sister of Charity 
of Nazareth; Mary Bryson, Sister of Holy Cross; 
Kate Carmon, Sister of Charity, Blessed Virgin 
Mary; Rose Brackin, Sister of Charity, Blessed 
Virgin Mary; Mary Wallace, Sister of Charity, 
Blessed Virgin Mary ; Mary Dooley, Sister of Char- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 493 

ity, Blessed Virgin Mary; Lucy Grady, Sister of 
Charity, Blessed Virgin Mary; Mary Grady, Sister 
of Charity, Blessed Virgin Mary ; Genevieve Quigley, 
Sister of Charity, Blessed Virgin Mary. 

Here we have the names of 17 young people who 
entered the religious life from one single block in 
the parish. It may be the banner block, but there 
are other close competitors. What a devout spirit 
must have reigned among the people within that block 
and many other such in the good old days. 

The total number of women who entered the va- 
rious congregations from the Holy Family Parish 
including those from the branch church of the 
Sacred Heart from 1872, as near as the writer can 
ascertain, is 343. 

No doubt there were many others whose names we 
were unable to learn, and if such there be living to- 
day, and fail to find their names in the above list let 
them understand that it was not the fault of the 
writer, for he tried by all reasonable means at his 
command to include each and every one of those 
handmaidens of Christ, who left all for His sake. 

Information for this chapter was obtained chiefly by personal inquiry. 
For the very earliest religious members some accounts have been printed 
but the principal part of the data here used is available only in unpub- 
lished records of the various religious houses. 



CHAPTER XIX 

St. Ignatius College and Loyola University 

As has been noted in previous chapters, it was 
from the very beginning the purpose of Father 
Damen to have a Jesuit educational institution in 
Chicago of a high order — as he used to put it him- 
self that " would rival Georgetown." 

For thirteen years he and his associates labored 
in the parish, building up a circuit of efficient pri- 
maiy schools, when he thought the time had arrived 
for an institution of higher education. Accordingly 
he selected a site lying just east of the church, which 
site by the way was formerly occupied by a Lutheran 
church, and, in 1869, began the building of St. Igna- 
tius College. 

The building was not yet complete when, on Sep- 
tember 5, 1870, St. Ignatius College, for the first 
time, opened its doors. The record shows that thirty- 
seven young men applied for admission and consti- 
tuted the first corps of students of the college. 

While on paper the college had a quite formidable 
faculty, yet it has been stated that the teaching staff 
"was practically limited to one man — Mr. J. J. 
Stephens, S. J." The officers and faculty were 
named as follows: Rev. Arnold Damen, S. J., Presi- 
dent; Rev. J. S. Verdin, S. J., Vice-President and 
Prefect of Studies ; Rev. D. Niederkorn, S. J., Pro- 
fessor of German ; Rev. M. Van Agt, S. J., Prefect 

494 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



495 



of Discipline; Mr. J. J. Stephens, S. J., Professor 
of English, Greek, Latin and Arithmetic. 

St. Ignatius College, as well as the church and 
other parish structures, escaped the great fire which 
occurred in 1871, just one year after its opening. 
The year of the fire, the second of the college, saw 
the number of students quadrupled, and the teach- 
ing force enlarged. In that very year the museum 




of natural history, one of the glories of the school, 
of which something has been said heretofore, was 
begun, and the foundations laid for the college li- 
brary, which became very meritorious. 

The college grew steadily — members of the faculty 
came and went, but the character of the work per- 



496 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sisted. This character was, of course, religious. 
The purpose of the institution was the production 
of good men, good citizens, good Catholics — yet they 
(the faculty) strove to secure this end " through a 
course of secular studies which they kept diligently 
abreast of advanced educational practice, and which 
was none the less an effective training for this life 
for being permeated with a sense of the values of 
a life to come." 

There were also preparatory and high school de- 
partments, which were carefully differentiated from 
the college. When the Catholic school system 
throughout the city had been sufficiently developed 
the preparatory department was abandoned. 

College activities were fostered from the very be- 
ginning. A college publication was established in 
1888; a scientific academy and a camera club were 
organized in 1892. Later debating and dramatic 
societies and an orchestra and other student organ- 
izations grew and flourished. On account of its 
numbers the college was always prominent in 
athletics. 

It is not the purpose to enter extensively into 
details concerning the history of St. Ignatius Col- 
lege. To do that would require much more space 
than could be allotted in this volume. There can be 
little doubt that this popular educational institution 
will sooner or later issue a detailed history of its 
activities and achievements. There are, however, 
some occasions and also some results that may ap- 
propriately be shown here, and a good understand- 
ing of the earlier years of the college can be gained 
from the proceedings in connection with the celebra- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



497 



tion of the Silver Jubilee, which occurred in 1895. 
The exercises and ceremonies on that occasion were 
as follows: 

St. Aloysius Day,. June 21. Closing of the session, 
oratorical contest and distribution of premiums at 
Central Music Hall, 8 P. M. 

Sunday, June 28. Solemn High Mass of Thanks- 




REV. FERDINAND COOSE- 
MANS, S. J. Rector 1872-74 



REV. JOHN DE BLIECK, S. J. 
Rector 1874-77 



giving Coram Pontifice, Most Rev. P. A. Feehan, 
D. D., in Holy Family Church, at 10:30 A. M. The 
attendants of His Grace the Archbishop, as also all 
the officiating clergy at the Solemn High Mass were 
former students of St. Ignatius College. Rev. Ed- 
mund M. Dunne, D. D., preached the thanksgiving 
sermon. 



498 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Monday, June 24. Silver Jubilee Commencement 
Exercises and conferring of Degrees at the Audi- 
torium, 8 P. M. Admission by card only. 

Tuesday, June 25. Silver Jubilee Banquet given 
by the Alumni Association, 8. P. M. Admission by 
card only. 

(Calendar. June 21st, 1895) 

THANKSGIVING SERVICES 

AT 

Holy Family Church 

June 23, 1895. 10:30 a. m. 
Solemn High Mass: Coram Pontifice, Rt. Rev. Edward Joseph 

Dunne, D. D. 
Celebrant of the Mass : Rev. Francis S. Henneberry. 

Deacon : Rev. John J. Dennison. 

Subdeacon : Rev. Thomas W. Burke. 
Assistant Priest: Rev. Sylvester Moloney. 
Deacons of Honor: Rev. Joseph Glennon, Rev. Joseph P. 

O'Reilly. 
Attendants to His Lordship : Rev. John J. Code, Rev. Thomas 

J. McDevitt, Rev. George J. Blatter. 
Master of Ceremonies : Rev. H. G. Van Pelt. 
The Jubilee Sermon was preached by the Rev. Edmund M. 

Dunne, D. D. 

Musical Programme 

Prof. Leo Mutter, Organ Miss Lee Timmons, Harp 

Mr. V. Machek, Violin 

Quartette Soloists 

Miss Edna Crawford, Soprano ; Mrs. J. P. McGrath, Alto ; Mr. 

Wm. Von Dahlen, Tenor; Mr. J. P. McGrath, Baritone 

Chorus of Eighty Voices 

" Praise Ye the Lord" Randegger 

"Kyrie and Gloria," Mass in E Flat Hummel 

"Veni Creator" — Quartette Saran 

" Credo" — Messe Solennelle (St. Cecelia) Gounod 

Offertory, "Ave Maria" (Soprano) Bach-Gounod 

Harp, Violin and Organ Accompaniment 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 499 

' ' Sanctus, Benediction and Agnus Dei ' ' — 

Messe Solennelle Gounod 

"0 Salutaris" Faure 

Hallelujah Chorus Handel 

Silver Jubilee Commencement 
At Auditorium, June 24, 1895. 8 p. m. 

Organ — "Festival March" — Guiraud Prof. Leo Mutter 

' ' Old Folks at Home ' ' — Foster Senior College Glee Club 

"Civic Virtue" Rev. John W. Melody 

"Evening Song" — Banks Senior College Glee Club 

' ' The Alumni " Hon. Richard J. Prendergast 

"Sailors' Chorus" — Emerson Senior College Glee Club 

"St. Ignatius College" Hon. William J. Onahan 

Organ — Gavotte, ' ' Mignon ' ' — Thomas Prof. Leo. Mutter 

Conferring of Degrees 

Address — His Grace, Most Rev. Patrick A. Feehan, D. D. 

Organ— March in C Flat— Silas Prof. Leo. Mutter 

Presentation of flags by the Ladies' Auxiliary of Holy Family 
Parish, at Auditorium. 

A more intimate description of the Silver Jubilee 
has been given : 

"The Silver Jubilee was celebrated with elaborate cere- 
monies. On June 23rd, there was a Solemn High Mass of 
thanksgiving in the presence of Right Reverend Edward Joseph 
Dunne, D. D. The following evening the Commencement Ex- 
ercises were held at the Auditorium. The speakers were : Rev. 
John Webster Melody, Hon. Richard J. Prendergast, Hon. Wil- 
liam J. Onahan, and Most Rev. Patrick A. Feehan, D. D. On 
June 25th the alumni gathered in the college hall for a most 
enjoyable banquet." (Church Calendar.) 

The Silver Jubilee is commemorated by a lapidary 
tablet in the vestibule of the college. There is also 
amongst the archives of the college, a letter from 
Pope Leo XIII, of blessed memory, conveying the 



500 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Apostolic Blessing to the faculty, alumni and 
students. 

His Holiness must have looked with appreciation 
upon the work accomplished and still progressing. 
At that time there were in attendance four hundred 



MUSEUM, ST. IGNATIUS COLLEGE 

and ninety-four students who were receiving not 
only a thorough training in the classics and in 
science, but above all in their Holy Religion ; young 
men who, if sound training and the possession of 
correct principles and conduct count for anything, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



501 



could be expected to become worthy citizens of the 
republic and faithful sons of the Church. Fifty- 
nine students had completed their theological studies 
and were engaged in the work of the sacred ministry. 
Almost fifteen hundred students had matriculated 
at the college up to that time, and of these sixty-nine 
had completed the entire course and received their 
degrees. 




REV. THOMAS MILES, 
Rector 1877-80 



S. J. 



REV. THOMAS O'NEILL, S. J. 
Rector 1880-84 



In commemoration of the Silver Jubilee the new 
college building was completed. It is situated north- 
west of the original building, is 128 feet long and 
66 feet wide; virtually fire proof, and has a total 
seating capacity of over five hundred. The fourth 
floor is reserved for the physical and chemical lab- 



502 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

oratories, while in the basement are located the play 
room and gymnasium. This structure is entirely 
modern throughout. The class rooms are well 
lighted and ventilated; the stairways are of metal, 
and the exits so well arranged that when the signal 
is given for the fire drill (always without previous 
notice to the students or professors) the entire 
building is emptied in less than ninety seconds. 
Classes were held at the new building for the first 
time on November 6, 1895. 

In this same year — 1895 — the Alumni Association, 
which has become an institution of much distinc- 
tion, was organized. 

Beginning with the rectorship of Rev. Henry J. 
Dumbach, S. J., in 1900 the college entered upon 
a new stage of development. The curriculum was 
much improved. A post-graduate course of philos- 
ophy was begun. In 1906 the Department of Law 
was established. In that year, too, the site of Loyola 
University in Rogers Park was purchased, with the 
intention that the twenty-two acres of ground would 
one day contain a great group of buildings suited 
to the needs of a great Catholic university. 

Under Father Dumbach 's successor, Rev. Alex- 
ander J. Burrowes, S. J., Loyola University began 
to take definite shape. The medical, engineering and 
pharmacy departments were begun. In 1909 the 
first building was erected on the Rogers Park tract 
to house Loyola Academy. Three years later, 
through the generosity of Mr. Michael Cudahy and 
his son, Joseph, the splendid fire proof Cudahy 
Science hall was built there also. A school of social 
science was opened in October, 1914, and some years 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



503 



° 2 

^ > 

» cj 

H M 

3" <1 

2. ft 

E, ^ 




sir 



504 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

earlier, a few courses of extension lectures were 
given in afternoon classes composed chiefly of re- 
ligious and secular teachers. 

Two reasons seemed to make it imperative that 
the Jesuits should enter the field of advanced and 
specialized education. The first was the fact that 
the college as an organic part of the educational 
system was no longer capable of producing the 
amount of good accomplished by it in the past. 
Every year the mistaken notion that the high school 
provides all the general and classical culture neces- 
sary had been growing amongst the people. Every 
year the number of those who enter upon a business 
career or take up professional work immediately 
after high school was increasing. The Jesuits as 
educators aimed to mould their pupils into men of 
principle and vision; without universit}^ facilities 
loss of control of the students is suffered, and that 
at the very time when they are most in need of 
proper guidance. The second cause was the increas- 
ing flood of atheism and materialism in the profes- 
sional schools of the country. If civic honesty is 
to be restored, and the administration of justice 
made efficient, prompt and unbiased, the coming gen- 
eration of lawyers and doctors must be thoroughly 
grounded in a Divine moral code, binding upon all 
without exceptions or reservations. Such are the 
arguments in favor of the university and other ex- 
tension work of the Jesuits in and about Chicago. 

The School of Sociology is worthy of special at- 
tention since its establishment constitutes a new de- 
parture in Catholic educational work. It was the 
realization of the crying need of Catholic ideals in 
social thought and of Catholic workers in the field 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 505 

of social service that brought about the establish- 
ment of this first school. Rev. Frederic Siedenburg, 
S. J., made provision for this need, a reality, and 
thus became the founder and dean of the first school 
where a scientific social training along Catholic lines 
might be had. 

In 1911, Father Siedenburg returned from a two 
years' study of social conditions in Europe. While 
there, he sensed the rising discontent of the masses, — 
victims alike of a radical socialism and a materialis- 
tic capitalism. Social and economic doctrines were 
everywhere preached which were hostile towards the 
Church; she was accused of being reactionary and 
unprogressive. Seeing the fallacy of these teachings, 
he wished for a time to come when he might be able 
to restate and propagate the age-old teachings and 
practices of the Church, and show how from the 
earliest days she had originated and fostered theories 
and methods for meeting social problems, and how, 
under her auspices, organizations had been perfected 
centuries ago, the principles of which today are 
thought to be entirely modern. His desire was 
further strengthened upon his return to this coun- 
try ; for the same wave of dissatisfaction was mani- 
festing itself in the States, and was being met chiefly 
by destructive denunciations of socialism. 

Accordingly, he set about formulating a construc- 
tive program that would not only refute the philos- 
ophy and economics of the new heresies, but w r ould 
spread the gospel of constructive Catholic principles 
and practices. This program first took shape in the 
Loyola University Lecture Bureau, organized in 
j 913, which gave over one hundred lectures that year. 
This was the germ of the School of Sociology. 



506 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



An office building in the heart of the city was 
selected as the place for these lectures, because they 
were attended for the most part by school teachers, 
social workers and public officials. The response 
was such that systematic courses of instruction were 
planned, and in October, 1914, the School of Soci- 
ology of Loyola University was opened as a profes- 




REV. JOSEPH P. ZEALAND, S. J. REV. EDWARD A. HIGGINS, S. J. 
Rector 1884-87 Rector 1887-91 



sional school, a department of the University with 
fixed standards and definite courses of study. It was 
the first Catholic school of its kind in any country. 
The course of instruction is so arranged that the 
social service students participate in the historical 
and philosophical courses germane to their work, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 507 

and the special students of the so-called extension 
lectures may also avail themselves of the course in 
charity technique and family case work. The tech- 
nical courses are given by teachers who have had ex- 
perience in the social field, and to these are added 
as special lecturers representatives of the various 
national and social welfare agencies. The course is 
completed in two years, at the end of which time the 
student receives a certificate of Social Economy. 
Students who have taken two years of recognized 
college work and have completed the regular two 
years are eligible for the Degree of Bachelor of 
Philosophy. 

That the school has met a real demand is evi- 
denced by the fact that the 147 of the 1914 roster 
grew to 1689 by 1922, and has continued to increase. 

For the convenience of those living at a distance 
extension centers have been established in various 
parts of the city and country. Extension courses 
were begun as early as 1911 at St. Mary's High 
School and in 1915 at St. Xavier's Academy. 

Besides the two-year training course in sociology, 
this branch of the university offers courses in Soci- 
ology, Education, Philosophy, History, Literature, 
Languages and Mathematics to afternoon classes 
which are attended by lay and religious teachers, 
professional men and women and others who are 
working toward college degrees or teacher promotion. 

In the medical department of the university a two- 
year pre-medical course is offered on the college 
campus to high school graduates. This course if 
followed by the regular four-year course at the school 
of medicine leads to the combined degree of B. S. 



508 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



and M. D. The medical school which is opposite the 
County Hospital has for its exclusive clinical field 
many hospitals. 

The school of law is conducted in the Ashland 
Block, opposite the City and County Courts. Like 
the Schools of Sociology and Medicine, it is co- 
educational. The law school has two divisions. The 




REV. JAMES F. X. HOEFFER, 
S. J. Rector 1894-98 



REV. JOHN G. PAHLS, S. J. 
Rector 1898-1900 



day classes are held in the morning for students who 
have completed two years of college work. This 
course is completed in three years, and leads to the 
degree of Bachelor or Doctor of Laws. The evening 
school is open to graduates of accredited high 
schools. It is completed in four years and leads to 
the degree of Bachelor of Laws. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 509 

The most recent development of the university 
is the School of Home Study, which offers college 
studies by correspondence. All the departments of 
Loyola University are conducted according to the 
well known pedagogical principles and practice of 
the Jesuits, and are moreover accredited schools. 
The College of Arts and the School of Sociology are 
accredited to the North Central Association of Col- 
leges, while the College of Sociology is also a mem- 
ber of the Association of Training Schools for Pro- 
fessional Social Workers. The School of Medicine 
is rated as a Class A school by the American Medical 
Association and in recent State Board examinations 
all of the sixty-five graduates of the year 1921 passed 
successfully. 

A recent move in connection with Loyola Univer- 
sity is important. St. Ignatius College, the college 
of Arts and Sciences, which since 1869 was con- 
ducted on the west side in the center of old Holy 
Family Parish, has been removed to the north side 
establishment in Sogers Park. This has been made 
possible by the erection of a new $400,000 building. 
The west side building and equipment — that is, old 
St. Ignatius college — is now used exclusively as a 
high school and has accommodations for 1,000 stu- 
dents. In 1921 there were over 2,000 students in the 
university, and nearly 1,200 in the two preparatory 
schools. 

Besides the regular classical courses leading to 
Bachelor and Master degrees, scientific courses of 
Commerce and Administration, leading to Bachelor 
of Science and Master of Science degrees are offered. 
These latter courses unite two years of technical 



510 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



training with the culture and philosophy of the Arts 
course. A standard two-year engineering course co- 
ordinated with the courses at the State University 
is also offered on the North Side campus. 

As the title of founder of the college belongs to 




EEV. THOMAS S. FITZGERALD, S. J. 
Rector 1891-4 



Father Damen, so to Father Burrowes belongs that 
of founder of the greater educational institution; 
that is, Loyola University. In making his plans for 
a university Father Burrowes was actuated by the 
one motive governing everything undertaken by the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 511 

Jesuits — the desire to promote the cause of religion. 

Another milestone was reached when the date of 
the Golden Jubilee occurred. This, the fiftieth an- 
niversary of St. Ignatius College, was celebrated in 
Holy Family Church on Monday, June 14, 1920. The 
services were extraordinary and impressive. A 
Solemn Pontifical High Mass was sung by His Ex- 
cellency, Most Rev. John Bonzano, D. D., the Apos- 
tolic Delegate to the United States. The Most Rev- 
erend George W. Mundelein, D. D., Archbishop of 
Chicago, was present in the sanctuary. Right Rev. 
Edmund M. Dunne, Bishop of Peoria, preached the 
panegyric. Many of the clergy educated at St. 
Ignatius College filled the sanctuary. Very Rev. E. 
X. McMenemy, S. J., Provincial of the Missouri 
Province, was present, as were Rev. Alexander J. 
Burrowes, and Rev. John Mathery, former presi- 
dents of the college. 

An invitation was extended to the members of the 
Parish and friends of the college to be present at 
the ceremonies at the church, which marked an 
epoch in the history of the college. An elaborate 
banquet was given the visiting clergy after Mass in 
Sodality Hall. 

Postering of vocations to the priesthood and the 
religious state always has been, of course, one of the 
chief aims of the college, and its successor, the uni- 
versity, for by means of the Holy Priesthood and 
through the reverend religious morals and religion 
flourish. Accordingly, a list as complete as possible 
of all the priests and clerical students who passed 
through St. Ignatius College and who claim it as 
their Alma Mater is here given. 



512 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




EEV. HENEY J. DUMBACH, S. 
Eector 1900-08 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



513 



Priests and Clerical Students of St. Ignatius 
College 



Bellock, Raymond F., S. J. 
Blackmore, Simon A., S. J. 
Blatter, George J. 
Bowen, John M. 
Bradley, Chas. E. 
Brady, Bernard T. 
Breen, Francis X., S. J. 
Breen, Paul M., S. J. 
Breen, Aloysius, Rev., S. J. 
Brown, Richard J., S. J. 
Burke, John P., S. J. 
Burke, Patrick J. 
Burke, Thomas M. 
Burns, Dennis F., S. J. 
Camp, Charles M. 
Cannon, John H. 
Canty, Thomas A. 
Carr, Andrew J. 
Cavallo, Michael 
Cholewinski, Stanislaus P. 
Clancy, James J. 
Clancy, John J. 
Code, George C. 
Collins, Thos. R. 
Conley, Charles F. 
Conroy, Joseph P., S. J. 
Corbley, James J., S. J. 
Corboy, William J., S. J. 
Cornell, Walter G., S. J. 
Coughlin, Henry 
Cunningham, John M., S. J. 
Curran, James J., S. J. 
Gushing, Michael, S. J. 
Czapelski, Stanislaus 
Daly, James J., S. J. 
Delihant, James W., S. J. 



Dennison, John J. 
Devlin, Vincent, S. J. 
Dillon, Edward J. 
Donnellan, Joseph 
Donoghue, William J. 
Donoher, John J., S. J. 
Donohue, Joseph I., S. J. 
Dooley, William F., S. J. 
Driscoll, Timothy A., S. J. 
Dufficy, John A. 
Dunne, Rt. Rev. Edmond M. 
Dunne, Philip C, S. J. 
Dunne, Richard 
Egan, Joseph M., S. J. 
Egan, Thomas A., S. J. 
Fanning, William H. 
Fanning, William J. 
Farrell, James J. 
Farrell, Thomas F. 
Feeley, Daniel A. 
Fenlon, John F. 
Fennesey, Michael J. 
Finn, James T., S. J. 
Finn, Thomas, S. J. 
Foley, William V., Rt. Rev. 
Foote, Bernard A., S. J. 
Ford, John M. 
Fox, Edward J. 
Fox, Raymond J. 
French, Michael G. 
Furlong, Philip P. 
Garraghan, Gilbert J., S. J. 
Garvy, Arnold J., S. J. 
Gates, Simon J. 
Gleeson, Edward J., S. J. 
Glennon, Joseph A. 



514 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Goodwin, Eneas B. 
Gorman, Michael H., S. J. 
Gorman, Thomas, C. M. 
Griffin, James A. 
Griffin, William R. 
Hagerty, William P., S. J. 
Halligan, John J., S. J. 



Holly, Jeremiah P. 
Hynes, James A. 
Janda, Valerian J. 
Jedlicka, Francis W. 
Jones, Edward A., S. J. 
Kane, Terence T., S. J. 
Kane, William T., S. J. 




HON, 



RICHARD PRENDERGAST 
County Judge 
Graduate of St. Ignatius College 



HON. CARTER H. HARRISON 

Several Times Mayor 
Graduate of St. Ignatius College 



Hallinan, Michael F. 
Hamill, Ignatius A., S. J. 
Hanna, Edmund C. 
Hayes, John F., S. J. 
Heeney, M. Joseph 
Hennessy, Robert M., C. M. 
Hitchcock, Newton J. 



Karabasz, Joseph 0. 

Kearns, Thomas A. 

Kelly, Edward A., Monsigno* 

Kelly, James L., S. J. 

Kelly, John L. 

Kelly, J. Vincent, S. J. 

Kelly, Thomas A., S. J. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



515 



Kennedy, Henry F. 
Kennedy, John E., S. J. 
Kiely, James J., S. J. 
Kiley, George E., S. J. 
Killacky, Urban H., S. J. 
Kinsley, William I. 
Korthals, Albert F. 
Lannon, John J. 
Lannon, Joseph T., S. J. 



Loughry, Edward D. 
Lyons, Luke H. 
McCarthy, George F. 
McCarthy, Jchn P., S. J. 
McClellan, Charles A. 
McCormick, Aloysius J., S. J. 
McCormick, John D., S. J. 
McCourt, Thomas A., S. J. 
McDermott, Michael J., S. J. 




REV. ALEXANDER J. BUR- 
ROWES, S. J. Rector 1908-12 



REV. JOHN L. MATHERY, S. J. 
Rector 1912-15 



Lawler, Martin J. 
Leahy, George J., S. J. 
Leddy, James M. 
Lenz, Joseph C. 
Liston, Nicholas M., S. J. 
Loftus, Edward M. 
Lomasney, Patrick J., S. J. 
Lord, Daniel A., S. J. 



McGeary, James L., S. J. 
McGinn, William, S. J. 
McMahon, Martin J., S. J. 
McNally, Edward B. 
Magee, William M., S. J. 
Malley, John V. 
Mallory, John C, S. J. 
Masterson, John, S. J. 



516 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Meehan, Charles A., S. J. 
Mehren, John, 0. S. B. 
Melody, John W. 
Mertens, Ferdinand C. 
Mielcarek, John G. 
Meskell, Jas. A., S. J. 
Moloney, Sylvester J. 
Mortell, John T., S. J. 
Mnehlman, Paul, S. J. 
Mnlhern, Patrick J., S. J. 
Murphy, Andrew C, C. M. 
Murphy, Daniel E. 
Murphy, Edmund 
Murphy, Francis P. 
Murphy, John B. 
Murphy, Joseph A., S. J. 
Murphy, Joseph B., S. J. 
Murphy, J. Ambrose 
Murphy, William A., D. D. 
Murphy, William J. 
Neate, Thomas, S. J. 
Nash, Jno. J., S. J. 
Nash, Wm. T., S. J. 
Nicolas, Simon J., S. J. 
Noonan, John A., S. J. 
Noonan, William D. 
'Bryan, John J., S. J. 
'Bryan, Francis E. 
O'Connor, Edward P. 
O'Connor, Michael J., S. J. 
O'Connor, Patrick J. 
O'Dea, Michael, S. J. 
O'Donnell, John L. 
O'Donnell, Joseph T. 
'Kelly, Gregory, S. J. 
O'Neill, James H., S.J. 
'Regan, James J., S. J. 
O'Reilly, Edward 



O'Reilly, Joseph P. 
O'Shea, Timothy E. 
'Sullivan, Edmund J., S. J. 
Phee, Martin J., S. J. 
Pickert, Herman, S. J. 
Pickham, Daniel 
Plunkett, William J. 
Pyterek, Peter H. 
Quinn, Charles H. 
Quinn, John F., S. J. 
Ragor, John S., S. J. 
Reiner, Joseph S., S. J. 
Rhode, Paul P., Rt. Rev. 
Roberts, Wm. 
Rogers, Bernard D. 
Rooney, Richard R., S. J. 
Roubik, Joseph, S. J. 
Ryan, John A., S. J. 
Ryan M. J., S. J. 
Schark, George L. 
Schmidt, Martin C. 
Schmitz, Aloysius 
Scott, Charles J., S. J. 
Scott, Edward A., S. J. ' 
Scott, Francis X., S. J. 
Scott, Joseph L., S. J. 
Sehnke, Joseph A. 
Serannas, Francis B. 
Seter, Michael P. 
Shanley, George P., S. J. 
Shannon, Thomas V. 
Slatinski, Methodius C. 
Smith, Francis, M. C. 
Smith, Thomas J., S. J. 
Spillard, Arthur D., S. J. 
Stoesser, John P. 
Stukel, Joseph F. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 517 

Sullivan, Charles P., S. J. Wagner, Francis J. 

Sullivan, Cornelius B., S. J. Wallace, Joseph P., S. J. 

Sullivan, Edward P., S. J. Wallace, Thomas F., S. J. 

Sullivan James J., S. J. Wallace, William J., S. J. 

Sullivan, John J., S. J. Warzynski, Stanislaus A. 

Suter, Francis J., S. J. Whelan, John S. 

Tannrath, Benjamin Whelan, Wm. P., S. J. 

Tannrath, John J. Wilson, Samuel K., S. J. 

Tarshey, Benjamin J. Wisniewski, Stanislaus 

Tierney, William T., S. J. Wynn, David A. 

Trainor, Harold S. Zamiara, Alphonse J.. S. J 

Treacy, Thomas F., S. J. Zelezinski, John F. 
Vaughan, Francis X. A., S. J. Zuchola, Leo. F. 

St. Ignatius College and Loyola University 
in the World War 

No sooner had the United States declared war 
against Germany, than many of the young men 
stud}dng at the College flocked to the flag and volun- 
teered their services. Many of them joined as pri- 
vates, but soon became officers — others went to the 
training camp, and after an intensive period quali- 
fied themselves for officers. Many of the Alumni did 
likewise, so that by June, 1918, when the United 
States government announced plans for the organi- 
zation of the Students' Army Training Corps, the 
faculty was invited to send a number of graduates 
to the Officers Training Camp at Fort Sheridan, 111., 
for special instruction. On the first of October, 1918, 
the two units of the students army training corps 
were organized at the college. One of these belonged 
to the College proper, with an enrollment of 230 
men — a second unit was organized at the Loyola 
Medical School, composed exclusively of medical stu- 



518 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




REV. JOHN B. FURAY, S. J. 
Rector 1915-21 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 519 

dents, with headquarters at St. Ignatius College, 
with an enrollment of 190 men. 

The United States Government sent live commis- 
sioned officers to take charge of these units and pre- 
pare them for active service by intensive training. 
The College faculty gave every assistance possible 
to make this training school as efficient and com- 
fortable as possible for both officers and men. The 
large College Hall, together with a number of private 
rooms; the Sodality Hall, with the basement of the 
Church were thrown open for the use of these young 
men and the spacious yard or Campus around the 
College and Church was used for drills and exercises. 
It was quite a novelty for a religious house to hear 
" taps'' and the blare of the trumpet at morning, 
noon and night, instead of the soft sounding Angelus 
and Deprofundis bells, to which all religious are ac- 
customed at such hours of day and night. The 
memory of the months spent by those young soldiers 
within the precincts of the College will not be for- 
gotten, as the young men bore themselves like perfect 
gentlemen and finer gentlemen than their Officers 
could not be desired. The Commandant, Lt. Tappen 
was an Excellent Commander. His assistants were : 
Lieutenants Moroney, Conaghan, Witte and Pell. 

After the peace was signed the demobilization be- 
gan to take place, so that by Christmas, 1918. the 
S. A. T. C. was something of the past. 

Medical Faculty Members of Loyola University College of 
Medicine in Medical Reserve Corps 
In Service 
Amerson, George C, A. M. Medical Reserve Corps, Major 

Berger, John M Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Burkholder, Chas. A., B.S. Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 



520 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Carberry, Francis V. Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 
Danielson, Wilford A. . . . Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 
DeTarnowski, George, F. A. C. S 

Medical Reserve Corps, Major 
Dombrowski, Edward F. . Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Dooley, Harry J Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Dorland, W. A. N Medical Reserve Corps, Captain 

Eddy, Irving H Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Evans, John H Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Ferguson, R. R Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Foley, Thomas P Medical Reserve Corps, Major 

Forrester, C. R. G Medical Reserve Corps, Captain 

Griffin, George D. J Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Hayes, Daniel F Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Herrold, Russell M., B. S. Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Kelly, Paul Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Kupke, Edward II., A. B. . Medical Reserve- Corps, Lieutenant 

Lampe, Henry G Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Lewis, Henry Foster Medical Reserve Corps, Major 

McGuire, William A Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Moss, E. Bruce Medical Reserve Corps, Major 

Napheys, William D Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Packard, Rollo K Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Porter, William A Medical Reserve Corps, Captain 

Rosenblatt, Sol Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Schroeder, George II., A. M 

Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 
Sempill, Robert Arnot. . . . Medical Reserve Corps, Captain 

Sidwell, Clarence E Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Sullivan, Ralph Chas Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 

Sullivan Walter, A. M. ... Medical Reserve Corps, Lieutenant 
Weis, Arthur Henry Medical Reserve Corps, Captain 

The number of officers and men contributed by the 
Alumni and students of St. Ignatius College and 
Loyola University, as far as could be ascertained, 
were as follows: 

Total men in service 1030 

Gold Stars 24 

S. A. T. C 410 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 521 

Officers as follows : 

Army 

Lieutenants 264 

Captains 22 

Majors 12 

Colonels 1 

Chaplains 

Lieutenants 10 

Captains 1 

K. C. Chaplains 4 

Navy 

Ensigns 8 

Of the aforesaid number of officers, the Medical 
faculty of Loyola University contributed the follow- 
ing quota in the Medical Reserve Corps : 

Lieutenants 22 

Captains 5 

Majors 5 

(Above data from the records of St. Ignatius College, the Service Flag 
and press reports.) 

Rectors of St. Ignatius College, Chicago 

(On the opening of a new college usually the Superior is styled Vice- 
Rector.) 

1870-1872— Rev. Arnold Damen, S. J., Vice- 
Rector. 

1872-1874— Rev. Ferdinand Coosemans, S. J., 
Rector. 

1874-1877— Rev. John De Blieck, S. J., Rector. 

1877-1880— Rev. Thomas H. Miles, S. J., Rector. 

1880-1884— Rev. Thomas O'Neill, S. J., Rector. 



522 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




EEV. WILLIAM H. AGNEW, S. J. 
Eeetor 1920-23 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 523 

1884-1887— Rev. Joseph GK Zealand, S. J., Eector. 

1887-1891— Rev. Edward A. Higgins, S. J., Rector. 

1891-1894— Rev. Thomas S. Fitzgerald, S. J., 
Rector. 

1894-1898— Rev. F. X. Hoeffer, S. J., Rector. 

1898-1900— Rev. John F. G. Pahls, S. J., Rector. 

1900-1908— Rev. Henry J. Dumbach, S. J., Rector. 

1908-1912— Rev. Alexander J. Burrows, S. J., 
Rector. 

1912-1915— Rev. John L. Mathery, S. J., Rector. 

1915-1921— Rev. John B. Furay, S. J., Rector. 

1921- . . . .—Rev. William H. Agnew, S. J., Rector. 

CLERGYMEN CONNECTED WITH ST. IGNATIUS 
COLLEGE AND LOYOLA UNIVERSITY 

Rev. Ferdinand Coosemans, S. J. Rector, was born 
on the 5th of February, 1823, in Brussels, Belgium. 
At the age of 19 he left his native land and joined the 
Jesuits in America. From the beginning of his career 
he was distinguished for his piety and sound judg- 
ment, and was always ready to sacrifice himself for 
the work undertaken by him. 

After his ordination he was given important posts 
in the various colleges of the Society in the Middle 
West. Thus we find him President, successively of 
St. Joseph's College, Bardstown, Kentucky, St. 
Louis University, Vice-Provincial of the Missouri 
Province, and rector of St. Ignatius College, Chi- 
cago. 

While connected with St. Ignatius College and 
Holy Family Parish Father Coosemans exhibited his 
great zeal and piety. Unfortunately he was in 1874 
suddenly disabled by a stroke of paralysis while 
actually preaching in the church. He lingered in a 



524 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

helpless state for about four years, until on the 6th of 
February, 1878, he breathed his last. The Holy 
Family Parish owes a debt of gratitude to this vener- 
able Father, for it was owing to his good judgment 
that the parish was blessed by the labors of so many 
zealous workers from 1861 to 1870. 

Rev. John De Blieck, S. J., Rector, was born in 
Belgium February 16, 1821. He was a man of ex- 
traordinary mental ability. He held the position of 
rector of the Jesuit Colleges of St. Xavier, Cincin- 
nati, and of Bardstown, Kentucky. In 1865 he was 
in Chicago assisting Father Damen to build up the 
parochial school system of Holy Family Parish. 
From here he was transferred to other fields of labor 
for two years, but returned in 1869. In 1874 he was 
made rector of St. Ignatius College. In 1877 he gave 
missions in New Mexico and California. In 1880 he 
returned to St. Ignatius College, where he was en- 
gaged in instructing the newly ordained priests, giv- 
ing the final touches, as it were, before they started 
out on their long careers of labor and sacrifice. 

A volume could be written of Father De Blieck 's 
active life. He was considered one of the most fin- 
ished preachers of his day, not with the overwhelm- 
ing power of eloquence of Father Damen or Father 
Smarius, but he was perhaps superior to them in 
style, diction and language, as those who have heard 
him bear testimony. 

Rev. Thomas H. Miles, S. J., Rector, was born in 
Bardstown, Kentucky, August 11, 1831. He became 
rector of St. Ignatius College, September 14, 1877, 
succeeding Father DeBlieck. This office he held 
until July, 1880. From Chicago he was transferred 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 525 

to the rectorship of the new Creighton College, 
Omaha. 

Father Miles endeared himself to all by his 
gentle and charitable disposition. For eighteen years 
he was the spiritual director of the community of the 
St. Louis University. He closed his saintly career 
on May 29, 1909. 

Rev. Thomas O'Neil, S. J., Rector, was a very 
familiar figure in St. Ignatius College and Holy 
Family Church for a number of years. He was pop- 
ularly known to every one as "Father Rector." In 
July, 1880, he succeeded Father Thomas Miles as 
rector of St. Ignatius College, and remained in that 
post until 1884. 

Father 'Neil gave catechetical instructions in the 
church at the 8 :30 Mass on Sundays, and these were 
very much appreciated, as he was a man of deep 
learning and solemn piety. He was of a kind and 
sympathetic disposition. His confessional was much 
frequented by those who sought to lead pious and 
virtuous lives and aimed at Christian perfection. 

After his term as rector of the college he was em- 
ployed as rector of St. Stanislaus Seminary and in 
other works of the ministry. He died on March 2, 
1899. 

Rev. Joseph P. Zealand, S. J., Rector, was born in 
Holland, December 29, 1831, and became one of 
Father DeSmet's volunteer parties for America. 

During his early career as a priest he filled some 
very important positions. Five years were spent 
with Father Damen on the missions, and this service 
alone indicates the character of the man. He was 
rector of Creighton University, and succeeded Father 



526 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Thomas O 'Neil as rector of St. Ignatius College, Chi- 
cago, in 1884. 

From 1887 he was transferred successively to De- 
troit, Milwaukee and St. Louis. He closed his labo- 
rious career in the later place on February 18, 1904. 

Rev. E. A. Higgins, S. J., Rector, was born in 
Ireland, and succeeded Father Zealand as rector of 
St. Ignatius College in 1887, remaining in that post 
until 1891. It was during his time as director that 
the church was re-roofed and frescoed at a cost of 
about $15,000. It was he who initiated the rebuild- 
ing of the great organ. 

Father Higgins' tastes were more in the line of 
those of a professor than of a pastor, and accordingly 
he did not come into such close contact with the peo- 
ple. Nevertheless the parish owes a debt of gratitude 
to him, both as rector or superior over the whole com- 
munity in College and Church, and also as Provincial 
when he sustained those in charge of the parish and 
fostered those institutions for the benefit of the peo- 
ple of the parish, and sent good men as pastors to 
minister to the flock committed to their care. 

After filling many important posts in the Society 
of Jesus Father Higgins died in Cincinnati, Decem- 
ber 4, 1902. 

Rev. Thomas S. Fitzgerald, S. J., Rector, was 
born in Ireland. Amongst the first worshippers who 
flocked to the little frame church on 11th and May 
streets in 1857 were Father Fitzgerald's parents, and 
in the rude little school then established, and later in 
the grand old Holy Family School on Morgan street 
Father Fitzgerald received his elementary education. 
Later on he matriculated at St. Louis University, and 
from there he went to Florissant, the Jesuit novitiate. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 527 

As a Jesuit Father Fitzgerald had a very distin- 
guished career. Practically all of his priestly life 
was spent either as first pastor, superior, rector or 
provincial. He succeeded Rev. E. A. Higgins as 
rector of St. Ignatius College, Chicago, in 1891, and 
thus filled that post during the Chicago Columbian 
Exposition or World's Fair, during which he ex- 
tended many courtesies to visitors, both within and 
without the Jesuit Order. As a matter of fact he was 
courteous and charitable to all. Charity seemed to 
be his passion. 

Father Fitzgerald took a deep interest in the main- 
tenance of the great church and parish which, from 
his youth, he saw grow up under the fostering care of 
its great founder, Father Damen. It was during 
Father Fitzgerald's time that the great organ was re- 
built (1892), and it was with his permission and 
material encouragement that the lavish Christmas 
decorations were introduced. It was under his pat- 
ronage that Our Lady's Shrine for the month of 
May was erected and decorated on the grand scale 
which has been continued to the present time. 

After a most fruitful life, Father Fitzgerald died 
at Florissant, Missouri, December 11, 1910. It should 
be noted that the Fitzgerald family gave to religion 
not only one priest, but four Sisters of Charity of 
the B. V. M., as well. They, like their venerable 
brother, were remarkably successful, both as teachers 
and superiors. They are known in religion as Sister 
M. Wendeline, Sister M. Lamberta, Sister M. Thom- 
asina, and Sister M. Angela. Three of the family, 
John, Margaret and Nora Fitzgerald, remained in 
the world to edify it by their good lives. 



528 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. James F. X. Hoeffer, S. J., was Rector of 
St. Ignatius College from 1894 to 1898. He built the 
large and commodious class-room building in the 
rear of the old college building, also the boiler room 
and the assembly hall for the Acolytes, fitting them up 
with every modern improvement available at that 
time (1895 to 1898). 

Father Hoeffer was one of the most distinguished 
orators amongst the Jesuits of the Middle West, al- 
though he rarely "let himself out in full force." He 
delivered three great sermons in Holy Family 
Church, — one on St. Patrick's Day, one on Easter 
Sunday, and the third on Christmas Day. It is be- 
lieved that these sermons have never been surpassed 
during the last forty years. 

Towards the end of his administration his health 
was very much impaired. From the fall of 1898 
Father Hoeffer spent the remainder of his life at St. 
Louis University and as Superior of the Sacred 
Heart Church on 19th and Johnson streets, Chicago. 
He died October 14, 1913. 

Rev. John F. Gr. Pahls, S. J., Rector, came to St. 
Ignatius College, Chicago, in the year 1882, as proc- 
urator, in which office he spent several years. 

Father Pahls had a confessional in the church of 
Holy Family. 

From Chicago he was transferred to St. Louis 
and then to Omaha and again to St. Ignatius College 
as rector (1898-1900), in which post he continued 
until his health broke down. 

He spent the last years of his life as procurator in 
Detroit College, but died at St. Stanislaus, Brooklyn, 
near Cleveland, Ohio, on February 10, 1910. Father 
Pahls was of a retiring disposition, but was most con- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 529 

siderate of others, even though he disregarded his 
own convenience. 

Rev. Henry J. Dumbach,, S. J., Rector (deceased), 
was born on August 17, 1862, and entered the Society 
of Jesus, on July 26, 1879. He spent the years 
1884-1885 teaching in St. Ignatius College, Chi- 
cago, after which for several years, he taught in St. 
Mary's, Kansas. He then made his final studies and 
was ordained. After his ordination we find him 
again for a year in Chicago, teaching for the second 
time, after which he left to take up further studies. 
In 1898, Father Dumbach came again to St. Ignatius 
College, w 7 here he remained until his final transfer — 
let us hope to the Home of the Blessed, on December 
3, 1909. Father Dumbach was appointed Minister 
of the College in 1899, and remained in that capacity 
until September 3, 1900, when he became Rector. He 
remained in this office until the 11th of February, 
1908. During his incumbency, many improvements 
took place around the church and college, but the 
chief and most important event was that of the pur- 
chase of the grounds for the present site of Loyola 
University at a cost of $161,000.00. 

His next great work was the building of the tem- 
porary frame church for the new St. Ignatius parish 
at a cost of about $12,000 — and the laying of the foun- 
dation of the first building in the Loyola University 
grounds, the Academy, in which the great dream of 
the founder of Holy Family Parish was partially 
realized, and Father Dumbach was the instrument 
under God to accomplish it. Father Dumbach 's ac- 
tivities for God and his neighbors were both numer- 
ous and important. He was possessed of many lov- 
able characteristics, one of which, however, by far 



530 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

overshadows all the others, and that was his human 
kindness. He seemed never happier than when doing- 
good to others. Had he lived to witness the growth 
of the tiny seed he planted in the wilderness by the 
lake during his Rectorship certainly his heart would 
exult with joy and sing the canticle of Our Lady and 
say, "He that is mighty hath done great things unto 
me." 

Rev. Alexander J. Burrowes, S. J., Rector, 
was born on October 14, 1853, and joined the Society 
of Jesus, on August 10, 1872. Father Burrowes, 
before his ordination, taught in St. Ignatius Col- 
lege, Chicago, in the early eighties. It was while 
in this capacity that he was assigned the duty of 
conducting the altar boys' choir, which was newly 
organized, for the purpose of singing the Vespers on 
Sundays. Father Burrowes was a great lover of 
music, so that it was a real pleasure to him to be 
with the youngsters on these occasions. After his 
studies and ordination, he was assigned several im- 
portant posts of duty, and, in February, 1908, was 
made Rector of St. Ignatius College, Chicago. It was 
during his rectorship that Loyola University was 
practically established. (For further details see 
Chapter on St. Ignatius College and Loyola Univer- 
sity.) During his rectorship Father Burrowes 
preached at one of the early Masses on Sundays. He 
also set to music the Our Father, The Hail Mary, The 
Apostle's Creed, etc., for the parochial school chil- 
dren, to be sung at their Mass on Sundays in the 
church. 

Later he became successively Rector of St. Louis 
University and Provincial of the Missouri Province, 
and finally Superior of St. Stanislaus, Brooklyn 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 531 

station, Cleveland, Ohio, and Director of the Fathers 
making their final studies. This office he still holds. 

Rev. John L. Mathery, S. J., Rector, was born 
June 18, 1856, in the Province of Alsace, France, and 
joined the Society of Jesus in July, 1874. After his 
studies Father Mathery was assigned various duties 
as superior in several of the Jesuit houses. He was 
minister in St. Ignatius College, Chicago (1903- 
1912), and rector from 1912 to 1915, rector of St. 
Stanislaus Seminary from 1915 to 1922. At present 
he is chaplain of the Good Shepherd Convent, St. 
Louis, Missouri. 

Rev. John B. Furay, S. J., Rector, was born 
on March 25, 1873, and entered the Society of Jesus, 
March 31, 1891. Father Furay spent several years 
in his early manhood teaching in St. Ignatius College, 
so that when, in the year 1915, he came as Rector, the 
Church, Loyola University and all the surroundings 
were very familiar to him, although in the popula- 
tion he noticed a radical change. During his absence, 
at least one-half of the old population had moved 
away from Holy Family Parish. 

It fell to Father Furay 's lot to witness some stir- 
ring times. During his administration, the college 
became an efficient training camp. His tactful man- 
agement of the business merited the highest com- 
mendation from the military authorities. During his 
administration, also, several acquisitions were made 
by Loyola University, one of especial note being the 
Medical School at Lincoln and Harrison streets. 

In 1921, when Most Rev. Archbishop Mundelein 
established his major seminary of St. Mary of the 
Lake at Area, Illinois, Father Furay was selected 



532 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

to head the faculty of the leading teaching staff. 
This position he holds at this writing — 1923. 

Rey. William H. Agnew, S. J., was born October 
12, 1881, and entered the Society of Jesus July 24, 
1900. 

After completing the customary studies he was 
assigned to teach the sciences in St. Ignatius College, 
Chicago. 

While so engaged he managed to find time to teach 
Christan Doctrine to the young people of the Italian 
district bordering on Holy Guardian Angel Parish, 
Forquer and Desplaines streets. By his kindness, 
patience and affability he soon won their hearts to 
God. 

Soon after his final studies and ordination he was 
chosen to preside over the destinies of Loyola Uni- 
versity and took charge as President, July 31, 1921. 

Here he found much labor awaiting his zeal and 
energy. His first great task was the erection of a 
faculty building at a cost of four hundred thousand 
dollars. 

Even before the faculty building was complete he 
began the building of a gymnasium to cost three hun- 
dred fifty thousand dollars. In this undertaking he 
had the generous cooperation and assistance of the 
Alumni Association. 

The building program is not yet complete but is to 
continue until the buildings and grounds correspond 
to the completed scheme as shown in this chapter. It 
is sincerely to be hoped that he will be able to com- 
plete this great project during his incumbency. 

Brothers 

Brother Meier (Joseph Meier, S. J.,) came to St. Ignatius 
College in 1883. He was employed as Buyer and Assistant 
Treasurer for 27 years. He was little known in the parish, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 533 

except in a business way. He was better known among the 
business houses down town, where he was highly esteemed for 
his correct businesslike manner. He usually looked after the 
exterior repairs of the church and upkeep of the premises. In 
this respect he rendered invaluable service to both Church and 
College. In 1911 he was transferred to St. Louis University and 
later on account of the breakdown of his health was transferred 
to St. Stanislaus Novitiate, where he is at present. 

Brother Kelly (Thomas F. Kelly, S. J.,) was born in Brook- 
lyn, New York, on the 29th of September, 1844, and joined the 
Society of Jesus September 1, 1872. Brother Kelly heard the 
divine call through the voice of the great Father Damen, who 
was giving a mission in the parish church. He heard Father 
Damen preach in St. Patrick's Church, Brooklyn, New York, at 
the time of the fire in Chicago in 1871. On receipt of news of 
the fire Father Damen came at once to the scene of devastation. 
Brother Kelly followed the same year. After his novitiate 
Brother Kelly spent the years 1874-1876 assisting at Holy Fam- 
ily School. He next taught at St. Charles, Missouri. Later he 
taught the Arapaho Indians in Wyoming. 

In 1898 he came to St. Ignatius College, Chicago, where he 
has been ever since. On September 1, 1922, he celebrated his 
golden jubilee with great solemnity in the Church, and after- 
ward in the college. Much of the work, if not the greater part, 
connected with the publishing of the Church Calendar and 
Sunday School Messenger has been done by Brother Kelly. 

Readers of the Calendar and Messenger have noted the beau 
tiful devotional poems signed T. F. K. These are the product 
of Brother Thomas F. Kelly, S. J., who in his 79th year looks 
young enough to live for twenty years more. 

Professors and Directors 
Rev. John P. Burke, S. J., was born August 6, 1893 ; studied 
at St. Ignatius College, and graduated in 1914. He won a 
scholarship at the Catholic University at Washington, D. C. ; 
taught in St. Ignatius College, Chicago, during the years 1915 
and 1916. He was inducted into the service of the United 
States during the World War, and saw service over seas. After 
the war he entered the Society of Jesus, on September 1, 1919, 
and is at present studying his philosophy at St. Louis University. 



534 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Rev. Francis Cassilly, S. J., was born August 26, 1860, and 
joined the Society of Jesus August 14, 1878. Father Cassilly 
was for several years Vice-President of St. Ignatius College, 
Chicago, and editor of the Calendar. He is at present, and has 
been for some years connected with Creighton University, 
Omaha, Nebraska. 

Rev. Charles Coppens, S. J., was born in Turnhout, Belgium, 
in 1835. His early education was received in Belgium, and he 
entered the Society of Jesus in Tronchiennes, Belgium, in 1853. 

Father Coppens' novitiate was completed at the Jesuit Foun- 
dation at Florissant, Missouri, and Fordham University, New 




REV 



FREDERIC SEIDEN- 
BURG, S. J. 
Director Extension Schools 



REV. CHARLES COPPENS, S. J. 

Prolific Writer and Renowned 

Educator 



York, and he was ordained priest in St. Patrick's Cathedral in 
New York, in 1865. 

"Of his long and useful life sixty-seven years were conse- 
crated to the cause of Catholic education, and nearly sixty to 
the actual work of the class and lecture room." For twelve 
years he was Professor of Classics at Florissant, twelve years 
Professor of Philosophy at Detroit University, nine years at 
Creighton College, Omaha, and twelve years in Chicago in the 
same capacity. 

Father Coppens' capacity for work is indicated by the fact 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



535 



that he not only taught in the class room, but that during his 
career he was the author of many valuable books. His works 
have been listed as follows: Practical Introduction to English 
Rhetoric (1885) ; Art of Oratorical Composition (1886) ; Logic 
and Metaphysics (1892) ; Moral Philosophy (1896) ; Moral Prin- 
ciples and Medical Practice (1898) ; Systematic Study of the 
Catholic Religion (1903); Mystic Treasures of the Holy Mass 
(1904); Choice Morsels of the Bread of Life (1909); Brief 
History of Philosophy (1909); Who are the Jesuits (1911); 
Commentary on the Little Office of the Blessed Virgin (1916) ; 
Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius (1916). 




EEV. JAMES A. 

DOWLING, S. J. 

St. Ignatius College 

1885-86 



EEV. ALOYSIUS 

BOSCHE, S. J. 

V. P. St. Ignatius 

1886-7 



KEV. EDWAED 

GLEASON, S. J. 

Lecturer 1900-1913 

College 



During the years in which he taught and wrote he was also a 
frequent contributor to the American Quarterly Review, The 
American Ecclesiastical Review, America, Messenger of the 
Sacred Heart and the Catholic Encyclopaedia. 

Father Coppens celebrated his Golden Jubilee in September, 
1915. 

After a brief illness of pneumonia Father Coppens died at 
St. Ignatius College, Chicago, on Tuesday, December 14, 1920. 

The funeral took place at Holy Family Church on Friday 
morning, December 17, at 10 o'clock. The Office of the Dead 
was recited at 9 :30 A. M. Rev. John B. Furay, S. J., President 



536 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of St. Ignatius College was celebrant of the Mass. Interment 
was at Calvary Cemetery. 

Rev. Walter Cornell, S. J., was born December 17, 1871, 
and entered the Society of Jesus September 3, 1898. Father 
Cornell has been in the professorial chair since his ordination. 
At present he is connected with Loyola University, Chicago. 

Rev. James C. Daly, S. J., was born October 19, 1869, and 
entered the Society of Jesus September 3, 1893. Father Daly, 
after completing the studies according to the Jesuit system, 
taught for a number of years. He spent some years as one of 
the superiors of the colleges of Cincinnati and St. Mary's, Kan- 
sas. In 1921 he was appointed minister or assistant superior 
in St. Ignatius College, Chicago. After the transfer of the Col- 
legiate Department and Faculty to Loyola on the North side 
in September, 1922, Father Daly was made local superior, which 
includes the Holy Family Church and St. Ignatius College. 

Rev. John P. Esmaker, S. J. was born September 22, 1879, 
and entered the Society of Jesus, September 3, 1898. Father 
Eskmaker has been an ardent student of the sciences since his 
boyhood. He has been employed in teaching the sciences and 
mathematics all his life as a Jesuit, except during his ecclesias- 
tical studies. He is at present located at St. Ignatius college, 
Chicago. 

Rev. William T. Kane, S. J., was born October 20, 1880, and 
entered the Society of Jesus July 26, 1898. Father Kane is a 
professor of English Literature at Loyola University, Chicago. 
He is also a lecturer on Ethics and other subjects at Loyola 
School of Sociology and an extensive contributor to Catholic 
magazines. He is the author of the "Life of St. Stanislaus 
Kostka" and of Rev. William H. Stanton, S. J., a missionary in 
British Honduras. Father Kane volunteered as a chaplain with 
the American Expeditionary Forces in the Great War and 
served overseas. 

Mr. George E. Kiley, S. J. ? was born June 27, 1892, and 
entered the Society of Jesus September 22, 1913. Mr. Kiley has 
been professor at Campion College, Prairie Du Chien, Wiscon- 
sin, and St. Ignatius High School, Chicago. Besides being one 
of the professors at St. Ignatius at the present time Mr. Kiley 
is also director of athletics. 

Rev. John Kokenge, S. J. Father Kokenge taught both as 
a scholastic and priest at St. Ignatius College, Chicago. He gave 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 537 

a course of lectures on Sunday evenings during the years 1892- 
93. After being employed elsewhere for the next eight years, 
he returned to Chicago and became chaplain of Cook County 
Hospital for six years. He was a man of great zeal for the sal- 
vation of souls, of which he reaped a rich harvest. He died a1 
Florissant, Missouri, January 6, 1922. 

Rev. George J. Leahy, S. J., was born October 7, 1867, and 
entered the Society of Jesus- July 25, 1887. Father Leahy has 
been in the professor's chair for many years, and has also been 
Vice-President of St. Ignatius College, 1912-1918. At present 
he is located at St. Francis Xavier College, Cincinnati. 

Rev. Nicholas A. Liston, S. J., was born April 27, 1887, and 
entered the Society of Jesus July 25, 19D7. Father Liston has 
taught in Loyola and Marquette Universities, respectively. At 
present he is finishing his theological course at St. Louis Uni- 
versity. 

Rev. John T. Mortell, S. J., was born August 18, 1878, and 
entered the Society of Jesus July 26, 1896. Father Mortell has 
been teaching the sciences for a number of years. At the break- 
ing out of the World War he volunteered as a chaplain in the 
American Expeditionary Forces. He saw much service over- 
seas and was gassed in the battle of the Argonne. Having fully 
recovered he is at present one of the professors of Loyola Uni- 
versity. 

Rev. Joseph B. Murphy, S. J., was born September 12, 1871, 
and entered the Society of Jesus August 11, 1892. Father 
Murphy taught in various colleges for a number of years. He 
was superior of the Sacred Heart Church, 19th and Peoria 
streets, for three years. At present he is on the staff of Loyola 
University. 

Rev. Simon J. Nicolas, S. J., was born June 10, 1869, and 
entered the Society of Jesus July 26, 1889. Father Nicolas, 
having taught for a number of years, was appointed to the Vice- 
Presidency of Loyola Academy, Chicago, after which he was 
transferred to the Detroit University as Vice-President. At 
present he is a member of the faculty of Marquette University, 
Milwaukee, Wisconsin. 

Rev. Claude J. Pernin, S. J., was born December 25, 1877, 
and entered the Society of Jesus August 14, 1898. Father Per- 
nin taught for a number of years at St. Ignatius College, Chi- 



538 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

cago. He is a noted lecturer on English Literature in connec- 
tion with the Extension work of Loyola University. He is also 
a noted writer. 

Eev. Francis X. Senn, S. J., was born on December 26, 1864, 
and entered the Society of Jesus, on September 26, 1885. Father 
Senn is at the present time connected with St. Ignatius College, 
Chicago, having spent nine years there — in two terms. His con- 
nection with Holy Family Parish consisted chiefly in preaching 
in the church during one of the early Masses on Sundays, and on 
other occasions such as novenas, May devotions, etc. In 1923, 
he succeeded the Rev. P. J. Mahan, S. J., in the spiritual di- 
rection of the Deaf Mutes' organization. 

Rev. George P. Shanley was born August 23, 1879, and en- 
tered the Society of Jesus August 11, 1897. After his studies 
and ordination Father Shanley was appointed Vice-President 
of Loyola University (1918-1921). After some years in this 
office he was transferred to the Vice-Presidency of Marquette 
LTniversity, which post he still holds. 

Rev. Frederic Siedenburg, S. J., was born January 28, 1872, 
and entered the Society of Jesus August 9, 1893. Father Sieden- 
burg has taught at St. Ignatius College for a number of years. 
He is the founder and organizer of the School of Sociology of 
Loyola University. Father Siedenburg is a noted lecturer and 
is distinguished throughout the United States for his lectures 
on sociology. At present he is director of the Loyola University 
Extension in its several departments and has met with eminent 
success. 

Rev. Henry S. Spalding, S. J., was born January 10, 1865, 
and joined the Society of Jesus, on August 7, 1884. Father 
Spalding has spent considerable time in Chicago, either as 
Superior of Loyola University or Director of the Loyola Medical 
School. At present — 1922 — he is one of the Associate Editors 
of the " Queen's Work," St. Louis, Mo. 

Rev. Robert F. Spirig, S. J., was born November 9, 1874, and 
entered the Society of Jesus September 1, 1894. Father Spirig 
was one of the superiors of St. Ignatius College for a number of 
years. He is at present located as minister at St. Mary's College, 
St. Mary's, Kansas. 

Mr. John J. Sullivan, S. J., was born February 4, 1889, and 
entered the Society of Jesus September 4, 1910. Mr. Sullivan 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



539 



i* % * C •"* H ^ 

" . . *<j CD • O < 

£.4 



3 " H- w 



* ' *^ L t^ **j 
2,op^ r» • a 

■ i o 2 Bt- 



S 2 s 






" a c rt -* H 

* ^arq -* <J d 
' Kri M g W g ■ -GO 

P r* o j* g g. p o 



QTCJ 



hg" OS ST?*? o 

g 5 ? bJWqSr 1 

*J3 >rja " £ 3 £ 
• KJ 9 O ** 

w * c? w ^ * ^ 



2" W 

5 Mr 



? a » § j* 3 o 

p a a . o 2 a> 
dor; a f>p a £ 




540 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

taught at Loyola Academy for some years. He is now completing 
his theological studies at St. Louis University, St. Louis, Mis- 
souri. 

Rev. Thomas Treacy, S. J., was born October 7, 1858, and en- 
tered the Society of Jesus in 1876. Father Treacy has taught 
for a number of years in various colleges. At present he is sta- 
tioned at St. Ignatius College, Chicago. He is noted for his 
assiduity in the confessional. 

Rev. AY. H. Trentman, S. J., was born October 6, 1864, and 
entered the Society of Jesus July 25, 1887. Father Trentman 
has been connected with St. Ignatius College for a number of 
years. He had charge of the Altar Boys' Society from 1911 to 
1922. He is at present connected with St. Aloysius Church, 
Kansas City, Missouri. 

Rev. Aloysius J. McCormick, S. J., was born June 17, 1876, 
and entered the Society of Jesus September 2, 1893. Father 
McCormick taught in several of the Jesuit Colleges for a number 
of years. Before his death he had been stationed at St. Ignatius 
College, Chicago, where he was much devoted to recording the 
deeds of the alumni of the institution, especially of those in the 
AVorld AVar. He died after a short illness February 4, 1919. 

Mr. William F. McGinn, S. J., was born August 2, 1862, and 
entered the Society of Jesus, September 5, 1882. He was teach- 
ing in St. Ignatius College, Chicago, when the Master called 
him, August 4, 1888, at the early age of 26 years. 

Rev. Thomas J. Moore, S. J., was born March 31, 1885, and 
entered the Society of Jesus September 5, 1903. Father Moore, 
after his usual course of studies and teaching, was assigned to 
St. Ignatius College, Chicago, in 1921, where he holds the office 
of vice-president. 

Rev. Adrian Van Hulst, S. J., died at St. Ignatius College, 
Chicago, October 9, 1909, at the age of 92 years. He was hardly 
known outside the college and the religious houses of the city. 
For many years he had been the confessor of several of the 
religious communities of Chicago, as well as of the community 
at the college. He was truly a spiritual man. He seemed to 
care only for God and the things of God, and we trust he has 
gone to receive the reward from the Good Master whom he 
served so faithfully and perseveringly to the end of his long and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



541 




THE PROMISE OF DIVINE ASSISTANCE 
A Masterpiece in St. Ignatius College 



542 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

laborious life. No man ever saw him spend one moment in idle- 
ness. 

Rev. John Verdin, S. J., was born February 22, 1822, in St. 
Louis, Missouri. He was one of the first students to enter the 
new college founded by the Jesuits in 1829. Father Verdin 
joined the Society of Jesus in 1838 and was ordained in 1851. 
In 1870 he was sent to the new St. Ignatius College, Chicago, 
as Vice-President, where he spent seven years. Here Father 
Verdin was loved and revered by pupils and professors. His 
amiable character won all who came in contact with him. He 
was a noted preacher and confessor. Father Verdin died on 
November 2, 1889, in his native city, at St. Louis University, his 
Alma Mater. 

Rev. Wm. P. Whelan, S. J., was born March 5, 1867, and 
entered the Society of Jesus July 25, 1887. Father Whelan has 
been engaged in teaching all of his religious life except those 
years spent in preparation for the priesthood. He has been 
for many years connected with the Creighton University, having 
charge of the medical and pharmacy faculties. He is a brother 
of Rev. John Whelan of the Rockford Diocese. 

The brief sketch of St. Ignatius College and Loyola University contains 
only general references which need no verification and accordingly no cita- 
tions are supplied. As to the biographical sketches the information con- 
tained in them is obtained from the house records of the several foundations 
of the Order. 



CHAPTER XX 

Sodalities of Holy Family Parish 

As is well known, Holy Family Parish made much 
of its societies ; indeed, it is characteristic of the 
Jesuit foundations that organizations for the laity 
are earnestly fostered and directed into most useful 
and valuable channels of activity. 

With the Jesuits, the sodalities for the different 
classes of members or parishioners have always been 
very popular; and, as has already been seen, the 
formation of sodalities was amongst the earliest of 
Father Damen's activities in Holy Family Parish. 

A word of explanation regarding sodalities seems 
appropriate. The first sodality of the Blessed Vir- 
gin, which was formed in Rome, in 1563, owes its 
origin to the zealous exertions of John Leonius, S. J., 
who was then teaching in the Roman college. This 
holy and learned man collected youths and placed 
them under the special protection of the Blessed Vir- 
gin. The pious and exemplary conduct of the first 
socialists soon caused associations of similar nature 
to spread from Rome to every part of the Christian 
world. Rectors introduced them into the colleges 
placed under their care, and pastors into their respec- 
tive congregations. 

In 1584, in an encyclical letter, Pope Gregory 
XIII approved the Sodality established in Rome, 

543 



544 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

and extended to all the faithful the privileges of be- 
coming members ; he wished that the Sodality of the 
Roman College should be, as it were, the mother and 
center of all the others, and he gave to the General 
of the Society of Jesus, and to those entrusted with 
the care of a Sodality, all the necessary powers to 
direct these pious associations. 

Popes Sixtus V, Gregory XV, Clement VIII, 
Benedict XIV, Clement XIII, Pius VII, Gregory 
XVI, Pius IX, Leo XIII and Pius X have enriched 
the Blessed Virgin's Sodality with indulgences, and 
extolled its utility in the warmest manner. Soon 
after its institution, it numbered among its members, 
Popes, Cardinals, Bishops, and many most zealous 
and learned clergymen, and likewise many secular 
Princes, Magistrates and men distinguished in every 
class of society. Among the saints who have sancti- 
fied themselves by a faithful compliance with the 
rules of the Sodality of which they were members, 
we may mention St. Charles Borromeo, St. Francis 
of Sales, St. Stanislaus, St. Aloysius, St. John Berch- 
mans and others. 1 

Society of the Holy Family 

None knew better than Father Damen the ad- 
vantages accruing from active sodalities, not only to 
the members themselves, but to the church and the 
parish. Accordingly, on Sunday, August 22, 1858, 
just thirteen months after his arrival in Chicago, and 
while still ministering in the little frame church, 
Father Damen announced, during the High Mass, 
that there would be a meeting of the men of the 

1 A good account of the history and development of Sodalities is given 
in the Catholic Encyclopedia, XIV, 120 et seq. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



545 



parish after vespers to organize the " Society of the 
Holy Family" for men. In accordance with the call, 
about sixty men left their comfortable cabins and 
came that afternoon to enroll themselves as the first 
Knights of Our Lady in Chicago. Young and old 
men flocked together, for no matrimonial line was 




SODALITY HALL, HOLY FAMILY PAEISH 

Eleventh and May Streets 

drawn in the beginning. The meeting was called to 
order, and Mr. John Comiskey was appointed tempo- 
rary Secretary (he was afterwards elected perma- 
nent Secretary), and Mr. Patrick Brennan was 
elected first Prefect. The officers were few, and one 



546 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

office, that of Treasurer, remained vacant, due to the 
fact that there was no use for such functionary. 

The organization was known as the " Society of 
the Holy Family" until June 16, 1859, when a 
diploma was received from Rome, under the terms 
of which it was aggregated to the Roman Prima 
Primaria, under the title of " Sodality of the Im- 
maculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary for 
Men" and under the patronage of St. Joseph as sec- 
ondary patron. 

A word with reference to the affiliation or aggre- 
gation of sodalities is apropos. As a civil organiza- 
tion, society, institution, company or corporation has 
no legal existence until it is recognized by competent 
authority, and empowered by grant or charter to 
perform the functions proper to its nature, so no re- 
ligious association has canonical existence until 
recognized, approved and endowed with certain priv- 
ileges or powers by a competent authority in the 
church. Sodalities of the Blessed Virgin are thus 
canonically erected when they receive a charter or 
diploma of the General of the Society of Jesus de- 
claring them to be affiliated or aggregated; that is, 
united to the Prima Primaria or parent sodality in 
Rome, the first one established. It is to this aggre- 
gation or affiliation that the rich indulgences and 
numerous blessings and privileges have been granted, 
and through this they flow to all other sodalities as 
the sap flows from the roots to all the branches — 
hence can be seen the necessity of being united to the 
parent stalk if the society be in truth a sodality of 
the Blessed Virgin. If they be not thus organized 
and governed as far as possible by the rules of the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 547 

Prima Primaria they will soon cease to exist or de- 
generate into social clubs. 2 

The Married Men's Sodality 

The Married Men's Sodality of Holy Family 
Parish was from the beginning the mainstay of the 
parish — as one might call it, the right hand of the 
pastor in carrying on his wonderful work. The 
members went about the parish with him and without 
him to collect funds. They were his chief support in 
conducting fairs in the Loop and in other undertak- 
ings in early clays. They became the main support 
of Father Andrew 'Neill in carrying out his plans 
for a school system. They accompanied him, or went 
without him, from house to house to collect the Sun- 
day school dues, which enabled the distribution of 
free reading matter to the children and the giving of 
free education to those unable to pay, as well as for 
the payment of teachers. These were the labors of 
love of the members of the Men's Sodality in the 
heroic days of the parish. 

One of the first distinctive works of the Married 
Men's Sodality was the establishment of a free cir- 
culating library, to provide good Catholic literature 
for the homes of the parish, which in that day was 
a special boon as that character of reading matter 
was scarce and difficult of attainment. No record re- 
mains as to the location of this first library until 
after the community moved from the pastoral house, 
on May and Eleventh streets, into the college. A 
reference is found to the Married Men's Sodality 
library rooms in the mission house, on May and 

2 From notes by Father Damen in Announcement Book of August 22, 
1858. 



548 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Twelfth streets. This indicates that the old pastoral 
house was put to good use prior to the building of 
the Sodality Hall. In a printed catalogue of the 
Married Men's Sodality, dated 1877, we find 4,055 
books listed. Later, and after the removal to Sodal- 
ity Hall, the number was increased by thousands. In 
the Sodality Hall the Married Men's Sodality was 
joined by the Young Men's organization in building- 
up the library, and the rooms were fitted up with 
every improvement required. A beautiful gallery 
was attached with shelves, and this was crowded with 
books. 





Directors of Married Men's Sodality 


1858 


Rev. 


Arnold Damen, S. J. 


1860 


Rev. 


Michael J. Corbett, S. J. 


1862 


Rev. 


Peter Tschieder, S. J. 


1863 


Rev. 


Dominic Niederkorn, S. J. ; 2nd term, 1866. 


1864 


Rev. 


John DeBlieck, S. J.; 2nd term, 1869-1872; 




3rd term, 1874. 


1867 


Rev. 


John I. Coghlan, S. J. ; 2nd term, 1885-1887. 


1872 


Rev. 


F. X. Kuppens, S. J. 


1875 


Rev. 


Peter DeMeester, S. J.; 2nd term, 1879. 


1877 


Rev. 


Peter Koopmans, S. J. ; 2nd term, 1880-1883. 


1883 


Rev. 


Francis X. Ryan, S. J. 


1887 


Rev. 


Edwin D. Kelly, S. J.; 2nd term, 1897-1902. 


1892 


Rev. 


A. Lambert, S. J. 


1894 


Rev. 


M. P. Dowling, S. J. 


1896 


Rev. 


A. K. Meyer, S. J. 


1902 


Rev. 


James J. O'Meara, S. J. 


1908 


Rev. 


M. F. McNulty, S. J. ; until 1911. 


1911 


Rev. 


C. Lagae, S. J.; until 1915. 


1915 


Rev. 


Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J. 


1921 


Rev. 


Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J. 



In the year 1883, the Married Men's Sodality 
started the Benevolent Association, the purpose of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 549 

which was to unite the whole membership of the 
sodality into one great benevolent union. No medical 
examination was required; there were no officers to 
be paid; in fact, there was no expense whatsoever 
to burden the organization. When, however, a mem- 
ber died, each living member w^as assessed fifty cents 
by the association, and the aggregate of the assess- 
ments was paid to the family of the deceased mem- 
ber. This association attained a total of three 
hundred and sixteen members in 1890 and 1891, and 
from August 1, 1889, to August 1, 1890, paid out in 
benefits $2,003.75. Gradually as other associations, 
both Catholic and non-sectarian, began to offer 
popular insurance, which paid from one to several 
thousand dollars at death, the Benevolent Associa- 
tion declined. It is noteworthy that the Catholic 
Order of Foresters, which was founded in Holy 
Family Parish, received into its ranks nearly all the 
members of the Sodality Benevolent Association, as 
well as many others who were not sodalists. 

Some of the benefits of sodality membership may 
be thus stated: (1) Free use of the library; (2) In- 
teresting instruction; (3) Two Masses for the living 
and dead every month; (4) Annual High Mass every 
year for the deceased members; (5) Plenary indul- 
gence through the Director at the hour of death; (6) 
Officers visit and pray over deceased brothers; (7) 
Pallbearers of the Sodality at the funeral; (8) Office 
of the Dead recited in full assembly; (9) High Mass 
of Requiem soon after burial; (10) Special protec- 
tion of the Blessed Virgin and St. Joseph in life and 
death. 3 

s From the Sodality literature. 



550 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Some of the special activities of the Married Men's 
Sodality deserve mention. In 1905, the Married 
Men's Sodality donated a new Seth Thomas tower 
clock as a Jubilee gift, and, on September 27, 1914, 
presented a beautiful Gold Chalice to Rev. Constan- 
tine Lagae, on the occasion of his Golden Jubilee. 
Father Lagae was at that time Director of the So- 
dality. 

On March 18, 1907, a committee was appointed to 
select singers for the Married Men's Sodality Choir. 
This sodality maintained a fine brass band, which 
played, not only on state occasions, but also on all 
Communion Sundays, and at all their Sunday meet- 
ings as well. In the encyclical on church music, 
Pope Pius X prohibited band music in the church, 
and to compensate for the loss of the band the music 
lovers of the sodality decided to substitute a choir to 
sing on Communion Sundays, at their meetings, and 
if need be, to help out on special occasions. Mr. Leo 
Mutter was director of the choir, which consisted of 
fifteen members, namely: Messrs. Leo Mutter, 
Timothy Manning, Miles J. Walsh, George Herbert, 
Eugene Foster, Louis Michels, Joseph Quigley, M. 
Myers, Andrew Curry, J. P. Curran, Timothy 
O'Connell, John Boothman, A. Murray, P. J. Mor- 
rissey and Charles Boland. There were others, too, 
whose good will in attending rehearsals on Wednes- 
day evenings at Sodality Hall, enabled the married 
men to maintain a strong and permanent choir, able 
to compete with the Married Ladies' Choir. The suc- 
cess of this choir is largely due to Mr. Manning for 
organization, and Mr. Mutter for developing the 
talent. Credit is also due the standing committee, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 551 

composed of Messrs. John Quigley, A. Curry, James 
Cleary, Timothy Manning and George Herbert. 

Devotional hymns sung by male voices proved a 
drawing attraction for the meetings of the sodality. 
It should be noted that the Married Men's Sodality 
Choir is still a live, active institution, and takes its 
place on all proper occasions up to the present time. 

Athletics 

The married men showed their taste and talent in 
the athletic field. It is said that the married men of 
the parish set out to prove that the mere fact that 
they were married did not necessarily mean they 
were old men. i l Why, ' ' said one member of the Mar- 
ried Men's Sodality, "John ," referring to a 

member of the Young Men's Sodality, "is old enough 
to be my father. We will prove to the world that a 
married man doesn't mean an old man by any 
means." 

As a part of the proof a baseball club was or- 
ganized, which played baseball for many seasons in 
the college yard and on the prairies. It was a most 
enjoyable sight, on Sundays, when the married men 
were playing, to see the grand stand occupied by 
their wives and children and other members of the 
parish. They were as exuberant as the most en- 
thusiastic fans. The following from the Church Cal- 
endar of April, 1911, is expressive: 

"The Married Men's Baseball team wishes to announce that 
they are in excellent training, and are out for a jolly good time 
this season. They extend a challenge to any team of their size 
and age, and should they fail to find players worthy of their 
skill they will be content to play among themselves to amuse 
their wives and children, for their club now numbers two 
teams. " 



552 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



553 



Married Men's Base-Ball Club, 1905-1915 



R. McBride 

P. O'Brien 

T. Brougham 

E. Fosters 

W. Hover 

J. McNeil 

A. Murray 

E. Luckey 

\V. Colohan 

R. Hestor 

J. Reilly 

P. Doyle 

J. Morrison 

Rev. Fr. McNulty, S. J. 



C. Melville 
T. O'Connell 

F. Schmitt 

G. Brougham 
F. Klein 

T. Keyes 
E. F. Daly 
Jos. Payne 
Edw. Mclntyre 
Wm. Keating 
J. Clancy 
J. Sullivan 
T. Brady 
H. Cyr 



E. LaBelle 
Wm. Orrell 
Geo. Huber 
T. McBride 
H. Sloan' 
T. Brennan 
T. F. Scully . 
James McNichols 
T. Manning. 
J. Morrisey 
L. Michaels 
A. Luckey 
J. Luckey 



Officers of Married Men's Sodality, 1889-1921 

There are no records of officers of the Married 
Men's Sodality prior to the year 1889. The follow- 
ing roster begins with that year. 

1889 

Prefect Alexander Cairns 

First Assistant Thomas Lynch 

Second Assistant John W. Clancy 

Secretary. William A. Hoyne 

Treasurer Michael Considine 

Sacristan John Esmaker 

Librarian 

Marshal Timothy L. Keyes 

Director of Candidates 

1890 

Prefect Martin F. Carroll 

First Assistant Michael Heeney 

Second Assistant John McDonnell 

Secretary William A. Hoyne 

Treasurer Michael Considine 



554 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Sacristan John Esmaker 

Marshal Timothy L. Keyes 

Librarian Ambrose Ford 

Director of Candidates Brian Farley 

1891 

Prefect Timothy L. Keyes 

First Assistant Philip Farley 

Second Assistant John Esmaker 

Secretary William A. Hoyne 

Treasurer Michael Considine 

Sacristan Thomas J. Holland 

Marshal Cornelius Ryan 

Librarian Ambrose Ford 

Director of Candidates Brian Farley 

1892-1893 

Prefect James J. Keenan 

First Assistant James E. Silk 

Second Assistant Patrick Enright 

Secretary William A. Hoyne 

Treasurer Michael Considine 

Sacristan James Traynor 

Marshal 

Librarian Ambrose Ford 

Director of Candidates Alex Cairns 

1894 

Prefect John Derrig 

First Assistant James D. Tighe 

Second Assistant James J. Keenan 

Secretary William A. Hoyne 

Treasurer Michael Considine 

Sacristan James Traynor 

Marshal Thos. Connolly 

Librarian Thomas J. Holland 

Director of Candidates Alex Cairns 

1897 

Prefect J. J. Keenan 

First Assistant M. Bowler 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 555 

Second Assistant C. F. Clarke 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan J. R. Burdick 

Marshal T. Connelly 

Librarian C. E. McCabe 

Director of Candidates T. Dunn 

1898 

Prefect J.J. Keenan 

First Assistant M. Bowler ' 

Second Assistant C. F. Clarke 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan W. Hover 

Marshal T. Connelly 

Librarian C. E. McCabe 

Director of Candidates T. Dunn 

1899 

Prefect C. Brannick 

First Assistant J. B. Breen 

Second Assistant E. Idler 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan J. T. Daly 

Marshal T. Conley 

Librarian C. F. Clarke 

Director of Candidates M. Quill 

1900 

Prefect J. T. Daly 

First Assistant E. Idler 

Second Assistant T. L. Keyes 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan T. N. Morrison 

Marshal J. P. Gallagher 

Librarian W. Hover 

Director of Candidates M. J. Quill 



556 HOIA FAMILY PARISH 

1901 

Prefect E. Idler 

First Assistant C. Brannick 

Second Assistant C. E. McCabe 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan J. Boylan 

Marshal J. P. Gallagher 

Librarian J. Quigley 

Director of Candidates M. Quill 

1902 

Prefect M. J. Walsh 

First Assistant P. Curran 

Second Assistant J. Boylan 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan H. C. Bolland 

Marshal J. P. Gallagher 

Librarian J. Quigley 

Director of Candidates M. J. Quill 

1903 

Prefect John Quigley 

First Assistant Bernard Callaghan 

Second Assistant Maurice J. Quill 

Secretary J. Boothman 

Treasurer M. J. Considine 

Sacristan J. Boylan 

Marshal W. Hover 

Librarian T. Noonan 

Director of Candidates W. D. McCarthy 

1904 

Prefect B. Callaghan 

First Assistant J. P. Bowler 

Second Assistant M. J. Quill 

Secretary J. P. Curran 

Treasurer M. Considine 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 557 

Sacristan J. Boylan 

Marshal W. Hover 

Librarian J. P. Gallagher 

Director of Candidates E. J. Carney 

1905 

Prefect J. P. Bowler 

First Assistant John Quigley 

Second Assistant Maurice Quill 

Secretary John Curran 

Treasurer M. Considine 

Sacristan H. Sloan 

Marshal J. P. Gallagher 

Librarian W. Hover 

Director of Candidates M. J. Walsh 

1906 

Prefect Maurice Quill 

First Assistant M. H. Sloan 

Second Assistant M. Woods 

Secretary J. P. Curran 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Sacristan James C. Graham 

Marshal Wilson Hover 

Librarian James P. Gallagher 

Director of Candidates Miles Walsh 

1907 

Prefect M. Sloan 

First Assistant Wilson Hover 

Second Assistant Miles Walsh 

Secretary John P. Curran 

Treasurer J. Bowler 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

Marshal Arthur Murray 

Librarian John Quigley 

Director of Candidates M. Cunningham 

1908 

Prefect Martin Carrol 

First Assistant W. Hover 



558 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Second Assistant Andrew Curry 

Secretary J. P. Curran 

Treasurer J. Bowler 

Sacristan James 0. Graham 

Marshal Arthur Murray 

Librarian J. P. Gallagher 

Director of Candidates M. Cunningham 

1909 

Prefect James Reilly 

First Assistant H. Sloan 

Second Assistant M. Cunningham 

Secretary Thomas Brougham 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

Marshal Arthur Murray 

Librarian Martin Carrol 

Director of Candidates P. J. Doyle 

1910-1911 

Prefect John Quigley 

First Assistant Martin Carroll 

Second Assistant Patrick Britt 

Secretary J ohn A. Morrison 

Treasurer J. Bowler 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

Marshal James Reilly 

Librarian Mathew Clarke 

Director of Candidates A. Murray 

1912 

Prefect Henry Sloan 

First Assistant Wilson Hover 

Second Assistant Mathew Clarke 

Secretary J. P. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

Marshal J. P. Gallagher 

Librarian D. J. McComish 

Director of Candidates Patrick Curran 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 559 

1913 

Prefect Patrick 'Donnell 

First Assistant James Cahill 

Second Assistant Patrick Sloan 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

Marshal Thomas Brougham 

Librarian Wilson Hover 

Director of Candidates Patrick Curran 

1914 

Prefect James Cahill 

First Assistant Henry Sloan 

Second Assistant Matthew Kelley 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer , J. P. Bowler 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

Marshal Thomas Brougham 

Librarian D. J. McComish 

Director of Candidates Patrick Sloan 

1915 

Prefect James J. Cahill 

First Assistant Henry Sloan 

Second Assistant Matthew Kelley 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Marshal Thomas Brougham 

Director of Postulants Patrick Sloan 

Librarian Daniel McComish 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

1916 

Prefect Henry Sloan 

First Assistant Matthew Kelley 

Second Assistant P. J. 'Donnell 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 



560 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Marshal Thomas Brougham 

Director of Postulants Patrick Sloan 

Librarian Daniel McComish 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

1917 

Prefect Matthew Kelley 

First Assistant Thomas McGinn 

Second Assistant Carl A. Leidholm 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Marshal John McNamara 

Director of Postulants Patrick Sloan 

Librarian Daniel McComish 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

1918 

Prefect Thomas McGinn 

First Assistant. Carl A. Leidholm 

Second Assistant Matthew Kelley 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Marshal John McNamara 

Director of Postulants Patrick Sloan 

Librarian Daniel McComish 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 

1919-1920-1921 

Prefect Carl A. Leidholm 

First Assistant Matthew Kelley 

Second Assistant John McNamara 

Secretary John J. Quigley 

Treasurer J. P. Bowler 

Marshal John 'Gorman 

Director of Postulants Patrick Sloan 

Librarian Daniel McComish 

Sacristan Andrew Curry 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 561 

Notes on Married Men's Sodality 

There is but one instance on record in which the 
Married Men's Sodality of Holy Family Parish 
openly rebelled against the ruling of the Director. 
The various Irish Catholic societies of the city were 
invited to join the St. Patrick's day parade, which 
was one of those great annual events in the seventies 
and eighties in Chicago. The matter was brought 
up for discussion at a special meeting of the sodality. 
The members mostly favored participation in the 
parade, especially in view of the fact that they had 
a band of their own with a distinctive regalia, ban- 
ners, and floats. Accordingly, the expense could not 
be very great. The Director, Rev. Peter DeMeester, 
S. J., was opposed to the idea, giving various reasons 
why they should not participate in a body, alleging 
that the society was a religious society, and that it 
was the part of a secular society to parade and not 
of a sodality. Finally the straw which broke the 
camel's back was laid on, when it was asserted that 
St. Patrick was not an Irishman anyway. At this 
declaration quite a number of members walked out 
of the basement where the meeting was being held. 

Married Men's Sodality Band 

The large sodality band was organized in the 
winter of 1861-1862 in Patrick Brennan's store at 
the corner of Canal and Wilson streets, and soon 
after the first election was held in the old school- 
house, which had been used as a church in 1860. 
There were twelve members in all, seven married and 
five single, namely: J. P. Creedon, Director; Mar- 
tin Brennan, Treasurer ; Jeremiah Coyne, Secretary ; 
Thomas Brennan, William Granger, Michael Breen, 



562 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

John Tobin, Henry O'Connor, George Powell, 
Thomas Morrissey, Jeremiah Callaghan, Patrick 
Wall and D. Summers. The following sketch of the 
band is provided by Mr. James F. Kennedy, who was 
the Musical Director for about twenty-five years : 

I became a member of the Married Men's Sodality Band 
in 1878. 

Mr. John McShay was instructor at that time, and rehearsals 
were held in the building on the corner of May and Twelfth 
streets in the rear of the Catholic Book Store. 

Among the members at that time were M. Dwyer, James 
Dwyer, James Keys, John Collins, John Boland, John and James 
Maloney, Stephen Dalley, John and James McShay, J. Golden 
and J. Monahan. 

The Band then used the bell front instruments and played 
every Sunday morning for the Sodality in Sodality Hall and 
on the first Sunday of the month at the 7 o'clock Mass in Holy 
Family Church. 

Later new instruments and uniforms were procured. 

The band increased in size and the following were members 
for a long time : John, Edward and Patrick Phelan, Thomas 
McMahon, Jerome and William O'Connell, Edward Rush, Joe 
Bertrand, J. O'Brien, Thomas Carroll, Joe Schwartz, George 
Shaughnessy, Dan Hartnett, John and William Collins, M. 
Faber, Fred Lewis, P. Demiey, Dan Clancy, J. Crowley, Martin 
and Patrick Donahoe and John Cooney. 

John McShay was director until 1885, when James Roddy 
directed until 1890, and from 1890 until the band went out of 
existence (which occurred following an edict issued from Rome 
which forbade the use of brass instruments in Church) I had 
the pleasure and honor of being their leader. 

During my time the Band was composed of thirty or more 
good musicians and took an active part in parish affairs. They 
made a parade every first Sunday before Mass, and led the 
parade to meet the Rt. Rev. Bishops on Confirmation Days. We 
also gave some very fine concerts in Sodality Hall, and the serv- 
ices of the band were always in demand in other parishes for 
Bazaars, etc., notably Sacred Heart, St. Columbkill's, St. Mel's, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



563 




564 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

St. Agatha's and Presentation Churches. Their services were, 
of course, gratis. 

Upon the introduction of the Holy Name Society 
into the parish, at the instance of the Most Rev. Arch- 
bishop, George W. Mundelein, D. D., the Married 
Men's Sodality joined that organization in a body. 
On the second Sunday of the month the former mem- 
bers of the sodality will be found well represented in 
the ranks of the Holy Name, and on the fourth Sun- 
day of the month, the Communion Sunday of the 
men's and boys' sodalities, you will also find the 
married men like veteran soldiers at the Communion 
rail. 

Maeried Ladies' Sodality 

According to authentic accounts the Married 
Ladies' Sodality originated in this manner : As soon 
as the Ladies of the Sacred Heart opened their school 
on Lytle Street, under the title of the "Sacred Heart 
School" a meeting of ladies was called and the So- 
dality of St. Anne was organized. This was the 
nucleus of the Sodality of the "Holy Maternity," 
which was aggregated to the Roman Prima Primaria 
during Rev. Florian Sautois' directorship. The so- 
dality made the Convent of the Sacred Heart its 
headquarters until 1878, when the space became too 
limited for the accommodation of the large member- 
ship. Much good was effected by this sodality in 
giving aid to the poor, visiting the sick, and pre- 
paring the dying for the last Sacraments. 

Rev. P. Murphy, S. J., who was acquainted with 
many of the original members in their lifetime in 
his account of the sodality in the Calendar for 1893, 
says : 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 565 

According to a statement officially sent out in the year 1872, 
the Married Ladies ' Sodality was organized, in 1862, into an 
association called "St. Ann's" or more popularly "The So- 
ciety." Upon close investigation, we can safely date its origin 
from Saturday, July 26, 1861, the day they pronounced their 
first act of consecration, the feast of St. Ann. Their probation 
was very short, lasting only from the preceding Sunday. Their 
first members were quite few, only fourteen. Their first Pre- 
fect was Mrs. Redmond Sheridan (the mother of the dearly 
beloved Mother Sheridan of the Ladies of the Sacred Heart). 
Her assistant was Mrs. Dargan, of 415 S. Morgan street. The 
list of Charter members at that first meeting, on July 26th, 
1861, was as follows: Mrs. Agnes Sheridan, Mrs. Ann McGrath, 
Mrs. Ellen Ward, Mrs. Eliza Turner, Mrs. Margaret Dargan, 
Mrs. Mary Hughes,, Mrs. Anne O'Connell, Mrs. Mary Kilbridge, 
Mrs. Margaret McJohn, Mrs. Sarah McElroy, Mrs. Mary Clark. 

They dressed in simple and sombre colors. They wore a large 
medal of St. Anne attached to a pink ribbon, that reached 
around the neck, a very large black veil, a gown not much dif- 
fering in color from the veil, all of which suggested penance 
and death. They would have gone deeper into mourning were 
it not that Mrs. Dargan strenuously opposed their desire to be- 
come as unworldly as possible. They continued to wear this 
dress for fourteen years. 

Father Damen was their nominal director, till 1869, when 
Father Setters was appointed their first regular director. As 
long as they met at the Convent of the Sacred Heart, on Taylor 
and Lytle streets, the Ladies of the Sacred Heart had almost 
exclusive management of the Sodality. When Father Sautois 
became director in 1873, he had the Sodality joined to the Prima 
Primaria in Rome. On September 1, 1875, the date of their 
diploma, they became regular socialists. In 1878, their number 
became so large that they were obliged to transfer their head- 
quarters to the basement of the Church and later into the Sodal- 
ity Hall, when this building was completed, 1880-1881. The mus- 
tard seed planted in 1861, has grown into a wide spreading tree, 
the few have multiplied rapidly, and the good work still goes on. 

To Mother Gallwey, the founder of the Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart, in Chicago, should be given the credit of the formation 



566 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of the Married Ladies' Sodality. She possessed a genius for 
organization. She saw the immense good that would result 
from an organization of Married Ladies in a growing parish, 
such as the Holy Family then was. Consequently Mother Gall- 
wey and her worthy successors, especially Madam Schneider, 
gave special instructions to them on regular occasions and this 
kept up during the seventeen years that the Sacred Heart Con- 
vent was their headquarters. The deep religious training, the 
many beautiful traits of character and manners instilled into 
this association during all these years, have borne abundant 
fruit, first in the saintly lives of those good ladies, second in 
the happy Christian and Catholic atmosphere of the homes, 
created by the influence of those good mothers of families, third 
in the Catholic training of their offspring, fourth in the good 
innocent lives of the youths of both sexes. This can be best 
judged by the great number of young men and women who 
made the "heroic act" by consecrating themselves irrevocably 
to the service of God. The long association of eighteen years 
of the Married Ladies with the "Madams" as they were gen- 
erally called, produced in them a loyalty and attachment which 
was marvelous. This was exemplified by the sorrow and distress 
felt by all the members of the Married Ladies* Sodality in after 
years at the regrettable departure of the Ladies of the Sacred 
Heart from the scenes of so much heroic sacrifice for God and 
their neighbor. 4 

With the opening of the Sodality Hall, the Married Ladies' 
Sodality began to grow in numbers and efficiency. But it was 
under the direction of Reverend Constantine Lagae, S. J., from 
1885 to 1895, that it reached the zenith of its greatness. After 
one of the great retreats given to the Married Ladies' Sodality, 
three hundred and thirty persons applied for admission. Al- 
though the Sodality Chapel accommodated from eight hundred 
to a thousand people, the members had to be separated into 
two divisions in order to accommodate them at their Sunday 
meetings. Later, under the direction of Rev. A. K. Meyers, 
S. J., they held their Sunday meetings in the basement of the 
Church, so as to have them all in one body at the regular meet- 

* See account of the labors of the Madames of the Sacred Heart, ChapteT 
XVII. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 567 

ings. This custom continued for several years, and until the 
membership became so reduced that all could meet at one time 
in the Sodality Hall Chapel. This reduction was mainly due 
to the great number who moved out of the parish, from 1900 
to 1921. The number of members of the Married Ladies' Sodal- 
ity who went to Communion on Sunday, August 2, 1885, was 
841. There were 196 absent and 87 excused, making a total 
of 975. 5 

The Married Ladies' Benevolent Association was 
established in August, 1890. The object of this asso- 
ciation was the same as that of the Married Men's, 
which was established several years before. The aim 
was to have a fund for the burial expenses of mem- 
bers. We quote from the Calendar of January, 1 894 : 

"The Benevolent Society is now two years and five months 
old. Its membership reaches 1,025. Since its organization, 
twenty-eight members have died and $6,002 have been distrib- 
uted to the families of the deceased. The officers give their serv- 
ices gratis, that is what no other society can claim. This is a 
ureat blessing to the Holy Family Parish." 

The officers of the Benevolent Association elected 
for 1894 were as follows : 

Financial Secretary, Mrs. E. A. Gubbins; Treas- 
urer, Mrs. M. Sullivan; Secretaries and Collectors 
for the eight divisions, the Mesdames M. Anderson, 
K McCabe, E. McEnery, M. Lynch, M. Maloney, M. 
O'Connell, F. Cunningham, N. Dwyer; Collectors, C. 
Rapp, M. Conroy, M. Lawler, J. Branick, M. Garvey, 
M. McElherne, A. O'Brien, M. O'Brien; District 
Managers, N. Mackey, W. Kelly, L. Walsh, M. Col- 
lins, M. Forbes, M. Murphy, M. McGrath, M. Mahon, 
M. Guthrie, M. Noonan, M. Walsh, M. Jones, A. 
Horn, M. Fortin, M. Walsh, K. McQuade, K. 

5 This is the first record found of the number of members approaching 
the sacraments in a body. 



568 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Murphy, B. Matthews, D. C. McDermott, J. Cum- 
mings, M. Martin, A. Fletcher, L. K. Minihan, M. 
Ross, B. Donohue, B. McMahon, E. Quigley, S. Tur- 
ner, K. Bartley. 

The Benevolent Association, after several years of 
existence, had paid out $22,000 in death benefits. All 
this good was accomplished with but very little ex- 
pense to the individual members, only twenty-five 
cents tax on each member at the death of an asso- 
ciate. Eventually the Association met the same fate 
as that of the Married Men's and the Young Ladies' 
Sodalities, and for the same cause, i. e., the great 
number of mutual insurance associations that sprang 
up from 1880 to 1900, but principally the Catholic 
Order of Foresters, Catholic Benevolent Legion, 
Catholic Knights and Ladies of America, also many 
non-sectarian associations. The members saw a 
greater opportunity for bettering themselves and 
they availed themselves of it. 

Married Ladies' Sodality Library 

Up to 1889, the Married Ladies had no library of 
their own. In the month of January of 1889, their 
new library was organized, under the direction of 
Rev. C. J. Lagae, S. J. A new room was prepared 
in the basement of the Sodality Hall, and equipped 
with every modern convenience suitable for library 
purposes. This room occupied the northwest corner, 
facing Eleventh and May streets. Contributions 
were called for and in a short time a stream of money 
flowed in, members contributing from ten dollars 
down to twenty-five cents. Large, beautiful golden 
oak cases with glass fronts were built, and long 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 569 

library tables and furniture of exquisite workman- 
ship installed. Within a very short time the shelves 
were filled with books under the magic hand of 
Father Lagae and the very able management of Mrs. 

B. Palmer and her able assistants, the Mesdames 
Mabbs, Enright, Fay, P. Hammil, Keefe, Holton, 
Ryan and Wilson. 

The number of books in the new library, according 
to the catalogue, reached a total of 7,284. 

Other Activities of the Married Ladies' Sodality 

The marble statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary, 
over the entrance of the Sodality Hall, was donated 
by the Married Ladies' Sodality, in 1894. In 1895, 
they donated a beautiful velvet carpet for the Sanc- 
tuary in the Church. In 1904, they donated the 
window for the east transept of the Church. In 1914, 
they donated a magnificent set of Vestments to Rev. 

C. Lagae on the occasion of his Golden Jubilee. 
The Married Ladies' Sodality still keeps up the 

traditions which their good mothers learned from 
the revered Mother Gallwey and her worthy suc- 
cessors, added to and amplified by the great founder 
of the parish and the worthy directors who came 
after him down to the present day. Although 
diminished in number, they are legion whenever they 
put their hand to an undertaking. The Married 
Ladies always lead — never follow. They have con- 
tributed in a thousand ways for the benefit of the 
parish, to the poor, to the orphans and to the Mis- 
sions, both foreign and domestic. To recount their 
works in detail would require a volume. All that is 



570 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



aimed at in this work is merely to record their prin- 
cipal activities. 6 

The total membership of the Married Ladies' So- 
dality was 2,600. 



Spiritual Directors of the Married Ladies' Sodalit; 


1869 


Rev. 


John Setters, S. J. 


1873 


Rev. 


Florian Sautois, S. J. 


1876 


Rev. 


John Schultz, S. J. 


1878 


Rev. 


Charles Filling, S. J. 


1879 


Rev. 


Henery C. Bronsgeest, S. J. 


1880 


Rev. 


Peter Tschieder, S. J. 


1885 


Rev. 


Constantine Lagae, S. J. 


1895 


Rev. 


Ferdinand L. Weinman, S. J. 


1896 


Rev. 


Michael P. Dowling, S. J. 


1897 


Rev. 


Augustine K. Meyer, S. J. 


1903 


Rev. 


John J. Neenan, S. J. 


1914-1921 


Rev. Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J. 



As we have no record of the officers of the Married 
Ladies' Sodality prior to 1886, we present a list of 
names submitted by some of the older members of 
the Sodality. This list applies to Ladies of the So- 
dality and perhaps to some few others who may not 
have been members of the organization prior to the 
year 1886. Some of these names appear on the list 
of officers after 1886. The object is to preserve the 
memory of all those good ladies who aided Father 
Damen and his worthy assistants in the upbuilding 
cf Holy Family Parish and its various institutions. 

6 By following the accounts of the Married Ladies' Sodality in the Church 
Calendar and other publications one will be impressed with the great works 
of the society. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



571 



Charter Members 
Madam Gallwey Organizer of the Sodality 

Mrs. Sheridan, First Prefect 

Mrs. McJohn Mrs. Halpin 

Mrs. De Voe Mrs. Wilson 

Mrs. Roper Mrs. Daugherty 

Mrs. Turner Mrs. Nugent 

Mrs. McElroy Mrs. Dubia 

Mrs. McAvoy Mrs. Smith 

Mrs. Marsh Mrs. Conway 

Mrs. Richie Mrs. Lambert 

Mrs. Dargan Mrs. Stubbs 

Mrs. Hafey Mrs. J. Reardon 

Mrs. Ryan Mrs. M. Reardon 

Mrs. McGraw Mrs. Young 

Mrs. Lundey Mrs. Houlihan 

Mrs. Gleason Mrs. Byrne 

Mrs. Scanlan Mrs. Lowrey 

Mrs. Lawler Mrs. Fitzpatrick 

Mrs. Masterson Mrs. Minehan 

Mrs. Reardon Mrs. Gorman 

Mrs. Cronin Mrs. Murray 

Mrs. Lawley Mrs. Farly 

Mrs. Comiskey Mrs. Baggot 

Mrs. Barron Mrs. Brenock 
Mrs. F. Lawler - 

List of Officers of the Married Ladies' Sodality 
December 19th, 1886 to 1921 

1886 

Prefect Mrs. Smith 

First Assistant Mrs. Palmer 

Second Assistant Mrs. Ragor 

Secretary Mrs. Dwyer 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. Dady 

Marshal Mrs. Turner 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. Dovle 



572 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

1887-1888 

Prefect Mrs. Dwyer 

First Assistant Mrs. Palmer 

Second Assistant Mrs. Ragor 

Secretary Mrs. Sheeler 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. Hoy 

Marshal Mrs. 'Brien 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. Doyle 

1888-1889 

Prefect Mrs, Dwyer 

First Assistant Mrs. Palmer 

Second Assistant Mrs. 'Brien 

Secretary Mrs. Sheeler 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Burns* 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates 

1889-1890 

Prefect Mrs. Palmer 

First Assistant Mrs. Sheeler 

Second Assistant Mrs. McGuire 

Secretary Mrs. O'Neill 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. Doylo 

1890-1891 

Prefect Mrs. Palmer 

First Assistant Mrs, Sheeler 

Second Assistant 

Secretary Mrs. 'Neill 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 573 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. Doyle 

1891-1892 

Prefect '. . . . Mrs. Lawler 

First Assistant Mrs. Sheeler 

Second Assistant Mrs. McGuire 

Secretary Mrs. McEnery 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Airs. O'Brien 

1892-1893 

Prefect Mrs. Lawler 

First Assistant Mrs. Sheeler 

Second Assistant Mrs. McGuire 

Secretary Mrs. McEnery 

Treasurer Mrs. Stubbs 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. O'Brien 

1893-1894 

Prefect Mrs. Gubbins 

First Assistant Mrs. McEnery 

Second Assistant Mrs. Garvey 

Secretary Mrs. 'Neill 

Treasurer Mrs. Adamson 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. O'Brien 



574 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

1894-1895 

Prefect Mrs. Gubbins 

First Assistant Mrs. Garvey 

Second Assistant Mrs. McEnery 

Secretary Mrs. King 

Treasurer Mrs. Adamson 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. Dwyer 

1895-1896 

Prefect Mrs. Mary Garvey 

First Assistant Mrs. M. McEnery 

Second Assistant Mrs. A. King- 
Treasurer Mrs. Adamson 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

1896-1897 

Prefect Mrs. Mary Garvey 

First Assistant Mrs. M. McEnery 

Second Assistant Mrs. A. King 

Treasurer . . .Mrs. Adamson 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal ' Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

1897-1898 

Prefect Mrs. Mary Garvey 

First Assistant Mrs. Mary McEnery 

Second Assistant Mrs. Alice King 

Secretary Mrs. Maggie Breen 

Treasurer Mrs. Adamson 

Sacristan Mrs. 'Rourke 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 575 

1898-1899 

Prefect Mrs, Mary McEnery 

First Assistant Mrs. Jane Branick 

Second Assistant Mrs. Alice King 

Secretary Mrs. Mary Rogers 

Treasurer Mrs. M. Lynch 

Sacristan Mrs. Dady 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Marshal Mrs. Ellen Smith 

Mistress of Candidates Mrs. Nellie Dwyer 

1899-1900 

Prefect Mrs. Mary McEnery 

First Assistant Mrs. Jane Branick 

Second Assistant Mrs, Mary Rogers 

Secretary Mrs. Margaret Hayes 

Treasurer Mrs. May Lynch 

Sacristans Mrs. Annie Anderson . 

Mrs. Mary McElherne 

Librarian Mrs. Delia Palmer 

Marshal Mrs. Ellen Smith 

1900-1901 

Prefect Mrs, Jane Branick 

First Assistant Mrs. Mary Rogers 

Second Assistant Mrs. Nellie McCabe 

Secretary Mrs. Breen 

Treasurer Mrs. Mary Lynch 

Sacristan Mrs. Mary McElhern 

Marshal Mrs. Smith 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates 

1902-1903 

Prefect Mrs. Mary Rogers 

First Assistant Mrs. Nellie McCabe 

Second Assistant Mrs. Hary Hoy 

Secretary. Mrs. Margaret Hayes 

Treasurer Mrs. Mary Lynch 



576 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Sacristan Mrs. Mary McElheru 

Marshal Mrs. Mary McEnery 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

1904-1905 

Prefect Mrs. Nellie McCabe 

First Assistant Mrs. Mary Hoy 

Second Assistant Mrs. Margaret Hayes 

Secretary Mrs. Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer Mrs. Mary Lynch 

Sacristan Mrs. Mary McElhern 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Marshal Mrs, Mary McEnery 

Directress of Candidates Mrs. Mary Horan 

1906-1907 

Prefect Mary Hoy 

First Assistant Margaret Hayes 

Second Assistant Mary Horan 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer 

Sacristan Mrs. McElhern 

Marshal Mary McEnery 

Librarian Mrs. Palmer 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

1908-1909 

Prefect Margaret Hays 

First Assistant Mary Horan 

Second Assistant Marie Maher 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer 

Sacristan Mary McElherne 

Marshal Mary Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

1910-1911 

Prefect Marie Maher 

First Assistant Mary Murray 

Second Assistant Mary McNellis 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 577 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer 

Sacristan Annie Anderson 

Marshal Mary Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

1912-1913 

Prefect Mary Murray 

First Assistant Mary McNellis 

Second Assistant Frances Guthris 

Secretary Mary Sheller 

Treasurer 

Sacristan Annie Anderson 

Marshal Mrs. Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

1914-1915-1916 

Prefect Mrs. McNellis 

First Assistant Maria Foley 

Second Assistant Nora Fitzmaurice 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer 

Sacristan Annie Anderson 

Marshal Mrs. Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

1917-1918 

Prefect Marie Foley 

First Assistant Nora Fitzmaurice 

Second Assistant Margaret Berg 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer Mary McNellis 

Sacristan Annie Anderson 

Marshal Mary Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 



578 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

1919 

Prefect Nora Fitzmaurice 

First Assistant Margaret Berg 

Second Assistant Kittie Hover 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer Mary McNellis 

Sacristan Annie Anderson 

Marshal Mary Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

1920-1921 

Prefect Mary McNichols 

First Assistant Margaret Berg 

Second Assistant Kittie Hover 

Secretary Mary Sheeler 

Treasurer Mary McNellis 

Sacristan Annie Anderson 

Marshal Mary Hoy 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Marie Sullivan 

Married Ladies' Sodality 
By-Laws 

I. 

This Sodality is established in favor of married ladies and 
Christian mothers. 

II. 

1. The object of this Sodality is the improvement of its 
members in every Christian virtue, and, especially, in a tender 
devotion to the Mother of God — the Queen, the Patroness and 
Model of Christian mothers — under the patronage of St. Anne, 
her blessed mother, in order to draw down the blessings of 
Heaven on themselves and on every member of their respective 
families. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 579 

III. 

The duties prescribed are few and of easy observance, viz. : 

1. On the first Sunday of the month, all the members 
assemble in the basement of the Church, to go to Holy Com- 
munion in a body at the 7 o'clock Mass in the Church. 

2. On the Communion Sunday all are to bring a Communion 
ticket of their respective guild with their Sodality number. 

3. They meet twice a month at a quarter to three o'clock in 
the afternoon of the second and fourth Sundays of each month, 
in the Married Ladies' Sodality Hall. Those who are absent 
from the meetings or from Communion should send their excuse 
as soon as possible. 

4. All are to wear the Badge and Medal of the Sodality on 
Communion morning. 

5. The officers only wear them at Sunday meetings, but the 
other members should wear then their Medal and Ribbon. 

IV. 

1. Two Masses are celebrated every month for the living 
and deceased members of the Sodality, and an Anniversary 
High Mass every year for all the deceased members. 

V. 

1. In case of sickness, the sick member is visited by the mem- 
bers of the Sodality. 

2. On the decease of a member a High Mass is celebrated 
for the repose of her soul. The officers and members will attend 
the funeral and all should wear their uniforms. 

3. All the members of the Married Ladies' Sodality have a 
right to the use of the Library, which will be open every Sunday 
from 3 to 4 p. m., except on the second and fourth Sundays 
when it will be open from 4 to 5 p. m., and on all Mondays 
from 8 to 9 p. m. 

The Yoitng Ladies' Sodality 

In the summer of 1861 the fathers canvassed the 
sparsely settled parish for suitable candidates for 
the Young Ladies' Sodality and succeeded in finding 



580 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

thirty or forty — all that then actually lived in the 
parish ; first settlers did not come with large families. 

The young ladies met in the schoolhouse attached 
to the Sacred Heart Academy, at the corner of Taylor 
and Lytle streets, in the identical building now 
standing on the northwest corner of Taylor street 
and Blue Island avenue. There they held their 
weekly meetings, until the following winter, when 
they moved to the basement of the Church, or rather 
to that portion of it lying under the transept which 
had been transformed to a neat and cozy room. 

At first the members wore, on Communion days, 
the large miraculous medals suspended from a broad 
ribbon that encircled the neck, and a long white veil 
which fell back gracefully over the shoulders, reach- 
ing below the waist. 

On August 15th, "Lady Day," in the harvest of 
1861, this small band of thirty or forty assembled in 
the Church to make their first act of consecration to 
the Blessed Virgin. That first number has increased 
a hundred fold, and the prayers accompanying the 
act have often since ascended from virgin hearts to 
the throne of Grace and drawn down upon the young 
ladies of the parish many blessings from the Mother 
of Divine Grace. The following year, on December 
8, 1862, the Sodality was united to the Roman Prima 
Primaria under the title of the "Immaculate Con- 
ception of the Blessed Virgin Mary," St. Aloysius 
being its Patron. 

The first Sunday of the month was observed as a 
general Communion day for the first time on May 
4, 1862, and on this occasion the members wore white 
veils. At a meeting held in the afternoon, it was de- 
cided that the seven o'clock Mass on the third Sun- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 58] 

day of each month, should be offered up for the 
spiritual and temporal welfare of the members, and 
that the election of the principal officers should take 
place every four months. 

On June 1, 1862, the members of the Sodality took 
part in the procession in the Church at the conclusion 
of the month of Mary, all the members wearing white 
dresses and veils. 

On June 22, within the octave of Corpus Christi, 
sixty-two members of the Sodality in white dresses 
and veils, took part in the solemn procession of the 
Blessed Sacrament which took place out-doors. 

On Tuesday, November 4, 1862, the Rt. Rev. 
Bishop visited the meeting of the Sodality and made 
some very felicitous remarks about the great number 
of Sodalists present, and the virtue and value of the 
Sodality. 

After the completion of the Sodality Hall the 
Young Ladies were furnished with a beautiful chapel 
and library room. The chapel was beautified by a 
series of oil paintings of "A Child of Mary" in her 
various daily occupations. This chapel has been im- 
proved from time to time until it is a veritable home 
of beauty. 

The library and reading room of the Young Ladies' 
Sodality is, perhaps, not surpassed in its furnishings 
by any other such organization in Chicago. The 
library itself is stocked with books, the aggregate 
cost of which is very large. 

The report made on April 4, 1898, showed a total 
membership of eight hundred and fifty, all in good 
standing. This is the high mark, as it was about this 
time that the people began to move out of the parish 
in great numbers. 



582 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The Ladies' Benevolent Association was organized 
on August 1, 1894, and a Young Ladies' branch was 
established, with the following officers : 

Miss Agnes Hammil Vice-President 

Miss Mary O'Connor Secretary 

Miss Kate Shannon . . Collector of Division No. 9 

Miss Julia Morgan Secretary 

Miss Maggie Roach.. Collector of Division No. 10 
These officers resolved, in their first meeting, to 
hold in the future three regular meetings every 
month to transact the business connected with the 
association. 

This Ladies' Benevolent Association originated 
with the Married Men's Sodality in the early eighties 
for the purpose of helping the sick and burying the 
dead. The Married Ladies' Sodality took it up 
under the leadership of Rev. Lagae and the Young- 
Ladies followed later, although their membership 
was never large. The object of the Association did 
not appeal to the young ladies very strongly and 
the membership in the Benevolent contingent grad- 
ually dwindled away. 

The Golden Jubilee of the Young Ladies' Sodality 
was celebrated from Sunday, October 15, to Sunday, 
October 22, 1911. The following was the program: 

The Golden Jubilee of the Organization op 

The Young Ladies ' Sodality of Holy Family Parish 

Nineteen Hundred and Eleven 

PROGRAM 

Sunday, October 15 to Sunday, October 22 

Retreat For Young Ladies 

Under the auspices of the Young Ladies' Sodality 

Evening Exercises at 8 p. m., Beads, Sermon and Benediction 

Morning Exercises at 6 a. m., Mass and Short Sermon. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 583 

Evening Sermons 

Sunday, October 15, at 8 p. m. — "Martha, Martha, thou art 
careful and art troubled about many things, but one thing is 
necessary." Luke X, 41, 42. 

Rev. P. A. Mullens, S. J. 

Monday, October 16, at 8 p. m. — "Know thou and see that it 
is an evil and a bitter thing to have left the Lord thy God." 
Jer. II, 19. 

Rev. D. M. Johnson, S. J. 

Tuesday, October 17, at 8 p. m. — "Man's days are as grass, 
as the flower of the field so shall he flourish." Ps. Gil, 15. 
Rev. H. S. Spalding, S. J. 

Wednesday, October 18, at 8 p. m. — ' ' The mercies of the Lord 
that we are not consumed." Lamen. Ill, 22. 
Rev. D. M. Johnson, S. J. 

Thursday, October 19, at 8 p. m. — "Give us this day our 
daily bread." 

Rev. F. G. Dinneen, S. J. 

Friday, October 20, at 8 p. m. — "Because she hath loved 
much." Luke VII, 47. 

Rev. H. S. Spalding, S. J. 

Sunday, October 22, at 7 a. m. 
Holy Communion Mass in the Upper Church. 

Celebrant Rev. Ferdinand A. Moeller, S. J. 

Deacon Rev. Martin Bronsgeest, S. J . 

Subdeacon Rev. Thomas A. Nolan, S. J. 

Master of Ceremonies Rev. Wm. H. Trentman, S. J. 

Holy Family Church Acolythical Society 
Young Ladies' Sodality Choir 

Organist Mr. Leo Mutter 

Breakfast in the Students' Dining Room for members of the 
Young Ladies' Sodality. 

Solemn Closing of the Retreat and Golden Jubilee Service 
Sunday, October 22, at 8 p. m. 

Prelude ; . Saint Saena 

Orchestra and Organ 



584 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Chorus — "Praise Ye the Lord" Randegger 

Sermon Rev. P. A. Mullens, S. J. 

"In doubts, difficulties and dangers, think of Mary. Fol- 
lowing her, you will not go astray. Clasping her hand you will 
not fall. Under her protection you need not fear. When she 
leads you, you will not grow weary. When she favors you, you 
will reach home in safety. " — From St. Bernard. 
Chorus — ' ' Alma Virgo " Hummel 

Papal Blessing 

Act of Consecration to the B. V. M. 

Solemn Benediction of the Most Blessed Sacrament 

Celebrant The Most Rev. James Edward Quigley, D. D. 

Deacon Rev. Alexander J. Burrowes, S. J. 

Subdeacon Rev. R. J. Rosswinkel, S. J. 

Master of Ceremonies Rev. W. H. Trentman, S. J. 

Holy Family Church Choral Society 

Chorus — ' * Salutaris " Gaul 

Chorus — " Tantum Ergo" Morrison 

"Te Deum— God of Might" 
Congregation, Chorus, Orchestra and Organ 

Postlude Meyerbeer 

Mrs. Josephine Bradshaw Soprano 

Miss Anna C. Byrne Alto 

Mr. Charles Joy Tenor 

Mr. Robert J. McQuirk Bass 

Chorus of 50 Voices 

Mr. J. F. Pribyl Assistant Director 

Mr. Leo Mutter Director and Organist 

Monday, October 23, at 6 :30 a. m. 

Solemn Requiem Mass 

For the Deceased Members of the Young Ladies' Sodality 

Celebrant Rev. Alexander J. Burrowes, S. J. 

Deacon Rev. Ferdinand A. Moeller, S. J. 

Subdeacon Rev. Martin Bronsgeest, S. J. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 585 

Tuesday, October 24, at 8 p. m. 

All the members of the several Sodalities in the parish are 
cordially invited to attend the 

Reunion and Reception in the Sodality Hall 
Piano Solo — ' ' Endearing Young Charms " 

Miss Catherine Dowdle 

Address Rev. Alexander J. Burrowes, S. J. 

Soprano Solo — ' ' A Gypsy Maiden I " Miss Lucy Shannon 

Address. Count William J. Onahan 

Quartette — ' 'Kerry Dance "..... Malloy 

Soprano, Miss Henrietta Mutter; Tenor, Mr. Horian Des- 
marais ; Alto, Miss Gertie Mutter ; Basso, Mr. Joseph Hardyman. 

Address The Rt, Rev. Paul P. Rhode, D. D. 

Piano Solo Miss Flossie McElherne 

Adjournment to the Assembly Hall. 

Ushers 

Nicholas Boswell John McGrath 

Andrew Garvey Dan O'Brien 

John Hannigan James Reilly 

Michael Kearney Thomas Shannon 

Leo Kennedy Peter Sullivan 

Michael McNellis Frank Wilson 

John McGourty Frank Ziemsen 

The Young Ladies' Sodality has always been one 
of the glories of Holy Family Parish. It has co- 
operated in every good work inaugurated in the 
parish. It has furnished virgin brides of Christ in 
great numbers, perhaps in excess of any parish in 
the United States during its sixty -four years of ex- 
istence. God alone knows the quantity of good ac- 
complished by the members in the Convent, in the 
school, in the shop, in society, and especially in the 
home. To be a member of Holy Family Young 
Ladies' Sodality was a recommendation which gave 
the entree to any Catholic home or circle. Although 
diminished in numbers for causes common to all the 



586 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




SPIRITUAL DIRECTORS YOUNG LADIES' SODALITY 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 587 

Sodalities, the Young Ladies' Sodality is vigorous 
and energetic in all of its undertakings. 



Directors of the Young Ladies' Sodality 1861-1921 


Rev. Maurice Oakley, S. J 


..1861-1862 


Rev. James C. Van Goch, S. J 


. .1862-1863 


Rev. James Converse, S. J 


..1863-1864 


Rev Michael J. Lawlor, S. -I 


. .1864-1866 


Rev. John F. O'Neil, S. J 


. .1866-1868 


Rev. John De Blieck, S. J 


. . .1868-1872 


Rev. Ferdinand Coosemans, S. J. 


...1872-1873 


Rev. Dominic Niederkorn, S. J 


...1873-1874 


Rev. John De Blieck, S. J 


..1874-1879 


Rev. Dominic Niederkorn, S. J 


. .1879-1880 


Rev. Henry C. A. Bronsgeest, S. J.. 


...1880-1883 


Rev. Francis X. Kuppens, S. J 


...1883-1885 


Rev. John D. Condon, S. J 


...1885-1895 


Rev. Martin M. Bronsgeest, S. J.. . . 


. . .1895-1897 


Rev. Eugene H. Brady, S. J 


...1897-1898 


Rev. Reinhard Rosswinkel, S. J 


...1898 


Rev. John A. Gonser, S. J 


...1898-1908 


Rev. Henry Dumbach, S. J 


..1908-1910 


Rev. Ferdinand A. Moeller, S. J. . . . 


..1910-1916 


Rev. H. Pickert, S. J 


...1916-1919 


Rev. W.A.Nash, S.J 


. . .1919-1921 


Rev. Edward A. Jones, S. J 


...1921 



Officers of the Young Ladies' Sodality 

The minute book of the Young Ladies' Sodality 
shows that, on Sunday, August 11, 1861, a meeting 
was called for the purpose of organizing a Young- 
Ladies' Sodality. The meeting took place in a 
school room of the Convent of the Ladies of the 
Sacred Heart on West Taylor and Lytle streets. The 
meeting was called to order by the Reverend Direc- 
tor, Father Maurice Oakley, S. J., at 4 P. M. At 



588 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

this first meeting thirty-eight young ladies joined. 
Their names follow: 

Ann Riley, Ellen O'Mara, Anastasia Anderson, 
Lizzie Sheridan, Bridget Donnelly, Honora O 'Brien, 
Mary Larkin, Eliza Burns, Bridget McNamara, 
Mary Harold, Margaret Kehoe, Elizabeth Brady, 
Jane Sherlock, Ellen Murphy, Ellen Kehoe, Lizzie 
Finney, Mary O'Connell, Ann Finney, Catherine 
Ryder, Mary Carroll, Annie Hogan, Mary Conley, 
Kate Snyder, Julia Madden, Eliza Moran, Mary 
Lorden, Anna Bartley, Mary Sherlock, Felicia 
Buggy, Mary Kennedy, Maggie Kennedy, Ann 
Coughlney, Julia McGrath, Mary McGrath, Mary 
Meeks, Catherine Fox. 

On August 18, 1861, at the second meeting of the 
Sodality, the Reverend Director appointed the fol- 
lowing officers pro tern. : Prefect, Miss Harriet 
Kennedy ; First Assistant, Mary Lorden ; Second As- 
sistant, Mary Hunt; Consultors, The Misses Lizzie 
Finney, Ellen Kelly, Ann Sherlock, Annie Finney, 
Ellen Cassidy and Annie Bremner. 

On November 17, the feast of the Patroness of 
the B. Y. M., the following officers were duly elected 
by the members of the Sodality : Prefect, Lizzie Fin- 
ney; First Assistant, Mary Lorden; Second As- 
sistant, Ellen Kelly. This was the first official elec- 
tion of the Sodality. 

On December 1 the following appointments were 
made : Consultors. The Misses Annie Finney, Mary 
Sherlock, Annie Bremner, Annie Madden, Margaret 
Quaid, Catherine Frances Hickey, Bridget Keenan, 
Honora Field, Elten McGrath and Mary Heelan. 
Miss Honora Field was elected Secretary and Annie 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 589 

Bremner Treasurer. Rev. Maurice Oakley, S. J., 
was the Director for the years 1861-1862. 

The following are the names of the officers from 
August 11, 1861, to 1921, inclusive, with the excep- 
tion of the years 1867-75-76-77-78-79 the records for 
which years are missing. From 1880 to 1921, the 
names of the officers are also compiled in alphabetical 
order. August 11, 1861 

Prefect Miss Harriet Kennedy 

First Assistant Mary Lorden 

Second Assistant .Mary Hunt 

November 17, 1861 

Prefect Miss Lizzie Finney 

First Assistant Miss Mary Lorden 

Second Assistant Miss Ellen Kelly 

.June 8, 1862 

Prefect Miss Honora Field 

First Assistant Miss Annie Madden 

Second Assistant Miss Mary Sherlock 

October 26, 1862 

Prefect Miss Honora Field 

First Assistant Miss Margaret Hickey 

Second Assistant Miss Jane Keenai) 

November 23, 1862 

Prefect Miss Honora Field 

First Assistant Miss Margaret Hickey 

Second Assistant Miss Jane Keenan 

Secretary Miss Mary Cassidy 

Treasurer Miss Mary Anderson 

March 1, 1863 

Prefect Honora Field 

First Assistant Annie Madden 

Second Assistant Ellen Cassidy 

Secretary Miss Mary Lorden 

Treasurer Miss Margaret O'Connor 

Sacristan Miss Julia Madden 



590 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

June 14, 1863 

Prefect Mary Lorden 

First Assistant Ellen Cassidy 

Second Assistant Honora Field 

Treasurer Margaret 'Connor 

Secretary Ellen Murphy 

Sacristan Julia Madden 

October 18, 1863 

Prefect Mary Lorden 

First Assistant Ellen Gorman 

Second Assistant Ellen Madden 

Secretary Honora Field 

Treasurer Margaret 'Connor 

Sacristan Julia Madden 

February 21, 1864 

Prefect Mary Cronin 

First Assistant Mary Cassidy 

Second Assistant Anna Bremner 

Secretary Ellen Cassidy 

Treasurer Margaret 'Connor 

Sacristan Annie Madden 

June 19, 1864 

Prefect Mary Sherlock 

First Assistant Mary Cassidy 

Second Assistant Annie Madden 

Secretary Ellen Cassidy 

Treasurer Mary Holland 

Sacristan Julia Madden 

May 28, 1865 

Prefect Miss Mary Anderson 

First Assistant Miss Mary Sherlock 

Second Assistant Miss Honora Bartley 

October 1, 1865 

Prefect Miss Honora Field 

First Assistant Miss Annie Madden 

Second Assistant Miss Jane Adams 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 591 

Secretary Miss Bridget Dwyer 

Treasurer Miss Mary Adams 

Sacristan Miss Anna Philbin 

April 8, 1866 

Prefect Miss Honora Field 

First Assistant Miss Bridget Dwyer 

Second Assistant Miss Ellen Gorman 

Secretary Miss Anne Philbin 

Treasurer Miss Annie Madden 

Sacristan Miss Mary Adams 

December 16, 1866 

Prefect Miss Jane Adams 

First Assistant Miss Ellen Gorman 

Second Assistant Miss Mary Brennan 

Secretary Miss Honora Field 

Treasurer Miss Anna Madden 

Sacristan Miss Anna Philbin 

No record of officers for the year 1867 

November 8, 1868 

Prefect Miss Honora Field 

First Assistant Miss Anastasia Anderson 

Second Assistant Miss Mary Cronin 

Secretary Miss Annie Madden 

Treasurer Miss Lizzie Madden 

Sacristan Miss Ann Philbin 

December 26, 1869 

Prefect Miss Mary Cunningham 

First Assistant Miss Mary Graham 

Second Assistant Miss Margaret Ready 

Treasurer Miss Ellie Wall 

Secretary Miss Mary A. Dunn 

Sacristan Miss Mary Kearney 

Regulatrix Miss Mary A. Burns 

June 10, 1870 

Prefect Miss Mary O'Neill 

First Assistant Miss Mary Graham 

Second Assistant Miss Margaret Ready 



592 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Secretary Miss Mary A. Dunn 

Treasurer Miss Mary Cunningham 

Sacristan Miss Mary A. Burns 

Regulatrix Miss Philomena Hartnett 

On June 10, 1870, the Young Ladies' Sodality was 
divided into cycles with an officer in charge of each 
cycle. There were ten cycles in all. 

December 11, 1870 

Prefect Miss Mary 'Neill 

First Assistant Miss Mary A. Dunne 

Second Assistant Miss Margaret Walsh 

Secretary Miss Maggie 'Donnell 

Treasurer Miss Mary Cunningham 

Sacristan Miss Maggie 'Shea 

Regulatrix Miss Philomena Hartnett 

Librarian 

Directress of Candidates Miss Ellen Anderson 

June 28, 1871 

Prefect Mary Wilson 

First Assistant Mary A. Dunne 

Second Assistant Maggie E. Dunne 

Secretary Margaret Walsh 

Treasurer Mary Cunningham 

Sacristan Maggie O'Shea 

Regulatrix Josephine Burke 

December 10, 1871 

Prefect Mary Wilson 

First Assistant Josephine Burke 

Second Assistant Katie Henneberry 

Secretary Annie Carmody 

Treasurer Bridget Dwyer 

Sacristan Hannah Garvey 

Regulatrix Mary Ann Philbin 

Directress of Candidates Marv Graham 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 593 

June 17, 1872 

Prefect Margaret Ready 

First Assistant Katie Henneberry 

Second Assistant Josephine Burke 

Secretary Mary Graham 

Treasurer Bridget Dwyer 

Sacristan Hannah Garvey 

Regulatrix Mary A. Philbin 

Directress of Candidates Mary A. Dunne 

December, 1872 

Prefect Margaret Ready 

First Assistant Mary Cunningham 

Second Assistant Hannah Garvey 

Secretary Mary Graham 

Treasurer Mary A. Dunn 

Sacristan Kittie 'Neill 

Regulatrix Mary A. McMullin 

Directress of Candidates Celia Conlisk 

Librarian Mary O'Neill 

It was proposed that the Librarian should here- 
after he admitted as a member of Council, which 
was unanimously accepted. 

May 16, 1873, 

Prefect Kittie 'Neill 

First Assistant Mary Cunningham 

Second Assistant Hannah Garvey 

Secretary Mary Clarke 

Treasurer Mary A. Dunn 

Sacristan Mary McMullin 

Regulatrix Mary Fitzgerald 

Directress of Candidates 
Librarian 

March 19, 1874 

Prefect Margaret Judge 

First Assistant Katie Henneberry 

Second Assistant Mary Graham 

Secretary Bridget Dwyer 



594 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Treasurer Mary McKeon 

Sacristan Honora Walsh 

Regulatrix Jennie Field 

Librarian Mary 'Neill 

Officers of the Young Ladies' Sodality, from 1875 to 1921, 
in Alphabetical Order, all Reference to Dates Being Pur- 
posely Omitted. 



Adams, Katie 
Anderson, Kittie 
Asping, Mary 
Burns, Mary A. 
Bremner, Agnes 
Boland, Kittie 
Boynton, Mary 
Brady, Margaret 
Brennan, Margaret 
Bleser, Lottie 
Brennan, Teresa 
Burnett, Lillian 
Callahan, Catherine 
Condon, Lizzie 
Cunningham, Mary 
Curtin, Maggie 
Collins, Miss 
Cushing, Mary 
Coffey, Bridget 
Clancy, Elizabeth 
Calkins, Margaret 
Cleary, Ella 
Crowley, Helena 
Coffey, Alice 
Collins, May 
Cahill, Anne E. 
Cunningham, Josephine 
Donohue, Lizzie 
Dolamore, Mamie 
Daly, Maggie 
Doouer, Miss 



Driscoll, Be!le 
Dowling, Katherine 
Finn, Mary 
Foley, Nellie 
Fowler, Kittie 
Fitzgerald, Nora 
Farrell, Sadie 
Feile, Louise 
Fahey, Nellie 
Frey, Helen 
Gaynor, Mary 
Gleason, Mary 
Gavin, Maggie 
Goodison, Miss 
Grady, Miss W. C. 
Galvin, Eva 
Garvey, Ella 
Howard, Maggie 
Hamill, Katherine 
Hayes, Nellie 
Hayes, Josie 
Healy, Kittie 
Hartnett, Bessie 
Howard, May 
Halpin, Nettie 
Hughes, Rose 
Humes, Nellie 
Jennings, Hannah 
Jones, Mary 
Kennedy, Ella 
Kearney, Mary 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



595 



Ledden, Nellie 
Lawley, Lizzie 
Ledden, Helen C. 
Levan, Nellie 
Leese, Mayme 
Leahy, Mary 
Leahy, Nellie 
Legacy, Margaret 
Laughlin, May 
Liston, Nellie 
Lonergan, Anna 
Lauer, Lillian 
Lascier, Antoinette 
Long, Loretta 
Morley, Kate 
Mahoney, Miss 
McCarthy, Annie 
McMahon, May 
Manning, Mary 
Murphy, Mary 
McGrath, Sarah 
Murphy, Rose 
McKeon, Miss J. 
McMahon, Mary 
Maloney, Katherine 
McGee, Nellie 
McLaughlin, Nellie 
McEnery, Mary 
McMahon, Kate 
Monahan, Nonie 
Meagher, Catherine. 
McGourty, Anna 
Madden, Margaret 
Manning, Stella M. 
Miniter, Elizabeth 
McElherne, Edna 
Mulqueen, Margaret 
Maguire, Joan 
Neltnor, Mary 



Norton, Dora E. 
Norton, Madge 
O'Shea, Mary E 
O'Shea, Mary C. 
O'Donnell, Maggie 
O'Donnell, Mollie 
'Byrne, Mary 
O'Leary, Mary 
O'Donnell, Nellie 
O'Neill, Anna 
Pickham, Maggie 
Ponic, Dora 
Ryan, Maggie 
Ryan, Helen 
Riordan, Johanna 
Ramp, Nellie 
Rapp, Cecila 
Ryan, Mary 
Ryan, May. 
Reynolds, Emma 
Reynolds, May 
Reynolds, Mary E. 
Ryan, Anna 
Stubbs, Mary C. 
Sheridan, Mary 
Smith, Addee 
Sullivan, Lizzie 
Smith, Katie 
Sheely, Nellie 
Smith, Kittie 
Sheehan, Hannah 
Shanley, Sadie 
Shannon, Margaret 
Schaefer, Rose 
Scott, Agnes 
Schaefer, Elizabeth 
Toomey, Jcsie 
Walsh, Annie 
Williams, Mary 



596 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Walsh, Lillian M. White, Catherine 

White, Birdie Walker, Emily 

White, Mary F. Young, Mary 

Walsh, Margaret Zeeman, Anna 

Williams, Theodcsia 

[Note. Only the names of the principal officers 
are given, such as Prefect and two assistants, Secre- 
tary, Treasurer, Librarian, Mistress of Candidates 
and Regulatrix. Some of these offices did not exist 
in the beginning of the Sodality but were created 
as the necessity arose. Some of the officers were ap- 
pointed or elected for several years in succession but 
in order to avoid repetition the name appears only 
once in the alphabetical list.] 

Young Men's Sodality 
When the Gentlemen's Sodality was organized in 
1858 there was no distinction as to " young or old." 
The sodality was for men. Later, however, the so- 
dality increased in numbers and it became necessary 
to form two divisions, using age as a basis of divi- 
sion. This did not prove satisfactory, however, as it 
was difficult to tell when one was old enough to go 
into the senior ranks or young enough to remain in 
the junior branch. Finally it was decided that mar- 
riage should be the dividing line. This led to the 
formation of the Young Men's or (Unmarried 
Men's) Sodality. The younger branch of the Gentle- 
men's Sodality dates back to 1866 and was launched 
with Father John O'Neill as Spiritual Director. 
The Young Men's Sodality as we now know it dates 
from February 7, 1869, as we find it expressly stated 
in the minutes of the records of that meeting and it 
began its career under the spiritual direction of Rev. 
John I. Coghlan, S. J. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 597 

The Young Men's Sodality has done excellent 
work. It was in a sense the life of the parish. It 
gave pleasure to thousands of young folks in the 
summer through its baseball games in the college 
yard and elsewhere. In the winter it made the 
evenings seasons of joy and merriment by means of 
plays and socials, and of contentment through its 
reading and library rooms, billiard and pool tables 
and its well equipped gymnasium. It gave moral 
and intellectual pleasure in its series of monthly lec- 
tures by some of the most learned men of the day. 
It established night schools for those seeking ad- 
vancement in knowledge and employment bureaus for 
the benefit of those out of work. One will find on the 
roster of the Young Men's Sodality names of men 
who now hold or have held very responsible positions 
in the business world. You will also find the names 
of others who have been favored by their fellow citi- 
zens with some of the most honorable of the elective 
offices. 

The Young Men's Sodality was organized in the 
Young Men's Sodality rooms as we have seen on 
Sunday February 7, 1869. The meeting was called 
for the purpose of organizing a Young Men's So- 
dality. Forty-three members were enrolled. Rev. 
J. I. Coghlan, S. J., the Director, called the meeting 
to order. The first order of business was the election 
of officers for two months. The following were 
elected: Prefect, Joseph Kelly; Assistants, John 
O'Hayer and P. J. Anderson. 

The following were appointed as officers for the 
term of ten months : Treasurer, John T. Hurd ; Sec- 
retary, James A. O'Connell; Consultors, James 



598 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Bradley, Thomas J. Kelly, John Carmody, Wiljiam 
Carden, J. E. McJohn; Sacristan, Andrew Carroll. 

On Wednesday April 14, 1869, the following of- 
ficers were appointed : Consultors, P. J. Anderson 
W. Corboy, T. T. Clarke, John O'Connor, William 
Casey, M. Laughlin, John Houlihan, P. Donovan, P. 
J. Dargan ; Prefect, Joseph Kelly ; Assistants, James 
Bradley and H. A. Robinson. 

The following members composed the Council : 
John Carmody, Thomas J. Kelly, William Carden, 
P. J. Anderson, M. Corboy, T. T. Clarke, John 
O'Connor, William Casey, M. Laughlin, John Houli- 
han, P. Donovan, P. J. Dargan, Charles Hammil, 
Marshal; James A. O'Connell, Secretary and Rev. J. 
I. Coghlan, Director. 

One of the first works of the newly organized So- 
dality was to provide a scarf or badge to be worn 
on certain occasions. The scarf worn by the Married 
Men's Sodality was adopted with the addition of a 
white satin badge. 

At the meeting held August 18, 1869, the Sodality 
assessed each member one dollar in order to raise 
$100 for the Married Men's Sodality. At the same 
meeting it was also decided that the Prefects were 
to wear three stars on the scarf and that the Consul- 
tors were to wear two. 

At a regular meeting held on May 10, 1870, Father 
Damen requested the Young Men's Sodality to fur- 
nish the curtain for the new Hall (College Hall) 
which request was complied with. 

On June 5, 1870, P. J. Anderson, M. J. Corboy 
and M. Laughlin were elected prefects in the order 
named. 

On Sunday July 16, 1871, a meeting was held in 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 599 

rooms in St. Ignatius College. Previous to this date 
meetings had been held in Holy Family Church 
basement. 

On a scrap of paper, in the Minute Book of 1870- 
71, the following item is noted: "The Sodality Choir 
will have a rehearsal at Mr. Reilly 's room, corner 
of May and Twelfth streets. Take from treasurer 
$25 for choir and music books ; twenty-five cents for 
organ blower January; twenty-five cents for Feb- 
ruary. ' ' 

The names of the young men of those early days 
who distinguished themselves as officers of the So- 
dality follow: Joseph Kelly, P. J. Anderson, John 
O'Hayer, J. W. Masterson, L. A. Campbell, P. J. 
Dargan, William Ryan, W. H. McCormick, P. Hart, 
P. Enright, John Anderson, D. Deegan, Bryan 
Farley, E. A. O'Brien, P. Laughlin, P. J. Reilly, 
D. Fitzpatrick, J. P. Byrne, John Fitzgerald, J. C. 
Graham, Thomas Flanagan, T. G. Kerwin, Thomas 
Roper, Pat Carmody, Walter Dwyer, C. Bridgeman, 
H. Gubbins, Joseph Coffey, John J. O'Brien, J. P. 
Ryan, David J. Reilly, Stephen Moore, Stephen Fay, 
James O'Connell, J. B. Reilly, M. Brehany, Edward 
Kennedy, James Houghet, James E. Payne, Robert 
Hogan, John Crowley, Daniel Fitzpatrick, John 
Lardner, Richard Powers, H. P. Maun, W. D. Byrne. 
John J. Mullaney, Matthew Cronan, Lawrence 
Barry, Thomas Donlin, John Brown, John Fay, Mat- 
thew J. Byrne, W. S. Sevenny, John J. Wallace, 
Thomas Connelly, Michael Fay and D. H. Coffey. 

In May, 1882, the Young Men's Sodality moved 
into the new library room. At the end of May, 1882. 
there were 199 members listed. 



600 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Directors of Young Men's Sodality, 1869-1921 

1869— Rev. John I. Coghlan, S. J. 
1869— Rev. John Sclraltz, S. J. 
1871— Rev. Michael Corbett, S. J. 
1873— Rev. John I. Coghlan, S. J. 
1875 — Rev. Peter C. Koopmans, S. J. 
1877— Rev. John De Blieek, S. J. 
1878— Rev. Charles Filling, S. J. 
1879— Rev. John D. Condon, S. J. 
1880— Rev. William T. Kinsella, S. J. 
1881— Rev. Hugo Finegan, S. J. 
1884 — Rev. James A. Dowling, S. J. 
1886 — Rev. John G. Venneman, S. J. 
1887— Rev. AY. Poland, S. J. 
1887— Rev. Edwin D. Kelly, S. J. 
1888— Rev. P. Murphy, S. J. 
1893— Rev. James J. Corbley, S. J. 
1894— Rev. Patrick J. Mulconry, S. J. 
1896— Rev. Aloysius A. Lambert, S. J. 
1897— Rev. Joseph P. De Smedt, S. J. 
1898— Rev. J. A. Donoher, S. J. 
1899— Rev. Thomas E. Sherman, S. J. 
1901— Rev. E. Gleeson, S. J. 
1902— Rev. John J. Masterson, S. J. 
1907-13— Rev. Thomas A. Nolan, S. J. 
1913-14— Rev. James A. Dowling, S. J. 
1916-18— Rev. James A. McCarthy, S. J. 
1918-21— Rev. Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J. 



In the year 1895 the following officers were 
elected : 

Director Rev. P. J. Mulconry 

Prefect Mr. J. McGourty 

First Assistant Mr. Ed. O'Hayer 

Second Assistant Mr. John Deasey 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 601 

Secretary Mr. M. F. 'Connor 

Treasurer Mr. Edwin Foley 

Master of Novices Mr. E. Braniek 

Librarian Mr. D. J. Ryan 

Sacristan Mr. M. Crampton 

Marshal Mr. Dan. F. Ryan 

Consultors: Messrs. D. Bremner, T. Dead}, J. C. 
Donohue, H. Gubbins, M. Lambert, John McNellis, 
Garret Noonan, P. W. O'Brien, J. O'Connor, T. F. 
Scully, T. O'Connor, Peter Raftis, James Ryan, E. 
Stubbs; Guild Masters: Guild 1. Mr. H. Luken, 
2. Mr. Jerry Deasey, 3. Mr. E. Dooley, 4. Mr. R. 
Shuester, 5. Mr. P. McDonald. 

Young Men's Sodality Dramatic Club 

The Young Men's Dramatic Club was organized 
about 1893. This club gave some very fine plays. 
There was one especially which is well remembered 
even to this day as one of the best ever produced in 
Holy Family School. The title was "The King's 
Son." The members of the cast were, as far as the 
writer recalls, Thomas Nolan, William Brown, Con 
McMahon and Tom McGrath. 

The Young Men's Sodality Dramatic Club was or- 
ganized during Father Masterson's time, about 1902. 
and became the leading club of all the parishes 
throughout the city. Some of the ver}^ best plays 
were staged by this club. The club maintained its 
own orchestra. Mr. Thomas J. Hogan was the first 
stage manager and was later succeeded by William 
T. Culhane. Father Masterson did all of the direct- 
ing from 1893 to the present day, as far as can be 
ascertained. The following took part in the plays: 



602 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



603 



Players in Young Men 's Sodality Dramatic Club 



Joseph Bednard 
Nicholas Boswell 
John Brenuan 
John Broderick 
Peter Brown 
William Brown 
Edward Carey 
M. J. Carmody 
George Carroll 
Fred Cloman 
James Coffey 
William Culhane 
John Cur ran 
James J. Feeney 
Charles Fenlon 
Frank Garr 
John J. Garvey 
James Geraghty 
Claude Grey 
Leroy Hamilton 
E d ward H ardymai 1 
George Hardymau 
John Hardymau 
Joseph Hardymau 
Jerry Keane 
Michael J. Kearney 
Charles Mackey 
Charles Maren 
Thomas Milan 
James Monaghan 
George Mone 
John Morrison 
Joseph Morrison 
William Morrison 
James J. Murphy 
James R. Murphy 
John McCabe 
John McGourty 



Con McMahon 
T. J. Dooly 
James Donegan 
Edward Driscoll 
Charles Drury 
James Duffin 
John Duffin 
Steve Duffy 
William Egan 
Otto Kearns 
Edward Kelly 
Leo J. Kennedy 
John J. Killeen 
George Kiley 
Joseph Killgallon 
John Li His 
Richard Lloyd 
Frank McMahon 
Basil McNamara 
John McNamara 
Frank McNellis 
John McNellis 
Richard McNellis 
Dan O'Brien 
James O'Brien 
Patrick O'Brien 
Edward O'Connor 
John O'Donnell 
Edward O'Rielly 
John O'Rouke 
Dave O'Shea 
Joseph Payne 
John Ponic 
M. J. Prindiville 
Patrick Raftes 
Peter Raftes 
Edward Ryan 
Thomas F. Scully 



604 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



John J. Shanahan 
William J. Shelley 
John Turkey 
Herbert Villim 
John Hardyman 
Joe Hardyman 
Ed. Hardyman 
Steve Duffy 
Richard McNellis 
Frank McNellis 
Ed. Kelly 
J. J. Feeney 
Ed. Connors 
H. Vilim 
Ed. Driscoli 
Dave O'Shea 
M. J. Carmody 
Ed. Ryan 
Gertrude Hug'hes 
Helen Solon 
Nellie Ryan 
Kittie Lynch 



Frances Butler 
Miss 'Regan 
Miss Mangan 
Miss Baldwin 
Miss M. Lynch 
Miss Monahan 
Miss Feilie 
Miss N. Monahan 
Miss R. O'Shea 
Miss M. Shanahan 
Miss E. Collins 
Miss A. O'Shea 
Miss Mc Sweeney 
Miss G. Mutter 
Miss K. Mutter 
Miss A. Gorman 
Miss M. Hart 
Miss H. Barry 
Miss Kiernan 
Miss R. White 
Miss D. O'Leary 
Miss Kehoe 



Young Men's Sodality Baseball Club 

The Young Men's Sodality also had a fine baseball 
club but it was very difficult to secure games because 
most of the clubs wanted to play for money. Wil- 
liam F. Corey of St. Gertrude's Parish was trying 
to organize clubs in all of the parishes throughout 
the city but did not get much support from any of 
the Pastors until Father Nolan came to his aid. It 
was then that the National Catholic Baseball League 
was organized with thirty-six clubs divided into four 
divisions, North, South, West and Southwest. Holy 
Family Club won the first pennant and became the 
leading club in the city. It also won two more and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



605 




606 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



lost in its division only once in six years. Dennis 
Laughlin was the first manager and was succeeded 
three years later by James J. Feeney who also be- 
came President of the League. 

The following played on the Holy Family team : 

Young Men's Sodality Base Ball Players 



Coyne, J. 
Carberry, 
Connery, J. 
Hardyman, John 
Hardyman, Joe 
Fagin, J. 
Flanagan, J. 
Ryan, J. 
Duffy, S. 
Vilim, H. 
Dnffin, J. 
Yore, John 
McGeever, S. 
McDonald 
McNicholls, Thos. 
Gavin, M. 
Gavin, J. 



Prindeville, F. 
Manning, H. 
Kilburn, A. 
Kiley, Geo. 
Noonan 
Maher, Ed. 
Hartnett 
Solger, 0. 
Regan 
Sweeney 
Sloan, F. 
Sloan, V. 
Turner, Ed. 
Gallagher 
Geraghty 
Yore, F. 
Yore, J. 



Slade 
Hvorak 
Rollo, R. 
'Rourke 
Mauss 
Lexa, Otto 
Villim, H. 
Hardyman, Jno. 
Hardyman, Joe 
Hardyman, Geo. 
O'Donnell, H. 
Sullivan, Jno. 
Steger, Otto 
Mackey, Wm. 
Tried, Em. 
Payne, J. 
Novak, Frank 
Moona, Jno. 



The team played good ball up to the beginning 
of the war. Since that time the team has not been 
organized as such, owing to the scattered conditions 
of the old members and the few players remaining in 
the parish to select from. 

On Friday evening, August 9, 1912, the Sodality 
entertained the team and the officers of the National 
Catholic Association in the form of an old time 
smoke. 

A short program, addressed by Messrs. Joseph 
Bidwell, clerk of the Circuit Court and William 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 607 

Corey, secretary of the N. C. A. A., and the award- 
ing of medals to Messrs. Joseph Caiberry and Otto 
Solzer for winning two events in the National Cath- 
olic Field Day Meet made the evening a most de- 
lightful one for all who attended. 

The following exposition is from the pen of the 
manager of the B. B. Club: 

1 'Owing to the success of the baseball club for the past three 
years, the membership of the Sodality has been on the increase. 
Many of our Catholic Young Men do not realize the advantages, 
not only spiritual but also social, which we share in comparison 
with other clubs, societies and organizations. We mention a 
few of the many good things we possess in our pleasant quarters. 

A gymnasium equipped with all the facilities for gymnasium 
work. A nicely furnished library containing many volumes of 
good reading. A billiard room containing seven fast tables, 
lavatory adjoining. A reading room with magazines of many 
descriptions. A hall suitable for smokers, parties and recep- 
tions. Young Men's Sodality athletics with baseball as a feature ; 
shower room, track team and ball park. The Young Men's 
Sodality Aid Society, organized for charitable purposes. The 
Young Men's Sodality Employment Bureau, open Wednesday, 
Monday and Friday evenings, to all parishioners out of work. 
The Young Men's Sodality Auditorium, a large hall for lectures 
and entertainments. The Young Men's Sodality Dramatic Club. 
This club has given over twenty performances in the history 
of the Sodality and has always met with great success. 

Our track team composed of Sylvester McGeever, James Rior- 
dan, Herbert Vilim and Deacon Dougherty won the mile relay 
at the Knights of Columbus Meet during the month. The team 
was presented with a beautiful banner. 

The Young Men's Sodality baseball team has twice 
been the winner in the National Catholic League and 
is the holder of two silver cups, attained in 1910 and 
1911, for leading their respective divisions. The 
team is promising to duplicate its past records. 



COS 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 609 

Up to the present the club has won all of its 
games, defeating some of the best amateur baseball 
teams in the city. The experience that the players 
have acquired in the past has spurred them on to 
victory and their object this year is to be thrice cham- 
pions of the National Catholic Association. Hardy- 
man's pitching has become phenomenal, he having 
no less than eight or nine strikeouts to his credit in 
every game played this year. 

St. Joseph's or the Working Boys' Sodality 
In 1880, Father Nussbaum, of happy memory, con- 
ceived the idea of gathering the working boys and 
public school boys into a Sodality, under the protec- 
tion of the Blessed Virgin. Boys of this class were 
drifting about aimlessty, without receiving any 
special care until their great friend appeared. Here 
are Father Nussbaum 's words on this subject: 

"The Boys' Sodality under the title of the Assumption of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary and the patronage of St. Joseph, was com- 
menced by the undersigned on the fourth of June, 1880, the 
feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. It numbered on that day fif- 
teen boys. The diploma of annexation to the Primary Sodality in 
Rome was obtained from Rev. Edward Higgins, S. J., Pro- 
vincial of the Missouri Province, and solemn^ handed to the 
assembled members by the Rev. Thomas O'Neill, S. J., President 
of St. Ignatius College. All the members recited the act of 
consecration, and were received by him into the sodality canon- 
ically erected on the 8th day of October, in the year of Our 
Lord, 1880." 

F. P. Nussbaum, S. J. 

Up to June 17, 1895, that is, as far as the records 
go, there w T ere received into the Sodality 2,256 mem- 
bers. The first boy received by Father Nussbaum 
was Frank Boehm, 621 Halsted Street and the last 



610 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



one was John Conley, 576 Western Ave., July 22, 
1888. During these eight years 1,806 boys were en- 
rolled. We must not conclude from this that all 
these were actual members at any given time ; some 
fell away, as is usual in all Sodalities; many were 
transferred to the Young Men's, and all grew be- 
yond the suitable age, but by constant recruiting, 




younger members took the places of the older ones 
who left. 

The first election held October 8, 1880, resulted as 
follows: Prefect, William Cassidy; Assistants, Ed- 
ward Butler and Nicholas Grace; Consultors, Wil- 
liam Coy, Edward Coffey, Michael Cahill and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 611 

Thomas McMahon; Marshal, Michael McMahon; 
Sacristan, Edward Gallagher. 

During the period from 1880 to 1888, when the 
Sodality was sailing on spring tide of prosperity, the 
largest number of active members was 522, in June, 
1886 ; and the largest number at communion was 370, 
in February, 1886. In these years, 246 were trans- 
ferred to the Young Men's Sodality, Peter McGlynn, 
282 Taylor St., being the first. The first member to 
die was John Griffin, age twelve, December 14, 1880. 

On page 105 of the Records Father Nussbaum 
writes : 

"Note — In the beginning of July, 1882, the Senior division held their 
meeting in the Chapel in Sodality Hall, the use of which was granted by 
Rev. Thomas O 'Neill, and furnished with altar and pews by the munificence 
of two gentlemen, who desire to be unknown, and who together gave for 
this purpose $350.00. ' ' 

Here they held their weekly meetings for sixteen 
years, up to 1896, when they were transferred to the 
basement of the Church. 

This Sodality from 1896 to 1898 was acting a 
double part, i. e. the Working Boys', or St. Joseph's 
Sodality and The United States Juniors. Father 
Lambert their Director thought that by giving them 
a military touch quite an attraction would be added 
for the young lively boys of the parish, and so it 
proved. 

The Juniors numbered about 300, made a very fine 
appearance in their beautiful full military dress of 
the regular TT. S. Army which Father Lambert had 
secured by special permit from the War Department. 
After the departure of Father Lambert for other 
fields of labor the IT. S. Juniors drifted back into 
their original state in St. Joseph's Sodality. 



612 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The records of the Sodality are so meagre that it 
is impossible to do justice to the efforts put forth 
on behalf of the boys or on the part of the many 
Spiritual Directors under whose spiritual charge 
these boys were placed. 

Many of the boys whose names are on the roll of 
St. Joseph's Sodality are now important men in the 
business world. It is really surprising to note the 
responsible positions some of them hold. Many older 
men whom one may meet will tell you that they were 
at one time counted among Father Nussbaum's boys. 

It must be remembered that a great many boys 
joined this Sodality after leaving school as there 
was no other Sodality to receive them. They were 
too young for the Young Men's and only school chil- 
dren could belong to the Sodalities attached to the 
schools. It is a pleasure to find many names on the 
roster of this humble Working Boys' Sodality who 
are now among some of our most prosperous busi- 
ness men and especially when you find them faithful 
to those practices of religion imparted to them at the 
weekly gatherings in their little chapel in the Sodal- 
ity Hall. 

The following is a list of officers of the Sodality 
for the year 1899: Prefect, John Eyan; First As- 
sistant, John Derrig; Second Assistant, W. Ford; 
Secretary, Robert Nichols; Treasurer, James Rus- 
sell. At this date there were 388 members in the 
Sodality and Rev. P. A. Murphy, S. J., was the Di- 
rector. 

The Working Boys' Sodality did splendid work 
in its day but finally like all the major Sodalities it 
began to wane so that it was thought best to have the 
remaining members united with the Alumni of the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 618 

Holy Family School and in this way they have con- 
tinued to the present day. 

The principal Directors of St. Joseph's Sodality 
were: Rev. F. P. Nussbaum, S. J., Rev. F. Wein- 
man, S. J., Rev. A. A. Lambert, S. J., Rev. P. A. 
Murphy, S. J., Rev. F. Coppinger, S. J., Rev. A. F. 
Versaval, S. J., Rev. T. A. Nolan, S. J., Rev. J. J. 
Masterson, S. J., Rev. J. A. McCarthy, S. J., and 
Rev. E. A. Jones, S. J. 

St. Agnes' Sodality for Working Girls 

The Holy Family Church Calendar for September, 
1891, contained the following: 

"There are hundreds of girls who are not attending any of 
the Parish schools, and who do not belong to any Sodality. The 
Parochial School children belong to Sodalities; with as much or 
a greater reason should these children consecrate themselves to 
God under the protection of the Blessed Virgin and the patron- 
age of St. Agnes. To give them an opportunity to do this, a 
sodality has been organized in the May Street Convent. It is 
intended for those who have made their First Communion and 
are not older than sixteen years. They have a nice chapel to 
themselves, and they will have a special place of their own in the 
church on Communion Sundays. Reverend Father O'Meara 
will give them a suitable instruction every Sunday at 2 P. M. 
That this will become the greatest and largest girls' Sodality in 
the Parish there is every reason to believe. The greatest help, 
must, of course, come from the parents and especially from 
mothers, who should see that their daughters join and attend 
regularly. The exercises will be short. Parents, have you 
daughters who do not attend the Parish Schools, and who have 
made their first Holy Communion f Do you wish them to remain 
or become good, obedient children? Make them join this Sodal- 
ity. They will be under the special care of the Blessed Virgin 
and St. Agnes ; they will frequent the Sacraments monthly. ' ' 

On Sunday, September 13, 1891, the members as- 



614 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

sembled for the purpose of electing new officers. The 
first elected were : Miss Lizzie Kerby, Prefect ; Miss 
Annie Kilroy and Miss Alice Kilroy, assistants. The 
Consultors chosen by written ballot were Misses Na- 
omi and Ellie Kinney, Emma and Louise McCormick, 
Rose Shaffer, Rose Kilroy, Lizzie Sullivan, Nellie 
Scanlon and Fannie Kelly. 

The Sodality is intended for the instruction in 
piety and devotion to the Mother of God of girls not 
educated in Catholic schools. 

The records of this Sodality are rather scant and 
but a brief notice of it can be given. This much is 
known, — that the good Ladies of St. Joseph's Home 
gave every facility to those young girls to make their 
little Sodality as attractive as possible. It is known 
also that the Sodality numbered as many as 100 at 
one time and that many of those girls blossomed out 
into excellent women, a credit to their connections. 

Ephpheta Sodality 
The Association for the Deaf and Dumb Young- 
Men or, as it is now called, "The Ephpheta Sodal- 
ity" was organized at St. Joseph's Home, 1100 S. 
May street, on the 11th of October, 1896, by the 
Rev. P. M. Ponziglione, S. J., who was the first Di- 
rector. The following twelve young men offered 
themselves as members of the Sodality: William 
Everet, Clarence Selby, John Elman, Alfred Peliter, 
Bernard Wagner, John Clein, Irving O'Brien, and 
William Curran. At the next meeting of the Sodal- 
ity, which was held on the second Sunday of the 
month of November following they were formally 
organized into a Sodality and elected the following 
officers : 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 615 

Prefect, Michael Madden ; First Assistant, Michael 
Tumen; Second Assistant, John Y. Walsh. 

On January 10th, 1897, the Reverend Director 
announced that the Most Rev. Archbishop P. A. 
Feehan was pleased to approve the erection of two 
Sodalities in St. Joseph's Home, one in behalf of 
deaf mute young men under the title of Blessed 
Mary Immaculate and patronage of St. Stanislaus 
Kostka and the other in behalf of deaf mute young 
ladies under the title of the Annunciation of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary and patronage of Blessed Mar- 
garet Mary. The young men will go in a body to 
Holy Communion on the 2nd Sunday of the month 
and the young ladies on the 3rd Sunday of the month 
in the Holy Family Church. They were to assemble 
first at St. Joseph's Home and walk in a body, two 
and two, from that point to the Church. The Sodal- 
ity was to meet every Sunday evening in the chapel 
of St. Joseph's Home. 

On April 9, 1899, a Mission was given the deaf 
mutes by the Rev. Father Rockwell, S. J., of New 
York. 

Father F. Moeller, S. J., obtained the use of a 
large room in the old pastoral building on May and 
Twelfth Streets. This was fitted up into a chapel 
which was blessed and Mass was said then for the 
deaf mutes. Here the meetings were held at stated 
times. They were granted the use of the entire first 
floor of the same building which was fitted up and 
furnished with billiard and pool tables and comfort- 
able club rooms for both young men and women deaf 
mutes, not only of the Holy Family Parish but of 
the entire city. This happy condition of things pre- 
vailed for a number of years. In 1919 the deaf 



616 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

mutes were transferred to the Sodality Hall where 
they have the use of the large chapel of the Sodalities 
for all their religious services and of two large halls 
in the basement for club purposes. 

The Directors of the Deaf Mutes have been Rev. 
P. M. Ponziglione, S. J., Rev. F. Moeller, S. J., Rev. 
P. J. Mahan, S. J. 

Ground has been purchased on the N. E. corner 
of May and Eleventh Streets for the erection of a 
large club house for the use of all the Catholic Deaf 
Mutes of Chicago and vicinity. Rev. F. X. Senn, 
S. J., is the present director. 

There are few, if any, of the many Catholic works 
of charity that are more deserving of support and 
encouragement than that of the education of the 
deaf mute children and the formation of Catholic 
Sodalities and societies of adult deaf mute men and 
women. Those devoted Ladies who have consecrated 
their lives to such work and the priests who cooper- 
ate with them, as also the laity who furnish the 
means must certainly receive a hundred fold, yea a 
thousand fold reward from the generous Heart of 
Jesus for Whose sake they do this great work. 

Information concerning the sodalities is gathered principally from the 
records of the various tranches supplemented as is seen oy contemporary 
accounts in the church calendar and other mediums of publicity. 



CHAPTER XXI 

Various Societies of Holy Family Church 
The Altar Society 

Oil Sunday, September 6th, 1857, immediately 
after Vespers, Father Damen called a meeting in 
which all the ladies were requested to give in their 
names to form an Altar Society. 

The object of the Altar Society, as stated in an 
early circular, is to provide means to adorn the altar 
and sanctuary, and to furnish sacred vestments, 
lights, flowers and other decorations for the church. 
Too much can never be done to beautify the place 
where the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass is offered and 
where our Lord dwells as truly as in heaven. 

In every age the saints have given admirable ex- 
amples of their eagerness to enrich and beautify the 
honse of God and to provide suitably for the Holy 
Altar. King David's purpose to build a grand temple 
to the Most High was rewarded with the promise of 
great blessings to his seed, and an assurance that the 
Redeemer should descend from him. Constantine 
the Great and St. Louis built and endowed churches 
and adorned them with the utmost magnificence. St. 
Wenceslaus sowed, reaped and threshed the wheat 
of which the altar bread was made. Many holy 
queens not only made beautiful vestments for the 
altar, but presented their jewels for the adornment 
of the sacred vessels. These chosen souls are now 

617 



618 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

wearing the crown of immortality, won by their lov- 
ing and faithful service. It behooves us to be ani- 
mated with their spirit and to continue their noble 
work by honoring our Lord in the Sacrament of His 
Love, as much as we can, that we too may be received 
into the heavenly mansions, in reward for the little 
we do here on earth, for the love and immediate serv- 
ice of God. 

Besides the particular blessings which Almighty 
God confers on those who adorn the altar, where He 
dwells day and night, the members of this society 
enjoy many special privileges, among which are the 
following : 

1. Beads and Benediction of the Most Blessed Sac- 
rament, before every meeting. 

2. Solemn High Mass for the living members, on 
Corpus Christi, at 8 o'clock. 

3. Solemn High Mass for the dead members, at 8 
o'clock the first Monday after All-Saints Day. 

4. One Mass every month for the spiritual and tem- 
poral welfare of the living members of the society. 

5. One Mass every month for the repose of the souls 
of the deceased members. 

6. Participation in the beads said every month for 
the living and dead members. 

7. The benefit of Holy Communion offered once a 
year by all the members, for the living members of 
the society. 

8. The benefit of Holy Communion offered once a 
year, during the Forty Hours' Devotion, by all the 
members, if possible, for the dead members of the 
society. 1 

The contributions or dues are twelve and one-half 
cents a month or a dollar and a half a year for each 

i From the Constitution of the Altar Society. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 619 

person ; payment to be made quarterly, semi-annually 
or annually. 

The Altar Society continued, with more or less en- 
thusiasm, according as the pastor urged action. It 
seems to have been very much on the decline about 
the time that Father Michael P. Dowling was ap- 
pointed pastor of Holy Family Church. Accord- 
ingly he called a special meeting in the Sodality Hall, 
on Sunday, March 3, 1895. At this and subsequent 
meetings, Father Dowling made a number of changes 
in the constitution of the society so that, instead of 
a trifling sum coming in annually for the upkeep of 
the altars, he actually so enthused the new promoters 
and members that the income amounted to as much 
as two thousand dollars a year. 

The officers for the first years of the newly organ- 
ized Altar Society were : Mrs. John Garvy, Mrs. John 
Fitzpatrick, Mrs. Dady, Mrs. B. McMahon, Miss 
Mary Byrne, Miss Eliza McConville, Miss Katherine 
Hamill now Madame Hamill of the Sacred Heart, 
Miss Sarah McGrath now Sister M. Edith, B. V. M., 
Margaret Walsh now Sister Marie Patricia, S. N. 
D., Miss Jennie Shanley now Sister M. Ignata, B. V. 
M., and Miss Lizzie Shanley now Sister M. Julius, 
B. V. M. 

Later officers were Miss Rose Hughes, Miss B. Cof- 
fey, Miss Catherine Lynch, Miss Nellie Lynch, A. 
McCrink, Mrs. Mary McNellis, Mrs. Mary Murray 
and Mrs. Nora FitzMaurice. 

The following are officers and promoters for the 
year 1921 : 

Director Rev. Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J. 

President Mrs. Mary McNellis 

Treasurer Miss Nellie Lynch 

Assistant Treasurer Miss K. Lynch 



620 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Promoters 

Miss Mary Bobson Miss Catherine Farrell 

Miss Mary Boynton Miss Rose Hughes 

Miss Mary Brennan Miss Mary Kernan 

Mrs. Margaret Cloman Miss Nellie Lynch 

Mrs. Catherine Dempsey Miss Helen Masterson 

Miss Bridget Donahue Miss Catherine Milan 

Mrs. Mary Donahue Mrs, Mary McNellis 

Mrs. Bridget Dooley Mrs. Margaret Reynolds 

Mrs. Sarah Enright Mrs. Emma Reynolds 

Mrs. Nora FitzMaurice Mrs. Anna Walsh 

Mrs. Fitzpatrick 

St. Ignatius Choir sings during the Benediction 
at the monthly meetings of the Altar Society. Miss 
Rose Hughes presides at the organ. 

The following deserve special mention in connec- 
tion with the floral decoration of the altars during 
past years, but especially in decorating the Reposi- 
tory and May and June Altars : Miss Mary Keating, 
Miss Annie O'Reilly, Mrs. B. McMahon, Miss Mary 
Brennan, Mrs. Mary Murray, Miss Ella Garvey. 

Altar Boys' Society 

During the first three years of the existence of 
Holy Family Parish, no serious efforts were made 
to organize an Altar Boys' Society other than in a 
very rudimentary way. Priests were few and their 
labors were many and arduous. Even if the oppor- 
tunities were otherwise favorable, the little frame 
church afforded no room for the elaborate ceremoni- 
als proper to the observance of the great feast days. 
The dedication of the new church, in the year 1860, 
together with the appointment of Brother James 
Grennan, S. J., as sacristan, marked the beginning of 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 621 

the development of the Acolythical Society from its 
hitherto inchoate formation into a permanent organi- 
zation of a size and equipment commensurate with its 
new and splendid opportunities. A brief paragraph, 
in an early record of parish statistics, states that the 
membership of the Altar Boys' Society, in the year 
1860, numbered thirty. 

In 1863, on the feast of St. Aloysius, during solemn 
vespers the Acolythical Society was formally estab- 
lished and its members consecrated to the service of 
the altar. St. John Berchmans was selected as pa- 
tron. Previous to this event, Brother Grennan had 
called the members together on several occasions, and 
at these meetings rules were formulated and a con- 
stitution adopted. To this constitution the famous 
missionary, Fr. Smarius, S. J., wrote a lengthy in- 
troduction. 

At this time the membership had reached fifty 
and the organization was rapidly becoming what it 
has been ever since, a particular pride of the parish. 
To have a son within its growing ranks, was a source 
of much pride and satisfaction to the good mothers 
and fathers of the congregation. 

Brother Grennan, the first Sacristan of the new 
church, had been a tailor by profession and was a 
man of great energy and executive ability. He im- 
mediately began the task of furnishing the altar boys 
with all the accoutrements necessary, not only for 
the weekday Masses, but also for Sundays and festi- 
vals. He would purchase the materials for cassocks 
and surplices, would cut the goods and then turn the 
work over to the boys to take home to their mothers 
and sisters for completion. Holy Family Church is 
still in possession of two magnificent silver censers, 



622 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 623 

ordered in France by Brother Grennan and procured 
through Mother Gallwey on the occasion of an official 
visit of the Rev. Mother to that country. On the de- 
livery of the censers, Brother Grennan called in three 
of his good friends and told them of a beautiful pres- 
ent he had for each of them. He then explained that 
he intended giving them the privilege of having their 
names engraved on the censers as a lasting memorial 
of their generosity to the cause of the greater honor 
and glory of God. The names of Mr. Michael Kehoe 
and Mr. John Quigley were engraved on the censers, 
and Mr. John FitzPatrick assumed the cost of the 
incense boat or thurifer, which accompanied the cen- 
sers. These censers have been swung on great and on 
ordinary occasions by several generations of altar 
boys, but they are as perfect today in every detail as 
when they first became the proud possessions of the 
young and growing acolythical society in 1865 and re- 
main a fine testimonial to French art and workman- 
ship. 

Extraordinary means were found necessary to pro- 
cure the funds necessary to equip the society in a 
proper manner. For this purpose picnics and ex- 
cursions proved popular. The first picnic was held 
August 5, 1863. Glencoe, Winnetka, Highland Park 
were the scenes of some of those early excursions. 
All the edibles and other essentials were furnished by 
the friends of the boys; and in most cases the rail- 
roads made no charge for transportation, so that the 
expenses were slight. The ladies of the parish pre- 
pared and sold the refreshments and looked after 
everything pertaining to the pleasure and comfort 
of the boys and their friends. With the receipts from 
these picnics and the small dues paid by the members. 



624 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

the society was enabled in a short while to equip it- 
self fairly well. Possibly, in respect to equipment, 
The Holy Family acolythical society ranked first in 
the city in those early days. 

Brother Grennan not only had a genius and taste 
for furnishings but also for training and drilling the 
altar boys. On the occasions of great festivals when 
all the resources of the acolythical society in person- 
nel and equipment would be employed, people came 
from the North and South sides of the city to attend 
services at which the altar boys executed varied and 
graceful movements in the sanctuary. It is a fact 
of some significance that rarely, if ever, did any per- 
son leave the church until after the last altar boy had 
passed from view through the sacristy door. These 
solemn and stately processions were practised by the 
altar boys for fully fifty years after their introduc- 
tion by Brother Grennan. 

In the latter part of 1866, Brother Grennan was 
transferred to other fields of labor and was succeeded 
as sacristan by Brother Schulz. Brother Schulz was 
an excellent sacristan and a very pious man, but a 
gift for managing altar boys was not included among 
his many worthy personal characteristics. Remain- 
ing as sacristan for about fourteen years, but relin- 
quishing control of the Acolythical Society in the first 
year of that period, Brother Schulz was succeeded by 
Brother Thomas O'Neill, S. J., in the year 1868, or 
thereabouts. Brother O'Neill was at that time and 
for many years afterward actively assisting in the 
management of the parish school for boys. In the 
year 1870, Mr. Van Agt, S. J., taught in the parish 
school, and there are grounds for supposing that he 
acted in the management of the Acolythical Society, 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



625 




626 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

although the province catalogue for that year does 
not so assign him. 

In 1873, Fr. Victor Van der Putten, S. J., was ap- 
pointed Director, and was succeeded, in 1875, by Fr. 
Van Agt, S. J., who was succeeded in turn by Mr. 
Andrew Carr, S. J., in 1878. In 1881, Mr. McGinnis, 
S. J., had charge, followed by the appointment, in 
1882, of Mr. James Curran, S. J. 

From 1883 to 1889, Fr. Van Agt, S. J., was assigned 
to the control and direction of the Acolythical 
Society. Fr. Van Agt, had just completed his year 
of tertianship, and, in addition to his post as director 
of the altar boys, he was appointed to assist Fr. 
Andrew O'Neill, S. J., in the work of conducting the 
parish schools. No one could have been better quali- 
fied for carrying on the traditions of the Acolythical 
Society than Fr. Van Agt. As one of the officials in 
charge of the schools, he occupied a position of great 
strategic importance in the task of maintaining the 
individual efficiency of the members of the Altar 
Boys' Society. He had ample time and opportuni- 
ties for calling delinquent members of the society 
who were also pupils in the schools, to account. He 
also had at hand an excellent field for choosing likely 
subjects for the society. 

Many stories are told of Fr. Van Agt and his re- 
lations with the altar boys. He would reprove an 
altar boy with a touch of his cane, which was his in- 
variable companion to and from the college, and with- 
in an hour would assuage any wounded feelings with 
the present of an orange, an apple, or a handful of 
candy. He had a very kindly heart and was always 
at the service of his boys for any favor within his 
power to give. Many a deserving boy remembers Fr. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 627 

Van Agt with gratitude, for assistance given, in whole 
or in part, in the acquisition of a college education ; 
which proved a stepping stone to the priesthood for 
possibly not a few of such boys. Fr. Van Agt was the 
author of some picturesque accessions to the altar 
boys attire. He introduced the custom of wearing 
red capes and red four-cornered birettas on feast 
days. On other Sundays at High Mass black birettas 
would be used. It was under his incumbency that the 
altar boys sang vespers, on Sunday evenings, during 
the years 1883 to 1889. The Altar Boys Choir of 
those two years was a remarkable achievement and 
would alone suffice to give a note of distinction to the 
directorship of Fr. Van Agt. A picnic or two each 
summer, were annual events in those days. Those 
picnics were usually held at Woodlawn, about the 
present site of Jackson Park, and the boys would go 
there by way of the Illinois Central R. R. Wood- 
lawn was then a region of woods and meadows and 
was an ideal place for a day's outing. Bro. O 'Weill's 
Band, many of the members of which were altar boys, 
was always a contributing factor to the gaiety of those 
excursions. The teachers of Holy Family School 
played hostesses to the boys. The picnics were en- 
joyed hugely by the boys and were awaited in eager 
expectancy each year when the vacation season was 
at hand. One year Fr. Van Agt took the altar boys 
on an excursion to Milwaukee. Our Chicago boys, 
like flatlanders as they were, saw a few hillocks on 
the way and exclaimed with astonishment, ' ' Oh, Guys, 
look at the mountains." 

In the }^ear 1889, the last year of Fr. Van Agt's 
incumbency, the membership of the Altar Boys' Soci- 
ety had grown to the number of ninety and the organ- 



628 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

ization was in the heyday of its career. Its furnish- 
ings had reached a high state of completeness and its 
discipline was splendid. Father Van Agt made strict 
rules and took great care to see that they were en- 
forced. He would, at times, saunter out into the 
streets just before the close of the Sunday evening 
services so as to meet the boys on their way home. 
Woe to that boy seen violating the rules, and espe- 
cially drastic methods would be used on boys found in 
the company of girls, who would sometimes wait out- 
side the church doors in order to meet the boys as they 
came out. If these boys were within reach of his 
cane, Father Van Agt would use it very briskly on 
them, and on the following day would visit further 
condign punishment on the offenders as they came to 
school. But, if penalties were certain, so also were 
rewards. 

The altar boys library, open one and sometimes two 
evenings each week to the boys, was a very popular 
institution. The library was nicely housed, first in 
the sacristy, and afterwards, in a room in the Sodal- 
ity Hall; and on library nights after the boys had 
secured their books, games of checkers, dominoes and 
new and popular games would be enjoyed until clos- 
ing time, which would always come too soon. Some 
altar boys of this period still remember the excite- 
ment attendant on the accession to the library of new 
copies of " Little Lord Fauntleroy" and "Hans 
Brinker or The Silver Skates," then but recently 
published. Sir Walter Scott's novels were general 
favorites and all the boys in turn wept over the for- 
tunes of "Thaddeus of Warsaw" and William Wal- 
lace in " Scottish Chiefs." It is no exaggeration to 
say that not a few altar boys acquired an abiding taste 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 629 

for English Literature by reason of the altar boys' 
library. 

The annual banquet was a great event of the mid- 
winter season. There was a little speechmaking, in 
harmony with the spirit of the occasion, by some of 
the Fathers, and by such of the parishioners as. 
seemed to possess the enviable faculty of being at 
home in post-prandial talks. 

In the year 1890, Rev. Edward Hanhauser, S. J., 
was appointed director and served for the period of 
one year. During that time, until the appointment of 
Father Hoeff er in 1891, Father Hanhauser succeeded 
in preserving all of the traditions of the society. 

The year 1890 saw the completion of the first half 
of the society's existence. It was for a great part a 
time of building up, of training, of initiative. Since 
1890, the society has, to a great extent, been enjoy- 
ing the fruits of the past. It remained for Rev. 
George Hoeffer, S. J., to expand and harmonize the 
elements in the structure, the foundations of which 
were so firmly established. Father Hoeffer was a 
man of great energy and loved the boys and worked 
hard for them. It was he who introduced the use of 
white cassocks (with the accompanying more than 
ordinarily finely worked surplices) by the officers 
and more adult members of the society. Another in- 
novation of Father Hoeffer 's was the increase of the 
number of censers and thurif ers used on the occasions 
of great festivals, from two censers and thurifers to 
six. It was natural, that at this time when the Holy 
Family Parish had reached the zenith of its growth, 
that the Acolythical Society should be a most thriving 
institution in the parish life. Father Hoeffer was un- 
tiring in his efforts; and under his direction the 



630 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 631 

Acolythical Society of Holy Family Church could 
justly claim a foremost rank amongst similar socie- 
ties throughout the country. The system inaugurated 
by Father Hoeffer was followed for twenty succeed- 
ing years. In 1895, Father Hoeffer was changed to 
another field of labor. Following is a list of the 
subsequent directors of the society to the present day : 



1895 Fr. Coppinger, S. J. 

1896 Fr. John Riley, S. J. 

1897 Fr. Meyer, S. J. 

1898 Fr. Conahan, S. J. 

1900 Fr. McClorey, S. J. 

1901 Fr. Anderson, S. J. 

1902-1903-1904 Fr. Edward Coppinger, S. J. 

1906 Mr. P. J. Mahan, S. J. 

1907-1908 Mr. Phillips, S. J. 

1909-1910 Rev. John Weiand, S. J. 

1911 to 1921 Rev. William Trentman, S. J. 

1922 Rev. Charles A. Mahan, S. J. 

1922-1923 Brother T. M. Mulkerins, S. J. 



In 1896, the Rev. James F. X. Hoeffer, S. J., 
rector of St. Ignatius College, erected a magnificent 
hall, spacious, and complete in all its appointments, 
to house the Acolythical Society. The hall immedi- 
ately adjoins and opens into the sacristy. Here the 
boys drill and hold their meetings. Storage cases and 
wardrobes are ranged along the wall. Here also the 
sanctuary society meets each week to make and re- 
pair vestments, cassocks and sanctuary furnishings. 
It is possible that this acolythical hall is unsurpassed 
by any in the country. 

During Mr. Mahan 's year, The Passion Play, in 
moving pictures, was given under the auspices of the 



632 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Acolythical Society in the sodality hall. The hall 
was crowded for three successive nights, establishing 
a record never equaled before or since. The admis- 
sion was but twenty-five cents per person, yet the fine 
sum of seven hundred and fifty dollars was realized. 
This money was largely used in the purchase of a full 
set of purple and red cassocks which the boys wear on 
feast days at the present time. The large center sur- 
plice case was made in 1908, when Mr. Phillips had 
charge. 

The Altar Boys' Choir was re-established in 1910, 
whilst Father John Weiand, S. J., was director, and 
continued in existence until 1916. The term, Altar 
Boys' Choir, in this connection, is not strictly correct, 
as some of the members of the choir were not acolytes. 
The majority of the members, however, were altar 
boys. This choir was more highly developed and had 
a much wider scope than its predecessor of Father 
Van Agt's time. Besides singing at evening services 
on occasion, it sang the High Mass on Sundays, had 
able soloists, and, under the direction of the Rev. 
James McGeary, S. J., had reached a very high de- 
gree of merit. Popularly known as "The Jesuit 
Choristers," the boys' choir rapidly acquired a wide 
and fully merited repute, which extended throughout 
and beyond Chicago. 

The Altar Boys' Choir of the earlier days, accord- 
ing to a memorandum of Brother Alfred Zeller, S. J., 
Sacristan at Holy Family Church from 1880 to 1883, 
began to sing Vespers in the church on Sunday, May 
27, 1883. This they continued until 1889, or there- 
abouts. Miss Mary Braddock trained them to sing, 
and after her Miss Alice Conway taught them. Mr. 
Rohner accompanied them on the organ, and after 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 633 

him came Mr. DiCampi for two years, 1887 to 1889, 
Father Michael Van Agt managed the boys during 
rehearsals and choral service in the church. Besides 
singing the Vespers the altar boys were trained to 
sing the responses at the High Masses. During the 
first few years Mr. Alexander Burrowes, S. J. (now 
Father Burrowes), used to direct the boys' choir in 
the sanctuary during Vespers. As soon as Vespers 
were over the boys returned to the sacristy. The 
singing of the parts belonging to the Archconfrater- 
nity of the Immaculate Heart of Mary and Benedic- 
tion were sung by the quartette. 

There was another boys' choir attached to Holy 
Family school, which sang the High Mass at the 
school on Sunday at nine o'clock. This choir was, for 
many years, under the direction of Mrs. O'Connell. 
She was succeeded by Miss Nellie Dwyer, now Mrs. 
George Mahoney. 

In the fall of 1911 Father William Trentman, S. J., 
was appointed director. No one could have been 
more attentive to everything pertaining to the wel- 
fare of the society. No one could have spent himself 
more unsparingly on his young charges. If the re- 
sults were not commensurate with the amount of 
painstaking effort taken by the director, it was en- 
tirely due to new conditions prevailing in the parish 
and beginning to make themselves felt. Numbers of 
Catholic families were leaving the parish, moving 
principally to the far West Side and to the North 
Side of the city. This constant exodus was most 
unfavorable to the Acolythical Society. The director 
would begin in the Fall of the year to train and teach 
a class for the service of the altar, but before the 
ensuing year had elapsed fully two-thirds of the boys 



634 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 635 

composing the class would have moved out of the 
parish, which, of course, in a large majority of cases, 
was the cause of an abrupt termination of their mem- 
bership in the Altar Boys' Society. At the present 
time most of the larger boys who serve on special 
occasions come from long distances outside the 
parish. That Father Trentman succeeded, despite 
a progressingly difficult situation, in clinging to the 
standards of better times, is shown by the fact that, 
at the end of his term of ten years as director, in 
1921, the society had a membership of eighty in good 
standing. 

The proximity and development of Loyola Univer- 
sity, together with the dwindling conditions of the 
parish, have created an odd and difficult situation 
for the director of the Acolythical Society. In years 
gone by, when the church could hardly accommodate 
the people desiring to hear Mass on Sunday, the 
Masses said on Sundays and week days numbered 
but half as many as are said to-day in Holy Family 
church. At present it is necessary for altar boys to 
serve at three Masses in the upper church said simul- 
taneously at 6, 6:30 and 7 o'clock, a total of nine; in 
the lower church, nine Masses are said simultaneously 
at 6', at 6:30 and at 7 o'clock, a total of twenty-seven 
Masses in the lower church each morning. Later 
Masses of visitors at the college should be added and 
also the single 8 o'clock Mass said every morning in 
the upper church, making a grand total of about 
forty Masses. At times, on the occasions of conven- 
tions, or when for other reasons there are a larger 
number of sacerdotal visitors than usual, the Masses 
said in one morning have numbered more than fifty. 
There are three other Masses said dailv at St. 



636 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Aloysius Convent and at St. Joseph's Home. It is 
the general opinion of Jesuit visitors at the college 
that the service they receive from altar boys at Holy 
Family church is about the best they meet with 
throughout the province. 

It may not be amiss to give some details of that 
outstanding event of the summer season, the altar 
boys' picnic. During the first few years of the life 
of the Altar Boys' Society, the annual picnic was one 
of the sources of income to the young society. But 
as the parish developed the character of the picnic 
changed. Originally a general parish affair which 
the public was invited to attend, it became, in the 
early seventies, an outing exclusively for altar boys, 
the expenses of which were assumed entirely by the 
church. The following itemized statement of sup- 
plies furnished for one of these annual picnics may 
be of some interest: 

Nine hams, thirty loaves of bread, sixty doz. buns, 
fifty doz. cakes, ten pounds of butter, eight pounds 
of coffee, forty-five pounds of sugar, four doz. 
lemons, one box of oranges, one crate of peaches, 
three crates of plums, eight gal. ice cream, twenty 
cases of pop, one and a half gross of napkins, wooden 
plates, spoons, milk, rope, cloth bags, bats, balls, etc. 

The average railroad fare amounted to about 
seventy-five dollars. The above items will give some 
idea of what it costs to give the annual picnic to the 
altar boys ; but the boys deserve not only one picnic 
but several each year if the church could afford them. 
The annual banquet in winter was equally popular 
with the boys, not only for obvious reasons ; but pos- 
sibly also that being necessarily more formal than a 
picnic, it may have flattered the boys' sense of self 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 637 

importance, a unique experience in the average boy's 
life. At these banquets, as related before in this 
chronicle, several Fathers would always be in attend- 
ance as guests. In recent years, a playlet, produced 
by some of the older members, has become a regular 
feature of the banquet. 

The intellectual interests and aspirations of the 
boys were well served by the altar boys ' library com- 
prising about two thousand volumes. The library 
was a veritable El Dorado of interest and adventure 
to most of the boys who made good use of the oppor- 
tunities it afforded. 

The commemoration of the golden jubilee of the 
society was held on November 16, 17 and 19, 1913. 
Solemn High Mass was celebrated on Sunday, Nov. 
16, the celebrant, deacon and sub-deacon being for- 
mer members of the Altar Boys' Society. The sermon 
was preached by the Rev. Joseph Murphy, S. J., also 
a former altar boy. On Monday a solemn Mass of 
requiem was celebrated for the deceased members 
of the Altar Bo}^s' Society. On November 17, the 
Roman drama, " St. Pancratius" was produced by the 
altar boys. Music was furnished by St. Ignatius col- 
lege orchestra. The performance was repeated on 
Friday, November 21. 

Much could be said of the individual members of 
the Acolythical Society, from its earliest days to the 
present time, which necessarily must be omitted in 
this brief sketch. Former members of the society 
have been met with in the oil fields and mines of 
Mexico and South America and on the frozen trails 
of Alaska. Many have elected to follow the still more 
rugged paths that wind about the mountains of re- 
nunciation and sacrifice. It is one of the glories of 



638 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



the society that a large percentage of its members 
have become priests and religious. Many an altar 
boy of former years has returned to celebrate his 
first solemn Mass amidst scenes, every detail of which 
had long been a memory, and many of his former 
fellow acolytes would attend the Mass and receive 
the blessing he was privileged to bestow. 2 

Members of Altar Boys or Acolythical Society, 1857-1923 



Adams, Samuel 
Adams, Theodore 
Adamson, James 
Ahern, M. 
Ahern, Edward 
Allen, John 
Althamar, H. 
Anderson, John 
Anderson, P. J. 
Anderson, George 
Ammond, M. 
Andrews, Joseph 
Andrews, Leslie 
Anglim, F. 
Atkinson, H. 
Atkinson, Frank 

Baggot, James 
Baggot, John 
Baggot, George 
Baggot, Jos. 
Barron, W. 
Barron, M. 
Barry, John 
Barry P. 
Barry, R. 
Beam, H. 
Berg, William 



Berg, M. A. 
Berg, John 
Bidwell, C. 
Blattner, G. 

Blackmore, S. A. Rev. S. J. 
Boland, John 
Boland, A. 
Boland, Joseph 
Boyle, Leo 
Blattner, George 
*Boothman, Robert 
Boswell, James 
Boswell, Nicholas 
Boswell, T. 
Braddock, Edward 
Braddock, John 
Breen, AL, Rev. S. J. 
Breen, F. X., Rev. S. J. 
Breen, Paul, Rev. S. J. 
Breen, Joseph B. 
Breen, Joseph W. 
Branick, William 
, *Branick, Charles 
Brennan, Andrew 
Brennan, Jno. 
Brennan, C. 
Brennan, E. 
Brennan, Joseph 



2 The number of members listed here with S. J. following their names 
will illustrate these suggestions. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



639 



Brennan, M. 
Brennan, F. 
Brennan, P. 
Bresnahan, John 
Bresnahan, Patrick 
Broderick, John 
Brougham, Charles 
Brougham, John 
Brougham, William 
Brown, R. J., Rev. S. J. 
Brown, Patrick 
Brown, J. 
Brown, W. N. 
Brown, Peter 
Bruen, Charles 
Bryson, Charles 
Bulger, John 
Burke, John 
Burke, James 
Burke, William 
Butler, Joseph 
Butler, E. 
Butterfield, Frank 
Butterly, E. 
Butterly, John 
Buttinger, Charles 
Byrne, Edward 
Byrne, Chas. 
Byrne, Thos. 
Bartleys, Bros. 
Brady, Ignatius 
Brady, M. 

Cagney, James 
Cahill, James 
Cahill, W. 
Cairns, 0. 
Cairns, T. 
Callan, P. 
Callahan, B. 



Callahan, E. 
Callahan, M. 
Campbell, James 
Campbell, Ray 
Campbell, R. 
Caplice, M. 
Carey, H. 
Carey, W T m. 
Carey, Joseph 
Carey, Tom 
Carey, D. 
Carey, E. 
Carey, Jno. 
Carey, Patrick 
Carmody, Dennis 
Carmody, Michael 
Carmody, W. 
Carr, A. Rev. 
Carrier, Edward 
Carroll, F. 
Carroll, G. 
Carroll, J. 
Carroll, T. 
Casey, Joseph 
Casey, Jerry 
Casey, David 
Cashion, Thomas 
Caulfield, J 
Caulfield, A. 
Cheney, George 
Clark, W. 
Cleary, James 
Cleary, Thomas 
Clifford, M. 
Cline, George 
Cloman, Frank 
*Cloman, Fred 
Coakley, Jerry 
Coakley, Joseph 
Coan, Jno. 



640 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Coan, James 

Coan, Edward 

Conway, Michael 

Coffey, E. 

Coffey, J. 

Coffey, M. 

Coffey, John 

Coffey, Thos. 

Colbert, W. J 

Collins, John 

Condon, D. 

Condon, W. 

Colbert, J. 

Condon, J. 

Condon, T. 

Condon, M 

Connelly, George 

Conway, George 

Conway, Michael 

Cook, John 

Cook, M. 

Connell, Joseph 

Connerty, Thos. 

Comiskey, Jas. 

Conerty, Thos. 

Cooney, J. E. 

Corbley, James J., Rev. S. J. 

Corboy, M. J. 

Corboy, William, Rev. S. J. 

* Cornell, F. 

Cornell, Walter, Rev. S. J. 

Courtney, D. 

Courtney, M. J. 

Coyle, V. 

Crane, Thomas 

Crane, Jno. 

Creed, D. 

Cronin, Al. 

Crowe, James 



Crowe, Fred 

Crowley, P. 

Cruise, E. 

Cruise, J. 

Culhane, Charles 

Culhane, J. 

Cullinan, John 

Cullinan, E. 

Culliton, E. 

Culliton, F. 

Culliton, V. 

Cullerton, Jno. 

Cullen, T. 

Cunningham, John 

Cunningham, Joseph 

Cunningham, P. 

Cunningham, Thomas 

Curran, James J., Rev. S. J. 

Curry, A. 

Curry, B. 

Curry, T. 

Cushing, Michael Rev. S. J. 

Daley, B. 

Daly, C. 

Daly, David 

Daly, Edward 

Daly, James J. Rev. S. J. 

Daly, John A. 

Daly, Joseph 

Dargan, P. J. 

Davey, J. 

De Coste, Ed. 

De Coste, Geo. 

De Coste, Walter 

Delaney, Ed. 

Delaney, G. 

Delihant, J. Rev. S. J. 

Delihant, W. T. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



641 



De Mars, A. 

Derrig, Jno. 

Derrig, Jas. 

DesMarais, A. 

Di Giovanni, Charles 

Diamond, Charles 

Dolan, Geo. 

Dolan, James 

Dolan, Philip 

Dolan, T. 

Donoher, J. J. Rev. S. J. 

Donnegan, T. 

Donnegan, William 

Donnegan, James 

Donnegan, S. 

Donnellan, Joseph Rev. 

Donnellan, John 

Donohue, E. 

Donohue, J. 

Donohue, T. 

Donohue, M. 

Donohue, Maurice 

Donohue, Joseph I., Rev. S. J. 

Donohue, Thomas 

Dooley, Edward 

Dooley, James 

Dooley, Thomas 

Dooley, William F., Rev. S. J. 

Dowling, A. 

Dowling, Terence 

Dowling, Thomas 

Dowling, Jno. 

Doyle, John 

Doyle, Ignatius 

Doyle, F. 

Doyle, T. 

Driscoll, R. 

Driscoll, T. A., Rev. S. J. 

Duffin, James 



Duffin, John 

Duffin, W. 

Duggan, B. 

Dunleavy, E. 

Dunne, Edward 

Dunne, Elmer 

Dunne, Joseph 

Dunne, Phillip C, Rev. S. J. 

Dunne, Thomas 

Dunne, W. 

Dwan, E. 

Dwan, J. 

Dwyer, James 

Dwyer, Phillip 

Dwyer, R. 

Dyer, P. 

Devlin, Vincent James, Rev. S. J. 

Egan, J. M., S. J. 

Egan, John 

Egan, George 

Egan, T. A., Rev. S. J. 

Egan, William 

Emerson, A. 

Emerson, H. 

Emerson, R. 

Enright, P. J. 

Eruco, Emilio 

Esmaker, J. B., Rev. S. J. 

Eustace, Brothers 

Fahey, J. 
Falvey, J. 
Farley, Phillip 
Fay, J. 
Fay, S. 
Fenlon, V. 
Fenlon, W. 
Finley, J. 



642 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Finley, W. 

FitzGerald, Rev. Thos. S., 

S. J. 
FitzGerald, T. S. 
FitzGerald, John 
FitzGerald, Frank 
FitzGerald, Thomas 
FitzGibbons, F. 
FitzGibbons, Jno. 
FitzMaurice, E. 
FitzMaurice, Jno. 
FitzSimmons, T. 
Flanagan, J. 
Fleming, Henry 
Fleming, William 
Flaherty, J. 
Flynn, C. 
Flynn, Jas. 
Flynn, Thos. 
*Flynn, Frank 
Folan, L. 
Foley, J. 
Foley, Malachy 
Foley, M. 
Foley, T. 
Ford, W. 
Fosco, Joseph 
Freeman, 0. 
Freeman, Thomas 
Frill, W. 
Frinier, Jos. 
Frinier, Geo. 
French, Bernard 
Frey, D. 

Gallagher, John 
Gallagher, Joseph 
Garvin, E. 
Gannon, J. 



Garraghan, Edward 
Garraghan, Rev. Gilbert J., 

S. J. 
Garry, Geo. 
Garry, T. 
Garvy, Cosmas 
Garvey, John 
Garvey, Henry 
Garvey, P. 
Garvey, F. 
Garvey, M. 
Garvey, T. 

Georgen, Joseph, S. J. Rev. 
Geraghty, F. J. 
Geraghty, M. 
Giblin, Thos, 
Gilhooly, J. 
Glennon, Pat 
Gilroy, D. 
Gorman, D. 
Gorman, Rev. M., S. J. 
Gorman, William 
Graham, A. 
Grace, J. 
Grannen, Geo. 
Graham, M. 
Graham, W. 
Griner, Tom 
Griner, Edw. 
Griffin, T. 
Green, E. 
Gross, Robert 
Gubbins, George 
Gubbins, Harry 
Guthrie, J. 

Hagerty, W. S. J. Rev. 
Halleck, W. 
*Halley, Luke 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



G4:J 



Hamill, C. 

Hamill, Rev. Ignatius, S. J. 

Hamill, Edward 

Hamill, AV. 

Hamel, Peter 

Hanley, Edward 

Hanrahan, M. 

Hardin, A. 

Hardin, F. 

Hardyman, G. 

Hardy man, Edw. 

Hardyman, J. 

Hayes, Edward 

Hardyman. E. 

Hartigan, M. 

Harrington, John 

Harney, W. 

Harrington. Thomas 

Harrington, E. 

Hartford, Alex. 

Hartnett, John 

Haughey, L. 

Haughey,- F. 

Healey, John 

Hedderman, M. 

Heeney, Rev. M. JosepL 

Hennesey, Rev. J. 

Henry, D. 

Henry, W. 

Heroux, F. A. 

Higgins, Harry 

Higgins, Allan 

Hester, R. 

Hoberg, R. 

Holden, Jno. 

Holden, L. 

Holub, E. 

Holub, G. 

Hickey, Jos. 



Hodkinson, Joseph 
Howe, J. 
Howe, F. 
Hopkins, John 
Horan, C. 
Hoppe, C. 
Howard, James 
Howard, John 
Howard, P. J. 
Hoy, M. 
Hoyne, F. 
Hoyne, R. 
Hoyne, AV. 

* Hull, F. 
Hyde, D. 
Hyde, F. 
Hynes, Patrick 
Hynes, Rev. James 
Hynes, Thomas 

* Hynes, John 

Idler, G. 

Jennings, James 
Johnston, Joseph 
Jordan, William 
Jordan, E. 

Kane, J. 

Kane, E. 

Kane, F. 

Kane, Rev. T., S. J. 

Kane, Rev. William T., S. J. 

Kearney, Denis A. 

Kelly, B. 

Kearney, C. 

Kelly, Edward 

Kelly, F. 

Kelly, George 

Kelly, J. 



644 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Kelly, M. 

Kelly, Maurice 

Kelly, Walter 

•Kelly, Steve 

Kilbridge, Jno. 

Kelly, Rev. T. A., S. J. 

Kelly, T. 

Kelly, Elmer 

Kennedy, Edward 

* Kennedy, J. 

Kennedy, Rev. John, S. J. 

Kennedy, Pat 

Kennedy, T. 

*Keough, M. 

Kevin, T. 

Kerins, T. 

Kiely, F. 

Kiely, Rev. James, S. J. 

Kiley, George, S. J. Rev. 

Kilgallon, J. 

Killeen, John 

Killeen, William 

Koenig, L. 

Klein, F. 

Lardner, John 
Laughlin, D. A. 
Lauer, Nick 
Lauer, Joseph 
Lavery, Charles 
Lavin, F. 
Lambert, W. 
Lambert, M. 
Lawler, F. 
Leadwell, W. 
LeClair, H. 
Lee, D. 
Lee, John 
Lee, Thomas 



Lee, W. 

Leahey, Geo. Rev. S. J. 

Leahey, W. 

Leahey, James 

Leahy, Thos. 

Lilly, T. 

Lilly, D. 

Liston, Edward 

Liston, J. 

Liston, M. 

Liston, Rev. Nicholas, S. J. 

Lodge, Elmer 

Lodge, R. 

Lump, Wallace 

Loeschenkohl, H. 

Lorden, W. 

Lynch, J. 

Lyons, J. 

* Lyndon, Jos. X. 

Lyndon, Thomas 

Mackey, W. 

Madden, Charles 

Madden, Jas. 

Madden, Steve 

Madden Frank 

Magee, Rev. W. M., S. J. 

Marsh, Thomas 

Marsh, D. 

Marsh, J. 

Malone, Thomas 

Magner, Joseph 

Maguire, Edward, S. J. Rev. 

Maguire, J. 

Mahan, M. 

Maher, I. 

Maher, J. 

Maher, T. 

Maher, Edward F., Rev. S. J. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



645 



Maher, F. 

Mahoney, Joseph 

Malone, D. 

Malone, Tom 

Manning, D. 

Malone, E. 

Malone, John 

Marselais, Joseph 

Martin, J. 

Martin, F. 

Martin, E. 

Martin, M. 

Marrin, T. 

Masterson, Rev. J., S. J. 

Matthews, J. 

Maun, H. 

Mausseau, Albert 

Marsit, Jas. 

Meehan, Charles 

Mehren, Bro., John 0. S. B. 

Meskell, Rev. J., S. J. 

Michaels, L. 

Millay, Rev. William, 0. Pre- 

monstratensians 
Miniter, Stephen 
Mitchell, John 
Monahan, A. 
Mitchell, Thomas 
Morand, R. 
Morand, L. 
Moran, T. 
Morrissey, D. 
Morse, Fred 

Mortell, Rev. J. F., S. J. 
Mortell, Frank 
Mortell, Thomas 
Moynihan, D. 
Mulhall, J. 
Mullaney, Joseph 



Mullaney, Thos. 

Mullaney, William 

Murphy, Charles 

Murphy, Daniel 

Murphy, Rev. Edmond 

Murphy, F. 

Murphy, Rev. John 

Murphy, J. 

Murphy, Rev. J. A., S. J. 

Murphy, Rev. J. B., S. J. 

Murphy, Rev. Wm. A. D. D. 

Murphy, Rev. P. A., S. J. 

Murphy, Peter 

Murphy, R. 

Murphy, Thos. 

Murphy, W. S. 

Marsh, D. 

Marsh, T. 

Murphy, Richard 

Murphy, Bro. Thomas, S. J. 

Murphy, James 

Murrin, J. 

Murrin, Rob 

Murrin, Roy 

Murtha, J. 

Murtha, Ignatius 

Myers, G. 

Myers, H. 

McGurn, Jno. 

Murray, Jas. 

McBride, R. 

McCabe, J. A. 

McCabe, J. E. 

McCabe, J. R. 

McCaffrey, John 

McCaffrey, Phillip 

McCarthy, J., S. J. 

McCarthy, Frank 

McCarthy, J. F. 



646 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



McCarthy, P. 
McCarthy, John 
McCarthy, W. 
McCormick, Rev. Aloysius, 

S. J. 
McCormick, Rev. John, S. J. 
McCormick, J. 
McCne, Christopher 
McCue, John 
McCue, Thomas 
MeDermott, Bro. Michael, 

S. J. 
MeDermott, C. 
McDonald, Edward 
McDonald, J. 
McElherne, J. 
McEnery, John 
McEvoy, Jno. Brother, F. S. C. 
McEvoy, Frank 
McEvoy, Robt. 
McEvoy, Thomas 
McEvoy, P. 
McGann, D. 
McGourty, John 
* McGourty, Leo 
Mc Geary, John 
McGrath, Emmett 
McGrath, Grattan 
McGrath, Curran 
McGurn, John 
McHugh, Edward 
McHugh, John 
McHugh, M. 
McHugh, C. 
McJohn, F. 
McJohn, R. 
McJohn, Edward 
McLaughlin, Edward 



McLaughlin, John 
McLaughlin, Rev. J. A., S. J. 
McLaughlin, F. 
McLaughlin, W. 
McLaughlin, A. 
McMahon, Aloysius 
McMahon, Frank 
McMahon, P. 
McMahon, W. 
McNally, B. 
McNamara, B. 
McNamara, John 
McNamara, P. 
McNamara, Joseph 
McNamara, D. 
McNamara, T. 
McNamara, L. 
McNellis, F. 
McNellis, J. 
McNellis, M. J. 
McNellis, R. 
McNulty, Frank 
McNichols, Thomas 

Nicholas, Rev. Simon J., S. J. 

Nolan, Thomas 

Nolan, John 

Noonan, W. 

Noonan, T. 

Nolan, P. J. 

Nash, D. 

Nash, Rev. J., S. J. 

Nash, Rev. W., S. J. 

Neate, Rev. T. M., S. J 

Nichols, George 

Oakey George 
Oakey, William 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



647 



Oakey, Jas 
Oakey, Jno. 
O'Brien, Daniel 
O'Brien, D. 
O'Brien, E. 
O'Brien, Elmer 
O'Brien, James 
'Brien, Frank 
'Bryan, Rev. F. 
O'Connell, James W. S. J. 
O'Connell, James 
O'Connell, H. 
O'Connell, T. 
O'Connell, J. 
O'Connor, Dan 
O'Connor, John 

* 'Connor, Joseph 
'Donnell, Earl 
O'Donnell, Edward 
O'Brien, T. 
O'Donnell, H. 
O'Donnell, J. B. 
O'Donnell, J. 
O'Donnell, James 
O'Donnell, T. 
O'Donnell, W. 

'Grady, P. 
*0'Hayer, Edward 
O'Hearn, William 
Oink, W. 
Oink, Ch. 
O'Leary, J. 
O'Malley, J. 
O'Meara, Joseph 
O'Neill, H. 
O'Neill, Aloysins 

* 'Neill, Ignatius 
O'Neill, D. 
O'Neill, James 



O'Neill, John 

O'Neill, P. 

O'Neill, T. 

O'Rourke, John T. 

* Orman, John 

O'Rourke, Joseph 

O'Rourke, F. 

'Sullivan, Edmond, S. J., Rev. 

'Sullivan, C. 

Parker, George 
Pallas, William 
Payne, James 
Pierce, J. 
Powers, George 
Powers, J. 
Prager, Ralph 
Prince, H. 
Prince, J. 
Prince, Thomas 
Prindiville, E. 
Prindiville, J. 
Prindiville, T. 
Puize, J. 
Prendergast, T. 

Quaid, J. 
Quaid, R. 
Quail, C. 
Quan, Thomas 
Quigley, C. 
Quigley, E. 
Quigley, H. 
Quigley, Thomas 
Quinlan, C. 
Quinlan, E. 
Quinlan, P. 
Quill, Rev. A. G. 



648 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Quill, Rev. Joseph C. 
Quill, Chas 

Raftis, P. 

Ragor, Rev. John S., S. J. 

Ragor, Joseph 

Ramp, F. 

Regan, J. 

Redden, Jno. 

Reilly, Charles 

Reilly, James 

Revoir, W. 

Riordan, D. 

Riordan, J. 

Riordan, Oliver 

Riordan, Michael 

Roche, J. 

Riordan, W. 

Roddy, James 

Rogers, F. 

Rogers, E. 

Rogers, John 

Rogers, T. 

Roney, J. 

Russell, Leo 

Ryan, Rev. M. J., S. J. 

Ryan, J. A., Rev. S. J. 

Ryan, Joseph A. 

Ryan, J. 

Ryan, D. 

Ryan, Thomas 

Ryan, P. E. 

Ryan E. 

Ryan, G. 

Ryan, W. 

Sammons, F. 
Sanborn, E. 
Scimeca, A. 



Scanlan, W. 

Searle, Walter 

Sexton, E. 

Sexton, F. 

Sexton, R. 

Sexton, T. 

Sexton, J. 

Shanley, Rev. George P., S. J. 

Shannessy, G. 

Shannessy, D. 

Shannon, J. 

Shay, J. W. 

Shea, T. 

Shealy, J. 

Sheehan, J. 

Sheehan, P. 

Sheehy, T. C. 

Sheehan, G. 

Sloan, F. 

* Sloan, John 

Sloan, V. 

Smith, Rev. Charles 

Smith, Thomas J., Rev. S. J. 

Smith, H. 

Snell, Thomas 

Snell, Hugh 

Solon, D. J. 

Solon, Patrick 

Stahl, E. 

Stanton, R. 

Stapleton, E. 

Stapleton, J. 

Stapleton, T. 

Stradinger, L. 

Stritch, F. 

Stritch, J. 

Stubbs, Edwin J. 

Stussi, Edward 

Sullivan, Rev. Charles P., S. J. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



649 



Sullivan, D. J. 

Sullivan, Rev. Cornelius, S. J. 

Sullivan, Rev. E. P., S. J. 

Sullivan, Rev. James J., S. J. 

Sullivan, J. J., Rev. S. J. 

Sullivan, A. 

Sullivan, Eugene 

Sullivan, Joseph I. 

Sullivan, M. 

Sullivan, P. 

Sullivan, Phillip 

Sullivan, Michael 

Sullivan, Timothy 

Sullivan, T. 

Suldane, T. 

Snyder, G. 

Suter, F., S. J. 

Sendelbach 

Taylor, Harvey 
Taylor, Jas. A. 
Taylor, T. 
Taylor, W. 
Theriault, C. 
Tierney, Timothy, Sr. 
Tierney, Jerry 
Tierney, Timothy, Jr. 
Tierney, Rev. W. B., S. J. 
Timmons, John R. 
Tobin, A. 
Tobin, Michael 
Tobin, Richard 
* Tourville, Ed. 
Treacy, C. 
* Deceased. 



Treacy, Rev. T., S. J. 
Trucco, John 
Trucco, Frank 
Turner, Edward 
Turner, F. 
Turner, R. 
Turner, Thos. 
Turner, W., Sr. 
Turner, W., Jr. 

Van Houghten, Edw. 

Wagner, John 

Wallace, J. P., Rev. S. J. 

Wallace, Rev. Thomas F., S. J. 

Wallace, Rev. W. J., S. J. 

Walsh, J. 

Walsh, Richard 

Walsh, Christopher 

Watts, A. 

Wheeler, Thomas 

Wheeler, William 

Whelan, Rev. John 

Whelan, Rev. William P., S. J. 

White, T. 

White, W. 

Woods, E. 

Woods, F. 

Woods, J. 

Ward, P. 

Ward, J. 

Ward, G. 

Zelder, E. 



In the absence of a complete list of the names of 
the Altar boys the foregoing is as full as possible 
after an extended inquiry. 



650 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

The Ushers Society of Holy Family Church 

There is no other organization with the single ex- 
ception of the Altar Boys' Society, the members of 
which give so much of their time to the services of the 
church, as the ushers. You will find them at their 
post of duty from 5 :30 A. M. to 12 M. on Sundays and 
holidays, and again at the night service. You will 
find them in attendance at missions, novenas, lenten 
and ordinary week-day devotions. They are devoted 
to the church, devoted to their pastors and devoted to 
the people. They ask no compensation for time spent 
and labor entailed. They do it all for the Glory of 
God and the service of His Church, which both the 
pastors and people appreciate. 

In the early days of the parish, we are told how 
the great Father Damen would call the ushers to- 
gether for a chat and lunch and smoker. "He wanted 
them to discuss the parish affairs with him, for they 
were his cabinet. In fact, they were in the vanguard 
of every good work undertaken for the welfare of 
the Church, schools and all the parishioners. These 
traditions are still kept up and live in the ushers of 
today. As an act of gratitude the Church has a 
Solemn High Mass sung for every usher who dies 
in the harness, or who remains a member until age 
or sickness incapacitates him for such onerous 
duties. Until recent years there was no record kept 
of the names of the ushers. Our list, therefore, may 
not be as complete as could be desired. 

In the early days of the parish, there were not so 
many ushers required as in later years. At the begin- 
ning, the Church had only three or four Masses on 
Sundays, but as time passed the population of the 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



651 




652 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

parish increased, so that the Lower Church had to be 
prepared and enlarged for Masses. 

From about 1886 to 1910, there were three Masses 
in the basement. Still, it was not until the Rev. M. P. 
Dowling, S. J., became chief pastor, that the ushers 
reached their greatest number in membership, when 
they totalled twenty-two. Father Dowling intro- 
duced seat collections at the Masses in the lower 
church. This necessitated an increase of ushers. 
The following is a brief sketch of each usher, as best, 
can be ascertained, from 1857 to 1922. 

The first usher of whom we have heard was Brother 
Thomas O'Neill, S. J., of whom notice will be found 
elsewhere. 

After Brother O'Neill came Mr. Walsh, of whom 
we have no record. 

Patrik Eustace, of whom notice will be found else- 
where. 3 Mr. Eustace acted as sexton, also. 

Mr. John Garvey. Notice elsewhere. 

Mr. Peter Sullivan. Notice elsewhere. 

Mr. Edward Rush was one of the first ushers of 
the church, was a devout man and one who was in- 
tensely devoted in the work of assisting the pastor. 
He was the first usher to die in " harness." His 
death occurred in 1888. He was also a member of 
St. Vincent de Paul Society. 

Mr. Martin Kennedy joined the society about 1866 
and resigned about 1885. We regret very much to 
have such limited record of him. 

Mr. William Squires acted both as usher and sex- 
ton in the church in the seventies, probably from 
about 1868 to 1876. He was a convert to the Faith, 
and like many converts became more devoted to the 
Faith than many of those who were brought up in 

a Chapter XXV. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 653 

it. He was one of those who, when they once put 
their hands to the plow, do not turn back. He was 
bent on doing all the good within his power. He 
worked with Father Damen, selling books and reli- 
gious articles on the Missions. He was one of the 
first to start a Catholic book store in the neighbor- 
hood of the Church. Opening and operating one at 
the old pastoral residence on the corner of May and 
Twelfth streets. He was also an active worker in the 
St. Vincent De Paul Society and died a happy death, 
in 1877. 

Mr. Patrick Carmody served as usher for several 
years. He did excellent work in keeping order about 
the doors, and was the life and soul of the society by 
reason of his jolly and happy disposition. He re- 
signed about 1887, due to his moving to the South 
side. 

Mr. Daniel Lorden was one of the first regular 
ushers in Father Damen 's time. He had charge of 
the gallery. He was very devoted to his duty and 
always at his post on Sundays at every Mass. He 
died happily at a good old age, in about 1889. 

Mr. Patrick Ponsonby was one of those who joined 
in Father Damen 's time. He was of a very quiet and 
amiable character. His great desire seemed to be to 
do God's will himself and to have his neighbor do 
likewise. He died a very holy death about 1895. 

Mr. James Campbell became an usher about 1875. 
He was very zealous and full of action and energy. 
A very fine Christian gentleman and a good conversa- 
tionalist, whose company others enjoyed very much. 
He died after a very short illness in about 1895, 
leaving a daughter who was a Madam of the Sacred 
Heart, and several other children. 



654 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Mr. Charles Bryson joined the ushers in Father 
Damen's time. He was then living at Washburn and 
Throop streets. He was an exceedingly devout man, 
was very attentive and regular at the various Masses 
on Sundays and remained at his post until he got so 
nervous that he could hardly hold anything in his 
hands. He died a very holy death, after an illness 
of two weeks, in about 1896. He had a daughter, a 
Madam of the Sacred Heart. Mr. Bryson was the 
official tailor of St. Ignatius College for about thirty 
years. 

Mr. Michael Hayes joined the ushers in Father 
Damen's time — was very attentive to his duties on 
Sundays and other times when required. He was a 
very devout and pious man. He died a holy death, 
preceded by a lingering sickness which he bore with 
Christian patience, in about 1900. 

Mr. Peter Kennedy joined the ushers in about 1864 
— was for many years active as special policeman in 
the church and served faithfully for about thirty- 
five }^ears. He was most conscientious and exact in 
every detail with regard to anything that would 
promote the welfare of the church and its finances 
and was untiring in his care and watchfulness in 
keeping order in the gallery among the children and 
young people. He had, with reluctance, to discon- 
tinue his labor of love in 1903, owing to his failing 
health. He lived for a few years after his resigna- 
tion, and died a most happy death, fortified with the 
Sacraments of the Church. 

Mr. Joseph Hurley joined in about 1869. He was 
the chief usher for about thirty years and usher for 
about 35 }^ears. He was janitor of the Sodality Hall 
for a number of vears — was a very devoted member 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 655 

of the St. Vincent de Paul Society. He had charge 
of the store room in the Sodality Hall and on certain 
days gave out goods to the poor. His chief aim in life 
seemed to be to do as much good as possible to the 
poor of Christ, not looking to any earthly reward. 
In serving them he was serving Christ, and he had 
little regard for catering to the rich, for he saw the 
same God's image in rich and poor alike. Joseph 
Hurley was considered one of the most devoted ush- 
ers of the church. No one could be more attentive to 
the duties of chief usher. He served at all the serv- 
ices on Sundays from 5 A. M. to noon, and again at 
the night service. He was very outspoken, and any 
one of his fellow ushers who was absent might expect 
a candid inquiry as to the why and wherefore of his 
absence, but all in a good natured way. He resigned 
as chief usher about the year 1900, for he felt that he 
was getting old, and besides, his family had moved 
out of the parish. He kept on serving the church 
until about the middle of October, 1904, when he took 
sick and died the following month. Mr. Hurley was 
a "dyed in the wool" Democrat. He remarked on 
his last Sunday at the Church that he was going to 
vote for Roosevelt for President. This, perhaps, 
would have been his first Republican vote, but the 
good man was too sick to do so. His funeral took 
place from St. Charles Church. 

Mr. Michael Nugent joined the ushers in about 
1893, and left about 1895. 

Mr. Alfred Ford joined about 1888. He was a man 
of an agreeable disposition, and made his way to im- 
portant positions and offices in the Foresters and the 
Sodality. 

Mr. William Hoyne joined about 1886, was secre- 



656 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

tary of the Married Men's Sodality for several years, 
and was very regular in attendance. He resigned in 
1902 on account of moving West. His father was the 
late U. S. Commissioner, Philip Hoyne. 

Mr. Oliver Riordan was the second of the young 
men who joined in 1895. He served very faithfully 
till he removed to Kansas City, about 1901. Mr. 
Riordan, at the request of Father Dowling, indexed 
all the parish records. It was a monumental work. 
His masterly hand wrote almost as good as script, 
which is the admiration of all copyists. 

Mr. Patrick Murphy joined about 1885, and was 
one of the most efficient ushers. He was always 
anxious to do all he could for the Church. He was a 
truly self-sacrificing man. Mr. Murphy had a para- 
lytic stroke in 1904 and was obliged to discontinue his 
services in the church to which he was so much 
devoted. 

Mr. Patrick Honan became an usher in 1895. He 
was an active member of this society and very effi- 
cient in his work. His large business experience as 
a clerk in the National Bank of the Republic gave 
him an aptitude for the various duties of an usher, 
and he was usually collecting in the middle aisle in 
the lower church during the eight and nine o'clock 
Masses on Sundays. After fourteen years of faith- 
ful service he resigned, having moved out west with 
his family. 

In 1905 Mr. Joseph O 'Malley joined the society and 
served as an usher for several years. He discon- 
tinued his service on account of moving out of the 
parish. While an usher he was very regular in at- 
tendance. 

Mr. James Reilly served as an usher between 1905- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 657 

1910. He was very active while so engaged. He re- 
signed owing to other pressing duties. 

Mr. John Lynch became an usher about 1896. He 
had charge of the west wall aisle in the lower church, 
besides other duties in the early morning both in 
church and in the basement. Mr. Lynch was in the 
grocery business for a time, but had to sell out owing 
to the foreign influx on Maxwell and Waller streets, 
where he had his store. He, too, moved away after 
eight years of devoted service. 

Mr. John E. Cooney served as an usher for several 
years and was one of the officers of the Patriotic Sons 
of Father Mathew. On several occasions he carried 
the canopy with other members of his company. He 
moved out into Presentation parish, where he is now 
an active member of the ushers society. 

Mr. Frank Ziemsen served as an usher for several 
years. His family kept a grocery store on Blue 
Island Avenue and 11th Street for many years. He 
resigned to take care of other business. 

Mr. Joseph A. Ryan was one of the young men 
introduced to the parish about 1897. He also had du- 
ties in the lower and upper church. He moved to the 
south side and consequently could not attend as one 
of the ushers. At this writing he is one of the chief 
ushers at St. Ambrose Church. 

Mr. Edward Brannick was one of those young men 
who joined the society in 1895. He was a prominent 
member of the Young Men's Sodality. He suc- 
ceeded Joseph Hurley as chief usher and remained 
in that capacity until he resigned in 1908. 

Mr. Cornelius Lynch served as usher for a short 
period. He was the son of John Lynch, the usher. 
He was a mail carrier. He was accidentally killed 



658 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

by a motor truck, and was lamented by his many 
friends, whom he won by his many amiable qualities. 

James Carey spent several happy years as an usher 
of the church from 1900 to 1906. He made his home 
in Maywood, where he gives his valuable services to 
that suburban church. He is connected with the 
Lyon & Healy Company, having charge of the " Musi- 
cal Band Instruments." It is said that the Carey 
family could form a band of their own, all being 
musicians and there being eight sons in the family. 

Mr. Andrew Garvy became an usher about 1890 
and attended his duties faithfully and regularly till 
1912 when he resigned, having moved out West. Mr. 
Garvy was a brother to the late John W. Garvy, one 
of the first ushers of the church and a warm lifelong 
friend of Father Damen. He was also an uncle of 
Rev. A. J. Garvy, S. J. For many years Mr. Garvy 
was district manager of the repair department of 
the Board of Education. 

Mr. John Hannigan spent about two years as an 
usher, 1909-1910. He rendered great assistance in 
playing Irish music at the church bazaars and get- 
ting other musicians to help out on such occasions. 
He was instrumental in the training of the younger 
people to play Irish music, especially for the Irish 
dances. He became a member of the Chicago police 
force and consequently could not serve as an usher. 

Mr. Francis Clarke served as an usher for about 
one year — 1907-1908. He was very efficient in play- 
ing Irish dance music and did excellent work in the 
Irish Village in the Bazaar of 1906. He was the first- 
violinist to play for the Gaelic Juniors. He resigned, 
having joined the Chicago police force. 

Mr. Fred Cloman became an usher in 1915. He 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 659 

was one of those who could not say "No-," if there was 
any possibility of obliging a person. He was a mem- 
ber of the Acolythical Society for over twenty years. 
He held the office of Vice-President for several years 
before his death. He was an officer of the Young 
Men's Sodality and its Prefect at the time of his 
death in 1918. 

Mr. John Esmaker joined the ushers' organization 
about 1888, and from that date until about two weeks 
before his death served faithfully. It is the custom 
of each usher to count the seat money he has collected, 
mark it down, and deposit it in a receptacle pre- 
pared for that purpose. He would not only take the 
money in his own aisle, but would collect it in the 
other ushers ' aisles as well, after they had left. This 
gave him the greatest delight. He was an officer in 
the Married Men's Sodality for many years. He re- 
signed on becoming an usher as the duties of the two 
places would conflict, and he wanted to do things 
right. He was a man of strong character and solid 
piety. He would not eat meat, or smoke during Lent, 
and this was quite a sacrifice for a man that worked 
hard, for he was a steam fitter by trade. His health 
broke down about the first of October, 1908, and he 
died a peaceful death on the twentieth of the same 
month. It was a great consolation to him that he 
gave his only son to the service of God in the reli- 
gious state. This son is now a worthy priest in the 
Society of Jesus. At the time of John Esmaker 's 
death he lived at May and Twelfth streets. He spent 
twenty years in the service of Holy Family Church 
as an usher. 

Mr. Daniel O'Brien became an usher about 1905, 
and did excellent work till about 1913 when he re- 



660 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

signed having moved to Forty-second and Gladys 
Ave. Mr. O 'Brien is in the real estate business. 

Mr. Robert Mclntyre became a member of the 
usher society in 1906. He was in the Tea and Coffee 
business, and would have been a very valuable usher 
had he remained, but like so many of our people he 
moved out of the parish and his resignation soon fol- 
lowed. 

Mr. Thomas Redmond joined the usher's ranks 
about the year 1905, and remained for about two 
years. He was a very strong advocate and a promi- 
nent officer of the Catholic Order of Foresters. He 
made a trip to his native country expecting to be 
back at his post soon, but it seems that the green 
fields of Erin were too attractive for him, as he did 
not return. 

Mr. James Smith was one of the four young 
men invited to usher in the church by Rev. Father 
Dowling about 1894. He was prominent in the 
Young Men's Sodality. He became the son-in-law of 
Mr. William Hoyne, a fellow usher. He worked 
faithfully for several years, when he resigned because 
of moving out West. He died several years later, 
leaving a devoted wife and some young children. 

Mr. Patrick Garland became an usher about 1880. 
He was one of those grand old Irish men — simple, 
honest, fearless in professing his Faith. It was his 
custom to distribute Catholic literature, without re- 
gard to Faith or nationality. To this good work he 
applied a good deal of his earnings. He was a sewer 
builder, and died at the ripe old age of eighty-five 
years. 

Peter A. Sullivan of Sholto Street served as usher 
for a few years from 1904 to 1906. His people moved 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 661 

out to Evanston, which obliged him to follow. There 
were five brothers of this family at one time altar 
boys, namely : Peter, the usher ; Alexander, Michael, 
Charles, now Rev. Charles Sullivan, S. J., and 
Phillip. 

Mr. John McGrath joined the ushers society about 
1894. He served the church faithfully till within a 
month or two before his death. He usually took 
charge of the gallery at 10:30 o'clock Mass, besides 
rendering other valuable services. It was his custom, 
on Sunday morning, to come and collect at the five 
o 'clock Mass. This practice he kept up even after the 
family moved out "West. He would watch for the 
4 :15 car at Millard Avenue and Twelfth Street, and 
as regular as a clock he would be on hand at 4:45 
A. M. He would then get his own and the other ush- 
er's boxes ready for the day. He was so devoted to 
his duty that he was not known to miss a Sunday dur- 
ing the eighteen years that he served. He died a most 
edifying death, fortified with the Sacraments of the 
Church, October, 1912. 

Mr. John Leahey joined the ushers for a short time 
about 1900. He left on account of his having to go 
on the road as a traveling salesman for his firm. 

Mr. Michael McNellis was a member of the ushers 
society for about thirty-two years. He was a partner 
in the linen business with his fellow-usher, Mr. James 
Campbell. None could be more conscientious in at- 
tendance to the various activities appertaining to his 
duties as an usher than Michael McNellis. He was 
considerate, kind and gentle. He succeeded Mr. 
Brannick as chief usher and remained such until his 
sudden and lamented death several years ago. He 
has one daughter, a Dominican Nun. His family 



662 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

moved out West a few years before his death. Never- 
theless, he was on duty every Sunday and looked to 
the welfare of the Church in which he was as much 
interested as if it were his own affair. 

Mr. Thomas Shannon became an usher of the Holy 
Family Church in 1882, and missed only two Sundays 
in his thirty-eight years of service. He resigned in 
1920. Mr. Shannon moved out to the new Jesuit 
parish several years previous to his resignation, 
nevertheless he was on duty every Sunday, notwith- 
standing the fact that he had to travel about eleven 
miles and pay two fares coming and going. After 
the death of Mr. McNellis, Mr. Shannon became chief 
usher and remained such until his resignation. He 
has four daughters, religious in the Congregation of 
the Sisters of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary, 
of whom he is justly proud. They are to him the 
fullness of joy and happiness. His wife, who died 
several years ago, was a sister of Reverend Father 
Donoher, S. J. Mr. Shannon is still hale and hearty 
and is very successful as a salesman for the Kenny- 
Rome Company. 

Mr. John McNellis, eldest son of Michael McNel- 
lis joined the ushers society, but after a short time 
had to leave on account of his transfer to St. Louis, 
Mo. He was a charming character and a great fa- 
vorite among the members of the Young Men's 
Sodality. 

Mr. James Duffin served as an usher for several 
years with great satisfaction, to the ushers, pastors 
and people. He married and moved out of the parish 
and thus was lost a valuable asset to the ushers 
society. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 663 

Mr. Edward Driscoll served as an usher for about 
three years. He was very active among the Young 
Men's Sodality and Dramatic Club of the parish. He 
married and moved out West. 

Mr. John P. McGourty was one of the band of 
young men introduced as an usher by the late Father 
M. P. Dowling, S. J. To the present generation the 
name of "Johnnie" McGourty was a household word, 
for "every" one in the parish knew him. In the 
the Church as an altar boy he spent his earliest years, 
often taking the Brother Sacristan's place for a week 
or more during his retreat. He was one of the most 
efficient officers of the Acolythical Society. After he 
had grown to manhood, he joined the Young Men's 
Sodality, of which he spent several years as an officer 
and prefect. At the organization of the Booster 
Club, he became its first president. Mr. McGourty 
was a man of work and did his work thoroughly. It 
is no wonder, therefore, that he was always in the 
harness, as he was a born leader. His gentle and 
pleasing disposition made him a favorite with every- 
one with whom he came in contact. His father and 
mother were amongst those who settled in the parish 
after the great fire and since that time have been 
doing very good work for the welfare of the parish. 
Mr. McGourty while promoting some work for the 
Young Men's Sodality, received a sunstroke from 
which he died July 31, 1916. His family lived at 14th 
Place, between Racine and Solon Ave. 

We come now to the staff of ushers who are at the 
present time in attendance in the church on all Sun- 
days and Festivals of the year 1921, They are the 



664 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

following, in order of Seniority as ushers in the 
Church : 

Usher Joined 

Mr. Frank Wilson 1882 

Mr. Nicholas Boswell 1904 

Mr. Michael Kearney 1904 

Mr. Peter Sullivan 1906 

Mr. James Feeney 1912 

Mr. Thomas Condon 1916 

Mr. Edward Hardyman 1916 

Mr. Dennis Finnegan 1919 

There have been three Peter Sullivans as ushers. 
The subject of the present sketch is the last of the 
Peters to join the ushers force and he certainly is 
worthy of "Peter name and fame." He joined in 
1906. He lived at 1459 W. Polk Street for many 
years, but for the last decade has lived out West. 
Notwithstanding the great distance he has to travel, 
he is at the church every Sunday about 7 A. M. This 
shows love and devotion to his dear Alma Mater, the 
Holy Family parish. 

Mr. Michael Kearney, "Happy Days," joined the 
ushers in 1904, and has been continuously in service 
on Sundays and Festivals ever since. He has been 
connected with the Young Men's Sodality for many 
years. Wherever there is a parish event, you will 
always find "Mike" at the post assigned to him by 
the Fathers, and these assignments are accepted 
graciously and with a smile, accompanied with his 
usual salutation "Happy Days." He resides at 
1105 Lytle Street. 

Mr. Nicholas Boswell became an usher in 1904. 
Previous to that time he had been continuously an 
officer in the Acolythical Society, that of Chief Cen- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 665 

ser, which among the Altar Boys is considered the 
hardest job in this Society. "Nick" has been around 
the church and Sodality Hall since his childhood, so 
that practically everybody knows him, and it would 
seem that he cannot tear himself away from these 
premises. When Mr. Shannon resigned as chief 
usher in 1920, Mr. Boswell was chosen to succeed him. 
He lives at 1347 W. 13th Street. 

Mr. Dennis Finnegan joined the ushers society in 
1919. He lives at 1108 W. Roosevelt Road. Besides 
his valuable services on Sundays in the church, he 
renders very efficient service in the management of 
the recreation room for the young men and boys in 
the Sodality Hall on week nights. 

Mr. Edward Hardyman joined the ushers' force in 
1916*. He collects on Sundays and at evening serv- 
ices. He has been almost continually kept busy as 
secretary since he left the 8th Grade, by the several 
local associations of the parish, such as the Young 
Men's Sodality; the Booster Club and Irish and Sein 
Fein Clubs. He resides at 1104 South Racine Avenue. 

Mr. Thomas Condon became an usher in 1916. He 
has held several important offices in the parish soci- 
eties, such as President of the Booster Club and the 
Holy Name Society. He was honored by the late 
Judge Scully with one of the most important posts in 
the Election Commissioner's Office. He lives at 1121 
W. Roosevelt Road. 

Mr. James J. Feeney has been associated with the 
ushers since 1912. He has been active among the 
young men of the parish for the last decade and a 
half. He has been manager of the Dramatic Club, 
Young Men's Baseball Team, President of the 
Catholic Baseball League, etc. He has been success- 



666 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 




PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 667 

ful in bringing the pennant to the Holy Family par- 
ish several times, and his successful management of 
those beautiful dramas staged by the Young Men's 
Sodality, were greatly admired. Mr. Feeney lives 
with his mother at 1737 W. 14th Place. 

We will close this chapter on the ushers of the Holy 
Family Church with a brief sketch of the man that 
holds the record of serving the Church as a devoted 
usher for the longest term of years in the history of 
the parish and that is Frank Wilson. He joined the 
society in 1882, so that this year, 1922, will bring him 
into his fortieth year. This is certainly a record to 
be proud of. As Mr. Wilson is still rather " young," 
hale and hearty, let us trust that God may grant him 
life and health to serve his old church for ten years 
more, and then celebrate his Golden Jubilee, as her 
ever faithful usher and worker. Mr. Wilson lives at 
1548 Washburn Avenue. 4 

The League of the Sacred Heart 

The Society of the Sacred Heart and Apostleship 
of Prayer was organized in Holy Family Church in 
1864. This Society had its devotions on the First 
Friday of every month. In the beginning the devo- 
tion on the first Friday was not so general as after the 
nineties. From that time it made great strides, but 
has advanced more rapidly since the decree of Fre- 
quent Communion by Pope Pius the Tenth. How- 
ever, the number of Holy Communions reached the 
highest point about 1894-95 under the able and zealous 
direction of Reverend F. L. Weinman, S. J. It was 
then an ordinary sight to see from two thousand to 
two thousand five hundred going to Holy Communion 

* It is true that these faithful helpers have made many sacrifices but 
readers will agree this fine tribute must be consoling. — Ed. 



668 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

on the first Friday. The League still flourishes but 
in proportion to the diminished population of the 
parish. 

It was and is the custom to have exposition of the 
Most Blessed Sacrament all day on the first Friday 
of the month and sermon and Benediction in the 
evening. The present Director is Rev. Thomas Liv- 
ingstone, S. J. The promoters of the League meet 
every fourth Friday in the Sodality Hall for the pur- 
pose of getting their leaflets and receiving instruc- 
tions. The success of the League of the Sacred Heart 
in the Holy Family parish is due to a very great ex- 
tent to the efficiency of the promoters and the secre- 
tary. The present secretary is Miss Mary Boynton. 5 

Bona Mors Society 

The Bona Mors Society was established in the Holy 
Family Church on Sunday, February 28, 1869. 

The Confraternity was founded October 2, 1648, in 
the Church of the Gesu, Rome, by Father Vincent 
Caraffa, seventh General of the Society of Jesus. 

It was approved by the Sovereign Pontiffs Inno- 
cent X and Alexander VII. In 1729, it was raised to 
an Archconfraternity and enriched with numerous 
indulgences by Benedict XIII. He authorized the 
Father General of the Society of Jesus, who, in virtue 
of his office, was the Director, to erect Bona Mors Con- 
fraternities in all the churches of his Order. In 1827, 
Leo XII gave to the Director General the power to 
erect and affiliate branch confraternities in Churches 
not belonging to the Society of Jesus, and to give' 

5 Constitution and rules of the society. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 669 

them a share in all the privileges and indulgences of 
the Archconfraternity. 

The short Latin title Bona Mors, which means a 
Happy Death, states the object of the association; to 
prepare its members by a well regulated life to die 
in peace with God. 

This society has been enriched with many graces 
and ranks next to the Sodalities of the Blessed Vir- 
gin Mary in age and has been fostered by the superior 
Generals of the Jesuits from its very foundation. 
The number of members inscribed on the Register 
from February 28, 1869, to December 31, 1921, is 
10,916. There are regular services on the third Fri- 
day of the month for the Bona Mors Society. Masses 
are offered from time to time to obtain a happy death 
for the members. 6 

Rosary Society 

The Rosary Society was established on September 
8th, 1861. 

It was called the Society of the Living Rosary. Its 
members shared in many plenary and partial indul- 
gences. There was one Sunday in the month assigned 
for the members to meet and recite the Rosary in 
the Church. The fifteen mysteries were distributed 
to the members, each band of fifteen receiving one 
of the fifteen mysteries of which the Rosary is com- 
posed. In 1883 Pope Leo XIII made the saying of 
the Rosary in every parish on Sunday and every day 
during the month of October obligatory. Xow-a-days 
nearly every Catholic man, woman and child carries 

fi Records of Bona Mors Society. 



670 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

a rosary as a token of love for the Holy Mother of 
God. 7 

The Archconfraternity of the Immaculate 

Heart of Mary 
The Archconfraternity of the Immaculate Heart 
of Mary was established in Holy Family Church on 
August 9th, 1857. It was really the first religious 
society established in the parish. The exercises have 
always been conducted on Sunday evenings. Its 
membership must run to forty thousand. Many great 
favors in the conversion of sinners have been at- 
tributed to the intercession and prayers of this pious 
association and especially to the intercession of the 
Most Pure Heart of Mary. 8 

Sanctuary Society 

The Sanctuary Society composed of young ladies, 
was organized September 17, 1894, by the Rev. M. P. 
Dowling, S. J., for the purpose of making and repair- 
ing sacred vestments for the clergy, and cassocks and 
surplices for the altar boys, and performing such 
other duties as would contribute to the honor and dig- 
nity of the Divine worship by keeping in proper con- 
dition such articles as the above which pertain to the 
immediate service of the Altar. 

The officers for the year 1894-95 were : 

President Rev. M. P. Dowling, S. J. 

Vice President Miss Lizzie Condon 

Consultors 

Misses Julia Lorden and Mary McDonnell 

Secretary Miss Jennie Shanley 

7 Many beautiful stories are related of the devotion of the soldier boys 
in the late war to the Eosary. 
s Records of the society. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 671 

The Sanctuary Society, in a month or two after 
its organization, could count among its members some 
of the best seamstresses and designers in Chicago. 
Miss Mary Keating, to whom belongs the honor of 
initiating the scheme, was a dressmaker of repute 
who kept an establishment on Twelfth Street, be- 
tween May and Center avenue. Miss Lizzie Condon 
was forelady in the drapery department of Marshall 
Field and Company. Miss Julia Lorden was the 
chief cutter and director of the celebrated Nellie Lor- 
den 's fashionable dress making establishment on 
Michigan avenue. Miss Mary McDonald was assist- 
ant forelady at Marshall Field and Company. Miss 
Jennie Shanley, the efficient secretary, was a school 
teacher. She joined the Sisters of Charity of the 
Blessed Virgin Mary a few years later. 

This little society became a source of untold benefit 
vto the Church by the great amount of work it ac- 
complished. A brief summary of this work for the 
space of one year will give the reader some idea of 
its proportions. 

Report of the work accomplished by the Sanctuary 
Society from September 17th, 1894, to September, 
1895. 

NEW ARTICLES MADE 

Two sets of black velvet vestments 
Twenty-four white stoles 
Seventy-two surplices 
Ten albs 
Eight cinctures 
Fifty-eight collars 
Fourteen altar cloths 
Eight communion cloths 



672 



HOLY FAMILY PAEISH 




HIS HOLINESS POPE PIUS X 
1903-1914 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 673 

Fifty-one finger towels 
Thirteen pairs of cuffs for albs 
Sixteen curtains for confessionals 

ARTICLES MADE OVER 

Ten white cassocks 
Eight surplices 
Four chasubles 
Two altar cloths 
Three albs 
Two stoles 
Two burses 

ARTICLES REPAIRED 

Two hundred and eighty-one cassocks 

Fourteen chasubles 

Eight copes 

One communion cloth 

Five stoles 

Five maniples 

Two alb laces 

Eleven capes 

REGULAR WORK 

Changing collars on stoles and chasubles, one hundred and 
eighty-seven. 

Marking initials on various articles, one hundred and eighty- 
two. 

Besides such work as the above they do all the 
tufting and prepare all the draperies for the Re- 
pository, also for the May and June Altars and many 
incidentals required from time to time, such, for 
instance, as the decoration of the Parish Float for 
the Temperance parade of 1894 and the Diamond 
Jubilee of the Diocese of Chicago, 1920. 

There are among the members of the Sanctuary 
Society not only artists of the needle but also artists 



674 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

of the brush. There are some very beautiful vest- 
ments and ciborium covers as well as tabernacle veils, 
exquisitely painted by members of the Holy Family 
Sanctuary Society. Very few see their work, but God 
Who sees and for Whose love they do it will know 
how to reward them in His own good time. The 
roster of these devoted ladies for the last twenty- 
seven years would reach into the hundreds. They 
are too numerous to mention all in this brief notice. 
There is one especially who has devoted much of 
her time to the work of the Sanctuary Society and 
as a slight mark of appreciation the Society decided 
to give her a token of esteem in the form of a surprise 
party. We quote from the Church Calendar for No- 
vember, 1920: 

"On Thursday evening, September 23, the members of the 
Sanctuary Society set aside their regular work to show how 
much they held in esteem their manager, Miss Mary McEnery. 
The celebration took place in the Young Ladies' Sodality 
Library, and was a complete surprise to the recipient. Among 
those who came to honor her were : The Very Rev. J. B. Furay, 
S. J.; Rev. J. G. Kennedy, S. J.; Rev. W. T. Nash, S. J.; Rev. 
W. J. Trentman, S. J. and Brother T. Mulkerins, S. J. 

"In 1895 Miss McEnery became a member of the Sanctuary 
Society and has given valuable and continuous service ever 
since. In addition to the time she spent at the regular meetings, 
twice a week in the early days, she has devoted many extra 
hours to the work of ordering and purchasing supplies, attend- 
ing to many details and otherwise managing the affairs of the 
society. 

"Nine former members of the Sanctuary Society now in 
convents sent letters of congratulation. Of these five were from 
Sisters of Charity, B. V. M., two from Visitation Nuns, one from 
a Sister of Notre Dame of Namur and one from a Sister of 
the Order of the Immaculate Heart. These Sisters all con- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 675 

tributed to the spiritual bouquet offered by the members and 
acolytes. ' ' 

The officers of this organization are : Director, Rev. 
J. Gr. Kennedy, S. J. ; President, Miss Julia Lorden ; 
Miss Mary McEnery, Manager; Miss Ella Garvey, 
Secretary. 

The present members are : 

Members of Sanctuary Society, 1922. 

Mary Asping Nellie Liston 

Margaret Berg Susie Liston 

Lottie Bleser Julia Lorden 

Mary Boynton Mary Looney 

Bridget Coffey Mary McDermott 

Mrs. Mary Condon Anna McGourty 

Stacia Dowling Mrs. Mary McNicholls 

Winnie Dowling Elizabeth Miniter 

Mrs. Finnigan Nonie Monaghan 

Mrs. Frey Kate Nicolas 

Ella Garvey Sarah Nicolas 

Helen Garvey Anna Quan 

Marie Garvey Nora Rafferty 

Rose Hughes Nellie Ramp 

Hannah Honan Agnes Scott 

Mrs. P. J. Heveran Sadie Shanley 

Nellie Humes Mary Sullivan 

Mary Kernan Mrs. Nora FitzMaurice 

Members of the Sanctuary Society are, ipso facto, 
members of the Altar Society. 9 

The Holy Family Church Choir 

Usually everything in a new region, whether begun 
by the rich or the poor, starts on a small scale. So 
it was with the Holy Family choir. 

The first information available on the subject is to 

9 Eules of society. 



676 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

the effect that in May, 1859, Father Damen engaged, 
at an annual salary of $800.00, three sisters — Mary, 
Sarah and Margaret Ghent, to conduct the choir, play 
the organ and teach a school for females. The mem- 
bers of the Ghent family were very talented. The 
brothers of these young ladies sang in the choir. The 
Ghent's lived in one of the "Nine row houses." 
These houses, although of frame, were considered in 
early days among the finest in the parish. They were 
located on May street, between Eleventh and Taylor 
streets, just where St. Aloysius Convent is now lo- 
cated. 

One of the first to sing in the choir was Mr. Koenig. 
Mr. DePinier also sang. Julia DePinier was a mem- 
ber of the Misses Ghent's choir. Mr. Koenig became 
a distinguished newspaper man. He was one of the 
editors of the Illinois Statz Zeitung and the father of 
Lawrence, Rollo and H. Koenig and Mrs. Dr. Cosmus 
Garvy. 

In 1862, Father Oakley came as one of the pastors 
to Holy Family Church and it is really from the 
advent of Father Oakley that the Holy Family 
Church Choir began to come into prominence. 
Father Oakley was a talented musician. He trained 
the children to sing at the schools and had those 
with extra good voices transferred to the large choir, 
so that in a short time he had organized one of the 
best choirs in the city. 

In the early seventies, Mr. Rohner became organist. 
He was not only an excellent musician, but had also 
a -magnificent voice. After a few years Mr. Rohner 
was succeeded by Mr. Berge. In 1878, Mr. Rohner 
came back again as organist and held that position 
until 1887. He was a good conductor of choirs and 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 677 

consequently had an excellent one during these years. 

Mr. DiCampi succeeded Mr. Rohner in 1888. It 
was under Mr. DiCampi 's incumbency that the first 
boys' choir reached the zenith of its efficiency. He 
was an excellent musician and a good conductor 
of choirs. The boys sang in the sanctuary, seated 
on benches on the gospel side, facing towards the 
epistle side. As there is no Roster of choir member- 
ship extant of the Church choir, the best thing that 
can be done is to give the names of the principal sing- 
ers, such as the quartette, and special soloists. 

The quartette was usually paid for their services. 
They were expected to be on duty on all Sundays 
at High Mass, Vespers and on solemn festivals. We 
have a fairly good roster of these, whose sweet and 
melodious voices still linger in the memories of many 
of the old parishioners. 

1869 

Soprano Alice Cummings, Johannah Condon 

Alto Mrs. Morrison 

Tenor Peter Reith; Organist, Frank Rohner 

1870 

Baritone Peter Spoo 

Bass Peter Bullyns 

1872 

Soprano Antonia Knach 

Alto Mrs. Morrison, Mary 'Leary 

Tenor Peter Reith 

Baritone Peter Spoo 

Bass Peter Bullyns 

1873 

Soprano 

. . . .Mrs. Knach, Mrs. McGuire, Elizabeth Scanlan 
Alto Mary Lyons 



678 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Tenor Peter Reith 

Baritone Peter Spoo 

Bass Peter Bullyns 

1874 

Soprano Elizabeth Seanlan, Mrs. Minahan 

Alto Mary Lyons 

Tenor Peter Reith 

Bass Peter Spoo 

Bass Peter Bullyns 

1875 

Soprano Mary Lyons 

Alto Elizabeth Egan 

Tenor Peter Reith 

Bass Peter Spoo 

1880 

Soprano Mrs. Shea 

Alto Mrs. Mary Lyons 'Leary 

Tenor Mr. Corby 

Bass Peter Spoo 

1881 

Soprano Hannah Donavan 

Alto Mrs. Mary 'Leary 

Tenor Mr. Corby 

Bass Peter Spoo 

1882 

Soprano Marcella Reilly 

Alto Mrs. Mary 'Leary 

Tenor August Dasso 

Bass Mr. Langlois 

Bass Peter Spoo 

1883-1884 

Soprano Marcella Reilly 

Alto Mrs. Mary 'Leary 

Tenors Patrick Gleeson and August Dasso 

Bass Mr. Langlois 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 679 

1885-1889 

Sopranos Marcella Reilly, 

Mrs. Nellie Carney and Mary Callaghan Pyne 

Alto Mrs. Mary 'Leary 

Tenor August Dasso 

Bass Mr. Langlois 

1889 

Soprano Mary Callahan 

Alto Mrs. Mary O'Leary 

Tenor Mr. Winn 

Bass Mr. Pearson 

1890 

Soprano Mrs. Callaghan Woods 

Alto Mrs. Mary 'Leary 

Organist Mr. Leo. Mutter 

1891 

Tenor Mr. Winn 

Bass Mr. John Phelan 

1892 

Soprano Mrs. Sanger 

Soprano Mrs. Mary Braddock 

Alto Mrs. Mary 'Leary 

Tenor Mr. Heffernan 

Organist Mr. Thomas Moore 

1895 
Bass. . . .John J. Phelan, Mr. Ward, Adolph Erst. 

Mr. Thomas Moore had the honor of being chosen 
as the musical director of the Irish day celebration 
at the World's Fair, Chicago, Sept. 30, 1893. 

1895-1921 — Mr. Leo Mutter came back again in 
1895. He has been playing the organ and training 
the large and boys choirs, also the Holy Week choirs. 
He has been playing and singing the week day High 
Masses, at also funerals and Nuptial Masses for the 



680 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

last twenty-six years and yet his voice is as strong 
and melodious as when he was first heard in the 
church. Mr. Mutter is considered one of the best 
church organists and choir directors in the country. 
He is still at the old stand at 5 :30 A. M., singing and 
playing for the several high masses that take place 
every week day at the Holy Family Church. His 
playing and singing are so devotional that one never 
tires of him. 

The principal singers of this period were: Miss 
Edna Crawford, Mrs. John P. McGrath, Mr. Von 
Dahlen, Mr. John P. McGrath and Mr. William Bar- 
ron. 

1898— Miss May Farrell, Miss Starry Carrol. 

1890— Mr. DeLaMothe, Mr. Robert McGuirk and 
Mr. A. J. Seabrook. 

At the grand opening of the electrical illumination 
in the Church on Sunday, March 12, 1899, there was 
a concert of seventy voices. Mr. M. J. Middleshulte 
presided at the organ. Mr. Mutter directed the choir 
of singers. The Church and sanctuary was filled to 
capacity. His Honor, Mayor Carter H. Harrison 
was present in the sanctuary. 

1900 — Miss Anna Byrne, Miss Catherine Reiling, 
Mr. Robert McGuirk, A. J. Seabrook, and Walter 
Drew. 

1907— Mr. Golickson, Mr. Joy. 

In 1908, in accordance with the decree of Pius X, 
a male choir was organized and the ladies section was 
discontinued. Th principal singers at the time were 
Robert McGuirk, A. J. Seabrook, Mr. McGivern, Mr. 
Edward Hirst and Joseph Rohner. 

In 1910, a boys' choir was organized under the 
direction of Prof. Leo Mutter and the management 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 681 

of .Rev. John Weiand, 8. J. Father Weiand's suc- 
cessor was Rev. Thomas Nolan, S. J. The latter was 
succeeded by Father McGeary, S. J., in the manage- 
ment of the choir. This boys' choir became very ef- 
ficient so that in a few years they could be fairly com- 
pared with any in the land. In this choir of both 
men and boys, the following were the principal boy 
soloists : Andrew Dowling, Hubert Atkinson and An- 
thony Graham. 

The boys' choir continued to improve year by year. 
It reached its zenith in point of efficiency under the 
directorship of Father McGeary, from 1914 to 1916. 
The entrance of the United States into the World 
'War and constant moving out of the parish of so 
many of the trained choristers necessitated the dis- 
continuance of the boys' choir. 

The following are the gentlemen who are members 
of the choir at the present writing, 1921: Messrs. 
Joseph Eohner, Horain Desmarais, George Kernan, 
Miles Walsh, George Hardyman, John Hardyman, 
Joseph Hardyman and Herbert Villim. 

The people of Holy Family parish owe a debt of 
gratitude to the ladies and gentlemen that composed 
the choir, both past and present ; not only were the 
lovers of good music of the parish attracted to the 
church service by the excellent quality of the music 
and singing, but also lovers of music from outside 
parishes and many non-Catholics came from great 
distances, especially on grand festivals. 

The choir occasionally gave concerts not only in 
the church, but in public halls, which were well at- 
tended. The choir held an occasional social and out- 
ings during the year, also sleigh rides, etc. On one of 



682 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

these occasions in the early days, Aldermen Comiskey 
and Rafferty, with John Waller, after a gay evening 
when they approached the home stretch at May and 
Taylor streets, were held up by a policeman, but on 
seeing the stars of the two aldermen, the officer po- 
litely apologized and let them go home in peace. 

The Small Choirs 

The Small Choirs were organized by Father Mi- 
chael P. Dowling in the early days of his pastorate 
of Holy Family parish. They are designated 
"small" so as to distinguish them from the large 
choir that sings the High Mass on Sundays. The 
object he had in view was to promote greater devo- 
tion during the low Masses on Sundays and to en- 
courage the musical talent among the young people 
of the parish. 

These choirs sang at the Seven, Eight, Nine and 
Ten o'clock Masses in the upper church and at the 
Seven, Eight and Nine o'clock Masses in the lower 
church. They also sang during the May and June 
devotions and on other occasions. 

Each choir had its own particular organist, its 
own time and place for rehearsal and its own Mass 
on Sunday at which to sing. 

The names of the several choirs were as follows: 
Married Ladies, Young Ladies, Young Men, Sacred 
Heart, St. Aloysius, St. Ignatius and St. Augustine. 
Several years later the Married Men organized a 
choir of their own. 

The singing of these various choirs inspired the 
listeners with devotion and piety. The hymns were 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 683 

in English and calculated to inspire devotion and at- 
tention during the Divine Service. These choirs still 
exist with but one or two exceptions to the present 
day. 

Names of the "Small" choirs organized by Rev. M. 
P. Dowling, S. J. : St. Aloysius Choir, St. Ignatius 
Choir, Sacred Heart Choir, Six O 'clock Choir. 

The St. Augustine Choir was organized by Rev. 
A. K. Meyer, S. J. Volunteer organists of the small 
choirs were : 

Miss Margaret Adamson, Miss Anna Cahill, Miss 
May Lorden, Miss Katherine Lynch, Miss Eliza Mur- 
phy, Miss Jennie O 'Herron, Miss Margaret Shannon, 
Miss Rose Hughes. 

Sodality Choirs 

There were four Sodality Choirs, the Young La- 
dies', Married Ladies', Young Men's and the Mar- 
ried Men's choirs. 

The Sodality choirs sang during their Communion 
Sunday Mass once a month. The Young Ladies had 
their choir at an early date. The Young Men also 
had a choir soon after their foundation and the Mar- 
ried Ladies must have had a choir even when they 
held their meetings at the Sacred Heart Convent for 
there is an item of expense charged to the treasury 
for music as early as 1877-78. Mr. Burge was their 
musical director as well as the organist of the Church 
at that date. Later on they had Mr. Rohner, Miss 
Johannah Condon, Miss Annie McLaughlin and Miss 
Rose Hughes. The Young Men had for their musical 
director for several years Mr. Marty Prindiville. 
The Young Ladies' Sodality had among their later 



684 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

organists the following young ladies: The Misses 
Lena Bergman, Rose Hughes and Louisa Frank. 

The Married Men had no choir until recently. 
Their choir was organized by Mr. Leo Muter, the 
Church organist. They came into being at the time 
Pius X forbade bands to play in the Church during 
Divine Service. 

The Married Ladies and Young Ladies sang on 
other Sundays during the early Masses in the Church 
besides at their own Communion Sunday Mass. 

The Married Men's Sodality Band played on all 
their Communion Sundays during Mass throughout 
the year. They played also before and after Mass 
and at Sodality meetings. Their principal musical 
leaders were Mr. Langan and Mr. Kennedy. 

Holy Name Society 

On Sunday, May 5th, 1918, a branch of the Holy 
Name Society was established in Holy Family parish 
by the Rt. Rev. A. J. McGavick, D. D. The following 
officers and committees have been selected : 

Spiritual Director .... Rev. J. G. Kennedy, S. J. 

President Hon. Thomas F. Scully 

Vice President Thomas McGinn 

Recording Secretary John Quigley 

Financial Secretary John Hanrahan 

Treasurer Patrick 'Donnell 

Delegate to Union Thomas J. Condon 

Marshal Henry Sloan 

Big Brother Committee — Thomas J. Condon, 
Chairman; Patrick O'Brien, Paul Brown, N. J. 
Boswell, Michael Lardner. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 685 

OFFICERS. 

1919-20 

President Thomas J. Condon 

Vice President Thomas J. McGinn 

Recording Secretary Edward L. Hardyman 

Financial Secretary Thomas Brougham 

Treasurer Patrick 'Donnell 

Marshal Patrick 'Brien 

Big Brother Committee — Dennis J. Finnegan, 
chairman ; N. J. Boswell, Patrick 'Brien, Michael 
Lardner, Paul Brown. 

1920-21 

President John J. Quigley 

Vice President James E. Haley 

Recording Secretary William McDermott 

Financial Secretary Thomas Brougham 

Treasurer Patrick 'Donnell 

Marshal John Hoffmeier 

Delegates, Matthew E. Clark and Thomas J. McGinn 
Big Brother Committee — Henry Keenan, Chair- 
man ; John 'Gorman, John P. Hardyman, Michael 
Lardner, Nicholas J. Boswell. 

Since its organization in May, 1918, the Holy 
Name Society, besides conferring many spiritual 
benefits on its members, has extended its assistance 
to the schools. It has staged two minstrel shows, 
which have probably surpassed, at least in a financial 
way, anything of the kind ever before undertaken by 
the men of the parish. The net receipts of the per- 
formance in 1920, were about $800.00 and of 1921 
over $1,000. The extraordinary success of this or- 
ganization is due to its simplicity, for it admits as 
members all men and boys over sixteen years of age. 
Thus when it undertakes anything, all the men of 



686 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

the parish as a unit are engaged. In this way greater 
success is attainable. 

As was the case with the Sodalities most of the in- 
formation concerning the societies mentioned in this 
chapter is drawn from the society records. 



CHAPTER XXII 

Catholic Okganizations in the Parish 

Besides the church societies, there were several 
organizations of Catholic men and women with 
branches in the parish, and also some organizations 
that had the approval of the Church and of the pas- 
tors, but were not church societies. Amongst the first 
of this class was the St. Vincent de Paul Society. 
With reference to aid for the poor the primary ob- 
ject of the St. Vincent de Paul Society the following 
announcement was made from the altar on January 
14, 1858, but a few months after the completion of 
the temporary church : 

1 ' In order to relieve the poor of the parish we have adopted 
the following plan: Two or three gentlemen will call on the 
parishioners for contributions for the poor. The provisions will 
be kept in the pastoral residence. Two ladies will visit the 
poor in order to prevent imposition. These ladies will give an 
order to supply the wants of the indigent. For this week the 
lady visitors will be Mrs. Martin and Mrs. Hickey. The collectors 
this week will be Mrs. Martin, Mr. O'Neill and Mr. William 
Creed. " 

On the succeeding Sunday, January 24, 1858, the 
following announcement was read from the altar : 

''In the future provisions will be distributed to the poor on 

Monday and Friday at ten o'clock. The ladies appointed to 

visit the poor this week are Mrs. Matthews and Mrs. Higgins. 

Those who apply for provisions must come provided with tickets 

687 



688 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

from either of these ladies, or from Mrs. Martin or Mrs. Hickey, 
who will continue to give tickets." 

Thus was the poor situation handled during the 
first years. The first reference to the St. Vincent de 
Paul Society is found in the Sunday Publication 
Book under date of Sunday, June 23, 1859. The an- 
nouncement there recorded reads : 

"Next Tuesday, at 7:30 P. M., there will be a meeting of the 
St. Vincent de Paul Society. All members are requested to 
attend as business of importance is to be transacted." 

Several other references to the St. Vincent de Paul 
Society appear in the Announcement Book of 1859, 
and on November 13th, of that year, a lecture was 
given for the benefit of the Society. 

On January 22, 1860, a meeting was held for the 
purpose of electing officers. The next announcement 
was made on March 4, 1860, and was to the effect that, 
until further notice, the St. Vincent de Paul Society 
will hold its regular meeting on each Thursday eve- 
ning at 7 :30. On March 11, 1860, all the members of 
the St. Vincent de Paul Society were requested to 
meet on the following Thursday evening to discuss 
arrangements for the celebration of St. Patrick's 
Day. 

On Sunday, June 11, 1860, the following notice was 
read: 

"The Holy Family Conference will be aggregated with those 
of France. All the members are requested to be present at the 
meeting, which will take place after vespers. ' ' 

Though the records of Holy Family Conference, 
for the ten years following its organization, are miss- 
ing, we are able through the courtesy of Mr. James 
F. Kennedy, the present Executive Officer of the St. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 689 

Vincent de Paul Society in Chicago, to present a list 
of the names of the first members of this, the first 
Conference of the Society in Chicago. This member- 
ship list is a part of the application for aggregation 
made to the Central Organization in France, and in- 
cludes also a report of the work accomplished during 
the first year of the Conference. This interesting 
document is here reproduced in full : 

Society de Saint- Vincent-de-Paul Application for 
Aggregation 



Conference of the "Holy Family." 
Diocese of Chicago Founded the 11th day of January, 1859. 



The Conference devotes itself to the following works: 

1. To the visiting of Poor Families at their own homes, 

2. To the Instruction of poor children. 

3. To the Relieving of the Poor. 



The Conference meets on Wednesday of each week at the hour 
)f 71/2 o'clock P. M., at Parish School House, Eleventh Street. 



Council of the Conference 

Spiritual Director Rev. Charles Truyens, S. J. 

President .... Thomas Clowry, Attorney and Counsellor at Law 

Vice President Patrick Hade, Inspector of Lumber 

Treasurer Rev. Charles Truyens, S. J. 

Secretary James McGrath, Clerk 

Members of the Conference 

John Comiskey Timothy Buckly 

P. Haughey, M. D. Timothy Hurly 

Patrick Bunnan John Watkins 

Thomas McEnery Danial Hiran 

Patrick Brady Timothy Hays 



690 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Wm. J. Granger Edward Wilson 

John O'Connell Wm. Welsh 

David Manay John Kennedy 

Wm. Welch James Short 

John Hertin Richard Cleary 

Michael O'Donohor James Rooney 

Maurice Brudemth James Sullivan 

Michael Mohan Patrick Rafferty 

Edward Lynch James Connors 

James Williams Timothy Ward 

David Quade John T. Murphy 

John Markey Joseph Foley 

Toussan Menard Edward Monis 

Patrick Cavanagh Edward Delaney 

Patrick Honan Edward Hogan 

Edward Walsh Thomas Barry 

Patrick Conway John Buggy 

John McAuliff John Considine 

Patrick Hickey Joseph Barry 

Wm. Brudemth A. D. Taylor 

James Finan William Ryan 

John T. Prendergast Patrick Kinney 

Nicholas Maun Edward Lundy 

John Long Jonas Gordon 

John Cudahy William Kelly 

The members of the Council of this Conference declare, 
with the consent of their Brethren, that the Conference of the 
'Holy Family,' Chicago, will faithfully observe the Rules of 
the Society, as published by the Council General, Paris. 

Rev. Charles Truyens Spiritual Director 

Thomas Clowry President 

Patrick Hade Vice-President 

James McGrath Clerk 

Report of the Conference of the 'Holy Family' from the 
organization to the 15th day of July, 1860. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 691 

Receipts and Expenditures 

Collections at Meetings $ 473.00 

Donations 523.00 

Other Sources 303.00 

Extended for Groceries and Fuel 1300.00 

Total received $1299.00 

Total Expended 1300.00 

Thomas Clowry, President 
James McGrath, Secretary. 

The foregoing is a correct copy of the original application of 
Holy Family Conference, Chicago, Illinois, to the Council Gen- 
eral Society St. Vincent de Paul for letters of aggregation as 
shown by the files of the Metropolitan Central Council of 
Chicago. 

James F. Kennedy, President. 
February 10, 1923. 

The business of the Society was carried on in the 
conservative and effective manner for which this or- 
ganization has gained much credit, and we are per- 
mitted a view of its results through an inspection of 
the Annual Report of the work during 1870 and 1871, 
as follows : 

Annual Report June 30, 1870, to July 1, 1871 

Balance $ 63.58 

Coll. at Meetings 235.90 

From Subscribing Members 245.00 

Young Men's Picnic donations 50.00 

Sale of empty barrels 29.75 

Sale of copy of Fr. Lawlors lecture. . . . 140.21 

Proceeds of Dr. Marshalls lecture 511.50 



$1,270.44 



692 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Groceries $ 250.03 

Flour 616.00 

Fuel 130.62 

Shoes 76.05 

Medicine 9.59 

Rent 14.00 

Fun Expense 7.00 

Moving poor Families 8.00 

Sub. to Sunday School Messenger 36.00 

School books for children 61.00 

Sub. to Superior Co. Qy 10.00 

Books of Rules 2.50 



$1,220.79 
$1,270.44 
$1,220.79 

$ 49.65 



At a later period we get another view through a 
note in the Church Calendar of December, 1894: 

"We have Christ with us always, for the poor take the place 
of Christ. 'The poor you have always with you, but me you 
have not always.' Look around you. Is your neighbor in 
want? 'Give and it shall be given unto you.' Give of your 
abundance. If the poor do not beg at your door, if you do not 
know where they may be found, the St. Vincent de Paul Society 
does. Trust to it whatever you can spare, — money, clothing, 
provisions. Goods given in charity are treasures laid up in 
heaven against 'that day'." 

In the Church Calendar of June 1897, we read : 

"A grand dramatic entertainment will be given by the 
'Players' Club' in Apollo Hall, Blue Island Avenue and Twelfth 
Street, on Tuesday evening, June 15, for the benefit of the poor 
of the parish under the charge of the St. Vincent de Paul 
Society. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 693 

The following is taken from the report of the Society cover- 
ing the expenditures of the Society for three months, January, 
February and March, 1897 : 

Families relieved 272 

Visits made by members to homes of poor. . . .1625 

Expenditures 

Groceries and flour $ 774.00 

Coal 339.00 

Clothing and shoes 244.00 

Rent 122.00 

Total $1,479.00 

The above statement is sufficient evidence of the good done 
by the Society in behalf of the needy. This work of charity, 
of relieving the wants of the poor, is performed by the members 
of the St. Vincent de Paul Society, a society composed of lay- 
men, who devote their spare time to this work. There ought 
certainly to be found in a parish as large as this one, many 
young men who are willing to devote their time to works of 
charity peculiar to this society. The spirit of charity which our 
Lord tells us is the distinctive mark of His disciples, is certain- 
ly not dead in His Church. We hope that it will live in the 
hearts of many of the young men in this parish and urge them 
to enroll themselves under the banner of St. Vincent de Paul." 

No eulogy of this splendid society could surpass 
the simple record of its accomplishments which ap- 
pears in the following report : 

The Annual Eeports of Holy Family Conference 
of Chicago, Society of St. Vincent de Paul, shows 
the following number of visits made by the members 
to the homes of needy families, as also the amount 
of relief expended in behalf of the same, from the 
time of its establishment, January 11, 1859 to Sep- 
tember 30, 1922. 



694 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Jan. 11, 1859, to 






Dec. 31 


Visits 


Expenditures 


1863 


4159 


$ 4,584.47 


1864 


407 


399.00 


1865 


632 


480.00 


1866 


525 


430.00 


1867 


114 


510.00 


1868 


537 


479.00 


1869 


610 


580.00 


1870 


761 


794.00 


1871 


830 


950.00 


1872 


950 


1,307.20 


1873 


1042 


813.27 


1874 


1058 


1,231.00 


1875 


1241 


843.00 


1876 


2239 


1,273.00 


1877 


2813 


1,543.00 


1878 


2850 


1,514.00 


1879 


2685 


1,274.00 


1880 


1890 


2,250.00 


1881 


2285 


1,320.00 


1882 


2110 


1,986.00 


1883 


2335 


2,039.00 


1884 


2565 


2,451.00 


1885 


2480 


2,210.00 


1886 


2072 


2,073.00 


1887 


2108 


2,216.00 


1888 


2744 


1,905.00 


1889 


2480 


2,023.00 


1890 


2240 


2,190.00 


1891 


2380 


2,177.00 


1892 


1443 


2,245.00 


1893 


2492 


2,412.00 


1894 


3240 


3,890.00 


1895 


2288 


2,597.00 


1896 


3130 


2,542.00 


1897 


2942 


2,156.00 


1898 


1445 


701.00 


1899 


1526 


894.00 


1900 


896 


730.00 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



695 



Jan. 11, 1859, to 

Dec. 31 Visits Expenditures 

1901 1657 1,052.00 

1902 504 988.05 

1903 479 1,027.30 

1904 300 1,524.98 

1905 299 1,591.51 

1906 208 1,326.44 

1907 285 1,258.55 

1908 393 1,236.47 

1909 409 1,002.43 

1910 494 739.23 

1911 483 696.10 

1912 203 750.39 

1913 711 680.15 

1914 328 927.53 

1915 523 817.37 

1916 256 702.95 

1917 338 729.50 

1918 367 1,002.55 

1919 457 3,076.81 

1920 893 3,586.65 

1921 566 3,643.19 

1922 785 3,154.39 

Totals 81482 $93,526.48 

List of Members of Holy Family Conference of St. Vincent 
De Paul Society 

Adams, John Buckley, Timothy 

Barry, O. Buggie, John 

Blackmore, S. A. Burns, John 

Boylan, Michael J. Butler, Thomas 

Barry, Thomas Byrne, M. 

Brady, Patrick Blaney, Hugh 

Barry, Joseph Boothman, John 

Bradley, James Cardwell, W. P. 

Brennan, Martin Cary, Edwd. 

Brennan, James Carey, Michael 

Brennan, Matthew J. Cavanagh, Patrick 



696 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Carney, E. J. 
Cassidy, Mr. 
Clowry, P. 
Claffey, James 
Clancy, D. J. 
Cleary, Richard 
Clancy, Thomas 
Coffey, Daniel 
Coughlin, John H. 
Coffey, James 
Coleman, J. 
Conerty, Patrick 
Connors, James 
Connelly, D. 
Considine, John 
Comiskey, John 
Conway, Patk. 
Costello, John 
Courtney, Edwd. 
Creed, William 
Cudihy, John 
Curran, John P. 
Curran, Patrick 
Curry, Andrew 
Curry, Michael 
Cunningham, John 
Daly, John A. 
Darrigan, P. 
Delaney, Edward 
Dillon, Timothy 
Doheny, Michael 
Donaher, Matthew 
Dooner, Mark 
Dougherty, Terence 
Dunne, Thomas 
Daly, John 
Dwyer, Morris 
Egan, Daniel 
Egan, J. L. 



Eustace, Patrick 
Early, Michael 
Pinan, James 
Fitzgerald, Dr. 
FitzGerald, Edward 
Fitzpatrick, John 
Fleming, Matthew 
Frauleigh, W. H. 
Foley, Joseph 
Ford, John 
Farley, 

Gallagher, James P. 
Galvin, 

Garraghan, Gilbert 
Garland, Patrick 
Geary, Patrick 
Golden, James 
Gordon, Jonas 
Gorman, Peter 
Gregory, Henry 
Granger, Wm. J. 
Hamill, Patrick 
Hardin, M. 
Hart, Patrick 
Haughey, P. 
Huse, John A. 
Hartnett, Daniel 
Hayes, Patrick 
Hayes, Michael 
Hayes, Edward 
Hennessey, Timothy 
Hayes, Timothy 
Horan, 

Hogan, Edward 
Homan, Patrick 
Howard, Martin 
Hover, Wilson 
Hurley, Timothy 
Hickey, Patrick 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 



697 



Hurley, Joseph 
Hannen, John 
Hayes, John 
Ivory, J. P. 
Joyce, M. J. 
Jones, Wm. M. 
Kearney, Dennis 
Keegan, M. R. 
Kenney, Patrick 
Kelly, Joseph 
Kennedy, Thomas 
Kelly, William 
Kennedy, P. R. 
Kennedy, John 
Kerwin, Edward 
Kinney, Patrick 
Kane, Patrick 
Kiefer, Dr. 
Keane, Patrick 
Lally, Patrick 
Leng, John 
Lilly, Dr. Issac 
Lilly, Dr. Thomas 
Leigh, Patrick 
Leeson, P. 
Lundy, Edward 
Lorden, John 
Lynch, Edward 
Lynch, Thomas 
Lawler, 

McAssey, John 
Mackey, Bartholomew 
Manay, David 
Maw, J. D. 
Markey, John 
Maroney, M. 
Mackey, Chas. 
McDermott, Michael 
Maun, Nicholas 



Menard, 

Mohan, Michael 
Mohan, Peter 
Moran, John 
Mulloney, Patrick 
Murphy, Patrick 
McAuliffe, John 
McCarthy, Dr. John 
Murphy, John T. 
McCarthy, Michael 
McDermott, Michael 
McDonald, Archibald 
McEnery, Thomas 
McEnerney, 'John 
McGeehan, James 
McGuirk, Charles 
McLaughlin, Michael 
McMahon, John 
McMahon, F. 
McNally, William 
McNally, James 
Murrey, Mr. 
McNulty, Thomas 
McNulty, James 
Nolan, P. J. 
Norton, Jno. J. 
O'Connell, John 
O'Leary, Michael 
O'Mara, John 
O'Neil, 

'Sullivan, B. 
Ponsonby, Patrick 
Paine, 

Prendergast, John T. 
Quinlan, William 
Quade, David 
Rafferty, Patrick 
Redmond, Thomas 
Reedy, C. A. 



698 



HOLY FAMILY PARISH 



Rush, Edward 
Reilly, James 
Riley, Mr. 
Riordan, John 
Riordan, Michael 
Rooney, James 
Ryan, Cornelius 
Ryan, John 
Ryan, Patrick 
Ryan, Wm. 
Ryan, Daniel 
Scanlan, John F. 
Sheridan, Redmond 
Short, James 
Smith, John 
Sullivan, James 
Snook, William 
Stanton, Thomas 
Squires, William F. 
Sheely, Edward 



Taylor, Robert 
Thompson, Charles 
Taylor, A. D. 
Traynor, James 
Turner, Mr. 
Twohig, 
Upton, 

Ward, Timothy 
Waller, John 
Walsh, Edward 
Walsh, Miles 
Welch, William 
White, 

Walkins, John 
Wallace, Matthew 
Walsh, 

Williams, James 
Wilson, Edward 
Welsh, William 
Yore, Thomas 1 



The Catholic Total Abstinence and Benevolent 
Society 

The Church has always counseled temperance — 
temperance and moderation in everything, and espe- 
cially in strong drink. There have been many not- 
able advocates of temperance who have arisen in the 
church and conducted their crusades against intoxi- 
cating liquors. The most notable of all the great 
apostles of temperance was the Rev. Theobald Mat- 
thew, an eloquent Irish priest, who traveled all over 
the world, advocating temperance. During his life- 
time, Father Matthew administered the pledge to 

1 Mr. John A. Daly collected the data and prepared a very comprehensive 
history of the St. Vincent De Paul society and especially of Holy Family 
Conference from which the brief sketch here published is compiled. 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 699 

literally millions of people, and many men who came 
to America from foreign lands proudly boast of their 
fidelity to the pledge of temperance taken at the in- 
stance of Father Matthew. Some of these good men, 
encouraged by the pastors of Holy Family Church, 
determined to organize a temperance society, not 
alone for their own benefit and protection, but also as 
an aid to thousands of others, especially the young, 
and accordingly the Holy Family Temperance So- 
ciety was organized in 1870, and continued its exist- 
ence until 1893. We are fortunate in having a quite 
comprehensive sketch of this early temperance so- 
ciety from the pen of a life long and efficient member, 
Mr. William Quinlan: 

"The Holy Family Total Abstinence and Benevolent Society 
was organized by Rev. Arnold Damen, S. J., in 1870. Fifteen 
members took the pledge of total abstinence. At the first elec- 
tion Father Damen became Director and Mr. F. D. O'Mara was 
elected President; at the second election of officers Rev. John 
O'Neill, S. J., became Director, and Matthew Fleming was 
elected President. By this time the Society had increased from 
130 to 180 members. In the third election Rev. John I. Cogh- 
lan, S. J., became Director, and Alexander Cairns became Presi- 
dent. The membership increased to 210. In the fourth election 
Rev. Peter Koopmans, S. J.,. became Director, and William Quin- 
lan President. The membership had increased to 376. In the 
fifth election Rev. Henry Bronsgeest, S. J., became Director, 
and James J. Flynn was elected President. 

The Catholic Order of Foresters, the Ancient Order of 
Hibernians and Catholic Benevolent Legion became prominent 
about this time and their organizations caused a falling off of 
membership in the temperance society. 

At the sixth election, Rev. Edwin I. Kelly was made Director, 
and P. P. McGaffery was elected President. At the seventh 
election Rev. Michael P. Dowling, S. J., became Director, and 
P. J. Anderson was elected President. At the eighth election 



700 HOLY FAMILY PARISH 

Rev. A. K. Meyer, S. J., became Director, and Mr. Wm. Ma- 
honey was elected President. At the ninth election Rev. John 
J. Neenan, S. J., became Director, and John Quigley became 
President. At the tenth election Rev. Joseph G. Kennedy, S. J., 
became Director, and Matthew Clark was elected President. 

James Cleary held the office of Secretary until the World 
War occurred, when nationwide prohibition was enforced, thus 
presumably rendering unnecessary the work of the society. 

During its long career of activity the Holy Family Total 
Abstinence Society took prominent part in all Catholic activi- 
ties, participated in all St. Patrick's Day parades, and has kept 
record of joining in public functions for the Holy Name Cathe- 
dral, Sacred Heart Church, St, Pius, St. John's, St. Michael's, 
St, Joseph's, St. Gabriel, All Saints, Church of the Nativity, 
St. Jarlath's, Annunciation, St. Malachy's, St. Elizabeth's, De 
La Salle Institute, St. Mary's Training School, Home of the 
Good Shepherd and Sodality Hall. The Holy Family Total 
Abstinence and Benevolent Society was given first place in the 
parade celebrating the 100th anniversary of American Inde- 
pendence (1876). Mr. Quinlan was Grand Marshal of Temper- 
ance Day, October 10, 1894, and the parade was led by Rev. 
Michael P. Dowling, S. J." 

The Society conducted contests at bazaars for 
building Sodality Hall and other purposes. The 
first of these was between Mayor Carter H. Harrison, 
I, and Colonel C. S. Squires, Assistant Postmaster. 
The second was between Alderman Frank Lawler 
and Martin O'Connor, and the third between Master 
John Derig of the Holy Family Cadets, and Master 
Patrick Solon of the Altar Boys' Society. The So- 
ciety contributed $500.00 to the Father Matthew's 
Chair in the Catholic University at Washington, 
D. C. 

Through the efforts of the Holy Family Total Ab- 
stinence and Benevolent Society the Catholic Tern- 



PRIESTS AND PEOPLE 701 

perance Union of Illinois was organized, also the 
Total Abstinence Union of America. 

Mr. Quinlan represented the Holy Family Parish 
in every State meeting for over thirty years, and also 
at the National Conventions in New York, St. Paul, 
Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Pittsburg, St. Louis, De- 
troit, Indianapolis, Cleveland and Chicago. After 
serving for more than forty years, he retired with 
the pledge of total abstinence taken from Father 
Damen unbroken. 2 

The Patkiotic Sons of Father Matthew 

The Patriotic Sons of Father Matthew was or- 
ganized in 1890, and the following officers were 
elected: President, John E. Cooney; Vice-Presi- 
dent, C. S. Kelly ; Secretary, P. J. Doyle ; Treasurer, 
John Tighe; Captain, P. J. Doyle; First Lieuten- 
ant: R. J. Guthrie; Second Lieutenant: J. E. Fitz- 
gerald; Third Lieutenant: D. Foley; Chief: John 
McShea. 

This organization was a uniformed battalion on 
the plan of the knights of old. The society main- 
tained a magnificent band, and was one of the most 
conspicuous organizations in the parish for a num- 
ber of years. Due to the fine military equipment and 
training of the members the pastors appointed the 
Society the escort to the Archbishop on his annual 
Confirmation Day visit. The Patriotic Sons also 
acted as a Guard of Honor on the occasions of the 
procession of the Blessed Sacrament in the Church, 
and on such occasions also carried the canopy. 

2 This temperance society is remembered as an unusually worthy organiza- 
tion a